(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Sweets,
Yah! For my sister's wedding, my parents had 16 tables!!!! But I think now some of their guests are no longer with us or invalid or not able to come some how, so they will probably have only about 12-14 tables. Fortunately for us, my parents have offered to pay for their share of the tables.

Last time, we housed my father's Malaysian brothers and their families at the NTUC holiday flats in Changi. We live in the east, so we were able to give them rides. But this time, both my FH and I have overseas friends from US and NZ as well as some from Australia, so we fear there may be a few too many unrelated people to share a flat, and we think they may be more comfy in a hotel like the Oxford on Queen Street or something along those lines.

Neither of us or our families are in big corporations that deal with much overseas visitors or travelling so corporate rates is not a consideration at the moment.

Helo Shook,

Eh my photoshoot last me like 10 hours...thats why i was so tired ahahaha....its ended like 10 pm at night...

Oh mum is oding the list since got to collect the cards so have to check with her who and who is or not going...I hate this guest list, such a hassle...kekek

Me dont think I be busy with New yr stuff, though I got my own place already..but also not much people come by so no need to get myself busy..I just go to my mum house loh if want to find thing to eat kekke..

Don;t panice, take you time time loh kekek..

Goood luck to u with yout CNY stuff

Nas

leo29,
walk around a bit, leapin lizard is near the BK at IP. I will be checking RAM's shop at Lucky plaza too.. anyone know their prices?

are,
yep.. Amara re-deco their ballroom..

yep too, to the WG trying..
gowns that look good in pics may not look nice on you.. so still do homework but keep an open mind.. a true observation is the FHs always like brides to be in sweet sweet look gowns.. :P at least mine did..

Hi everyone, another weekend gone and still got so many things to do. I give up on the hse cleaning, reno wks still going on until this week and so back breaking washing and cleanng. Wait until week over than try to do maj cleaning. But still painting every weekend. Life is so boring now, doing all these mundane chores...! Bought some more paint on Sat. Had a tough time trying to find light colours to match my strong feature colour. Have you heard of this paint brand called Jotun? Seems like they have a very wide range of colours bec they actually mix it for you on the spot. Really V gd range. But a bit watery 1st round. I hope 2nd/3rd rounds will improve the colours.
Bought too big a tin of paint for feature colour and wondering what to do with it with rest of paint. Paint storerm, cannot lah! Heart attack every time you open the store rm. So also painting one wall each of the other 2 bedrooms. Do you know that it is so HARD to paint corner/ceiling straight lines? Aiyoh, back to painting classes. 1st you paint one colour than you try to paint the other colour straight over the 1st colour but end up crooked, than you correct 1st colour but end up over-correcting, and you need 2nd colour again.....arrgh!
Pausini, yah, my FH also not exactly keen on my choice of colours but heehee! I like leh! My MIL came by when I was painting that colour but she very nice abt it, just politely ask whether I'm painting entire living rm THAT colour.
Hey, some of you ladies finished PS already. How was the weather for you? It was raining quite a bit recently and must hv been diffc for those going o/d.

leo29,

here are the details

Leapin' Lizard
10, Anson Road, #01-57
International Plaza
Singapore 079903

Tel: 6222-2783
Fax: 6222-7883

Ram's Shop
304, Orchard Road #B1-90
Lucky Plaza
Singapore 238863

Tel/Fax : 6835-0190
E-mail: [email protected]

maya: poor thing. u sound so tired. I can understand how u feel. i painted the whole of room 2 years ago. So tiring.

I hate painting. It is just one of the chores that i most. i rather mop and wash then paint.

Hang on there...u will finish soon and after that u can proudly tell everyone you have painted it yourself.

Nas: where did u go for your ps. 10 hrs, gosh, so tiring.

Jan: how is your wedding gowns coming along? I have gone for fitting already. Should be going for trial makeup next month. Trying to drag as late as possible coz have not lost any more weight...now got scare of fitting already, Sigh...

hi abrinas,

you are right, my gowns still fit although abit loose but I felt more comfortable so dun intend to alter!

my GDL finally over yesterday. so tired so relaxed over a dinner with my family and cousins.
glad tat itz over! hehehe

now really counting down to my big day. another headache is the table arrangement liao.

