(2003) Brides of year 2003

kk,

oic, I know Kheh shift house alway cook yong tau foo. that time when my bf shift house, his mother also cook yong tau foo.(his mum is kheh dialect). now i see the rational behind.

will she, because when shifting house, everything is in a mess you know. not one day thing. you still got to unpack and havelotsa thing to do leh. And i thought shifting house is close family ppl who are helping go only????

so you are near flowwee, then i am also near both of you. i am near jln kayu.

adrienne,

you are brave to go through this process man. for me , i would not know what to do. btw, kaelen look more like his dad. you good life already liao. can xiang chin fu when you are forty plus year old since your child will be big already.

i have onee friend who is my age but already have 2 kids. she is now living happily and a fulltime housewife. u know what, she is looking after 2 kids all by herself.

Hi Sue,

Actually I have already started sourcing but just want to narrow them down further so that I don't need to consider those that have already been taken. Thanks for your suggestion anyway!

hi ling,

we are not kheh, but we adopt the practice.. haha.. i think the motive is for everybody's good lor, so why not?

Yah lor. Only family members will help out. And 2-3 my hubby's friends are helping out. Normally those with strength need attend.. kekekee... we will be having 1 week break to unpack the things thereafter. Must be very tiring!

Oh, u are near the roti prata shop? kekekee..

How old are u again? u 78 rite? Wow, and ur friend already mother of 2 kids and full time housewife even??

Actually i really wish to quit my job after customary next year so that i can take on just some part time jobs. So that i will be more free and can cope with household chores better. well, wonder whether it is a dream only

hi jan,

i am not sure of the APB process too, will ask my bro-in-law who did it last year.

i think you should talk to lynn early, so that she cannot disagree again last min.

yup, SK and BP is very far apart... i considered SK before i picked BP. u lived in the west? me too! i'm staying at jurong west ext.

no need to envy us lah, just think of the money we have to spend and you will not envy us too much

hi may,

did u go to the show? how was it?

kk,

wow. both of you take on week to unpack ah.? YOu have a lot of things??? ya loh, must be very tiring.

i am quite near but not walking distance.

ya, that's why i admire her alot. not easy being a full time housewife you know . and some more with 2 kids. My sis got my mum and my aunty to look after her 2 kids also not enough. headache man.

you going to have kids immeidately after your customary???

my another friend also same as you, she say after married if got children, she will stop working and look after her child. For her, she have to cos she lives far from both sides parents.

For me, my bf promised to get a maid to help me look after the child.

hi ling,

i myself have more than 5 boxes of personal stuff.. hahahaa... ridiculous rite? some are soft toys, some are ornaments, etc etc..but mostly books :P

well, we have 3 days marriage leave yet to take, so we are taking that, plus one day annual leave... after that would be national day, so we have 1 week break

yah lor, my brother has 3 kids. and before that when he has 2, he can't handle with my sis-in-law! now with 3, he need the help of my mum and the maid to take care of them.

i guess we will wait for 2-3 yrs after customary then have kids. not only we want freedom, we need to save up first :P

getting a good maid is not easy nowadays. kekee.. my advice is meanwhile having a maid, u need to have one family member to be around too, else the maid will be up to mischief!

Dew, it feels funny to watch yourself on TV right? I also attended one of these things when i was in uni ... felt so uncomfortable too!

ahhh .... i can only afford holidays to m'sia now. anything that requires aeroplane ... forget it.

saving money for house and wedding really damn xiong ...

juz to let u gals know i'm stil aroun... veri bz wif work n studies at the same time.. but wil read postin wenever free..

Adrienne welcome 2 our thread! saw baby Kaelen oredi.. he's so cute...

Ling
I oso took up Montessori. Ya , a lot of fotos 2 take and a lot of assignments. graduated 2yrs ago..

ker mei mei
were u in last wkend? saw tt ur windows were open but didn't c anyone. how's everythin?

flowee
haven heard from u ...

Michele, my wedding on May 10 at Grand Hyatt. From my knowledge, there are 2 other brides on that day so you might want to exclude GH. Think there are a number of brides same date as me in this forum. Hosanna is another one.

