(2003) Brides of year 2003

vin

HI Jan2003,

Roses Petals are very very cheap. Me bought it at S$5/- and I got 1 big bag.

HI Sue,

Thinking to march in with my father and he can hand over me to my hubby. But my father is not very conveninent fr walking, so just drop the idea. Yeah, Sheraton will prepare the rose petal fr us base on the colour that we choose but then, I still bought it from the market.

Hi Kare2711,

You got 2 flower gals and a boy?? Then you can ask the boy to walk first, the follow by the gals then follow by you and ur FH.

HI Shook,

Your FH too shy huh???...
Then maybe you sing fr him to walk in.. even special.... "fan3 chuan2 tong3"....

abrinas

Hi Priviledged, ya, if difficult to bend, better not. U hv to keep bending over to serve tea. Even worse if u hv to kneel.
Sarong have to wrap properly rite?

Hi sweets, no lah, not late. Still got time.
U n me sama sama, we r the big girls group
Don't think we can try on all the gowns tt shanice have tried.
Wah, 4-inch stilettos!!! I admire u "wu2 ti3 tou2 di4" Mine only 2-inch.

Cheongsum? Must hv good figure then can wear. Think pooh, beibei n shanice can wear. I don't mean the rest don't hv good figure but I nvr see u all b4 leh. But cheongsum must walk properly, sit properly. if 2 tight, cannot bend also.
Me definitely cannot wear cheongsum - wait like bah zang

Hi totoro, definitely miss u. Where hv u been? *smooch** White again for tea? WG is white, then white teadress, a bit weird rite? As for the custom, i m not sure cos I m not into this. Maybe some of the girls will know. Maybe u can choose a a simple coloured tea dress instead. Anyway, just for that hour or so.

Hi pooh, normally the hotel tt u use will hv a printer, like mine. I m using the printer recommended by the hotel. save the trouble of collecting the cards n sending to someone else for printing. Why don't u check with hotel? I think it is cheaper 2? My hotel's printer only charging me $90 for printing 250 cards.
Maybe will get them to print my church invitation cards 2. Hv to go see them end of this month. FH needs cards by 1st week may - he wants to distribute the cards b4 june holis start.

abrinas

U all hv mood already? Me don't hv mood for the past month cos painting house lah, very tiring but very shiok when u see the finished results. Not very professional but still painted by both of us (with some help from friends n relatives) so very satisfied. But very aching.
finally finish liao.

Me starting my pre-marriage counselling on the 19th. Looking fwd to that.

Don't know what to do next. We hv drafted the invitation list n seating arrangement. What to do next other than printing the cards?

beibei

hi pooh,
maybe u want try the printer my hotel is strongly recommending..i am going down this fri to collect my invites,insert and sample too.But think the printer place a bit far at Macpherson but never mind since we going there once only.the rest just liaise thru email,phone and fax will do.

abrinas,
thanks for your compliment!but sorry i can't fit into the cheongsum which my bridal shop had!
my hips is quite big so those off the rack cheongsums I can't wear..
i wanted to borrow one as tea dress mah..in the end chose a red cheongsum like tea dress(not those tight fit at hip but more of an Aline.hubby likes it so much!

beibei

abrinas,
have u meet up with your helpers and give them the list of tasks to do on your wedding day??

search for wedding cakes?buying Guo Da Li thing?tasting wine?parents meeting?emcee?songs for march in?book honeymoon?mum's dress??

me not yet have the tension...still feel quite far away...

amore

morning ladies,

22/03 (afternoon or evening) - Fren's church wedding.. hmm unless join u guyz after the wedding maybe evening?
28/03 evening - Friday I'm still in KL....
29/03 (afternoon or evening) - Best date for me... both noon and evening oso can..

may

Pausini: yes, planning and thinking of doing a montage presentation before the dinner starts. But we have not even started work on it. If we do show a montage presentation, i tot quite nice to do a video prsentation for e thank you speech - ya like winning an award kind.

Vin: agree that live thank you speech is better n more sincere. But i think hubby and i will properly get massive stage fright..ha..ha.. already he is reluctant to do thank u speech. Forget abt him singing a song or us dancing into the ballroom...we r a very boring couple...ha..ha..

