(2003) Brides of year 2003

Dunno if you're interested ... i got a King size storage bed with Slumberland mattress all for $2600 (i bargained for them to throw in a mattress protector, 2 pillows and 2 bolsters FOC).

I was also looking at Simmons initially, but my sis was telling me that becoz the simmons mattress it thicker than the usual 9", she had to buy special bedsheets (eg Sheridan who has 10" or 13" depth bedsheets) that cost her alot more.

Eg those mattresses that come with a pillow top are alot more comfortable, but the bedsheet set will also cost more !

Typically, only Sheridan & King Koil have 10" - 13" depth bedsheets, and its easily $100+ for just the flat sheets.

Robinsons also has some other brands that may be deep enough to accomodate, but they sure cost an arm and a leg....so i'm quite happy with my long run cost savings with my slumberland bed!

I got another idea.
Anyone have been to B.Boss? Its just opposite Plaza Singapura. Food to me is not bad. Nice environment and not too expenive.

Hey, today not monday leh, how come also so quiet?

Hi Blissz,

Actually my master bedroom not big, once the king size bed put in, minimal walking space left.. hahaha.. but we like a king size bed, so by hook or by crook have to get one.. kekeeke... more space and comfy mah.

Hahah..good good, get together. When are u getting urs? Depend on ur an chuang date. Have u got a date for it? I can't remember mine :P

Hi 1027,

yah, i heard the thickness of simmons is thicker than rest of the brands. But i heard there are various thickness too. Got thin one also. Depends on the comfort level of individuals. Some prefer the thinner ones, some prefer the thicker ones.

Hi BHC,

welcome to the thread!

For me, my mother and I have gone shopping and bought some white gold cum diamond for si dian jin. What happens is that we will put them in the si dian jin box and ask my hubby to bring back and he will bring over on guo da li. Money will eventually get from hubby's side. I feel this is better for me coz it will avoid the situation that what my mil getting from me i dun like. As far as i know, our tastes are different.

hullo gals
11851.gif
!

Yup lor, why today also so quiet?

Shall we make this place noisy again ... ??

Ehh.. so any conclusion for the dinner venue? Hmmmmm .. headache hor..
11852.gif

twink|ets ~

(1) Rice Table
(2) B.Boss
(3) Jap Buffet @ Marina (tonikichi or something..)
(4) Marche

Anymore suggestions?

Let's have some poll? how abt it?

twink|ets : 1-4, anything is fine.

kk, not sure what kinda thickness Simmons mattresses have to offer, but i the standard thickness of most mattresses & bedsheets is 9".

hahahahaha, i fully understand what u mean !!!
i HAD to buy a king size coz whenever we go travelling and kenah a queen bed, either one of us will fall off !!

Me...
Still having monday blues...tuesday ;)

Yep have been to B. Boss... but since it's Dec...rainy season.. weather unpredictable...
;)better have a place under cover
unless B. Boss inside is big enough to accomodate us all?

After reading the msgs, i saw a suggesstion for Marche...
may i suggest we go to Marche? more choice for everyone's differing taste buds?
either at Suntec or Heereen?
I can be there earlier to make a reservation so we don't need to worry abt getting a place?

Wht time are we meeting?

hi ya... my vote

(1) Rice Table ==> onz
(2) B.Boss ==> onz

(3) Jap Buffet @ Marina ==> not so onz coz will need to keep getting food, hard to tok leh... ;P
(4) Marche ==> always v noisy coz of open concept kitchen, hard to tok too... ;P

Amore...
oh yeah...I know which one you're talking abt...
yep there's not too bad also... just across fm Somerset MRT.

Will they take a reservation if we are there earlier?

Ladies, I'm fine with anything

hi kk....thanks..

well, i guess my hub would be the one paying the si-dian-jin, if i follow your method. my MIL thinks i'm not good enough to look after his son.... guess she thinks she is the best... she is just unwilling to let go, that's y everytime she sees me, she is never very friendly beyond the hi-bye situation!

anyway, not complaining too much. just hope to find out who buys the si-dian-jin. thanks ya.

Hi kk
Me actually tot of getting now since got promotions but hubby prefer to get it next year...anyway,we've not even gotten our bed yet...hehe

Not too sure about my an chuang date....must ask MIL 1st.....maybe getting during GSS next year...hope they have better promotions then.... What about you??

