(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Kelsey,

looks like we have a few similarities....

my hubby also likes to praise himself for being a good hubby, "boasts" to me all the time that he liaised with the banquet sales manager and managed to get a good deal etc.

I haven't decided to go with which printer yet, but most likely with Acepro, bcos I cannot be bothered to search elsewhere. Btw, are you doing hotstamping on yr cards or printing ? We will do the matt gold hotstamping directly on the invitation cards provided by the hotel.

I very tired of checking around too. Just yesterday I was on leave with hubby & we sort of completed all the knick knacks for the wedding. Even went to Arab St to purchased organza & ribbons for the wedding favours. But I got a good deal, paid $3 for 1 m of light gold organza. Compared with Spotlight, it is much cheaper.

Nofuss

gd afternn gers

yi

congrates finali ur projects r over...
time 2 prepare 4 ur papers...
muz study hard hor...

this sun mi attendin my cousin's baby boi 1st mth dinner @ 1 of the restaurant @ toa payoh...

as 4 weddin preparation, nothin confirmed except gettin utopia 2 do my studio pixs...
checkin out bridal veil show this fri nite n also visitin kai couture this saat...
will chose my ideal from the list i shortlisted nameli: ted wu, amanda lee weddin n silhouette...
c if kai n bv impresses mi tat muz or nt lor...

max mentioned 2 mi tat my mil will get 4 mi si dian jin n sure is in gold one...
she wont get white gold ones 4 mi...
anyway my parents oredi get 1 set of white gold ones 4 mi oredi...

wow muz b veri happi 2 hear them comment ur place like pte...
young couples???

bijou

its ok lah no prob i checked with kim oredi on the size...

frederick package will increase by 10% next yr onwards...
if u r interested can check him out...
which other bridal hv u check out n shortlisted???
sorie 4 bein such a kpo...

blury

its bridal veil show @ pan pac on fri nite...
mi askin if u r attendin???

u hv been checkin out banquet venues???
mayb can ask ard 4 geomancer 2 get ur date 1st lor...
its reali easier 2 negotiate if u hv a date in mind juz in case the date u wana is oredi booked by someone else dun hv 2 waste ur time n trip 2 the shortlisted venue...

the 4 bridal u shortlisted cant comment on all of them coz onli visited whitelink n frederick lee...
dun reali like whitelink pixs gowns still ok but the lady refused 2 let mi try coz she said dun hv my size wont b nice 2 c myself in those gowns...
as 4 frederick, when i visited him most of his gowns r out 4 show so din manage 2 c them...
if u r interested can drop by these bridal n hv a feel @ this gowns...
ask them 2 let u try on coz tats the best way 2 hv a feel of it...
ask ur hub 4 opinion...
look out 4 the 'wow' effect when u tried on the gown...
the 'wow' effect will determine which bridal n gown suits u best...
happi bridal searchin...

Hi shir,

Hee, me same as you, will be getting a friend to be the actual day photographer. Affordable and informal. =P

Veil: I think sheer material will look great on photos. If you really like the sheer and glittery material, why don't you take pics of them and show your hubby how it looks like? Just a suggestion.

Gals, I've set my photoshoot in November. Thought I'd beat the monsoon season and get it over and done with. Now I'm afraid that its too early. What do you all think?

Hi Nofuss,

Wah....at least your hubby accompanies you to all these things. Mine just leaves me to make all the decisions. I narrow them down and then drag him to make the final choice. He makes up his mind so fast which is scary. I have to think and think and ask for opinions....but he just take one look and in 5 mins, make up his mind.

I'm not using the hotel cards. I've seen a design on the internet that I liked and my hubby just modified the design. We are embossing the "ai" in matt gold and our names on the cover of the card and then inside, we are printing on a translucent paper which slips into a pocket in the card. The card is then tied with sheer burgundy organza ribbon. Very simple.

I think you've got candles for your favours? I'm still in the midst of looking for mine. Really tired with all these checking out of things.

