(2003) Brides of year 2003

My wedding date is on 14 Dec at Marina Mandarin.
Got my gown from Allure Charix
Still feeling qt lost..heheh
;P

Hihi Maya
Those guo da li stuff which I mentioned r to b bought by the bride's mum 4 the couples.

Hihi Kare
Cover your arm wif shawl

Hihi May
I spent $73 on the guo da li stuff bought fm China Town.
Wanted to buy the slimming salt yesterday then my mum reminded me dat I had a very bad rashes on my tummy after applying cellulite gel few yrs back. Dun wanna take the risk tis time. Thx 4 your recommendation
I oso want to make wrist corsage 4 my ah yi. Haven't start anything on it yet.

Hihi Pausini
Go re-take your ps since u r not happy wif it. Think u gotta pay for the make-up.
I forgot to mention 2 impt items I bought for guo da li - red cloth 4 hanging @ doorway n a yuan yang plate. U may like to go to the shop I mentioned. The lady boss is v patient n honest. She paste xuan xi sticker on all items so u dun have to buy so many stickers. Only need to buy stickers for your door, mirror, cabinet, orange juice, etc.
1st song is sang by Liu Rui Qi n Sun Jian Hua. The exact name of the title is in English, Be my friend Be my love.
The wrist corsage u made wif the plastic flowers r better than the earlier ones. They r v beautiful.

Hihi Jan
Tis is human nature. I m the only daughter staying in an execute apt wif a rm to myself. Initially my mum also asked me to move all my things after customary. On a 2nd thot u said better dun otherwise my SIL will invade my rm. She is fond of invading empty space wif her rubbish.

Hihi Jazz
I m sending invitation card to everyone. Can send to relative only during guo da li bcoz of the cake.

Hihi Sue
I haven't finalise my song list yet. My hubby wanna short list a few then select fm there. We short listed Song Bird fm Kenny G n From This Moment. More to come.

Morning!

I would like to make wrist corsages with your gers too.. Too bad I can't make it for the gathering on 28 Mar.. Hope there will be a chance in future to see u all.. In April or May? Can compare progress and give each other pointers mah..

Good morning ladies!

So glad to be able to meet you girls finally!
Thanx vio for organising the outing! ; )

Thanx ladies for sharing ideas with me!

Serene,
rem the curtain that we mentioned yesterday?
can i have the contact no and add?
thanx!

Hi Leo29,

Good that so many of us are staying so near to each other... ad of course... knows how to play mahjong.. next time will not be afraid of not enough " legs"....

BTW, for Punggol flats. pls try to chck the followings if you should have just got your keys...

1. The "cleaning icing" --- ot too sure of the term.. but mine at the kitchen area have holes... thus causing water to seeps and onto my cabinets.. in the end.. have to remove a few piece of planks to check for the problem.. luckily is not the water proofing problem of the above tenants..The plumber guy told me that a lot of the flats in Punggol face this problem.. waste a lot of my time.

You will not know of the leakage unless your neighbour above should use the water..

2. Cracked glass... check properly the glass panels before your contractor starts work.. HDB pple might try to shift the blame.

3. Water seepage thru the " black gaps"... a few of my neighbours faced this problem..

Above is just a note... don't be too worried aboout them.. just check around to be safe..

morning ladies,

this thread has been rather quiet.

elaine, remain calm & relaxed & be a pretty happy bride.

yi, how r u? feel free to call us if u nid to talk ok?

flowee, i dont understd. u mean mike has to fly over there?

morning!!

nice to hv met jus & HF yest!!

so who paid for my dinner?keke

thks vio! next one is serene liao.
date either 15th, 22nd or 24th april.

Hi erin,

U sure KC charges only $800?? I enquired last Oct, and he quoted me 2 packages priced at $1K and $1.2K, that comes with 400 4R, edited photo book, and cd-rom, however he did mentioned he's flexible, though i didn't take it further....

Actually i'm toying with the idea of getting 2 photographers, one at my house, and another to follow my FH and his buddies out from his house.... i would love to see if my groom has pre-marital jitters!
If KC can really provide a package at $800, maybe i can consider.... thks for the info, erin!

