(2003) Brides of year 2003

hmmm..I thought I post a message but it's lost. Nevermind, my 1st appointment will be in DEC (soon). My PS is scheduled in March by Chris ling.

Are you girls going to do french mani for the wedding? French pedi too?

hi basil,

for my banquet, i only want noble house coz of the cost issue & that i really like the food there lor... so, care to share which are the bridal shops that u have shortlisted??? FIL has just fixed ROM date on 10 june 03. so, will have to shop around for ROM dress liao. i got 9 months more to my customary

hi yi,
yah, my sis went orchard yesterday. she said lots of dresses at tangs. so will go take a look. robinsons just send me a $20 voucher for their sale on wednesday. may drop by oso. i'm looking for something simple but must be long cos i got some scars above ankle level when i fell on escalator last year....

hi BHC, i tink it's ok 2 replace the si dian jin wif watch as long as both side parents dun mind. anyway, u can try 2 convince them tat it's sth more practical.

hi jady, happy birthday. wah, wat a romantic BD. dun argue wif mum, it'll make matters worse. all mums wan the best 4 their daugther.

hi yi, your preps oso 7788 alrdy. just tat our weddin is gettin closer, so naturally got more thgs 2 do. i oso sometimes oso feel tat i shld hav done alot of thgs earlier.

Hi hi all

What a warm welcome!

My wedding's on the 30th May so it's almost the last day, except there's still 31st.

My banquet will be held at The Fullerton and the bridal shop I chose is Silhouette. Just paid my deposit today. As for photographs, FH made me a very happy man by signing right away after we visited Travis at Utopia.

Nope, although my ROM is in March, it's still in old Singapore

Serene,

For me, my mum has already gone shopping with me for si dian jin. What we will do is i will pass them to my hubby before guo da li and my hubby will bring them over on guo da li itself. The money will be gotten from the groom's side. This is better lor just in case my mil buy something i dun like.. kekkee...

Mine not gold, but white gold cum diamonds. Necklace + bracelet. Already around $4K. Mum say no need earrring coz i dun wear them and no ring too coz we can use our rom rings

Hi totoro,
it the best u made appt before go down cos some shop wont allow u to try the gowns if no appt made.

I think Milan, Sliver cloak is along tanjong pager. Maybe u wan to go through the female brides or Her World brides to look at the shop at tanjong pager then give them a call to made appt.

Went Jazreel Low before with my fren. Like the gowns but not the photo. BTW i have tight budget so i think is too ex for me.

01 Nov - Are, Antz, Cher, Okeanosmao, Grace
02 Nov - Furlin, Padre, Nov bride, little rabbit, Josephine, Icy
08 Nov - Bombom, Feb, Ava, TCC, Happy
14 Nov - Sunnyling, Meow, novlkf22
15 Nov - Clyne,Cocopopzz, Twinklets
22 Nov - Putise Baby
23 Nov - Leo29
25 Nov - Edde
27 Nov - Akira
28 Nov - Amore
29 Nov - Melody
30 Nov - Sweetie, wind2000

Kia Hiang is at Kim Tian that's Jalan Bukit Merah. Just in front of my flat which i used to stay there 10yrs ago.

Thanks for everyone's concern. I've choose my ROM dress finally. Dun know how to describe to everyone. Maybe when i have photos i'll show eveyone ok?

Okean, i've sent you a pretty long mail take your time and read. Dun miss me again ok? Can think of Pin Hsiang located at RELC building. A bit inaceesible lor. Then can think of dragon gate lor. My sis just hold her wedding there last saturday. Then can also try QianXi Farrer Park. But still do read my mail hor. Those other details you want can ask me to show you tomorrow night lor. Me will be avaliable.

Akira and Grace, please check your mails again. You should receive your copy now. Sorry for the delays.

Ava,
Dun scare me leh. Me very paiseh one. Wait the carpet led me to the toilet instead. Haha.

\

thanks alot. I am finally doing some stuff..will be going to scout for my wedding boutique this fri..heehee...hopefully can decide everything in 2 weeks time ;o)
wow u all went for PS liao..
really fast man!