Hi 1027
Thanks for sharing.....Btw, where did you get your bed and mattress??

that one at centrept is market place rite? din noe its still open. agree theres less ppl there, but is the food as good as marche? i agree that marche has more variety...

in this case, shall we juz decide on marche? but which one, suntec or heeren?

Yup, think Amore's suggestion pretty good. That 1 is alike Marche - more like a cosy "card-foodcourt". Lesser pple too,i think? We can have our dinner there, lotsa choices of food & cheaper. If we wanna have kopi there, we can stay there, if not, we can proceed somewhere for kopi.
How abt tat?

Btw, amore, wat's the name of this place?

Hmm.. see the rate we deciding hor.. think until this Dec also cant confirm any venue..
heee...

twink|ets ~

Pausini: No. it is not me. Guess my nick very common..hee...

Sue: No problem ... if u r going to Tokyo let me know. I strongly encourage you to ...it is a wonderful place and it is not as expensive as we think it is. I shop at outlet centers, bought stuff like GAP clothes, nike shoes, 100 yen stores drove me crazy.

Jan: I will email you the detail for the photographer and the info on Japan. No need to ski to go to the place. Actually you cannot go to the ski slopes but u can walk around the resort. There are lots of snow there. very nice. it is about 1 hr away from Tokyo via the shinkensen (bullet train) but it is worth it. It is easier to go then Mt Fuji. Hakone is also very nice but i did not go. Me and hubby cover on our own Osaka, Kyoto and Tokyo. We bought the JR pass and travel via the rail which was cheaper and u see alot. Alot of walking but very fun.
Tokyo will be very cold in Dec. Good luck, u need full winter wear - thermal, winter coat, gloves etc.

Shook: yes, u must bargain like crazy everywhere in Shanghai. Actually,i quite stupid...initally, only bargain 40%. After a few days, after my bargaining skill improve...wah...slash like crazy. The shawls there so cheap...i bought alot to give away. Also, the more u buy the more bargaining power u got. I had three pieces of bags after shopping there. So worried that SQ will charge me for the extra baggages.
$400 very expensive for the coat. I wouldnt spend that kind of money. I think for $100 + u can get one nice coat in Zara or Mango. Then u go buy thermal wear can liao.
Go Takashimaya to check out Zara, there is also a Mango store there. The biggest Mango is at Shaw and Suntec, i think. Happy shopping.

Are...

yeah..... market place !

hee hee hee yeah not sure if it's still there... it's now called Market Square... but i think it's a food court.

suntec = smaller but less pple?
heeren = bigger but more pple

maybe suntec one better?

yaya market place in centerpoint... some concept as Marche... but food leh... okie lah....

twinklets...

hahah
yeah
but it's normal lah
esep when it's the first time and the grp is not sm

i'll be busy soon... so ladies
hope we'll have a conclusion before Nov 29 ;) hee eh ehee

enjoy the rest of the day!

Got my slumberland at some exhibition.
I think it could have been somewhat cheaper coz i didn't check around v much. Didn't even find out whether they were on promotion or not.

Just thot the price was reasonable, and i decided to buy already.

Contact AJ Wong at Ideal Beddings Centre (they're the S'pore distributor for Slumberland) at 6748 3686.

Actually can reserve B.Boss before we go one. Think can accomodate at least 10 of us inside.

Marche, queue a bit long leh. remember last time my FH wants to bring me there to eat. But the queue is too long, so we drop the idea. So till now i've never been to Marche. My friends comments that the food is a bit ex leh.

Rice table is also fine with me too. But still i like B.Boss.

Hi Yi,
Thought the brother and ah yi ang bao is given by the parents when they accompany us?

Getting a little confused here....

Since you are doing the guest list, why not try to arrange your guests according to tables of 10 or in the respective groups (eg colleagues, relatives...)? i did mine this way, so guest list more of less is my seating arrangement loh
Just need to re-arrange them after my RSVP ;p

Hi Vodka,
Men are like that one...usually dun like to plan things. Whereas we like to note down everything

My hubby also find the 'updating' very troublesome.

