(2003) Brides of year 2003

hi jac,

I'll be having my photo shoot in early april coz my hubby going reservist for one month in april.

When r u having yours?

for the actual day photographer...think i'll wait until november then start looking. anyway, have been paying too much deposit oredi...tomorrow got got to pay the major one - the dinner!!

think after sourcing for the actual day photograher, my scouting work will be done! hurray!!

the tedious part is over, now it's the "dunno what to expect" period till the actual day... r u feeling the same way as well?

hi twinklets!
gosh! have been noticing that u have such lovely emoticons!!!
can share wif me where 2 get them?
i techno idiot lah!!!
thanks!!!

hi serene,

yah hor..actually tonite i am at my new place.. so internet access is faster... might be able to log into the chat session.. it is at 9 pm
How about u? Logging in?

Some say we can try OTR first, then if find something we like, we can MTM according to the same design
..MTM no need to be a brand new design lor

Now the hair designs, etc are pretty trendy.. no need to worry lah.. moreover, the makeup artist has to do something that suit our apperance and character mah rite? Like me and fishball who are baby-faced, we can't really have too matured outlooks.. kekekee...

Hi pple,
So you mean we should take the photoshoot 6 months before our actual wedding right or what ?

Me very confused now. Anyway, I am on the same boat as kk. I can only be free on weekdays during the month of June. hmmm.....How much time do we need to give the videographer if we want to convert the photos to vcd?
Where is the Chatroom? Can i join?

Hi piper

My photoshoot will be in June..have you chosen the indoor/outdoor photographers and the make-up artist?

Now, I am just waiting for all the coordinators to call and tell me what to do next..

At least you are better, can choose yr gowns early next yr..for me...I can only select in April..5 months more to go..

bombom...welcome back... ya boi... tmrw marked our 1 year pre anniversary....

are.... when u say $3888 for only actual day things.... wat does it include? oni gown... makeup... hair??.. wat abt studio & outdoor photography?... most of the package will not include actual day photography...

Hi are,
The package is a good deal! No worry about old fashion gowns cos you can have both of them mtm and more photos too... what's your budget? Mine is slightly more than 3K lor... I have a friend who got $2988 too...

Happy searching!

Hi Lorraine,

PS normally is abt 3 mths b4 actual day, den gown-making n fitting is 3 mths b4 PS. Work backwards like dat lor, then you'll hv enuf 'allowance' 4 alterations/corrections.

Also, you can follow kk's timeline of first appt n PS since yr 'free' days r same, rite kk?

Hi Serene n kk,

you gals got any idea wat hairstyle u prefer? Me thinking of those half down kind, rather than evth bunned up.

Are, my package also $2988. YOu want to see what is has? I put here lor, its not MTM. But it doesn't include a separate day for outdoor photography lor. All studio and outdoor photography done in a day. Hope i do understand what you mean by photography.

Normally they don't include actual day photographer. Of course actual day photographer is not very very expensive. Can start as low as $480+ to $1000+.

Having said that, here it goes:

1. Brand new Wedding gown(dulux range)
2. Brand new evening gown(dulux range)
3. Brand new groom suit x2
4. Bridal makeup trial & studio
5. Bridal makeup actual day & night
6. Free studio hair styling
7. Free actual day hairdo and flower
8. Free studio & actual day hand bouquet(fresh flowers)
9. Free groom corsages x4(can ask for more)
10. Rental actual day bridal car (E200 round light)
11. Free car decoration abd follow car ribbons
12. Free usage of 6 costumes on studio shooting
13. Free usage of Weil, gloves and accessories
14. Studio photography abt 50 shots.
15. Outdoor shots abt 30 shoots (2 loc, self transport)
16. Album 12x15 20pcs+1(forgo 3R)+1(free)
17. Free 5R with album 15pcs (repeated pose) selected negatives return aft 1 year.
18. Free 8R table top with frame
19. Free 20x24 canvas portrait with frame(dun think i wan, can exchange for 2 more photo)
20.ROM gown, coat and makeup(trial)
21. FIL coats x2
22. Tea dress x1
23. 2R mini album 1 set(repeated pose)

Bombom,
Ok, i've receive it. Seen your name somewhere, you trying to slim down is it? Sorry for being so rude, what size are you? Did you try to excercise for the past few years? Jus wondering it jogging helps if you had.