Shook: well, at least now yr FH agrees to Daniel..mine so stubborn...ya lor ...speaking of engineer hubby...boring!

Throwing flower petals is nice but i wanted the flower gal to throw the petals as she walk in but with the dry ice effect and mist - wonder can the guest see.

Kare: my hubby actually ask me to do the thank u speech coz i am less shy but i refuse. I say it is his job...well if your IL are conservative then agree that u do the powerpt presentation one loh. I attended a wedding that the bride's mom also do thank u speech and she was very emotional...

Sue: good that yr FH not shy then let him handle everything lor. I did but ORT weddinh shoes and custom made a pair of evening shoes. But i made it plain and add on the crystals myself. Leaping lizards charged me S$ 100 to add two rows of crystals which i think is crazy. In the end, i added 4 rows myself for less than S$ 20.

Jan: Dont worry to much, things will straighten out eventualy after marriage. The bitchy SIL - must learn of ways to handle her.

Today is my trial make up and 2nd fitting - and GUESS WHAT. i forgot to bring my digital camera. ARGGHH.....so angry w myself. I have got a disposable camera in the car, i think i got no choice but to use it...so stupid !!!

bortei

hi snoopy and seiko,

so far, i yet to directly liase with my hotel ya. i think i will only touch base with them in april or may.....actually i also not sure when should we meet up with the hotels...any ideas har?

snoopy, can share with us where will you be going?

Hi lilac, guess my guo da li will be same as yours liao. before lunar 7th month as my PILS prefer that way.....btw, which bridal boutique have you signed up with?

abrinas

Ya lor, me feel like u 2.
We same same.

I think most of the stuff u mention I done liao except meeting the helpers. Maybe ard May. My mum's dress? tt's the least to worry. My mummy very modern one. She buys her own. She just ask us for money.

Talking abt wedding cakes, where r u all getting from? Me don't know yet.

Me not going for honeymoon yet, maybe later in the year cos need to start renovating the hse after wedding. might not hv much cash left.

beibei

abrinas,

wedding cakes I am think of Kyo or Choz Confectionery.Dun really want Bengawan Solo,polar and those too commercialised cake shops.

Where did u buy your GDL things?can recommend?

pucca

finally im done with my ps! luckily it was very sunny yesterday ... actually have to wait for the sun to set for abt 45mins in order to take pix with sunset ...

but overall ... quite ok ..

beibei,
u still hv not feel the tension yet ah? i got liao leh ... mayb bcoz i got to manage my time for exams as well ... perhaps tts y ..

clyne

Sats are out for me.. on 28/3, my fren alreadi ask me out so dun think can join u pp this time..

Next time ok? Enjoy yourselves!!!

Y

yi

hi elaine, jady, flowee and wenn,

so excited to be meeting u gals 2nite.

I'll be bringing my actual day album today instead coz you all have seen my wedding pics (studio and outdoor) liao plus itz gonna be very heavy if i bring both coz i'm off today and gog on my own to my mum place later first.

c u all at 7.30pm tonight! :p

beibei

pucca,
U lucky girl!!yalor yesterday the sun came out so big and sunny!!
you must have enjoyed your PS very much!! *envy* so when can choose photos?

Y

yi

u all have any pics to show on your wedding or your love nest too?
i'm eager to know who i'm actually been chatting with mah!

abrinas

Hi beibei

Me thinking of getting from the commercialised cake shops cos my mum wants them in vouchers rather than in boxes. She says easier to transport
anyway, it's up to her actually.

For GDL stuff, the 8 sweets I will be getting from Chinatown. Where exactly I don't know cos my FH more familiar with Chinatown so he will bring me there. As for the trotters, my MIL will order herself n other stuff needed like orange squash, bananas etc easy to get lah. My family n his family quite modern ie. only getting those stuff tt is really needed for the omen. All that can be dispensed with will not be done.

pausini

Vin: My FH is too shy, all the suggestion none will be taken out. He just keep saying he want it simple simple simple. *sian* Sthing once in the life time and he want is so simple and nothing memorable. I may be calling my FH niece and nephew to be the flower girl and pg boy. They are sibling but very cute and experience too. hahaha.. they did it for my FH's cousin and the niece love to be pretty so no problems. My FH is a very practical person, i am an emotional person. so he not romantic one.

regarding emcee, my MIL thinking of not having one cos she say we got no Yum Seng so need not any. wah liao... dun know what is she thinking. now my dinner going to be more boring than i can think of.