Welcome here twitti . think we you settle you date then everything will be easy.

hi flowee,

wow, guess you more or less settled most things.

i went to the taka mattress fair but did not buy simmons. instead we bought the sealy bed -dynasty (the one which is advertised on the papers) and my bf's parents bought sealy bed but is an higher range then ours.

after discount is 7920 but still got 800taka voucher so it comes to like7120 if we calculate the voucher. itis so so comfortable.. but got to wait one year before we get to sleep on it. hahaha...(we get can skip the 2% additional discounts and get lotsa points).

gtg

btw, the bed that i say is comfortable in simmons is their house brand. that's why only simmons gallery have. it is call reginald. most comfortable of the lot but it tend to get a bit warm.

Hi Prividged,

Are u in the travel line?So also can get lobangs from u ah?Me and hubby going NZ for honeymoon..my hubby in travel line too but guess his travel agency doesn't offer give rates for NZ.

BLURY,

I understand you are for feedback on the bridal.
I've booked mine with Graceful Image. The MTM package is $3688nett. I didn't book during the bridal show. Instead I went to their shop to see see look look.. fall in love with their gowns. :-)
Go down and try their gowns 1st lar..

Yi jie,

Wow, u study as crazy as me. hahaa.. last time i can study till 2-3 am then wake up at 6 am to study. i prefer waking up early to study coz i will feel fresher

wow, me luckily not 6 mths in advance.. hahaa.. if i ps in June, will be around 4 mths in advance lor. i am thinking of having more time to prepare other things. By the time i select the photos, still need some time for them to touch up then i need to select more personal photos for my vcd and etc etc things to do. So i wouldn't want to lump them together at the same time

sunnyling,
Book my restaurants already. Now awaiting to collect my keys. Last night settle my HPS, another load off.

Welcome Jewelz and bombom to this family.

hi gals, haha...me the worst then, my bridal schedule my lst fitting on the 24th nov, 2nd fitting + trial make up on the 7th dec then fotoshoot on the 20th dec and that's it, no thiird fittin! but anyway told them to bring forward my 1st fitting b4 11 nov cos hubby will be away for 1 month cos of work...so now dunno how, me got to juggle reno & wedding by myself for 1 month.

gwen, i got my lights at lumiere too cos my designer recommended their place, says the price is reasonable and the lights do not give much problems. but i got my dining pendant light at a steal for $70 from lightcraft at the expo exhibition. as for your PS in nov, early or late nov? but it should give you more time to select the fotos and concentrate on other things before your wedding

gals,
its october alreadi, 4 more months!

Hi all, NZ lobangs, no problem. I can give you suggestions and tips. I'm more familiar with the South Island, but I know how the system works so if you need any info I can get it for you or ask around.
Beibei, no, I'm not in the travel line.
Since I graduated 10 years ago, I've been back twice. Was supposed to go back last year again, but decided to save my money and make the next trip with hubby. I have accomodation guides for motels and motorparks in both S and N Islands with very comprehensive listings. I will be getting my NZ friend to get me the latest ones by the end of the year.

flowee,

they throw in 4pillows, mattress cover and protector.

7k+ for one. but without the 10%, it is very diff to get this price. the set that my bf parent got is one time more ex. but really comfy.

I am also a Mar 2003 bride. My wedding is on 30 Mar. Now busy preparing. Happy to find that there are also quite a no of Mar 2003 brides here.

A bit info abt myself. I am getting Bridal veil for my gown. Now choosing photographer, deciding btw kim and chris ling.Any advise.

As for wedding banquet, not confirmed yet although already placed a tentative booking. deciding btw Mandaarin, traders and Pan Pacific. Any advise.

Currently, renovating my house in CCK. My house is renovated by White Space Living.

That's all for now!

ling

wow 7k+ 4 a matt ah???
ur matt muz b super comfortable lor...
when i told my grandma tat my matt cost 2k+ she oredi ask mi how come so ex...
if i were 2 get the kinda of matt u bought she sure faint 1...
i dun think i will spend tat kinda of money on matt lor...
juz my thots...

Hi April,

We found Lumiere on our own. It is I who later introduced Lumiere to my contractor, telling him it has nice and cheap lights. =P Vanessa served us and I must say the service is good. Got us good prices too!