Hi Jac,

have chosen the make up artist coz she's the one who did my sis & my ROM's makeup. yet to choose the photographers. dunno who is better.

I'll be choosing the gown end of feb. spoken to ivy...she said now can start shortlisting the types of gowns & photos that we fancy. at least when we go down for selection, we/they have a rough idea what to choose for us. think that'll make her job easier as well. dun have to scratch head trying to figure out what we want.

dun have to be envious of me...maybe you'll have newer gowns to select from in April...but for the actual day, hopefully we won't be eyeing the same gown..hehehe...

actually, come to think of it, i think i haven't tell Ivy that my dinner will be on 18 Dec. better call her one of these days to confirm...

hi meow!
yup yup... me trying to lose all those blubber!!!

really wanna wear a bustier but dun wanna look like ba-zhang!!!
have been trying to swim n watch my diet... actually lost 8kg over the past 10 months... still need to lose another 8kg!!! so u can imagine how pui pui i am yah?

btw, i really hate jogging!!! feels as if i'm gonna die after the 2nd km!!!
any suggestions?

Hi Astrud,

We are thinking of having a simple contemporary look to our house...hee hee, keep it simple lor...or else too many things around, hard time cleaning too!

Hi Beanie,

Well, in that case, no need contingency plan since you are not using the outdoors. But, it's really very romantic to have an outdoor cocktail as well...

For wedding prep, till date, booked my dinner and wedding package and now busy doing up the house reno....hope to finish that first then look into the rest of the stuff like church wedding...oh, i've booked the church venue too...How about you?

Ok, i think the best is to swim. Infact, swimming does helps to trim almost every part of your body. Well depends on the stroke i guess. I dun really know how to swim, but my FH always ask me to learn so as to swim with him. He told me most form of exercise can get self injury easily especially running.

In the pasy i also hate jogging, but just to get to know him, i started to jog from half a round and walk the other half till what i am now can run 6 rounds non-stop. It did help to tone my thighs but not my arms. So i carry weights to help in that. As for the tummy, i think have to do crunches. I do feel the muscle there sometimes. Oh one more thing, he told me fats on the arm is easier to get rid as compare to the fats around the waist.
sad hor

Hi Joyful,

Both and hubby and myself are not catholic and will not be having any church wedding. But I have always find church wedding very romantic.

Me too, I have confirmed my banquet venue and signed up with Kai Bridal, photography by Utopia. Who did you sign up with?

I am done with my home reno and am glad is over. It can be a real headache. You must be having a tough time now. Confirmed you ID already?

So you are staying in Sengkang, we are quite far apart, my love nest in Woodlands.

Hi joyful,
i think my decor theme can be called Asian cosmopolitan, coz we have things fr resort looking stuff to oriental looking stuff. Other than this, i think the hse wld be very simple with a lot of open spaces. Ya lor, must keep it simple or else clean like siao...

yesterday, the ID guys went down to do on-site measurements - we wanted them to do this now and give us a revised quote if it differs fr their initial assumption. Dun want to kana add-on costs later on. Aft that, i think we r more or less set on this ID. what a relief...phew....

talk later then

gals.... i'm finali back.....
had a reali tough time juggling exams, work n everything....

flowee
glad to know u've settled your bridal n fotography. Initially, I wanted Utopia too.. but it's a bit ex ....

hey i'm oso in the other thread looking for SK ppl... we have quite a lot of neighbours huh?

kk
must study hard for ur exams hor...

I'm going for my 2nd fitting next wk.. rather excited.. let u gals know the outcome aft my fit..

keep in touch!