SLK, got bad news. my friend just attended her cousin wedding at GH in june. super bad reviews from all the relatives. heard that it's because all the function rooms are booked as there were 4 wedding there that night. i have asked her for the exact date and she will revert back to me. have to talk to lynn about this. if they have the capacity to cater for 4 weddings, they should be able to provide quality food too. heard that food was so bad. the scallop they used were low quality scallop so much so many thought it was fish cake! worry.

may, how, won anything from graceful. any feedback? don't tell us you book already!

hi mei jie,

u are also studying?

yup. me around last weekend. we were there almost for the whole day. we dropped by ntuc to get the household stuff in the afternoon and returned to the flat after. stayed till around 6 pm.

will be there every weekend liao. coz reno completing this week

i'm back from the weekends.
attended a dinner at beaufort over the weekend.
nice place and ambience but lousy food!

hi ling,

Envy you work at home. Was asking my hubby whether his father wants to employ me or not too since they are running their own business too! hehehehe

hi kk mei,

howz your love nest? Should be finishing rite?
yap, me in HR line. U oso wants to be in HR?

hi flowee,

howz your weekend?

cherubies - i will be sending the contact to you!!
ya... met choon huat, in fact, he's the first actual day photographer we met!! we hope to meet more to compare loh!! will also be meeting up hilarion maybe next week loh!!!

gosh... your workplace at tuas... just been tuas yesterday....it's so far... is it convenient for you from home?

so how was the bridal show at oriental??? can hear comments??

Hi yi jie.

i was about to say wow, when u say the food is lousy at beaufort.. kekekee...

*sigh* i have nobody in the family to employ me.. kekeeke..

love nest finishing reno this week lor. The id say by tomorrow the grilles and sliding doors for the toilets should be up. after that, just some corrections for the carpentry work and then painting and washing then finish liao

yah lor.. my dream to be in HR, coz me more interested in paper and admin work!

mei,

you took up montessori also???. 2 years back?, maybe i am inthe same class as you leh. i took up the course 2years back also but stop until now. i went to modern montessori and at that time, they are at Far East shopping centre. 6 or 7th floor.
are you in the same class as me?????

kk,

ic, your house ready liao ah. so fast shifting???

as for teh maid i totally agree that it is difficult to find man. but for me is ok, cos i am at home what. so she cannot try anything funny. But think she will start talking with another maid in the house. sometimes got to give n take loh.

Yi,

Your FIL Never ask you to join him ?
for me is they ask me to join at the time when my bf is going NS. Think is my bf idea. so within 1wk, igot to quit my job and join them. i am glad to say that I never regretted my decision to join them.

hi ling
Ya, I took up modern montessori at far east too.. were u in my class? i graduated in 2000 which meant I started in 1999, so maybe not in the same class. my lecturer then was a lady but I 4got her name oredi. My theories was taught by Bob, u lei?
Me in early childhood line, dat's y take up Montessori.

kk
ya lo.. now studying .. jin siong.. today a bit free at work so can check postin.. tmr onwards cannot liao..
yeh.. soon, can visit ur hse oredi.. i mite be in this wkend too.. maybe we can meet

Yesterday saw the flats at open sesame show. love the 3rd hse wich focuses on Balinese style. reminds me of Bali..

hi kk mei,

beaufort food really not nice lah!

wow, you doing sliding doors for toilets? got space to slide meh since you having walk-in wardrobe for master room?

HR work can be quite dull too! :p

hi ling,

hubby might be joining FIL's company after his contract ends next year so he might wants me to join him. But i personally feel that itz better to work outside instead. Itz more freedom and lesser conflicts too!!!!!

hi hazel,

welcome back! howz your exams?

ling,

will be moving in our things first. Will only stay over on weekends and public holidays. Kekekee..

talking with another maid in the house? there will be 2 maids?? Actually employing of maids depends largely on luck. My brother employ his current maid for 4 yrs liao. And my second brother has changed his 4 times.. hahahaa...

mei jie,

yah lor. if i am not so busy, then i sms u to see whether u are around.. kekekeke.. i guess i got lots of cleaning up to do!

