(2003) Brides of year 2003

Don't like tt praise me, I very pai seh
we made around 109 but a few very ugly, either distorted or dented, maybe press too hard when trying to get it out of the mould
Ya, can do a lot of variations but when we started, not very good yet so quite plain. A couple of days ago then think of adding some stuff inside. Hv to make another 150plus more to be enuf for everybody. Hope can finish on time
We will try to finish all the glycerine tt we buy. After tt hv to start wrapping. Don't know how to wrap yet
Will prob go concourse this Sat to find.

Hi pooh, so good. Yr hotel provide favors. My hotel is the very standard one - what else: chocolates!!

blusher.. welcome on board..

clyne.. if u are around.. I went to have a look at the ring pillow here... heart shape with ALOT of lace and a pair of wedding teddy bears.. RM$50... a normal heart shape pillow with just lace at the side is abt RM$30..

oh well... if we can find enuff kakis, can bring table over to my place & set up 2 tables wat!
hahahahaha... anyway, it will be an empty hse, so no prob.. but someone muz donate chairs oso!!

Wen,

Yah, da jie. Happy! Mo Dim Dim extra one sister. Hahaha.

Got tai then can game lar, da jie. Hah..., you so daring one hah, always chiong. Me dare not, I scare kana bao, $104 lei.

Besse,

Yah, I bought the double happiness when I was at Beijing last year. I dam kia shu, found it nice so bought it but never tot that it’s going to be a year before I can paste it on my door.

Really so many things to buy hah, then must find excuss to go lor. Actually we don’t intend to go tour this year except our honeymoon. But now, hiak hiak hiak must find an excuss loh. Ai yah, cannot lei, hubby already said the next trip he want to go Taiwan. Siao Liao! You join tour or F&E? How much? How many days you stay there?

thanks jbride, for doing all the compiling for us!

mrs quake: yah, stephine's pacakge is quite reasonable, but if i top up the extra hours and rolls of film it wouldn't be worthwhile for me. you can consider it though..

Mrs Quake and tingting,

Stefine's photography looks good to me too, but i think i prefer Sok Eng's style.

Seems like there are alot of bridal shows coming up...

HI all,
Me finally can sit down to relax cos MIL finally going to lent me some money........ Cheers..
BTW anyone still want to join in our gathering please let me know by next week. Thanks

Hi Blusher,
Welcome, so are you joining our gathering on 28 March 03 cos me going to make reservation with restaurant.
So better confirm ealier and let me know whether you are bringing your hubby with you.
Where is your wedding dinner going to be and when is your actual day?

Leo29

Yo.. yeah, nice place.. muz chiong there.. ahaha.. err, i went F&E, cos my cousin doing his biz there.. so he brought us ard. Took China Eastern flight - abt S$600 per pax for air tix, makan damn cheap.. 6 days i spent abt $600 Sg on food and shopping (Money NOT ENUFF) accomodation wise, stayed in this hotel along huai hai zhong jie, abt S$50 per person per nite.

Next time i go, will bring S$1500 and 3 empty suitcases.. haha. If you gals like the fake luxury goods.. they sell pretty good quality ones at abt 20 - 30 bucks per bag only..

Leo, so you are a Tiger - Leo? Me too leh.. happy!! hehe.. born in 74 rt??

Wen, Sunny,

Yeah, i got style wedding mag during lunch liao.. looks pretty good after a quick flip. Got free ring pillow to redeem meh??

Me going up malaysia for the Singtel Charity Treasure Hunt tomolo.. Anyone going??

Are,

Very very abvious. Just joking lah! You are very kind!Willing to give us a place to play mj eventhough your hse is not ready. You have done up your floor already?

Sunnyling,

Our face may even appear on the paper with header 'Gals carrying table and chair to play MJ' Hahaha...

jady, in terms of gown design, it boils down to pure KPO !

apart from gown designs, we can also obtain some ideas on wedding favours, decor, bouquets etc etc etc

Anyway, no harm taking a look at it since its a new bi-annual publication.

Hi Pausini, yah, I know FH like that but what to do, sometimes just nag and nag lor. Telling myself dun be like mom, dun be like mom! But end up like my mom used to nag my dad too....!!

Coming from civil service culture, and a uniformed one too, I am used to being well prepared, advance planning. All projects, events, functions run like clockwork. And I've seen how things always cock up last min so don't leave things lying around. FH not like that. Quite a relax attitude. And that's where it drives me nuts sometimes. THe "I told you so...." wants to come out a lot of times but I control myself....not nice to say that. Just wish he cld be more jidong and proactive.......