Hi Leo29 and Serene

I also been wining since CNY until my kaki say dun want to jio me liao hahahaha. They say everytime I lost only little bit but win hor alot so they say dun jio me next time liao. But hor still ask me to play every weekend. They never seldom see I lost everytime win might as well go and work part-time.

good morning jady

how are u? me seldom come in to chat nowadayz...

elaine, must take care of urself & be a radiant bride

yi, are u ok?

serene... oh, i think u are staying close to my fren, coz he oso told me his flat contractor went burst, stopped work. but he told me they resumed work already??

leo29... wah, somebody had a fat fat CNY eh? ;P

hmm... now tat we got so many kar, think someone else hv to move another table to my house??? ;P hahahaha... hubby was saying tat we gotta put a 'gong' for you all to drop 'shui qian', & he will push a cart around selling food!
hahahaha...

Tingting,
so have u submited the loan application form yet? My deadline is 1 week after yours, we shd be sending very soon, once i remember to zap my payslip...

sandgirl,
thks, it was just luck and a terribly kiasu mentality... i know i can be quite a sore loser, so once i win a little bit i must quickly chao liao!
Btw, we are having our wedding banquets on the same day!

Min,

Yah, 40 tables. No I don’t think 40 is enough but that is the maximum that I can negotiate for. The rest just pay cockage lor, no choice. If I’m not wrong, i think original was only 24 bottles, right? Yes, try your best to negotiate for lower cockage. If she insist no, ask them to absorb the +++. I belive they can. How many tables you taking?

Besse,

You may check out this 2 photographer, Acepix- Lionel at 97949969, 62230506 and Robin Phtography-Robin at 96808084, 63231823

Hi Girls!

I'm back! Wow, what a lot of postings! Welcome Cherub & mexx!

It was a fun but tiring trip for me at KL. Went shopping at Mid Valley Mega Mall and KLCC. I found the shop Lovely Lace mentioned in another thread.

They do have ring pillows (S$20)and flower girl's basket but I did not buy them as all are decorated with old fashion lace which is not what I wanted. Also, the pillows are mostly heartshaped ones. For those of you waho likes lace and stuff, you may want to make a trip up to see the shop. The have all the wedding stuff, ranging from ring pillows to wedding albums, wedding bears, photo frames and ect, all covered with lace.

I have not settled on my actual day photographer yet. If anyone of you has got packages from any photographers, can let me know?

Hi pooh

The 2-pc is nice to be changed to EG. But then u still hv to think abt the colour rite? As for the WG, as long as they hv not start making it, shd not be an issue. Maybe u hv to call them first.

My cards I sent to print liao. Just confirmed the layout yesterday. I printed both dinner n church invitations with the recommended printer by the restaurant. Not pricey too - total ard $430. Ok lah hor?

Hi beanie

Ya, sometimes we hv the photographer to thank. My photographer's really look beng beng one but he's very chirpy. His assistant is an uncle but an ex-photographer n one of the bosses. he likes to tag along cos he carry the big flash. He's the one tt makes my FH laugh
Me 2, can't wait to c my albums.

Hi eco

Welcome to the thread!!

I wld advise tt to save yrself some stress, use the one recommended by the hotel cos they will hv all the relevant details like address (esp in chinese), maps etc. Otherwise i think u hv to collect the cards fm the recommended printer n send to yr preferred printer to print. I think some threads recommend Tecman at Bras Basah n T-Dragon but I m not sure where is it. Sorry

Hi shanice

Welcome back. It's good to be fair. I tried to be but still a bit tan now. Maybe I shd start using the umbrella wherever i go.

Are,

Heehee..., yah lor fat fat CNY. The feeling is like you kana the first prize. But hor, after i do some calculation, it's the money I lose earlier on, chia....

Ai yoh, still have to wait until june lei. By that time, my neck will be like giraffe neck already. How to enter your hse.

Sunnyling,

Wow, very good hor! Win from CNY until now. Should call you MJ Queen. Don't make me scare lei, i don dare to play with you, :p.

hi flowee,

i'm feeling okay.
kinda of funny without the little furry ard.

no news from mike abt his work though.
dun think itz nice to discuss his work in the forum. :P
anyway, they aren't suppose to say much even to their spouse. keke

hi jady and wenn,

dun worry, i'm ok.

morning girls!
so excited to know you enjoyed yourselves y'day. Hey, make the next meeting on the 21st April week leh, then I'll hv more things to update! Hee....

leo29... oh please, i think its i dun dare to play with any of you at all!!! i think i juz watch lah hor... i 1 person pay 3 person tuition fees v siong leh!!! ;P

hi ally & shirsweetiepie,

I juz bought some materials for doing the corsages yesterday, will try start to do it today, if successful, will take some pix and share with you all. In the mean time, I am still waiting for ally to check wif her friends and share wif us.....

