(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi breadtalk,

ya lor. At first also think that way. But like the photo very much. so end up alot lor.

How much is ur package? How many photo u have?

If u think 10 pics is enough then u must be very firm. When is ur PS?

Shook: tell her u are also May bride lor.. hahaha..I think she is waitin for my CD so she can post her beautiful photo to let u view it. she njoy her wedding very much. so are all of us...

Maya: actually there is alot of factor that make me doesnt want to have dinner. I cant imagine that it is going to be a nitemare to me. it is so scarcy when time is near. my mum and dad is divorce, this is one problems i wldnt want to explained much further. i need to settle both parties but i feel i am going to break down soon. I thot i will be very relax during the preparation but when times is getting nearer. It built up fear in me.

dun know am i just worry too much. am I?

hi cath
i've sent you my details...thanks for compiling

hi jady
thurs is fine with me

pooh,
mine is $3388 22photos...we really pray hard we won't choose more than 10photos leh!!see how after
next month outdoor shoot!! *keep fingers crossed*

mine outdoor PS is on 22/2/03 rememeber?i had my indoor in nov last year mah..but due to rain that's why postpone outdoor to feb...21/2/03 we june brides meeting!

Hello everyone,

Sue: envy your FH. Mt Fuji I didn't go. only managed to see from afar. FH too busy and only can be with me during weekends so weekdays, he didn't want me to go alone so i walk around town instead. next time i go, will try to make a trip to Mt Fuji.

Shook: Agree, i hope many of them cannot make it too. For that girl in CS, if you inviting her whole dept, think abit too obvious to leave her out? i also got same situation. alot of staff in my department new, some didn't even speak to them for more than 15 sentences for the whole year. you think should invite them? what about those who just got married? my mum says they should not attend my wedding since so near. should i still invite? what happens if they don't mind to attend but i mind? need some advice on this. Also need your advice on cards? inserts? are these the extra piece of paper we print the details on? this means we don't print directly onto the card given by the hotel huh???? confuse. can help to enlighten? envy you. going for 3 weeks. i still thinking about budget. sigh.

Jazz: me puzzled too. how come no more aspial huh? back to lee hwa? so confusing. as for the engraving, will think about it. is it free?

Pausini: welcome back. you same as me. i sick for 3 weeks already. been eating medicine. lost abit of weight which is the only good thing and slept alot too but always tired because of medicine. still sick. coughing very badly espcially at night. Pausini, don't worry. it's because you don't feel well that's why you feel so irritated wtih so many things to do and wondering why must go thru all these just to get married. maybe take a little break from the prepartions, like one weekend, don't do anything for wedding, just spend time together. i tried that, now feel better, not so irritated with everything and everyone. slowly, we can help one another. all the girls in this forum can help us too. that' what i keep telling myself. i feel so much better knowing we have friends here.

Maya: i did want you are thinking about. buy rod and ready made curtains from takashimaya. the rod about same price as ikea less than $20 dollars in total. also got more expensive brand called "umbra" their rod more sturdy and nicer but more expensive depending on design. some go up to $80. the ready made curtain, i bought the long one $40. short one is $30. bought long one but have to hem the length to get the length i want but save money lor. IMM at jurong got this shop selling materials for curtains. didn't go in though because i already bought the ready made one. i think plaza singapura also have but that one looks more expensive and i think they also custom make. neighbourhood shops also sell materials and do, may be cheaper.

ok gals, very hard to read thru all replies.
can send email to me([email protected]) if u can make it for the gathering & put prefered date: 20th or 27th feb & choice of food.
pls state yr nickname hoh..

then i can get the contact list fr cath

thks gals!

look forward to our meeting.

Hi beibei,
it really depends on how many photos they take for u and see how determine are u during choosing of pics.

Are u able to take back the proof?

I also add 22 pages to me pics cos they give me additional 2 page before my PS so i have 22photos.

I actually go and count they totoal took for me a total of 220pics and is in series so diffcuilt to choose. I choose more WG then EG. Cos all the WG pics turn out gd.

I will be going to my bridal shop to choose my EG again on Feb if still cant get then i will MTM both my WG and EG in early Mar.

How r all of u?

So many postings after only a few days.

