(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi TLC,

oic, as for my mil, i think she quite understanding though.
she has asked for a set of my love nest keys but hubby has not given her coz i think we still prefer to be informed of when shez coming over.

glad tat you understand tat your hubby wld be sandwiched inbetween coz they can be quite pitiful at times having to pacify both sides. ;p

just be happy tat you wouldn't have to stay with your mil after wedding. hehehe
agree with wat u say abt lesser interaction to prevent conflict since the both of you can't see eye to eye.

hi vodka,

wow, 1.3k alot hor!

how many brothers and ah yees u have?
I haven't done my task list yet leh.

antz... thanx for your info. its ok lah.. there's always next time that you can join us!

gals... guess marche wun be a prob if ava can go over 1st and 'choop' a table for us? or are you gals more comfortable with a 'confirmed' reservation at b.boss?

either will be fine.... me going to extract my wisdom tooth today... see got MC anot... if got 2 weeks hor... i go choop the place in marche lor... want?.. if not... actually my office in UE lah... so i can go there ard 6+... so want?

if not then call b.boss and make reservation lor?

errr.. i juz realised something leh... we have not seen each other hor? then how to wait at marche har???

i think we better place a reservation lah, then everyone can juz ask for the table for eleven, booked under 'SB'???

hi sweetie! err... can't share ROM photos... but can share excitement of anticipation!

Hi BHC,

Well, there are really a lot of such unpleasantness with pple in life. So dun take it too hard. Yes, i agree, less interaction = less friction. Well, for me and mil, we are not that bad lah, but not very very very good either. I always have a feeling she is always trying to "suan" me. But as long as i know what i want and what i do is right, i won't bother lor. Why let hubby stuck in between leh? I mean, we are living together FOR LIFE, not with another party

Hi Yi Jie,

Hmm..see lah, finding excuses to go shopping again :P U bought new clothes every CNY? I will buy new clothes for CNY, and got one time i buy new clothes whole year round. hahaha.. refrain myself and no more

My mum very funny, always tell me to stop buying coz no more hangers at home.. keekekeke...

Hi Piggy,

Yes, fame has changed name to Wedding Affairs and shifted to Upper Serangoon. U know the famous Punggol Nasi Lemak and Serangoon JC? It is just at the corner of the junction. In front got one petrol station. Can be found easily

SO far so good. I only got the ROM dress from it. I have not tried the gowns. So far the service is very good, and the boss and helpers are very friendly

I am staying at paya lebar and my hubby staying at pasir ris. We decided fame because my hubby's friends say it is good.And we dun want to travel so far just to get a package.. kekeek.. so we settle with fame. Now after shifted, it is even closer to our new place at sengkang

Hi jady,

U stay at aljunied now??? I stay at paya lebar. SO near.. hahaha...

Yes, feel free to drop by. Flowee will be around too over weekends i guess

That haulage, u try to reduce with Patrick, and the HDB permit. Try to reduce to my amount. And for the carpentry, try to reduce with him. Now currently it is $190 per ft?? Try to reduce to $150 or even lower.

Hi Blissz and Jady,

Of course, we can even go shopping for beds together.. hahahaa... let's wait for the GSS then? kekeke...

Harlow gals!!

Just came back from short holidays.. cruise 3 weekends ago and then a relaxing trip to Bintan just this weekend. good break man.. did full body massages for 2 consecutive days - haven't felt this relaxed in a long time.

Confirmed my pkge with BV already - signed up with Kim as photographer.. very excited about my first apptment now.... Mae - u also BV bride hor?? share details of apptment okie?

LT n Cherubies!! How are u gals doing??

Wow...u all planning ang paos oredi?? Me hvn't even finish doing up my wedding cards!!

But i am only having one or two ah yees and me FH also going to hv one brother so mabbe not so xiong for us but I thot of giving my emcee $108. Must we give so much to the driver? Mabbe I shld start working on my ang pao list soon...I wanted to buy gifts for my ah yees...thinking it might be more meaningful.