My photoshoot will be in early Nov. Saw so many of you having photoshoot in Dec-Jan. Thatz why I'm afraid that I'm taking the photos too early. True lor, I can delegate the time to do other wedding preparations after that. Dilemma

Hi jean,

Welcome!! => Mandarin seems like a nice place. Last heard Trader's food is not so good. Dunno true or not *scratch head*

Thanks Jan, Shook for the suggestions. I am still thinking hard about if i dare take the risk or not.

I was told that green base powder is good to cover up. But where to buy green one.

Jan: Hoffen i think will be more expensive. However, i think they are having sale so u can go check it out. Let me know. It very much depends if you are having doors for your wardrobe. Classic quoted me less than 3K for a walk in concept. Classics is Classic Kitchen located near Paya Labar mrt. i dont have the exact location. Can u check under in this forum under classics kitchen.
Frosted doors mean not opaque - a little see thru. I cant decribe...

SHook: Glad that everything went well for your ROM. I know it is so hot lately.

Vin: I also thinking of going to Sentosa for ps. where exactly did u go?

Will not be in town for a week...so will log in when i am back. u gals take care.

flowee,
I wont be going to the show on fri.might be going to the bridal fair at ms to rookie rookie..I need to find out which rest o hotel that I liked then go with hubby to make a bookings, I just found out from my friend sis that she couldnt get a date in sept weekend in a restaurant.
U are chatting in FBO also rite saw your postings there too..
Maro,
I will be checking out in the later stage while I now still searching for a wedding dinner package..
actually I need to go look at the magzines for the addresses...
ling,
your mattress must be real good..

Hi EL, Sunshine and all!

Sorry I haven't posted a note for a while. Glad to see so many of us here

I was at the bridal showcase on Sunday but did not sign up. I have more or less decided to go with Kai, like you jbrides. So did you go for the Package A or B? You spoke to Kai personally? I chatted with Kat since Kai wasn't there when I was - Kat is very paient and nice and since I am getting an OTR, I can just deal with Kat I guess.

Hi Pucca75,

Well, we're both in the paramedical line. Not nurses nor doctors though. Both of us are working in different hospitals on opposite ends of the island though.

Hi Trinity03!
I missed you out in many of my posts, sorry! *waves*

Hi Flowee: I'm oso going for BV show this Fri, can c u there. Me also meeting up one bride from May 2003 thread and some from the BV thread. It's like a SB.com gathering!

Wow Kelsey,

you put a lot of care & effort into the design of your wedding invitations. I especially like the burgundy organza ribbons & translucent inserts, makes the whole effect rich yet tasteful.

Aiya.... at least your hubby makes up his mind fast, mine is fussy & must have a say in everything. Sometimes it is very annoying. Even the candles he must choose, I liked the silver ones but he prefers the gold ones, in the end I also gave in to him. See.... all men have their own "nonsense".

Yeah I was lucky bcos I got the candles very cheap from Australia, where my brother lives. He is arranging for a friend to bring in for us. Other than that, the rest I also like yourself, looking here & there.

But I must say that this forum is very useful, helped me to get the videographer, printer & makeup artiste.

You take care & dun get so stressed ok.

Nofuss

blury

which restaurant ur frenz sis checkin out???
think most wkends shd b taken oredi...
mine is a wkdaz nt so 'hot' i supposed... :P

yah lor i postin sb n fbo but more active in sb coz fbo is live chat cant afford 2 chat durin office hrs... :P

sue

which may bride r u meetin up???
slk???
if yes i m attendin with her lah...
its a sb n fbo gatherin...
c u there...

I'm a March bride too! Glad to know that there's actually so many March brides out here! Was wondering how come there are threads for Feb, May, June brides, etc...just none for March brides...thank god Joy2003 started the ball rolling!

Just a little abt myself ...I ROMed on 02.02.02, and my big day will be on the 28.03.03 ... wanted 20.03.2003 initially, but the hotel screwed up on my date and released it out to others, hence I chose another date.

My banquet will be at Pan Pac. I have booked my bridal package with Silhouette, had my design sessions already, and now only waiting for my first fitting in Nov. Photography will be with Robin Photography.

And like many of you, I'm also a Seng Kang dweller! Anchorvale Link to be exact...314series...very near to April's hse...

Just gotten my keys a couple of weeks back, and have just more or less confirmed on my reno contractor. Need to settle a few more details with them first and then will be able to start my reno! Quite excited abt it and can't wait for it to start!

