(2003) Brides of year 2003

priscilla

Hi Besse,
Welcome to the thread..! Me actually have a bridal package at Seletar Broadway. the package cost $2988 and I have paid $800 already and willing to give up at the pricing of $500(neg) cos location of the bridal shop is too far for me and I booked it at a bridal fair so at first did not check out where is the bridal shop location. So if you want more details I can send you the details of my package, but have to give me your e-mail address hoh..!

Shirlynn,
So do u want to join the wine tasting cum gathering in this month?

Meow,
Can you send me the updated list of the NOv 03 brides list? I found that lots of people are joining this thread so I think mine is no longer updated...

pausini

May: Thanks! next friday PS. Lets pray hard for each other it will be a sunny day with wonderful sunset. Do take picture of ur choker once it is done. must be great. I am also in the mid of decorating my wall tile in the two bathroom with glass pebbles from ikea.

U really got alot of mirror to clean.

I wish i am busy too. economic is bad, budget for many projects frozen and most of my projects cant proceed as normal. even those is on going are still in planning stages. Nothing much to do. so i am very free, envy right! i hope i am busier. Sorry, i am in govt sector.

shook

Hihi Pausini
$1 is equivalent to A$1.0497 (exchange rate on 28.02.2003)

Hihi Maya
Oh boy, I went to People's park last Fri n Sat. U check let us know.

Hihi May
Where u get those mirrors fm?

Y

yi

hi icemilo,

think the new flats now the masterbed room very small so if u need more room, hacking is the only solution liao.

BTW, wheres your love nest?

Y

yi

Hi kk mei,

Tatz hubby's idea to wear the airforce coverall for the PS.
I think itz rather unique and different.

Hi cherubies,

Tatz great! Must be looking forward to your HM then.

Hi elaine,

OK then, 7.30pm at Cityhall.

besse

Wen..

me going to finalised the contract before paying the dp.. hv already block off the date with a tentative booking. I was quite lucky cos someone had to let go of this date after her booking... so i got it.. *whew*

My coordinator is Elizabeth.

Pris
Thanks, but I have no intentions to book with Seletar .. cos the location oso a bit far from where i live.so where will you be getting your bridal from??

Okeanosmao..

Wow.. thanks for the cute welcome!! peeps here v warm leh.. i like *grin

btw, anyone will be having a military wedding? Wonder if anyone can advise on mil wedding

abrinas

Yoo hoo pooh

Me 2. not buying si dian jin 2. My MIL buy me the bangles n a pair of earrings yesterday liao.

Ah, me collecting earlier than u. Nvrmnd, if I collect 1st, I show u first lah.

are

hi all... juz an update on my bridal... went for my 2nd appt last sat, and spoken to the consultant photographer. quite pleased with him, but understand he is oni consultant, so he wun take pics. hv confirmed all my gowns liao. 1 bustier WG, 1 cream in-cut gown for tea dress, and 2 WG (1 red, 1 sliver).

photography location will be west coast and elias park, and watever impromptu location we decide to go. will be using quite a no. of gowns ~ 2 WG, 1 EG, & 2 casual, provided we are not too tired, or the memory card runs out of memory!

are

hi besse.. welcome to our thread...
military wedding ah? oni in my dreams! hehehe... used to dream abt it, coz its so cool, even ah jie got it... but too bad, no chance liao! ;P

but i attended one before. got sword bearers ( think 6) to hold the swords for the couple to walk in under the swords, then the last two will hold down the swords and refuse to let the couple go unless they do something. quite amusing but very majestic! ;P

are

hey... 1 advice for all on gowns, esp if you havne't booked your bridal... do try as many gowns as you can!!! i always tot i so skinny can fit into a cheongsum, and wanted one for my tea dress. but the few i tried look so funny! then the staff said my face look too childish, so very funny in cheongsum and i gotta give it up.

there were also a few gowns i like, but when i wear them, look either like vietnamese or philipino!!! so funny. in the end, i picked a couple i din like at first, but looks pretty nice on me. so much for my own taste! ;P

wenn

can i join in last min for wed's outing? my facial appt will finish around 7.15pm at raffles place.. so i can make it for 7.30 at city hall

meow

Welcome Wen too!

Wen,
Tou want to sent your details to me as well?

Besse and Shirlynn,
I've receive both your details. Will compile them tonight and sent to all brides. Sorry, my soft copy is at home.

Besse,
You are real lucky to have a mil wedding. I'm in the force, but no mil wedding for me. I'm jus a specialist.

Sunnyling,
Yeah, there will be a meetup this month. Me pretty busy these few days with the reno stuffs, so not select day yet. Will do so by this week ok?

Are,
Your friend very funny, sabo the couples.