Wow, we have 2 new brides joining us.

Hello kare2711 & Coca: Nice having both of u here!

Coca: Can share with us the date of yr wedding, venue of yr banquet & bridal shop? Jazz is helping to compile the May 03 list for us.

Jazz: Thank you so much!!

Cat: I've seen my friend's wedding album by Montage (Eng Howe right?). Very nice & natural. Also seen Utopia's work at BV, they are very good too. So I think you've a tough decision to make. Previously, I've headache deciding between Chris Ling & Kim. After looking @ tons of albums, decided on Chris Ling. If you are not in a rush to let Flamingo know yr choice photographer, would advise you to look @ their work more to decide.

Peabrain72: Me not tall lah! Actually I'm very short and petite, only 155cm. I told Michelle I want something that will make me look 'longer' because my FH is 183cm. So Michelle said that the halter neck & the V-neckline will give the illusion of height. Yes, I took a few pixs to show my FH but they din turn out well. My face appeared very 'white' because of the lightings. There's nothing to be done between now & next appt, just need to think thru what I want for the design of my gown. Some of the gowns are really heavy esp the full duchess satin ones, u will definitely have fun during the session.

hi gers
*chloewinkie peeping in*

I was actually planning for my wedding in oct 2004... now seems like i may need to bring it forward to nov 2003...and am i glad to see this thread...can I join in with your discussion??

I a bit anxious now... do you gers think it's too rush to start preparing for next nov wedding?? I kinda anxious now coz i was actually planning to take my time to prepare for 2004 instead...

Thanks so muchie!!

hi chloe,
welcome!! u seems familiar,in fbo?
which date of nov u've set? me 1st but they say almost baquets booked for tat day liao..ROMed already?

Hi okeanosmao n chloewinkie,
Welcome here.
Well I guess as everyone else had mentioned, ur got to b fast in the banquet bookings especially those fall on hot dates.

Leo29, to share wif u ... I actually neber thot of both Intercontinental and Orchard Hotel. Personally neber experience Intercontinental before but heard that the food there not very nice ... so not worth paying so much right? As 4 Orchard Hotel ... been there before ... but the place a little cramp n dun like pillars in the ballroom ... food mah ... ok loh (not so particular for me). Hee ... ... so how? Have u decided or do u have any other choice?

*GATHERING*
Date: 29th Nov
Meeting Time : 6.30-6.45pm
Venue : B.Boss, Istana Park
Name book under: Melody

Attendence :
- amore (bring ROM photos)
- meow
- twinklets
- sweetie (bring ROM photos)
- sunnyling (bring ROM photos)
- leo29
- ava
- novlkf22
- littleRabbit (bring ROM photos)
- wind2000
- Clyne
- Akira
- Cher

Err... bad news, I cannot make it to this gathering...sorrie... I will be watching "Singing in the Rain" with my hubby and some friends. Kinda last minute decision.

Join you gals next time...ok?

Welcome okeanosmao n chloewinkie!

oke,
I think you can try Concorde, the black hotel... its price is in the 500+ range... check it out...

hi morning gals.....

wenn - yah... i think my mum is quite alright with swopping the si-dian-jin to a watch. not sure abt my MIL. apparently she doesn't even know about such a tradition for teochews... and anyway, she's not buying for me, so i'm not asking her.

wenn & yi - so any tips to share with us for the preps?? any early preparation to avoid any last minutes??

hi morning ladies
i'm back at work! :P

hi chloewinkie,
welcome welcome to nov03 brides

hi okeanosmao n chloewinkie,
jus like to add on to yr restuarant list. perhaps u can try Qianxi at Marina South. They have no booking yet for 1 Nov. But for 2Nov, they are out. To add on, 1&2 Nov for Qianxi at Farrer Pk is out too. Their menu price range from $348-498 and food is nice (that's what i heard from my FH)

hi leo29,
my colleague told me that intercon is not nice becos of the back scene where we can those old shop houses as the couple march in. it kind of spoilt the overall atmosphere. another problem is the difficulty in finding parking lots at bugis.

as for orchard hotel, i heard that the food is not bad.

