(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi coolcitrusbasil,
I have booked with White Link for my bridal. Still looking out for actualy day photography.
You got any bridal shop in mind?

Hi babylove,
Welcome! Glad that we have one more Sep bridal to share our preparation experience with

hi meow

i hv booked my bridal package with Santiago but I hv read some -ve comments rgding some of their staff so i abit worried. Luckily the staff which I had met r ok so hv to look at the positive side. For the banquet, i hv shortlisted holiday inn and hotel new otani. more or less fixed on holiday inn alredi.

Mich: Wow, u've got a long train huh? Are u having a church wedding? I think I will go for a full duchess satin one as well. Just dun know whether to hv it in bustier or sphagetti straps. I'm with BV so I'll let Michelle design one for me. I know how excited u r, same here! I'm excited with my 1st appt in Nov.

Jan: How's yr exercise coming along? Remember to be consistent yeah, so that u can c the results.

Vin: Yr wedding in Jan right? U book the wedding banquet in Segamat already?

Hi Sue,

Just book the Banquet in my hometown, Jementah, one of the village in Segamat. Where you book yours in Segamat?? "da Ya" is a very good restaurant, not expensive. Their food is nice..

yan yan,

i dun mean that ur place becomes our gathering place. I mean u say for photoshoot, u and ur friend godma will be travelling there. So ur photoshoot becomes a gathering for all of u :P

novlkf22,
i personally feel holiday inn is better. I've ever consider both but drop the idea since its higher as compare with restaurants. If i'm not wrong and if you are a singnet subscriber, there's a discount package.

Oh, is it the wedding handbook which is very informative? i love that book which is a yearly publication. But too bad very few gowns published. keeke.. more on information.

I bough her world and female brides whenever they are out. Is Bride and Groom nice? That time i flip at newsstand but looks very "ang mo" leh.. keekkee... is it useful and practical?

Oh, tv is a good idea! I have one idea is that i will run a slideshow using laptop at the reception table since i will have a small reception party in 2 VIP rooms in the restaurant. But i wonder whether my restaurant has provision of port inside the VIP room for me to plug my laptops.

Hi jady,

welcome!! wow, let the hubbies watch soccer? then what we wives do?? hahahaa... hmm, i love to make desserts.. maybe we can ourselves busy in the kitchen! hahaha..

Hi Jady, gd 2 c u here!

here's d shop info:
Federal Electronic P/L
217, Jln Besar
Tel: 6297 3333

Happy shopping!

Hi Bride2003,
can call u kk? hee..hee..

Aiyah, u can imagine one lah! Ok, d nxt time u go 2 WA, yr bridal shop, look at d pics displayed near d door. Those r on d floor, only d one I suggested is taller.

be careful one day your hubbies turn one of yr bedrooms into a soccer room. My hubby already did. Watches all his matches there, with his ManU rug, cushions, table cloth, PC cover...
yawn.gif

Interesting suggestion by Bride2003 on keeping ourselves busy in the kitchen! Wat desserts u usually make? I like to eat desserts, not make them. But I roast stuff. D easiest 2 do... kekeke...

Hi Sweets

Hmm, it must be difficult to maintain a long dist relationship.. expensive too! ya?

So you will be relocating to central asia or him to US?

Think your jie meis will definitely be able to have fun with your hubby.. make sure they tekan your hubby so that he will rem it's not easy to have you as his bride.. hahaha.. morever, it'll be fun when you guys watch the video clip.. I have had so much fun as jie mei in my frens' weddings... hope you can incorp that into your wedding..

Gee.. getting quite excited as the wedding plans start 2 unfold...

Hi Vin, Got ur pics! NICE!!!!!!! My pics will not be ready so soon lah.... probably early Feb or something. hehe... let me frantically lose weight first. You can look at my ROM pics if you want to. I used the makeup artist from WL and my ROM gown also from WL.

May, did you go shopping in Sydney? Sigh! I love Australia and miss it lots! Planning to go back there to buy some stuff for my wedding! Yeah, I also think that bustier gown cannot be too heavy... so I really dunno how my gown will turn out! Just have to keep my fingers crossed!

Sue, yes! I'll have a long train... but no, not having any church wedding coz my family religion very complicated! (Although I am Catholic) But I decided to have a long train because the hotel I am hosting my banquet has a nice sunken ballroom and I think it will be very dramatic to have a long train 'flowing' as I walk down the stairs into the ballroom for my wedding march!

Hi Besse...
yah...LDRs are expensive...but just tougher on the r/s though
prob relocating to be with him in Asia lar...

