(2003) Brides of year 2003

we all in same boat. Me always worried if can manage or if enough $$ or but calculate here squeeze there, still the same. My FH always says, worry also no use which is true. But men are men and will always be men n can't stand it when he answer me like tt.

wah... no msg for the entire day? everyone so busi huh? ;P

let me try to start a poll here... my fren who just got married has offered to lend me her wedding shoes as she's not wearing anymore. but as pan tang goes, wedding things shd be new rite? even tho i'm getting OTR WG, but i oso specified that it mus be new. so i'm in a real dilema coz she keep insisting. i've seen her shoes, they are quite nice and a bit ex too. so if i borrow, it will save me some $$ lor... any comments?

rhs, no lah, at least i am not giving ang pows out yet. perhaps to parents, but not to the younger ones yet. exchange for new notes now to keep for the wedding mah.

bonnie, are you new to this thread? dun remember speaking to you in the past. if you are, a WARM WELCOME to you !!!

teochew? nah, i'm not but my MIL is. Dunno the traditions man, but i know she wants to buy the teochew biscuits to distribute to relatives when she goes round to distribute the wedding invitation cards at the same time. There's also a special "grandparents biscuit" that costs $20+ per box. There are also some special candles with stickers that cost $12 per pair....

i'm also sick today. think the flu bug is in town again. many people around me all sick. yesterday sore throat until cannot talk, cannot even swallow my saliva. last night fever and now running nose. xian !!

hi bonnie , i'm teochew, think quite a few of us here r teochew too.

hi rhs, we all hvnt met up b4, so evry1 hasn't seen any1 b4. dnt worry ,we'll get u talking & u definitely wont feel bored!
we just doing dinner & chat , wont go hm late cos wkg day mah:p

serene, weather really bad nowadays. must drink more water, many pple down wif flu.
my cramp is also quite severe esp a day b4hand & during 1st 2 days. i got no choice but to take 2 postans each time cos really very painful.

1027, me me me! i luv vincci shoes. i posted in 2003 brides thread b4 that my record shopping for shoes in KL is that i bought 10 pairs in 3 days..:p like to shop in KL during their mega sale mths: so genuine & so cheap!

totoro and abrinas,
me agreed!!not easy at all for you to manage on your own but I must really admire you all...me just a bit lucky but we still have to pay back his parents mah..just that we can take our time...

abrinas,
I agreed with u....two weeks ago i worried almost everyday........about honeymoon,dinner,seating arrangements..yet my hubby is the one who say no worries..boat reach bridge,bridge will be straight....is it true all women feel this way??

have both sides parents meet yet?? mine shd be in march...so that can settle one more thing..

CNY coming.... i'm going to take measurements after cny. scary !!!!

by the way, i am on 2 weeks leave after cny, so dun be surprised by my absence !

Wow, I didnt know that a few of us are shoes frantic here…hahaha…

1027, I love vincci shoes too. The last time I bought 3 pairs in a day in KL and my bf was like pulling long face :x till I have to use a bag to cover up the shoes I’ve bought and told him I bought a bag instead… keke.. but too bad, he knows me too well.. he commented that I have so many shoes at home that I cant finish wearing them! :o

hard to blame us gurls right ?? there's always a different shoe of different colour & height, made of different materials to be worn on different occassions right ?

hahahahhahahaha, cath you're funny!! i also tend to under declare (or totally DUN declare) my shoe fetish !

Hi Jady,

I won't back out. Just let me know where to meet and what time. I would prefer if all of us can meet in town, so can go home easier. By the way, hope you gals don't mind that I am a smoker, so if I so happened to be smoking while waiting for you gals, don't be surprise hor.

As for the shoes that you all talking about, how much are they. I am also a shoes frantic, always buy shoes from Charles & Keith.

1027, must we use crisp notes for our wedding ang pow?? we din think abt it leh ... And 15 pairs of shoes!!! *speechless*

hi jady, tat's very comforting ... in that case, count me in!

Is Vincci shoes *that* good? Hmm ... maybe I should check it out this weekend

hey hey gals,

think wen come to shopping we're all frantic hahaaa.....

ur expreiences reminded me of my trip to kl at vincci - yah so cheap (during sales) tt i even bought for my mum & sis. juz can't resist lor kekeke....