Hi trinity03

Me doing french mani for PS and wedding day. Not doing pedi cos my shoes are covered.

Wld like some comments - do u think i shd bring my shoes along when trying out EG/WG? I hv bought the shoes and my EG/WG will be ready to be tried (for the 1st time) on 4th Jan. PS on 13th Jan. Do u all think i shd?

I still hv not managed to lose weight

Hi Serene

Mine's just the opposite of yours....I'm a Teochew and hubby's dad is Hokkien....Think nowadays most people will buy white gold and diamond jewellery instead of gold jewellery....Good that your MIL already started buying for you....

As for me, still no mention of si dian jing from MIL leh....but my mum will get me diamond jewellery as dowry next year....

Hi kk
Your arrangement very good leh....hope i can also get to choose my si dian jing...

Btw, where did you gals get your jewellery from??

morning gals
12261.gif
!

wow so many newcomers & so many posting for me to read!!

Welcome cloewinkie!
12262.gif
(your nick so cute!!)

Ava, thanks! btw, wat's the red carpet thing?? huh hah?
12263.gif

Sweetie,
u not coming too ah? so sad...

have fun in your show, & must join us next time hor??

twink|ets ~

Hi Chloewinkie

Welcome to our thread, you want to join us for gathering this Friday? Maybe you could email us your detail.

Okeanosmao

Ya you can try qianxi at Marine South heard their package is not bad include free flow of beer and hard liq. I might be book Concorde Hotel for my banquet too it the 1 located at Havelock Road all Glass look from outside think is known as Glass Hotel last time. The weekend rate is 650+ (forgot the rate but is more than $650 but no free flow of beer). But you must book earlier cos heard from the co-ordinator alot of book for next november liao.

Sweetie

So sad you cant join us that mean we got lesser ppl liao.

Hi abrinas,
since u already bought ur shoe u can bring along and try.

Look like most of u MTM ur gowns. Mine is OTR so quite relax. My PS on 30th Dec. Hope by then the weather is good.

meow... good to hear dat u selected ur ROM dress liao.... definitely will look mei mei on dat day...

chloewinkie... welcome on board!... not rush lah.. think it's best ur booked banquet first... bridal and others still can book later... but actual day phototgrapher... depends on which day of nov... and who is the photographer...

sweetie... join us next time ok?...

leo... my personal opinion...
orchard.. abit out... take MRT liao still need to walk quite sometime leh.... been there beary long time ago... think 8 or 9 yrs back... so cant rem the food...
inter-con.. was one of my shortlisted hotel... er food leh... cant comment nebber try... but heard it's nice... and oni one wedding a day... i find the price abit on the high side and it's +++... so if next yr GST 5%.. then quite high leh?

sunnyling... u oso habent book banquet ah???..oh deen notice is the nov bride list... my cuz had hers there... the ballroom beary big...

abrinas,

pls bring your shoes aling when u try your WG/EG so that the designer can see for herself if the length of your gowns go with the shoes.

Let's pray for good weather for dec and Jan but chances are it will be rainy season...hehe i put my half outdoor PS at mid Feb!Good Luck!

hi wenn,

yap, you shd take a day leave during weekdays to shop at orchard rather than weekends coz itz real crowded! ;p

same as me, also got lotsa of scars and bruises on my leg wan! I brusied easily though! ;p

hi vodka,

my preps not 7788 yet leh, only settle si dian jin only! but i have called your wine contact and will be fixing a date for wine-tasting. Thank You!

hi bhc,

I think vodka can tell you more abt preps for wedding coz her preps more or less settled liao whereas me still clueless what can be done! hehehe

Hi Coca, welcome! welcome!

Jazz : Yes I was in the Flamingo Thread. Saw u there liao.

