(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi joyful,
So lucky u can start nxt week....i hv been on this reno thingie for 1.5-2 mths and still hv not confirm yet. So sick and tired of it - at nite somemore dream abt renovation. disgusting, rite?

we also hv a budget constraint - maybe dat's why we r taking so long.

ya lor, i quite kiasu :P - if i see something i like, i will juz pick up along way. dun like to look see for too long (i tink i'm like your FH). I started gathering lamps, cushions and pillows since 2 yrs ago. Got them mostly from Turkey and China.

Prefer to spread things out so that won't get too stressed when all's due at the same time. hehehe....As it is, oredi confusing. Furniture to buy, electrical appliances, bathroom accessories, ID to select.

thanks for the best wishes - hope everything goes well for both you and me

Hi Are,
You are true for the $$ part, but hor.. the privacy part very minimal ...
Imagine cant be lovey dovey infront of his mum... very sian 1.. but wat to do ... I'm getting along very well wif his mum, but i hope staying under 1 roof will also be the same man.. gotta cross my fingers liao....

Ur bf said u kiasu hah? same here u noe.. but when later we got difficulty getting the dates, he took bk his words..

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">"KIASU IS THE KEY TO A BEAUTIFUL WEDDING"
</FONT>

Hi Meow,
yeah man .. all the way from Bedok.. gosh ..So FAR.................. i'll miss the east side. There's a sch bsides his hse. think is tat yosoff ishark something? Dun tell me tat's ur sch?? But duno tat 1 is pri or sec sch lar... Your new hse is CCK ?
Yeah.. nowadays everyday will check this forum .. eat snake + getting more info mah. So many things i learn frm here 1. Furthermore, so happy tat so many of us here are preparing &amp; "gan jion-ing" together. So good feeling to noe tat we are NOT alone ... keke ..

Hi Amore &amp; sweetie,
So we are same age.. tat make us three 26 yrs olds here.. hee.. wondering still got others same as us?

twink|ets ~

10717.gif

welcome Freesia
10718.gif
, our wedding is on the same day
10719.gif

here's the updates,
07 dec - jbride, happygal, freesia
13 dec - babydoll, ming
18 dec - piper
21 dec - naturally
25 dec - sunshine
28 dec - EL, mio, babyblue

enya, i'm with Kai too &amp; i've choose package A too...Leon is good...my sis engaged him to do her make-up for her wedding last oct...

piper, i've drawn up a draft guest list before I booked my banquet...but i'll expect the list to increase a lot coz my dad might need to invite my distant relatives

sweetie... its so good that you can choose your own date. mine still need so many 'layers of approval', but lucky my hubby is on my side, so he will 'fight' to keep our nov 1 date! ;P but me very ma huan, i insisted on a 2-day reception, i.e. 2 dinners, so my dinners will be both sat and sun, nov 1 &amp; 2 lor... ;P

i'm quite happy with this date. i told my hubby that i dun want our date to be on our anniversary or birthdays, so we have lots of 'events' to celebrate throughout the year!! hahaha.... ;P

Sweetie,
we at 1st not pan dang at all 1. We both asked our parents to look for dates for us, both sides dunno how to look .. so in the end we choose ourselves. Who noes they dun like it. Very sian 1 when either party dun like the dates.
We also dun prefer gog to fortune tellers, wait they say we cant marry next yr or our lifes crash.
CHoy chOyy.....

twink|ets ~
PS : wow i macham si bei eng now .. lol ..

Hihi Vin
My dad had a thyroid operation. Resting @ home now. Thx 4 ur concern.
Hm..me oso looking 4 actual day photographer. Din wanna spend 2 much juz budget 4 ard $500 for dat.

May
U decide to take bustier?

ava,
1st nov is an auspicious date &amp; a popular date. hee.. i noe 'cos i asked this date before. WOFC states this date is auspicious too. In fact I asked ALL the good dates tat stated in Wofc. Including Sweetie's date. lol .
Ok u &amp; ur hubby Jia you!!!

twink|ets

the fortune teller we went quite good. told us not to worry abt too many things, and as long as the date is good for marriage and us, plus our parents, can already.

btw, i'm a year behind you all, i'm 25.

p/s... think its damn obvious i'm the most eng one! ;P

my hubby and I not pan dang... my parents oso not... but my hubby's mother abit... hee but my hubby say nebbermind.. so i take his word for it select my birthday as the wedding date...initailly my hubby oso say.... why must so early talk abt date and book banquet... say oni sept... coz i started looking for dinner venue in sept... then when I started asking for prices and available dates.... one by one say all got tentative booking liao... he oso take back his words after that...

are, 2 receptions, 2 dinners... beary tiring and beary siong leh.... because church reception and dinner? 1st and 2nd are two "hot" dates... think better speed up the approval process....

twinlets, ya that makes 3 of us 26...dragon year ya?