Ok, think I better stop here coz it seems very long...apologies if I've put some of u to dreamland...zzzzzZZZzzz...

flowee,
she asked abt the rest called pearl river palace at suntec, have u heard of it? I might be going there to take a look so as get a rough idea on how it looks like...might be going alone, since just taking look..I feel so pathetic sometimes...sigh..my fh cant take any weekend leave to rackie the place with me...
so, u gals tell me how is it for the show hor...

HI all

wow.. seems like a lot of action...!!
all those going for fittings, have fun!!
I am with TY, so i read that his is not so soon, so I think i dun have to worry abt fitting till late Dec, which will be exciting, coupled with all the holidays, dun you think?

As for my evening gown problem, gwen your idea is good.. shall go and find pics.. i remembered I wanted what Shu Qi wore to the Cannes Festival last year, a beige cheonsam with glitter and sheer, she looks delicious, and I want that look, though I am no Shu Qi lah.. but ve a good mind to go look for pics to 'prove'

hey, the best part of this thread is we can count down together!!

Jean, your wedding day is my ideal wedding day!! You see, I got ROM tis year on 30 March as me and hubby anniversary has always been 30 March.. but elders say cannot, so now I do 21 March.. tat means celebrating our 1 year on our honeymoon.. after all the reno and the wedding, me also no money to buy gift for him already... *sob sob*

Jean, If I were you, I will go with Chris.. i am a huge fan, but my boutique no tie up with Chris, so using Eric Er (Attitude) instead which I think will be cool too, but different style..

Paddington, why you want 20 March, are it is a thursday, are you not worried its weekday.. I got a shick when I found out 21 March not gd Friday hols, cuz last yr's calendar said it is, but I gotta live with it.. lazy to change, but it means my friends may not make it since I ve another fren marrying on 22 March and some frends wk in the same place etc, cannot all take leave etc.. aye... * sigh*

Gwen, your date is not too early.. think about it, you get to admire pics earlier and ve time to plan how to display it..

Want to check, any of you thinking of what program for banquet yet? If yes, can share.. me in major panic.. dunno what to do, want to try something diff but no ideas so far.. sigh..

Now is like 2 months to Jan, do you think if i chop chop, I can find someone who can make me a gown/ cheongsam in time for the photoshoot?

Any one of you wearing kwa? If yes, can share with me what your hubby is wearing?

So much for now.. talk to you gals soon.. and take good care.. :P

Hi! Gays, I am also a Jan 2003 bride. My Wedding date is on 11 Jan 2003 at TTC.

I have taken my wedding photo in 13 Sep and have already select my wedding photo.

Hi! Gays,how are all of your preparation?

Hihi Sue

Hihi May
Perhaps u may like to check wif your make-up artist or beautician where to get the green base powder. Or lugi best, ask your make-up artist if he/she can use green base powder 4 your make up.

gd mornin gers

twii

blury had ans ur qns...
dun b blur blur anymore ok... :P

blury

yah heard of them b4...
y she chose them???
think their menu aint veri cheap...

u wana 2 check out weddin venue???
i can tag along if its a wkdaz coz my guy buz with his comin papers...
mayb can exchange number???

Hi Sue,

Pai sei, the contact is from the contractor who helped built the furnitures for OM. But I do have contacts for printers, not sure if you already have this info, but here it is.

Acepro Creative
The address is 401 MacPherson Road, Hotel Winsor, #02-34,Tel: 6848 4638.

Hi-Tech
Address: AMK Techplace 1 Blk 4010, #03-01/02
Mon-Fri : 9.00am-5.30pm Sat: 9.00am-12.00pm
Tel no.64589455.
Look for Mei Yan.

harlows feb!
thanks for your welcome!!! great to know someone who will be sharing the same date!
you've settled your bridal and venue already yah? that's so great!!! i'm having such a dilemma reagarding the bridal... so many choices! but hey, that's the fun part yah?

harlows meow!!!
thanks for your welcome! so great to belong to this family!!!

wow! got your place already! hoping we'll get our place before the wedding. if not gotta stay with either of our parents... dun really wanna do that. feel that it's better to start off married life just the two of us.

welcome paddingtonbear, veil and jean.
Glad to hear of more March 2003 brides.

