(2003) Brides of year 2003

hello! this thread has been quite inactive huh?
everyone out for x'mas shopping?
i took the mrt to town yesterday, but there was a 15min delay, so EVERYONE thronged the buses. It was sooo crowded !!
I thot i had finished w my shopping until i realised that i left 1 person out. Today must go cheong again at lunch time.

been busy yesterday and today looking for a videographer. need to get 1 for my sister's wedding and mine. wah, the price range is huge! some quoted me $2k+, some <$1k. meeting up with one of them tom night .... price was ok and i felt comfortable talking to him. Hopefully his works are just as good!

anyone of you here confirmed your videographer yet?

been missing frm here many days liao..boy, so tired..countdown 2 days for ROM..bit nervous..finally settle everything 2day..tmr bz day for me liao...

hey amore,
u r in kl now ah? i will be going kl on jan 5. which part r u in?

sunnyling,
easy one to do.. but can only put one pic.. will probably link to another website that can put more pics..

okeanosmao:
hee, relaz hor.. can't wait ro see your ROM pics.

congrats okeanosmao!!!
dun be too nervous ya?? ;P

guess everybody are buzy with their preps! it's another 2 weeks' to Jan now......so fast hor...

anyway, updates,

Hubby invites for colleagues sent already, still have frens ones....almost written all already, intend to send to frens this weekend or next week and for helpers will pass to them when we meet them up......the most headache part is my hubby haven even got his ex-classmates names for me...arrghhh.....

anyway, this week did nothing much.....going to have a trial make up on boxing day.....and shld be sending out all invites by next week and start doing RSVPs then....hiaz...seems that i'm very slow hor?? i still have to prepare for my photoshoot now...

one more thing is that we'd cancelled our booking to Sydney coz we reckon that it'll be very expensive (run out of budget already).....if we extend to melbourne ourselves and play all the things that we want to play but then if we don't do it, it's a waste of time and money to go there.....so we've decided to go on a short trip only ....any ideas girls?? we want to confirm and book by this saturday....
btw, where are you heading for the honeymoon?

Hi 1027

I'm also looking for a videographer. Any recommendation? So far, how many videographers u met? Ray Ong, my actual day photographer had recommended one to me but I have not arranged to meet him up.

Now busy searching my WG &amp; EG designs. I have no idea what i want[sigh].

ava.. hehe thanks!.. will really take good care of myself...

okeanosmao.. yup at KL now... staying in a hotel call Crown Princess @ Ampang... one station (LRT) away from KLCC...LRT is same as our MRT... where will u be staying when u are here?... congrats in advance... eh excited huh....

meow... dunno leh... gotta check... so far 4 days here hor... nebber been to anywhere oni KLCC... everynite stay in hotel rm... there have a few HUGE shopping centres... two famous one are KLCC and Mid valley...

here diff from singapore... traffic always jam... so go where, even nearby oso take time...was thinking dunno shld stay here for New year countdown... hotel near petronas twin tower.. shld be nice with fire works and all...

Amore

Did you go Pertaling Street? there got sell alot of cheap good for barging like singapore basai malam and got nice claypot rice to makan but must queue cos everytime alot of ppl but see if you lucky maybe no ppl. Go to Sungei Wang for shopping cos the thing there is cheaper than KLCC.

Hi fish ball,
22 oct is a good date. Like what you say, 22/10 is really good cos we will also be having long weekend. As far as i know, sec and jc exams will end by then. Not sure about pri sch. (i teacher mah..heehee
) so a bit scared. 24 /10 better day for us (according to chinese thinkgy) anyway... will throw dies to confirm (must be the unbeatables fever!!) heehee.. joking..

Hi 1027,
you started doing your gown already? how long b4 the day should the gown and photos be done? wanted to start but bridal boutique say can wait til jan or feb.

To all.. have a good hols...

Okean,

Harharhar! Another Mrs coming up. Relax urself if not you look stiff when taking photos. Your ROM sat rite? Why tomorrow start busy liao. What you preparing?