Hi Fluffy,
You are looking for venue decor for your hotel? i have called a few florists for my church decor and most of them offer package deals which is quite ex. Ended up getting decor from florist at market and stage backdrop from Stefii's.

Hihi Jan
Wat a coincidence, I m going to Shanghai in the 3rd week of Dec.
I oso dunno wat to get. I already got an overcoat, a turtle neck, a few pullover and scarf.
Wow, u n Sue can go ard together when both of ur hubby r working or 4 of u go ard together.

Hihi Vin
Thx 4 the info. I used to window shop last time when I wz staying in town area. After I shifted to Pasir Ris become moutain turtle liao. Only shop in the East. Oso, now go kara ok wif friends than shopping. My hubby wz v surprised when he went shopping wif me initially. He said I shop shop but dun buy.
. I used to buy n buy until I shifted hse. My cousin who helped to shift the stuff commented I got the most stuff n heavy some more. Oso a big problem when unpacking. So, fm then on, I control myself, try not to buy things dat I won't use.

Hihi May
Thx 4 ur advice.

hi kk mei,

hubby oso saves better than me. he own a car yet can save more than me monthly.
think i'm a spendthrift and just cannot stop myself from buying. u know hor, there are times where i bought clothes and put it in the wardrobe and forget abt it so months later, bring out either too big liao or dun really like liao and thus give it away. waste rite! think i really need to discipline myself!

so far, my MIL never say anything abt having to change the mattress though. ;p
keeping my fingers crossed, but i think whether is it new or not doesn't make much difference rite?
we would just flip the mattress and an chuang lor. hehehe

hi BHC,

i'm a teochew too. by right, si dian jin should be bought by MIL although our own mum would also get us something for our wedding.

sad to hear that things are bad between u and MIL but looks on the bright side as long as hubby loves you can liao rite?

Hi Blissz,

yah lor, me also thinking of getting during GSS next year. Robinsons have great offer for simmons brand in that period. That time i popped by and seem to be a great deal. The lady also tell us not to buy so early. Since we only need it next year, we might as well get it when the time comes.

Hi BHC,

Why would ur mil think that way? Is there misunderstanding in any way? Well, over so many years, there are always problems between DIL and MIL. So dun take it too hard
I guess a lot are facing the problem, just that we do not put it explicitly.

Hi Yi Jie,

hahaha..flip the bed over and an chuang? kekekekee.. very interesting.. aiyah, a lot of things are only traditions and hearsay, as long as we dun mind can already. Sometimes these traditions very lei cheh wan.

Now i refrain myself from buying clothes, except during new year season. But i dun know what to buy also for next year CNY. CNY very near actually - 1st Feb!! I already thinking how to decorate my place up.. hahaha...

hi Yi & kk... yeh... it's just that wheat never he & his mum quarrel, i will not interfere. at times it's cos of me. she just 'FEEL' that i'm not good for his son. no reason, just her intuition, she said looking at my 'pampered' look, sure not a good wife!!! **SIGN** does look really say everything??

anyway, his mum already feels that i have 'won'the battle by snatching his son away from her.. cos she feels that his son dotes on me too much...

actually, my hubby's relation with her mum was never good, even bef i know him. however he hopes me & her could live harmoniously if one day we are to stay together. or at least we should communicate more. but everytime i called her when i go to her place, she is that type 'bo chap' attitude!! very difficult to please her!!!
and i'm also that type loh, if you are being unfriendly with me, y should i be so hypocrite to make her happy??? that's y i give up liao, if there's nothing, i usu. don't want to say much!!

Hello All

Aiyoo...think i miss out alot here...

Is it you are having dinner on 29Nov har..Think me cannot make it leh..Maybe next time...Enjoy yourself...