Din know that PIL are involved in giving ang paos to our helpers too...my PIL are totally bo chap...do know if they know abt this practice...mabbe get my FH to hint hint them...

Hong-thanks...yup, it's very ex...went down to steffi's on sat...my venue decor is going to costs about $1,400 for 15 tables.

Sigh...weddings are really expensive.

cherubies

mi doin fine...

yi n kk mei

pai seh din show myself 2daz...
been buz @ work...

BHC n TLC

welcome 2 the 2003 brides...
kpo a bit which mth bride 2 b???

Hi Yi, me got 8 bros n 8 ah yees.

Hi Fluffy, me oso havent start on writin the invites cos dad havent giv me the full names of his guests. Cards printed 2 wks liao. U just reminded me tat i nn 2 get hubby 2 hint to ILs too abt the ang pows. how cum u r spendin so much on venue decor? izzit outdr?

Hi Vodka,

Yup yup...my wedding is outdoor at Alkaff. But the table centrepieces offered by them are really terrible. It's only two stalks of white orchids and a few green leaves...dun think relatives and PIL are going to like 2 white stalks of orchids... so I am getting centrepieces, reception table decor, cake and champagne table decor, rose petals confetti... flowers not cheap these days....

If it wasn't for the ambience at Alkaff, I really wldn't have signed up with them. They are very inflexible... I have argued with them over the 5% GST issue. I want to settle my entire banquet bill in Dec so that I need not pay 5% GST. And I told them that whatever extra costs incurred on my actual day, I would pay the 5% GST then. When I first spoke to them they agreed...making it sound like they are doing a big favour for me...then the other day I called up to confirm on my appt to meet them they told me that I have to pay 5% GST regardless...so upset with them. Sorri...juz had to get it off my chest...

Hi Flowee Jie,

Yoo...bluff bluff.. if u saw ur nick, u must have read thru the msgs rite? kekkeeke...

u everywhere in the forum, cannot say bad things about u coz u will see it immediately :P

coolcitrusbasil,
Hee hee, don't change the venue lar. Your choice is good too

Busy sourcing for your bridal shop now? Any particular shop in mind?

kk mei

dun say until like tat...
happened 2 c my name bein mentioned...
tats y i kpo a bit here n there...
furtheremore my gf poki n jady here 2 mah...
dun welcome mi izit???

neko, ya ya. i find it so qiao coz both of us same date and aim same hotel and know u here.
Moi happy with my choice... no worries liaozz..im happy tat Intercont. very compromising, thats impt i feel. For bridal, I quite like silhouette. what abt you? btw u like cats?

Jan, Lami International is located at both Great World City and Marina Square.

Shook, just one thing abt Shanghai (I guess it's anywhere in China), becareful when you buy the VCDs or CDs. I bought before, ganna conned by the lady in the shop (the lady refused to let me try the CD in the shop). When I checked after I reached hotel, found out that it was not the CD I was looking for, so went back to the shop for refund. The lady refused to refund and I made a lot of noise till she finally grumpily refund me the CD. *sigh* From then on, dare not anyhow buy VCDs and CDs...

Gals, won't get much chances of checking the forums in the day now... I've just shifted office, and now, I'm sitting with my back facing my managers so *sigh* have to restrict myself in surfing the website now...

Sue, do you have SLK's email address? I'm missing her email address at the moment.

Pinkbottle, are still around? I'm compiling some details for the ladies in May brides forum. Do let me know if you would like to be included in the details.

morning ladies,

went to watch 'the guru' last nite,, quite lame but farnie
however, needed some humour....

coolcitrusbasil: how u come up which such a cool name? yah lor, every journey takes up max 1.5 hours
told FH that we move back to east side in a few years time... oso have to look out for my parents mah... hee hee, u can shop @ jurong point everyday liao,,, i still have to take a bus to get there... FH place only have neighbourhood shops,,, yah lor, the impt things settled liao,,, now is just the waiting & to settle ROM date... last min thingy is wat me & FH wanna avoid as a fren recently decided to get married in 3 mths time even though he only know the gal for 4 mths... now he take bank loan from company to for WIS, reno, & settle engagement party, banquet & bridal... i say he's more or less siao

flowee: yah hor, u looked a bit familiar from ur ROM pixs,,, where u stay? i'm @ st 32... but i seldom shop at TM or CS liao as i window shop around orchard area, more convenient to meet up w FH....

hello leafy,

there're at least 3 of us already on this thread. join us !!