Amore,
Are you sad to spend the new year in KL? Are you alone or have colleagues with you? I find KL things getting more and more ex. Some of it even more ex then singapore. There is a shopping centre call Sungei Wong/Wang(I can't remember), similar to Far East shops. If free, can go there shop shop. Should be able to get some cheap stuff there.

Ava,
My Friend ask me to visit Magaret Brides. From the list get to know you sign up with them. Can I have some feedback from you?

Meow,
Putise_baby have signed up with Silver Lining. Maybe you can record it in your list first.

Me and Cher going to visit Seletar Broadway 2nite. Hope can get a good package from them. Any bad comment on this shop?

poki2412, are u getting married on 24 Dec? This year or next? i called my photographer to recommend some videographers to me (at least there won't be a clash of styles!). In his list, he included Fabian Lim (on the SB website), Wedding TV (also on the website) and some others (i've not contacted them yet...). Think i may go with Fabian, but i'll decide only after we've met to view his portfolio.

Hi oct-bride-to-be, looks like you've more or less decided on the date, no? Once decided, must quickly place deposit at the rest / hotel to chope the place, just in case its in demand by others as well.

regarding my gown, i haven't done anything ever since i placed my deposit. I have nothing of it other than a receipt and a rough sketch of how the gown will look like. Jan / Feb? That's just round the corner !!! Oh no .... i need to diet more now!!

i think i will settle with Orchard Parade Hotel after hearing your comments... my hubby will be very happy to hear this cos he will save $ and dun have to forefit the deposit.

anyone love nest around sembawang? my love nest is there but pretty far from MRT about 20 mins walking distance... : ( just got my reno loan settled and now waiting for the bank to release the cheque before the reno started.

SLK : 23th is very high. my is only 7th floor, i already told my hubby that i will not do any hanging for the laundry! i afraid of height. anyway high also good cos it much windy and beautiful sight.

anyone start visit beauty salon for facial and hair salon for treatment?

Hi All!!

Okea!
CONGRATS!
keep on SMILING
gd practice ;)

Meow...
thnks for the email info

Leo...
Margaret is a nice lady to work with... she will definately take care of you.
She takes great pride in her work

Like most designers when you first meet her she can be a little eccentric

but later she's really nice

I'm glad to get my WG from her.
As i'm doing a la carte... the other stuff is from all over!

Bottom line is, you must be comfortable with the people who will be working to make you look gorgeous on your wedding day !

Amore

GOOD!
don't come back to S'pore too skinny! ('cos of stress)

hi 1027

don't talk about weight. no time to exercise... feel like settling everything by june so got 4 months buffer jst in case something hapens to gown or photos or ...

Hi 1027

Me also looking for videographer.....i've just confirmed actual day photography with greymatterphotography....

Which videographer are you meeting?? Do share with us his quotes and his portfolio.....thanks!!

sunnyling... eh maybe went to pertaling street on sunday went i flew in for dinner.... sungei wang habent been there yet... think will go there one of these days... anyway i still have abt 2mth+ here...

leo... not sad lah... last time study in australia oso abt the same....3rd day of chinese new yr fly to aussie liao....and i can come back... if come back most prob take two days leave.. coz i oni can come back once a week... so if i were to come back for new yr after new yr come back kl.. then i weekend cannot go back... so it's either i stay here on wed and go back sat.... or go back on tuesday nite... then take two days leave either 30/31 dec or 2/3 Jan...will see how... maybe hubby coming...

ava... hehe okie... but think i will not loose weight leh... maybe gain weight coz food here cheaper leh!...will eat more!.. and working in kl notso stressful compared to SIN!...

Hallo gals

Confirmed designs liao, bustier with sweet heart neckline for WG and spaghetti strap v-neck neckline for EG
Was undecided between sweetheart and straight cut neckline for WG, though confirmed still contemplating change
sigh...

