(2003) Brides of year 2003

hello hello!!

wah, just 3 days over the weekend and we have new participants here! Welcome welcome !!

yah, 1 year seems so far away, but yet i know the 12 months will creep up on us soon, really soon. For example, some of you were saying to try on the gowns in Feb. Isn't that just round the corner?? Soon after christmas, and the string of public hols eg chinese new year will be Feb already.
Ahhhh !!!!

Yah, talking about furniture. Y'day i attended my fren's wedding and went to see her house. Wah, everything also got already! Went home to see my own place, then i realised that i'm still short of many things..... oh no..... gotta start shopping again !

OK, going for lunch now. Talk again later ...
ta ta!

oh kk

It is because mine is JB shooting, we paid for the Tioman phototaking , only to realise that the Moonsoon end in Feb ( not in Jan as i thot), so initally we arranged for outdoor at Jan ( after monsoon)

Now,we are left with no beaches, will have to go down to talk to her, mine is the graceful creation ( fa guo feng qing) at JB

Secondly is I need time to slim down my fats ( never do it), Kua can hide my fats mah....

hi bear

i guess there is no hard n fast rule tat non cantonese cant use kua 4 their weddin...
btw u r usin kua 4 ur foto shot or tea ceremony???
congrates 2 ur forth comin weddin...

kk mei

yah lor if ur bridal can rent 1 foc 2 u u might as well use it hor...
if nt let mi koe again mi let u koe where 2 find nice nice gowns...

Hi 1027,

Yes, and heard that some bridal shops close for 2 weeks after the CNY. If that is the case, the whole Feb is wasted so shouldn't i start sourcing for gowns in jan? :P and that is so much round the corner!

Some say should grab furniture and electrical appliances by this year coz next year would be 5% GST already! But i am still getting my washing machine, tv, hi fi and bed next year.. heee...

bear,

kua can hide fats har?? hahaa.. think i also need those that can hide my fats too

Oh, my ex colleague also had his bridal package from JB. He also had his ps in Tioman. In total, he has 3 albums i think! But on adding up, still so cheaper than S'pore price! So u must have got a really good deal

Flowee jie,

today the forum very slow
me wait until giraffe neck already

Ok, will of course keep u all updated on the progress.

Me got to run already. Tata

Hi ding dong, joy2003 and nofuss,
read from the previous messages that you gals are having a church wedding. are you gals catholic?

My HTB is a catholic but i'm not, and we would like to have our wedding in a church next march. Isit too late to start preparing for it now? Did you gals go for the MPC?

And, I understand that its not advisable to have wedding in church during the period/season of Advent or Lent ? Any idea when is that? isit in march?

Many Thanks!

Hi Bride2003
haha..my Hubby also Liverpool fan
he never fail to miss any matches
L-shaped sofa very common now...still got many things to buy..just bought another bridal magazine today..see wtr got any design of gown that I like..
For hair accessory, i would definitely want to get tiara
will look more like princess..kekeke
Me worried abt the 5% GST too..so if can buy those more expensive items this year...will do so...

Hi, how's everybody?

Saw the postings from this year's Oct brides and one by one gone through their weddings! So happy for them and some incidents quite funny. I can imagine ourselves like them next yr.
After all the preparation, the day itself pass very quickly.

Haloooo bride2003,

Y dun buy furniture n appliances now? Maybe you can ask them to keep for you longer, but I guess usu. not so long like 6 mths. Or buy from those who dun charge GST, like those shops along Jln Besar. If you want, I can ask my dad the shop name n addy cos he got stuff 4 us there at good px.

Hmmm, m also thinking abt trying gowns arnd Jan…for fun! ;P Cos IW also got 2 other shops n I can choose fm either of them.

Oh ya! I’ve changed my date to 17/10, yippee! D date sounds better in Chinese than d previous date. Mgd 2 persuade hubby to agree by teasing him. Told him dat end of Oct is Halloween, n since he wants a theme, we can hv a ‘ghost’ theme. Haha… n we can dress as Dracula and witch n walk down the aisle together! He din like it…so agreed lor… : P

cham liao, seems like my hubby got rivals liao, cos he's ManU fan. But I'm more Everton/Liverpool fan, so can laugh at him 4 u wen ManU loses...hahaha...me sooo bad...

hi Gals,

I am back finally. Seems like everyone is talking about vin photos...i also want to see..can email me [email protected]

Jan: How is everything with you? U settle your gown.