Hi pooh

glad to know tt u r satisfied with yr photos. Wah, 120 pics more. If I choose so much, my hub will hv a big hole in the pockets.

But they really take a lot of u. I think they only took abt 100+ for me. Maybe because outdoor i did not go so many places. Anyway, lesser means lesser choice and maybe don't hv to choose so much.

FH says I can choose up to 15 extra only but see how the photos come out first. Hopefully can restrict ourselves to that. Actually it is my FH who likes to choose a lot, not me.

Hi taddess

Normally if go gym, it will turn fats into muscles but it will also mean arms/legs/waist will be thicker. That's what happen to me when I go gym/aerobics. Not slimmer, but thicker instead. Quite scary isn't it?

Shook, I don't mind the questions. Because I can ask many questions myself too!

I'm leaving for my honeymoon on 2nd June and coming back on the 18th. Already bought the plane tickets. And I bought it because of the great CX-UOB Card promotion over the weekend. $1680 (actually it's $1988 including all the taxes) for 2! So worth it right? So FH and I grabbed the tickets yesterday. We wanted tickets to Rome but they were out of it, so we got the ones to Paris and now we are going to Italy and Paris.

I bought a book called "Italian the Easy Way". Don't know if it's that all fantastic but it's not bad. I wanted something else. Similar to one I've got for French but I can't find it. However, I am a little cheapskate and I got the one without the audio. But frankly, I think it's better to do it with audio.

Having said all that, I think you don't really need to pick up Italian or French or any of the languages. In Paris, many Parisiens speak English and it's not true that Parisiens are rude. They are so friendly and helpful, more so than the people in Singapore!

Jazz.. part of the reason I'm all set for my honeymoon because I don't have to worry about my house yet, so in that sense, I have more time than most of you here. I don't know if that's good or bad because it's rather nice to be talking about reno and such with everyone here.

pooh,
I can take back samples for those photos that I choose...but think if i choose more than a certain amount then can i take back all proofs...but dun u all think taking back samples is better than negatives??I have a friend who try to develop herself and the effect is not good leh...

WOW!!220pieces in total!that is a lot leh!I only heard 100plus is the most they take for both indoor and outdoor!!

totoro,
Why need to top up another 2k??

Hi beibei,
the proof is actually the pics itself. They didnt give me the negatives. I took total of 220 but my album have 120 pcs so they will returb me the other 100pix lor. But they wont give me those that i have already choose cos they say they usually write things behind those that been choosen so not so nice to give me back. But all that will be in the mini album.

We actually add another 100 pix on top of our package. All the pics not all in big size one cos i have series. So maybe abt 20pcs is in big size and others maybe 1 page have 4 or 5 lor.

My hubby say our package is $2988 so after adding so many pixs we total spend abt $4.7k so it ok.

I got a shock too when i know i took 220 pcs..

Hi Totoro,
y u have to topup 2k?

hello jady, thanks for arranging. Sorry, i can't do Thursdays (neither 20th nor 27th), so pls go ahead without me.

Hi Vio, welcome to the thread !

Hi!! My wedding will be on 25 January. Still got five day to go. Very nervous le!!! BTW, did your company give you all leave for marriage leave? How many day? So sad my company did not give us any leave and we need to take our own leave. Actually we working at same company.

Phew ! My wedding was finally over ! What a relief ! Have been worrying about the wedding over the past few weeks, I was especially stressed on the eve of my wedding cos' my hubby realised that his new pair of shoes was mouldy & he got to buy another pair ! So we ended up shopping for his shoes nearly the whole afternoon and I only got time to do my mani/pedi at 6.00pm As it was a very rush job, the result didn't turn out good...my mum thought that i did the nail polish myself....i didn't get to sleep till 1.00am cos' there were some changes to the guest list and the program...

Anyway, the wedding went on smoothly in general without any major hitches...except that it was raining nearly the entire day yesterday and we had to do away with the outdoor shoot...my photographer n videographer must be feeling glad as it was less work for them...fortunately my new flat was done up already, so managed to take some indoor photo there...that's the consolation...