Pris,
Sorry for the delay. Tonight i'll sent. Promise...

piper

long time never log in....seems like Mrs Quake very "chop chop fast fast" hor...

i've just postponed my PS to early aug...chinese is the 7th month...but my hubby & i not "pantang" so quite ok...actually, milan say aug then PS abit late....

me now busy with re-decorating my hubby's room...dunno how long this project will take...

are

meow... tong bing xiang lian.. me & hubby oso v busi with reno. & since we do ala carte, we gotta tok/meet with so many ppl!!! & worst thing is hubby works till 7pm & on sundays, & i've got classes, so the oni day we can get most things done is sat. so every sat is a siong day! ;P

but finally finalised the kitchen design, and chosen tiles for living. now is to attack the MBR cabinets... whew... @ tis rate, we really wondering when then we can start work man...

we may not do MTM sofa aft all... we eyeing this jeans cover sofa from picket & rail. told hubby its gd, coz even when we wash till colour fade, it will look vintage!!

are

meow... think its standard tat military wedding the sword bearers hv to sabo the couple one leh... i think ever saw on TV one tat when they walk in, the last sword bearer *hit* the brides's *buttocks* with the sword! ;P

may

Pausini: i wish i am in the govt sector too. but no leh. very busy ...i got a business trip coming up after ps and i still have not plan for it. And end April, i need to go China for business. Yes,i promised to take pictures and i really slow..sorri.

Shook: yes, i plan to move in b4 customary. maybe next weekend. My mirrors done by the contractor - cost us a fair bit.

Maya: i think it is ok to buy furniture from the neighbour stores. Mostly Courts also get from the same supplier. I plan to buy my bedside table from Sungei Kadut. This manufacturer supplies lots of stuff to White Colection and buy direct from them can bargain.

I have not decided how many ah yi shld i have. Oh dear.

flowee

ladies

so confirmed 730pm @ cityhall???

yi

we meet up after work???
sms mi again ok

wenn

cool can c u again on wed...

jady

where r u???

cher

cool confirmed ur HM also ur gowns...
waitin 4 ur fittin n also ur ps...
soon it will b ur weddin liao...

mrs

Hi Piper,

heheheh, no choice lor since my ps is in June. Anyway, it's better for me and fh cos our work will start picking up after June and so I don't want to rush then. Moreover, I still got to do prep work for our church wedding.

pausini

May: which part of govt sector. May be we work under the same roof. My office in Sci Park.

Last year still good, still can go for business trip. This year, site survey trip also cut. dun know how to do the project without site survey. Not going very far ok. Only thailand, still cut.

I still left bedside table too. mirror can be quite costly, ur hse must have look very spacious with so many of them.

Shook: let me go and ask how much is the flowers from spotlight.

wen

Besse,
same here... booked 9 Dec but have to change... luckily the couple who have booked 17 Nov is considering another date
so they let go their booking on 17 Nov... will be very sad if can't get the place....

Meow,
Sure... will sent to u....
any one else also on 17 Nov???

naturally

Piper! Long time no "hear"...

I thought u would be the fastest among us to have your PS, how come postpone? Anyway, i dun think Aug is late lah, they got 4 mths to work on the photos mah!

Mrs Quake,
hehehe... i sure hope your hubby is not the discplinary master!!
Btw, i think it's cool that u get to go shopping for fabrics with Dang, most bridal shops dun do that? Enjoy the shopping!

meow

Wen,
Think you are the only girl who's on 17th. But its ok, i believe we have more brides coming in along the way to Nov. Right?

Are,
If you are looking for those jeans material sofa. I saw one at great world barang barang. Not bad looking but it doesn't suit my theme lor. Me wanted those woody styles.

priviledged

Me too not getting si dian jin. My mum didn't want. So my MIL is paying for some of our tables instead, I think. My mum will probably buy me some jewellery. I'm not into wearing jewellery and my mum knows, but I think it's for 'show'.

Mum says that brides side ought to get the bed-linen, so what Yvonne did was probably what is required.

I'm not having that 'guo da li' (or whatever) that many brides have, so ours is very simple. No exchanges of gifts, cakes, pigs, jewellery or anything. My side is Peranakan and both sides are not for the usual fuss of a traditional Chinese wedding.
Are any of you ladies having that 'engagement' day?

besse

Hi all.. wah.. so many postings.. happy *clap clap*

Meow, so you a specialist in the force? RSAF or RSN or SAF?? my FH in airforce.

Oh yeah, me looking forward to the Mil wedding.. think FH will look v smart in his No.1

Runnnig late for my appt with Fullerton... ttyl

maya

Pausini, I civil servant too but how come I wk like shit! (pardon me language) My side also cutting (but you won't read abt it, not gd news to publish) and a lot of us like doing 2-3 person's jobs. My new job - have been unable to get the staff I shld have bec of politics and the slooooowww red-tape. I'm still in office now and my norm is till abt 7pm, sometimes, 9-10pm also have......pai mia ah....I wanted to hunt furniture 2nite but got no time now....

leo29

Besse,

My bridal shop is Silverlining. They are popular on low back gown. If you have previous Her World edition, you can see their gown design from there. I planned to have halter neck EG that split at the front and low back. But still considering becos too sexy already. Wait kana screw by my parent.