I should be settling the design soon by the end of the month. I think i am going for the bustier design...i decided to take the risk.

Hi Abrinas,

Not a problem regarding the mix-up!
. Anyway, yup, will be going down to the bridal shop in Nov...juz made an appt.

For the church decor, it can be pretty expensive...one of my church fren actually shared the church decor cost with the person after hers....provided if there's another couple after yours on the same day....that can be a way to lighten the load!

Wow...one week din log on got so many new faces!!
So happy. So other than Cool and me, there are other 22 Mar brides too? That's wonderful.

Photohobby, I am interested in your kind offer. Do you have a portfolio that I can view?

How's prep gals? I am up to my head with work and going on business trip tomorrow. Won't return till 4 Nov. Hope I won't miss out too much from this forum.

And yes, I am a Christian.

helloooo, flowee mei and kk mei...
how are the two of you...

kk mei,
in case you did not recieve my mssg in the forum , i mssg you here...i am still around...
only abit busy recently...

i also heard jb bride paskage very cheap ... so maybe end of the year my frd and me two couple going in and see see look look maybe can get a l\better price...i will let you know.

I've just joined the forum.. This is a big crowd and am so glad to be able to pick so many ideas from here!

Am shooting for a June 2003 wedding, but have yet started on any preparation as date is yet confirmed by our parents.

Hi Dolphie, glad to see you here in this thread too.. hope 2 pick you gals brains for the prep!

See ya ard!

Hi Gals and to All New Faces

WOW! 22 March seemed to be a very popular date among the March brides

Starry, my WG's design is bustier and princess cut with fish bone lining. My EG's design is empire cut.
Now..can't wait to see the actual gowns.. haha

Hi Peach,

Welcome to the thread. I am a Christian.
It's better to look for a church now. You only have 5 months to go. Better settle more stuff, don't wait till last minute, else everything will be rushing for you.

Hi Nufoss,

Apologised for not being able to call you to fix up our exercise date. I was concentrating on my WG and EG design last week. Perhaps we can arrange for next week.

Wow Sweets,
Your situations is a bit confusing.
You spoke to 2 pastors? *scratches head*.
So where are you stationed?

Hi Besse,
Erh, have I met you before or issit another Dolphie on the thread? :p
Anyway welcome!

Hi Joyful,
Yah, the thought of sharing the decor did occur to me. Trouble is, not many pple in my church are getting married and I doubt it'd be on the same day. Guess this won't be available to me. Darn. Probably aiming to DIY my decor...

If you don't mind me asking, which shop are you going to see in Nov? Me kaypoh. Hee hee.

By the way, one of my colleagues just bought a ring pillow for $88! My goodness, I think I'm going to take up Abrina's idea and make my own! :D

hi Dolphie

Are you the same dolphie in Marriott Thread?

Hehe.. maybe you have not scrolled down that far yet.

Am excited at the wedding, and was wondering wat to do next after he proposed. Now at my wits end.. am not a v good coordinator/organiser..

btw, where will you gals be going for your honeymoon???

Hi coolcitrusbasil,
Welcome! So which hotel do you booked with? You mean you wanted GH and I have taken up your date? Hee hee so paisei

Anyway, happy preparation

Hi Sue,

Yes, my gown is bustier and will be full duchesse satin... and I reckon it will be quite heavy coz I will be having a very long train (abt 2m). My first fitting has been fixed on 2nd Dec. Very excited... now frantically trying to lose weight. So which bridal shop are you with?

Hi May,

Where did you go for break? I really wish to take a break myself! Probably will do that during the week I go for my first fitting. Really need to do some diving... miss the little fishes under the sea.. hehehe....

Seems like lots of people going for bustier gown hor? hehe... May, have you decided what fabric to use for your gown? And what color? I saw this honey color gown before and really fell in love with it! But WL doesn't have that color cloth and they refuse to buy it! So too bad for me!

Just a tot.. any comments abt doing solemnisation just before the wedding dinner? Are you gals planning to ROM before actual date??

