(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Alysandra,

I understand what you mean. My friend was also attracted by the price and the things that they offer. However, at the end of the day, she top up like mad for practically everything and the price she paid for is already enough to go to those designer boutique.

I would recommend u to take a look at Jawn happy ever after for so far they offered very beautiful gowns at very reasonable prices and they are very friendly and not hard-selling. They are offering ttheir MTM packages starting from $3888 with photography. So maybe you can take a look.

AA,

Flamingo gowns were ok and Shirley herself actually does the makeup which I actually prefer professional makeup artist. However Shirley is very friendly and it is nice communicating with her.

Amanda gowns were quite nice too with a twist of difference. But I felt that she may have a bit of mood. Her gowns were nice and beautiful and it does make a statement to me.

Wedding Present. Don't quite enjoy visiting them as the designer does not even communicate with me even he is not busy and I realise that his gowns compared to the other high end boutiques does not give me the wow effect.

Silhouette. Felt that they have some ranges that look like Amanda and offer different design but the taste may differ for individual.

Bridal Veil. Felt that I cannot click with Michelle and feit that she is someone that actually tells you what you should wear. You must like crystal if you are using her as she likes to use them.

Divine. You must like divine styling in order to go to divine as they specialises in their own look(bareback and train).

Sorry, above are my own opinions to the above bridal shops. Hope I would not offend aybody.

I'm ok with meeting at the pickup point at City Hall area..I need to take the bus anyway..
so what time?
Hey, we never met Cher and Grace b4..

Cher and Grace,
maybe tell us what both of u wearing on that day..

Cher,

Since ARE also say that, I think we shall go together. You visiting Le Galleria this weekend, rite? Are you putting Flamingo and LG as priority? If not see when you free, we pay SB a vsit. Me also intend to visit Flamingo, maybe we can try this shop also, I mean negotiate a good price, heeheeheee :p. How is their photos,
well taken? How abt make up, heavy or natural?

If we choose MTM, can we try their gown? I heard some of the shop don't allow you to try even you choose OTR package. This ppl are really nasty hor!

Are,

Thank you for your advise. I really find you are very helpful. Sometimes you will advise us on the things that we are not aware. Ryan is lucky to have you. He sure got no worry one.

No haven't visit SB. How ex is their ala carte( I think you refering to MTM package issit)?
Yeh, indoor shot not taken in the bridal shop meh?

hi babbit...run over FB forum - general topics to chat!!!...

my FH is born in the year of rabbit!....

my 1st appt in Jan only....PS in May....

chose ted wu after considering bet Sihouette and divine couture too...

but DC said i'm not suitable for low backs...so i gave up DC at the end...

For TW...i find that he no longer jus do typical thread embriodery...he's got other styles...so i hope i will get designs which are "different"...

Hi Fishball,

My ground floor also got centipedes sometimes. I think this is normally the case for newly built flats. After some time, they will disappear wan. My house got ants and nothing else *touchwood* but seldom see ants anyway. My mum advised me to spray insecticide once per week in the toilets coz sometimes the insects especially cockroaches climb up from there wan.

Oh, where do u live? Hougang area? One of my tuition kids stay around serangoon jc area, so normally i take 80 there and will pass by WA. And if i go sengkang from my place, i will need to take 80 too. Today saw them put up a pink colour EG - halter neck i think. Very nice! ANd remember they put up a purple one recently? Very nice too
But dun find the WG very appealing, what do u think? Or maybe white, that's why cannot see clearly from buses.