Helo May,

Me went to Sentosa...Singapore is pretty limited and I told the Photographer just take everything with trees and surroundings...And I only went one location cux Im very lazy...kekekke I don like to move around too much..very hot

Initally want to cancel the outdoor shoot cux thought it was going to rain cux the day before my shooting, it was raining whole day...But on the day of my shooting, very fine day...and warm too...didnt rain at all...Great..

Anyway, have finished and have taken some pics for the day from my digital cam for the overall process but didnt managed to captured all of the gowns cux battery went flat....But at least for keepsake...kekke

Nas

Hi Hong, Vodka and Dew,

How ur wedding?
Mus be romantic and memorable huh?

hi cherry,

same here, lotsa of loose ends to tie up!
just finish with GDL yesterday, so tired! ;p
today down eith cough and flu, real tired yet must come to wok coz lotsa of work to clear b4 going on leave next week leh!
howz your preparation?

Egg

yes, memories are better in the midst of preparation rather than actual day

Actually i did not do much as my husband rejected my offers to help in my preparation ( can you believe it !! I voiced my concern abt being involved but he just shrug it off )...

anyway, i believe that it is meant for my own welfare

Cher/Manz

me too, I have havung 3 tea ceremonies and running across island from an end to another

We r too leaving after CNY....

Hihi Natash
Woo 10hrs, no wonder u v tired lor. I love moving ard n take many many pictures. But my photographer din meet up to my expectation. I felt v deprived.
I busy wif CNY stuff 4 my parents' hse. I m stilling staying in my parent's hse mah.

Hihi Maya
Dun feel bored. Think of the end result. U feel rewarded of the effort u put in. Like wat May mentioned, u can proudly tell ppl dat u painted the whole hse!!
I had my ps. It wz drissling dat day. Think dat's y my photographer was kinda trying to get the ps done n over.

Hi Yi,

haha...me too! last day of work here...hehe....very excited, no mood to work though still have to clear some stuff....

I still have to
1) finalise guest list
2) finalise table arrangements
3) collect my album tonight
4) collect my gowns tonight
5) booked mani/pedi

and lots of tiny little details to looked into also, my mind is getting confuse already...hehe...hopefully things will run smoothly....

Hee, seems like many of us March brides are leaving things easy till after CNY!

Hi Bear,

Erm, actually i meant both lah, hee… even if preparation is troublesome and actual day is hectic and tired but in the end both will become precious memories
Your husband is very enthusiastic! Don’t worry, there is no way you can don’t be involved right? Like fitting of gowns and drawing up your side of the guest lists, these things also part of the wedding preparation mah, so you are involved see?

akira... ??? hmm... come to think of it, i didn't really ask. i just tried, liked it, & reserved! but i think mostly A-line. find tat i look funny in anything else, think too thin liao. ;P buti picked those with no train, no church so wun get to show off anyway... ;P

Nice to know so many Dec brides. i was thinking of taking photos in Raffles Marina but i think got to get permission. troublesome...

Also taking photos in June and there is not much time to go dieting after CNY. Moreover, the 1st appt with bridal studio is in Mar. My face is still so round!

Rine

HI all June brides,

Can i check with you all, who did you gals use for your house renovation?

Thks.

are, still can 'show off' train when you march in to the ballroom; depending on your preference I guess... initially I also tot dun want to have train but realised tat its prob the only time in my life I will get to wear a train.... but of cos not those super long and exaggerated ones which would only look good in a super grand church and if one is marrying a real life prince.