May: Aiyo so careless. forgot abt digi camera. are u going to do it or ur FH doing it? if using Powerpt very fast and easy. All the effects is incorporated in the software. If ua re using flash or director 8, may need to take a longer time and they look more professional. with the help of a few friends, we used 1 week to do a montage for our gd friend. too bad i cant send u the file cos too big else u can take a look. furthermore, she dun mind sharing it will other in the forum too.

Sue: thanks. I just visit spotlight in orchard. they dun have alot of silk flowers left. Tampines spotlight have more. i didnt get the flower in the end.

Jan: u are right. i bought a white and light gold shoes. I think i may have to get a silver shoe to match my EG. think Silver shoe matches all. Jan, if u really dun want to face ur SIL, why not u take up some courses to keep u busy.

Shook: My FH is also in IT line. at 1st i thot of asking Daniel too but he was booked on my date and my FH also not used to get stranger. Now he didnt even want to have emcee. I have ex-colleague volunteer to help me. well, they are really the sabot kind. so i really have to reconsider.

shook

Hihi Vin
Oh I dun mind singing. I m a kara ok queen. But my mum is against dat idea. I brought tis up to her b4. She said
. Bride shld b elegant n gentle. Not noisy n attention catchy. Afterall bride is already the central of attraction.

Hihi May
Me going to select gown tis afternoon. I dun have digital camera. So don't feel like taking pictures of the gowns.

seiko

Harlow Gals !

Snoopy, ive spoken 2 the new manager who took over my a/c after the previous manager left. He said he'll only liase wif me in late May or June.
Guess i'll have 2 let him know bt sending the invites b4 the 7th mth. Gotta work the time schedule backwords liao.

Bortei, i think they shd call us by May, if not gotta kachiao them already *heheeh*

may

Pausini: i wld like to see the montage leh. Give me some idea. Can you zip it up and email me. Not to the hotmail address..to the office one...not convenient to say the address here but it is in the May list.

Ya lor, i still very upset then hubby nag and nag...he say malu to use the disposable camera.
ArggH!

Why u got no yum seng? if u not prepare better not have colleage that sabo u. I can understand ur feelings abt having a memorable wedding. All weddings r the same - can be quite boring...so i also feel shld add some excitement and a good MC is very impt.

Shook: i also agree w yr mom. Heee....better nt sing la...it is ur wedding not Kara Ok competition hee....

Take pics leh...then we can see and give u comments. U can use conventional camera or like me disaposable ha..ha...

tingting

mrs quake: i've made an appt with Dang this evening to take a second look at their gowns n stuff. think Cindy's on leave..no wonder she said she's very busy..

does anyone have an opinion on photographers like Photospace and Photolanguage? Quite like their simple n casual styles. Thought may be a good alternative to Andrew Choi.

priviledged

Abrinas, the 'engagement' day is the GDL lah! It's the chinese customary engagement, i think. (According to my friends)

Wah, Sweets, 4-inch stilettos!!! I tried my mum's wedding shoes (yes, 45 years old, and still in perfect condition!) which were 4-inch stilettos, and all I could do was stand very still!
I think she's trying to get the heel changed for me, but if not in time, then I have my kasut-manek to fall back on. (no pun intended)

My evening gown is a very simple spaghetti strapped gown in shandong silk. The kebaya is in organza with large embroidery in the 'kebaya' places, three-quarter sleeves and fastened in the front with the krosang. My designer's mum is also Peranakan so he's taken this on as a challenge.
Lots of people wear their kebaya in this fusion style nowadays cos the sarong is too troublesome.

roro

Hi Mrs Quake, 've a fun time! keep us posted ya..

Die.. me haven fix appt wif any Bridal boutique! gotto pull my stocking real high.. so far wat i've in mind r BV, J&C & GI, gg to fix appt wif them real quick!! wish me luck gals.. hopefully can settle my bridal & actual PS by this mth!

wen

Pris,
I have exam on friday night so cant join for dinner. So sad.

DK,
Where else will u be going?

