(2003) Brides of year 2003

HI my dear 2003 brides and groom,

Sorry for MIAing..very busy lah!

Are you guys chatting tonight? Kindly someone advise how do I go about getting into the chatroom.Is it like normal IRC chatting? Need to update me on things..kinda lost touch. Hope to chat with all of you tonight.

Rgds
Winnie

Winnie & 2003groom

U can access the SB chatrm thru the SB site or mirc also can...
Server: Austnet
Channel: #Singaporebrides
Last nite elaine ( popples ) & myself were online...

cherubies

oh change of venue 4 ur weddin???
wat fort canning???
wow an outdr weddin muz b veri romantic & diff from the norm...

SLK

sis din koe u so 'on' here...
hvnt reali check the msg here...
pretti surprised 2 c ur msg ard...

btw wat kinda of 'stories' did u mentioned 2 ur FH???

koko

daniel yam's outfit can b commonli seen on brides on their rom daz...
a gf of mine she thought of gettin a daniel dress 4 her rom solemnization but after seein another bride ( she was @ the rom tat daz with another frenz ) puttin on the same outfit she decided she wont b gettin it after all...
i tailor made mine nt becoz i wana 2 b diff but those off the rack i look 'funie' in them whereas the tailor made one fits mi like a glove...

brides & grooms 2 b

please kindli fill in ur particulars in http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Brides2003/ ( if u hvnt done so )
its under the files column...
get 2 koe each other better thru the infor given in the list...

Hi flowee,

Yar. Tailor made ones are definitely better. Where did you tailor made yours? How much is it? Very interested to know. Of course not for ROM heeheehee!)Maybe tailor make one for tea ceremony or for the evening gown. I am sure other brides will be interested as well.

koko

i tailor made mine from zann & denn...
cost mi $480 4 the gown & a shawl...
so when is ur intended date 4 ur weddin???
booked ur bridal & banquet???

hi SLK n jady,
thanx 4 e info, will discuss it w my FH. how abt both of u? confirmed ur ROM lunch venue oredi?

hi 2003groom,
re u still hvg e same problem logging into e chatrm? coz i wanted to log on yesterday nite n find tat i cant. i was able to log in e day b4. can any1 help?

tinki

do u hv mirc download in ur pc???
if yes u can log in thru mirc...
Server: Austnet
Channel: #Singaporebrides
hope 2 c u there soon...

gers & guys

so when u all free 4 high tea???
still owe some of u gers my rom pixs...

Hi Flowee,

Me quite ok...only 18th May, I have appt already..let me know when is the next outing...waiting to see your pics...no one was in the chatroom when I went in at 10pm yesterday...
You have a nice weekend....

Rgds
blusher

blusher

seem like some of the gers hvin papers nw...
hv 2 wait till their papers r over...
mayb ask haz 2 do a poll in the yahoo sometime...
u hv a great wkend 2...

There's a new Elaine in this forum. Plse dun get mix-up with me hor

Anyway, I was thinking of either Tea Chapter or High Tea... wat you gals think?

flowee

Thanks for the info. I have not confirm the date for my wedding. I am thinking of dec in 2003 but my sis is also eyeing that month so maybe mine will be june (have to discus with FH). I have already booked a bridal package as for the banquet, i am thinking of not having bcos the number of tables is too great already...cannot afford...

elaine

mi got mixed up oredi but lucky i realised my mistake oredi...:P

koko

so u r also following the 'pan tang' abt nt gettin married 3mth b4 or after ur siblings???

flowee,
Me added my detail to the file,but dunno how to update it so me just upload the whole file.Is it alright or what should I do.

Me just book a wedding packet yesterday and they include a ROM dress, so now my FW dun need to look for one (Save $$$$ for me hehe) but still need to look for makeup cos they dun allow trial makeup to be use for ROM.

hi 2003groom,

Huh?? which bridal did you book? Dun allow trial makeup for rom? Actually you dun need to tell them that, that is your rom date. Just book the trial on your rom date, then ok liao.

btw, you should be more firm in aguring with them, coz after the trial makeup, your wife goes home and washes it away... so wasted... anyway, just tell them that they will not lose any money, + they still need to do trial makeup, so why not make it useful?

hi flowee,

yup yup.... i'm more on these days :P

hi 2003groom,

elaine is right. you must be more firm with them. sometimes can even borrow ROM dress from them.