I was really glad that i didn't trip while marching in as my gown has a long train and a can can...in fact i practiced walking with my hubby in the bridal suite but it wasn't that smooth...but everything just turned out fine and magical...really felt like a princess...my mouth and hands are still aching away cos' got to smile and shake hands throughout the dinner...hehe...

I must really extend my appreciation to the banquet manager and his team in Holiday Inn Park View...he really coordinated very well in the entire dinner flow....all my guests enjoyed the food and ambience...

My hubby & I will be going for a short trip to Bangkok tomorrow...intend to eat and shop till we drop there !!

hi everyone!!!!!

me big day on 2 dec03 .. and fotoshoot on 2 sept 03 .. me more or less confirmed going to sentosa for photoshoot neh .. and not going to do those silly poses ... ahahhahaha yes the "use fan lift girl's chin" or "see that butterfly over there" pose ... ahahahah THAT WOULD BE REAL CLASSIC!! ahhahahahaha

tingting: u can also try the wedding present? i think the EGs there are not bad?

all u gers are going to be neighbours at P21!!! me not getting keys so soon leh ... praying hard i can get them in time for the big day!!!

thanks for replying! =) shall send u the list asap. Have gone to try the gowns and I'll opt for MTM, just hope that MTM will turn up nice =)

Hi kk,
Your gown trying is to confirm the gown or to get some ideas for MTM?

Hi Serene
I agree with you totally, mopping the floor is not easy.. After mopping, I will usually look as if i've done a great a workout! haha..

Hi cath,

It depends. This is my first trip down to the bridal shop. I dunno how the shop will suggest. My photoshoot predicted to be in June, so if possible, hope to confirm my MTM at the same time.

Hi kk,
oic. if you wish to confirm your MTM at the same time, its best that you can bring along some cuttings of the gowns u like in order to show it to them. Try not to verbally tell them wat you like and prefer cos their thinking and yrs may not be the same. I will be doing my PS in May.

hi gers,

i'm thinking of going to a golf course for my PS...any idea if they'll allow me walk on the green? & r there any nice beach for PS?

hihi, just to share my comments on Milan, after visiting them this afternoon.

i was served by this girl called Vina, and she brought me through the albums n packages n showed me some gowns. I was quite happy with the OTR WG..thought they looked quite nice, but was quite disappointed with their EGs..thought they looked pretty normal but dated.. their photos are quite nice..but i'm sure it has to do with the photogenic couples! :p

after that i popped by Dang bridal to make an appt, n was surprised by the charisma of Dang. She seems a very assertive n frank person (exactly like what is being described in the forums here!)..very different from what i've seen in other shops! will look forward to the appt...maybe she's just right for me who doesn't really know what i want....

btw, heard that bridal shops wld have promotional packages during exhibitions. Does anyone know when will be the next one? not the small ones at suntec foyer, but a larger scale one that will have reputable shops like Thomson wedding, maybe flamingo, graceful image, dang...

Dear Fionau,

Hi, my wedding is just a day b4 urs on 24th. Hehe, mine is just 3 days away. My company has 3 days marriage leave and i took my own off on tue so wld be off from work till sunday.
Going back to work on mon and only gog for my short trip in feb. My honeymoon is postponed till aug/sept to europe (looking 4ward to that).

I'm oso getting real excited and worried coz like lotsa of things not done and also scared that my brothers and sisters not helpful enuf that day. :P

Today hubby and I going shopping for some last min items. And gog for hair treatment on wed and hubby bringing cars to polish. Hiaz, like lotsa of things to do leh!

Hi jen,

Welcome back. Glad that your wedding went on smoothly.

You must have a great time. Enjoy your trip to bangkok and remember to drop by this thread when you are back. Think by the time you are back, my wedding wld be over and will have lotsa of things to share.

Hope that this thread will not just die off after Jan 2003 coz all of us weddings over liao. :P

Hope that we will continue keeping this thread active and alive coz we shared so much for our wedding.

How is everyone's preparations getting along?
Going to see my bridal shop next month (Feb), but still have no ideas about the gown... feel like having low back... do you gals prefer embroidery or beads or crystals?