1027, thks for e gd news tt they opened 1 at citylink! btw, u taking measurement for gown izzit? take care leh.....

rhs: no lah, its a personal preference. I like the touch of new clean crisp notes in my ang pows, so i intend to do the same.

yup, i'm a self-declared shoe fanatic. My hub says i should sign up for Shoes Anonymous (instead of Alcohol Anonymous)...

to me, vincci and charles & keith shoes are cheap and good. so when they spoil, or when i no longer like them anymore, i just throw them away. No heartache. then again, having said that, i find charles and keith shoe prices more expensive now than before, so i've stopped buying from them.

thanks vio, my designer just called to remind me to go down for measurements. I told him, alamak!! now still very fat !! so he said latest latest is end Feb, coz he needs some time to fabricate the dress in time for my photoshoot.

thanks again !

ya man i agree...man!!!sometimes he can make me real mad..everything also relax..take it easy..
i quite kan chiong type..heehee..

Is it advisable to have photoshots on lunar june 03 as i read thru a mag,lunar june 03 not very gd leh?
By the way,thinking to have photoshots at Sentoso,but if i will hold it on June 03,n it will be school holiday,but i think i will have it on weekdays,do u think will alot of ppl there?Pai seh cos alot of ppl,afraid i can't smile leh.

Wendy

wah, so many shoe kakis here:p
actually besides vincci, i oso buy shoes fr KLCC, Sungei Wang & mid valley mega mall.
after shopping there(must be during their mega sale mth:march, aug, dec), i don't really buy shoes in SGP liao cos like double the price. i used to buy Charles & Keith but now like wat 1027 says, they getting more costly.

ya loh, guys juz dnt undrstd our passion for shoes..:p

gals, the dinner venue definitely in town. i'm actually thinking of Seah St deli at Raffles Hotel, not too crowded there. any other suggestions?

blythe, dnt worry abt smoking..:p many of my gfs smoked too. its gettg v common nowadays.

1027, u sure u v fat meh?? wats yr height & weight? i also on the heavier side on my bottom half of body..keke

hi 1027,

yes.......i agreed C&K shoes prices are more expensive now!! i hardly buy fr em too even w discount card unless it's real cheap like $12.90-$14.90 during their 'outdoor' sales!!
my colleague complaint their quality sucks now too!!

wen is ur PS & wedding btw? u're not in cath's list leh ;)

me also the kan chiong type.

For me i do all the calculation and budgeting.

My hubby just every mth give me a amt of $ lor. We manage to save 40k in 1yr 8mth. So u gals dun have to worry too much everything will be fine..

I still worried not enough $. My hubby always say me worried too much.

jady, i'm 1.65m and weighing 60+ kg. On the high side, i hit 68kg. Now dunno coz i dun dare to weigh ...

altho i'm not going for dinner, can i suggest a place? Kuishin-Bo at suntec level 3 (outside courts). It's the japanense version of marche.

Very few people .....

hi vio, my PS is 3 July and my wedding 4 Oct.

yah, i used to swear by C&K shoes until they raised their prices.... now my discount card is collecting dust and taking up space in my wallet.

HI May,

Dun envy others laaa... you discuss with your hubby see he want to go to europe or not lor... me going as well. Maybe like what shook suggest, we should go together with her erhhh

I thot C&K price is still OK?? Dun remember how much their shoes before. LOL! I guess I'm not very well updated when it comes to shoes. But I feel tat C&K shoes are for slimmer feet, dun u think? Twice I had to stretch them because they r too tight. And agree that quality is not very good now ...

bonnie, welcome to the thread!

Any place is fine for me. Never been to Seah St deli or Kuishin-Bo so no harm trying!

Lately the 1st thing I do when I reach office is to check email and open SB forum. Then refresh about 10 times before lunch, 15 times after lunch. Anyone does the same? I think my boss starts to suspect something (he sits behind me!!)

hahahahahaha, i'm totally addicted to SB forum !!
It used to be something i'd look at only when i'm free, but now i just HAVE to have it open... it's like a standard operating procedure now.

I refresh it ALL the time, every other minute whenever i'm free !

