(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Jan,

Those are awesome pictures. You looked radiant and very beautiful! Like out of a magazine. :-) Congratulations.

It's indeed a strange feeling...but I agree the prep was quite fun and I missed it in some ways. All in all, I'm, like most of us, am just glad that the event and the pictures turned out well. :-)

Bluebonnet

Naturally: that's what my FH's relatives said. I guess the brandy in the cake help to preserve the cake as well.

If I'm not wrong, a decent band would cost about $500 and above depending on the number of sets you want thm to play.

Hi Jan,

For me, I missed my march-in only as for the rest, very tiring leh!

feel that the march-in is a very special moment as all eyes are on the couple.

Yap, me went sydney and brisbane in 2001. we followed SA(UIC) package tour which is a 8-days tour. I think 10 days for 3 places might be abit rush.
I love sydney's bondi beach, harbour bridge and darling harbour.
feel that gold coast has nothing much except their beach is nice.
me went ard May/June period.

Europe has always been my dream honeymoon destination.

we are not actually sharing fotos, just see a few only. if you like, you can give me your email address too.

so sorry that i cannot go for the outing today.
gonna arrows last minute... sigh...
can anyone who is going and happen to read this
message, please inform jady about it. i don't have her contact number.

you girls enjoy yrselfs..

Hi Jan..

Congrats on your wedding..U looks gorgeous on your BIG day..May I know which bridal boutique that u sign with? And your make up artist as well?

And thks for sharing your link..

That set of jewellery is not really considered si dian jin lah.. As it is bought by 4 different pple. Dun think MIL can afford the whole set.. My mom wanted to get something for me too.. end up, i also got something for myself (money down the drain uh).. The whole set is just to have something that I like and will wear and keep..

As said, MIL still paid for a small bracelet for the tea ceremony, but I choose the design..

All in all, I am lucky that I got to choose..

Yeah, anyone know of any mei po?

hi cherubies,

i was looking at raffles the plaza and fullerton.. but couldn't get the ballroom i wanted at raffles and my FH's parents dun seem to like the food at fullerton...hmm, perhaps have to look around for a few more alternatives.

yup, july quite few weddings, so easier to book hotels/photographers/friends etc kekeke...;) we only settled on a wedding date last week, means we still have lots of things to do. so far i have only booked the bridal package, actual day photographer and gotten the rings. appt for WG/EG design is in march and photoshoot in may.. still got time hor?

lucky you, dun need to have the dinner, juz a church wedding right? i was hoping that we could juz hop off to a honeymoon after ROM and a tea reception, but parents preferred dinner.. well..:P

hee are & akira.. me pure hainanese too ..
17769.gif
keke.. i do noe we need a roasted pig, rite?? both my FMIL & parents are those modern bochup type.. so think the traditional thingys can dun buy alot bah ...

Leo29,
your MIL very 'on', buy so fast for u. hehe My one hor .. never tok abt it leh ....
17770.gif
I wonder whether she noes got this term called 4 dian jin or not .........

errrrrkkss.. nope.. no gold for me 'cos gold dun look nice on my skin color... *lol* excuses excuses. I noe my FMIL wont buy gold for me, i only scare her eldest "ban dang" sis will pyscho her to get me the gold set.
17771.gif

twink|ets ~

me hakka, my mom canto and hubby hokkien.. so how?? anyway, mom wants a pig.. Will be ordering one from a nearby foodstall that sells roasted stuff. Pick it on the way from hubby place..

yeah, the diamonds very nice.. heh, but only wearing the engagement ring now as the other 3 pieces were rushed off to the safe-deposit box on the day they were bought.. will take them out for ROM and PS..

twink|ets... eh? so qiao to hv 3 hainanese? ;P ya, think the pig is standard for most dialects rite? i think our unique part is the the pig's trotters for guo da li, and the 'big golden ball' for wedding, which my mum has yet to decide if she wants tat.

so nice tat you all hv modern parents & PIL, my both sides keep certain traditions, so in the end make things so complicated.

1027, each session is $90 but my package is 6+2. So pay $540 and get 8 facials. Mine is aromatherapy facial. U can visit BI website to see their price list http://www.beautyinspirations.com Maybe ur skin is similar with mine, stubborn. Last time everyone can sing praises abt a product and it doesn't have any effect on me. Zero. Really can't see a difference until I think wash my face with dishwashing liquid also can (of course I din do it :-)) It's only after I finish my 1st package did I notice improvement on my skin (now I'm on 2nd package). I think must be patient lor. Where's ur facial place?

Hi just (are u the same with jus??), I'll tell jady. Hope u can join us next time, okie?

