(2003) Brides of year 2003

Tingting, welcome!! I also MIA awhile but glad to know another Dec bride. Have fun choosing ur bridal!!

Hi Wendy n piper...me also having PS in Jun...cos the good photographers quite heavily booked already so have to slot earlier. But no worries lah...WG n EG looks dun really date much.

Hihi Kare2711
How long does the CX_UOB promo last? How n where u get the ticket 4 the promo?
U arranging accomodation n food yourself?

Hihi Jazz
I v chin chai wif my bridal boutique. The photographer n make-up artist can chit chat wif me, told me the agony of their profession. The staff there oso like to chit chat wif me when I call. Yet I get tis kinda treatment. Sigh........ Always get bullied

My mum said married friends cannot be ah yi.

Hihi Vin
I pd $1,000 outta $1,800. I oso dunno wat to ask 4.

Hihi Jan
So many new staff n married colleague, gd dat u can strike half of the dept off. If your colleague pass words ard, then let them b. No choice. My mum said some ppl may not like to b invitied (esp those dunno u well) coz they gotta give u ang pow 4 dinner. Really a big headache on invites for company.
Most of the wedding cards I received comes wif insert. May b the printing company oso print on insert?? I dunno if printing company ties the ribbon or not. Vin can advise?
Hot stamping is more x.

hi hi...

hopefully all the MIA dec brides will come back to the forum soon......then we can countdown to our big day together!!
16159.gif

Let's just fix on 20th feb(thur). so far those confirmed going:

myself
poki
vio
cath
fishball
serene
blythe
blissz

1027 can't make it.

the rest hasn't reply. but 8 of us can go ahead liao! so gals, let's meet on 20th feb at abt 6.30pm, is the timing fine? finally we hv a chance to see each other

Hi Shook... the promotion was very short only. From 16th to 19th. I also heard it by accident. No more liao. It's actually buy one ticket and get another free. So it's $1680 for two tickets to 5 destinations - Rome, London, Paris, Amsterdam & Frankfurt.

I got the books from Kino. I think Kino and Borders are the best for this kind of books. Kino is better for language books. Lots of them.

Yes, I am planning my own accomodation as well as food (not difficult since I'm not a fussy eater). I love planning my travels so I don't mind planning my honeymoon too. And the internet has lots of resources, including the train schedules for June.

Jazz.. Nope. The UOB promotion does not include free nights in HK. But I think that's not bad too, if you like HK (which I did until I went to Paris). I did that in Dec when I went to Paris and friend and I were so happy that we get the free deal on HK. FH and I were debating between that promotion and the free HK one, or even another one which Chan Brothers promoted to us - Fly via Air France ($1600 pp) and get 3 free nights in Rome. But we still decided to go for the UOB promotion because FH has not been to Paris and this is a good opportunity to. Now after calculating, I don't know if this is such a good idea as it's quitely costly. Accomodation in Italy is much more than accomodation in France. And somemore, Italy has winter & summer rates. Sigh. All money!

hi all........great! yes, we can finally meet ;)
thks jady for the hardwk!!!

time is fine. bring anything we wan to share huh??

hey jady, thanks a zillion for organising this.
Sorry everyone, can't make it this time... paid money to attend yoga lessons, so i dun wish to skip it. Perhaps next time ...

Do let me know the outcome of the gathering!

congrats grace and meow! wow.. your flowers 'sound' really pretty, pls show us pics... maybe i can use these as guidelines for my actual day flowers. i wanted to use iris actually, but scared it won't last the whole day. then i've got my 2nd day dinner as well... oh well... that will be a later headache... me stress over house reno first! ;P

grace.. dun worrie, i think my 'report' that time was even longer! ;P

My package same price at pooh's ie. 2988. Actually, there's a story for the 35 pics - we did not 'look' ard thoroughly when we were looking for a bridal shop. we booked at a shop in IMM (better don't say name) n their package became so 'unattractive' after we walked ard more, esp at Suntec's bridal show. Then we r caught by New Seletar Broadway. My FH was reluctant at first cos we paid deposit the other side already. Then they say they try to offset my losses by giving me more photos. original only 20 pics. That's why add on another 15 to make up for my deposit lah. I m with New Seletar Broadway at AMK.