Hi tinki,

actuaaly booked the museum courtyard for ROM but now chg idea cos too hot!! Think I'll bk the suite at Aranda Club at Pasir Ris & cater for dinner buffet.

Sorry to all gals,
Home PC spoilt, sent for repair so can't chat at nite.now in office..:p

flowee,

My mum is "pan tang" about that and she actually says 4 months...anyway i need to have mine during the school holiday bcos of my job...so i have only june or dec holiday to choose from.

<FONT COLOR="red">flowee</FONT> - hehehe... I know you mix-up liao, tat's why I type this just in case more people get mix-up

<FONT COLOR="orange">SLK</FONT> - Actually 2003groom did have the rom dress but just can't use his trial for the rom day. Which I think it makes no sense as they still will do the trial make-up with hair-do.

elaine - ready for yr ROM? all prep done?

flowee - when's the next gathering? i'm dying to meet all of u &amp; see yr pics!
I haven't buy dress or anythg yet cos still early mah, busy looking for venues for me ROM cos i chg my mind abt having it in museum courtyard.

Thinking of holding my wedding in May 2003. Anyone able to advise if the popular hotels are still available for weekends in May 03 ?

Thks.

Elaine,
Thanks for explaining. But the trial make-up dun have hair-do leh.
All you prep done. mine ROM earier than yours but still got a few thing not confirm. Dun make me worry.

Koko,
Me hear of that "pan tang" saying as well. yup its 4mths b4 and after. And you can't attent any 'hong bai' matter.

hi 2003groom,

normally they would say 'hair setting not included'. this means if you need those curls etc etc, they would not do it. but if it's just a simple bunning up, it is not considered as hair setting.

clarify with them ya.

hi, i'm back...my rom matter still not settled *sigh*...called them up a few times n they said they r investigating, will take quite a while...wat's there 2 investigate??? jus tell me wat time i suppose to come mah...

2003groom - ya, u better clarify all details wif them...i had bad experience wif the previous bridal shop...i selected the dress last mth n called up subsequently to confirm. to my surprise, the salesperson dunno tat i had chosen the dress, not to mention which dress tat was...service was lousy thru'out...anyway, i have signed up wif another shop, selected my rom dress n very happy wif them so far...

aiyo, y all the bad things seem to be happening to me??
hope u all have a happier time wif ur preparations

hi Jady &amp; 2003groom,

My rom preparations, is going on ok, this friday will book my date liao. My venue, booked liao. Left only my FH's suit, JP signing + my ring pillow.

<FONT COLOR="green">Jady</FONT> - Just bought my materials for my ring pillow. Going to sew it soon

<FONT COLOR="blue">2003groom</FONT> - Should insist on doing a simple hair-do. I'm using my bridal's trial for my rom make-up &amp; hair-do. I didn't ask them, but instead they ask me have I rom yet, then they told me tat I can use the trial for my rom

koko

its 4mths mah???
my mil told mi 3mths b4 &amp; after...
u r a teacher izit???

jady

so u will b bookin ur venue soon???
outfit will come along when the date is near...
better settle ur venue earli...
next meetin will b arranged soon...
will update u on the date &amp; venue...

blissful

wat happened 2 ur rom time slot???
keep pesterin them 4 an ans if nt they might sit on the fence...
dun sound so sad...
everythin is gonna b fine on ur rom daz...
i was worried abt mine then glad the occasion turn out well...
i am sure u will b a pretti bride...

blissful,
I think the next best thing you can do is to go down and ask them for a time slot. Dun need to investigate anymore, dun waste anymore time. Just push them for a time slot b4 all the slot is taken. Better to have a different time slot than to miss you ROM date. Some ppl need a little push to produce result.

Makup and hairdo settle liao, not using the trial makeup as my FW friend is doing the makeup for her.

Thing left to iron out
1) High Tea Venue
2) Invitee list
3) ROM dress (Included in bridal packet, just need to select one from them)
4) Apply for leave from company

5) ROM ring (Will be ready next week)

flowee &amp; 2003groom,tks for your concern...finally manage to get the 'higher authority' 2day...he said i can stick to the time printed on my acknowledgement slip...thk gdness, otherwise all my plans for reception etc will have to change...

hehee...actually i haven't apply my leave for ROM too...