Sue and SLK... posted details of my session in the BV thread, don't want to bore everyone here so check it out.

SLK... Oops, pie say, got all mixed up, blur me. Hey, 23rd storey, that's very high, will be windy, good views too! Not very familiar with the west, actually have no idea where senja is

meekoo... you going for treatment? Don't think I'll be going. For facial will DIY with SK2 mask

Jan... if she irritates you too much and you're at boiling point, just imagine her face to be a 'xiong mao' or swine or whatever character that will make you laugh

Just to update everyone, I've postponed my PS to 19/3.

meekoo: who did you engage to do your reno? how abt your loan? which bank did u get it from? i am now sourcing for reno stuff.

i've been going to the same beautician for years.

I'm also a Oct bride. Wedding date - 26 Oct 2003. Juz curious
, where did you get the date, 24 Dec??

Care to share with us his rates?? I'm still thinking whether to have the highlights during the dinner.

You have confirmed your WG &amp; EG designs oredi? if yes that's fast, good for you. I still ve no idea what i want. Need to confirm the designs by end of this mth.

Hi Pong pong and all june brides..

after all the search...heehee..
i finally decided to go for dang...think they are very good and i finally sign the package aleli.
one load off my mind. heehee..

to think of it i went to many boutiques jazreel low, kai, yvoone creation, ted wu, emaunel, paris bride, jawn etc....finallly decide on dang!!

hee..anyone need any advice on this boutique can let me know..

Hi poki

Oh, i thot you were a different poki from the one fr the oct brides list ... the list is just "poki" instead of "poki2412"

2412 - so i gathered 24 dec lor .... my apologies!

Fabian is having an offer now (on SB website):
"SingaporeBrides card holders will further receive a free DVD of the actual day wedding footage (valid only for bookings made on or before 31st December 02). "

In his website, it's indicated $688 for whole day coverage , no surcharge for church wedding (which most other videographers charge).

In my serach for videographers, i learnt that they need min 4 hours to do the highlights of the day if you want to show it during dinner. Some videographers say 6hours even.

The highlights also cost more, typically $300 and above.

Yah, i confirmed the designs of both my WG and EG on my 1st visit to the boutique. I more or less knew what i wanted right fr the beginning, so it made things alot easier.

blissz, maybe u want to ask your actual day photographer to recommend u some. I asked CH for a list and worked from there. At least the videographer and photographer both know each other.... no clash of styles, u know what i mean ...

will tell u my opinion of his portfolios on monday (no PC yet!)

totoro,

can share with me the package price of those that U had been to??

cos i can see those are quite costly packages leh...

hi all, seems like it's time for an updated list, no? Welcome to all who juz joined us!

1. 1027, 04 Oct, Swissotel, Xristos, Actual day: Choon Huat (Fast Soup Photography), Jurong West

2. HF, 26 Oct, Oriental, not settled yet

3. kk, 26 Oct, Qianxi (Farrer Park), Wedding Affairs (Previous Fame Bridal), Rivervale@ Sengkang

4. Serene, 24 Oct, Holiday Inn Parkview, Paris (at Tanjong Pagar), Compassvale Crescent@SengKang

5. fishball, 17 Oct, Concorde, In Wedding, P21

6. lorraine,26 Oct, Le Meridien, Jawn Happy-ever- after &amp; City bridal (photography)

7. Jady, 4th Oct Customary &amp; 5th Oct banquet &amp; solemnization. Hilton, Jazreel Low Bridal, Sembawang

8. blissz, 30 Oct, The Fullerton, Ted Wu n Montage Studios, Rivervale Crest@Sengkang

9. poki, 26 Oct, Hotel Inter-Continental, Amanda Lee Weddings, Utopia, P21

10. Piggy, 4 Oct, Noble House, bridal not decided yet, CCK

11. leafy, 4 Oct, Qianxi, Bridal Zone, Queenstown

12. poki2412, 26 Oct, ??

pls update...

fishball, err ... i think they're the same people lah...