Sunnyling,

Should I just walk in or make appointment with BZ to meet up with their ppl? Who is your coordinator? I heard Grace and Xiaopei both are good.

leo29.. aiya, u flatter me lah. if u look @ it another way, i'm real KPO!!!
juz feel tat i shd share watever info i hv lor, tat's wat tis forum is abt rite? i oso picked up a lot of things here myself mah.

abt ryan ah? sometimes he find me 2 naggy coz i worrie too much!!! hahaha... he and i so diff on tis, i super kan cheong, & he play cool. so gotta give & take always lor... else then fight it out lah!!!

replying ur qns... by ala carte i meant no package at all, i dun need photography coz i want digital. so they quote me based on the items i need, & too ex lor.

some 'studio' pics include their shopfront as well. so u cld be sitting at their counters, or against their walls, instead of juz the studio. i've seen some pics sitting by the display glass one, v nice.

tmrw hor... is 6:45 @ UE Sq... I'm meet u all at the taxi stand @ UE....

u all can meet @ city hall first then take the shuttle from city hall to UE Sq...

the shuttle pick up point is at the place outside city hall mrt where there are shuttle to go suntec etc.... look out for the shuttle dat say UE2

leo... some bridal shop even MTM they'll let u try their gown... so both u and the designer will noe wat kind of gown suits u...

agirl

can u elaborate how u notice amanda's moods swings durin ur visits???
i had engaged her service n had been askin her 2 check ard 4 corsets n she had been goin the xtra mile 2 check ard 4 mi...
veri pai seh over it!!!
she sent her brides xmas cards which i felt givin a more personal touch...

Hi cherry/carol,

TY's svc oso 'jialat'...told me tat my 1st fittin will b end Nov but he din call at all. So i decided 2 call them last wk n left a msg wif Christine 2 find out fr TY when will b my fittin. Waited few days, Christine did not get bac 2 me. So called her again tis wk on Mon, n she said Wed or Thurs so i expect them 2 call me either Wed or Thurs 2 confirm. Din hear fr them again. I did not wan2 call cos kinda frustratin 2 call again n again but cant get a definite date. i tink i dun hav much luck wif designers, 1st it was FL now TY....sighhhh.

i did check wif Daniel requestin 4 quote n portfolio via email but he only send me his quote. tink gotta post another msg on the forum 2 him again. Anyone here has any comments abt him? email me: [email protected]

yep, agree shld meet b4 Jan but when???

As for spendin, here's a list of additional spendin:
dinner - additional $5k for dessert buffet
ballroom decor - mayb another $300
gowns - additional $2400
shoes - additional $140
hubby's attire - additional $270
my younger's bro suit - additional $400
studio photography - $250
actual day photography - additional $200
*makeup/hairstylist - not sure whether i shld engage one or not yet?

*i hesitant abt engagin another makeup artiste...worried tat additional spendin n yet doesnt solve my prob. Anyone, any ideas, suggestion, advice. really at a loss of wat 2 do. Or any gd hairstylist or makeup artiste 2 recommend?

Hi Carol,

who's your makeup artiste btw?

n the price mahongany quoted u is only for nite? Reds is chargin $450 for day/nite for hair only.

sixties singer......sounds like my hairdo (1) n i noe wat u mean by female gongfu period drama character...haha

Amy's bro a hairstylist or makeup artiste? Wat's his name? my hair was done by Amy herself.

Who's taking shuttle service from city hall? Sunnyling, you takin the shuttle service? Where is the mani anyway? UE?

Hi Pinky,

Yes, same as u, SC bride. Can't comment so far as I m only meeting up w Susan in Jan for design of WG & EG. Heard fm Susan, she has new designs lately. Found her to be very professional, not pushy & just like their gowns - it gives a very different feel fm those I have seen.

I met a girl fm SC & she seems happy w their services in terms of gown design, the actual turn out, make up & photography. Oh, she is getting married in Jan.

How abt u, how was your encounter w Susan? When r u intending to go down for your gown design?

Alysandra, I agree w agirl. I like Shirley fm Flamingo, she is very nice & "no air" type as compared to the designer fm The Wedding Present. Her gowns r nice too but felt Silver Cloak's ones seems more unique. Try going down & talk to the designers & view their gowns. Make sure u r comfortable w the designers.