Sue : Thanks, most likely we will choose Montage (yah, Eng Howe). Everybody is singing praises of them. Bet they must be really good.

littlerabbit,
Thanks for your info. Actually this 2 hotel was not shortlisted originally but I got no choice those hotel I want already taken up. Leave out those pillar ballroom and those ballroom that I don't like, this are the only 2 left. Did you remember wrongly? Orchard hotel got no pillar lei. But you are right, their foyer is quite cramp. Often guest attend the wrong wedding cocktail. Inter-Con food,I think they improve already. Get very good compliment from a couple, this forum who hold their wedding there early this mth, said food and service are good.

Welcome Chloe.

Cher,
Thanks for the info. Yah lor, the 2 things that you mention came across my mind also. Atmosphere is OH better. But what littlerabbit said was true their foyer is very cramp. Anyway I can taste OH food this Dec 5 becos my frd is holding their wedding there but it's too late for me to make a decision.

Amore

I had tentatively confirm with them but havent make up my mind so I dun worry cos they have block the date for me liao. Ya think can hold 46 table but I only had 30 tables so it a bit big for me but bigger it better than cramp. I heard that their food is from Xin Cuisine and I have try the food from the restaurant and It good so sort of confirm them because of the food. I really like Xin Cuisine Tim Sum It nice and fresh and my friend they like it also.

Hi Abrinas,

Yeah, better to bring shoes along for fitting so that they can alter the length accordingly.

BTW, are you gals buying different shoes for WG and EG or wearing the same for both? One of my frez bought a silver pair to match both....guess that's more economical!

i will not do any mani till PS or the big is near coz using fingers to something everyday ... personally find tt a bit of wasting $$ to do so early lor coz it will go off easily .. as for pedi... i dun mind doing ...

abrinas,
i tink they will be very happy if u bring ur shoes along.. but do rem to bring another pair of low heels or flatties if ur shoes hv very high heels...
... at least ur legs can rest for a while

pooh,
where's universal studio huh?

u still a few wks to lose a bit ... *wink*

beibei,
tink i will try to arrange PS in feb too .. the ppl there very scared coz after CNY .. sure put on weight .. {\biggrin} but dun care lah .. .

joyful,
im also thinking abt tt .. getting 1 shoe for the whole event..coz usually tt pair of shoes we will not get to wear it so often or at all after the big day right ?

have anyone ever thought of custom made their shoes?

hi BHC,
i'm not getting married till sep 03. so still got quite some time away. i've only booked the banquet, bridal, car & actual day photographer.. my ROM will only be on 10 june... so still got alot of things yet to be done...

although only my mum is teochew, my dad asked for si dian jin. he said preferably in gold and must wear all when i return home for the tea ceremony.... my FIL said ok to si dian jin but i dunno wat he will get for me...

hi yi,
yah, may take an afternoon off either this week or next, since i still got leave to clear

Morning girls,
Welcome chloewinkie

Can sent the detials to me? Yeah do join us for our friday meeting. Dun worry lor. We never meet each other before lor. Do go look for your banquet first then maybe your photographer then your bridal. Try to act fast liao. There's a lot of Nov 1st brides still can't find their ideal venue yet.

Please sent your details to me [email protected]
Details :
1) Nickname
2) Real Name
3) Birthday (DD/MM/YY)
4) ROM Date
5) Actual Day
6) Venue of Banquet
7) Email address
8) New Home Location
9) Contact Nos
10) Name of bridal

Morning everyone.

Vin: Thanks for the contact on sofa. I will go check it out. Going to Marina Square one of these day to check out OM home package. It was advertise on Sat that their home package is 4K.

Sue: wow, your FH very tall leh... i am 1.67 and my hubby only 1.72... i cannot wear too high a heels for the wedding shoes. Went to Substance yesterday and saw a pair of wedding shoes - beaded. Quite nice and it was not too high - only S$75++. Think i will go back to buy it.
I also agree that halter neck will make u look tall. Your PS is in April, u must make sure that the photographer has enough time to do your album. Mine is on 14 March and i think my mtm gowns may be ready next month. Fast hor. The designer says that she wants it done before CNY.