nevertheless, thanks for digging up the list. need to refresh my memory on who's who in this thread!

mini poll: have u all decided on where to go for honeymoon yet?

i think i should be quite broke after the wedding, so i'll prob settle for Perth or some beach resort for approx 4-6 days ...

i'm only afraid that there's nothing to do at night, which my hub and i will both find boring ...

else where too broke, cannot afford. =(

yup signed up liao ....alamak...ald taken indoor and half outdoor shots liao mah..

just want to know their various package if convenient.... thanks!

i think they categorised into 2 types of boutiques in my conclusion, higher end type which means like designers gown and photographers..and the other will be classified as full package means everything include cars and pic (cheaper type)

cheaper type
1.jazreel low,anna is real friendly but the gown not very appealing..

2. paris bride(very forceful, dun like)

3.yvonne creation- yvoone very friendly but pic not good

higher end
1.kai,($6600 if u use TG goh and chirs ling) too exp for me..

2. emanuel ...ok but their gown like very small and common

3.jawn, ok. but somehow they didn't appeal to me

4. ted wu (if u really like embrobery) well i dun really like.

5. Dang....

In the end i chose DAng.

i like their gown a lot ..really nice and thir pic is somewhat i like..andrew choi..

and my pakcage is 4488..so far i am very happy with them..
give them a call ..

thanks everyone!!
oh..now i'm sick for few days liao..keep coughing n voice abit hoarse liao..fh still joke if on sat when say i do, halfway coughing...then v malu wan..haha..

will try to scan pics after tat..my fren is my photographer..hee..

amore,
shld be going genting then cm down to shop on kl. got alot of things to buy..midvalley will shop till u v v tired..oh u stay near klcc..hmm..i always stay near lot 10..go chiong places nearer..hee..

oops..got to go bk liao..tata..

hi SLK

my hubby is interior designer so he is doing all the designing.

check out reno loan from OCBC and UOB pretty reasonable rate compared to DBS / SCB and CITIBANK. But note they are pretty slow in processing and disbursement of the Loan.

Can visit the their website and apply online.

Hi Vin

Beauty inspiration is it expensive? did u sign up for any package?

Hi Peabrain72

Is the SK2 mark expensive? Ard how much? Is it good? I have dark circle....

Leo29,
Ok, i've added that to the list. Will sent to everyone again when a new bride join us ok?

Okean,
Take care hor. Remember to drink more water hor.

Hi Nicloe,
I have just booked my ROM gown from WL. So far, everything is okay. In fact the gown that I have chosen doesn't fit me and the designer offered to alter for me (to expand a bit). I have tried some big gowns too and the designer told me that it doesn't suit me. Don't worry, I think they will not force you to choose a gown that cannot fit you. I took their $3388 package.

HI Meekoo,

I sign up the package. Emm.. reasonable price lor. You can check out. They got promotion every mth. You can try their first trial treatment, 30% off of their normal price.

hi meow,
thanks.. =) will take care..

amore, too..take care over there..there alot of places that u can go..cheap things to buy too..dun go lot10 n tangs over there..things not cheap..

Hi 1027,

Me and my hubby have talked about honeymoon. May not even have time to go

But then if there is a chance to go, we would perhaps choose to go to Australia, maybe gold coast which i went before but not my hubby, Perth (but i see the iti quite boring leh), Melborne, etc. There was even one time when we decided to go for China instead.. hahaha... but since it is the end of the year, not that appropriate to go to China lor.

Hi poki2412,

Wow, u are confirming ur designs soon? So just like 1027, u two start pretty early

I am still waiting for feb 03 to come. My bridal shop asked me to go after CNY. But pretty anxious leh, can't seem to wait till feb 03.. kekekee...

Hi Oct-bride-to-be,

I will be having PS in end June. So that leaves me a 4 mth buffer. I think still have to wait till Aug then the album will be ready. And i have to cut into VCD too. So the timeframe is just right. After which still got to settle other things like guo da li, an chuang, etc.

