(2003) Brides of year 2003

hi sunnyling,
me oso wld like to c yr pics..me cant attend the gathering so can email me? [email protected]

hi amore/are,

me most prob wld hv 35 tables.list not finalised yet.both fh n i v bz lor, he wif his work, i wif my work n exams. so got to wait after exams this week then i can go search for restaurants.anyone know of nice restaurants in central area, accessible easily? oh ask u all, do u all book wif 1 nite stay @hotel?

hi yi,

thanks for info, wah, so early go & q. must take leave liao. try to efile 1st. if got problems then go & q. curious to know, where did u get ur ROM dress?

okeanosmao.... tung lok have a few in town ard... beside noble hse they have one @ orchard parade, club chinois... and another one @ taka imperium chinese dinner.. so can try... most hotel banquet come with one nite stay in hotel... not so sure abt restaurants... but i do noe suntec have 1 nite stay at ritz i think... and dragon pearl or something @ taka have 1 nite stay at mandarin singapore...

hi wenn,

ya lor, coz mil got the date from a shifu so die die must rom on that date as hubby dun wanna wait another 2 months. ;p

we actually reach there at 6am plus, i sleep inside the car while hubby wait and for thegate to open and take q number lor. hehehe

we took leave just to book the date then go back home and sleep. hehehe

o, i got my rom dress at ck tang. but later got another dress at metro coz the one i bought at ck tang too big even after alteration. hehehe itz a simple dress actually.
u can try ck tang if you are getting one coz quite alot there.

hihi all

good afternoon. i jus woke up..hehheee, but dont envy me huh cos i'm sick today

Hi okeanosmao,
Welcome to Nov 03 brides

hi vodka,

ya lor, think we wld make order oncewe confirm how many boxes.
to date, still not sure how many boxes to order leh!

hi cherry,

miss u leh!
so long never "hear" from you! ;p
hope you are fine.

pucca 75,
I went to 2places ...the Labrodor Park we will shoot with Fullerton in Feb.

No lah no extra charge since it is Heaven's will that it rained mah...so I just have to gown in Feb to take Labrodor and Fullerton!

hi okeanosmao

I sent sent the pic to you liao, kindly check your mail.

hello those gals already ROM pls bring your photos to share leh so we got more topic to discuss.

Hi Joyful

Thanks for the advice. Will get church to write letter for me when the time comes.

From the list, seems like Kiroro is the first on the line, followed by Beibei. Taddess & Pucca75 are on the same day. How nice!!

Hi Beibei
Glad u enjoyed your PS. Too bad it drizzled but do treat the drizzling as a shower of blessings.
So nice to know another Virgo. We Virgorians are supposed to be both Kiasu and kan cheong!!

Hi Totoro

Sorry, do not know of any bridal shops along Tanjong Pagar. As for the time taken for the 1st meeting, it all depends. Some people very fast cos they already hv either a design in mind and shop just hv to find a design close to the design and make alterations after or they can look ard the bridal shop and was attracted by a particular EG/WG. Without anything in mind, some can take up 1/2 day. I took 4 hrs to choose a suitable shade even with design in mind.

Just 2-cents worth of advice - do try on the colours first before deciding, be it WG/EG. Sometimes, u might think that the colour will look nice on u but after trying, it might not at all.

hi Yi,

aiyah, me lost heart to post much already after what happen....hiaz...

i also have not confirm how many boxes of cakes i'm getting, my mum has requested for roast pig on my actual day, also haven source yet...

okeanosmao... that's quite a lot of tables, so i think a lot of restaurants are out for you also. i had probs even tho my number was 28. i will go back and look thru my notes and let you know which restaurant you dun have to go ask liao. other things you need to decide b4 you speak to them is do you have a rough budget per table? does it have to be in town? the kind of food you want?

but i agree you shd finish your exams first. i oso threw things aside coz its really hard to concentrate when both are juz as demanding!!

cher... wat happened? cold? think half of singapore down with flu man... i so scared to be sick, dun want to look ugly for my ROM next week leh... then i treat ppl eat i oso can't eat, somemore buffet!!!

take care!!

hi are
i have fever and soar throat, think i'm too heaty liao.

hmm...no wonder my boss asked if i have flu when i called this am to inform him that i was sick..k

think you gotta drink lotsa of water and eat more fruits while try to avoid those heaty food and tidbits. better to be safe than sorry huh

oh oh..like tat so cham..gotta buck up liao..wah, so stressful leh..are, thanks! tell me which one i can cross out..
we prefer town area cos relatives u know lah..place not accessible they will complain..food not nice oso compain..hard to please leh..

sunnyling,
hv rec'd yr mail..but yet to c the pics.

meow jiejie,
where r u???

