(2003) Brides of year 2003

scented candles are nice, but may not be v practical for some people who are not a candle person..

Perhaps you can think of making your own fridge magnets??? more meaningful and people confirm will use

Hey, I'm a sept, wkday bride as well ! 17 Sept is my day. HAd booked with CC and whitelink... and tat's all....

Hi Blurydoey, we are on the same date.

hi flowee, mine is under tunglok as well... @ OPH by club chiniois !

hi besse,
how do you make fridge magnets?? tips?? ... hee..

oh yes. i did go over in the morning and ended up having a cold platter for breakfast at 9 am which consist of half a dozen of oysters, prawns and half a lobster. It was very cheap, good and fresh. I am a seafood person so i really enjoyed the breakfast. I even bought scallops and calamri back for my mom.

If i go back to Sydney again, i will definitely go to the seafood market and buy more. It is just so cheap and fresh.

Hi, some ppl may not use fridge magnet and i'm of those who hates! And I bought the stainless steel fridge (which magnet can't stick on). :P

I dunno whether it's a must 2 have dowry. Sometimes i tink all these customs is just 2 show off...sigh. From wat i'd seen fr gf who got married, most of their mums will buy a few pcs of jewellery for them e.g. a simple necklace wif pendant n a bangle or bracelet.

My si dian jin oso all paid by hubby n not my ILs. My mum oso requested at least a pc of jewellery durin tea ceremony fr my MIL. Initially, bcos my MIL did not say tt she gettin anythg for me so we r all prepared to buy ourselves n let her present it to me durin tea ceremony. This is prevent any unhappiness b/w 2 f'lies n afterall it's a joyous occasion so just spend a bit more to avoid trouble.

I believe the gold bracelet ur mum requested is the dragon/phoenix bracelets. I tink not veri ex. or u can negotiate to get a normal gold bangle instead. Tell her tat u'll never wear the dragon/phoenix bracelet again so wan2 get sth more practical.

It's the stage decor tat i dun like, it's a floral arch.

He alrdy got his normal ties, 3 in fact...hehe...my hubby veri vain. But he nn a bow tie for his tuxedo. Anyway, he just bought his bow tie a while ago.

My photoshoot will b on 6 Nov.

I wanted 2 b well prepared cos I'll b the only one doin all these stuff. Hubby veri lazy one. I alrdy hav a draft guestlist b4 i started sourcin for the banquet venue so tat i'm sure tat i can meet the min req n oso tt the venue can accomodate my expected guests. :D Now gettin my f'ly n ILs to fill in the real/full names of the initial list.

$0.80 a pc doesnt sound ex to me. I tink invitation cards average abt $1+. Well, it oso depends on design.

Hi Smartie,

Where did u booked ur wedding banquet? have dinner or not?

Me having Reception... I like to have a simple wedding..

On my wedding day, I got nothing as I not getting any wedding packages.

JL

Got nice gown for rent? my budget not more than $500.

hi flowee jie,

can wan lah, by the time my exams over, ur flat should be spick and span already.. kekee.. my exams finish on the 16 Nov u know :P

hi yan,

hi serene,

wow, it is good to have such a mil, so that it will be more enjoyable when u go shopping with her!! hahaa.. is ur mil still "young", around age 40++? My mum last time also shopping queen, can buy anything under the sun. Now my parents' place like 3-room storeroom.. hahaaa.. but now she constraint herself a lot already :P

Wow, i can sense ur excitement in ur flat. Last time when my flat under reno,i am also like tat. at first we tell the id to slowly do, but hor, after some time, we complain that he is too slow! haha..and we hasten him so that we can shift things in before chinese 7th mth.. kekee..

Hi 1027,

How i love i can start planning now! Sometimes my hubby say i am mad, start to plan so early. hahahaa... so i let go lor, in case i become too obssessed :P

Yes, i agree. Now cooking become a luxury. Not enough time to do so many things
But i would really love to cook every dinner if i could

Less the MSG and sugar from outside food

Yes!! This thread is really exciting! I log in and always manage to find things to reply in this thread

kk mei

furniture r comin in nov...
hope the delivery date nt bein delayed again lor...
my place shd b spick n span by then liao lor... :P

hi mspiggy n bless

so nice 2 hv 2 more 'kaki' nw...

mspiggy

mi kpo a bit...
mind 2 disclose ur bridal n dinner venue???

bless

'bingo' same date as blury...

wonder if there's a bride 2 b on the same daz as myself???
heard from blury ur date is a hot date coz she tried 2 place tentative bookin with some hotels but tat date is oredit taken... :P

The thread is so active these 2 days. Seem like our group is getting bigger and bigger.

