(2003) Brides of year 2003

hello everyone!

only managed to get a copy today !!!
i went round to all the mama shops last night, and none of them had it !!

finally got my copy at the mrt station news stand this morning.

the ring pillow looks pretty !! Good for those who're having ROM / church ... mine over already, and on actual day got no ring-exchange ceremony, so i won't be getting it.

sorree, veryvery very very busy yesterday and today. been rushing around the office like a mad woman. Imagine, the whole day in office y'day and went to pee twice only !

suffering !!!

Chicory: I have not seen Nick's portfolio but I think his prices are out of my league as well. So better don't see in case I start drooling again!

Naturally: Did you see the portfolio of the in house photographer of O studio? Is it journalistic style? Taken by Digi cam? Can let me know more?

tingting: 360 prints is already 10 rolls of films actually. You think you really need more than that? I am having a church wedding but I thought 360 shots is enough already.

Are,

Me on also. 1 more tip to improve your skill is to seat beside your hubby/professional to see them play. You get to learn from this way also.

Hi Priviledged

O u 2 with the lilies? I will sneeze non-stop when I stand near a bunch of them. The smell's too overwhelming

U think the white theme is nice 2? I think so 2 n was thinking that white back drop combined with the bright colours of gerberas will look nice together
Anyway, my FH don't like the idea of the gold backdrop. He feels it is a little .... too glossy

Leo29

I never sit beside my hubby when he play cos my blood will boil and he cant sit beside me too cos his will boil too. And we cant play together cos we will sure end up quarrel. hahahaha. Ya hor serrich live so far away leh. Btw Wen is also MJ kaki ah? I dun have her detail leh?

mrs quake: i've got tea ceremony, church and dinner. will prob need to take a 2nd look at the number of photos i will need on that day, but on the safe side, i'm budgeting for the more generous package.. : ) anyway, the price difference is only $100+, so i'm not too bothered about that..

chicory: have received the package. Thanks! will email you photolanguage's package soon. ray's good and prompt in responding to emails, but rather pricey..

Mrs Quake, i thought his prices are quite reasonable? Tried to go into his website to check the package details but unsuccessful due to administrator error. Maybe i check again later.

wendyl... actually, sink is supposed to be higher than stove. coz in fengshui, 'water' must be higher than 'fire'.

leo29, sunnyling... i do sit beside hubby when he play sometimes. but hubby noes i like to play tho' i 'm not v gd, so he will usually let me play instead and go watch TV!

leo29,

oh yeah.... majority of you here staying in SK/PG... so sad.... Want to meet for MJ also difficult....

My hand? I had a ganglion (not sure if this is the correct spelling) growing in my wrist and its getting pretty big so I had it remove.

I understand from the consultant that this is due to excess production of lubricants between my joints....

Haahhaa... sunnyling, my hubby loves to play MJ too.. He cant watch me play either... makes his blood boils...

hi are,

But mine already done the renovation already,cannot change liao leh,but from the view i standing in the kitchen,there are two differnet length of worktop,so my stove is higner than my sink,cos my work top is like L shape,sink is hortizontal but stove is vertical so is it ok?

Wendy

Hi Mrs Quake,

Nope, the one i signed up for is conventional film photography, 6 or 8 rolls, can't quite remember, but i know i have to top up for additional rolls, and the top-up is more ex for black and white film.

Sorry but i never quite understood the meaning of journalistic photos.... if u want pics of your bridal shoes, your bouquet, the tea set for the tea ceremony, or little kids giggling away when they see the groom kissing the bride, the bride's mother with tearful eyes, the groom's father grinning from ear to ear, etc... i'm sure any professional photographer, with proper communication with the couple, can capture that? Then arrange in story-telling sequence, and there u have it, journalistic style.... i'll be scanning my pics when they are ready, and i can even convert into black and white, then burn and compile my own wedding CD! Heehee.... this is just my cheapskate way of cutting costs!

Confirm location of meeting: Esplanade
Confirm date : 28/03/03
Time : 0700-0730pm
Attendance : Meow + hubby(?), Pris, Shirlynn,Besse, Are , Leo29, twinklets, Feb + hubby(?), Jing jing, Akira, Serrich

Not attending - Wen, Sunnyling, Clyne, okeanosmao, DK, Amore, Yve, Ava

All got ur STYLE mag?