I've never been a jie mei...so trying to "pyscho" my frens to get hitched before us..hahahahaha
so I can play too!!!!

So did u manage to "lock" in any date yet ?

glad to find a forum with other brides-to-be getting married in june'03 too.

i'm currently in the US with my fiance and its getting frustrating to handle everything from over here. just wondering whether i'm really behind in my preparations... the only thing i've done so far is bought my wedding gown and asked about the packages of some hotels!

flowee,
i dun think my mil will not mind la...

ling,
thank you for your information... i will let mu hubby know and maybe end of the year we will go down and take a look

kk,
oh ic ... ya loh, my frd and her hubby and her god parent and not forgotten me and my hubby too.. will have a lot of pp look for a bride package...

Hi mmay...I'm also in the US...
where are u located ?
Like u, its been mad trying to co-ordinate from here...just need a lot of parental and frens help I guess..I got my parents to help scout for location for us....Do you have a specific date ?

Hi Meow

No leh..I have booked with Oriental and there are three packages. Sat package (Highest), weekend package (Friday, public holidays, Sunday) and weekday package (Mon-Thursday).

But i think it depends on the hotels..Some of them consist only two kind of package(Weekend and Weekday package).

hi sweets,

i'm in new york city. how abt you?

we already have a date in mind but are quite flexible abt it cos my FH and i are still trying to decide whether to settle down in ny or sg. my parents are hopeless! they are the ones who insisted on the traditional dinner but my dad is too busy/lazy to go recce, so i think we'll most likely just go for the fullerton.... they think its a safe choice.

have you settled on things like rings and gowns yet? dunno whether to get the rings here or back in sg.

Mich: I did a little shopping. The fashion this season not very nice and you be surprised that the prices for stuff has gone up so much. I used to enjoy shopping for clothes in Australia but this year in my two recent trips, i find that their prices are getting so high. I have asked the locals and they said that the merchants are increasing their profit margins because of tourists. More Europeans are going to Australia for vacation and avoiding US. Flights to Sydney is crazy anyway...fully booked. I enjoyed the seafood there though...oysters...yum...

Jady: Welcome!!

Hehe...me not fan of soccer lah, only my husband

Told him that I dun understand why men love soccer so much...he said he also dun understand why woman like to enjoy shopping..

Bride2003: Yup, hehee..the wedding handbook, like the handy size but it does not have many gowns for selection..sigh* Havent finish flipping through the Groom & Bride mag yet..so far so good..got quite alot of pics on gown..
I like HerWorld Bride more, more info and gowns

Hmm..having slideshow in a reception shows GREAT!!
Too bad My reception area is abit small..maybe you can check with the restaurant mgr

Wow..you gals can cook dessert hah..me never tried before...hehee...

My mother-in-law is a very good cook..my hubby always ask me to learn from her...i can only cook simple fare..nothing fanciful..basically throw everything together and cook...hehehee..
Do you gals intend to cook after marriage?
I might, depends on whether I have time...so far hubby can still withstand my cooking...hahahha..
He scared I dun cook for him next time

Fishball: thanks for the info..will go to the shop to take alook

meow

u r rt. Singnet does have a discount package going on. That's is the main factor that leads me into considering Holiday Inn.

May, u went to the Sydney Fish Market? hehe... i remember me and my taiwanese housemate used to go there to have lobster moray for breakfast! haha... those were the days! and yesssh.... oysters!! yummy... there's a oyster wholesaler near where I stay and I'd always go there to buy oysters - $4.00 per 1/2 dozen! So cheap! and VERY VERY fresh

Last wkend n tis few days was veri productive.

Collected my cards fr hotel n send for printin at Jasvy. Usin hot stampin, copper color on card itself.

Oso finally got my jewellery, a set as dowry n a set as si dian jin after I'd been to numerous shops...on cheong, tian po, goldheart, soo kee, aspial, lee hwa etc

Bought my heels as well....fr Hue. Very comfortable

Met up wif hotel to get quote for ballroom decor..still undecided whether to use basic decor or pay xtra for other decor.

My trial will be tis Sat but hubby still couldnt get a bow tie he likes...sighh.

Now goin 2 do my helpers n duties list, actual day programme timetable, finalise guest full names.

thks for the warm welcome.
my customary same as 1027 & piggy which is 4th oct but my banquet & ROM on 5th oct.
Hotel booked is Hilton & bridal pkg fr Jazreel Low.

so now like nothg to do except go think of gown design.

Wow.. I realize a lot of gals having the 8 Nov date ...