Hi May & SLK,

Just for your info. I paid $720 to install roller blinds in my house- 2x living room, 1x dining room, 3xbedroom. I signed up at one of those exhibitions at Expo. Have to shop around many stalls in order to find the best bargain.

hi Vodka,

oh dear, TY's svc also so bad??? then can they finish your gown in time or not??? Don't they know your wedding's next month?? so how, are you going to call them again, it's coming to mid dec already.....

As for the above, you mean you are spending on the gowns and photography on top of the package?? you guests have "kou fu" to get to have dessert buffet on top of the main meals...yum yum....did you include this into your cards?? this way they may give you a bigger ang pow?? hehe....

i guess it's best for you to get back your own hairstylist rather then sourcing for another one since you won't know whether you like their style or not, getting your own hairstylist MAY guarantee you the look that you want rite, since you had already seen what he can do for your hair....

can i get some advice from you. How did you ladies get a date for marriage? And recommendation. I actally planning to get marry eithe rend if 2003 or beginning of 2004, but do not know where to find a good date?

Hi Shook:
That curtain man is really too much. When one in tight budget, we really have to bargain for the best. Actually, i got my curtain done for a total of $700. That includes day & nite curtains for living and dinning room (full length) and only half length for master bedroom. guess i got many windows at my living room that is why cos so much. I did a double rail for my day and nite. The fabric we choose are at the price of $18 per metre. It is nicer and heavier. chose a very plain day curtains. Master bedroom got a half length and normal fabric. look liek mine is not cheap.

I think the curtain man is just trying to build up a story to scare u so u will not cancel the order with them. infact, they are really very bad. Since u have decided to put up with it, just make sure they do a good job. Dun be angry, njoy ur trip to shanghai

May: u better now? I also got eye infection a few weeks ago. is urs due to contact lens. when i told my doctor abt my eye problems. he told me cos i have sensitive nose. it is also easy for me to build up sensitivity on other part of boby. weird explaination.

hi cherry,

i'm sure he can finished my EG in time but i just hate poor customer svc n last minute work...wat if i dun like n it's too late 2 change AGAIN like FL.

ya, above r the additional on top of my pkg. i wanted a more party, relax mood n chance 2 mingle wif my guest so decided 2 replace the 1 dish dessert wif a dessert buffet, a simple 7 item buffet. Conrad's desserts r so yummy n i'm everyone will enjoy it.

Did not include in my invites....i tink makes no diff...if stingy noe oso pretend dunno...haha.

the prob is i did not try stylin wif my current stylist b4, so far only did body perm, highlights, treatment, cut .. the usual works wif him. will b able 2 make a decision 2molo cos co's D&D 2molo nite n alrdy made an appt wif my stylist.

Hihi Pausini

The thing dat boils me abt the curtain thing is bcoz the curtain supplier kept saying he charged us v v cheap px coz it is a gift fm the parents to the child (my mum brought him 2 my hse, we actually pd 4 the curtain). We have not visited any curtain supplier so no knowledge of the curtain thing. He gave us the minimum then add on to the px when we wanted more things. He said the mkt px 4 the things he supplied us is $1,300. We actually had another quotation @ $1,100 but dat incl curtain 4 the toilet in the master bedrm which tis fellow doesn't provide. He then defended himself by saying curtain mat'l is diff. I said he always use tis to defence himself. All the things he said is bull shit. A great liar.

My hubby called me last night. He said we stand on the loser end if we fight wif him in the court. The contract says once the curtain is made the buyer has to pay the full sum. He is shrewd enuff to cover his bum.

Well well, a lesson learnt. Never judge a book by the cover. He is a big bad wolf under a puppy skin.

Hihi May, Pausini

Take care of your eye. Sleep early, dun strain your eye 2 much. Drink chrysanthemum tea. It is gd 4 eye.

TGIF!!!

hey naturally, sunshine, we'r going to be neighbours ne

i'm @ P21 642...i've just collected my keys this week...

7 Dec brides, have u guys confirmed your actual day photography? gotta hurry...u know our date is so hot...benny is taken & andrew has tentative booking already...i've confirmed with ray ong last week as there's another couple who wants to comfirm too...is the couple anyone in our list? sorry ne

bobomagic, how's your friend's wedding @ InterCon? tell me more ok...