Aiyoh, i dislike the third house. Makes the place so complicated and dark. I prefer home A
...the master bedroom really cool!

yi jie,

got space leh.. the id say no problem mah.. kekekee.. until now never say anything mah, so i guess no problem lor. he got go measure also mah.

i dun like the doors, that's why change all. If not the doors easily spoilt and next time want to change very troublesome

good! i love dull work.. hahahahaa..then i have more time to think of my study and home sweet home.. hahahaa.. i dun like too challenging job lah, coz i a bit stupid.. kekekee...

hazel,

do u still remember me? i think we lost contact many months back

have u gotten ur flat?

mei,

my theories also by bob leh. the lady is a indian right she thought the practicals. very difficult to get high marks. also forgot her name. i sign up like at the end of 1999.

How old are you??? maybe we are really in teh same class.(are you in the friday class)

Hazel,

can relax liao loh.

Flowee, flowee, where are you? you still buzy with your id is it????

Elaine,

How is your ROM , fun or not?? remember to show us the photots ok.

Yi,

Yah loh, I also hear a lot of ppl saying that working for Bf's family business is no good before I join them but now I strongly disagree. Cos' I get all the benefits which is not possible if I am working outside. I have lotsa freedom. and i am very happy. As for conflicts, I dun think i face that as well. The best part is can sleep until late late .

kk,

i totally agree with you- really depend on luck. But if no good can change within the first 3 mths if i am not wrong. and it's free.

If let say i pregnant, that will be another 1 yr plus thing , my bf and mil say she will employ another maid to help look after teh kid.

ai yah,

i also dunno lah. so painful to have kids leh.

how many do you gals intend to have in future?

ling,

i think the agency allows us to change 3 times lor. well, sometimes it is the agency good or bad that determines too. if no good, change the agency as well.. kekekee...

i only intend to have 2... kekee.. and i prefer daughters

Hi all... =)

Thanks for being so sweet about my situation =D
Interestingly, Kaelen looks more like me when I was a baby than my hubby. =p Hubby had very thick lips and was cross eyed but he does have my hubby's head shape and hairline. =)

Well I did wanted to ROM once Keith hit 21 this August but his parents were not very willing to let us ROM so early. Insisted we waited till like 3-4 years later. My parents were naturally pissed off about it and both sides exchanged words.

However, we both stuck to our decision to ROM asap and well the earliest would be next July... coz Keith and I want to not rush into things but to do it once and make it work. We don't believe in divorces.

Hmm about his birth cert, I was worried too but well apparently as long as Keith swears at the SIR registration counter to be boy's natural father, it will be in the BC. And I changed my address to be same as his so there is only 1 address on the cert or else there wuld be 2 ( his and mine). So his birth cert looks normal and unless ppl really go and check up with SIR, no one will figure out that we ROMed a year later. =)
Anyway we intend to explain abt our situation to Kaelen coz he will afterall be 2 yrs old ( hopefully we can have ceremony in 2004 if not will be even later... sighs) or older and we want to let him know we love him and why things are such.

School registration should be no problem. =)

Anyway I am lucky my hubby2b is so supportive about everything... some guys just shirk responsibility. I am glad we didn't abort. We would be missing out on all this if we had. Kaelen is so cute he laughs and smiles alot these days... =)

ling:

Lucky you... your mil and bf are so supportive =).
When my dad goes back to wk then i will have to find help...

Honestly for me, I was more afraid of the confinement period than labour itself. =) My mum insisted on the traditional moer than 1 mth confinement where u can't bath/wash hair or drink plain water... no fan/ aircon... cannot go out. It was like a prison sentence. And well yeah it hurt but itz only for that little bit. If you take epidural, u won't feel the pain at all. I refused to take epidural coz I've 2 slipped discs on lower back and i was afraid it would make them worse. I pushed Kaelen out in 14 minutes! And my cervix diluted from 3 cm to 10cm in about one hour... =p

BUT.. I swear by this: MALAY CONFINEMENT MASSAGE!
Itz very very very very shoik stuff... trust me. I know a really good Malay massage lady called Kamsiah. When the time comes, let me know. I can tell u her number. =)

kk:

Boy or girl can't choose leh =). Girl can tie hair play around but boys aren't all that bad... My Dad and Keith can't wait to take him out to rough it out. =) I will prob wanna go too coz I am quite an outdoor person usually.

But I hope my #2 will be a girl. And I think I will prob have her in 7-9 years time. =p

Hi Adrienne,

you are lucky to have such a supportive husband. Heard a lot of guy shrinking responsiblity.

Really not pain meh?? my sister actually use empidural.. but she say pain leh. her son is just 3-4mths old.