But hor..hmm.. I may have to postfone to 15 Nov ‘cos my mum is gonna “jia zhai” that nite. So in order not to incur the additional cost of getting vegetarian meal for her, we’re now trying to shift dates again. Hope my consultant able to help us ..
10320.gif

Hi Feb,
Yeah lor.. some hotels will charge higher on Saturday packages.. whereas some won’t. You choosing Oriental for your big nite? Is Serene your banquet mgr?
Ehh eclipse date hah .. actually I duno whether is an eclipse date or not.. from what my mum read from the Chinese calender is “re yue shi”, & she claims that day will be dark dark & not much brightness.. in another words.. a dark day ...When I heard her words tat time, my heart juz sunk deep down man ... Since she was so unhappy abt this date, we got no choice but to look for better ones..

Hi Novlkf22,
Wow .. so coincidence! Before I confirmed with Holiday Inn, I’ve also shortlisted both Otani & Holiday Inn. Think these are the 2 hotels tat are w/in our budget & have good ambience. Just to share with you .. in case u last minute wanna book Otani ..
- Remember to ask for some pre-dinner & supper snacks from your banquet mgr. Ask him/her to sign in for you. You can save your $$ on that nite on food..

Let us noe your final decision .. you may be our HIPV family soon ..!
10321.gif

Hi Sweetie!!
Yes I think I saw u in HIPV posting rite??

Hi ^ 5 !

Twink|ets ~

hi jady,

Ur customary date and ROM date is "dok-beng"? kekeeke..

How's jazreel low?? i heard so much of the name but did not go through comments on the shop.

My hubby can't tahan me when i go shopping.. hahaaa... i already very good, seldom go shopping. Most of the time i stay indoors whenever possible. Maybe when i go shopping, i can't make up my mind which thing i like, then end up walking round and round.. hahahaa.. oh no, does it imply that i have problem when it comes to gown selection next time? kekee...

Heee...having additional slideshow is incurring more costs :P But well, once a lifetime event rite? So make it nice nice

My hubby also likes my desserts.. every weekend when we drop by love nest, i will cook 1-2 desserts and then dabao back to my parents and pils. Sometimes red bean soup, sometimes jelly, etc etc. It is great fun!

Hmm..can't really cook very well, but edible lah. hahhaa...

Hi Fishball,

i get what u mean liao!! I saw those photos placed like that before :P

U roast stuff??? Sounds difficult u know :P
And now hor, only my hubby do the frying. I dun dare to fry leh.. kekekee...

Of course u can call me kk :P

hi Meow!
WoW! Thanx 4 coming up with the list!!! U the best!!!

hi nov 8 family!!!
gosh! there sure are a lotta us on that date yah?

hi Twinklets!
gosh u brought up a really good point... forgot it's the 15th!!! Die man! dun noe which guests will be vegetarians that nite??? how... should i ask them???

jady: you are welcome!

Hmm..that sometin new, thought pple normally ROM before they have customary..

Me also thinking of the gown i want..no idea yet..maybe must try out to see whether fits me..seek professional help from the bridal shop perhaps...

kk: Haha..my hubby always get a scare when i mentioned abt shopping cos some of my frens really buy alot...at least one piece of clothing per week..sometimes more...my mother-in-law is the best shopping queen, she can buy anything without looking at the price...that's why my hubby said that if he go shopping with the both of us..he will be tired cos he needs to carry lots of shopping BAGS!! hehee

Sounds romantic to cook desserts..maybe will try it out when our hse is ready...so excited to see the new hse this weekend cos the flooring will be done by then

Bombom,
You're welcome. I think maybe should check with your parents. If those strict ones, i think you'll have to cater another table for them. I ever ask my banquet manager what happens if i have vergetarians in my invites. She say they could serve him individually with vegetarian food but there will be additional cost. In additional to what i pay for a table.

Hi bombom,

If i cant postfone my date, I'll juz get a vegetarian meal for my mum. 1 of my buddies also "jia zhai" tat day, but i'm trying to pyscho her to eat normally...
"cos hor each meal cost $70.80 nett man ..
10324.gif

As for the other guests.. nah i'm not going to chip in additional $$ for all these veg meals man.. gonna be real broke if i'm gonna do tat.
10325.gif

cheers,
twink|ets ~

Hi Vodka,

looks like you have a lot of things done over the weekend.

Is it a must to have dowry?? My parents are not well to do, i hope they can save on this by not having dowry. I'm also not having si dian jing as i'm a hokkien but my mum ask for a pair of gold bracelets for guo da li....my MIL not buying and ask us to buy for ourselves so i thgt of saving on this also, do you think my mum will get angry for this, i have not told her yet.