Hell, i even want to check it on weekends at my brother in law's place (coz i dun have PC at home yet).

hey rhs & 1027,

me too addicted oready heee.... cos it's so nice to chat wen u share things in common!! my boss sits beside me too - i'm always busy typing, reponding to u gals - looked as if i so hardworking at work hahaaahaaa......

all other gals - muz keep our 'chit chat' session going k ;)

oh ya, 1027 & bonnie, if you dont mind, can you send these info to me @ ([email protected])

1) Nick Name
2) Real Name
3) Birthday (DD/MM/YY)
4) ROM Date
5) Wedding Date
6) Banquet Venue
7) Name of Bridal / Studio
8) Email
9) New Home Location
10) Contact No

Hey yo, so i wasnt the only one who's so 'hardworking' in the office :P I always need to type into a word doc b4 transfering to the chat box cos i scare that my colleague or boss will find out that i'm surfing the net. :x

With regards to the outing, im fine with anywhere. I've not been to Seah St deli or Kuishin-Bo b4, so dont mind trying.. =)

1027, i aso dont dare to weigh myself cos i noe i put on wt liao. who to blame but me cos too greedy liao.. last time everynite also take supper.. n now i'm so scared of supper!

Haha, for me the most useful keyboard combination is Win+M (Win is the key with Windows logo on it). It will minimize all open windows on your desktop *LOL*

well, are, if you take the Western version of wedding... ie something old, something blue... blah blah blah (can't remember the exact thingy).. then perhaps it would be alright to use her shoes. like Grace said, its really whether you are comfortable or not.. if it were me, I won't mind.. not a pan tang person.. except when it comes to investments. :p

Kare, envy you!!! Wished I saw the promotion earlier... I would gladly jump on Cathy Pacific to Europe for that price! Do you happen to know if there're any other similar promotions going on, for Europe or Canada? So far, I only spotted Chanbrothers offering Cathy Pacific going Vancouver @ 1299 per person, including two free nights in HK. So deciding if I should pick up that deal.

Shook, your hubby very humourous...
Sometimes, I dunno what to call my hubby, 'cos he's known by a couple of names (eg. dialect, chinese, english name etc) to his friends, colleagues, my parents so sometimes, I just call him either one of those at times, or 'lao gong' of 'cos... ;p

Shook, saw the postings on Expo, yup, you're rite of the dates 14th to 16th Mar, seems like the date was pushed forward.

Jan, if you're going to Lee Wah to check out, and you happen to drop by the Wisma Boutique, look for a lady call Lena if she's still around. She serviced us when we bought our rings, and her service is very very good. Apparently, we had our rings tailor-made, and she actually sent the ring back to Switerland when it first came back 'cos the colour was not good enough and up to standard. Then she tried to help us smoothen the interior of the rings when we realized that they were rough on our fingers. Thus I'm very surprised and pleased by her service. so I would readily recommend her to anybody.

Sue, have you shortlisted any destinations yet?

May, agree! Some of my friends are married but I do want them to be my ah yi.

The only prom I have is, can somebody who just gave birth be one of my ah yi? I heard that if they give birth within 3 mths of my wedding, I can't invite them or something like that. Anybody has any knowledge on this?

May.. I think I was a little ambiguous. It was to any of the 5 destinations. Not all! LOL!

Jazz.. I think the free HK is the best deal! But the free 2 nights is available to all travel agents. It's an offer by CX, and not Chan Brothers per se. I don't know of any other promotions otherwise.

Girls! Hmm .. am I missing something here? Why am I so free? I don't mean to be sarcastic but this is a genuine question. I mean, except for the house which I'm only having late this year, there's really nothing much to do, no? I see some of you are already busy with invitation cards but my booked hotel has not even given me any!

I'm only now searching for shoes and corset. ROM is in March and first fitting in mid Feb. Photoshoot is in mid March. Nothing else to worry right? Hmm .. don't want to miss something and in the end, busy like nobody's business! LOL!

does anyone know if graceful image and Le Galleria do nice cheong sams for EG? After visiting Dang today, i was quite encouraged that Cindy (fr Dang) said i am suitable for cheong sams.. : ) at least i know i can wear what i want to wear!

have tried on 2 gowns at Dang...quite nice, but Le Galleria's WG looks more glam...think bcos it tends to use crystals more..but not sure abt how their EGs will turn out..

Hi Shook: Yah, it's gd idea to get those cousins, nephews or nieces to help to tie the inserts. But, like wat Jan said, those ribbons might cost quite a lot of $$. Just pick those ok quality lor becos frankly speaking, I'll throw the invites after the wedding or it'll be chuck one side once I know the date & venue.

Hi Jan: Yah, go Japan around April or May when you can c Sakura as well. My FH was fortunate to bunk in with a friend so he saved on lodging but he does comment that travelling in Japan is really expensive. One meal can costs abt US$10.

Hi May: I think if you dun mind married friends being ah yees, it shld be ok. Among my groups of friends, we hv been ah yees & for my wedding, some of the married ones will be my ah yees.