Hi Novlkf22

We got the same date ah and I think this date is quite popular cos newspaper advertise before so must get all the thing ready 1st cos scare all the thing we want kana book by other must be abit KS

Hi Meow

Why you work until morning? must be tire and thanks for the update of the list really good of you.

when are you girls having your photoshoot taken? My bridal boutique wants to lock in the dates for me now and I'm still pondering over the dates.

Hi twinklets

I will be signing the contract with Holiday Inn next week. phew ... settle the wedding dinner finally. it's not easy to choose a suitable and economic dinner venue due to budget constraint. I think Sweetie is also a HIPV bride. saw both your postings in the HIPV thread. btw did u take up the singnet promotion package?

meow, that must be alot of work coming out with the list... the posting are all over... thanks...

ladies.. just wanna know... do u have a list of 'things to do'... i'm actually quite lost now... after settling banquet and bridal... what is the next thing we need to do? and when shld we start doing it?? any advise??

Yup! me a HIPV bride!
booked during their bridal show this May. Its love at first sight... and also because it met my budget...

Twinklets, Hi 5!

Hi mmay and sweets,
Both of you gals in NY! Such a coincidence! Mmay, welcome to this thread!

Trinity03,
My PS is in April next year. What about the rest of you gals?

So happy! This thread is getting busy!

pucca75... errr. don think i know now how to make.. but ah, can go library and look up the craft books... think better to do something simple.. hmm.. maybe from clay .. can check out the stuff at spotlight...or can commission someone to do it.. hmm... lemme see if i know anyone into doing these...*ponder*

Sweets,
No dates confirmed.. *sulk*.. might be later than june now... (you gals gonna kick me out from this thread? *crestfallen look*) if given the choice, might wanna do it in 2004 april.. his bday :D

Mmay.. welcome in!!

hey flowee,

me booking with hilton... havent found any bridal yet. what abt urself???

yap 17th sept is a hot date... i've friend having her wedding that day too.

Hi Vin, I know where is Jementah. My FH's aunt lives there. I've been to 'da ya' only once and must agree that the food is good. I'll check with his parents where they intend to hold the dinner.

Hi Mich, yr dinner is @ Fullerton huh? So far, Fullerton is the only hotel I know that has stair when u come in. I'm short therefore I don't think I can have a long train.

Hi May, I miss Australia too. When I was there this July, ate lots of sashimi @ Sydney Fish Market. However, I prefer Melbourne, Great Ocean Rd was simply spectacular. Really want to go back one day.

Hi, I am also a June03 bride to be and will be staying in Punggol. Glad to know that there are so many June brides !

finally i found 'kakis' to share in my wedding preparations. what to do? so far away from home and my FH isn't exactly jumping with joy over the whole thing! do your FHs actively participate in the preparations??

anyone have an idea how much platinum rings cost in singapore and how long it would take to get it made?

Abrinas!! Hi....Scented candles are a nice idea...just make sure that they dun come into contact with the utensils / food during makan time I guess
I like the silk flowers idea...but any idea how much silk flowers cost? I dunno whether 2 get them in US or what....

Our church pews no "holes" one leh...its smooth top all the way!! how ? maybe ask every guest to sit down and "hold" the decor hor...hehee.....

Besse..why kick u out ? Hugs...hehe..always welcome to yak mah...yakking is a nice hobby to have..!! hehehe ...dun sulk ok? kuai kuai...

Trinity03, Hi...wow! you already choosing PS dates!! I never knew the salons require us to "book" before hand...oh oh...I havn't even chosen a salon yet...eeekss!! *slight freak*

Mmay ah...my FH better still, he thinks I am over-doing the wedding, when we hardly even talk about it cos he is not physcially here , and all we have done so far is to confirm the banquet venue, church timing and his tux and my WG. Never even talk about theme, invites, reception blah blah blah yet!! *faint*..I think guys in general dun understand how much details has to go into planning an event of such scale and importance....