I also nearly became a sengkang / ponggol dweller, but changed our minds & bought resale in tamp instead. Or else we all got a lot in common huh ?

Take care & keep this thread moving.

Nofuss

flowee,
no prob,U send email to me ok then I sms u.. my email: [email protected]
I am thinking of going to the tung lok bridal show at orchard parade on the 20th Oct.Heard from FBO friend there is one going on soon...I am thinking of going to HIPV lei, but duno they got weekday banquet going on..will call n rackie...
Their menu range between $538-$618 for weekends.
Did u see the bad comments on noble house??

blury

had emailed u...

yes theres a tunglok show comin up on 20th @ orchard parade hotel...
i booked mine durin the last tunglok show @ imperium...
their promotion then was disc of 15% 4 wkdaz n 10% 4 wkend packages...
i felt pretti worth while 2 sign up on the spot...

my colleague she went dn 2 HIPV 2 check out last fri...
the ballrm din leave an impression on her...

saw the bad comments on noble hse...
i guess every1 hv diff expectations...
so far din hear any bad comments from my colleague who juz attended another colleague's weddin dinner in sept...
except the fish with 'mud' taste...

flowee,
I just called my hubby to accompany to go for the show but he can make it
so pek chek..Maybe ask my gf whether she will accompany me to go or not..
oh is it? I also heard that from another FBO mate that she attended the dinner there n felt not that nice lor...
I think pple has their own opinon, I heard good comments from my beautician cause she just attended her cousin wedding last mth.
I think the fish really got mud taste,seems like a lot of pple commenting on that...

Hi yvonneun,

My wedding is on 25 Jan 2003.

Just had my studio & outdoor shoot.

Going to selelct photos tonite.

Just met up with a friend who's getting married in March next year. She still has quite a lot of work to do so it seems that I'm very kiasu. Am I kiasu? I think it's better to start early so that I can relax and wait for the big day mah...

Hi tiara,

Glad to know you have found a bridal boutique.

flowee,

ya lor, so happy all projects cleared leh!

me gog for nail extension this weekend coz my ps next monday.

wow, the bridal studios u checked out all expensive wan huh? hehehe
mike told my mil that i dun like and wun wear yellow gold so no point mah so my mil asked me to check wif my mum whether white gold is oka or not lor. my mum is okay wif it! voila! hehehe

yap, real happy to receive positive comments abt my house. hehehe
yap, its young children looking at flats with her mum lor!

kk mei,

ya lor, i study oso siao wan.
me can study better at nite.

ya lor, better to plan things in advance if you foresee yourself getting real tied up later.

me can only really relax and plan for wedding matters after 01 nov coz exam ends then.
I'll be a free person then! hehehe
1st thing, i wanna do is to do some handicraft, finish my cross-stitch for my love nest, do wrist corsage etc. thinking of it makes me happy.

flowee jie,

well, dun care so much about the bad comments. No matter how good the restaurant is, somebody will definitely say it is no good. As what we say in chinese, "jian ren jian zhi" rite?

I ate at noble house but nothing wrong with the fish leh. The fish quite nice actually

Except the prawn ball i told u about.

For e.g. yesterday a friend just told me that she had tim sum at noble house before and it turns out very bad. And she also gave bad comments on the tunglok restaurant at singapore chinese swimming club. So guess pple's tastes are different.

blurydoey,

i ate at pearl river palace before. Not so bad lah, except the food quite common lor. The taste not so bad afterall. I feel the ingredients quite fresh and the ambience not bad.

Hi Wabbit,

Did you get the ID from an exhibition too? Can share more on this? Is it becos they can't deliver what they promise? I'm also now praying to find a good contractor/ID.

hi cherry,

thank you.
hopefully, i wld still fit into the gowns
and no more alterations required.

hi yvonneun,

my wedding on 24 jan 03, a day b4 lyne.

having my photoshoot next monday.
what does TTC stands for hah?
not much preparations done for wedding lah coz my love nest ready liao so not much to do until nearer the date i think.
what abt u?

hi fluffy,

receive the contact liao.
thanks a million!