1. 1027, 04 Oct, Swissotel, Xristos, Actual day: Choon Huat (Fast Soup Photography), Jurong West

2. HF, 26 Oct, Oriental, not settled yet

3. kk, 26 Oct, Qianxi (Farrer Park), Wedding Affairs (Previous Fame Bridal), Rivervale @ Sengkang

4. Serene, 24 Oct, Holiday Inn Parkview, Paris (at Tanjong Pagar), Compassvale Crescent at SengKang

5. fishball, 17 Oct, Concorde, In Wedding

6. lorraine,26 Oct, Le Meridien, Jawn Happy-ever- after & City bridal ( photography)

7. Jady, 4th Oct Customary & 5th Oct banquet & solemnization. Hilton, Jazreel Low Bridal, Sembawang

8. blissz, 30 Oct, The Fullerton, Ted Wu n Montage Studios, Rivervale Crest @ Sengkang

9. poki, 26 Oct, venue not settled, Amanda Lee Weddings n Utopia, P21

10. Piggy, 4 Oct, Noble House, bridal not decided yet, CCK

Hi nite gal,

glad to hear from u again!!
wooo. holiday... yup, must relax while u can...

wow BV, yup all of us should be on our design session or searching for gowns now...

so what's the next thing on the list for you?

as for me, i just confirmed my caterer...

Hello gals

Yesterday on leave cos my sis-in-law ROM, so what's the venue for dinner? Marche or B.Boss? Both Venue fine for me. Are we going to bring our ROM Photos then? me very blur

hi morning gals.... i think will stick to using BHC as nick... sorry for any confusion.

kk & yi - thanks for being sympathetic... yeh... i'm not goig to brood over this for now. had more things to do...

flowee - my wedding's next july.

bhc = tlc???
lol...

welcome 2 the 03 threat...

hows ur weddin preparations comin along???

since ur si dian jin issue aint tat impt @ this moment of time, u can sit back n relax a bit...
dun brood over it ok...

hi flowee, cherubies, nite gal....

flowee - first appt with FL is fine, discuss briefly designs of the WG & EG. sort of finalise the 'look' of WG.

meeting him this week to see the pattern design on the bustier before he starts on the gown.

nitegal - so envious to be on holidays...... you must have had a good trip!!!!

cherubies - ya.... i'm still seeing magazines for more ideas. and am also thinking of going to boutiques like pois to get ideas on my EG.

gd mornin wenn

mi familiar mah???
been stayin in tamp 4 the past 10yrs+...
mi stayin oop temasek poly...
@ st 81...
mi also hvnt been shoppin in tamp coz since reno works end no time 4 shoppin liao...
pretti muz of cleanin up 2 do... :P

hihi 2 neko n coolcitrusbasil

morning gals!!!!
11913.gif

In this case, let's opt for B.Boss? Easier to find one another too.
Shall we wear a flower on our ears for easy recognition??!
My 1st time meeting such a big group of ladies ..
11914.gif

Those whom have ROM, pls share wif us the fotos, can?? I like to see pictures 1 ...

Amore,
U gog for wishdom tooth ah?? All the best to you!!
How muz is per extraction?? Normal or sugerical? I also thinking of gog next Jan. But no $$ leh & kinda scare of the pain.
11915.gif

twink|ets ~

Hi flowee,

Of cos welcome u lah....like wat kk said, u appear everywhere, how to say bad things abt u??haha..see, now u even in our oct03 forum..u so cute!!:p
I'm just saying if i go kk's house,i'll drop by yr house..welcm me or not?

