(2003) Brides of year 2003

hi tinki,

ya... we will be very stressed at the same time this 2 years :P

my preparation? hmm... so so only. flowee's been giving me lots of tips (really nice of her!).

actually i may change my customary date. thinking of changing it to a weekday (cheaper mah :P)

but ROM date is fixed. when is yours?

hi marilyneau,

Email you liao

HI All,

What happened to the yahoo group thing or emails? Very quiet...no updates at all.

Hello!!!! Are you all still there?

Rgds
Winnie

hi gers

sorie 4 nt bein there on fri 4 our 1st outing...
heard from some of the gers u gers had a great time...
glad tat the 1st outing turned out well...
i still owe u gers my rom pixs...
perhaps we can plan 4 a high tea reception end of the mth???
wat say u gers???

SL

nice 2 c u here...
i juz bein kpo in ur selection of ur love nest...
mi lookin 4ward 2 hv new Sk neighbours since onli winnie & i r the Sengkanger...

Hello ...... girls ...... do you mind if a guy join in this discussion?

My other half is very busy and seldom come online so I will have to gather most of the information from the net and pass to her for REVIEW.

so I might need all you girls help.

New here, Elaine intro me.
Include me in everythg , ya?
email :[email protected]

elaine, email me yr pic leh..:p
flowee, will start searchg for bands & dress in Aug, shd still b able to make it rite?

Hi SL,

I've been using the nick SL in SB Forum under the "New Mothers-To-Be" thread. Maybe you want to modify you nick slightly to avoid confusion? Thanks!

<FONT COLOR="blue">2003groom</FONT> - Yup veri surprise to see you here, but you can join us here, if you dun mind all the gossip

<FONT COLOR="green">Jady</FONT> - Email you liao

hi elaine,

Thks for sharing ur lovely website!! It's so cool!!
I'm still waiting for my FH to be free to do our website too...hehe...thinking to do it myself but no scanner for pics yet.

Yep, i will sign up with rasa...i oni extend the deadline coz my FH is bz with his project recently. Thinking to go down with him on one of the weekdays to meet up with elaine for more details. Waiting for her to cfm appt.

Welcome to this thread, <FONT COLOR="0000ff">2003Groom</FONT> and <FONT COLOR="119911">Jady</FONT>!!
<FONT COLOR="119911">Jady</FONT>, I have added you to our list.

The Yahoo Group is ready for emails. It's juz tat the settings may hv changed for some members coz their mailbox may not be able to take mass emails, esp. company mailbox. You may go to change the settings from "No emails" to "Individual email" (real time) if u think ur mailbox can take it.

Hi Elaine, selected my dress alrdy so can save some $$ ;p
i had applied for my rom thru' efiling...today called up to confirm n was surprised to find that the solemnisation time they had in their records differ from that stated in my acknowledgement slip...????...anyone faced such problem b'4? think i better call up to check again...

Ok seem like I can join this thread,
so i will start shoot questions.
Just went to see M hotel last friday nite ..... very impress with the suite. Me and FW really like the hotel and the ballroom (10 level) comparing m hotel with Grand plaze which one would you girl recommand? This is the two choice hotel that we want.

Will be have our wedding dinner in Nov - Dec period ....... is it too early to book now?

What is this email thing???? can I join.

Website??? I want to see too elaine, cos me writing one now ..... 30% complete ... but still a long way to go cos haven't taken any photo.
Just setting up all the backbone really.

email: [email protected]

Hi blissful
I book our ROM date thru efilling as well .. but didn't call to confirm with them .... so you mean we got to call and confirm with them? I thought with the confirmation page that we print out is enough?

hi gers &amp; guys

2003groom &amp; jady
nice 2 hv u with us...

jady
since ur rom will onli b in oct, aug will b fine 2 get ur outfit...
i wld suggest earli sept 2 make ur outfit as fitting as possible...

2003groom
so r u gettin ur rom &amp; customary done on the same daz???
M hotel &amp; Grand plaze aint within my shortlisted 4 my banquet...
How many tables r u lookin @???
gers any comments on these 2 mentioned???

hi 2003groom,
i misplaced my acknowledgement slip tat's y i called up rom...n tat's when i discover the time they had is different from my acknowledgement slip(found it later)...
guess to play safe it's better to call, u wun wan 2 b left stranded on ur big day...

actually i did consider grand plaza but later strike it off the list cos when i spoke to my relatives/frens, seems like not many of them know this hotel...

hi flowee,
sorry to confuse you, I am having my rom this year and customary will be Nov - Dec period of 2003.

We are planing to have 25-30 table. Can't confirm yet but will try to fall within this range.

Heard that Grand plaza food is good. But we like the ballroom of M hotel and hehehee the suite as well.

Blissful,
looks like to play safe it is better for me to call them to check.

hi all to e new 2003brides n groom!