These few nights have been out looking for bridal. Very tired. This is my second round of selection. Hence, have to spend more time discussing about requirement. Really have to decide bridal by end of this week. A bit late already. Most of u have already decided on design, right?

jus

Has been MIA for quite a while...
busy with work

i went for the Plaza Parkroyal wedding fair
and guess what?
i bought 2 gowns!!! one for photoshoot and one evening gown
jialak!!! must control oledi hee hee
but quite cheap $330, inclusive of alteration

18th and 20th would be fine for me
hopefully nothing crops up and i'll be able to join all of you this time round

abrinas

Hi pooh

I give u 2morow. Don't hv it with me now.

Hi priviledged

Ah, i c. The way u described yr kebaya like very complicated leh.

Hi Totoro

The cakes are for guo da li. requested by bride's mum n normally use for distribution to relatives (close ones) when distributing cards. How many boxes depend on mums.

may

Pausini: i got your email without the attachment. Some how PI block the attachment. I have emailed u to ask that you send to another office address. Can u try again. Thanks.

lilac

Hi Bortei Khan,

In that case, you may want to pick a date 1 or 2 weekends before the lunar seventh month. Mine is a weekend before.

I am with Dang bridal. Photographer is Andrew Tay - The Edge and photoshoot is scheduled on 13 May. Will only go down to Dang this week for measurement taking. Quite worried that they can't get my gowns done in time.

meow

22/03(aft/eve) - Meow, Pris, Besse, Are, Yve
28/03(eve) - Meow, Pris, Shirlynn, Besse, Are, Leo29, twinklets, Feb
29/03(aft/eve) - Meow, Pris, Shirlynn, Besse, Are
Not attending - Wen, Sunnyling, Clyne

Venue: Esplanade? Any more suggestions?

shook

Hihi Pausini
Ya agree wif May. Better not have emcee than have 1 dat sabo n malu u on stage.

Hihi May
OK. Called my mum. Asked her to bring camera 4 me.

sweets

wah seh ...we all can yakk a lot in 1 morning hor...grin

Abrinas, I intend to custom make a CS in Shanghai .... hopefully the tailor there can do a good job hahha... been trying to lose weight also... but the call of almond covered ice cream is really too strong.

Priveledged, so nice...your mum kept her shoes ? good idea
...I'll keep mine for my future daughter or DIL too
So I guess you are wearing them right ? Do they match your gowns ? Very very meaninful...

totoro, better check with your respective families first....I've seen brides serve tea to their parents in their WG which is also white too...

Hi Pucca, so where did you go in the end ? seaside ?

Anyone had their trial makeup yet ? What to expect ? Share share ....I'll be having mine end of this month....pretty excited...now trying to diligently upkeep my face...grin

vin

HI May,
Not worry abt the montage presentation. Mine is the last minutes things, everything up w/o 2 days. We are not using powerpoint but others software. Ya.. record down your speech, like winning awards… keke… good idea….
I didn’t do any speech, just my bf do it. His speech also super last minutes. He claimed that dun need to prepare it. Just speech from heart. I really can’t stand his thinking.. and you know what, his action like those “la bi xiao xin” make me laugh…
You are in Event management line, right?? How can you be a boring person???
My bf initially also don’t want Daniel to be our MC. But then I just told him don’t gv any conclusion b4 we meet Daniel, then aft meeting, he don’t mind and claim that he is good. When my bf tend to be stubborn, I’ll ask him whether he is an old man??? Kekke…
Definitely there’s np if you wanted the flower gals to throw the petals as she walk in and with the dry ice effect and mist. Mine is same as what you mention. After all, ppl will feel entertain and feel the little gals are cute etc but the main focus will still be YOU and YOUR FH. So, must be pretty pretty that day.
Hi Jan,
Oh poor Jan, die die unwilling still must stay with IL when ur FH not in. By the way, what is your Fh working as?? Hv you ever think of follow ur FH in overseas??? Dun bother your bitchy SIL so much laa… WHO IS She aft all rite??? Is that bcoz you are too soft that’s why she take the advantage to bully you??? I’ll nv hv this problem with them, maybe they know I’m not those soft type lor.
How’s your Trial make-up?? Satisfied with it???

