(2003) Brides of year 2003

sandgirl72

how are everyone of you doing?

i m down with bad sore throat and flu since Monday..
now on order by boss to rest at home for today..

are

sunnyling... guo da li is when the groom sends over the ping li and things. u dun hv tat? so lucky... its so le chey.

my mum's idea is to invite those relatives who will be getting cakes to my place so no need to travel all ovr s'pore to deliver. so if ask ppl to come, muz give food lor.

piper

hello people,

been quite sometime since i've last posted here. sems like quite a number of newcomers...welcome welcome

hi naturally,
can't see your photos yet? tot the photographer might e-mal some pcs for you to "drool" over till you collect your album. try to ask ur photographer for a few pics leh, then we can see ur ps as well.....

meowie

Augus,
You want to sent your details to me at [email protected] with the followings:
Nick:
Birthday:
ROM Date:
Actual Day:
Venue of Banquet:
Email address:
Contact No.:
New Home location:
Name of bridal:
Actual day photographer:
Photoshoot date:
Dialect of bride + groom:

meowie

Sunnyling,
I'm making paper bags now to put those confetti in for the wedding. Once 7th month is over, i'll go search for a tea set.

DK,
I've sent a copy to you liao

sunnyling

are

Ya ya I got tat but hor tot only the groom bring cake over tat it loh still got so many thing to do ah. haha

Meow

seem like other are doing alot of things beside me haha tat y I thk a bit weird loh y I so free. hahahaha

are

sunnyling... u r so lucky. my mum got lists for hubby to bring ovr, & things she is giving me, so been shopping loads.

plus i got 2 dins, so got 2 sets of guest lists + invites to prepare. sigh... who ask me itchy backside... ;P

teatree

hi naturally,

yup i will have 2 banquets but both will be in indonesia. hahaha... too long basking in the limelight might make me grouchy when i'm out of it.

14 dec and 21 dec, just a week apart. what about you?

good that you enjoy your ps session so much. did you have to pose a lot? i'm very awkward in front of camera. oh and i look awkward in pictures too.

wah, punggol is still very new rite? no wonder doesn't have amenities yet. i think soon will be full of food court and hawkers and supermarkets.

hi tingting,

read that your ps is in sept. mine is on 11 sept. we might bump into each other if yours is on 11 too. hehehe... what's is your bs by the way? if you don't mind me asking.

minx

Hi Pam,

So will you be having a mockup for an off-shoulder gown? Michelle told me she will not have any sleeves for the design of the WG. I am going down for my second appt next week. Will decide on the design. Have you confirm your design? How many design did Michelle draw for you?

My PS was suppose to be in Oct but my hubby is having reservist so change to Nov 14. Mian let me choose a few dates in Nov. I am leaving it to Kim on where he is bringing me.
what about you?

chicory

Hi tingting and naturally,

Yes, Emerald Hill is somewhere behind centrepoint there. I have never been there too. One of my ex-colleague went there for PS and I saw Smufette's PS photos taken there too, and i think the place looks nice.

Hi Sandgirl,

wow... your boss is so nice
. Are you feeling better now? Rest more and drink more water.

Hi teatree,

I think views are very subjective lor, different people have different experiences and encounters with the same person. Most important is you must feel comfortable with your photographer
, i have a fren who also used Utopia and i think she is quite happy with the results. Don't worry
and enjoy the preparations.

Any of you gals going to DIY wrist corsages?

putise baby

hi girls!!

wah!! looks like got a lot of things to prepare for wedding hor...
me just confirmed using my boss's 3 lovely daughters as flower girls so now trying to see what design to make their dresses in..
also need to go arab st to buy baskets...

seems like a lot of you not doing much in 7th mth hor... and i ended up doing most of my stuff in 7th mth... like meeting my priest for pre-nuptial interview, settle my mass book... all my catholic wedding stuff

think i will only do the more traditional stuff after 7th mth, like shop for tea set, food tasting etc

busy busy!!

cookiecorgi

Back after a while... hi to all the new brides getting married in oct03.. anyone realised that its merely 2mths away!?!?!?! GOSH!!!