Thanks for bearing with me on my questions..

Hi Shook,

Me dunno who am I look like, but doesn't matter laa... hahah... what I can say is.. once you wear your gowns with make-up, is totally different looks... the make-up artist is fantastic and the photographer is excellent. All the photos I sent to you are just polaroids, can you imagine a polaroids can hv such good quality?? Is all the skills of my make-up artist and photographer

Ya, I got 5 outfits. None of the one I wear is my MTM gown. For the wedding, I opps for the one with flower straps. Very beautiful gown. Ya, totally agree with you, the pink evening gown is rather unique, I fall on it once I look at the gown. The red one very very sexy.. hahaha... I falls on both gown at my first sight seeing them...hahah...

I like my bun-up hair-do. The hair-do with red sexy gown is rather mature. I got natural curly hair.

Ya, my bf chubby chubby..hahah... me thin thin... all my "fu" gone to him liao...
he got rabbit's tooth.. make him look very boyish erh...
you know what, he always goes to China for business trip, the china man always call him "suai4 ge1)", and the taiwanene also call him like that, and there's one man very funny, he ask my bf's dad "how come your son so handsome but you are not"?? hahha... I tease them " is all bcoz my bf got a chubby look but they dun have".. Like his face, he's a cheerful guy. and of coz a wonderful man as well.

HI Mich,

I'm with Julia Wedding News...

YOu with White Link? Heard is good as well..
share your photos once you took it..

HI Jazz,

I try to send to you again. Do take a look at your e-mail. Hope that you are able to view the photos this times.

HI May,

Try to send to you but there's some problem, me using hotmail as well, there's a msg " recipient address does not exist, pls confirm the correct address"?? Pls gv me your e-mail address. Thanks, or maybe you can write to me at [email protected] so that I can fwd my photos to you.

Hi Bear,

You can wear kua if your elders dun mind or open minded. It's better if you ask for them 1st.

Let me share with you, something happen to a friend of mine on her actual day.

She's a hokkien & she decided to wear kua on tat day, wat happen was her elders wasn't veri pleased to see kua & told her you're cantonese meh? & also told her to respect her own dielect. They said infront of the relatives, during the tea ceremony. She told me tat she was quite hurt at tat time.

But again, I'm also not sure coz wedding things so much pan tang thing to follow...just play safe & always seek elders for advice, if you dun wan mouths to talk

But to me anything also can, as long as you like & as long as you dun bother wat people say.

mine is on 30th Nov. Anyone with the same date?
looks like 2nd Nov is a good date... so how are your preparations so far?

Dolphie..
I'm currently stationed here in the U.S. but FH in central asia....sigh....miss him a lot..oh well...
Since we both live apart, we had to take the chance during our "vacations" to do our PMC at the church here in US lor, but our marriage will be blessed by the pastor in Singapore, that's why got more than 1 pastor involved....agree...its very confusing...

Hi Besse...
our HM is a surprise for me...but sure somewhere near, cos we have to hurry back for another dinner within the same week. Are you having your wedding @ Mariott ? Heard the food there pretty decent.

Hi pple,
So most of our hubby are into soccer right?
My hubby is a hotspur fan. Hmm....I am also having my photoshoot in june. I have already selected my wedding gown but yet to decide on my evening gown.
I will not be getting my house till next march. A lot of preparation next year

Hi hi pple,
Yup...to lorraine question

Will it be too late to take fotos in JUNE?
Are you showing yr foto album at the wedding dinner?

Hi Fishball,
Can i have the name of the shop too at Jln Besar?
Must save save abit...wedding n hse burn a big hole in our pkts.

I'm new here. Only JUST decided to get married in Sep 2003. Seems like most hotels are booked already. Still searching now....

hi ladies and gentlemen,

glad to see soo many Nov '03 brides and grooms!!... I'm a Nov '03 bride myself.... mine is on 28th Nov...

Harlow Faye, Neko!!
I booked mine with H. Interconti. Neko, no prob, HI is my first choice still. But tot just want to look out for a 1/2 more hotels before we decide loh. hehehe, too KS.
10249.gif

Faye, where's ur wedding banquet?