A-line.. bustier? Spaghetti straps? off-white/pure white? Embroidery? organza? duchess satin? ha ha a lot of questions hor.. actually I kinda decided tat I want a bustier with a bit of can-can, embroidery in off-white duchess satin cos I think I look fat in those feminine, floaty organza layer type.

gd afternn ladies

abrinas

muz b hvin ur foto shot nw...
hope 2 get ur updates soon...

kk mei

nvr say bad things abt u lah...dun worri...

how ur pc ok yet???
else wont c u online chattin 4 a while liao...

yi

glad u had enjoyed ur guo da li...
btw wat r the items ur mum asked 4 4 guo da li???
paiseh juz bein kpo...

its 2 wks 2 ur big daz...
muz veri super xcited n countin dn liao rite...

urrmmm....eh... i got 1 bustier, 1 spaghetti strap. material not v sure leh... but both off-white lor. i din really like white. but i oso look funny if too big a can can, so i think those i wear got small one lor. the bustier one is with little embroidery flowers in pink & green leaf, so got colours. the other one is with 'translucent' pinkish long beads, which will look v shimmering at nite.

i already hv 1 cfm WG & EG for my shoot, WG is a low V back, with embroidery lace trimming, a bit of train. but dun want train for my actual coz i lazy to carry! hahahaha... the EG is an in-cut neck with princess cut, cream colour. may oso be using this as tea dress.

me planning to bring polaroid to next session, so can hv a better pic wat i picked! ;P

me back very stress the past few days... the pain still persisting..... very worried the other widsom teeth will attack me soon too.... cos my upper widsom tooth a bit aching too!!!

dun know isn't my medication my period is late for 6 six already.... tested with kit but negative...

very stresssssss!!!!!

Same same.. intending to go Raffles Marina for photoshot too.. unless i opt for overseas shooting. I thot we only have to call and make a booking three days or one week in advance with them and pay a fee of hundred plus dollars???

egg

er, i m involved in guest list only
even my own gowns r done by him.... but i must admit, i hardly care , hee hee..... there are so many million gowns out there, i m so confused

Hello everyone !

WELCOME to the thread Teri !

I've officially shifted in .... i thot it would have been a fun affair but boy was i wrong !!! Ferrying my things (only mine, not even hubby's!) already took up 1 full day. We really packed the boot and back seat to the brim.

Shifting everything up was hell, but unpacking was really a punishment. Its so messy now, my apartment looks like a war-torn zone !!!! I now realise that i really haven't organised where i want to put my things, and certain things esp clothes, i realise i dun have enough cabinet space.

So now, everything is everywhere. I am sooooo exhausted from the unpacking (or whatever little i did of it ...). Tonight must go to ikea to get some more cabinets.

Sigh, hub and i thot it would have been v easy to shift, and we ever refrigerated a good bottle of wine to toast each other on our official shift. Right now ... the wine is still sitting in my fridge. Alamak ...

My gloomy monday today was brightened by a phone call i rec'd from my photographer. We've scheduled our photoshoot for early July. Yay !!
Diet diet diet diet diet diet diet diet !!!!

hi yve, i made my ROM heels at RAM. it costs me $120. it's silver in color with the kind of straps i wanted. and on top of it, gosh used crystals to form some small flowers at one corner. it's the crystals that's expensive. if u want to take a look, leave me ur email, i've one photo on it.

hi Bear,

Wow, seems like you are in safe hands then!
So do you like the gown picked by your husband? i'm sure you do, must give a pat on his back for all the good work ok?

eustoma,
how much is the very basic shoe? no flowers or crystals?

we must all post pictures okay?? i intend to bring digital camera to my appts..

Hi 1027,

Congrats for shifting into your new place. I am waiting for this day to come too. Guess after reading what you did, I better packed my closet now and give away some clothes that I don't want.

Better get my hubby to pack as well.

Yeah, I am on diet as well...though I have not booked my photo shoot but I am dieting ahead first before I start making my gown.

u mean we can go to raffles marina for PS, even though our banquet is not held there? i would take photos at the fotos, prob on actual day onie ... see how ... hotel good idea, aircon and not so hot .. hahahahahahah

Hi 1027

I also received Chris call. Mine also in July. So when is yours? early or late July.

Just to update you people, i have finally settled on bridal boutique. Now actively looking at magazine for ideals on WG and EG.