Hi Jacq!
I didn't see ponnie that day though... are u taking her for your makeup?? Tell u hor, we're also planning to have photoshoot in jun03, wat a coincidence!!

Hi Mei Jie,

Glad to see u again!!!

Got chance we wave again lor.. kekee.. i will be dropping by my house tonite, all the way till Monday

Hi Lorraine,

U got urself confused already.. kekekee.. yah, fishball has said everything

The chatroom hor, u just enter http://www.singaporebrides.com and then click on "chat" in the blue banner on top. U will enter the chatroom straightaway. Of course it will prompt for ur nick

Yes, so we may be having PS in the same month of June
Guess i am going for gown selection in Jan. More allowance is always better..last minute very gan jeong wan :P

Hi Fishball,

Heee..i have no idea on the hairstyle or makeup i prefer... i know nuts about such beauty stuff and wat suits me :P

I saw some pictures and noticed that bunned up kind will make the bride looks more matured and formal for the occasion. Whereas let down one is more bubbly and makes one look younger

Hihi Jan
Thx 4 ur concern.
I bought Dunlopillo Artho care mattress from Mega Mattress in Balestier. Frankly speaking I oso dunno which 1 is gd. Juz happen dat there is a 3 in 1 single bed offered 4 NTUC link card member. So, I went there to check out @ the same time bought the twin bed lor. Perhaps u like to go to Mega Mattress to take a look. The sales girl gives recommendation.
My brother is using King Koll. Boy, it is v heavy, so a big problem comes to changing of bed sheet. My mum warned me dun buy King Koll mattress.

Hihi May
There is a bride by the name of Grace who shared her wedding photos in the forum used London cab on her wedding day. She said the rental charge is $45/hr w/o deco.
Gd dat there is something to cover up ur patches if need b. Oops...touch wood.

Oh boy, I still haven't check out actual day photography, photographer taken up so fast har ...

amore, sweetie and meow... the $3888 that i got was oni for WG, EG, car + decor, bouquet, men's suit and make-up 3 times cos i have 2 dinners. but i think this price is ridiculous for no photography at all.

i have to look for a freelance photographer for pre-wedding shots cos i need the negatives back. i'm not developing any photos cos i have a different use for the pictures. so far, no bridal studio can accede to this request so i'm paying close to $5K for everything, inclusive of actual day photography. this is quite above my budget so am trying to find a bridal package that is around $1600 w/o any photography.

sweetie, you signed up with fame @ yishun right? how's your package?

has anyone heard of tokyo bridal? would love to hear some comments before i finally decide on them.

i also read in other forums that there is this 'jawn happy ever after' or something like that. anyone have their contacts? i can't find in the yellow pages..

Hi Beanie
Welcome to the thread!
Yep, I am a secretary, coming close to 9 years. Getting too old to be a secretary soon. *hahahaha*

Nice place u r hving yr dinner. I wanted Shangri-la sentosa too, the outdoor one, but FH don't quite like it. So no choice.

Yr wedding's on a Sunday rite? Mine's on a saturday, 1 week earlier than u, 21 June. I booked mine at Club Chinois, Orchard Parade Hotel n bridal is with Seletar Broadway. Gone for my 1st appt alredi - just choose WG and EG only. Both MTM cos cannot find anything OTR - too round *hehehe*

Hi Totoro
Welcome to the thread!
What a coincidence u n Beanie r booking the same place.

My love nest is still in process of building. Think now only the piling is up. Mine's at Punggol.

Hi Joyful and Astrud
So good that both of u already done/started with reno and can move in soon/already. Mine will only start 3rd quarter of next year.

mei jie

welcome back...

yah lor finali settled my bridal, studio n dinner venue...
currentli checkin out actual daz photographer...

mi lookin 4ward 2 ur nice nice weddin pixs...
muz share share hor...

kk mei

still hv 2 jia you ah...
muz take care n gd luck 4 ur comin papers...