Try 7-11...they usually keep more stock...if can't see it on the magazine rack, maybe they have not replenish this hot selling mag. Ask the cashier.

by thw way...
where r u all meeting? sorry ahh...din follow this thread closely.:P

hi naturally,

journalistic photos are not posy, and they capture "kodak" moments, like a smile between the 2 of u during ceremony, hugs with friends and family members, the candid shots. They will need to be sensitive and quick to capture these moments. Usually normal photographers will only do the standard shots, like serving tea to elders, exchange of rings, the toasting... they probably can't capture these quick moments in good angles? But if you do come across a good photographer can do these at cheap rates, dun forget to let us know!

Me back in action! been gone missing to Shanghai for this one week.. great vacation.. and made a cheongsam for my mom.. v nice leh.. If anyone of you going, ask me for the addie.. can make and collect within 2 days!

Pris

Anything goes for me in food.. i'll go with the majority!

Wen, Sunnyling, Are, Leo29..

Me play MJ too... chio me leh!! *tug sleeves* Die die must have a mj room in my new plc.. keke

Anyone bought the latest bride mag yet???

HI All,
I'm a NOV 2003 bride too. I know that this thread is very happening...I'll try my very best to catch up.

Hi Meow,
Yap..me finally have the courage to post in here.

Hi Serrich,
Nice to see you here....

hi leafy,

we'll b meeting on 18 Mar (Tue) at Sketches (Parco Bugis Junction), 6.30pm.

If u keen to join us, pls furnish ur details ie. real name , hp & email me at : [email protected] yah ;)

could u update cath on ur wedding details as well?

Sunnyling,

You are just like my sister. Whenever she and her husband play mj together or one of them watch, they sure quarrel one. I like to sit beside my hubby to watch him play but he always leave me alone when I play. Heng man, if not sure kana lecture by him becos his skill is better and sometimes I anyhow play.

Yah, Wen play mj too. I think you are not around when we talk about mj in the past few days.

Are,

Very good hor, your hubby let you play and he watch TV. For my case, we very fair, each of us play 2 round(Eg, Dong Nan). Last time we used to fight for the seat by pulling each other off the chair and his friends always laugh at us and said 'never came across a couple that like to play mj until like this'.

Serrich,

Yah lor, too bad. But hor…., if you don’t mind the distance, you still can join us.

Wendy,

There is so many things you need to follow when talk about fengshui. As what Are had said, if you feel comfortable it’s OK. It's up to you to believe becos even different Fengshui master had different style also. How to follow? You can go to our forum ‘Anything Under the Sun’ : 15 Golden Fengshui Tips For Getting Married, this can link to one of the Fengshui Master website and there is many info there. I guess you may be interested in.

Leo 29

Bo bian leh we got differnt style of play so cant tahan each other loh. But actually he is more expert than me so everytime he play like guarding ppl tiles loh but for me if mine is good than I bo chap liao. Unless ppl got very big Fan than I will guard loh. But overall I got better luck than him so most of the time play I am Winning he Losing.

Oic thk I must be quite busy the last few day, So today I relax a bit.

Hi Besse
hahaha we got 1 more kaki Besse liao but where you live? cos I also dun have your detail leh. My friend also got 1 room specially for MJ so we went to their hse to play every weekend.

Hi serrich

If you dun mind the travelling than just join us loh.

Hihi Pausini

Dun b sad. Not necessary fat brides r not gd looking. Look @ Lyda Sim. She looks stunning. It is the smile dat makes a lady looks pretty. During my indoor ps, there wz another couple. The bride is v bid size, like Lyda Sim ( I m not joking) she still look stunning. Even my make up artist commented, she is fat but her complexion is v nice. She looks great.

I oso need to slim dwn. I put on a kg after CNY. The designer who chose gowns 4 me said dat I need to work out on my tummy in order to carry a 2 pc WG which suits me v well. Let's encourage each other to slim dwn. We still have 1 1/2 mth to work out. Exercise, exercise, cut dwn on food, cut dwn on food...

Hi erin,
U're welcome!

Hi tingting,
yeah, journalistic is supposed to be non-posey... but then hor, most if not all actual day photography is non-posey leh?! So is the word "journalistic" just a fancy title to inflate the fee?? Or maybe i'm just not artistic enough to see the diff!
Let's just look at the www.yewkwang.com website, he only charges $500 for 8 rolls, but i thought his work is pretty good already? And i don't see the word "journalistic" in his website.... Maybe u can take a look at other photographers' websites and compare, if u really can tell a difference, tell me hor, so i'll know i'm really not artistic enough!