Happy Pre-anniversary to
Babydoll, Ming & Liza!!!

Here's the update
enya 02 Dec , KAI , MM
dinny 06 Dec, Graceful Image , The Oriental Hotel
jbride 07 Dec , KAI , Inter-Con
happygal 07 Dec , JLC , Amara
freesia 07 Dec , Le Galleria , Holiday Inn
Sunshine 07 Dec , BV , Beaufort
mickey 07 Dec ,Thomson Wed'g Design, CrownPrice
wendyl 07 Dec, Bridal Concept, -
Babydoll 13 Dec , - , GH
Ming 13 Dec , - , Sheraton
Liza 13 Dec , - , Raffles Town Club
piper 18 Dec , Milan , Grand Corpt
Jacq 18 Dec , Milan , Hilton
Naturally 21 Dec , Le Galleria , GH
bobomagic 21 Dec , -, Rasa Sentosa
EL 28 Dec , GHA , -
Mio 28 Dec , JLC , GH
Babyblue 28 Dec , Divine Couture , Conrad
tintin , Jawn Happy ever after , OCC
loving3377 30 Dec, Jawn Happy Ever After, -

Gd morning ladies!

Clyne... do you know where the pick up point is?
Can we meet at a prominent place at city hall...outside starbucks? what time?

Meow, Sunnyling, Cher & Grace... meet at city hall also?

hi jbride,

I am 07 dec bride,but i din book the professional photography as i have not ROM yet,cos ROM photography is engaging my FH's brother frd,have to see his work first before engaging him lor.

Wendy

sorry to reveal a bad new, I cant meet you gals 2 9 liao cos something cope up so cannot meet liao, you gals enjoy yourself 2 9. So sad cos never go to manicure b4 so think of trying, must next time liao.

Thanks for all your concern. I am back at work today. eye is much better. i am not sure how i got the infection, doc also cannot explain.

Shook: read the sales order carefully. Did it say anything like if you cancel the order, you need to bear full cost? I can understand how u feel but he really seems like a nasty guy. Dont dwell too much on it, enjoy Shanghai. Did you get some heat packs from OG to keep yourself warm. I like them very much, can put in your coat pocket and keep your hands warm.

woodstock: can you let me know the name of the shop that you did the curtain. It sounds reasonable. Do you know the cost by per foot run or per square metres? The roller binds the lady quoted me is a new one that can reflect heat and light and she says the bind is not attached to the roller by double sided tape as most of them are.

The mani is @ mohd sultan... 2nd floor of previous Orange which is now Illusion...

okie... so now 5 of us doing mani lor...ava u wanna do?.. since now sunnyling cant make it...

the pick up point is actually opposite capitol...outsite city hall MRT...

yan yan,

You can try www.waygeomancy.com or call them at 63383800 to check it out. As this shifu is quite well known so his charges is quite ex, $400. But other then selection of wedding date he also select date for An Chuan(Bed), Xia ping(I think have somemore I 4got) and tell you after married couple to be more careful on which year to prevent something happen and......., some sort like shuan ming. But brief one lah. Those he tell you are for your own good. His shop is at Fu Lu Shou building. Actually, there is many shops in Fu Lu Shou building that select wedding date. You may like to go there and have a look.

ava,
It's at the other exit of the MRT..
I can meet u outside Starbucks..Dunno the timing of the bus leh..maybe meet at 6.25pm??

Anyone else meeting at City Hall?

Amore...

oh ok
now i know where it is
thnks ;)
but i just did my nails not too long ago ;) myself you can see the disaster later ;) hee he ehe
so i won't be doing a mani
just share a meal with you all lah

CLyne ...ok i'll meet you at city hall starbucks at 6:25pm

hello gals...

sorry was not around yesterday and so many postings to read... =)

i think i shall meet u all at UE square cos i got 2 direct buses from Novena here to UE square, Bus no:54 and 143....