Dolphie...let's keep this thread alive
hehe ;) so can do something in the opic...besides work
hahahahah

Sunnyling,
i thought your date falls on the same day as i am? Or have you change yours? Me on shift that night, so need to work till next day. Of course can take a nap too. But still very tired even can sleep.

Amore,
At least got ppl appreciate i'm happy.

Sunnyling and meow

All 3 of us hv the same date of wedding i.e. 14 Nov 03.

Sweetie and Twinklets

We are all going to be HIPV brides next year. I really love the crystal ballroom.

gd mornin

mspiggy

dinner @ noble hse, bridal from amanda lee weddin ( signin up with her on sat ), studio by utopia...
will b checkin out actual daz photographer soon...
which bridal u had shortlisted???

flowee,
so what type of sofo you getting..
ok when your blind is up .. tell me i go over there to take a look ok...

kk,
good luck for your exam

sorry huh.....MIA for a while..v the "RE NAO" here le......countdown liao, gals.....300 plus days...hehe.....

Congrats to all other new Oct'03 brides!

is it??...04 Oct 03 rather popular date hor...nid to maintain my weight for another year....hubby challenged me...he bet that i sure cannot one...*hiak* *hiak*......kekeke......."JI JIANG FA".....

for us, our lovenest in CCKC...near my MIL...so, we will be actually goin back to my MIL for dinners during weekdays lor...consider lucky...then, for weekends...hubby has to be my guinea pig for my recipes!...kekeke.....

gd mornin yan

its a vinyl leather l-shape sofa set with a ottoman...
bought from white collection...
u bought ur furniture yet???

btw u booked ur dinner venue???
onli remember u mentioned u r gettin ur bridal from jb...

Hi mmay
Welcome! It's nice to find people to yak abt our weddings
when the men seems not to be in the mood yet - my FH says that why u so kan cheong, still got 8 mths what. *aargh*

Hi Besse
No one will kick u out. It's nice to hv another bride ard. Anyway, if postponed to next yr, even better - more time to organize the whole thing. I cannot delay anymore cos my house coming ETC Dec 03. So nice to do it on FH b/d.

Hi Jes
Welcome! Me too going to stay in Punggol. We are 'Punggolians' !! * hahahahaha *

Hi Besse
Actually fridge magnets is a good idea too but making the full 180 pcs will give me a headache. It is a good idea and practical - at least it can be used to stick messages on the fridge. I hope my friends are not like Passerby who are fridge magnets haters.

Hi Sweets
U think scented candles is a good idea too? I saw some which are shaped like roses. quite like them. individually wrapped too. Might check if any wholesalers selling them and can buy them at a cheaper price.

Uh, mine got pattern on top of chair.

Hi Trinity03
So early book the PS? Where got bridal shop so early ask one? Maybe yr photographer very popular. Normally PS only 3-4 mths b4 the actual date. Do u want to check with yr bridal shop again?

Hi Dolphie
PS in April? Will it be too late? They take a few weeks to develop the photos and another couple of weeks to develop the photos that u want. Maybe yr PS to plan earlier? Just a suggestion.

Abrinas...
u think pS in April too late ah....err..I was thinking only in May lar...cos my FH only back then for 1 week....how how how...aiyoo.....errrr...I also dunno which studio will actually accomodate us...sigh...

Love the roses candle idea....pretty cute...ex not ? I have no idea yet what our wedding favors will be or if there will be wedding favors in the first place....unlike you, we have too many guests for me to handle...hehee..not too many by "normal" standards ...but just too many to hand make...;P About the candles, if you intend to travel to Bangkok...believe they may be cheaper there..at least that's what I heard....

omigawd you're right ... we only abt 11 months away from our wedding !!

ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh !!

(yes yes, i think i'm starting to get obsessed ...)

jia lat ... next year Chinese New Year cannot eat all the goodies. Oh no ... all my faves all cannot eat !!

Eh, can i check with you ladies .... some of us in this thread have already had our ROM, so we're legally married. Does that mean we have to start giving ang pow next year?