Yes, I bought my stuff from People's Park Complex Golden Dragon. It's on 2nd flr. THere's a bridge that connects PPC to Chinatown pt. THe shop is in front of the PPC bridge.

Besse,

Me is ox, 73. Leo was my star. My hubby is tiger.
How you go? By car or follow their bus? Oh, you like this type of adventure? Me cannot go, had promise my hubby to try out cooking chilli crab(first time), eat with his friends then follow by mj session. If success, next time I cook for the Novas.

Are,

You never participate in the Singtel Charity Treasure Hunt meh? Related mah, correct?

hi pausini

dun worry or tink to much....bride is always the most beautiful and the focus during that special day. stay happy then u will look radiant too.: )

hi maya
understood what you mean about your FH... mine is the same... so i made him fully in charge of the renovation while i handle the wedding stuff. actually i really hate the hassle that we are going through.... how i wish just a honeymoon wedding will do.... very troublesome huh.

Just received this email from Amara, they are having a "Cinderalla Bridal Show" with Xristos Couture House, just to share!

Cinderella Bridal Show

We cordially invite you to attend our exclusive The Cinderella Bridal Show at Amara Singapore.

This bridal show is just what you’re looking for.

Come view and fall in love with our intimate nuptial settings, luxurious bridal suite, sumptuous wedding feasts and impeccable service.

Presented by Amara Singapore & Xristos Couture House, this bridal show promises to make your wedding fantasy a reality.

Date : April 12 2003, Saturday
Time : 2.00 pm to 5.00 pm
Venue : Grand Ballroom, Level 3
Admission: $18 nett per couple (inclusive of Hi-Tea)

** Bonus **

Weekday Package
Enjoy Free flow of beer for 3 hours

Weekend Package
Enjoy One Complimentary table and Additional 30-litre barrel of beer

Terms & Conditions:
1) Minimum 30 tables on weekday & weekend
2) Booking confirmation and deposit settled on April 12, 2003 to enjoy the bonus

For reservations & inquiries, please call 68792626 / 6879 2573

Wah Abrinas, how to make soaps? Do you start from scratch with the raw ingredients? Do you need to cook it? Hand-made soaps are such a lovely touch.

Besides the hotels chocolates, we are giving all our dinner guests (about 350 of them) a slice of wedding cake made by my future MIL (who used to run a cafeteria and is a fantastic cook!) in a box decorated like a two-tiered wedding cake made by my future SIL.

On top of that, my mum is giving every guest a tiny harmonica-key chain. It's our symbol of everlasting harmony in our marriage, + our marriage being a key to open many new doors for our future. My Fiance & I are both musicians so the harmonica is also significant for us. You can really play on it, and it is in tune!
We will be packing the keychain in little boxes and inserting a message in each box to explain the significance.

Meekoo: Same here. i think i shld just go for a honeymoon. Now i have another problems. My mum dun want my dad to appear at my wedding. My dad doesnt know abt it yet. and i have come out a decision not to include my dad name in the invitation card. Cos all the guest are invited by my mum. Even if my dad attends, he will be just like one of my guest. Actually the reason is because i scare he will messed up my wedding dinner. Once he drink, he give me alot of nonsense. My mum doesnt even want him to attend the tea ceremony at home. she suggested i do it in the hotel or during dinner.

Now is shld i or shld i not invite him. *sigh* i think no one got as such difficult problem as i do.

Maya: u uniform group? which one?? police? MINDEF?

Wah Wah Priviledged, really?? cakes!! If only i know how to bake.
Me like cakes n ice-creams. My 2 weaknesses which explains my figure
I like the two-tiered wedding cake lookalike box. Must be very beautiful. If got picture, show me ok? I very very curious. Nvr seen this type of box b4.

Wah Wah tiny harmonicas!! N little messages in the box!! Very time consuming, more time than mine.
Where u buy them? R they being tailored made to be that tiny? So how how to play on it? U n yr fiance musicians? What instruments u play? R u both going to play a tune during yr wedding?? Sorry ah, so many questions but I am very fascinated with this.

no lah, i m not so good lah, don't know how to make from scratch.
We just buy glycerine which r in big cubes n just melt it, pour into moulds n wait for them to dry. It is easy but just very time consuming cos hv to wait for each layer to dry. For 3 hrs, we can only make 18 pcs. A bit slow hor?? We hv 3 layers n we add wordings inside to make it more meaningful
My FH's hook on this so I let him settle them
Of cos I got help lah. I was teasing him maybe we next time start a little part-time business selling these

Leo29

Oh.. so you oso a da jie jie to me
Me tiger cub, star is Leo
BF is a rabbit. hehe.. but a fierce one!