Hello everyone,

Can I join in too? I am also a June 2003 bride and my big day falls on 29 June 03 at Shangri-La Sentosa. My gowns are from Kai Bridal and photography from Utopia.

Abrinas, I notice you are a secretary. Me too. How long have you been one?

Are,
hee.. i may as well say both of us are too lazy to look for fortune tellers. both our parents noe nuts abt anything like these.
So more simple.. we juz look at the dates tat have "jia qu" &amp; dun "cong" with our own chinese horoscopes.. chop chop ...

Amore,
yup yup .. *raise hand* Dragons.. hee.. 3 dragons here.. 1 snake &amp; 1 goat?

Meow's chinese horo is goat?

twink|ets ~

Sorry twinklets,
I'm a horse.

Details :
1) Nickname
2) Real Name
3) Birthday (DD/MM/YY)
4) ROM Date
5) Actual Day
6) Venue of Banquet
7) Email address
8) New Home Location
9) Contact Nos
10) Name of bridal

Please sent to [email protected]
I'll compile them and sent to individual emails

Hi Vodka,

Glad that you've come to a decision, however please do not be swayed by what i comment, go with what you like is the most important.

eh... if you toking abt animals, i'm actually a 'dragon'. i was born on those 'confusing' periods, before the CNY. so tho' i was born in 77, i'm still a dragon. ;P

amore... i know that we will be very tired, and its actually not cos of church. i wanted a separate party for friends and colleagues, and the dinner just for relatives and close friends. my hubby is not too willing, but after begging so long, he gave in! ;P and just becos of that, we will have to fork out 4-5k more, terrible rite? ;P

i had a hard thinking thru, but just can't let it go cos i've been dreaming of a beach party for my wedding for so long! so i use the ultimate 'excuze' -- its oni once in a lifetime!

Hi piper

My big day is the same as yours and I have also signed up with Milan!! Who is yr coordinator? Think I am more kiasu than u!!
I have also booked O studio for the actual day photography and dinner at Hilton.

Hi naturally

I have also signed with O studio for actual day photography last week. Did you get to choose the photographer or they arrange for you?

Shook: Hope your dad is feeling better recuperating at home.

Yes, i am taking the bustier design and will be having organsa over satin. The fabric i chose has emboidery on it - quite nice looking for bustier design. So the bustier is all glittery and the skirt is just layers and layers of organza over satin. I wanted the soft look and the train will be 100 cm long..hee..hee..

Vin: My wedding is in May. How come you have taken photos but not decide on fabric yet? I like the soft feeling of organza too.
For the evening gown, i have chose something like thai silk material - at a certain angle it looks blue and certain angle purpish...depends on the light. I stole the design of the gown from one of the us bridal magazines... It will have a small can can skirt and a shorter train of about 54 cm.

hi gals!

today the forum so active hor..

paisay meow.. my chinese horo animals only ended at snake.. after snake i become kinda gabra liao ...
hee.. so so far you are the youngest here.. hee.. ok, i'll submit mine shortly!

WOW!! so 4 dragons here! anymore players? LOL... siao liao ..
10728.gif

Are,
very romantic u noe.. got beach party! so glad ur hubby allows u to have your fantasy come true!
10729.gif

I also wish to have tat, but.. haha.. stingy..

Amore,
yah hor.. think the dec brides all focus to the other Dec posting liao. "Nov brides wan shui !!!!"

twink|ets~

Hi Fishball: Hmm..maybe you are rite, lots of pple going on leave, exams during this time of the yr

Wow..you and kk so good, baby face..envy..me got a small face, tends to put on weight on the body rather than the face...so pple thought that I am slim cos face small..hehee...but still feels that my bum too big...can't be help...think the bone structure is so..unless go and break my bones
to reduce the size..sounds Gross!!

kk: You mean come into tis chat forum every thursday nite?? Hmm..maybe as the days get closer..then more to share..rite now still busy with house renovation..haven't call the bridal shop to book appointment to go down and see the gowns of the rack..if can't find one that i like..will MTM...
Think the skills of the make up artist should be good lah..dun worry..think they should have special make up to make yr face looks sharper

Hmm...think need to give allowance to the bridal shop for photo shooting..that time my bridal shop told me 6mths in advance cos my gown is MTM, need time to make the gown and alter etc..then take fotos, wait for the fotos to be develop...need time and sometimes they need to help us to touch up the fotos if we not satisfied...unless you are not showing the fotos at the dinner..then no hurry ...

hi serene,

different pple put on weight in different parts of the body.. kekeke.. me very normal, face, tummy and thigh all kena.. hahaa...

yes yes.. i am referring to this website chat. The chat session is on every thurs nite rite? Last time i do log in, but nowadays busy and sometimes forget so never log in liao :P

Ur package includes MTM? Which means if u can find something OTR, u won't MTM?