2003bride's SL,
my ROM date ll be on e 25thMay. my customary falls on 25/5/03. iz a sunday. but like wat u said, wkday's banquet iz cheaper, so i ll oni be holdg my dinner e next day, which iz a Monday. u hvg any ROM lunch? now headache sourcg 4 1.

blissful,
i called ROM yesterday to confirm e time coz i didnt print out e acknowledge slip. e time n day was correct leh (hee hee,oni groom's name still pendg), think u better double check.

groom,
good to ve u here, at least we can ve a guy's opinion now. sorri, cant help u. both hotels not in my shortlisted list leh.

Elaine,
sorri dun noe much abt dogs, btw wat breed is him?

<FONT COLOR="blue">2003groom</FONT> - You better start booking now. Normally to get the best location is to book 1 year in advance. I've a friend who wanted Dec and her prefered location is fully booked so she went for Jan instead.

Also email you liao

<FONT COLOR="red">tinki</FONT> - I dun have a dog leh...why you think so?

Blissful,
After what you said here, I give ROM a call regarding my ROM timing. Everything is correct.
Have you solve you wrong time issue?

Looks like the two hotel that we shortlisted is not very populer here .... better go dig out more inform abt them.

hi tinki,

you are like us.

since our ROM is 1st June 2002, we wanted our ROM to be 1st June 2003. but it's a sunday.

the next day is monday. do you think the sttendance might be affected? some people say that if it's a monday, a lot of people wun turn up. not sure if this is true.

we are now thinking of having it on one of the thurs in may or june.

ROM lunch ah? hmmm... we wanted to have a buffet lunch at my FH's place. but now thinking of having the buffet dim sum at Miramar hotel. think it's $12.80 for weekends. my friend has the discount card. if you want, i can borrow from her and pass it to you

Dear gals,

elaine, saw ur pg liao. so sweet, ur fav pastime is talkg to him on the phone?:p

tinki, do u mean elaine's 'son'(russ) rite?it's a bear

flyn, sent the file bk to u liao.btw i dont quite understand yr yahoo group email thingy.

2003groom, too early to book now lah, yr banquet end of next yr rite?book in sept this yr still got time.
so sweet of u to gather info for yr FW....many guys don't do that.

flowee, is jinette in this group?

Welcome Jady &amp; 2003groom

By the way, so sorry! Yesterday the Yahoo Group was down...but today is ok liao..so if you want to access the files etc etc...you can do it today!

Flyn &amp; Flowee, chatting session tonight?

called up ROM again this morning n guess wat? they said my receipt is wrong, the records on their side is the accurate one...i wasn't pleased with tat explanation so they said will check again n call me back. still waiting for their call...

anyone have merchant court in mind for the wedding dinner? any feedback abt their food and service? saw the bridal suite, very ordinary, jus like a normal deluxe rm so quite disappointed...

Sherine,
My ROM will be in June 2002.
Now looking for some high tea. The slot we book is 2pm so by the time its finished we can only have high tea. Any recommanation where got high tea during weekday???

SLK,
Buffet dim sum at Miramar hotel at $12.80 for weekends is a very good deal. Too bad mine is on a weekday and must be high tea. If not I will take this offer up.

jady,
I will be looking around and if found what we want we will book the banquet lor, but now still looking.

Sherine,
So your ROM in two weeks time.
All the preparation done?

For mine ROM only booking of date is done the rest still searching.

1)Need ROM dress for my FW
2)Need makeup for my FW
3)Need a high tea location
4)Dunno who to invite to our ROM (Most troubled)

For 1 and 2, I tell my FW that normal one can already but she say CANNOT cos its once in a lifetime thing. So now got to look for these. And she want me to wear a suit too. I tot just wear pant and shirt can liao.

hi guys &amp; gers

so when will the 2nd outing b???
a sat 2 hv high tea???
still owe u gers my rom pixs...

jady

jinette nt in the 2003 brides coz she is gettin married end of this yr...

2003groom

u might wana 2 check out Marriot hotel or Cafe Vienna they offer high-tea on wkdazs...

haz

wat time 2nite??
email mi @ my office mail ok...

flyn

u feelin better nw???
recovered from ur flu???

blissful,
I think merchant court can only have max 28 table.
Just had a wedding dinner 2 mths ago and the food ok ..... service ok.

But that is on weekday. I think during weekend there will be table just outside the ballroom entance where they serve buffet and this might be a bit noise when you are having you pre dinner reception. Moreover the buffet guest and your guest will share the same toilet. Hope this information is enough for you.

2003groom

4 her outfit, tailor making or off the rack???
can intro u my tailor if u guys wana 2 invest on ur rom outfit...
as 4 make-up u can try daniel...
he's the daniel under the advise by experts...
high-tea u might consider marriot hotel or cafe vienna cost u $25-28 per person...
as 4 who 2 invited or nt 2, it depends on u oredi...
my rom involved onli immediate famili members &amp; 2 frenz were there 4 us...
but we had a buffet dinner @ the coasta sand chalet in the evenin...

flowee,
outfit can be tailor make or off the rack

my FW friend intro her to grand plaze high tea at $18net per person but need to book a minimum of 35 person.