Wah. so you cook chilli crabbie.. so nice, next time cook for us oso! ;)

We'll b driving up to malaysia.
always do road trips up.. fun and flexible!

Pris

Glad to hear your prob settle!
so you booking furama or M hotel? I had my company's D&D at M hotel abt 1.5 mths ago. The decor is v nice, but the food is nothing to rave abt.. maybe Furama should be a better choice

Blusher

Welcome to join us.. do tell us more abt your wedding plans!!

Sweetie..

You yoga where? Me signed up a package with Amore and went there only once in 3 weeks *sheepish grin*.. i can never be discipline.. haiz.. not to mention i put on so much wt after my trip! Grrr...

Are

Hehe.. good idea to have 2 tables.. if so fun.. then finish one round can swop kakis! ;) but do we have 8 players??

Hi tingting and Mrs Quake,

The Dang gown in the Style Wedding Mag is the gown i tried at Dang, very beautiful gown though it does not fit me perfectly cuz' i am fatter and my hip is bigger than the model

tingting, you remember seeing me try the last gown? This is the one.

Sweetie and Besse,

I find Yoga fun. Thinking of signing up but nobody go wif me so give up already. Is yoga really a very good exercise? Make us slim? How much you all pay?

Besse,

My sister also a fierce rabbit. How come hor, I tot suppose to be very gentle.

Will cook for you all if got a chance provided can be eaten lah.

is it the bustier one with some frills at the top?? i tried that one too! only it feels a bit tight on me...consolation is that the piece is worn by a model at Dang's bridal show...means i'm not that bad afterall... hahaha!

Hi Sunnyling

I also play at least 1 tai to game. V fed up when trying to make and someone game with gai hu (no tai).
I moved to punggol last Nov. If you happen to passby, i stay in those orange flat.

Leo29,
Mei mei... hair raised liao.. ha ha ha
can choing cos not so big wat... if 20 40 only $25.60... usually won't choing for 5 tai... maybe 4 tai... can try lor... no risk no gain....

Sweetie,
can yoga make one slim??? is it the mediation type or a lot of stretching??

This sounds more and more like a great support group.

Pausini, I just had a chat with my photographer today. Sigh. On one hand, I'm really looking forward to our photoshoot, on the other hand, I just wish it's a year later! Enough for me to lose more weight. So sad. There's nothing we really can do, right? As what Maya said, we get to save money on our photos right? And then we can use the money and spend on more enjoyable times on our Honeymoon and buy lots of things for ourselves! Oh Pausini, after reading your posts for so long, I always thought you're a very strong person. Don't let something as shallow as this get to you, ok?

Cat: Thanks
but still .. sigh. And photos are deceiving. As for my niece and nephew, they're very very naughty too. But I still love them! The pair.

As for my complaint of the day .. sigh. I am currently giving tuition to my FH's niece. Now his other niece and two other nephews wanted me to give tuition too. Since I'm not really close to the whole big family yet, I don't know how to reject! I now don't really have time for myself anymore. And I'm one who treasure my free time a lot. Next week's supposed to be a week of holidays, of nua-ing at home. Now, I'm going to be rushing from one place to another.

And worse, I am supposed to go running now, but I'm instead just staying home. I have less than a week to my photoshoot and lots of fats to lose.

Besse,
I am going to Shanghai next week. Can you tell me where are the places that I can get those wedding stuff that you have mentioned?

jady,

Dunno leh...Mabbe everybody is engrossed in wedding preparaton lor...It's the MOOD!

not onli gown design mah... me made my FH see those wedding photos...must learn how to pose!

hi good evening ladies..
lately i've been reading this thread cos i'm oso a Dec bride too...

can I join in this thread to exchange ideas and info?

hi sandgirl72,

welcome! We are sharing some info and tips here...in fact, checking the forumboard is becoming a routine when i surf the net!
Care to share with us details of ur wedding, i.e. date, venue, bridal shop, etc?

Hi, everyone. Recommended to join in this thread Nov'03 bride cos I am also a Nov'03 bride.

Hi, Pris, I finally managed to join you all in this thread.

hi Min,
Welcome to the thread.
So have you decide on your wedding dinner location?