Hi kk & piggy,

there's a 'fame' bridal at yishun too. r u talking abt the same one?

Hi kk,

wah, like that that Patrick not very honest leh..
charge me extremely high compared to yours leh.
Can i use your quotation to negotiate with him?ask yr permission 1st.

hi gals hope u dun mind i joining in..
hey I saw the list n found bless having same date as mine...
I am also living in bukit panjang n its also a resale flat.been staying there for a few mths.
wenn,
your bf friend really like rush into things,very funny....he very old liao is it?

Hi Yi and Vodka

really feeling bad now...i'm giving so little ang pow to them....sigh....must go and readjust the figure now. luckily have not given to them else really pai sei.

I've bought a necklace for each of my bridesmaid for them to wear at the dinner. Also intending to buy a tie for each brother. To keep cost down, I have reduced my ah yees and brothers to 3 persons respectively.

What hubby and I intended to do is to give our parents and parent in laws a set of ang pow so that they can give out during the wedding. We didn't want the old folks to spent money.

Hi Fluffy
my banquet centerpiece also not nice. Just 3 stalks of flowers in an ugly purple vase. yucks. We might be getting June Florist to do something about it.

hi kk mei,

i've been buying new clothes all year round actually. hehehe
just got 2 pants and a top yesterday from zara at ngee ann city. ;p
hubby dun restrict me from buying clothes coz he says i need to doll myself up while hez a uniform personnel, dun need so many clothes. so tatz y i'm spoilt.
trying very hard to curb my shopping itch these few mths leh. maybe shall stop buying for myself and instead buy x'mas presents for my nephews.

hi bhc,

tatz right, dun worry abt such things and look forward to your wedding.

btw, I'm a Jan 2003 bride. ;p

hi flowee,

ya, no msgs from u all day.
must be real busy huh.
think maybe we can meet up next week, how?

hi vodka,

u have so many brothers and ah yees ah?
i thot mine 6 alot liao! hehehe
but good to have more people sharing our joy and happiness rite? ;p

hi fluffy,

no lah, i haven't even done my tsak list just got some info from colleagueregarding angbao only.
just gave my cousin the wordings for our invitation cards and haven't even see the artwork yet! so lotsa of things not done.

oic, how come u all have to plan for ballroom setting hah? I thot the hotel shd take care of everything?

morning ladies...hee on MC today... but leh oni 2 days MC
.. thot can get more....

twink|ets... mine is oni a simple extraction... so not painful at all... not cutting... just injection then pull liao... beary simple one... so oni $50...this is top left wisdom tooth... but was told my top right one.. coz not fully grown out... need op....so better consult the dentisit first lor... hee ur dental claim anot... better go now to utilise the $$.. those need op one will be more expensive...

okie so b.boss... bring ROM photos as well?

flowee,
maybe u got the qin-qie look??? for me, i go simei or tanah merah to take mrt in the morning but coming back, will stop at tampines. more convenient... my place is just opposite st 21 & about 8 yrs old liao... my sec school gf is staying @ st 86. so, when i go her place, just take 291 all the way
btw, i oso email yi (from jan thread) time to time.

Hi amore,

Tat's consider cheap for wishdom tooth extraction hor?? U only extract 1? I got 4 to extract leh ..
11922.gif
I'm thinkg of extracting all at 1 shot .. dunno can or not.. ? i'm aiming for 1 week mc ...

Got dental claim, but think now left $80 only.. i scare of pain .. i scare of dentist .. geeshh..
11923.gif

Yi Jie,

WOW, sounds like u have a lot of clothes.. hahaha... how big is ur new wardrobe?? :P

Hi BHC,

Yes, as what flowee jie say, sit back and relax. Anything u wanna complain, can voice out here. We will lend u our listening ears

btw, I am Oct03 bride

hi blurdoey,

our fren is 29 only... me 28 liao.. i guess he scared nobody wants him coz he's quite fat. he's oso rich man son mah,,,, all of us r just scared that things would go wrong for him... he's character is the kiasu & boastful type, wants to be the 1st to do things lor...