I really hope can see them end Feb 2.

Hi cath,

wow, u having ur PS pretty early.

I can't make it for the outing as i have lectures every thurs and fri. Enjoy yourselves

hi 1027 & kk,
we going to miss you..

hi jady,
i'm ok with the date. but i'll need at least 45-60mins for each travelling. So pls expect me to be late. =P

Hi Serene
Agree with you. Have a sense of achievement after cleaning up the house. hehe.. in fact, i'm quite proud of my house and I always get my friends to come to my house to play mahjong..keke.. one stone kill 2 birds. hahha..

Hi kk,
ya.. me a bit kiasu. just in case the photos dont turn up nicely, at least still re-shoot still available. =)

hi piper: yup, i did see a photo album with a non-chinese groom...although i can't remember both their faces, but i know all the albums i saw that day feature very good-looking couples..u can tell ur sis that! : )

today went to see Le Galleria (i'm taking the chance to lose weight by visiting bridal shops during lunch hr!)..quite impressed with the WG..the embroidery etc are very nicely done, n very suitable for church weddings...but very ex!

bobomagic: hi to you too!

Hi Kare2711: Wow! You have yr honeymoon settled. I'm still wondering where to go. Intend to visit the travel fair to see if can get a gd deal from there.

Hi Jan: Yah, those Mt Fuji photos taken by my FH look really nice. We are hoping to go there one day. He said that it will be nicer to go in Spring because can see the reflection of Mt Fuji in the lake.

Hi Vin: Sorry, just joking with you abt the Mrs. It'll take some time for you to get used to not calling your hubby your boyfriend. I'm wondering how to address his parents as mum & dad after getting married. You took lots of photos for your wedding yeah. Pls show us once you got them okie.

Hi Shook: My friend just printed her wedding invites. Hers was done in inserts format. It will be cheaper if you tie it yourself. The printing company charges more if you want them to tie it. Initially, my fren wanted to tie it herself but after we checked out Spotlight & can't get the ribbons she wanted. She got the company to tie it for her. Moreover, as the wedding date draws nearer, you would rather spend yr time to do other things than tying inserts.

hi cherubies,

hubby and i oso dun want those budget tours and end up being more tired than ever instead of relaxing tatz y we opted for those tour packages too.

so how abt we going together in aug/sept this year? I'm oso trying to get more friends to join us.

hi wenn and flowee,

Thanks a million for your well wishes.

Me on leave already for my wedding so wld be in the office again on next Monday.

Brought the lap-top from new place to my mum's place so as to amend the table arrangements and also to surf net and post messages for you all. hehehe

Now still amending the table arrangement, sianz! :P

Tomorrow i'm going to the hair salon for a treatment and then back to new place to get those essential things back. Collected my gowns on monday liao so putting my teadress at new place coz gog there b4 coming back to my mum's place for tea ceremony. Actually dun intend to go back new place but both my mum and mil say itz a MUST! Dun koe why. :P

Met up with the banquet manager also and settle most things also so just hope therez no last minutes hiccups.

hi fionau,

STOP worrying so much. For me, the most worrying part is the table arrangement, but i told myself i wld try to do all that i can and on my wedding day, i'm just gog to concentrate on making myself pretty and leaving everything to hubby, sisters and helpers.

I'm on leave from tue onwards n you koe wat, i still gog shopping for new year stuff with hubby at chinatown today (oops shd be yesterday - tue)! We even went shopping at suntec, went to confirm our bangkok short trip and to the hotel to settle some stuff. Hubby and I seem very relaxed leh! :P

Dun worry abt the decor coz hopefully the dear neighbours at our hubby's parents place are more considerate lor.

hi lyne,

same here, hubby and i actually postpone our honeymoon till 13 feb so as to spend CNY with families and yet can spend valentine day overseas. Initially planned to go europe but my tour was not confirmed as not enuf pple to depart so we postpone our europe tour to aug/sept this year instead.

me not resting well coz been sleeping late to do the table arrangements. hehehe

hi vodka,

Never mind since now you staying with hubby liao, so everyday shd be a honeymoon period.

my bangkok trip is from 13 feb onwards too.