Okie, I jus settled my printing of invitation card with Acepro! Will be collecting the finished pdt in two weeks!!

Next on the list.. Wine!!!
Anyone has starting sourcing for wines already? I hear reds are more popular so i am thinking of only getting red wine. Serene, wat carmen wine did your friend bgt fr NTUC? I am talking to this company called Wine Network, they specialise in South african wines-relatively cheaper than french and some say they are as good! Let me know if you all need the contact.

Source for wines

serene sng

WOW!!! Revamping the forum... look abit funny.. still prefer the old one...me kan chiong now liao..see yoou guys so hardworking..

lkf2,
where is the Chan Brothers Fair...??
IS lkf2=lkf???

are,
Wow... your list is long... me can take your list to do reference...??

piper

Hi chicory,

i very ks...hehehe...have finished the wrist corsages for my jie meis. scared later no time to make....

cutiechar

Need ur gals advise. My bridal shop actually confirm my lst fitting is in July but it drag until now, haven call us yet. Last week my hubby call up and he says give him one more week. I am worried coz my PS is in Sept 20. Will the alterations (if any)be able to be completed before my PS coz oli got one month apart..scarli I don like my gown, den die liao. I realised my bride frds all gone for final fitting soon except me..:S

On the other hand, my hubby says that if we were to rush him, den we might not got the "product" we want coz he might "anyhow do"..sigh..

Hi ting2, naturally, teatree,

u gals have confirm any place for PS? I haven tot of it yet..on idea at all..keke

Hi Chicory,

I going to get wrist corsages for my ah yees but not DIY coz me poor in art and craft one..hee

29886.gif

serene sng

Also,

I didnt receive the email of add for the seamtress lady and i forgot who post it..?? can the person pls send it to me again..???
Thanx...

are

hi serene... feel free to. i think tats wat tis forum is for. oni aft reading putise baby's posting abt flower gal then i rem tat i nid to bring my open-door boy to buy clothes as well! ;P

actually i've got more. i jotted them down and split in terms of aug/sept/oct. as mine is 1st nov, i oni hv effectively oct to do things! ;P

i think u shd start a list if u haven't. then as & when you rem things juz add on lor. then wun lose track or forget.

serene75

Hi Cookiecorgi,
Can you give me the Wine Network contacts?
Carmen from Chile..forgot the full name

Me also waiting for NATA Fair...

putise baby

serene... are you asking for my tailor's contact??

are... i couldn't find a pageboy for my church wedding, you think it's ok to ask one of my flower girls to hold the rings as well?? are, you got a more detailed list of what to do arh?? can share share?? me quite blur abt the traditional stuff one... only know abt my church things :p

also anyone with lobang to get cheap and pretty ring pillows?? thanks

chicory

Hi piper,

wow... you are very fast
. Any photos to share and where did you get the materials from? I am thinking of DIY but not sure how to go about doing it and where to get the materials from.

Hi Cutiechar,

If i rememeber correctly, you are with silverlining rite? I think the alteration is very fast, my BS did some alterations to the sizes in less than a week. I think you designer is probably very busy cuz' he is getting more and more popular. Don't worry, i am sure he will be able to complete your gowns in time for PS.

I also agree with your husband not to rush him too much cuz' you don't him to compromise on the quality right? Don't worry too much cuz' i had the same worries as you that i might not like my gowns, but turn out fine leh. You will slowly love your gowns even if you don't when you see it the first time... speaking from experience... heheh...

tingting

hi teatree,

my PS will be on 24 Sept. Look forward to ur sharing of ur experience!
I'm with Dang Bridal.

hi cutiechar,

i'm thinking of emerald hill, botanical gardens, changi beach. but got to check out the places cos they may have changed somethings.