Hi Hong,

Yes, parents hav to giv our bros n sis ang paos but we, the newly weds, nn to show our appreciation to our helpers too. Some pp buy gifts but i tink most will giv ang pows w/c symbolise blessings.

so long din come in liao. Wenn, Great! so sweet of you to compile the list, and u staying jur west too!
11869.gif

Neko, u changed date ah..hmm i can replace u then hee..no ah just kidding
11870.gif

Anyhw, here's mine.
Coolcitrusbasil, 4/9, InterContinental Singapore, still sourcing, JW
Faye, 4/9
Wei, 4/9
JL, 6/9
Sep03, 6/9, Four Seasons Hotel, Ted Wu, Chris Ling, Tampines
SJ, 6/9
Peachcooler, 6/9 Hotel Rendezvous, ???, Ang Mo Kio
Smartie, 6/9
Sweetsuz, 6/9
Mspiggy, 8/9
Neko, 8/9 , Grand Hyatt, White Link, Yishun
Flowee, 10/9 , Noble House, Amanda Lee n Utopia, Sengkang
AA, 13/9, Grand Copthorne Waterfront, Still Shopping, Town area resale
Babylove, 13/9 Mandain Orchard, Bridal Zone, Bukit Panjang
Pacific, 13/9
Lilac, 14/9
Blurydoey, 17/9
Bless, 17/9
Ling, 20/9
Juju, 20/9
Hazel, 20/9
OscarJSCS, 20/9
Maro, 20/9
Angel, 20/9
Bijou, 20&21/9
Aigee, 25/9
Wenn, 26/9, Noble House, J&C Bridal, Jurong West
Jojok, 27/9
Leaf, 27/9

I did a compilation of ang pows to give and found I have to budget about $800. wow! that's a lot of money. What's more i've only based on minimum amount that we are giving like ah yi and brother $20 if those driving $38, also photographer and wedding car driver and makeup artiste $10 each. How ah....

really wish to give our helpers more money but very cash strapped.

kk mei,

ya lor, flip the mattress over and an chuang lor if my MIL dun mind coz we dun mind too! hehehe

ya hor, CNY just a week after my wedding so gotta hunt for new year clothes first b4 by then busy with wedding forget to buy. hehehe Excuses for shopping again! :P

but i love x'mas more although i'm not a christian coz i love the shopping mood and x'mas songs! hehehe

hi BHC,

understand how u feel.
tatz how my ex bf's mother treats me initially too coz hez afraid tat he wun be able to concentrate on his studies with a gf so whenever i call late, even though my ex bf not asleep yet, she will say hez asleep liao. so sad!

but slowly, she begin to accept me and treat me and even address me as her daughter-in-law to others, but eventually we broke off though.
guess the most important thing is your hubby loves you rite?

dun let this matter affect your relationship with your hubby coz itz not worth it.
are you gog to stay with her after marriage?

hi hong,

yap, vodka is right, besides what our parents and PIL will be giving to the brothers and ah yis, we as the wedding couple need to give too.

hi daffy,

I think tat the norm liao.
I budgetted abt S$1k for the actual day ang bao though.
what to do, hubby wants 6 brothers and 6 ah yis!

Hi 1027
Thanks for the contact!! will check it out....

Hi kk
OIC....ok lah, so we get it together during GSS next year then....

hi yi... i luv christmas too... it feels so peaceful and everyone is especially nice to everyone.

well, i will not be staying with my MIL after marriage, but his parents & siblings are just staying opp. the road to our flat. i have already laid 'rules' that his mum cannot come anytime she fancies... at least she must let us know in advance!!

heard too many 'horror' stories from a gf that her mil will pop by her place anytime and sees what she's doing, & if she is not doing the right thing, would attempt to teach her!!! gosh... i thot if that is my home, we should be able to do wat we deemed right.

i understand the older generation usu. have their way of doing things, and we also have our way, so in order not to 'clash' our ideas, better to reduce our 'interaction', if not the one suffering is my hubby - sandwiched between us!!!

hi Coolcitrusbasil,

dun mention it

i'm staying in tampines now but will be moving into FH's resale flat at jurong west ave 1, next to the canal. the block is not blocked, so it is quite windy... scenary-wise, got the jurong pool, chinese garden & mrt. can say it is a long-distance relationship....

so which part of jw do u live?