Sunnyling,

Not addicted to mj but we are mj kui. Agreed mj kaki? No …., I think 2 of us only. Are, wen and serrich not so gian lah. Gathering for just 4 of us??? Cannot said gathering lah, wait the rest of the gals raise objection on why they are not included. Can said meet up and chia chuo chia chuo mj skill

Besse,

You play mj too, good, one more in. Will chio you if really playing.

Did you buy a lot of things from SH? I heard got many things to buy. Last trip intend to include SH in but tour agent told us to cover northern side, Beijing/Tianjin/Chengde first so we give up SH. Plan to go on next trip but don’t know when becos I forget next trip is our honeymoon, so guess will be in 2004 loh.

My friend bought for me the latest W.magazine liao but still haven’t pass to me. Why?

Blusher,

Welcome! Want to join us for this coming gathering on 28/03?

Abrinas,
you are indeed blessed to have a good boss now
esp. one who shares the same beliefs and values... very happy for you ...grin. Frankly, I always think your industry is a very tough job and important....one of the few first persons in an organization that I'll always try to maintain good relations at all times hehehe ...

I actually like red roses, saw some pictures with the whole hall filled with red red roses...so romantic
grin
but guess it will take a whole lot of roses to achieve that feel / look.

Shanice, you really love wang wang a lot hor ....somemore dress doggy up...grin...very cute...i esp. like the blur look picture..so adorable. How old is wangwang ? and hor, u say some pix are your yesteryear so-called plumper days....errr..where got ? all so slim one...bluff people...grin

Sunnyling,

Same same. My hubby like to guard other ppl tile and me don’t really bother unless the one below me eat many tile from me. Nowady,my luck is better then him. Win most of the time,. But too bad had to cover him and end up I play for fun only becos most of the time my winning will cover his loss.

Besse stay in Changi. So still consider quite near lah.

welcome blusher!

hehehehe... actually me is v gian one, hubby always laugh @ me, but juz tat i dun play well!!! plus i dun know when and how to guard, so sometimes he nearly heart attack when see me play!!! hahaha... lucky always play with ppl who will 'signal' lor, else sure die one. so you all muz pan chang me k? & i'm oso going to hv a MJ room next time!!!

Hi tingting,

i jus bought Style Wedding at MPH, it wasn't on display so i asked the sales asst and she said jus arrived an hr ago
. Pretty thick but have not flip thru' yet.

I have just collected the ring pillow (from Allure Charix) -- redeemed with coupon from Style Magazine
Not as nice as shown in the magazine
guess must be due to lightings and photography's special effects...

looking forward meeting all of you on Tue, since I missed the first outing ; )

Hi ladies, it's been a long while. Been bz but mainly bec of wk.

Pausini, I'm sure there's enough for you to chose to make your album. We are not pretty models, sure got some photos not nice one. I wasn't thrilled with my shots too but still enough to make album. Look at it this way, you won't be tempted to buy so much extras then (that's the $ killer!) and save some $$.......

I've just finished making 2 wrist corsages. Am very pleased with myself too bec 1st time do and just experiment, result still turned out ok. Need to buy more ribbons to complete the other 2. But really need time and patience, so cannot chose fresh flowers, can't imagine doing everything last min...!

Wah, some of you sure follow your beauty regime closely! I think I'm a little bochap abt this. Wk stress is also draining me....hmmm, I hope I won't look too tired on the actual day......

Have been feeling out of sorts too bec juggling all these (preparation, wk, renovation) is getting too much for me sometimes. Have been quite angry with FH too bec schedule been pushed bk. Sometimes dun understd these guys and they always think no prob, no sweat, relax......see? true enough, a no. of things still not done. Can't believe I'm still painting, haven't bought all my furniture, haven't do maj clean-up, haven't sort out guest list....the list is still endless! I had told FH early on that May looks far away but we cannot stroll along with tasks thinking can nicely spread them out along the way. 1stly, you will never have a complete task list with you. Things crop up along the way and the list keeps growing. 2ndly, whatever you know can be done, shld get it done and settled, rather than wait and see attitude. By then something else will crop up and need urgent attention, and then you forgot abt this earlier task......He got reservist lah, then there's this qingming thing which means some things cannot do that mth and I already know that I'm going to be very bz with wk to spare much time on some of the preparation. So quickly settle!! But FH moves along slowly and now it's Mar and some things still not done yet.......really fuming!! Then I end up nagging and nagging, or worse, doing it myself and the vicious cycle starts bec I feel hey, why am I doing all the things and he's not? he's more free but do less and then I lose my temper with him or start building up resentment..........