Hihi Pausini
U scan pictures n make CD 4 jas77? Many White Link brides asked to view her pictures after I asked her.
I feel v v dwn after I found out wat jas77 gets 4 her album. She paid $1,800 n gets 29 additional photos, upgrade to 20R magazine album, all photos negative return to her (she got 100+ shots). I oso paid $1,800 but gets additional 24 photos, upgrade to 18R magazine album, managed to get all photos return after much begging. Negative dunno got return or not (I only got 80+ shots).
U try to relax, dun worry too much. Just know dat u do your best n the outcome is the best u can get. "hugs"

Hihi Jan
U can leave out the few new staff fm your invite list since there r a few of them. Tell those invited not to pass words ard as u r not inviting all. I will take your advice to invite dat CS girl lor. But I won't invite the 3 temp staff in CS.
For those who juz got married, tell them YOUR MUM said cannot invite those got married 4 mths within your wedding date. Think they understand. I met an ex-colleague who is pregnant and due in Apr. I invited her verbally. My mum said cannot, I gotta tell her cant invite her liao.
Insert is the extra pc of paper which u tie to your wedding card with ribbon. If u have Chinese software can print the wordings on the paper yourself. Think it is cheaper. Only buy paper n ribbon.
Aiyoh, my honeymoon plan only mah. Still gotta c how much budget left. Dat's y thot of going free n easy can save on food (plan to bring spread for bread n instant noodles) n tips.
The engraving on my wedding band comes free.

Hihi Kare2711
Envy u settle your honeymoon liao. Ok I shall go to bookshop to look out 4 those books. Which bookshop got more har?

HI Kare2711,

Good deal. Would like to buy the ticket of the UOB promotion, but too bad, my husband always change the ETD so no faith to get this type of promotion ticket.

Two weeks hols for honeymoon... great!!

Hi Sue,

Aiyoh, pls call me Mrs laa... a bit weird ler.. when I talk to my friends, I always mention "my Bf", "my bf"... kena laugh by them.. and same as my bf, he always mention to his friends that "my gf, my gf"... kekke...still cannot change the way we call each others...

Kare, don't worry, you can pickup the tips from the forum so that you'll know what to do when you get your house in future.
Btw, what is the CX_UOB promotion about? Can share with me? I was thinking of flying via Cathy Pacific to Canada, then enjoy three days two nights free in Hong Kong. Not sure if I should book now. Is CX cathy pacific?

Shook, sometimes it can't be helped. My fren got more freedies at one bridal shop but when I checked out with them, they didn't give me any of those. Of 'cos I did not visit them any more after that. Maybe, you can "ar" with them and try your luck to see if you can get back your negatives. Btw, do you know if somebody gave birth, eg. one or two months ago, can I ask the person to be my "ah yee" and attend my dinner?

Jan, I dunno what's happening btwn Aspial and Lee Wah. I bought my wedding bands from Aspial at Wisma Atria abt 1 yr ago, and just a few weeks ago, I passed by and saw that the name changed to Lee Wah instead. And a long long time ago, it was Lee Wah (and was changed to Aspial).

Pausini, how are you? Hope you'll feeling better...

May, envy you too! So you'll be making all the jewelleries for your wedding?

For curtains, how about trying Joo Chiat (near Geylang Serai)? The curtains are supposedly to be cheaper.

Hi Jazz,

How are you??? Yeah... I haven't share my photo shoot's photos with you all.. got lotz of photo shoot's photos to share. And took a lotz of actual day photos as well... more than a thousand pcs... I haven't got all the photos yet, just part of it. So will share aft I got everything erh..

Hi Shook,

Dun feel down... think all bridal shop is like that, the amt you paid which same to others doesn't mean you will get the same things as what others get, vice versa...

Is your deal finish?? Have you paid all??? If not, try to ask for more things lor...

hi my wedding is on 07 dec 03,isit too early to have fotoshots on early june 03? will i look different after 6 mths later?

Wendy

Dear Yi,
I will go for a short trip to Malaysia during CNY on 1/2/03 to 3/3/03. My Honeymoon will be on May to Bangkok only la!! Very bad this few days cos' cannot sleep well, just worried that a lot of things cannot doing well and dream a lot of bad things. My mood become very bad when i got no enough sleep. My boss borrow his car - Jaguar for us. Now i worried after put the decor and parking at the carpark, will somebody who will wreck the decor or the car or not??? Going to crazy worried a lot of things.

hi tingting,

did u see my sis's album at milan? my bro-in-law not local..think there shud be only 1 album with a non-chinese groom.

totoro

They asked u to top up first b4 seeing the pics? But yr PS not yet leh. They asking u to pay 1st b4 taking?? I blur liao.