3 months to prepare is quite short lor,,, i think the gowns need to take OTR or else no time for photoshoot... they took from sophia wedding collection,,, will see how the bride's gown looks like for their wedding b4 xmas...

personally, i told my FH that we ourselves be bf-gf 1st for 1 year then see if we wanna settle down... i oso scared of rushing into marriage w/o knowing the person well..

Hi Jady,

No no, the fame bridal at Yishun is different. I think they were once the same, but they split and there become 2 fame bridal - one in yishun and another in tampines. Now the one at tampines shifted to serangoon and change name to wedding affairs. So less confusion

Heee.. cannot say patrick is not honest lah. Actually, i dun know how he charge others. He and my brother on very good terms. And my brother give him the whole office contract to handle. Of course he has to "guan zhao" me mah. So maybe mine is exceptional cheap.. keeke..

ok, show him my quotation as the last resort. Can try to negotiate with him first, especially the carpentry works. When "ren wu ke ren", then u tell him what he has quoted me before.

hey all!!!

amore... my colleague went to the national dental clinic 2 wks ago and removed 4 in a go. the detist din give her GA, oni sedation so she was so scared... but in the end, she was ok by the 2nd day 'cept need painkillers for slight pain! she came back after 1 wk MC and kept munching all our tidbits!!! ;P

i have another fren, also 2 wks ago, went to NUH, removed 3 under GA, but face was so badly swollen that she could not tok so was on 2 wks MC!!!

i think it is really depending on individual case leh. but both went to hospital clinic/polyclinic, so can use medisave lor. 'cept have to pay for the x-ray oni...

soooo... we finally cfm on b.boss eh? anyone has the number to call for reservation?

Flowee Jie,

U angry already ah?
*sob*
kk mei say sorry :PP

I have been asking my hubby how come ur memory so good, everywhere in the forum yet can remember who is who.. kekekeee... i sotong one, only remember a few here and there :P

jady n kk mei

jady

if i m @ home when u wana 2 visit mi, u r welcome 2 drop by...

kk mei

no lah where got gd memory...
if reali hv gd memory shd use in work or studies....
lol...

twink|ets... ya oni remove one this time... i oso scare... so dun dare to remove all...can 4 at one go... like wat my colleague say... oni pain once... hehee think 2 weeks mc if u remove 4... and u can't eat solid food leh... oni can drink porridge.... ya like wat are say... go polyclinic then they refer u to NUH or something then can use medisave...

ya think is up to individual.. yest my colleague oso sare me by saying last time he go... the dentist pull beary hard oso cannot come out... pull beary long... then my one less than 5 mins job.....

hi 1027,
thanks for the summary.

wow! 4oct is a popular date ah. Looks like I have to book everything asap. Now I need photographer. am looking...

hi flowee... ya sort of nothing much to do for the wedding preparation yet, since it's still quite early, except to discuss the gown designs. well, also going to start my house reno next month! that's probably keeping me & my husband busy - shopping around for furniture!! we K.S. rite, haven't even got our home done, we already seeing wat furniture to put in....hee..

hi yi - me also have this uncontrollable shopping streak in me... so i usually make myself busy so that i will have little time for shopping!! if not, i feel really uncomfortable to buy nothing if i go shopping. die die must buy sth!!! haa..

wow, your wedding's another 2 months, guess everything's more or less ready. done your pre-wedding shooting(indoor/outdoor)already, i guess?

Hi BHC,

When we had our reno that time, we also shopped around looking at furniture even before reno started or completed.. kekekee.. but eventually did not get anything coz we just merely looking around for ideas. We visited exhibitions every sat at expo when there were any until we were sick of it.. kkekee...

Hey, u same as me. I cut down on shopping lately. The feeling of "can see but cannot buy" really hurts me
But i scared i buy, i will regret

Yi jie done her ps already. She very pretty wan, all the gals in this thread agree