Hihi Kare2711
Wow v envy u dat u have everything planned under your hand 4 your honeymoon. Think I can't afford the time. Juz thot abt the outstanding things I have on hand - carpentry work, invitation cards, honeymoon, dowry, nitty gritty things 4 love nest....

Hihi Sue
I intend to print the insert and tie the ribbon myself. Saw fm the forum dat there r shops in Concourse dat sells ribbons for tying insert. May get my family n my hubby's niece n nephew to help to tie the inserts. C how it goes. Gotta save $, everything costs $ $ $

Hihi Vin
Still address your hubby bf huh. My hubby calls me lao puo after we filed for ROM. I said "ui, I m not your lao puo yet" He said "sooner or later"

Vin: Your hubby and you so sweet! "sooner or later" is right!

Shook: the ribbons for tying inserts not cheap. can come up to a bit. i might not tie them. those inserts i received, no ribbons. most of them glued to the cards leh. if so troublesome, i might just print on the cards. fiance not around, no one to help out, cannot be getting our parents to do it. so....

Kare2711: Yah, like the rest, i envy you. me nothing done on honeymoon yet. firstly is the budget, secondly there are just so many things not done yet, just haven't got down to the planning part. getting worried though because i want to have a good honeymoon even if it's a short one and i like free and easy better. sigh.

Sue: i would love to go during spring ie in May is it? reflection on the lake! must be beautiful. sigh. but japan is too expensive. last time i went, i didn't eat fruits at all because they cost so much. most of the things are at least 1.5 times more expensive than in singapore. with tight budget, that will not be on our destination i guess, at least based on current budget.

HI Yi

Wow Like a lot of things to do hor....But should be enjoyable lah....Just take more rest before your big day lor...

Congrats to you once again.

Hi abrinas,
wow 2988 for 35 pics that is gd..

So now u only waiting to see ur pics rite?

Now i headache abt my honeymoon liao. Planning to go Aust (Gold Coast, Sdy and Melb) and thinking going F&E but both of us dont drive so must plan very carefully..

hi cath,

it's perfectly fine to be kiasu for our BIG DAY ;)
pls share ur pic w us yah.

Hi serene,

yah we take for granted wen staying w our parents - no need do hse wk heee.... humm.... u lost some kg then? since we dun've much time for exercise, hse cleaning will do some trick too

HI Sue,

Is ok to call me Mrs.. but feel a bit weird ler...:P... still young to be a Mrs... hahha...

Yeah, took lotz of photos on my wedding day. And photo shoot one also a lotz.. less than 400 pcs but me didn't choose that much. Will show to you all once I scan everything.

I address his dad as "pa" lor and his mum as "mummy"... my FIL looks very young.. and my MIL dun wan us to call her "lao ma zi" or "ma" as she think is sound old so prefer us to call her "mummy"

Hi Shook,

I never call my hubbg "lao gong".. kekke... coz he still young and the word jus can't speak out from my mouth... hahahaha...

Hi Jan,

Me dun mind how ppl call me laa... but will still feel more friendly if ppl call my name...

Hi cath,

Can re-shoot wan ah? hehee.. extra costs?

It is ok. There is always another chance for an outing again

BUT gals,

I am holding a gathering at my love nest at sengkang on CNY day 3. Wonder whether u all interested to join in??

Hi kk, thanks for the offer. Sorry i can't make it on CNY day 3 coz my family always has gatherings over CNY. Thanks again.

Re-shoot? i think cath means to engage another photographer to have another photo shoot. more cost involved for sure ... the very least, the cost of the photo shoot and the make-up artist.

Today i just went to exchange money for new notes. Gonna keep the new notes for the wedding. Wah, feel so broke now. Plonk my money into new notes and cannot use.

Just to share with you all, the bank counter staff told me that Board of Commissioners for Currency Notes only issues new notes ONCE A YEAR, and that's for chinese new year. Any left overs will be put into ATM machines and circulated in the market.