Hi Beanie,

Yup, we'll be having a church wedding but ours is not the Catholic mass but a Christian wedding.

Well, I've signed up with J&M...Yeah, the house reno can be a real headache. So good for your reno "ordeal" to be over already!
Yea, confirmed my ID already...starting work soon.

Hi Astrud,

Yeah, it's a good idea to get the on-site measurements...we should have done that as well but didn't....however, my contractor quite flexible...so praying hard that everything will be ok.

Hi Abrinas,

Oh, so you will get married first then start on your house? It should be quite fast lah....oh, so we would be "neighbours" separated by the TPE! ;)

bombom... 8 kg in 10 mths is really a good achievement.... kudos!

i'm oso trying to loose the extra fats ard my tummy and hips.... going aerobics now... and try not to eat too much....

i planning to look tan oso.... not too tan... just abit tan... any advise??

Hi gals...and beanie

yap my big day is 20 june..really wanted on sat but i booked too late. so sad.

still looking for wedding boutique. SIGH!!
so much work to do leh and also i must slim down before i can fit into any gown.

I booked my wedding venu aleli, now going to look for boutique ...what am i suppose to do next.
pls advice.

you mean all of u book ur boutique already, please dun scare me!!!!

yap..and talking abt house,

collected key in august and nothing has been done..sob sob..
we decided to settle the house once we finished wedding. i think i should change my nick to tortise liao...

sigh!

Hi are,
my package is mtm package with the standard items and no actual photographer... heard that he is not so good.

Sorry but I have never heard of tokyo bridal leh... where is this boutique?

I also have "woman" problem... the fats at arms and tighs... was wondering if there are classes for dancing which i am interested to take...
any ideas?

do you want to try fame@yishun? I can give you the contacts. You say i recommend you, can have better package leh...

amore... any tanning will show tan lines, are you ok with that? for me, i dun mind, and i want to look quite tan, so i will just carry on my usual activities till next year lor...

the oni non tan line way of tanning will be artificial tan lor. i heard its quite good, cos it takes a few sessions to get real dark, so you can stop when you feel the tan is enuff.

but then again, some people tan easily while others fade easily. guess you have to take that into consideration.

an easier way would be tanning at the pool, without any lotion. just tan for about 15mins, swim two laps, then repeat. that usually works for me, and i feel that this way my skin wun be too dry, but tan lines will be there!

new update
10783.gif

02 dec - enya
07 dec - jbride, happygal, freesia
13 dec - babydoll, ming
18 dec - piper, Jacq
21 dec - naturally
25 dec - sunshine
28 dec - EL, mio, babyblue

who else haven't report

sweetie... it would be great if i can get the contacts from you! was thinking of visiting them tonite.

but was reading the fame thread, some mixed comments -- some say very good, others say very old and yellowish gowns, so very confused now.

can you email me the contacts and your name at [email protected] so i can say you recommended me?

thanx!

Shook: Thanks. I called Tibs and they quoted me S$ 550 for full day and S$ 280 for 6 hours usage. Did you know that they have 13 colors that you can choose from? Check out their website: www.tibs.com.sg

this thread certainly move very fast!!

Me trying my MTM gowns this sun and will be taking
photoshots next month.

my new house is at Yew tee and renovation already
completed in june this year bt now only staying
there over weekends.

My wedding dinner will be at Marina Mandarin and bridal package with Bridal Zone.anyone same as me??!!

Hi Lorraine,kk & fishball,

kk: Wont be logging today cos going makan with my frens..they are celebrating my bdy for me..hehe

Thinking of trying out the OTS gowns before deciding on MTM, the bridal shop advise me not to select too early cos they will have new batches of designs to choose from nearer the date...

Fishball: Hmm..was thinking pile abit of the hair up and not bun everytin up..if not, will look too mature..not nice..heee..definitely must put a tiara or crown type of hair accessory..then will look like princess..me very vain..even my hubby said that...hehee..sigh*..he not handsome enuff to be prince...kekeke...