Hi 2003groom,

Daniel Yam @ Wisma (forgot which flr) has nice long dresses and even a simple bustier gown but then the danger is that someone else at the ROM might be wearing the same dress on the same day cos quite a lot of brides-to-be shop there for their ROM dresses as well.

Heard from my colleague that Hotel Phoenix @ Somerset got nice high tea...nt too expensive oso...maybe you can call them and check it out.

Hi gals and guys...

If you got some time tonight...please come to the chatroom..some of us will be there at around 9pm to 11pm +++ ok?!

hi 2003groom,

me same as Sherine, intend to tell u chk out Hotel Phoenix hi-tea. think abt $15+++ per pax.

Shall we chat tonite? Now? Anybody?

<FONT COLOR="red">Sherine</FONT> - Email you the particulars liao

<FONT COLOR="green">Jady</FONT> - Hehehe... saw my son, cute hor...smell nice too
My past-time used to be talking over the phone, but told you mah... info not updated, now no lah... Now is everyday see each other

<FONT COLOR="blue">2003groom</FONT> - Have you book your bridal package? coz actually when you book with a bridal shop, you'll have 1 trial make-up which you can use for your rom, then you can also rent their tea dress, or even best if you can ask them to include and off-rack tea dress for your rom. So in another words, you save cost.

btw, I talior-made 1 rom dress for $100 (workmanship) but I also bought a used wedding gown from a bridal shop @ $100 too. Will be wearing that for my rom. You can try asking bridal shop if they are selling their old gowns.

elaine,
didnt see u in e chatrm leh?
kekeke,
so paiseh, i tot i saw a dog..

SLK,
yeah tat's a good deal. iz $12.80nett? how's e food n where's Miramar Hotel?
i ve pple who told me tat attendance might be affected if dinner iz on a wkday too, but if u re invitg close friends,collegues n relatives, i m sure they ll turn up regardless whether iz wkday or wkend rite? tat's y i decided to put it on e next day to cut cost, but if i ve e $, i would prefer it to be on e same day as my customary, sign....

jady,
does e hi- tea px applies to Sat afternoon too?

flowee,
i m on 4 e hi-tea. maybe we shld start a poll soon.

tinki,

this hi tea pkg is quoted to me when i enquire abt using their function room in the cafe itself for ROM on sat afternoon.
Now i decided on another place &amp; i cater buffet.

Daniel Yam (i think should be first level)has very nice dresses suitable for ROM. I also got my ROM dress from there.

Just to share with all of you...I got ROM last year and was surprised on that day. Not all the brides wear long dresses or put on any makeup...I felt abit weird bcos a number of people kept looking at me....anyway it could be that i look pretty lor (thick skin!heeheehee!)

So maybe you can get your ROM dress from Daniel Yam and pray hard that nobody will be wearing the same dress. Anyway i dun think everybody will have the same fashion sense or the same dress you chose may not suit another person...even if you meet someone who wear the same dress on that day...it means that you've good taste

So dun worry...be HAPPY!!!

hi tinki,

the food at mirarmar is not bad. not the fantastic kind but is quite worth is.

mirarmar hotel is opposite Kings hotel (next to Grand Corpthorne) hotel. near tiong bahru area (not too far from ROM place)

hi koko,

you are right, some brides prefer to be simple... some are so simple that you wun even know they are the one getting married :P

i attended my friend's ROM last year. she was wearing a long sleeve top and a short skirt. and not much makeup on. after the ROM, we could even go shopping together, can u imagine!

Sorry that I left the chatroom without saying anything yesterday. I just got disconnected and can't connect back to the chatroom dunno what happen.

Anyway yesterday had a nice chat with all of you and will be back when ever I can make it.

hi 2003groom,

i must say i really envy your FW. she is soooo lucky!

very seldom see guys involved so much in weddings and even attend forums to find out more.

for me, i must keep telling my FH abt the forum and the topics discussed. and most of the things (like bridal boutique etc) are my suggestions.

Hi elaine,

can you mail me the contact person for rasa?
now must whip out back-up/exigency plan...

may need to change from chijmes to rasa now cos chijmes may not be available on the date we wanted. considering outdoor ceremony... still crossing my fingers...

thanks in advance...

SLK,
No lah maybe your FH is busy lah. Maybe he is doing lots of other stuff that you dunno ... he maybe ready to surprise you.
Anyway me doing this cos my FW dun have internet access, and me know more abt internet stuff.
Anywhere, marriage is between two ppl so dun need to say who do this who do that .... or who do more .... in the end its for the both of us.

Just need me to spend a little bit of my time ... and problem will be solve so why not. anyway its fun to come here to chat with all of you.

If we are ready to share our life, we should be really to share the work lor.

hi 2003groom,

true also. though my FH is not involved in this forum, he's always quite interested to hear my 'stories'

here's wishing you and your FW a happy life together