So if you intend to give alot of ang pows, better change money now before it runs out ! I think the $50 notes are easier to get (usually ATMs have them) but new $2 and $10 more difficult to come by.

aww... thanks for the compliments. I'll miss you all too, esp when i'm doing yoga and thes rest of you are meeting up !

Jan: u can download free chinese software from the Web. It is call NJ Star (has the same format as Word, and u type with the hanyu pinyin). I also plan to tie ribbons myself. Getting friends to help.

I bought my wedding rings from Lee Hwa too and i feel that Goldheart's made is better. So u might want to check it out.

Shook: married friends cannot be ah yee mah? My best friend will be helping me and she is married. I did not even ask anyone to see can or not. Frankly speaking, the less you ask parents the best it will be. They are so restrictive. What they dont know wont harm them lah.

Jazz: Actually, my bridal provides accessories buti just want to make one set myself.

Kare2711: wow, i so envious...u going so many places for Honeymoon. The price u pay is only for airfare???

Shook: hear u say so much of Europe..i also start thinking of going there too. Just ask hubby what he thinks.

those who confirmed going on 20th feb,pls don't suddenly back out hoh... very hard to get a date leh..

kk, thks for the invitation but i can't make it.

cath, ur house must b beautiful. got pics to share?

Hi pooh

Yep, waiting to see my pics now. Hvn't call me yet so I think definitely after CNY then can see.
Most of them malaysians n they closing until lunar day 7th. Nvrmnd lah, can only wait.

Me now headache abt my house. So good yrs done already. Me cannot do now cos will eat into marriage funds. Mine is type 'premium', so deal with contractor not as good as type 'standard' cos I only intend to do kitchen. Must look ard more for more quotes b4 deciding.

Doing F&E? Ya, must plan carefully since u both don't drive. U might want to consider planned itinerary with a couple of days of F&E. Safer this way.

Hi kk,
Thanks for the invitation but I doubt I can make it. So sorry.

Hi kk & 1027,
They allow reshoot from the same studio at no extra cost, even for the makeup artist. But of coz, I hope reshoot will not happen. Keke.. me just talk rubbish only. =P

Hi jady,
Me took digital picts for my new house b4 but realise that real look at my new house is nicer..hahha… so I erased the picts fm my PC and asked ppl to come to my place to see instead. :P

hey jady,

yah noe u work hard to organise 20th feb meeting -dun worry, won't bk out. appreciate ur effort!! thks

hi cath,

yup share w us k ;)

never visit to this thread for such a long time! There are so many new nicks...... However, I still can remember some nicks like cutie, kiroro, priviledged....
how's the preparation?

Dear Cutie,

If I am not wrong, your big day is exactly same as mine, right? Yours will be at Oriental? Have you go for your photo shoot yet?

by the way, anybody experience taking outdoor shoot at Changi beach? we intend to go there but no idea which of the beach is the best place to take photo. Advice??

Hi abrinas,
the hse slowly lar. For premium flat there is a min reno so gd. I spend quite alot on hse total 40k for reno, furniture and elect appl.

I think i will need a total of 65k for my wedding and hse.. Cos we need to pay the customary stuff on our own. So very siong.

My hubby like F&E but i still tell him we will plan first then see the package in the nearly time.

Where did u plan for ur honeymoon?

whitely,
u joining us for the gathering on 21/2/03?

pooh,
u and hubby really paying for all???
really quite hard on you...my parents in law will be helping us on wedding dinner so we dun really worry much...

Hi 1027,

Haha.. i just went to the bank just now. I a bit siao, only want 15 $2 notes so that i can give ang pow to my tuition kids to make them happy. Then the bank (ocbc) tell me they only change in bulk. One stack is $200 - 100 $2 notes. I smsed my hubby tell him the bank siao wan, ask me to change so many, how to use.. hahahaa...

Yo, dun scare me leh. If only CNY can change new notes, if i dun change now, how to get new notes for Oct wedding

Hi pooh

Me same, me and FH paying for all too. The reason we choose premium is to cut reno to the minimum. Yrs very siong leh. For me wedding n reno will come up to nearly 30K, not including elect appliances.