Pausini: U are not the only one. I also got lots of things have not buy. The big items like sofa, bedframe, TV and most furniture. I bought my fridge thou - the samsung one at $999.
Really, wednesday got sale at Robinson? Good, i think i will go buy the quilt then. I have been looking around and i think i should take advantage of Robinson's sale.
I am planning to buy the down and feather mix quilt. Not cotton or polyester.
As for cooking wok, must buy so expensive one ah? I dunno which to buy either.

Jan: i cant really remember how much the JR pass cost. I tot it was S$ 200 ++. I guess it is very useful if you plan to travel alot. Dont forget to try the ramen in Japan. They are very nice. I miss them very much. What we do is we go to the vending machine and just select one button (dont understand anyway) and have the order. It is quite fun becoz u never know what u have order. But they are all v yummy.

Coca, cat , kare: welcome to the may brides' family...

joyful,

Me having one pair of silver shoes for both WG/EG!!!think it is morep practical....cos if buy one white shoes foe WG..hardly wear after wedding....

totoro,

PLEASE give us the formula!!!!! I want to lose weight!!!!

hi wenn,

same here. also have 3 days annual leave to clear b4 end of the year and then bring forward this year's 19 days leave to next year so next year gonna have 39 days annual leave and 3 days marriage leave lor.

me tend to take off days as i also have over 20 days of off not yet cleared!
Hiaz! Luckily off days can bring forward to next year.

think i would be taking my leave in dec so as to settle wedding preps liao! ;p

glad that your FIL is buying you your si dian jin!

btw, as for the wedding travel mag, i saw it at the ikea mama shop also no cd so i never buy coz dun wanna lugi. hehehe

tonite, me gog with hubby to merchant court for dinner buffet to celebrate our birthday which is tomoro!

this sat also gog shopping with my mum to buy her clothes for my wedding dinner. me real scared to go orchard or suntec liao coz of the crowd so hopefully my mum can get something she likes at albert court OG which is within walking distance from my place.

I actually hv 2 pairs
. FH says shd hv 1 pair to match EG tt's why 2 pairs. Anyway he's paying.

Totoro
Formula pleasessseee!! Beibei is want to lose weight, for me is must lose weight!!

Agree with pucca75, definitely will put on more weight CNY so my PS is in Jan but hopefully won't rain. Thanks Pucca for reminding me to bring along a pair of flats. My FH quite tall so my heels are quite high too, ard 2-2.5". If walk ard whole day, my legs will break.

Afternoon gals,

How's lunch??

Ya hor, today kinda quiet... all reserve for friday liao..
Think i'm gog to bring some loudspeaker along tat day. kaka..

Leo,
so how's ur trip? Where u went?

Meow,
thanks for the list. Now we got 21 gals on the list!! Seem like every week we'll have the increment ..
.. haha if only our salary can increase like tat...

twink|ets ~

hi jady,

thanks you so much for your well-wishes!
hehe, just having a normal dinner today lah!
me off tomoro so that hubby can go change his car headlights which is my birthday present to him!

hello all,

yes, our may brides family is growing! a big and warm welcome to those who just join us.

May:i went to website but the price was 28,300 yen. after i convert, works out to be about SGD$400 each. too expensive for me. plus i will only be there for a short visit so think i will skip the pass. ramen is one of my favourite food of japan too. very yummy. like to eat from shinjuku, they have many ramen stores.

Jazz: i don't have pc at home so cannot try your method lor. sigh. anyway, i cut down alot on communications this time round. hope that the bill will not be hugh when he comes back. sigh.

Shook: we try to split the bill so that both of us not so siong. even after splitting also big hole in pocket. terrible!

Vin: one more month to go and it's your big day! very excited for you. how are things on your side? furniture etc all done?

Pauisini: me too. i haven't even got my bed and mattress. die die i will get my furniture by Dec. if not have to spend 2% more. all add up can be quite a sum. sigh. was still hoping for Govt to defer the gst hike how come no news. is it confirm that come 1st Jan 03, gst will be 5% already. i thought i heard people saying that will be in 2 phases. any news? can share with me?

Sue: you same height as me. my evening gown will be a halter too. hopefully wont' make me look short and plump because already now still got the weight problem. i tried to eat less already but like no help leh. sigh.