Hi May 2003 Bride,

Whats your budget and how many tables are you looking at?

The popular hotels are ;-
a) Crown Prince (Min 25 tables)
b) Mandarin Marina
c) The Regent
d) Merchant Court (Min 35 tables) - Good food
e) Holiday Inn (Min 25 tables)
f) Hotel Rendevous - for smaller no. of tables
g) York hotel - for smaller no. of tables
h) Mandarin Hotel
i) Hyatt

blissful

glad u had settled ur rom time...
lookin 4ward 2 view ur rom pixs...
cogrates again 4 ur forth comin rom...

blissful,
so now everything back to normal loh. How could they mess up something so important but at least they clear up the mistake.

flowee

That was what my mum told me (4 months) but usually have different versions for these issues...anyway my sis and i cannot have it together not only bcos of "pan tang" but also bcos FH and my family have too many relatives so it will be very confusing.

And yes, i am a teacher actually teacher-to-be...having my exminations now...still have three more papers. I am quite stress now bcos scared that if i fail any of the paper got to repeat. I am also distracted by many things these few days. I juz got the keys for my flat so u know... where the distractions come from??? Very difficult to concentrate...

Blissful

Congratulations!

koko

take it easy ger...
tackle things one @ a time...
placed ur weddin plans &amp; flat aside @ this pt of time...
tat's wat my guy he's practisin nw...
gd luck in ur comin papers...

eh...hello...
me taking a break... so tired of studying...hee hee

koko,
don't worry..me mugging too...

all the best to the gals who's taking their exams...

cherubies

so when's ur last papers???
*flowee hugz hugz cherubies wish her gd luck 4 her comin papers...*

sherine &amp; tinki

congrates 2 ur forth comin rom in May 2002...
so how's ur preparation comin along???

Hi flowee,

thanks...most of the things settled liao...now just waiting for next thursday to come...quite excited
now thinking whether i left anything undone...hopefully not...keeping fingers cross that everything will run smoothly

Sherine,
You must be very excited now. Imagine when the day draw nearer

I am sure you have settled all the things ..... so dun keep thinking what is undone, dun stress yourself. Relax and enjoy the excitment waiting for next thursday.

Beanie ..... me dunno what surprise you toking abt.... but sure is glad that there is more ppl here

Care to share with us what surprise you mean.

Hi gers,

At last, I am back.. Now, I am lost in this circle..Need to do lot of revision works to catch up.
My ROM is on 21 May..

Please help me to check if I missed out anything..
Bought
1. Me - ROM dress and Shawl
2. Me - Heel
3. FH - Tailored Pant and Shirt

Booked
1. Make up and hair stylist @ $80. Anyone try Sandy Ho before

Pending
1. Lunch buffet - Excelsior hotel??? Any better choice???
2. FH - Tie??? His shirt is light bluw, Me is dark blue..
3. Me - Hand held flower (What flower to choose?)

Any outing recently? Keep me inform

Florence

<FONT COLOR="brown">Beanie</FONT> - Yup, suprized to see you back here? You using company pc or your home pc? Tot you kanna 'banned'?
Anyway nice having you back here again.

<FONT COLOR="purple">juju</FONT> - I think you forgot the most important thing, your wedding bands. FH's tie should be dark blue in color, since this shirt is light blue &amp; yours is dark blue. Flowers you can have blue/white roses to match your blue theme.

The next outing should be end of May, coz some gals are having exams during May.

Sherine,

I am sure u will b a radiant bride...
Smile x infinity ok???

Beanie

Been a while since we last c ur msg...
How hv u been???
The 'surprised' is tat u r able 2 access the net again oredi???

juju

congrates 2 ur forth comin rom in may 2002...
seems like we hv 3 brides 2 b in may 2002...

u had missed out ur weddin bands...
any ring pillow???
ur photographer???
i will recommend daniel 2 4 rom make-up...
i think sandy's make-up looks 2 'normal' on a bride( personal comments onli )...
u can email mi if u wana 2 koe more...

all gers

hv a great wkend...

had been reading abt the ring pillow in other threads as well...pardon my ignorance, but is it neccessary to get one? my FH's colleague told him there's a box (or something similar...) to place the rings...