Pay 1st a bit not safe leh. What if photos not nice then how??

pooh

I was given 35 pics but i think will top up more $$$ cos my shop charge 1 pic $60 for the big one. maybe i be like u, the 35 pics big one and the rest in smaller size.

hello...me back...

meow.. yah cara predicted the french manicure...and jane was so nice.. gave me the nailart free too on the index finger...
dont know if its the same flowers..
i brought my gf along, and jane did her manicure.. so i was not so lonely.. infact i was making lots of noise there...=P

My flowers are freesia with roses and green christmas tree leaves and baby breath.. hope u can imagine yah... same cost loh.. $80... so ex...next time u recommend yr fren's shop lah.. then we order from there..heehee cheaper...

i had lots of spray too on my hair.. like free flow and lots of black pins.. and i had a headache after tat cos it was too tight...
and i think i dropped lots of hair too..sob sob and lots of hair broke from the twisting..

as for the photoshots.. turn out quite okie.. was a good weather yesterday.. quite cooling and not raining.. so not muddy..

to the question whether i was excited... i can say i cant sleep on sun nite.. so i regret i am at work today...

this is a looooooooong report...=)

Hi Yi,
hee hee.. ya continki got one tour is carry own lugguage, and budget hotel. cheaper for the same days you take for the "luxurious" tour... hee hee. but hor, me pampered... so won't cos will be tired after the wedding and thos preps.

rest more... and have fun on friday for it's your {and your hubby's)day.

Hey,

My wedding's on 25th too.

On leave officially today till then.

Now's just resting and attending to the small details.

No honeymoon till after CNY.

Take care brides! & Look great!

Hi gers!

wendy... i guess no one can answer that question for u! But then again, how much can a gal change in 6 mths?? I'm also having my photoshoot in jun wat! So dun stress yourself unnecessarily, okie?

tingting,
dun worry abt not knowing wat u want.... after visiting more bridal shops, u'll get a better idea of wat kind of gown looks good on u, and wat doesn't.... have fun trying on the gowns!

jbride,
wow... golf course? i've no idea if they will allow u... but that's a novel idea...

Hi Shook: Actually for new staff, not really a few of them. Almost 10 of them are new. Then there are those who just got married, about 5 of them so that's like almost one quarter of the department. Tough for those invited not to pass word around. Things cannot be kept in my department, all of them are quite noosey. Temp staff no need to invite lor. That's what i am doing too. Oh no, for that ex-colleague, think you will have to drop her from your invitation list. I also got one couple who just gave birth in Jan. My fiance's best friend. He insisted on inviting them so i "bo pian". Not going to tell my mum about it because i am sandwich in between and i tired of quarrelling with either of them already. Don't have chinese software so have to get printer to do it. If so, does not it mean the printing company will do the tying of the ribbon or thread or i have to do it myself? Is it then cheaper to print direct onto the cards, less work required? Me alone so don't think i have time to do so many stuff. What's this thing called hot stamping? Heard it's much more expensive.
Honeymoon, have not decided yet. have to see how on money too. so tired. wonder why we can't do what we want. wonder who are the ones getting married. our parents or us? and yes, wonder why we cannot have more money so that no restrictions as to what we want to do and where we want to go. big sigh.

Jazz : I wonder what's wrong between the 2 brands too but don't care lah. will be checking them out this weekend. see if there's anything i like.

Hi abrinas,
which bridal shop u are with?

Big pics or small depends on ur preference and the arrange also. Take note maganzine style always more ex. My per page for maganize style is $85 and normal one is $60 lor.

Ur pics will be really by end Feb rite? Waiting to see ur pics.

Hi Cath,
You are right, it is a great workout esp getting my hubby to help me. Think both of us haven't been doing hsework esp mopping floor in our parents' hse..hehee

Feel very happy and "man zu" after cleaning the hse
Hard to describe the feelings

Jady & Cath: Have sent to you my replies and details