My wedding dinner will be held at Victorial City which is located at 2/F Appollo Centre. We have about 20 tables, only Chinese restaurants will cater such a small quantity... BTW, wat is MM stand for??

hi gals,gd morning!

pris
mine big day is on 2nd Nov...so far, oredi booked e bridal package at Everbliss and dinner venue. Still need loads of advice on any and everything...hee hee.

meow
what kinda details do i have to send? will it be kept confidential? Also, where do i have to send it to?

Sunrise

to those that have requested to view my photoshoot pixs. I am sorry but i am a little shy and at the moment am comfortable w just sharing them w those in the May brides. Thanks for your understanding.

Sue: yep, Linn is good. I enjoyed the ps w her very much.

Shook: oh both bride & groom must buy diff stuff for Guo da li. So confusing. So the lady in the shop will be able to advise us what to buy right? Where is the shop again. Which part of Chinatown.

Pausini: i have finally uploaded the pixs of my home. I realise that i shld have taken the pixs before i move in coz now w the things n stuff - it looks very messy and clutter.

meow
forgot to let u noe, understand dinner's at Esplanade on 28th. I couldn't make it then. You gals always meet up for discussion? Hmmm...am i a late member?

Sunrise

Hi gals...just want to ask if those of you would have taken photos of your ps to share with the rest of us...CAN? Very curious what your gowns look like...do you all have second thoughts about your gowns when you flip through magazines and suddenly feel like adding this or removing that or changing that about your gown? I know I have...TSK

sunrise... it wun be confidential coz all of us will know!!!
hahahaha... dun scare you lah. u see, we got a list of all the novas (a name we call ourselves, cool rite?
) tat has details like wedding dates, venue, bridal etc. so we dun hv to keep asking each other! juz send the following to : [email protected] and you will get all our info as well!

1)Nickname
2)Real Name
3)Birthday
4)ROM date
5)Actual day
6)Venue of banquet
7)Email address
8)Contact No.
9)New home location(area)
10)Name of bridal
11)Actual Day photographer
12)Date of photoshoot
13)Dialet(bride+groom)

hi cherub,

think you are well in time in your preparation. I'm 1 day before you and still in multiple minds over the bridal shops!

hi naturally,

i've just sent the loan form today..deadline this friday! haha! think they were asking for original payslips, but i forgot and submitted a photocopy instead. Hope they dun penalise me...

hi mrs quake,

welcome back! seems like you've had a fun time! i've been to Mid valley last year, and find that although the shops were quite ok, i like to check out the food outlets! imagine having jap food at 1/2 price...we really pigged ourselves out! but nowadays not very interested in gg malaysia ...

i'll be checking out sok eng, yew kwang, and maybe KC as well....let you know my decision, hopefully soon!

sue: I only get to view but not collect, can send u anything now. wearing WG two times.. actually really depend whether u Pang Tan or not. I think the veil is the matter. are u going to wear it twice? I just translate what i heard from old pple.

shook: i am calling my buddies to view my pix this evening. if they also feel not good then i retake. At least now me and my FH have come to a conclusion that the indoor is badly taken at least the outdoor is still ok. So i dun want to bored everyone here with my complaint.. guess i have given enough complaints for the past few days...

And the shop u mention to get the guo da li items, i couldnt find leh? i only saw the small shop. she pack all her things in this small shop.

From this moment is a nice song. i am still looking for my song..

For the corsages, a friend prefer the 1st one i made, the other prefer the 2nd only. so see which one have more votes now.

hi are,

hee hee, so all of us wld be busy at the same time in November then....ho ho ho.

ok, so i shall send my details to meow meow then.

would anyone have fixed the PS date oredi? I haven't even decide on my WG and EG designs. Still cracking my head on this.