I will be in a black shirt.. anyway u all got my hp no rite.. i call u gals when i rearch.. should be abt the same time..

Leo 29

Sorry I miss your posting, I just walk in that time and my co-ordinator is Grace.

Yan Yan

You want to try my shifu, our family have been with her since 10+ years ago the price not expensive just give her a Ang Bao around $20 can liao if you interested leave your email here I email you her contact.

Hi Vodka and Cherry,

Vodka, my makeup artist is Jasmine. Think makeup wise it is ok, but her forte is not in hair. Yes, the Mahogany quote is for nite hairstyling only. Amy's brother is a hairstylist. He did my friend's hair after the sister did the makeup. So it was a husband, wife and brother team.

Cherry, I spent about 17k excluding wine and dinner. It was mainly on my gowns which cost around 6k, photography 3.5k, suit 1k, catering 2.5k, church invites/rental 2k, flowers and miscellaneous stuff 2k. Sometimes I do feel guilty that we are spending so much money, but then, its once in a lifetime, just dun wan to have any regrets next time.

leo29,
ok, let's pay SB a visit together. do u wanna ask your FH along? or just the two of us? I've visited
Flamingo and it seems to me that FMG is not negotiable. As for LG, their photography is
subcontracted out, just like FMG and perhaps, we can only negotiate on, maybe, the gowns
package only. I guess SB is more negiotable.

ladies,
i'll be wearing a black T. Still dont know how I should go there.. maybe by cab? still thinking..

yes 7 dec is very hot date. the photographer which i booked with, was also booked for 7 dec on the same day i paid my deposit!!!

jbride: good to see u here!!!! when would u be meeting up with kai for ur 1st appt? intercon .. my bf's fren would be having her wedding there soon, will let u know how it went later!

hi sunnyling... does your shifu do fengshui as well? me & hubby contemplating finding someone leh. but scared to be 'fleeced' or be forced to do something we dun want, like position of bed, tear down walls. then ask already dun do also dun feel gd. those pro who advertise shd be more ex rite? anyone done tis or going to do?

btw, can ask another opinion? hv you gers been to nirwana or angsana for a short weekend trip? is it gd? thinking of giving myself a break b4 i *break*. ;P

are

I dun think do fengshi leh.

I been to nirwana 3 times but my is my frd company type of bungalow with 3 bedrooms and private swimming pool. The 1st time is still exciting but come to the 3rd time nothing much to do liao we play mahjong from morning till nigh man.

sunnyling... wah, a bungalow would be nice, then can ask my frens to go. but too bad. ;P

toking abt bungalow, i'm trying to rent one at elias park for my 2nd dinner. anyone working in OCBC, CAAS, PA, or PSA can be so kind to help me book?

Hi 1027, I'm staying at high floor. I mean wen we come down to ground floor, there are the creepy crawlies like wat kk said is usual for new flats. I used to use those baits n traps, but found that spraying insecticide is more effective. Sometimes, wen I 'fumigate' my (old) place, those pests juz come out to die...

Hi kk,
me staying at P21, further fm you. Dats y I always pass by WA. Yeah, I noticed they displayed a reddish-pink EG once, but only 4 a short while. Dat material is really unique as it looks like there're 2-3 colours combined into 1, looks diff n stunning. Hmmm... m searching 4 dat kind of material liao.

Hey all (esp' 1027), do you have special request for the kind of materials for your gowns? Like chameuse/chiffon over the heavier satin/silk?

are... i went to angsana.. in bintan... went this yr Feb... monsoon season... so no much sea activities... bascially suntan, massage and swimming pool..er all charges in USD...

hmm... i oso heard b4 angsana not bad. but abt twice as ex as nirwana, so there muz be something ya? so sorrie, another qn. are the rates advertised in papers per room or per person? like if its $149 for 2 nites, & i hv 4 ppl going to stay in two rooms, how much do i pay in total? sorrie ah... really blur abt these... ;P