You got him out in 14minutes? how come some ppl need one to 2 days to give birth?? You are so lucky. so fast baby come out.

NO AIRCON?????????? WHY???????? I AM definately going to die straight. You know, for me once reach nite time, My body will be itchy if there is no aircon. fan also no use. then i cannot sleep. remember there was once i went camping. never sleep for 2 days.(cos itch all the way at night and cannot sleep)

But is it confirm that we cannot sleep in aircon. Even if it is 26 degrees???

Did you slim down after the massage?

Out for tea. I'm in for it.

Ling,

sleeping in air con does have side effects. My sis-in-law sleeps in air con every nite and her whole body ache now and then. She is thinking of taking chinese medicine instead of western medicine coz western medicine only consist of painkiller.

And i heard a person system will be weaker and get sick easily when in too much aircon.

Imagine, we as working pple, are already in air con in the day. Go home still aircon, it kills the body.. hahaha...

Hi SLK,

Do you know whether GH allows us to get beer entirely from Asia Pacific Breweries or only for 2nd barrel? Can we get from other sources or have to be APB? Can I have the contact for APB? Thank you.

Dew, 1027....he

social life zilch lar..cos normally too wiped out to do much....used to hang around with another Sing fren but she has since returned back home....

yah man..saving money is siong...phew!

me is an attention hogger sometimes...so things like presentation gets my blood pumping..wierd huh ?

Hey gals

U all so lucky. At home today. Wish I'm on leave too (gosh is it only Tuesday???)

Just started on my self pampering once a month facial routine. Have been going for facial now and then in the past (like once in 2/3 months or so).. but have decided to splurge lah... have to look my best one year later.. not easy (cheap!) to be radiant bride.

Not too disciplined for gym though.. think i work enuff to lose weight in the office (use brain and eye power). :P heh.. anyways, underweight at 45kg for my height (1.62m). aiyah, but must try to tone up regardless...

cherubies: yr wedding date oso 26 july 2003 rite? anyway significance??

have a great week ahead gals!

Yeah A/C actually isnt very good... air not fresh ( ok i know not as if outside air very good) coz same old thing circulating...air so stale. And itz drying for skin and throat too... bad for body both inside and out. Plus hot cold hot cold sure kenah flu wan =)

Traditional Chinese belief is that when you give birth, your body becomes susceptible to taking in "wind" because now there is a vacuum of air where baby was. Hence, taking ginger and all those heaty stuff and tonics will get rid of wind in body or else next time sure alot of aches and pains. Malays believe likewise. And ya Malay confinement massage slims u down faster coz it takes out the wind in the womb out in 7-10 days.

I did slim down but of coz I not as slim as before coz I took a while to heal from giving birth to Kae. My nether region still hurts sometime and already 2 mths. I think itz coz I pushed him out that fast. LOL. I have piles too and I was unable to move around much until about 3 weeks after birth. My wrists hurt as well... doctor says coz when u give birth, body produces hormones to relax the cervix and this spreads to other muscles and so muscles relax and get all these pains.

BUT remember this... when you see the child enter the world, you won't think about the pain but only the joy. I think that little bit of pain is well worth the happiness I have now.

BTW, my MIL's close friend got wind of Kaelen's existence coz my lecturers fwd the url to her and she went there. Keith called to grumble coz he can't stand that fren of his mum's... quite a kaypoh and gossipy lady.

Suprisingly my ILs didnt take it too bad but I think they would have gotten quite upset if it was their relative...

kk and adrienne,

KK, your sil how old??? All of us sleep in aircon and My Pil aircon is super cold. i also cannot tahan. but they are very healthy leh. My parents also sleep in aircon , also nothing.

There are many bad things about aircon. But without aircon, i really can die.

Oh yah, Just to let you all know that i went to the shop selling KUA and guess what, it cost 1000+ to buy a new piece. to rent is 400+.

That is so expensive. Before that, i was still thinking maybe i will just buy in Singapore but now, I have confirm decided to buy from Hong Kong. Which may cost only 300+. Anyone interested????

Hi Adrienne and gals,

Glad to hear there's no issue with your kaelen's birthcert, your hubby very supportive, no doubt he must have faced tons of pressure from his parents too.... but things will be fine for u, i just know it!