Which BS are u with? My PS is on 24 Sept, but just went for 1st fitting last week. If ur BS is competent it should be no problem. We'll be doing the groom's suit sometime next week. I think the final fitting shld be 1 week before the PS, when u do the trial make up session. But important to follow ur designer closely when she does the details n alteration so that u won't get a shock at the final product

pam

Hi Renee Jesslyn,
Yes, Michelle did a mock up of both a off-shoulder n a sweetheart neckline for me to try out.
I prefer the off-shoulder n considering the sweetheart neckline for EG.
Will confirm everything on End Aug when measurements are being taken.
For outdoor PS, I will be going to Fullerton (using the Loft suite) n my home.

are

putise baby... i'm not a christian so not too sure abt church proceedings, but hv heard b4 tat catholic weddings quite strict? maybe you can check with your church if it is ok.

my list is basically according to my families' requirements. maybe you email me wat are the areas u wld like to noe & i'll advise u based on wat i noe?

naturally

we're rather active today!

Teatree,
Hey, me wedding also on 21st, and i think sandgirl also!
Oh, dun u worry abt PS, just be natural! Trust me, u'll feel very different with the nice makeup and beautiful gowns, besides, travis will be guiding u, so leave the work to him, and u just concentrate on having fun, okie?

Sandgirl, u feeling better yet?

Piper,
hehe, the photographer never email us pics to make us drool leh, though that's a good idea! But i dunno if he'll charge us for that, ha! Probably next 1 or 2 weeks, be patient lah, hee hee! Wah, u already got the wrist corsages done! Hmm... i may just order from the florist, but dunno if real flowers are good, cos they dun last long... hey, can teach us how to make wrist corsages or not?

Cutiechar,
your cat is cute!

Erm.. no worries lah, 1 mth is sufficient time, hope u'll like your gowns!

lkf

serene

ya...lkf2=lkf. i signed in as guest using lkf2.
the ad i saw yesterday at the classified section is for early bookings so can go down to their office @ fook hai bldg. for the travel fair, they haven't announced yet. it was at suntec last yr, so dunno whether will be the same this yr? i kpo kpo...where u plan to go?

btw does anybody have any printers to introduce? thinking of using hi-tech cos' it's quite cheap.

the other thing i am really clueless is caterers for guo da li n actual day lunches. any suggestions?

cath

if you are looking for wines, i suggest you go Carrefour cos they allow unopened wines to be returned with no question ask. Also, they have wine promotions every week.

piper

hi hi..

I dun have any pics of the wrist corsages...if u all wanna see then I'll have to go home & take some pics then upload.

I got my materials from Concourse. Quite cheap ribbons & fake flowers. Total costs for 6 corsages ard $20. I've checked out the prices for corsages with florists - for a simple one with 1 flower , like gerberas, it costs ard $5. For those with rose buds & baby's breath, it will cost ard $20. Very ex leh.....

My jie meis quite "chor lor" so better use fake flowers then can last longer. Fresh flowers needs a lot of care, dun think my jie meis will take care.

cookiecorgi

Hi Serene, I am still talking to wine networks... maybe going down this weekend to chk out their wines.. hopefully we can negotiate together and get a better price? hee... wat's ur email? I email you...

putise baby

are...

hey thanks for offering to help on what to prepare for wedding... how to get your email addy??

i asked my priest before... he said no need to have any flower girls or pageboy... all just things we copy from ang moh weddings. :p i'm trying to make my best fren coach my godson how to walk... he's only 9 mths now, but will be 1 yr old during my wedding... hopefully he can walk by then, so he can be my pageboy :p

yve

lkf, the chan bro fair is at Suntec. It is the classifieds today.