Lorraine: Must give the bridal shop some allowance time to develop the fotos and do the touch up etc..preferably from PS to develop fotos is 3mths..then another 2-3mths for gown selection,alteration etc..think me taking PS in Apr or May...see how..maybe select gown in Jan/Feb
..that will depends on hubby's schedule cos he taking exams in June...think better to have PS in weekday..then can avoid crowds if going Orchard, City Hall area when taking fotos.

Do you gals have any ideas where are the good places for PS?

Enjoy yr chats tonite...waiting for time to pass to go makan

Abrinas: Where's your lovenest? u might hv mentioned it but i think i hv forgotten :P. Mine's a resale in AMK. It's also gd to spread out the hse and wedding - for me there's prob a 3 mth gap but already quite xiong oredi. Imagine those having it all at the same time.

Joyful: Ya...very scared of contractors adding on costs here and there, so thot it's better to try minimize it now. This ID firm that i'm going to finalize with seems flexible, but wana play safe...hehehe...job hazard lah.
Let us noe how your reno goes, ok?

Totoro: No, u are not too late, but u shld start bridal boutique shopping now and shld confirm the boutique in Dec, esp if u are going to MTM. For me, i super kiasu...i wanted to be a kevin seah bride so I signed up very very early (nov last yr) before he increased his prices. Before that i visited close to 10 bridals, talk abt being kan cheong.

I think it's also gd to space out the wedding and hse lah...not sure stressful mentally and on the pursestrings, u noe?

Wah beibei,
i think u are the fastest amongst us all. Wow, almost everything settled oredi. * Envy*

Errr....can I ask for help esp amongst those who have done up their hses? Anyone knows whether LG washing machines are any good? What abt Ariston/Indescit fridges? (heard that it is hard to find their parts and they self-clean very loudly. Dunno whether it is true or not?).
Last one, those ceramic hot plate hobs with a glass surface - will the glass surface be less resilient to knocks?

Appreciate your advice.

Many thanks in advance.

Hi Shook, how much did you get your dunlop for? And why not King Koil? I thot it was supposed to be the best.

I did some mattress shopping recently too. I think Mega mattress offers abt teh best deals in town. There's one outlet in balestier. Another one but dunno where. They have abt the widest range of mattress and sometimes their sale promotions include freebies like pillows, quilt, mattress pad. If you stick to big names like KK, Dunlop, Simmons, Sealy (this is ex), shld be quite safe if you want the good quality ones.

Hihi May
Wow, 13 colors to choose fm. Dat's great!! My bridal boutique provides bridal car. So, I won't b getting London cab. Anyway, thx 4 the info.

Hi Ram,

Mine's with Sheraton Towers.
Haven't decide on our honeymoon yet. So how's your other preparations?

Hello Ladies,

Abrinas: I have only been a secretary for close to two years and am enjoying it cause I have a very understanding and nice boss.

Wow, I have a lot to learn from you. Is never too old to be a secretary. In fact I find myself learning new things ervery day. The more experience you have, you accumulates more worth. Just my two cents worth or advice.

I like club chinois, the food is fantastic. In fact, the restaurant is one of my boss favourite hangout. I am sure you will have a great wedding. Is your banquet manager Eric?

Yah my wedding banquet falls on a Sunday cause I will be inviting some guests who are in Malaysia and it is better to put it on a Sunday in case some works on Saturday.

I will only be going down to Kai either this weekend or next weekend for my first appointment. Wish me luck. Both my WG and EG I intend to MTM and contemplating to keep to both gowns. hehehe

Totoro: I agree with astrud, is not too late, but you got to act fast. Like for my case, although I have signed up with Kai, but they have not take my measurement and no design. I also have to change gear now. Furthermore, Kai has already confirmed my photoshoot session which will be in March 2003. So things are quite a rush now.