Need to vent........

Hi Sweets

I am really blessed with one.

Me too like red roses but in a large arrangement, i find it a bit too much. If scattered everywhere, I don't mind at all. Very romantic!!

Shanice, u say u r plump but i was looking at your then and now photos but u don't look tt much diff except for the fact tt yr face has slimmed down.
If u call yr then figure plump, u shd see me n u know what is plump
I m not all flabs but comparatively ... wow .... tt much diff
If i were to hv then big n now small photos, I think i m eligible for the slimming centres type of advert, esp the cenosis one

I also got a copy of style mag. Looks like there are a lot of information to read. Now waiting for Female Brides mag to come.

Btw, I've sent u girls the updated Oct brides' list with inclusion of leafy's particulars. =)

hi naturally,

point noted
Not sure what are the kinds of photographers my relatives used, but they are not natural at all and the candid shots are not nicely taken. Can't view yew kwang's website cos blocked access. will try at later at home.

hi chicory,

will try to grab a copy this evening!

Sunny.. yeah.. me will move to changi. will be pretty near Simei MRT.. keke

Leo.. me and my bf always play with another couple. Dunno why, but i always "ke4" him. He always lose whenever we play together.. haha.. he hates playing together with me! ;)

This trip i din buy much much, but had a good trip though. Must bring lotsa cash, cos the street stores don accept intl credit cards (funny, they only accept China cc) Things there are really cheap, and esp if you like oriental stuff decor like table cloth, tissue box, chopsticks etc... v nice too.. then went to this old Shanghai area and saw lotsa nice stuff for the traditional wedding. all the nice paper cutting of shuang xi, the bowls for wedding and the tea pot set etc. We got a nice tea pot set completed with tray for the tea ceremony, oni abt S$15 only. I also got the seal carver to make a seal for me for the wedding invites. haha really did enjoy meself there.. you gals should make a trip down if you can.. and i heard suzhou which is 1 hr away from SH makes v nice EG at v cheap price!!!

R u gals giving wedding favors? I am. FH n I made heart-shaped soaps to give to our guests. Still in the midst of making - still got abt 100+ more to go. How abt u all?

Hi chicory, naturally and tingting

Thanks for all your notes. Wow, so many exchanges since I last logged in
I am not getting excited as I used to be, hee... I am a big fan of Kai but may not be able to afford after working out my sums.

Where are you all having your banquet? I am going to have my holy matrimony at a separate hotel ballroom, say an hour before cocktail starts. The hotel has agreed to work on a theatre, church-like setting for me - that I am quite excited.

Saw the Style Weddings at the bookshop today - any good?

thanks cath!

the style magazine like nothing much leh ... each boutique took up about 4 pages of advertisements, and they have this "feature advertorial" .... just alot of pictures to look at i feel.

Just checked out Stephine's package as well. It cost $800 for journalistic shots for actual days. Include 6 rolls of film and 200 on digi cam (216 pics). All proof return as well. The photosshown looks quite good too.

BTW you can find the web add on the SB directory too.

Hi Leo29

The rest of the gals ah hmmmmmm if they dun mind can join us then got other to serve drinks and tibits mah. hahahahaha Just joking dun get offended hor.

Abrinas, your FH and yourself very "wu sim", a very thoughtful favor
how many have you made so far ? (curious)

I watched Martha Steward make some glycerin soaps today on TV. So pretty
She used lemon rinds, eucalyptus leaves, dried flowers, almond oil....so many variations
tempting me to delve into that hobby too...hehe...i got simply too many "projects" I wanna embark...jialat

Hi shook: thanks! i am still sad. may be maya is right. I shld not pose such high standard on myself. I feel better now but i dun know will i get sad again when looking at the pix again.

Oh yes, i try to send u the portion montage but ur mail box ia like cant take file that is 1.7 mb size. u wanna free some space so i can send over again.

Maya: u are right! less photo mean less money.
Most guys are like that, I think alot of us have such problems with them. My FH used to be like that. I told him, i cant be moving faster than him and have to wait for him to keep up all the time. as a couple, we have to move together as a whole. if not wat is the pt. why not u list out the items, give a start time and target time. discuss will ur FH and let him decided whether both of u can complete the tasks. Then who is responsible to get it done, or who shld be incharge.