Totoro,
We went to about 11 bridal shops in all before deciding. On average, if they let you try the gowns, you should allow 45 minutes each. Call for an appointment first. Not every place will let you try their gowns. And many will hard-sell you. Beware.

You should look into the bridal boutiques thread of this forum before you go, and shortlist a few. Tanjong Pagar is just full of them. It's along Tanjong Pagar Rd, not far from Maxwell Rd market. Some are in the street behind Tg Pagar too. They occupy those restored conservation shophouses.

Along Tg Pagar, we went to Julia Wedding News (hard-sell), La Galleria and a few others I cannot remember the names already. Make an appointment for better service.

Hi are

Better drink more water to avoid sick you know I totally lost my voice 1 week before my ROM me so panic drink so much water, eat fruit, drink honey, even drink "liang Cha" which I hate most I try all method, then my rom date manage to recovery better but still cant speak loud so my friend say cant hear the vote I say. Somemore they keep call me and laugh at me during the period when I lost my voice so bad.

grace... ya, quite excited now. last few weeks still ok coz was busi with class, but today last class liao, so start to feel the anticipation.

cher... shd feel the same as me very soon rite?
i know of this 'potion', v gd for sore throat one. you go to those yao chai dian, & ask for 'ooh mei w bees', they shd noe. its a bit gross cos you can see the bees (black ones) floating, but the drink is so gd, you prob can talk by tmr. and its oni a dollar a pack i think. cheap and v effective, always my lifesaver.

okeanosomao.. i noe wat u mean, we also planned the din w our complain-some relatives in mind, which is why i have a separate din for frens, so at least i can enjoy myself.

sigh... my hubby also keep bugging me to eat fruits, vege, drink water... but i dun like all these!!! hehehe... me ultra super one, i can survive on 1 cup of water per day, or juz the fluids in the food i eat.

Sunnyling and Amore,
Thanks for the details. I think I should not have problem getting there.

Can someone give me advise. I'm so confuse now whether to book Orchard Hotel or Inter-Continental.
For Inter-continental,
Pro :
1) Menu : Better
2) Table Serving : 1 to 1
3) Location : Got MRT
Con :
1) Ballroom : Not cosy.
2) Price : Ex by $68/table
3) Carpark : Jam. Share with shopping centre

For Orchard Htl
Pro :
1) Menu : Nt so gd
2) Table Serving : 2 to 3
3) Location : No MRT
Con :
1) Ballroom : Cosy.
2) Price : Cheaper by $68/table
3) Carpark : Htl own carpark. No problems.

Actually 80% already make up my mind to book with Orchard htl but got feedback that Ochard hotel service is quite bad. Quite a nos of incident happen during the wedding like topple of champagne glass, waitress fall down during presentation.... On the other hand I got very good compliments from a newly wedded coupon who just hold their wedding 2 weeks ago.

Anyone recently attend any wedding dinner at above mention 2 hotel. Can give comment?

Hi leo29

I attend dinner in Orchard Hotel (but years back) But I could remember the food is quite nice leh. It is one of the hotel which I could remember that the food is nice

sunnyling... muz be too excited for your ROM lah!!!

leo29... i've never attended any wedding at both places, but i dun really fancy inter-con coz its in bugis. its really impossible to get a cab from bugis from 9pm onwards, and i'm 'fraid your guests will prob have to call or wait till mid-nite. personal experience coz i used to work there.

i think most ppl will take cabs to weddings to remain 'pretty pretty', so me and hubby decided tat the 'getting hm' convenience part is more impt, coz late liao mah, and drunk somemore?

yar .. better hope we dun have such "oriental" fotos ah ... hahaahha .. think i better dun b so terrible laff at other ppl, later me also got silly fotos!!!

how come thread so quiet these days ah??? where is everyone???

hello Ladies!

Wow
we have more newbies
WELCOME!

Twinklets

ok np
i'll call on Thurs and FRi ;) hee he he ;) to confirm when we expand

and yes... definately PRAY!!! no rain!!!

Sunnyling,
thnks for helping to update the attendance list
it'll help me a lots when thurs comes so that i can call and confirm our rsvp at B.Boss

Are,
sad sad you won't be able to make it...
have fun though!
we will be waiting to hear your stories after the night out!