Hi Kare: We've shortlisted NZ or Eastern Europe (like Vienna, Prague, Germany). But, depending on our budget by then. You are not the only free one, I'm also very free. I also have no house reno to worry so I can just read on the rest of the gals' comments. I just need to get new furniture for the apt.

Hi everyone.........

have been a long time since i came in here again.......

i guess most of u have ROM already?????

for nice cheong sams .. can check out amor meus at esplanade!!!! the gowns there are really beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

i think some people said lunar june is not too good, bcos they have this saying "half year couple" which doesn't bode well .. so that's why we die die didn't choose this month at all, when we went to the geomancer!!

Hi Girls, I jus came back and manage to seak in for a while before i go back to bed. Still need to work tomorrow. Sian.

Feb,
No lah. My PS is still taken in S'pore. I merely jus take my ROM dress to port Dickson to snap some photos. Didn't bring my photographer or makeup artist along. So everything is DIY want.

Grace,
So you did french again with the "dian dian" flowers right? Me did that. But was on index finger. Jane or Cara didn't tell you that?
Think i rought know the bouquet you choose. Not bad, but christmas leaves? You mean Ivy leaves is it? Oh my $80 doesn't very cheap. But as compare to market value like "Say Yes", think its okay lah.

Are,
To the flowers that won't last. Think its not a very big issue. The florist where i bought my bouquet gave me a packet of food for flowers. Jus mix the packet of powder with water and leave it in the aircon room will do.

As for the shoe, the most important thing - does it fit you? ANd maybe will it match your gown? You can't get a shoes jus to match it right? But the other way round.

Hi! I'm new here too. just got to know of this website today. din realise that so many people getting married in dec. i'm going to be a dec bride too.

ting ting: would u be interested in a bridal package from graceful image? i've paid $900 as deposit without knowing that my aunt has paid for another package for me (a surprise gift) so now I have to sell this package to get back some $. Having headache with this extra package. Anyway if you are interested, could sell it to you at a cheaper price. don't want to waste the $. sigh... this deposit can be used to contra off any package that you desired.

If u like to know more about GI, u can attend their wedding show or visit the boutique.

Any interested buyers, pls contact andy at 91094462 or 91094479. Alternatively, can also email me at [email protected]

Hope all of u dun mind me "advertising" here.

Would be glad to know more about the ongoing wedding preparations such as the sites for outdoor photography. There's so much that i dunno
Hope to find out more.

Hello to all Nov 03 Brides,
I m a newbie to this forum. Was looking through your messages, all are quite interesting.
By the way,1 m getting ROM in Feb, also need some advice from you all.
I have bought a pink gown, any recommendation on where I could get a pair of heels, as in off the shelf kind?

Hi vio! saw that u r rather interested in signing up with Graceful Image. I have advertised at a few threads already including marketplace. Would you be interested in buying the $900 deposit from me? I could sell to u at a cheaper price as i have received another package from my aunt as a gift. This $900 deposit could be used for any package that you desired.

Anyway, if u are interested, could u pls call me at 91094479 or andy at 91094462. Another alternative is by emailing me at [email protected].

Thanks. Hope to hear from u!

PC at home has been down for awhile. It's been a lllooonnnggg time since I logged in. The thread is getting really hot!

Hi whitely,

eerr... sorry... forgot where your dinner will be held and your bridal boutique. Mine is on 22 June. Same as yours?

My photoshoot is fixed on 21 Mar 03. Looking forward!!! Had a few sessions with the photographer to communicate with him my expectations. So keeping my fingers crossed... But u gals' photoshoot v early hor? Or is mine too late?

Anyway, the designer from my bridal boutique had resigned!!! Aarrgghh!!!! Luckily the gown is 80% ready except for the crystal beadings. Going for my 2nd fitting in mid Feb, also to choose my EG for photoshoot.

Gals, cant confirm whether I can join the gathering. Will update when it's closer to the date.

Welcome Jing Jing!
Which day is your ROM and wedding? Dun forget to update Meow!

Try Tangs, they got nice OTR ROM strappy shoes...

Hihi Jazz
Saw the CX-UOB promo in today's Straits Times. It lasts till 30th Jan. I noticed it goes to London only in Europe. Din pay attention to other destinations. Think I gonna give it a miss since I haven't do any homework on f&e in Europe yet. Oso I dun intend to go to UK.