Like my FH very busy now, and we still have things to settle. like printing inserts for cards, settle banquet in malaysia. I told him, i will go and look for printer, compared price. then we will both make decision to give who to print. for banquet in malaysia, i will go in to settle. Luckily my mum accoy me in. so i rest assure that i settle everything there. For him, he will need to confirm his guest list, call his brother stuffs like that.

May be i have complete my renovation so i have one big thing less to plan. Dun stress urself too much. using the furniture hunting as a leasure for both of u. just liek window shopping, only this way u are able to see something u like. believe me else u nothing will catch ur eyes.

U managed to do ur wrist corsage, u used the flowers that u got from chinatown? which shop, can tell me? i will go down to concourse tm, to check out the artifical flowers.

hey ladies,

glad to see that this thread is so active lately...difficult for me to catch up with u guys ne
18795.gif

here's the update
18796.gif
pls let me know if I miss out anyone or any detail, ok
18797.gif

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>02 Dec</U></FONT>
enya, KAI , MM

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>06 Dec</U></FONT>
dinny, Graceful Image , Oriental Hotel
Mrs Quake, Dang ,Crown Prince Hotel

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>07 Dec</U></FONT>
jbride, KAI , Inter-Con
happygal, JLC , Amara
freesia, Le Galleria , Holiday Inn
Sunshine, BV , Beaufort
mickey,Thomson Wed'g Design, CrownPrice
wendyl, Bridal Concept, -

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>08 Dec</U></FONT>
Roro, J&amp;C , Grand Corpt

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>10 Dec</U></FONT>
Erin, Sophia , Tunglok Rest

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>13 Dec</U></FONT>
Babydoll, - , Hyatt
Ting Ting, - , Carlton Htl
Ming, - , Sheraton
Liza, - , Raffles Town Club
sos, - , -
Iris, -, -

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>18 Dec</U></FONT>
piper, Milan , Grand Corpt
Jacq, Milan , Hilton

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>21 Dec</U></FONT>
Naturally, Le Galleria , Hyatt
bobomagic, Bridal Zone , Rasa Sentosa

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>22 Dec</U></FONT>
renee, Julia Wedding News, Hyatt

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>27 Dec</U></FONT>
cutiechar, - , traders

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>28 Dec</U></FONT>
EL, GHA , Holiday Inn
Mio, JLC , Hyatt
Babyblue, Divine Couture , Conrad
Pam, - , Fulleton
rinoa, BV, raffles the plaza

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><U>30 Dec</U></FONT>
loving3377, Jawn Happy Ever After, -
chicory, -, -

?
tintin , Jawn Happy ever after , OCC
Tiara, -, -

Sunnyling,
How can you miss me out??? I am the one who start asking how much u gals play... So sad... Don't worry won't kill u lah... I stay very near to you... Punggol... your neighbour...

Why not??? I have not seen any one of u... good if can sit down &amp; chat while playing... face-to-face forum...

There are so many kakis... must take turn to play... btw... u all play got tai then can game or no tai also can game?

are,
Don't worry... from experience, beginner usually have beginner luck and always win...

Serrich
Hope you get well soon!!!

Leo29,
Yeah... me OX... u must call me jie jie... cos i am older than u by a few months...

I agree with sunnyling.... usually dont play together w hubby in the same table unless playing w his family... and hate it when he start to comment on the way i play... said i always chiong for no reasons... and i find him too conservative... everytime guard &amp; guard...

Besse,
Don't buy female bride... nothing much... there is another new magazine called style wedding... 1st issue... close to 400 pages and include wedding planner with contact number of bridal, photography, makeup artist etc... they feature gowns from ted wu, kai, divine, emmanuel b, dang, silhouette etc.... strongly recommended...

Blusher,
Welcome.... you sure have lots to catch...
Didnt come in for a day and got so many messages already....

Hi Wen

kekeke sorry ah miss you out. I play with my friends is no tai cannot game at least 1 tai. So when will you move to punggol??? Wow suddenly we got so many kaki liao hahahaha. Maybe we can share loh so everybody got chance to play.

Besse, yaya buy the Style Wedding Magazine alot of infomation inside. I just brought it yesterday and it got a free ring pillow to redeem.