And Sunnyling is right ;) must take care ah
don't panic

Meow,
Hear from you tomorrow
i think we can try to find red carpet ;)
Twinklets right? ;) he ehe ehe

Attendence :
- amore (bring ROM photos)
- meow
- twinklets
- sweetie (bring ROM photos)
- sunnyling (bring ROM photos)
- leo29
- ava
- novlkf22
- littleRabbit
- wind2000
- Clyne
- Akira
- Cher

according to my SIL, tunglok's restaurants fully booked for 1st n 2nd nov liao...

she working in tunglok..die liao lah..duno how???

totoro,
i've only know tts Julia Wedding News n Paris .. then rest im not so sure liao..these are the bridal shops which my frens went to...

okeanosmao,

Maybe u can try other restaurants..If u dun mind the location, the food at the chinese restaurant at Grassroot club(something like that) at Yio Chu Kang is very good..My sis held her wedding abt 2 years ago and everyone said the food's very good.. Personally, I felt that it's the best wedding dinner I ever had..

I din choose there cos I dun want to follow my sister lah..

akeonosmao, how abt considering hotels instead of restaurants since Tong Lok's restaurants also not cheap on weekend.. at least not when I was hunting around. at the Imperium, price quoted was the same as a 5-star hotel and you prob have to spend extra to deco the place.. deco a bit sparse, judging from the pics.

amore, went to the Marriott show.. the desserts were good...thinking of whether to pay extra to change to a Western dessert platter next year. we also 'reserved' b4 the show but paid during so as to get the $30 discount + free flow beer... any savings will come in handy since we'll prob have to spend a bomb on wine and hard liquor cos lots of our frens nd colleagues drink

Hi cherry n yi,

Wat u can do is tentatively book the min. no. of boxes required by cake shop e.g. Savoury Fare requires at least 20boxes. Once u confirm, then call them 2 change the no. of boxes.

for roast pig, i'm gettin mine fr Ubi, $38.

me will choose restaurants, budget between $550-$600. dun think i will choose hotels..cos ex..n imperium chinese is out lor..cos too ex liao? my SIL called the sales manager and he said tat day v popular..so alot of places booked liao..tok to my fh b4, yio chu kang he dun wan..so no choice loh..actually tot ochard country club wan..but its at yishun..so out liao..
doesn't wan to choose otani's restaurant as well as orient ocean cos fh's cousin n sisters all invite there..so i kinda of special thing.

Hi Yi and Cherry

I also just bought my jewellery for GDL. Hubby paid for a pair of gold bangles. MIL said dun have any for my GDL but she bought a pair of diamond earrings for tea ceremony. I felt so heartache as a pair of gold bangles cost him $410 (he's on budget). But I felt happy because got present mah. hee...

Hi Vodka I think I will order my cakes around mid Dec 02 for my GDL on 5 Jan 03. We have decided to order butter cake from Prima Deli at $5.85 per cake.

okeonosmao.. wat abt long jiang @ crown prince? i think there's also a li bai @ sheraton. these 2, sure got hotel stay one...

Hi Serene

Think si dian jing is given if the bride or groom is a Teochew. Yes, it will be given to us during the guo da li and consists of four types of jewellery. Btw, are you a Teochew??

What a coincidence!! My new place also in SK......do join us at the SK thread too

hi cherry,

hope tat u'll cheer up and not be so dishearten leh!
wedding coming leh, must be happy mah!
smile, my dear!

hi dap,

i wld most probably order my cakes in dec too as my GDL is on 12 jan 03.
maybe wld order from prima deli too as itz cheap and nice too!

Hi blissz,
oh..i am a hokkien but my hubby's dad is a Teochew, not sure if need to follow strictly..
is it prefer to have gold items?? Need to have all four items cos i went shopping with my MIL that day and we bgt diamond jellwery instead of gold lor..(cos I like diamond..gal's best fren)..but only got two items necklace and earrings..cost her a bomb lor..so dun think I want to ask her to get me a ring and bracelet.
U??

Yup..me staying at SK..hehee..ok..will go into the SK thread ..seeya there.

Hi Dap,

are you the Dap that I know?

Did you get to choose the diamond earrings that MIL bought for you?

My MIL likes to buy things when she goes shopping with her friends, so most of the time, my views are not consulted. But luckily my sidianjin looks ok cos they were chosen by the sales gal.

Hi Sue, sounds like you had fun on your 1st app. Did you take any pix? I'm sure you look good. 2nd app only in Jan? Nothing to be done in between? Should take the halter neck if you look good, not many people can take the design. Will be unique. You must be tall and slim to be able to take halter neck