1. 1027, 04 Oct, Swissotel, Xristos, Jurong West

2. HF, 26 Oct, Oriental, Chris Ling, Amanda Lee Weddings, AnchorVale@SK

3. kk, 26 Oct, Qianxi (Farrer Park), Wedding Affairs (Previous Fame Bridal), Rivervale@ Sengkang

4. Serene, 24 Oct, Holiday Inn Parkview, Paris (at Tanjong Pagar), Compassvale Crescent@SengKang

5. fishball, 17 Oct, Concorde, In Wedding, P21

6. lorraine,26 Oct, Le Meridien, Jawn Happy-ever- after & City bridal (photography)

7. Jady, 4th Oct Customary & 5th Oct banquet & solemnization. Hilton, Jazreel Low Bridal, Sembawang

8. blissz, 30 Oct, The Fullerton, Ted Wu n Montage Studios, Rivervale Crest@Sengkang

9. poki, 26 Oct, Hotel Inter-Continental, Amanda Lee Weddings, Utopia, P21

10. Piggy, 4 Oct, Noble House, bridal not decided yet, CCK

11. leafy, 4 Oct, Qianxi, Bridal Zone, Queenstown

12. Blythe, 4 Oct, Church Wedding, 10 Oct, Hotel New Ottani, J&M Bridal, Ponggol 21.

13. cath, 12 Oct, Qianxi (Farrer Park), Seletar Broadway, Ponggol 21.

14. catlim, 25 OCt, Church wedding, Goodwood Park, Sengkang Fernvale

15. rhs, 25 Oct, Shangri-la, Silhouette, Chris Ling, not applying for HDB

16. Teri, 24 Oct. Hotel Intercon, Bridal?, Punggol

I'm back! At last, my wedding is over. I had a wonderful time....so wonderful tat I wished time can stand still or at least have more time for me to mingle & hav fun.

Of course, the day din went thru without any problems but it was still fantastic. I luv my TY's EG & my evening hair-do, the dinner & dessert buffet was splendid, my movie poster & signature board was very nicely done n a wonderful 2 nites' stay at Conrad's presidential suite. The tea ceremony was fun, hubby was made to sing on stage at the dinner, we left the ballrm at 12.30 n my frens partied on in our suite until 2.30.

It was really the time of my life & I wish it never end.

But I was REALLY REALLY tired...now got to catch some sleep. Will update u gals on all the details later on.

Cherry - din go bac 2 Robin abt the photos. Got Andrew Tay from The Edge to help out. He's hubby's fren's cousin. N I simply cant b bothered wif Fl anymore, anyway I dun nn tat dress.

Meekoo, do take care of yourself! Guess you might be too stressed, that's why your upper tooth started to ache. Don't worry, the pain should subside after a while, and you'll be a pretty bride in time for your photoshoot! ;)

Natash, wow, you finished your photoshoot, it was pretty lucky of you that it didn't rain! The weather had been pretty bad nowadays. My friend's outdoor shoot had to be postphoned 'cos it rained on that day they had the photoshoot. Me still a long way to go, my photoshoot has been changed to March. Hope the picts will be in time for my wedding day...

Jan, so sorry about that. Never mind, I'll find out for you again after possible rentals.

May, what kind of taxes are there? Do I have to pay for taxes as a tourist or something like that?

Shook, have you been there before? Heard it's very pretty. Been sourcing around for info on the rockies... do you have any?

Maya, so what is the colour that you've chosen? *grin* Did you go ahead and paint the colour that your MIL asked? What colour is that?

Hihi Meekoo
Bet u r very stressed. U mean your period late for 6 days (should be pretty normal) or 6 weeks (that is abnormal liao)
Take care, don't think too much. Think er.... u will become pretty slender bride okay

How is your diet going on? Still porridge and tao hua?

Hihi Jazz
I have been to Canada but not the rockies. My college been there 4 honeymoon in Sep few yrs back. The place is beautiful.
Me haven't start searching 4 info on honeymoon. Gotta do dat after CNY.