Sunrise

DK,
Going to Memphsis this afternoon. So far, have only seen their website. Quite impressed by Wesley style for studio and Ngiap Heng for actual day. Will also see Monica work but now dont have the time to shop cos preparing for exam. Unlikely to get Wesley to do actual day cos he is booked in the evening. Maybe for studio & outdoor. I hope can do studio & outdoor in two separate weekdays. Andrew charge $300 extra for split days plus makeup artist another $400. very ex leh. So thinking of getting one photographer who will not charge extra.
I agreed with u. photography is more on individual preference. I also dont know what I want. checked with friends & colleagues. they prefer wesley work. Very different from wedding photographers like Andrew n chris. more artistic and each photo is like a portrait. but the photo size is 8R. do u think it is too small?

Ai ya. once in a lifetime. you will remember your gown for life. If you really like, worth spending a bit more. My colleague went to Ted Wu & Kai last Saturday. Finally decided to sign with Kai. Maybe you should meet up with Kai before signing. His package is about the same as Ted Wu.
I will call u after meeting up with them.

I also want to learn how to make wrist corsages... Keep me inform okie??!!

Seems that many of you have gotten your flat and some is in th midst of reno and others have completed your reno...

I have just collected my keys on Monday but will be opening my housedoor coming Monday... Any advise on what defects to look out for?? Mine is a standard apartment so dun have to worry abt the floor works....

Let say if I want to apply for reno loan then my contractor can only start work once the bank have approved my loan?? is it possible to get loans from 2 different banks?? I understand from some ID firms that the banks' system have linked so only allowed to borrow from 1 bank only... Have anyone here managed to get reno loans approved from 2 banks??

Sorry for all these questions huh... I am really a greenhorn when it comes to such things... In a fix now...

Leo29,

I am taking 30 tables. So only got first 30 bottles free. Your wedding is on 23rd rt? One week before mine. Let me know when you going for food tasting and we can discuss.

Meow,
Rec'd my email on particulars? Is it sufficient? What else is missing? Pls let me know

Sunnyling,
I used to like the Mee Goreng at Zhi Chai stall. Eat dishes at the Zhi Chai two months ago, thought it is ok but a bit too expensive. Now never go that Kopitiam anymore cos hubby hate to eat there. So have they really change cook?
$50 is ok. My makeup artist charge $400.
You always win. tian xia wu di. Wait no one dare to win w you anymore.

Leo29,
U lucky girl. I also win but not so much. Played almost everyday from the first day until last day of CNY.

Serene Sng,
Is your block one of those on the same side with those orange blocks? When are they going to resume and did HDB advise you on estimated completion date? So what are your plan after wedding?

Meow,
How are you going to deco with tealights? I thought the hotel will do the floral arrangement for u. Initially, I am thinking of putting some fresh flowers n tie the napkin with a silk ribbon instead of those typical fan fold. Not sure if hotel will charge extra.

Hi Leo29 & serene

My friend only remember the time I win only but never mention I lost. Cos been wining quite alot during CNY mah but they forgot I lost a few time b4 CNY. And my hubby everytime lost when he play leh I only win back the money he lost only. keke my friend still jio me every weekend even though they say I keep wining. hahahaha.

Sunrise,
Seem like 2 nov a very popular day. a few of the girls also wed on the same day.
Have you decided on which bridal?

hello gals,

hope everyone enjoyed another sharing session ;)
no prob - i'm happy to do the coordinating!

jady - i paid, so 'bill' u next session lor ;p

serene - i'll go for 24th, yah agreed w fishball-will hv more tings to share!

Hi taddess

I understand what u mean. My EG has got diamante straps n i saw a gown tt has it 2 but done in a diff way. I wanted to change to like tt but don't know can or not. Kena scolding fm FH

serrich... i'm the midst of reno prep, & bank loan too. think usually ppl will get loan 1st then start, coz contractor may ask for deposit. in any case, the $ from the bank loan is in cheque form, attn to the contractors. think some banks allow up to 3 cheques, after which you hv to pay a fee. but not too sure if can borrow from 2 banks. but most bank's limit is $30,000. u need so much?

as far as our 'research' goes, standchard seems to have the lowest rate. unless your contractor is from hdbay, then OCBC has a special low rate. maybe i fill you in on wat i know during the gathering?

hi naturally,

my fh called him up and was informed about this price. perhaps it's because my wedding will be held on a weekday and we wanted less than 400 photos. Was thinking that around 300 photos will do. will inform u more when i meet him on sat.