But this is unbelievable... 14 mins for a first born??? U're a superwoman!
But when did the labour pains start? Heehee, i very curious, never seen anyone go thru labour pains before... haha, think u can educate us a bit on this matter!

I suppose all parents want the best for their children, incl your inlaws... so it's also good to wait til your hubby turns 21 and be legally independent before rom-ing...

Just a few words for u... is there really a necessity to wait for a further 3-4 yrs? For the customary, ok maybe u want to save enough $$ first, but u know u can rom straight away once he turns 21... i think i can guess the reason why your inlaws want to delay your rom.... do correct me if they are not as despicable as i think.... if i were u, i wouldn't let them! If both of u have decided on each other, why wait, is there a need to let time prove anything?? Do pardon me for intruding into your private matters.... i'm too kpo, old habit lah...

Good Morning all,

jan, my BIL's reply:

" Thanks for the note. I don't mean to sound reassuring but we have done many many 4-5 weddings at a time and I can safely say that there's no
problem at all, especially with the food quality.

The number events that we have during a night should no in any way comprimise our standards and quality. As for the case, I'll need to know
more about it.Would be good to find out the names of the couple and thedate of their wedding plus the venue.

I should then be able to find out more. "

snowbelle, don't think GH allows us to do that. and I haven't got the contact for APB yet. Will post it here as soon as i have it ok?

Ling,

my sil only around 33.. kekekee...

well, me and my hubby have agreed to train ourselves to sleep less in air con, so that when we have baby next time, the baby need not sleep in air con too, coz mostly the baby also sleeping in master bedroom.

why u need to buy gua?

hi all gals,

Good morning!

hi kk mei,

itz good that your house can have sliding door for toilets.

my love nest never change toilet doors coz no $! you are rite, better do everything now coz if not, next time got to clean up again! just did my sliding door to separate study area and master room, the entire place was so dusty!!!! luckily, hubby did most of the cleaning!!!! i'm so sensitive to dust thus got outbreak!

btw, me now looking forward to trying my gowns leh! can't wait till august leh after seeing my fren in her gown last weekend! ;p

hi LT,

eh, very far for me... next time move to ponggol, even further...

thanks for the contact...i will check it out... need to pamper myself like nite gal...

hi nite gal,
u sleep very late huh?
u really underweight...
as for me, i overweight - 168 cm plus 70+ kg... so i have a lot to lose...

22 july 2003 is our 10th anniversary together... but cos it's a weekday, so we thot 26 july sounds good for us...

what abt u?

gd mornin gers

looks like we hv new members ard
nice 2 hv u here with us adrienne & naturally...

been buz with my work & reno stuff...
been readin ur postin but dun hv the time 2 reply...
so sorie abt it...

adrienne

pardon mi 4 intrudin in2 ur personal matters...
i share the same sentiments with naturally...
since ur kiddo is by ur fh & ur in-laws recognize ur kiddo as their grandson, is there a need 2 wait till ur fh turns 21 yrs old 2 get rom???
as long as he is 18 yrs of age, his parents can signed as 'guardian' ( or somethin like tat ) u guys can b legalli wedded...
as 4 customary, i am able 2 understand their concern over the money issue...
if u aint goin 2 hv a customary, there's reali no money issue @ all...
the time factor ur in-laws had proposed its reali a long waitin time...
ur kiddo, ur fh & urself wld had a wonderful time if u r able 2 fight 4 ur rites & brin 4ward ur marriage...
juz my thots...
no offends pls...

kk

glad 2 koe ur hse almost done up oredi...
muz invite mi over ok...

ling

any news on the ballotin???

mei jie

how hv u been???
muz b buz with work & studies...
gonna take care ok...

naturally

check ur email hor...

yi

i am lookin 4ward 2 seein u in ur weddin pixs 2...

hi everybody,

on MC yesterday. suffering from ear infection. terrible feeling and i need to fly next week...dont know can heal or not.

I didn't make it to the show. Was sick. But a friend of mine. Says it very good. Hotel was nice too.

Michele, you may want to check out Oriental Hotel. They are having promotion till the end of this month. Quite a few feebies. I think you can pay the weekday rate for Friday and Sunday wedding and i was told that the bridal suite is very nice.

SLK: where your new flat, you never tell me.