Nvrmnd, boat reaches bridge, bridge will be straight (chuan2 dao4 qiao2 tou2 zi4 ran2 zi2)

I might go for a short honeymoon in Sep (week of school closure for 1 week) cos will be busy with hse n might not hv much funds left anyway. Maybe go bangkok - not been there b4. Go shopping!! Maybe Pattaya. Not decide yet. I might want to do a course too so cannot go for too long distance ones. Short ones better than nothing - just for recharge purposes.

My office has a bungalow in Bintan, maybe will go there if I cannot decide where to go.

Beibei

So good, yr parents in law helping with the dinner.

abrinas,

your idiom very familiar!!my dad always say this to me cos he know i everything very gan cheong so this is a way to calm me....

though my parents in law helping us but think we will try to return the extra money to them...though they may say no need but feel bad got to use their money first....

hi hi gals,
Just asked my dad to change the new notes for me too cos no new notes will be issue unless it is CNY...changing more of the $2 cos hard to get from ATM
(as what 1027 said)

Today MC at home...sigh* dunno why always sick recently..feng shui bu hao in office perhaps...thinking of it..left 9 mths to wedding and I seemed not to have done anytin yet..time flies so fast

I am ok wtih 20 Feb...just hope that my menses cramp wont be so bad then cos happened to fall into that time ..hehee
always get quite bad cramps for menses that dun feel like moving at all...just lie flat on my mattress.jialet..do you gals experience bad cramps?

Hihi Jan
Glue the insert is a gd idea but tying wif ribbon looks nicer. Come to think of it, the recipient don't bother glue or tie up. They only look out 4 date n venue.

Hihi Vin
My hubby called me lao puo, I said ekkk... He said better than lao xiao jia rite.
I dun call him lao gong. I call his nick name.

Hihi May
Go Europe lar. We go together want? But muz ask your bf 1st

hey serene,

mine oct too - oso not much done

me too w menses cramp almost every mth.
sama sama - hv to be in bed lor. terrible feeling.

try drink ginger tea w honey, can get fr supermkt. does help in a way. or take evening primerose i heard. mine seems to improved - not so terrible now

kk, I really laughed at wat u did!
The banks wun change so little wan lah. kekeke... Might as well help yr parents 2 change some 4 their ang pows this yr lor. Anyway, cannot use oso can keep mah.. untill u finally give ang pows 4 new year lor. kekeke can't stop smiling at yr funny incident..

talking abt $$, we will be paying everything ourselves too..really duno if we can manage??

u know till now my house has not started reno..cos no $$$, getting married first..
sigh..

yah, the $2 minimum is 100pcs. I exchanged some $2 and $10 to keep for the wedding. If cannot finish, then keep for chinese new year 2004. by then sure have to give ang pow already, cannot escape ...

Hi serene, i get stomach cramps occassionally as well. So i use a hot water bottle (not really bottle, but a rubber flask that's rather flat). I find it works quite well, and i prefer this method to eating mediciation.

In case you're interested in the hot water bottle, most pharmacies have them. Price range $8 - $20 i think. The more expensive ones come wrapped in a towel-like cloth.

anyone here a shoe fanatic ??

there's quite a well-known shoe shop in Malaysia, cheap and good, called Vincci

They've just opened a branch in Citilink Mall called VNC. Same price at the outlets in Malaysia, just that VNC prices are in SGD.

VNC is cheaper than Charles and Keith !
but if you have the time, going over to Johor to buy from Vincci is better coz you save almost 50% from the exchange rate !

any idea what's the 'agenda' on 20th? haven't confirmed going coz so paiseh, among new ppl usually i just sit still and close my mouth, dunno wat to say
So embarassing ...

kk, me also cannot go to ur place. going to my home country for CNY. Thank's for the invitation!

serene, so sorry to hear u are on MC. Feeling better already? Think recently a lot of ppl fall sick. Must be the weather lah ...

so u gals already giving ang pow???

I'm back from my wedding!! Though the day was very tiring but i truly enjoy it! Hope i could replay the whole day!!!

I'll be going to Cairns for my honeymoon next thursday!!

Yi - Wishing you a blissful marriage!! Enjoy your day!!