Ya...my train isn't very long cause initially i thought quite all right then i went to look at magazines and then the long trains look very nice...REGRET....My WG is more A line and then I saw a similar design which is more of a can can and thought it also look nice...HIYAH...women are so fickle minded...HOW??? Nevermind I go and ask my designer...she says okie then ok

Min,
I've recieve your mail. But...a lot of details missing. Mind if you can resent those that were not filled? Thanks

3)Birthday
6)Venue of banquet
8)Contact No.
9)New home location(area)
10)Name of bridal
11)Actual Day photographer
12)Date of photoshoot
13)Dialet(bride+groom)

Thanks <FONT COLOR="0000ff">Are</FONT> for letting <FONT COLOR="ffff00">Sunrise</FONT> know the things to sent.

Confirm location of meeting: Esplanade
Confirm date : 28/03/03
Time : 0700-0730pm
Attendance : Meow + hubby(?), Pris, Shirlynn + hubby(?),Besse, Are , Leo29, twinklets, Feb + hubby(?), Jing jing + hubby(?), Akira, Serrich

Not attending - Wen, Sunnyling, Clyne, okeanosmao, DK, Amore, Yve, Ava, Min, Sunrise

Serrich,
Think you need to look out for cracks and holes. Also bring along a spoon to scope dust haha..no lah, go knock on each individual tiles in your kitchen and 2 bathrooms. See if its hollow, if it is, need HDB to change them. Bring along a spanner(dunno right spelling or not) try to turn the tap see if got leakage or not. Also look out for big holes near the pipes if you have any in the toilets. Understand now new flats are all conceal or built outside the toilet.

As for bank loans, i'm not sure. Sun think i want to apply too.

Wen,
mine is a restaurant, not hotel. So all these aren't provided at all. I have to DIY. No choice, hubby dun like most restaurant food. Scare my FIL also not happy with the food. So bring them go eat and try out before commiting to that restaurant. I jus simply add a ribbon on the tealight holder only. My tealight is already in matt finishing. So there's a yellow glow already.

Thanks for your concern...I still can't feel the excitment but only stress now, like still got things to prepare
Maybe after this week, I'll feel it.

Now preparing this sunday Guo Da Li + our honeymoon stuff, must think of other alternative coz my hubby's visa might not approve...sad have to forgo our air ticket liao.

hi eco, welcome to june bride thread !

hi all, went to select my photos last night .. the photos were quite well taken ... we hv upgraded from 15R to 18R n added more pix as usual .. v. happy as photos turn out ok .. now hv to wait n see how their' touch up work on the photos liao .. :D

taddess, yes .. i do feel tt way .. when i was fitting for my WG .. i wish its of another design .. tt kind of tots lor .. tink its normal for girls ... hehehe

Enjoy ur meeting up session 2nite ladies ..

Hi eco, welcome to the thread. When's your wedding?

I'll be collecting my invitation cards from the hotel this week to send to print. I've decided to do this before my Fiance comes back because we need to send the invites overseas. Abrinas, did you print a LOT of cards? $430 seems like a lot! Did you use gold hot-stamping or just colour? How much per card?

Beibei, I guess it's just the three of us tonight then? Hope the others can make it next time.

meow... no prob. we ought to thank you for helping us compile the list!

wah... din know gotta check so many things. hmmm... think i need to go 'tapping' tis sat!

Hi Mrs Quake,
My actual day fotographer is Barnabas from Photospace...Hez charging $1000+ for abt 350 pieces.

Hi Serrich

Dun ever go Standard Chart cos I got my loan from there. they suppose to approve my application within 48 hours, then they took near to 3 weeks to approve and my contractor is kind enough to start work for me 1st without the 1st payment. i got to call the bank daily to check what is the status and they can give me lots excuse on the delay and I quarrel with the officer. So angry with them. So when the loan approved, I apply for 2 years then they post me the letter approved me for the 5 years loan then I got to wait for the correction b4 passing the cheque to my contractor. And the interest they charge me is more than they quote me in the 1st plc and check with them they say is base on my hubby income but in the 1st place they say is based on joint income mah. Wow liao me so piss off but lazy to argue with them liao cos duno still need to wait how long even they got to go thru the application again. And they also make me so pai-seh for delaying the 1st payment for so long. Pls dun ever go to Standard Chart.