Jan: you must be brave and thick-skinned. I find that trying the gowns help alot in your selection criteria. This is also the time for you to know your body well and learn what kind of cutting suits you. Unless you very skinny, wear any also can.

hi yi jie,

last evening we bought a 5 ft study table with 3 tier drawers for $250. And we get single mattresses as well...for $50 each.. kekee.. so that we can sleep on them when we have our weekends there

aiyoh, u make me nervous lah. i also look forward to wear gown, although it is 1 yr later.. kekekee... iwill also be as nervous as u when it is my turn.

flowee jie,

will sure invite all of u over when the cleaning is all done

Yi, ling,
i always get u two confused in my mind...heheh...sound the same same in my mind leh... My exams over!great! can relax for a little while!

kk...sorry hah..me actually lost contact with the people here for a mth or so, 'cos preparing for exams
and now so paiseh, i sometimes cannot link back the nicks to the names leh..can help me a little? yap, i got my flat liao..in jurong.

ling
cant remember wen i signed up the class. but ya the lecturer was an indian lady. she's not veri dark and quite pretty. maybe u were really in my class hor? but i cant remember anyone stoppin the course halfway lei?

hi flowee
nice to hear from u again. ya I'm bz wif work n studies. u oso take care!

hi kk mei,

hubby and i got our study table from ikea.
itz those you chose the table top and legs kind.
oso very cheap!

hehehe, hubby and i already got our bedframe and mattress liao even though our customary is in Jan 03. coz just find the master room empty and not complete without a bed! plus guest room oso got sofa bed coz my sis and bro-in-law stay over at times!

ya, really anxious to see my gowns and try them on! hehehehe

hi hazel,

I'm Yi whose love nest oso in Jurong, remember? In Blk 660A. Yours in Blk 658 rite?

Howz exams? And hows studies? When is your course ending? I oso just started my last semester last week!

Started renovating your love nest liao?

hi gals, sorry to intrude. accidently went into this thread n understand some of u gals will be going thru customary next year. thus just wondering whether all has been arranged for, as i have a friend who might be able to help on matters regarding car hire...

hazel,

remember we have been doing intensive emailing the other time? sometimes u took leave to study for exams mah.. kekekee.. i got my flat in sengkang...and that time we were discussing dun know when hdb will release the keys, etc.. remember?

i still remember the cute way ur hubby propose to u :P

i dun know whether u know me by my nick ker or u know my name kerene? ring a bell?

yi jie,

oh, those from ikea easily DIY rite?

i think this is the ripe time for u to get ur bedframe and mattress
i guess we will get ours in june next year. So what kind of bedframe u got and where u get it from?

wow, it must be lively to have ur sis and bil around

gals,

have u all ever heard that it is no good to hang wedding photo right on top of the bed?? Got such theory?? then why do we need to have this big wall photo when we can't hang it up above the bed?

harlow harlow

i want to do a mini poll here .... any of you attended a wedding where the bride wears her evening gown in the day time (perhaps for tea ceremony or something like that?)

I'm thinking of what to wear and when ...
to me, the evening gown should be for the banquet at night, so tea ceremony at in-law's house prob either bridal gown or kwa.
What do you think?

kk,

About the wedding photo, i heard before also but dunno from where. But my boyfriend say we will not be hanging our "chuan to zhao" in the bedroom. Therefore for the photot taking package, I have changed the frame to the poster type where I can roll it up and keep. "According to him, ppl who hang will end up no good like divxxxx." So we play safe loh.

Yi, you are taking your photos soon. so fun hor.. i am still waiting and waiting. very kan chueng already. but have to wait until end of the year or early next year....

Mei,

are you in the friday evening class or sat morning class? i am the friday evening class. In fact, i think i'm the only one that wnet halfway. the rest is late only. At that time , i am the 2nd youngest in the class.

Flowwee,

still no news leh. the papers also never say anything. maybe they are coming up after the governemnt decide on the cpf thing loh.
Your house started renov already???

You know hoh, yesterday I saw the fax from Homesuccess (whihc belong to my BIL), it comes to 46k. and think there is nothing much. so expensive leh. doing the pebble flooring for the entrance cost $550. He is crazy such a crazy man.

Hazel,

You study until "zou huo lu mo" already is it. I am the one you meet . Yi is the one staying near You. Is there any more exams????