I hope the makeup artist won't make me look unlike me.. kekekee... natural with flaws hidden would be good

Ohhh..now then i know lorraine referring to time allowance and not money allowance.. hahhaahaa... me blur queen :P

yes, 6 mths in advance is the norm. 3 mths to get ready gown for photoshoot which is 3 mths before actual day

I wanna get photos before dinner, so that i can have them on vcd even if i am not displaying the album that nite

and i guess there will no longer be excitement if photos are ready after dinner

twinklets... ya lor, so glad my hubby gave in in the end, tho' not that willing! ;P me insisted on 3 things for the wedding lor, the beach party is one of them. hee... quite crazy over the wedding, coming up with crazy ideas, and my poor hubby go into shock everytime i say.. 'i was thinking...'!

but have to give up on the rest lor, like my gown, can oni afford an off-the-rack, and i promise him he will have the final say about the house reno.

so now the house is his project, whereas mine is the wedding!

Hi Astrud,

Yeah, initially, we collected quite a few quotations from the ID and had a hard time comparing...some will charge you cheaper for certain things but mark up elsewhere. Became more confused with too many quotes. In the end, we decided to just stick to one closest to budget...My suggestion is make a list of the reno items which you want, compare the cost and find one close to your budget, and you should be comfortable with the ID person (Must be able to understand and communicate well with you!)

Hee hee, must really be thinking too much abt the reno huh? Take it easy lah, this is only the first step...once confirmed, still got more things to select and ponder over...then got to ensure the work is done properly...aiyoh, sometimes if the contractor isn't helpful, can really vomit blood!

Looks like you've already got a theme for your house...with all the "treasures" amassed over the years!

Hi Beanie,

Welcome to this thread! Shangri-La Sentosa is a nice place...thot of having it there too but FH doesn't like cos of the distance. Are you having your solemnisation there too?

Hi Cherry,

No worries. I actually intended to use the deposit for a MTM short dress but hubby n fren advised me 2 go for the WG rental.

So kinda happy tat someone share the same views as me.

Halo everyone

Need some advise from u gals... I was thinking of buying a clear glass TV console &amp; dinning table but was wondering is it practical a not??? Can help offer me some advise??? Thanks.

hi totoro and beanie,
glad to have you wif us ....welcome
. Wow, both of u hving an outdoor wedding. I contemplated smthing like dat too but my parents objected to it.

hi joyful, ya lor...tink i too stressed out. imagine hving a nightmare abt the designer coming to my place to take on-site measurements and din noe how to use the measuremts. so bizzare. now thinking abt it, it's kinda funny.

Agree abt the confusion when going thru all the diff quotations. Later I'm going to view a flat done up by one of the shortlisted ID firms. So far, they have been the only one that best meet my budget and seem really accommodating (but then I hvn't signed on the dotted line yet). Keeping my fingers crossed dat their wkmanship is gd.

"Cove of treasures"....hehe...actually started collecting furnishing accessories coz i wanted a modern oriental theme. Now that I have deviated fr my initial concept, got to think how to accommodate these stuff. So not gd to start buying things too early, esp for someone so fickle minded like me :P What's the theme of your place? me kpo lah. Mine's all over now - dun noe what to call it...hahaha

Dear Joyful,

I will only be holding the dinner there. Actually distance is also one of our worry but I really love the idea of having it on an island, so I decided not to worry too much.

So how's your preparation coming along?

To are, twinklets, amore and sweetie:
I've receive the info. Will update them today or tomorrow. Me still waiting for others to reply. So will try to sent next week, will that be okay?

are,
You so lucky. Have beach party. How i wish i have something special too. But due to $$$ constrain, must save for rainy days. Else i think my FH need to sell away his car liao.

Hi Astrud,

Actually you are half right cause only my pre-dinner cocktail is outdoor. As for the dinner, is still indoor. Still worried of bad weather condition, so play safe lor.

Hi Totoro,

I saw you in the other thread under Rasa Sentosa. I just join in and am glad to see you here too.

Hi Jacq!