You are so lucky to have someone give up this date after their booking. All those good hotels that I shortlisted last year, incl Fullreton was all taken up. Was so sad! End up I have to book Orchard Hotel.

Are,

It’s true that some gowns may look very nice but it don’t look nice on us and gown that don’t look nice suit us very well. Anyway, you have selected yours so at least you don’t have to worry anymore.

So many of you like of cheongsum hor but me never think of. Find it look very mature. Me thinking of renting the kua from E…..(Forget the shop name but very popular 1) at tanjong pagar.

I just went to P&R last sat. Saw the jean material that you mention, very nice.

kare2711

Hey Vin and Cat.. hmm need more bridesmaids ah? hmmm .. can't find many because on that day, all my close friends are working and they are not allowed to take leave. I actually asked my best friend but she played me out *annoyed*. Okay, maybe I'll try to think of another one. Hmm hmm ..

Pausini, love your corsets. I think your ah yis will sure sure appreciate them!

shirlynn

Hi Priscilla,

Sorry, but I am not so in on wine... we had wine on almost every function of the company... not really my cup of tea. Maybe another time, okie? Keep me inform of any other programmes.

BTW, have you find out where is the shop at Jurong??

meow

Besse,
I used to be RSAF then on Feb, convert to SAF. Confused??

Leo29,
I agree with you. I saw one very nice EG. There's a split too on the side. But when i try it on, it looks kinda ugly with my fat thighs. So drop the idea.

maya

Hi Kare, my wedding on weekday also prob with jiemei - gotta take leave. Got friends who are teachers whom I wanted to be jiemeis but teachers even more worst, cannot sukat sukat take leave, even if advance warning!

priscilla

HI Besse,
I saw a mil wedding before and before the sword barrier march in there is two gals wearing their own dress and candles to light up the aisle, each gal taking care of one side and follow behind them is the sword barrier.But the couple request the aisle to be decorate with flowers and candles.
Very romantic........

Me book my bridal package at J&M Design at TJ.

Leo29,
Hi, me too the same like you have to wear kua instated of those tea dress cos my family is Teochew so quite strict, so its a must to wear kua. But me abit not suitable to wear chongsum cos don't have that figure to wear it. But my kua is provided by my bridal shop so don't think got much choices for the design cos got saw a few kua design I quite like but only those shop that specialist in it then got, like the one you are going to order your kua. IS it the shop name is House of Etiquette at TJ? Its ok if you are not intersted in the bridal package.....

Meow,
wow, never expect you are in the militery, must be very tough lar...! Me wanted to get job in there but scare of the BMT that even woman must also go through.

Sunnyling,
The message I send to Shirlynn is to invite her to a gathering organise by some gals n guy in the chat room not by the Nov 03 thread but if you want to join in I can help you inform them to make an reservation for you.... but our own thread will also have a gathering this month too but location n date not yet decided so have to wait for Meow jie jie to inform us lor....

meow

Girls and guy,
I've set a number of dates to choose from. It's in the mail i forward to everyone too. Here it is:
22/03 (afternoon or evening)
28/03 evening
29/03 (afternoon or evening)

Dun worry, even if it's in the afternoon, it last half a day only.
Sorry for my mistake made in the mail. It's 22nd not 15th of March.

Shirlynn,
What shop in Jurong? Maybe i can help?

piper

hi naturally,

PS postpone coz my hubby's project a bit overdue....got to rush a bit..

Milan needs to send the photos to Taiwan for processing..tat's y they need longer time...but they say if no choice, then they'll rush for me....so paiseh...

how's the rest of ur preps coming along, naturally?

I've just drawn up a to-do-list for my wedding & a bit worried coz everything seems to be cramped in oct/nov...very scared things cannot complete on time....r u all facing the same fear also?

priscilla

Hi meow,
No lar, I found a shop at jurong west that sells customary wedding needs in the magazine but don't know actual place so maybe you can help.
Any of the above date is fine with me cos me not working mah,hee hee! So just keep me inform on the confirm date lor, by the way where you planning to held the gathering?

Leo29,
Sorry got one line in the message I send you is not meant for you, its for Besse, stating its alright if she don't want my bridal package.

shirlynn

Thanks Meow!

BTW, I cannot make it on the 22/03, its my 1st ROM anniversary, my hubby will kill me if I should be throwing him aside on this day. Should not be a problem for the other two days.

mrs

Hi naturally,

My FH is not the discipline master...in fact quite hard for him to be one cos he got no temper. Actually, it's good to plan early for the wedding now cos I'll be involve heavily in 2 annual projects - my firm's D&D (1300paxs) and Management Conference (Overseas - 450paxs) in Oct and late Nov.