haven't got any photographer either...was thinking of asking a fren to help...do couples usually get professionals for their ROM as well? any recommendations?

now still looking for a nice pair of shoes...can't seem to find any to my liking n matches my dress n FH not very tall, so got to take into consideration height of the heels too...heehee

juju- Personally, I will not really choose Sandy..saw her portfolio sent by a friend. It is not that her makeup is not good (Many people praise her work) but i find it too "normal" (hope u understand what i mean). I actually booked her for my rom as well but i feel unsafe bcos i prefer to have trial juz in case...her trial cost $40...which i think quite expensive...in the end i called another makeup artist (she was my sis's wedding makeup artist). Though the other makeup artist is much more ex then sandy's but i feel safer bcos seen her work on my sis and many of the brides from that bridal shop also praise her work (i also regretted that i did not book my package from that bridal shop)...dun forget to bring ics (yours, your FH, and the two witnesses)...very important

blissful-my advice is to get a professional for your rom unless u r very sure of your friend's skill. I did not get a professional for mine and i regret.

Juju, make sure your FH have prepare his shoe, sock and belt.
This might sound trivial but it better to be safe. And one more thing ..... his watch.
You dun expect your FH to wear baby-G with a pant and shirt right.

Hope that this help

koko

'great minds think alike'..
i dun find sandy's make-up as great as wat other brides commented...
coz i personali seen a bride's make-up done by sandy who romed on the same daz as myself...
she happened 2 b my frenz's frenz...
her make-up looks normal... ( sad 2 say like normal make-up not muz of color )
i changed my make-up artist to daniel... ( booked sandy also but cancelled )after hearin some comments from other brides ( they din write in the forum those unhappi happenings )...
&amp; i am glad i had done so...
daniel had gone the extra mile 2 wana 2 meet up b4 my rom daz 2 discuss abt my hair-do &amp; make-up ...
a more personal approach...

juju

u might wana 2 reconsider abt usin sandy...
daniel charges $150 4 hair-do &amp; make-up...
can send u one of his works if u r keen 2 take a peep...

blissful

u can do without the ring pillow...
when u purchase ur bands, it comes in a box rite???
bring along the box if nt ur bands will b placed on a metal tray if mi aint wrong...

i din get a pro photographer coz my frenz he's kinda in2 photography...
my rom pixs turned out great...

as 4 shoes, hv u tried Isetan???
my colleague &amp; myself managed 2 get our rom shoes @ Isetan...
we both bought a silver pair &amp; her's is onli 1.5 or 2 inch high... ( her fh nt muz taller than her )
the best part is tat the pair of shoes cost less than $30...

other shops 2 consider r:
1)RicciNo outlet in Orchard Point 2nd sty
2)Substance the shop above Borders
3)C.K Tang
4)Hue Scotts Shopping Centre 2nd floor

Hi Elaine,

That's why I said I am surprised too. I myself oso dun noe why. Anyway, juz happy to be back. Is the email thread still on? I went for the Traders Bridal Workshop yesterday, not very impressive... *sigh* got to do more research liao

Flowee,

Yah you are rite, is to access this page. How have you been? Miss you the other outing. Sure to join us for the next ok?

2003groom,

Thanks for your welcome. I guess you should know by now what surprise I meant. Glad to meet you here.

Beanie

nice 2 hv u back... *hugz*
sorie 4 nt showin up durin our 1st outing...
reali thankful 2 sally 4 ordinateli the outing well...
i supposed u gers had enjoyed urself veri muz???

there's no email circulatin since there's prob with the yahoo mails...
haz had solved it but since then no more daily emails ard...
veri quiet these's daz...

partli becoz some of the gers they r hvin their papers...

the date is oredi set 4 our 2nd outing 25th May 2002...
hv u voted???

tks for the advice everyone

juju - have u signed up with any bridal shop? mayb u can use their makeup svc...save $$ too...
wat time is ur rom? my makeup artiste advises not to drink too much water abt 4 hrs b'4 to avoid looking bloated, with eyebags and all...although i don't really think it'll be tat bad :P

Flowee,

*hugz* too. It seems queit on this thread recently. Where's everyone?

I have not voted yet, inform me the final venue. You have my mobile number rite?