Well, none of the photographers were around last sat, so i couldn't make a decision anyway... i left it to them to arrange. How abt u? I hope i can get to see the photographer before our wedding, at least to see if can build some rapport lor...

u gals been very active these few days.
. let's keep our postings coming in to keep this thread as lively and informative as possible. btw isn't chinese almanac = tongshu? thot i saw someome saying that the almanac is not out yet.

meow

i've sent u my info. thumbs up 4 u cos' u've been compiling the info. for us. paiseh

are

how nice that u'll be hving a beach wedding party. if i ve a choice i would choose to lui3 xing2 jie2 hun1. but my mother keep syaing she has only one daughter so cannot be spared of the typical wedding dinner.

Hi Jacq,

tot i'm the only one holding my dinner on a weekday!

My co-ordinator is Ivy...she's been very helpful. who's yours?

so coincident! we had shortlisted Hilton as well, but in the end dropped it. Didn't even go down to view the ballroom.

the actual day photography...did milan recommend or did u source for it yourself? How's the charges like?

Am busy changing venue for my wedding dinner coz my fiance's mother does not like the food at Ye Shanghai, am choosing between traders and Marina Mandrain now any comments.

Beibei, your wedding on the 7th June, one day before mine, what makes you chose marina mandrain, did you ask them for anything extra....... if mine is also there then it will be one day after you... I have actually made a tentative booking.

Meow, it's okie... dun hafta rush...thanks for the effort...

are, i oso wanted something special... becoz of $$.... my hubby and I digging our own pockets for all these soo need to watch wat we spend...

wah 4 dragons in this forum... anymore out there?

Ok some changes:
01 Nov - Are
02 Nov - Furlin, Padre, Nov bride, little rabbit, Josephine, Icy
08 Nov - Bombom, Feb, Ava, TCC
14 Nov - Sunnyling, Meow, novlkf22
15 Nov - Clyne,Cocopopzz, Twinklets
25 Nov - Edde
28 Nov - Amore
30 Nov - Sweetie, wind2000

Just in case those who's not here, i'm compiling a table of Nov brides details. Kindly email to [email protected] with these info.:

1) Nickname
2) Real Name
3) Birthday (DD/MM/YY)
4) ROM Date
5) Actual Day
6) Venue of Banquet
7) Email address
8) New Home Location (area)
9) Contact Nos
10) Name of bridal

I'll be sending the list by end of next week to all ok?

Novlkf22, i've receive yours as well.

new update...
10748.gif

07 dec - jbride, happygal, freesia
13 dec - babydoll, ming
18 dec - piper, Jacq
21 dec - naturally
25 dec - sunshine
28 dec - EL, mio, babyblue

Hi Jazz,

Nv think of the budget, just the market price lor.. me don't know anything abt all this...
you hv anyone to recommend?? Maybe like Shook, S$500/-, can get any with this price?

Hi May,
For the PS, I didn't wear my actual wedding gown...P and my WG is not ready yet and me haven't choose my EG as welll... me pretty slow.

My card not printed yet.

For those who one the Favour contact, me will check out with the lady and gv the contact to you all if she allow. Me meeting her this saturday or massage.

Hihi May
Thx 4 ur concern. My dad is getting better, going back 4 review tis Fri.
Gd dat u take up the bustier design u like. Ur train is 100cm long hmmmm...... must b very nice n graceful...

Hihi Vin
Pls share wif me wat is the px of the flavour n wat they have.
I gather fm the forum some recommended actual day photographer but haven't got the time to find out wat is the px. Perhaps u like to enquire
Yan Tuck Hong 9862707 (HP), 62361517 (O)
Andrew Choi 67417318
Maurice Lee 62951712
Monica Eng 98488199
Choon Huat 96967282 (HP), 9266049 (Pager)
Ray Ong 68448575
Andrew Tay 96867894
H C Lim 97611162 (HP), 68982824
William Loh 97388481
Alan 93854888
Albert Chua 90125902 (HP), 68819723

Hi Meow,
Take your time! Maybe we shall arrange something next year.... with our hubbies along...

Anyone knows how to change the title to Nov'2003?

Shook: good to hear your dad is getting better. Don't worry. everything will work out fine. I called a number of those photographers you listed. hmm.... our budget of $500 a bit impossible. People like monica eng and andrew choi can forget about it. it was about $1k after i told them what i wanted. i may just stick to friends in the end.
budget very tight.

May: your gown sound very beautiful. i same as you. my evening gown also got can can. now i don't feel so stress because can can gowns hide my tummy and my waist. eating a bit lesser now. so hope that can help abit. no time to excercise because have been clocking 12 hr days. i feel like i am more a factory worker than an office worker. current situation is making our bosses exploit us. terrible!