HF, my photoshoot is on 3 July.

Blythe, thanks! Agree agree ... better to pack early. I've learnt my lesson ....

Sweets,
Yes. We'll be checking that out too. I think the Stevens Road one may be cheaper (if it's still functioning)
I don't think we're expected to pay for our guests' accomodation. I've told my friends that very often there are great deals from Australia and NZ for packages to Singapore, so they can buy from there. My parents will take care of the relatives.

Which hotel is your FH's company tied up with? Do you have many overseas guests?

Shook, any places that you've in mind for selection? Europe?

Gals, do you have any recommendations on videography? I'm currently sourcing for one now. Do you gals also know how and what's the market rate like for now?

Yve,

Thanks for the information. Actually all this information is for my friend who is getting marry
this june. She can't find a suitable shoe so ask me to help her ask around. For me I will start searching, I think 6 mths b4 my wedding or when I know what type of gown I'm wearing.

Are,

Would you mind to share your wedding package with me?

Hi 1027,
Congrats!! Who knows, maybe u can loose weight after your 'punishment'
It happened to me before when I shifted house last year. Agree that unpacking is a lot worse than packing!! What we did was writing a number on each box and made a list of things inside each box. That way we didn't have to open every box to search for stuff. Can unpack basic items first and dump the rest in storeroom
Believe it or not, I still have unopened box!! And that's after we threw away half of our junks ...

Hi HF,
Just realised you also with Chris! we're supposed to have photoshoot early July, but my make-up artist can't make it on that day. Dunno how to match their schedule leh ...

Thanks RHS, i SURE hope the "punishment" will make me lose weight. Was supposed to go home for some sit-ups last night, but totally forgot about it. Alamak ... today must "pay-back" !

That makes the 3 of us with Chris ? RHS, HF and I ! Make-up artist? RHS, you mean you've already met and spoken with your artist already? Oops, i confirmed the date with chris without even asking the make-up artist. Better go find out today !!

Talk about junk ... i have plenty of them. Think i'll easily fill up several boxes. It's amazing how i accumulated all that rubbish over a few years! Really got to be more disciplined now ....

HF, i just attended a wedding at Oriental over the weekend. The suite was nice & very big !! I didn't get to eat much (coz i was very busy helping the bride) but the overall experience at Oriental was good. The banquet manager was Ricky, and he came across to us as quite experienced and nice. Hopefully you'll get someone experienced too! (really makes a difference i feel!)

The valet drivers also made the wedding nicer by parking the bridal car alongside the ballroom. It felt good to recieve praises !!

hey yve,
thanks for your infor...okie i will bring digi cam for the photos too.. then send emails to the rest of u... so u all must do the same huh..

are, after hearing from u abt the gowns.. i really look forward to go for the first fitting. so glad that you must have lots of fun trying the gowns.. ryan must be goshing abt how lucky he is to have a beautiful bride... =)

eustoma,i would like to take a look at the shoes u got... can u email me [email protected] .. thanks alot...

grace.. not beautiful lah, but comical instead! coz without make-up & hair-do, its really funny to be in a gown. ;P anyway, he already armed himself with a newspaper before we went. i doubt he ever feels lucky to hv me, i just made him buy a dinning table i like before we went to the bridal!

leo29.. my package is considered ala carte. things include :

for photoshoot
- 200 digital shots (+ rental of USB 'machine' for self downloading)
- 2 OTR WG, 1 EG
- make-up, 2 hair-do
- transport (3 locations)

actual
- 1 OTR WG, 2 EG, 1 teadress
- 1 men's suit (MTM rental)
- 1 FIL suit (rental)
- photography for day 1 (whole), & day 2 (dinner)
- jaguar + chauffer + car deco
- hand bouquet
- make-up + hair-do

that should be all... roughly abt $4000.

Hi Flowee

I finished my PS yesterday. Fun but tiring. Still a bit tired today. Fabulous weather yesterday morning cos went outdoor first but photographer said he got some great shots so hope the photos turn out well.

15554.gif