For caterer, u can check the classifieds.. Or internet. e.g. Select, mum's kitchen. I need to order for my place and his place.. will choose different dishes so we get to eat different stuff..
Here's a few of my links.
http://www.continental-delight.com.sg/
http://www.elsiekitchen.com.sg/
http://www.jiale.com.sg/main.htm
http://www.mumskitchen.com.sg/
http://www.select.com.sg/

I have to order roast pig. here's a link too..
http://www.tiongbahruroastedpig.com.sg/

For cakes, considering bengawan solo..

Rem to buy red/pink umbrella too!

are

lkf... if u juz flip thru yellow pages, or online, u will find loads of caterers. but my family used a chinese restaurant b4 & we really liked the food so will use them. others like select can do a mixture of chinese/western/jap so most ppl like them.

putise baby... my email is in meow's list, u hv? hate to 'pour cold water', but think ur godson is 2 young. i ever go to a wedding where the flower girl got scared juz b4 the walk-in & refused to walk. so the poor page boy walk by himself. 9mths a bit hard to anticipate lor...

putise baby

yve!! i think you prob rite... my best fren says even if my godson can walk, he'll prob walk into the aisles!! hahahahaha!

hey, anyone with recommendations on where to find cheap and nice tiaras??? HELP

serene sng

You can try jack place for catering... their charges are comparable with those other caters.
http://www.jacksplace.com.sg

are,
Thanx... really need alot of help!!!

putise baby,
yup.. didnt receive any mails from your side and do we need to bring our own materials or wht..? and the charges..?? Can you email me at [email protected]

Ikf,
oic.... well, my hubby want to go japan and i want to go europe... but we also have to see our budget... if not enough, go australia....heehee... funny rite...?? i told him y dun we go seperately.. then meet in singapore???
I think he is fuming....

Also, would like to check if we are not christian nor catholic.. do we need a ring pillow...??

yve

to all,
Chan brothers package tours dates are out for Nov.. Their Tasmania tour not near my AD lah..

SA fair is also at suntec on 31 Aug.

putise baby

serene my dear...
i got reply you lah... but i posted here mah

okie, my tailor is called sharon, her no. is 62220615. her place is at tanjong pagar market, 2nd flr. you must bring your own material and own design
i usually buy my material from arab st and cut out designs from magazines...

leo29

Yve,

Mum's Kitchen!!! Belong to my friend lei. But don't know are we refering to the same caterer or not. Are there at bedok?

Besse,

You looking for me? So fast miss me liao hah. I very busy the last 2 days so never log on.

putise baby

Yve...
my dum dum MU artist dun have anything one lah... he will only put some flowers which i like but think also good to have tiara as well

how to get from korea??!!?? you going there *hopeful face*

jady

hi amy,

welcm. my wedding on 4th & 5th oct too!
where's yr banquet & which bridal shop u sign up with? we got less than 2 mths to our wedding!! panic liao, so many things hvnt done..

lkf

hello gals

thanks so much for your lists of caterers. wanted some gd food that will not burst tight budget. my friend used mum's kitchen b4, she said ok. i wld probably leave out CDCS, my company uses it so a bit sick of it liao.

are

can let me know the name of the chinese restaurant?

yve

ok..muz go home n see wat they hv. hmmm... tasmania...can look out for SIA promotion to tasmania. If not wrong, i think they will have special chartered flights (tour packages also) to go tasmania at the end of the year(Spring/summer time).

serene

me also very fickle-minded on where i want to go. there are budget n weather contraints too. if go next yr, scare i get pregnant thereafter...really headache.

putise baby

dunno whether the accessories section @ taka level 1 (next to the cosmetics counter) will hv any or not? u can take a look there.

are

putise baby... wat abt your BS? i saw at my BS tat they hv a couple. haven't seen it outside. will keep a lookout for u if ever got chance to go shopping.

are

lkf... its ah ping. a bit cheena but its more like zhi cha food which my older gen ppl likes. no one appreciates western in my family so modern caterers like select, kriston is out for me.