Hi Pausini,
Hhaha… we gals huh, always like to say “marry is once in our lifetime, must do it as what we dream of…
… me also like this. Bu luckily my bf also hv such thinking, he always says, as long as you happy and like it then is ok. So fr the wedding, I just find the bridal package I like (coz he said he’s ok with it), he in-charged of sourcing the banquet, buy furniture, buy wine, select songs, bring me to facial etc.. That’s why rite now he always say that I’m a spoilt gf/wife..
Yeah, happy to find those cute cute and innocent children to be your flower gals and boys. Everybody will feel happy to see them.
Think most gal are emotional than guy. Guy more practical laa.. My bf very practical but romantic as well. But whatever he do, I’ll feel like he’s “la bi xiao xin” always wanted to laugh. Maybe he’s chubby chubby lor….
Wah Piangz!!1 You MIL to think of doing your wedding dinner w/o a MC at all??? Then who is going to host to invite the couple march in?? Who is going to do and talk sth to enhance the dinner atmosphere??
You are right, silver shoes match most of the colour.
Hi Pausini and Sue and gals,
If you all want to buy artificial flowers, maybe you all can try florist shop. Some of them hv really nice artificial flower as well. I show one florist shop who buy plain flower and do the coloring themselves. It’s really nice.

Hi Shook,
Hhah… your mum more worried than you huh… Am being very elegant with my wedding gown and first EG. Then be more sporty when ppl want to sabo me. We all play like crazy. Both me and my MIL very sociable, me and bf quite sporty.. so we all hv fun lor. Your mum want you to be princess, want you to be gentle, pretty and elegant. Is what’s most of the bride should hv, so if you really one, this mission should pass to your FH yaaa…
You going to select your gowns for your wedding day??? Hv a good selection day yaa… hope you wear more gowns and try and select the one you like most…

hf

Hi ladeis

have you people bought your tea dress / gown for photoshoot? dun know where to hunt for that leh, any advise?

mine photoshoot in July. and these few months very busy with work, exam ...... sob sob

Hi 10277
do we have to bring along our shoes for the first fitting? i havent even hunt for it yet. thought it is the last few things to buy..

Hi Poki

Have you confirm your first fitting with Amanda? No news from her yet, thought first fitting in March?

pucca

beibei,
photographer told us shd be able to see them after 10days .. but i've already made appt with the co-ordinator to see them on the 18th (will be collecting my bridal shoes on the same day too).. tts 2 wks later ..
.. im oso excited abt the outcome !! .. hee
beibei, when ur album will be ready?

abrinas,
wah, u still hv to buy banana? ur FH a teochew ixxit? my GDL list almost got this until one of my auntie says its for teochew grooms then need ..

Sweets,
hey, me too . gotto wear 4" heels .. went to Leapin' Lizard to custom made a pair .. :p
I went to Spotteswoode Park, there hv old shophouses n railway track ... then we went to labrador park to take pics for greens n sunset ... tts all for my outdoor ps ..

vio

hi jus,

taken note on ur attendance on 18th
dun seems to have ur details like ur real name, h/p, e-mail.. could ur send via e-mail : [email protected]?

i missed e sales over e wkend leh. muz be nice & worthwhile since u bought 2 pcs! heard flamingo had sales on which starts 2days bk!

flowee

yi wana 2 apologize tat she din manage 2 brin along her actual daz pixs...
she had rushed out from home due 2 some personal reasons...
thousand apologi!!!

jady, wenn, leafy n elaine

c u gers later...

totoro

really i having my PS in 2 weeks time on 19 march..so what to bring?? and anything to prepare..i quite excited lor.

HF: preferably get shoes by 1st fitting so that your designer gets the length right.

Jus: you're a lucky girl! the sizes at the sale were all quite small right? So now you have 4 dresses??

poki

Hi HF

No, have not confirmed my fitting appt. Still waiting for her call.

Have checked with Amanda. Not a must to bring along our shoes for the first fitting. If you have bought the shoe, it would be good to bring it along. If not, itz ok. Can bring it for our 2nd or 3rd fitting. I would prefer to buy the shoe after I have seen the gown.

beibei

pucca,
I see my photos this sat only leh..album takes about two months..

totoro,
bring a pair of comfortable sandals.bottle of water.tissues.mini fans.axe brand 'feng you'if going to seaside ask your hubby to bring a pair of slippers too!that's all i bring.anyone can help add on??