I dun intend to, coz i only consider "officially married" after the customary, but my younger siblings in law and my own nieces & nephews all want me to give ang pow !!

Aiyoh ... end of the year is peak period for me in my job. damn sian ... cannot concentrate on my wedding prep. Wanted to get the most updated address of my friends on the pretext of sending x'mas cards, but actually the ulterior motive is to send them the wedding summon next Oct ! heh heh ...

flowee,
i have not buy my furniture yet.. not so soon... dinner venue have not choose yet too. wait till the reno finish then settle these thing..hi you can email to me through this address too when you are [email protected]

i have a frd workin in the same company as you...

I think no need lah... If u really like dat niece or nephew, den no harm giving lor...

I asked my mum b4 n she said no nid. But also don't expect 2 get the same amt of ang pows as previous years. If hv, den consider lucky n yr relatives generous lor...

Yo 1027,

I think hor, among us, u n Jady hv done most of d preparations already lah, so no nid 2 panic.
Meanwhile, juz enjoy d 'spare' time u hv n look beautiful. Go 4 massages n facials lor. Pamper yrself a bit 1st lah..., den delegate jobs...kekeke...

Hi Feb,
Just read from past posting that you are having 2 days for your wedding?

Hi Sweetie & Novlkf22,
Hehehe.. yeah .. we are the HIPV Brides !! kakak…
I also like their ballroom, very cosy & romantic, + kinda Victoria feeling.
Plus not forgetting their simple wedding cards.. both colors are nice.. intend to have some combination of red & white cards.

Sweetie, 8th Nov is 15th, is there any difference between 1st & 15th?

Now after booking the bridal & banquet stuffs, wat are the things we need to do now? Lobor? Heheehhehhehehe ... I’ve juz cut some gown cuttings from the bridal magazines, juz to get more ideas .. wow but 1st thing .. gotta jian fei jian fei jian fei!!!!

10389.gif

cheers,
twink|ets ~

hi fishball ...

ya, i oso thot of giving only to my fave nieces and nephews, but show favourtism leh .... if give must give all, if not giving then nobody gets anything.

heh heh .... how to relax when i know there's still alot that needs to be done? I'm a kan cheong spider lah ... tried going for facials, but i noticed that all this excitement is causing a pimple outbreak. esp now that i;m trying to grow my hair .... i think the irritation of the hair miexed with perspiration is causing the outbreak. sigh ...

heloo flowee,
are u also in FBO?

me have shortlisted Silverlining bridal. but will keep a lookout. went to ted wu and like the gowns a lot but not really what i've budgetted.

have slow down my 'searching' activities now becoz been busy these weeks.

Lastest updates,
02 Nov - Furlin, Padre
08 Nov - Bombom, Feb, Ava, TCC, Twinklets
14 Nov - Sunnyling, Meow, novlkf22
15 Nov - Clyne,Cocopopzz
23 Nov - Edde
28 Nov - Amore
30 Nov - Sweetie

Sorry about that, i miss someone

me oso ask my mum abt the Ang bao thingie...she said no nid le....but my cousins will sure ask for it one....they all stil quite young ma..in Sec or Pri schools oni....hubby said that if like that, he will not go visit with me next year liao...MIA first...kekekeke...if he's not ard, i can tell my cousins to ask my hubby for ang bao instead lor...kekekeke....another option that hubby suggest is goin on holidays durin CNY...

think we will oso avoid wearing our wedding bands that day...kekeke...cos some relatives dun know we ROM ma...so, can stil get some amts back...kekeke....

Oh yah ... good point. My relatives dun know abt my ROM, so they sure ask.... alamak. Some v thick skin, sure tell their children to come ask for ang pow from me.

Oh no ....

then bobian lor.....give small small one...then give excuse like, " sorry huh! din prepare much...next year then give bigger one hor"...we all "dump" our $$ into flat reno, wedding and stuff...cannot give too much la.....if relative is understanding enou, they wont blame u one la...somemore, Ang bao is juz a token ma...

Hi pple,
Next year will be our last chance to get ang bao. So must try to get more. hehehe!

same as 1027, I will be real busy at that period of time, hmmm....Really worry that got no time to prepare and rest.