How's your ballroom decor like? Do you like it??

If your hubby can't find a suitable bow tie, what abt normal ties??

My trial will only be in early Nov, when's your photoshoot?

Seems like you will be well prepare, when you start your ACTUAL day programme SO EARLY! and you can finalise guest list some more??????

oh ya i check with you too, my invites may not be enuf since i have a lotof individual guests, the restaurant is charging me $0.80 per extra pc, is it expensive?

I'm also a Sept 03 bride....6 Sep. Currently on the lookout for bridal boutique and photography packages...settled teh banquet venue earlier.

Smartie

hi jady!

congrats! we're both 04 Oct brides !!
oops, i dun remember reading that piggy has the same wedding date as i...heh heh..

how come your situation is so unique? customary 1 day before the ROM? i thot its usu the other way round ... my rom was early this year coz needed to get keys to the flat. How did u manage to delay the ROM?

I thot the wedding boutique's designers would have made some sketches of gowns they think will fit you. My designer took one good look at my bodily shape and made a few sketches for me to choose from. I selected a WG and EG at the same time.

So i'm very much like you now ... just sitting around doing nothing. Tried to do more advanced planning, but i guess the nitty gritty things really got to be done nearer the wedding. Things like guest list, printing etc .... aiyoh, what a headache!

Wah, u ladies are good at cooking ah!!
eversince my house was shift-in condition, we have used it like a chalet....eat, sleep but NEVER cook !! Kitchen is there, but minimal utensils.

Cook after marriage? Much as i would like to, i think not practical for me. My new place is in Jurong West, and i work in CBD. So by the time i rush back, wait for the food to thaw, start cooking .... dinner will only b ready at 11pm.
By then my hub and i would have fainted from hunger already ...

Hub not football fan, but definitely a TV and 4D addict !!

Nice to see this thead attracting more people. So glad to see new contributions every 6 hours !!
Yay !!

hi mspiggy n smartie

welcome 2 the threat...

m a 10th sept bride 2 b...
oredi booked my venue n studio photographer...
will b signin up with my bridal this comin sat...

onli left with actual daz photographer...

mspiggy

nice 2 hv a 'wkdaz' bride 2 b...
think beside blurybdoey n myself, seems like most of the sept brides r 'wkend' brides 2 b...

yan

u wana 2 leave ur email address???
pass u my contact number vs email...

then can sms each other if we r ard our vicinity...

kk mei

wow u wana 2 visit a clean n span hse ah???
then muz wait a while oredi coz my blinds nt up yet might nt b cleanin up yet... :p

Hi Dolphie,

Nope, haven't got a caterer yet...i think still got more than enough time to look for one...trying to finish my house reno first...okie, will let you knoe more abt my first appt when I come back....

Hi Besse
Thanks for the nice idea regarding the church deco. I agree that Spotlight's a gd place to shop. Will start looking ard.

Hi Sweets
Ya, doing the "full length" thing. Hv to - once in a life time. Agree with u ... don't get much of a chance for my jiemeis to play him. Hahaha can't wait to see his reaction. Me wearing WG for church ceremony. Hv to buy dress for tea ceremony cos what was included in the package is a quah which I don't think I will look nice cos me got a spare tyre ard my waist. Not able to get rid of it yet.

My church is not strict with deco as long as all deco put up can be removed at the end of the ceremony. Is yr church hving traditional long wooden chairs? If so and they don't allow blue tac, maybe u can use string, thicker ones like fishing string aka. I saw at my SIL's wedding where they tie a the string like a ring ard top of chair and pass the fabric can be passed thru it for drapping effect. Hope it helps.

Hi Joyful
Me like to DIY but like u say, better rope in friends to help, otherwise I'll will be so tired that I won't look pretty already.

I want to use artificial flowers - won't wither and don't hv to worry that they will die if I don't water them. But the 2 large ones at the back of the altar - hv to use real ones.

flowee,
what type of blind you are doing? i am think of put blind too.. sure i oso can give you my hp and we can mssg each other when we are free....
what about your?

kk,
do you mind give me your email address too .. easy to contact one another.

Any ideas on wedding favors? Hotel giving chocolates but in addition, feel like getting something special for mine and FH's friends who are attending my wedding. Ard 150 pcs and 30 pcs for church. Thinking of scented candles. what do u all think?

yan

juz send u a mail...
mi gettin roller blinds 4 the whole hse...
cost mi 1k...

wat kinda of blinds r u interested in???
mayb can check out my blinds 1st dun dare 2 intro 2 u b4 i get 2 c the workmanship... :P