Meow jie,
maybe you can provide Min our new member the e-mail address to send you her particulars and what to send to you. Actually partly its me who recommanded her to join our thread cos me know her on the chat room and she told me she is a Nov03 Bride.
Hope you don't mind huh, me pull another person in here......wow so happy so many people in here... Heard that we have a nick for being the most happening thread in the whole SB forum, and it all thanks for your hard work to keep this thread so active..... Cheers

Welcome Min to this family!
Do join us for our gathering held on 28th Mar at Esplanade. You'll get to see our "real" faces too

Min and blusher,
Please sent your details to [email protected] along with these particulars:
1)Nickname
2)Real Name
3)Birthday
4)ROM date
5)Actual day
6)Venue of banquet
7)Email address
8)Contact No.
9)New home location(area)
10)Name of bridal
11)Actual Day photographer
12)Dialet(bride+groom)

Pris,
Why should i mind? I'm happy to know our family is growing rather than shrinking right?

HI All,
Thanks for the warm welcome. My wedding is on 18 NOV 2003. I'm with Paris( just like Meow). I emailed my details to you already...

HI Priscilla,
I'm still not sure if can make it on the 28th. Most probably only me coming..not bringing hubby.

Have a wonderful weekend...

Yup it seems checking the website in the morning is what I do everyday hehehe.
Chicory, erin and Mrs Quake...you all having your photo shoot in June? Why so early? I schedule mine to be in September eh is it too late?
Oh and hello to all newcomers

Jbride, Liza and Iris is the same person. Sorry I forgot I use Liza as my previous nick. Now me using Iris as my new nick
thanks for compiling. Oh my bridal studio is Ted Wu.

Hi Abrinas
. The harmonicas are bought from this chinese music shop in Fu Lu Shou cplx. They are about 1.5 in long. Can also get the locket ones instead of key-chains but we thought key-chains better for male guests too. Cost about $1 + each. No lah, not so time consuming. We'll just get a printer to print little cards/labels to insert into the boxes. Then we'll get lots of helpers to pack the harmonicas and cards into boxes.

Cake boxes- with my SIL. She's finished them and hidden them away. Sorry, got no photo yet (I don't go over there so often without Fiance around.)

Yes, we're musicians. We both play piano and sing. I also play the violin and he plays the cello.
We wanted to give a 'concert' during the cocktail but Regent has no spare piano,so cannot already. Anyway, we're getting our singer friends to perform during dinner.

Hi blusher,

Glad to see you here too... Have been MIA for very long liao... Must keep in touch otherwise become "yellow cucumber"/"mountain tortoise" liao....

wen,

thanks for your concern... I am fine but really have difficulty typing cos I am relying on my right hand only... So very slow....

MJ kakis,

Dun leave me out leh... Though I stay in JW... I might still make it down to SK/PG... Hahhahaaa....

Hi sweetie,

Did you sign up with Universal Bridal too?? Sorry huh... I dun have the list with me at the moment... I left it in my company.

Hi Serrich

You stay in JW? Me Too..Hey...Finally found a neighbour liao cos see from this thread a lot of people staying in SK/PG..Tot me is the odd one out...

Sandgirl 72, A very warm welcome to you
. Me too, every morning after logging into the computer and checking emails, i will come in here.

tingting, yes, there are some frills at the top and the back of the gown is slightly see thru' laces, you tried this gown too? Dang took one look and say the hip part doesn't sit well on me cuz' i have broader hip, meaning i can't take OTR for this gown even if i like it
. Is that a new gown that they made for this photoshoot? It will be good if i can find a new OTR gown that fits nicely, asking too much rite

Iris, My PS will be in Sept so you are not too late, normally bridal studio will advise you to take PS 3 months in advance. First fitting will be July i think.

Enya, i have not read thru' the whole magazine, jus flipping thru' only. Why don't you flip thru' at any newstands first and see if it has anything that might be useful to you? I notice that these local bridal mags always feature the same few bridal shops.

I feel that all of you are really putting in lots of effort into making your guests feel good and I pale so much in comparison. I think my hotel is also providing the norm-chocolates as wedding favours and yet I am leaving it as that...:X

Shanice I like your dog, he is very cute! BUt is he very active cause I heard that Jack russels are one of the most active around! I also have a dog, younger than yours, 1 Year and five months old. A yorkshire who is terribly naughty and restless...When I put up his picture, I will show it to you all...

good morning ladies...

hi tingting,
thank U
. everytime when i log on my pc from office, i will 'secretly' come to this forum to check out what is happening...

my customary is on 20 Dec and wedding banquet on 21 Dec at Mandarin. My bridal shop is with Seletar Broadway (not taking their ROM package - took with Allure Charix)

hi chicory
thank U
. i think my PS is also in Sept too. So don't worry tat it is too late.

have a wonderful weekend, gals!