HF, good luck!!

twinklets,looks like both of us have to seek advice from are in private.
since our parents also quite bo chap and modern we can just keep the traditions we like and ignore those that we dun.
anyway even if receive gold which you dun like, its better than nothing right??

yve, why do you need a mei po?

hi jan,

that are a whole lot of pics and i'm too inpatient to wait to see all so only see a few.
but they were very well-taken journalistic style pics.

Hmm... i pay the same amount $90 each session, at Body Shop. I think they may be overpriced, but since i have been with them for the past 1 year, i dun really dare to change.

The think i like about Body Shop is that they dun over-squeeze. Like some of my friends emerge from a facial looking all red like a lobster becoz of the squeezing. Whereas my body shop one shows no sign of redness at all.

One more thing i'd like to ask you, at BI do they trim your eye brows for you when you do your facial? Is the eye brow trim FOC or additional charge? Body Shop charges separately for the eye brow trim, which some friends tell me their facial place doesn't charge.

Yah, i got stubborn skin. Very oily T-zone and dry the rest. Needless to say, blackheads and white heads aplenty.

You mentioned that you saw some difference after the 1st package. May i kaypoh to know what these differences were? I used to go once a month, and i still see nothing!

I may not be able to make it in time tonite...very sorry...can anyone who is going pls inform jady?? thanks...

C u gals next time....

hhehe got "big Golden ball" 1 ?? heee so cute.. i din see this in my 2 eldest sisters wedding. Or maybe i' too blur liao.

akira, ya lor, think we really gotta seek advice, wait later our parents dunno wat to do. *lol*
sighs.. if recx gold i dun like.. also bobian ... most likely is keep inside the box ...............................

i need advise especially on the Guo Da Li & xiang Qin part. Damn blur. Both his mum & my parents all blur & bochup, so depend on ME. (quote:BF also damn blur

ya, yve, y need a mei po?

twink|ets ~

Akira,

Hahaha…., i think so. I’m their first daughter-in-law and my husband is the youngest son. So I think they hope we can get married early and bear them a grandson. Pressure lei! If I’m not wrong, she bought it 2 year ago. I just can’t imagine the design, I want to faint already. Anyway, it’s our fault. We Par Tor for 8 years then ROM. After ROM 2 year then have our customary.

Are,

Can give me the contact for sofa making. I want a long fabric sofa but so far none of the sofa I saw can match my requirement. My frd’s hse custom made fabric sofa cost them more then 3K, just a plain long sofa, I think can seat 5 person. Expensive hor! But I think it’s branded.

Twinklets,

I tot roasted pig is for Cantonese! But anyway, your mum is Cantonese so she got the right to ask for it. But hor…., no offend lei, by right we should follow our father dialect. My MIL 'on'??? I rather she give me the money and I shop for the jewel I want. Me very naughty hor!

Yve,

Rush to put in a safe box? Must be very expensive lah! Just joking!

How about hokkien, got any traditional thing to follow? Me very xiao hor, know other dialect traditional things but don't know a single thing for my dialect.

May: u bad lah! I love food but i DIDNT skip lunch. Cos breakfast didnt eat so have to eat something to satisfy the stomach. I will try not to each too much starch but still need little starch else no energy.

Ask two friends to come along to see see look look and help to take picture.

For those who didnt rx the link after requesting to view my 1st selection. Do tell me cos i rx alot of mail error report.

1027: If u already comfortable with Body Shop, then better dun change. Scared if other products doesn't suit you then may become a problem. It's also good that ur face is not red after facial. Mine is quite sensitive so I ask them to use finger instead of tools for extraction. Eyebrow trimming is FOC, but u can choose to skip it (like me. I'm going to WomB for trimming). Yah lor, my face also full of whiteheads. Last time also have dehydrated skin so all the whiteheads are deep inside and must use tools to extract. Now better already, not so much and more hydrated. I feel that my skin is more supple now, make-up stick better, and ppl say fairer.

Greetings to All Dec Brides...

How nice to find this Forum.. Really happy to read all ur wonderful words..

I'm getting married on 8th Dec 2003 (tentatively)
gg for the bridal show @ GC too... hopefully can grab the date and settle it once and for all..

having the Ideal of inviting JP to my dinner, so i no need to arrange for my ROM. My new flat in Punggol is almost done, that will take away a big huge stone out of me, Renovatin is a big headache!

So now i can really concentrate on my Wedding Day!
wat i left is really looking for a good Bridal package.. went to Graceful Image yest! First studio i went in for enquiry ( i lied to them i've been to others... keke) photos & Gowns are brillant! but not to rush into any committment yet... will keep on reading ur msgs..

leo29,
just a few thousang dollars lor.. hahah.. so i cannot open the box and admire them anytime i like now..

to all,
need a meipo because my MIL say she dunno what to do.. and she has to siam me that day because her animal chong me.. anyway, we say we will try to find.. if dun have, i pour the tea myself lor.. this is just one of those things that MIL listen from dunno-who and become we have to to things..