Firstly you must set your budget, start to shortlist a few boutiques that is in your budget and make to trip to visit all shortlisted boutiques. Most importantly, you must feel comfortable working with the designer.

Ok lah, happy shopping and hope to hear good news from you soon.

Joyful :Dun be sacred, take one thing at a time, and very soon, your reno will all be done. Is good you engage an ID cause they will take care of your whole reno.

For my case, cause my hubby is in this line and we do it the ala carte style. That ie, he got individual carpenter, painter, electrician etc.. to do our house. In the end, I end up doing what the ID and main contractor do. Very siong you know.

Happy birthday! Enjoy yourself tonite!

I might log to chat tonite (1st time also), maybe u can join nxt tym?

Hey, m thinking of d same hairstyle as u!
...to enhance my baby-face look...kekeke....

I think if we ask yr qn tonite, will be able to give u more suggestions later!

Hey! hope to c some of u arnd tonite!

my hse will be ready by end next yr. But will only go in weekends till my wedding date.

My in laws will be staying with me next yr lor..

My photoshooting will be on Jan and i have already choose a WG OTR hope to get my EG OTR also before my photoshooting. If not i will MTM my EG in Mar thats means my photo wont have the actual day EG lor. Really hate to MTM the gown i cant visual will i look nice in that design so i find risky.

Hope my photo turn out nice. My bridal package is a very budget one lor at $2988 if i cant fine the OTR gown that i like i can MTM both gown with no extra cost..

Hi ALL,
soori wrong info. I mean my hse will be ready end next wk. Happy the reno settle liao cos i did most of the research and liase with the contractor cos my hubby always sail so uncontactable..

Wish those going to start reno soon good luck...

are... maybe wear bikini? hehee... can reduce tan lines... thot of going to those tanning salon.. but dunno got side effect anot.. then self tanning like beary messy like dat....

pool tanning w/o lotion?.. u not scare of getting sun burn?

amore... i dun burn easily, but maybe also becos i go into the water once i feel too warm. guess that helps to 'cool' my skin.

bikinis are ok if you are not wearing low back. else, i doubt there will be no lines. but i rem reading somewhere that there are instant tanning lotions, maybe can try, and if it works use it before your wedding.

Kelsey

I met Sarah last night. I also paid a deposit on the spot! Did you see a bride's make up in her portfolio? The one with very light make up. That is the one I love best. I think I'll ask Sarah to do that for me.

Now I have to find a good place for my lunch. You have any good suggestions?

Vin: thanks for offering to get me contact. pai sei lah. i think i go check out the mega mattress that the girls are talking about then see how. i need to get mattress by sat because fiance flying off on monday night. will keep u updated on my mattress shopping spree!

May: i have not decided on bridal car. no london cab for me. my fiance's sister-in-law already used the london cab. she don't like people to use the same thing as her (she hinted to me) so that's why i not considering. will just try to get a mercs later on. if too expensive, i will just use any car lor. i ok with car as long as i can fit into the car with my can can!
hahaha! i don't have train. ps should be in jan 03. first fitting no news yet. wonder when too? waiting for xzen to call me. should be ok. i haven't spoken to edwin before at all. you did? he's ok right? montage frame? most likely not because i heard from xzen i need to top up at least $300 if i want to change. i trying to cut cost.

Shook: i like simmons too but cannot afford. their normal mattress is double the price of KK and the rest. their backcare 3 was quoted as $3K????? i got a shock after hearing it. i also thought king koil is the best altho i sleep on dunlop now,. ok leh, still can sleep like piggy! i not princess and the pea, don't think can feel the difference
but your mum has a point. though when it comes to changing bedsheet time! by the way, you got your mattress yet? any trouble with delivery? my sis-in-law had problem. she took leave to receive her mattress only to be told that only will arrive the next day. boy was she cheeze off!

maya: guess you are right. it's just that when you come to the point of selection, though decision esp when you go to places like robinsons and they have so many different sales persons. they like the predator and i feel like the prey. very presurise. will check out this mega mattress place.