I have no time to exercise too. Sometimes just plain laziness.. hahaha... well, but seems like i have lost 3 kgs over the past few months, just the weight seem to become stagnant already. Guess i won't be able to reduce anymore without exercise.

hi neko

okie thanks a lot .. i think maybe tis comin sat or wat then i go down n see. Which outlet u went to har ?

hi 1027

we have also talked about our honeymoon but no concrete plans yet.....probably going Canada...I've been there but not hubby...the Canadian Rockies is simply awesome....or maybe planning to go Europe....just worried that it may be too cold at that time of the year.....

Hi kk

tink i may be the last one to start designing my gown....my 1st appt is in Mar and PS in July....how I wish I can start earlier....sigh....

HI Meekoo,

Me have "guo da li".. It's depends on what your parents ask from the groom family and what they ask from your family as well.

hello...
me oso sick. was on Mc yesterday.. this morning came back so many postings..

amore, have fun in kl.. and take care of yrself yah..

leo29 n cher,
so how was the bridal shop that u all went?

okean,
congrats...

Fishball

Yup, poki and poki2412 is the same person. Sorry for the confusion caused.

The Updated List:-

1. 1027, 04 Oct, Swissotel, Xristos, Actual day: Choon Huat (Fast Soup Photography), Jurong West

2. HF, 26 Oct, Oriental, not settled yet

3. kk, 26 Oct, Qianxi (Farrer Park), Wedding Affairs (Previous Fame Bridal), Rivervale@ Sengkang

4. Serene, 24 Oct, Holiday Inn Parkview, Paris (at Tanjong Pagar), Compassvale Crescent@SengKang

5. fishball, 17 Oct, Concorde, In Wedding, P21

6. lorraine,26 Oct, Le Meridien, Jawn Happy-ever- after &amp; City bridal (photography)

7. Jady, 4th Oct Customary &amp; 5th Oct banquet &amp; solemnization. Hilton, Jazreel Low Bridal, Sembawang

8. blissz, 30 Oct, The Fullerton, Ted Wu n Montage Studios, Rivervale Crest@Sengkang

9. poki, 26 Oct, Hotel Inter-Continental, Amanda Lee Weddings, Utopia, P21

10. Piggy, 4 Oct, Noble House, bridal not decided yet, CCK

11. leafy, 4 Oct, Qianxi, Bridal Zone, Queenstown

Same here. Think we shld be quite broke after the wedding and renovation so we may settle for some beach resorts.

kk

I have to confirm my WG &amp; EG designs by end of this mth but I still dun have any idea what i want. [sigh]

U know flowee rite? She's my tong xiang. We have the same surname and also in the same dialet group. If I'm not wrong, you gals are staying few blks away.

Hi kk, Australia is nice! Perth is alittle boring indeed, that's why i'm also alittle hesitant. Will def go free &amp; easy.
China - nah, not for me .

kk, i'm quite well travelled in melb. If you like some info, i can send you an email.

Blissz, wow Cananda is nice!!! My original plan was to go US and Canada, but Oct is neither here nor there i feel ... i would love to see US &amp; cananda at christmas but Oct is too early. The weather would also have turned cold by then ... imagine carrying all that winter wear + my tonnes of shopping back !!

Will still want to visit canada and US one day. U must tell me more after your trip!

Poki, amanda lee used to be from silhouette right?
maybe you can get her to give you some ideas on the 2 gowns?
i also had no idea what to wear for my EG until my designer sketched 2 designs that may fit me, and i took an instant liking to 1 of them!

Hi Meekoo

There're 2 types of SKII Mask, one is the whitening while the other is Treatment. I'm currently using the Treatment Mask, it costs $120 for 6 pack, actually quite ex but heard it's good so try lor
Think there's a new one specially for the eyes, yet to check it out.

You can also buy individual piece, it's $26 I think. It's very rich and after feels very shiok, face also very smooth