Hi rinoa, My wedding is also on the same day as urs. Which hotel have you booked with?
I am still shopping for a suitable bridal shop and still have not made up my mind so you are not that late.
Lesson learnt from my expierence..... do not see too many shops or you will be confused like me

Check out the threads here and zoom in on a few shops which appeals to u in terms of budget.

leo29... wah, $3K for a sofa, can faint man, tat's prob more ex than all the things in my living! i oni rem the name of the shop - the furniture shoppe, but we din take a card coz its v near my place. its in toa payoh lor 1, near bradell MRT station, opp yellow pages office, under a blk of flats. will try to find out the blk number when i go past.

twink|ets, akira... i oso oni know a bit lah, coz my mum oso dun noe very much, and i think some things is 'adopted' frm other dialects one, so i oso dun noe if they are hainanese requirements! ;P but some are lor... the 'golden ball' is called yi bua, i think. its actually a biscuit ball. tis is strictly hainanese. need to put in the room till it flaten itself. but v few ppl do tis now, my sis oso din do, coz she scared visiting kids will break it. (not supposed to touch it till it flatens, definitely cannot break) but i wun hv, so may do it to make my mum happy lor. i'll juz let you gers know wat i know! ;P but hor, since your parents, PIL bo chap, juz do wat you think is 'nice' lah! ;P

i also think i will stick w body shop; its just that i feel so "cheated" that they dun trim my eyebrows for me.

maybe i should just go to BI for a trial facial one of these days ... do you get jessica to do your face or anyone in her shop?

Hi Jan,
Wah! You really look gorgeous on your big day. I really like the journalistics style pics that ur photographer taken for ur big day oso.
Your ah yees all oso very pretty le!!!....hahaha
That are really a lot pics and me also no patient to wait cos my computer very slow one.. So, only see a few pics only.
I also send my pics sharing with u. Have fun!!

Thk you for the compliments.

My email address is: [email protected]

Care to share wif me your fotos. I will be glad to know how you gals look like so that when we tok got more 'muo qi' :-)

My bridal is White Link and the make-up artiste is from WL too. She is Irene.

Yi, can I check with you if the weather is cold when you went to Aust in May/ June. Wanted to go during tat time but scared too cold so I might bring forward to Apr/ May. So do you think F&E is better or packaged tour. We intead to go F&E but dunno if it will be easy getting around in public transport.Can you give me some guidelines?

yve.. cannot pour tea yourself leh! try to get a relative lor, like FH auntie to help. but i tot mei po is for gou da li?

twink|ets... nowadays v few ppl still do 'xiang qing' leh. like my parents say no need, we settle can liao. xiang qing is basically a meet-up between the parents, maybe over dinner (not like last time go bride's house), then discuss wat each side wants lor. guo da li is quite straightforward lah, dun worrie. juz your see wat your parents want, coz they are 'giving' their daughter away. then see wat your MIL wants in return lor. coz watever the groom bring over to the bride's house, muz be 'returned'. for eg, XO exchange for orange juice, orange oso muz return a few, pin li oso muz return some amt...etc some dialects ask for pants for younger brother, ah gu kor, or shoes... but if both sides v ching chai, then can save all the trouble mah. ;P

Don't think can go tomorrow too cause my assignment due on saturday hasn't been done!!!Got to spend today and tomorrow completing it...That's what happens when u do part time studies...half here half there...no time for everything

are, aiyoo.. i also think no big deal about who pour tea, right? haha... and if i ching chai, basically we just have to arrive, burn joss stick, pray to the sky god and that's it, she can dun siam us after that...

roro,
I've been to Graceful Image too. You like the gowns there too. Me too. Did u manage to bargain for anything? I didn't cos it was the first bridal shop I went to. didn't know what to ask for.

Mrs Quake and ting ting,
I've signed up with Sophia. Package quite comprehensive. I agree with u, mrs quake, regarding the gowns. Very grand (the taiwanese gowns). Personally, I like simpler gowns. They do have such gowns (they called it Euro style)but the gowns are limited. But since mine is mtm, i think it's ok lah 'cos I managed to bargain for more things when I went down the 2nd time. Now managed to get rental of bridal car on actual day. hee hee...

May: No idea ah. My wedding gown fits alright .. just that my evening gown doesn't. It's a halter neck and since they said that the neckline, once amended, cannot be changed, they actually made it rather high, although we agreed on quite low. But I was assured that it will be changed lower (they just wanted to be sure before cutting). Anyway, my main concern is that the gown makes my chest look really big! Another bride was there and she was really petite, plus her gowns emphasised on her chest, and the overall effect was good. Once again, I wish I had smaller breasts!