These two projects are in my portfolio and so cannot escape one. Technically speaking, I only have 1 week before my wedding for any last minute prep work as I will be overseas holding the Management conference.

Actually, the next item on my to-do list is to find an actual day photographer. After that, I'll be aiming to find my church reception caterer, choir, and mass booklet all before June.

I seem very kan cheong rite...hheheheeheh but it's never too early to start cos you never know what may come up!

meow

Those who can make it:
22/03(aft/eve) - Meow, Pris
28/03(eve) - Meow, Pris, Shirlynn
29/03(aft/eve) - Meow, Pris, Shirlynn

Venue? Any suggestions beside rice table which we miss out for the last gathering? Please help me update when i'm not around can? Many thanks to all!

sue

Hi Vin: Yah, my S'pore dinner & solemnisation is after the wedding day. I'll solemnise my marriage in the hotel. Sounds wierd I know but we really dun know how to arrange that. My FH fetch me from S'pore on 17 May & then back to Sgt for the dinner there. The tea ceremony for my own relatives will be on 25 May followed by the S'pore wedding dinner.

Hi Shook: No, I din change the date. It is still the same. You may refer to my reply to Vin on the 'itinerary'. ;p

Hi Jan: That's what I tot but I'm worried that the make up will not be done nicely like what Vin says. If not, I'll do my own makeup.

Hi Kare & Cat: Not to worry lah...My FH & me just 'touched' our guest list the 2nd time over the weekend to finalise because have to collect the invitation cards. Intend to collect the cards next week when go for food tasting. Managed to request for 10% more, initially was given only 70% & we realised that it was not enough. In case we wrote wrongly & need extra cards.

I got abt 4 or 5 jiemeis & one of them is my younger sister. Some jiemeis are also my FH's friends' gal friends. I think the more the merrier. Must make the wedding fun & memorable mah!

priscilla

How about going to esplanade where there is afew restaurnt over there for our gathering?
Thinking there got scenary and quite quiet over there, so what do you all think of it?

besse

Meow..

Hey, you converted from RSAF to SAF? Can meh?haha.. why so? which Airbase you from?

Anyway, you like woody stuff? we were shopping ard in WTC last weekend and found this Zen shop.. its quite oriental and plenty of birch stained into dark walnut color furniture.. the dining sets quite nice leh. They also have a corner and a showflat at the Furniture Mall at Kallang Road.. you can go take a look.

Anyway, thanks for sending the compilation.. Wen and BomBom both having the WD at Fullerton too..

I'm ok for the 3 days for the gathering.

Leo29

Wah.. your EG sounds v cool leh ;) where's silver lining btw? Might wanna pop by the week after when i come back from Shanghai.

Yeah, i think the kwa plc you mentioned is House of Ettiquette.. saw their kwas in some mags.. look v nice leh... errm how much is the rental??

Pris

Hey, you so fast book another Bridal oledy? wow.. so efficient. Me still dragging my feet in doing that.. cos now i still fleshy.. put on gowns look a bit like tele tubby *sulk*

Will take note of the Mil wedding thingy.. you mean the two gals went light the candles along the aisle.. hey.. nice wor... hmmm *ponder*

Wen...

Meeting with Fullerton went ok.. scary thing is, there are 3 couples on waitlist eyeing my date!! *whew*.. luck is on my side.. i will be v v disappointed if i cant get my choice date with my choice venue. Elizabeth is very nice and guess I have a room for our mil sword bearers cum helpers till abt 11pm.. and a separate function room for our ROM just before the dinner commences. Nothing much other than that... except the additional carpark coupons to 35% and invites to up to 70% of guests. Oh yes, you can req for them to keep your portion of dinner and send up to your room after the wedding dinner... ;)

oso32

Just wondering if anyone has confirmed their caterer for the BIG day yet? Vaguely remember that someone posted some recommendation for a caterer for Thai food ... any idea anyone?

Any other recommendations also welcome. Thanks

priscilla

Hi everyone n Meow,
Below is the updated list of who can attend for our gathering.

22/03(aft/eve) - Meow, Pris, Besse
28/03(eve) - Meow, Pris, Shirlynn, Besse
29/03(aft/eve) - Meow, Pris, Shirlynn, Besse

Since I nothing to do at home so I am updating your list for you, hope u don't mind...Heehee

priscilla

Hi Besse,
Me booked my another bridal package quite long ago I think got a few months already so now trying to get rid of the Seletar Broadway package....still no buyer..so sad

You buy from me lar, so I no worries..! Heee
Just joking lar..!

Yap the two gals light the candles follow by the sword bearer then the newly wed. So romantic hoh...!