Vin: think you get your card settled first? near to new year, alot of orders to printers for new year cards etc and their order very full so may be very rush job for the printer. plus jan and feb are good months for wedding so i believe alot of couples will be printing their cards. photographer part, may have to allocate a bit more budget, i think $800 to $1000 will get us a good package. i am still trying to find the extra to top up! : )

need some help for you girls. now i looking for mattress. all my years, i haven't buy a single mattress. all handled by parents. they buy what, i will sleep what. but the other day i went to robinson just to look see look see. so many of them were closing in on us. some are just so expensive. anyone have good recommendations? i was all confused by the different brands and also the different kind of matteress avail under the same brands! my fiance is back only for this coming week so i have to finish up everything before he flies off and come back for our wedding. sigh.

hi kk,
Me tends to put on weight on the tight and hip area when i put on weight...hehe

Oh...so the chat session is every thursday hah

My package includes MTM. However, I can select off the rack also if i can find nice gown..the bridal shop said that it is from France

Hmm...hope that they wont do the make up like Taiwanese style with the hair piling high up..that wont look nice..

hmm..yalor..will be good if there are fotos to show

Hi Shook,

I called Choon Huat, he's not available on my day..

HI Jan2003,
Ya, will finalised my wording by nxt week, need to confirm again by my bf as he's overseas again. I don't know whether I should outsource it, my wedding card company is AWT. They do printing as well but maybe slightly expensive.

For the photgrapher, I'll keep calling to check first. I'm going to meet Triston by this week if possible. He is introduce by Hilarion.

For the mattress, I'll know a lady who's husband is selling mattress, maybe would you like to go down to take a look? Will get the contact for you.

Hi gals!!!
Gosh! Haven't been here in a few days and missed out on so much!!!

me join in again can?
tomorrow officially marks our 1 year pre-wedding anniversary!!!

Hi Meow!
Have just sent u my info...Thanks 4 being so wonderful!

Vin: I agree with Jan - you shld print your card first - this time of the year is the busiest for printer and the last thing you want is not have yr card ready.

I have not really tot about the actual day photography. One of my friend has already volunteer to be the photographer so i think i will save this money.

What about the bridal car - what r u girls doing? I was thinking of hiring a london cab...but i still have not check out the rates yet. Do you think i shld start? Afterall, my wedding falls on a public holiday.

Shook: I finally decided that i will take the risk and go for the bustier design. The designer is doing a detachable shawl for me to cover my neck in case i get stress and start having the red patches. hee...they will also give me elaborate necklace to cover up...

Jan: I think you and i are about the same build that is why we are so restricted in gown cutting and fabric. Yep, agree can can hides alot hor. I also feel more confident that my tummy will not be showing. However, i am still hoping to lose some weight to look nicer. Do you have a train too for your gowns? When is your first fitting and ps? Are you going for a montage photo frame? I feel edwin very nice person, he should be easy to work with.

Mattress - i am also looking around. I am narrowing into Simmons mattress. Heard that they are the best for a good nite sleep. I used to want to buy the back care series one but the new one is so x...so i think i am looking for the cheaper one. Have not really start homework yet. But i recommend simmons brand. You got to try them out with FH. Check them out at Robinson Raffless City. Somehow, the promoter there more friendly than CP. There is simmons website - you can also check that out. Sometimes at exhibition, the simmons mattress are sold cheaper - dunno why thou.

You poor thing clocking 12 hour. Better take care, you dont want to look haggard..u know...

hi all... me stuck with the bridal package man. my hubby and i have spoken to so many shops that we are absolutely drained. so far, we are only pleased with this shop called tokyo bridal, but nobody seems to have heard of them?

our budget is very tight, and i want a separate photography session, so most shops (esp those ya ya ones) are not keen to give us a reasonable quote. can you imagine someone quoted us last nite at $3888 for only actual day things, excluding all photography?? the gown was not even MTM!!

am sourcing for neighbourhood ones cos hoping they are lower in cost as i'm not taking MTM. have heard quite good comments about fame at yishun, anyone can offer advice? sweetie and wind2000, how's your package?

Hi naturally

I was there last sat too!! I was told by Ponnie that I can't choose the photographer as they will allocate one for me. So, I asked her to give me the best photographer she has.

Will have to wait for their call...

Hi piper

I think alots of good dates for 2003 are on the weekday so we are not the only one..

My co-ordinator is Vina..So, I think we will be selecting our gowns around the same time..hope to see u there..As for the actual day photographer, Milan did not recommend me..I always wanted Jaki but he is too ex so, in the end decided to use other staff from O studio..They are having a promotion till today..$500/8 rolls.

Hi jbride

Thanks for the updates!