Meow,
Are you talking about those "zen" look bedframes in which the whole bed is quite low one? I think those are very strong as the joints are secured very tightly, not just using 1 or 2 screws. However, do take note regarding those part that support the mattress. It is better to get full wooden support or those with big planks so you can buy a good mattress to put on it.

Everything is buying gold and jewerlly already? Oh no.. I have not look into this yet.

Sorry, working crazy hour these few days. Infact, I will need to burn sat and sun too. I don;t think I can attend tomorrow dinner... Sorry about it
Work commitment... No choice loh

Hi Shook: I didn't know that Prima Deli's cake voucher is so ex. I think the $5 - $6 is not voucher.

Hi Pausini: Go Korea also nice but hv to go during winter right? I've not been to Korea but saw my friend's honeymoon photos in Korea during winter & it was so nice. I can wait to see your photos after reading those comments. Pls email to me at [email protected], thanks.

Hi Vin: I really think of perming my hair, so sick of my straight hair. Always envy people with curly hair. I like Karen Mok's long curly hair.

Hi Kare: Don't worry, 1st fitting usually have nothing on the gown. I think halter neck will suit you if you hv a fuller chest. I tried a halter gown before & it was cut very low in front. My mum & sister commented that it was nice but I got nothing to show so I decided on a bustier. Will keep the halter for EG. If possible, try to lose weight rather than altering the gown. You will get holes on the sides if they alter from small to bigger size.

Hi Meekoo: You had yr PS liao right? How did it go? When can we see yours?

twinklets, are & akira,
My Hubby is hainanese while i'm prenanakan-teochew. I hope to see the golden ball too...it's so fun! But who gives the Golden ball is it the groom side?

twinklets,
My Mom jus went cracking her head B4 chinese new year when she bought my F-sis-in-law to buy her "Si Dian Jins" ...(Cos my brother Wedding in May).
They got a white cum rose gold bangle & matching ring plus a pair of 4pc diamond wif platinium earrings (but still short an item to make 4)...it has been a big damage to the pocket, mann! But my Kor chip in a little lah..(My mom still got to get another bangle for the Yum-Char)
Maybe my & my sis will pay for the remaining item to make it 4pc gold, if we cannot find any gift in time lor...

Nowadays, Looks like wedding got parents broke also leh. Moreover, we'll have 3 wedding coming in our household at intervals of 6mths each starting from May...
Very "Siong"...

Hi erin
Same as U, GI was my first bridal shop, din know wat to ask too and it was so hard to bargain wif them... some more the Big Boss Judy (the designer) was wif me too... Since I was alone, they reckon that i wld not make any decision then since i wld simply provide a lame execuse, i have to discuss wif my hubby first... kakaka :p
Suddenly i realised they only provide 1 suit for groom..???!!! shldn't it be 2 to match my EG..???!!!
ermmm... from the things u ppl said, it seems so easy to bargain for this and that.. haiz.. my bargaining skills not very the PowderFUL

think i will visit Dang & LG.. since most of u recommended there *wink*

Hi, everyone I am a Nov bride too but I very inexperience in customery wedding need all of your help, my hubby is Hokkian n me is teochew.
pls give me suggestion. Thank you n all of u will be a big help to me.

sorry to add on I already ROM last year Feb n having customary wedding in Nov03. Pls help.
Do I need to send my details to any of u before I can join this threat?
anything can contact me at [email protected]
hoping to know all of u soon n be part of this topic.

Hihi May
I bought the acrylic cut board yesterday @ John Little. Thx

Hihi Pausinin
I din meet Alan. My hubby did. The charges is oso $480 for 8 rolls of film. Let me know how u find his work after u met him ok.

Hihi Kare
Find dat halter suites brides wif fuller chest.

Tonight is the meeting!!!now left with 6 of us only...
but never mind we can have a small gathering first!!

See you there!

Date:21st Feb 03 (fri)

Confirmed attending
pooh-maynot attend
abrinas-can't make it
pucca
beibei
priviledged
beanie
totoro
joyful

cutie-not in leh
whitely-not in
cutie 22-not in

not coming:taddess
:kiroro

yest's outing was great!
thks to
serene - most 'xian qi liang mu" look award ,
vio - longest relationship award ,
fishball - most creative in design award ,
rhs - having a most romantic fiance award (among us)
poki - cutest & 'blurest' award
cookie - most sincere award (for rushing down after 9pm after her work)

pls pardon me & let me know if i've been too talkative for u all to bear..haha:p

vio, rmbr our nxt outing 3 wks later ah...