Hi kk & blissz,

then we can all get together during GSS. my an-chuan date is in sept 03.
also buying king size though my fiance & i not say very big size but i'm used to sleeping on king bed alone since many yrs bk.

kk, my new flat in Sembawang,fiance staying in yishun, i staying in Aljunied. & u in sengkang.
maybe i'll drop by yr place alone 1 day to see see look look, then i can go flowee's house too!
then we can all go coffee...:p

patrick quoted me 3800 for 20ft walk in wardrobe c/w bi-fold door in laminate finishing.
& my haulage=850, hdb permit fee=290!

hi 1027,
the date ar...ok lor..cos we booked the date w restaurant v early...wana get this thing behind our back first before we occupied ourselves w the reno.....

hi kk,
u had Fame as ur bridal...how is it huh?..me wanted to drop by in the shop sometime, but heard that it moved liao...u living in tamp?..me oso le...kekeke...me have living in the east since birth..but will be moving to the west, CCK after marriage...a new change for me!

Hubby and I got ourselves a King size bed oso...cos we two v big size type...if dun get king size, i sure kana kicked down the bed by my hubby one...kekeke...

We ordered our bed at unisprings industries, IMM...2th floor...Decide for it rather fast as both of us love the bedframe v much...with Sys Leather at the back..can lie down comfortably to do my reading...hehe....and affordable too...frame plus the mattress at $2049(w GST)...Joe (a rather attentive and sincere sales, suspect he's the boss) offered to give us 2 mattress protectors...but not the pillows as he feels that we shld get our pillows ourselves...diff ppl, diff preferences ma, which i agreed la...he's giving us lifetime warranty for both items...mattress brand never heard before one..."PrinceBed" from UK, he said v old brand in UK, bed frame imported from Aust, v solid wood..hubby even bang on the layer of wood hard hard...kekeke.....hubby lie on it, even makes rolling here and there...he loves it v much!

Another consideration for u la, gals! me not sales person from there hor..Can drop by if u happened to be there! ask for Joe lor...he makes us v convinced lor...but we havent got our bed yet la...no regrets as at to date...will tell u more if we got them to deliver in dec.....

aiya... one more person can't join us, feb muz join us next time k? but dun wait until feb hor...

so the current count now is :

can : amore, meow, twinklets, sweetie, sunnyling, leo29, ava, novlkf22, littlerabbit, wind2002

can't : bombom, antz, putise baby, feb

maybe : clyne

hope i din miss anyone out?

i think din is a tie between marche and b.boss, and deciding factor is the reservation.

ava... can you make a reservation @ marche? i tot the last time i was there, they will oni let us in when all in the grp are there, so it was quite messy cos the crowd is real thick on friday nites. think we shd meet abt 7.30pm?

hi daffy,

Thks for ur to-do list. Usin urs as a template, I'd incorporated a to-do list into my "Wedding Workbook" w/c includes other workshts on budget/expense, helpers' duties/roles, ang pows list, bros n sis programme sheet, contacts.

hi yi,

thks for ur help, finally completed my ang pow list, nearly $1.3k cos alot of bros, ah yees.

makeup - $18
photographer - $18
open car door - $38
gatekeepers (ah yees) - $299
cousins (not married) n nephews - $12
helpers (bro n ah yees) - $28
videographer (fren doin FOC) - $108
driver (may not nn if hubby drives himself) - $68
emcee - $68

Hi blissz,
My sis got her Simmons bed at one of the Exhibition outside Carrefour

Wow..you gals sure know a lot abt bed..I just bgt cos I like the bed very much..the bed frame is leather..abit like sofa ..can rest there and watch TV or read newspaper

Hmm..didn't tot abt the usage of mattress cover for different depth of bed...think I better check it out..

Hi Jady
Think my an chuang should be abt the same time too...ok, we can all get together then....hehe

Hi serene
Thanks!! Will check out Carrefour

yah really long distance r/s hee. quite tiring for the journey right? Ave 1, i roughly know where you stay liao from what u described. i live further up, almost the end of west zone near jurong point haa. so hows ur preparation coming along? hmm u have settled on ur bridal and banquet. good good, always better to start early, last min thingy might just go haye-wired

hi are .. marche heeren only take reservation for more than 15 pax, other than that, it would be first come first serve basis and for marche suntec, they don't take reservation at all .. well, you don't have to wait for all and go in together, you can just inform the waitress or waiter, and bring the late comers in at the entrance when they arrived ... this is what i normally do cos my frens always late .. really feel dissapointed that i can't join .. enjoy your dinner ya gals ...