Hihi Kare2711
I oso haven't receive invitation cards fm my hotel. Think we r busier bcoz of the housing thing. It really takes up a lot of our time. Morever u oreadi got your honeymoon settled. Can sit back n relax. How nice.

Hihi Sue
Ya ribbons cost $ oso. Think better use glue cheaper n less time consuming.

Hi Jingjing, Welcome to our tread.
This info was sent to us by another bride, ava. She's currently busy now so you may like to know this info. I'll jus cut and paste it here:
They is actually a local shoe shop but they can custom make also.

Cost depends on the pattern you choose
Time takes between 2 - 1 month try not to go during peak periods like now.

The man and the Ah ma is quite nice can negotiate usually they'll give 10% discount...ask nicely lah okie
At least that's how i got it ;) hee hee hee
Ok here's the Shoe Shop details:

Kao Pink Shoes Co. Pte Ltd
101 Upper Cross St
#02-61/62
People's Park Centre
Singapore 058357
Tel:6534 3307
Fax:6534 0493

You wanna join our team? Can drop me your details so when we meet up can let you know?
Details:
1) Nickname
2) Real Name
3) Birthday (DD/MM/YY)
4) ROM Date
5) Actual Day
6) Venue of Banquet
7) Email address
8) New Home Location
9) Contact Nos
10) Name of bridal
Pls sent to [email protected]

hi gd morning,

What i meant is photoshots lah.

Ok ,anyone have photoshots at Sentoso and u will have it at June 03,n it is a school holiday,will it be crowded? Will u mind?

Wendy

Wendy,

Abt this lunar 6th mth thingy... if u dun feel comfortable, then dun choose the lunar 6th mth. If u're pantang abt dates, then lunar 7th mth would be worse.... plus u dun like school hols, that means either u have the photoshoot before 30 May (start of jun hols) or u have it after 27 Aug (last day of 7th mth). If u want it early, got to consider whether your gown and his groom suit will be ready in time.... If u want it after 7th mth, better book your photographer now, cos a lot of people are aiming those days too.... September is actually okay, cooler weather, and 3 mths shd be enough for the photo developing...

I think enya knows u're talking abt photoshoot lah!
Just that since u will look like a bride on your photoshoot, folks who are pantang will also choose auspicious dates for the photoshoot!

Why dun u discuss with your photographer, and get his/her suggestions?

Shook: me hubby not much reaction to honeymoon in europe. i guess he does not mind anywhere as long as we have the budget for it. at the moment, money is like flowing out of a tap becoz of the house. Most of the stuff we bought cost more than our budget. Think we have spend more than 10k on furnishing. the most ex being my simmons mattress...sigh...
If we do decide on Europe, i will let u know. He has a cousin in Sweden, we thinking of visiting them and get free accommodation. I dont mind going with you and hubby f&e more fun this way...

Kare: oh not all 5 destinations... dont worry, i very busy now also coz of the house. It is very draining...rushing here and there, buy this and that, scold contractor now and then...the house reno has made me lose sleep and some weight.. It will be over soon ... i am hoping to move in by end of feb.

Vin: ok, if i decide to go europe, we all go together..traveling by group, cuts cost?

Jazz: why those that gave birth cannot attend wedding? never hear before...

Hi bonnie, Thanks for your email.

vio & bonnie, looks like both of yr banquet is at the same place on the same date. Do you think u will bump into each other on the same day? ;P

October 03 Brides:
04 Oct: jady, (1027, Piggy, leafy, Blythe)
12 Oct: cath, vio, bonnie
17 Oct: fishball
24 Oct: Serene, (Teri)
25 Oct: rhs, (catlim)
26 Oct: kk, poki, (HF, lorraine)
30 Oct: blissz

Hi, for those nicks I’ve put in bracket means that I have not received your info. Can you send these info to me @ ([email protected]) . thankies.

1) Nick Name
2) Real Name
3) Birthday (DD/MM/YY)
4) ROM Date
5) Wedding Date
6) Banquet Venue
7) Name of Bridal / Studio
8) Email
9) New Home Location
10) Contact No

thks erin,

yes, saw quite a few nice gowns fr GI & i like their design. since u've tis offer, i shall get to GI these 2 days n decide if i wanna use em.

shall catch-up w u via e-mail ;)

hi cath,

yup, i've got to 'know' bonnie fr 'rasa brides' thread n told her abt u sharing e same date as US ;)

bonnie - we muz meet on tt day b4 or aft e dinner k ;) we meet put up on e same fl if urs bridal suite too heee.....