Frankly, I have not start preparing leh. Only the hotel and reading some mags. Quite busy lately.
Have you gals decided on your bridal and photography? Care to share with me? lucky to have you both to share ideas
10250.gif

hi Sweets

Hahah, so nice, a surprise HM... wish I can have a romantic hubby like you! Mine's v down to earth, and he would rather leave the planning to me.. but Alas, I'm quite a crappy planner.. *blush*

What are you doing in US? will you be there for long? And if so, how will the living arrangements be like for you and FH after wedding?

Dolphie, saw you mentioned that you won't be getting a place of your own.. so you living with your in-laws? Quite likely that I'll be staying together with his parents too.. since might not plan to get a place soon.. Hmmm, wonder if there'll be any challenge

Hi Joyful
Agree with Dolphie, seems not many people getting married at my church 2. So sharing is quite out of question. Anyway, mine's at 2pm, so think I am the only one for that Saturday. So have to start thinking abt how to decorate the church - any project for me.

Thinking of putting up the deco the day before, in the afternoon maybe. What do u think of faux flowers? Might get church mates who does the arrangement every wk to help with large ones.

Hi Jacqueline,

Do you mean that the min. no. to book with Hilton is 20 tables? Is this for weekday or weekend? Cos I asked them and they said min is 30 for weekends.

Many of my friends who ALREADY had the weddings said that their albums were slightly damaged coz of the guests who flip thru the album.

alot of them actually regretted putting their album on display. Instead, they suggested that i enlarge some of the nicer pix and put them on easel stands at the reception. At least u dun get a million pairs of hands rummaging thru the album ...

good suggestion i think .... i'll prob take my friend's adivce if i eventually DO decide to take studio shots ...

Hi Dolphie,

Well, in that case, seems like have to try to see how to do the decor w/o spending a bomb....ring pillow so exp huh? Like that, see if can borrow from some frens....

My bridal shop is J&M which I mentioned earlier...where's yours?

Hi Abrinas,

Seems like u a very DIY person....me prefer to get people to do for me....so r u using artificial flowers since u want to do the decor the day before? Yup, better rope in frens who can do it for you.....dun want to get tied down wif so much nitty gritty stuff the day before, rite? But prepare to be a radiant bride on actual day!

Hi Besse,
Welcome!

Elaine

Thanks for the note.,.. yes, u brought up an impt point

Just to share with all brides my JBpackage price

RM4600, 8gowns for photography( 2 custom made for actual day), 2 suits for groom, car decos, no make-up on actual day, corsages, 2 big photos ( 15" i think), 1 bed photos,1 table top, guest book, 50 shots ( forgot the size too :P)96 shots for giveaways, out of which 46 are new shots that u can select from the 50 shots, taking phtos in tioman, kota tingji and JB outdoor/indoor.

Howver, my tioman had to be cancelled as the Monsoon is heading.....

gd mornin ladies

yan

u might wana 2 check out divine @ jb...
they r the same company as the divine in sg...

elaine

ur frenz veri poor thing...
kana crap on her weddin date...

all ready 4 ur comin foto shot???

bear

since ur tioman trip is cancelled...
which beach resort r u headin 4???

baby

hi there...
congrates 4 ur forth comin weddin...
perhaps u can call up those venue u had shortlisted check with them if ur date is still available b4 makin ur trip dn...

as 4 bridal mtm gowns u can sign up 9mths b4 ur intended date...
foto shot r normali done 3mths b4 ur weddin mth...
hope the infor help...

Hi Babylove...Welcome!
ya, need to start sourcing now, it is better to book early. Esp the popular hotels. Moreover Sept is the 8th mth in the chinese cal. Have you got any hotels in mind now?

hi yan yan jie,

it does sound attractive for JB package from whatb bear has mentioned. Happy hunting! Me and my hubby has never considered taking JB package although we have heard that it is a good deal, mainly because we dun have our own transportation, so would be very inconvenient for us. Moreover, it might be a bit time consuming lor.

Hi flowee jie,

yes, today also very slowwww... just need more patience.. hahaha... sometimes i even thought my singnet got problem :P

How's ur flat btw? Ready for chalet already? :P

hi babylove...

u looking at weekdays / weekend...?...have u started sourcing for venues?...or made tentative bookings?