(2003) Brides of year 2003

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">joyful,</FONT>
i've signed up with Focus bridal in IMM @ $3K plus ... paiseh ... can't rem the exact amt liao although it was like 3 wks ago .. :p

hi pucca75,

first choice would be canada, followed by australia. US is also under consideration.

hi joyful,

not that young leh. one dragon and one horse :D.

To all, have a good day!

Sunnyling,
not bad. Well i dun think mine is fantastic anyway.

Glad you've decided your bridal package. That makes U settle your banquet and ROM recep?

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">dolphie,
for a moment, i tot i asked where are u going for honeymoon... hee ...

so wat will both u &amp; ur hubby be majoring in? tink i too kpo liao ... dun ans oso can .. juz let me know ..
</FONT>

Tks Elaine

Will take Rasa into consideration.

WOW!! ur ring pillow look real nice,can't believe u sew it urself.
Congrats and u look beautiful.

Hi twiiti

Me oso kinda of like Beaufort as well. Will go going over for a getaway wif my FH this weekend. think I gonna have lots lots of funs there. Will share wif u upon my return,

I think it'must be rather ex. to hv the wedding dinner @ Beaufort. :P

Understand that u'r be having ur wedding next yr , is it? So u hv ur dates fixed already?
Any places in mind for the dinner or so??

Care to share?

Hi Shir,

yup, im having mine next yr, targetting mid...

have not started anything yet, very stress...

tot of hotel intercon or hyatt or chjimes..

as for bridal packages, im not too sure yet..
nid ur recommendations..

i have visited a few and im quite *confused*..

hi mio :ya my coordinator is Lynn, had informed my wedding date

i think i will go to JLC next yr Jan to select my gowns, mine is OTR, but if cant find any gowns I really like then will MTM, that's y will make my first trip to hv a detailed look at the gown design n discuss with Lynn. I am thinking to hv the photoshoots in June bcos of my FH's busy work schedule....

urs is MTM rite? yah u shld start deign nw as i am looking for desihn nw also,it's better to start early than last minute cos the last 2 months before wedding will be very busy with printing with cards n guestlist, enough to make u headache, morever i am hving church ceremony so got more things to do....

i be having my church ceremony at the pool garden at Amara hotel, it's at 6th level, they indeed hv a nice poolside n it's my dream wedding

can accomodate to 200-230 ppl
so ladies those interested, can chk out with Amara hotel!

Jan: I know how you feel. I also feel the same way. Hee... i have never tried a high neck gown before so i am very worried that i cannot carry it. I tried the bustier kind and i actually look good in it. However, when i am stress or excited, red patches might appear on my neck and chest. So i wanted to cover up... It is a condition that i have that cannot be cured and as mysteriously it appears it will go off. But the problem is itis unpredictable.
So to be on the safe side, cover up the front and leave the back bare...

Sigh...how?

Lets wait for Jazz to come back with the contact and then we see how. Are you doing walking wardrobe. I checked out classics wardrobe and the price is pretty reasonable but they do not have nice doors like cupboards. However, my friend says that cupboards wardrobe are like ikea's. flimsy...

Hi Cocopopzz

So far so good and I had meet up with the Brides that book with Bridal Zone before and they all very satisfied with their photo and service. I see their photo all quite nice.

Meow

Me already ROM august this year liao customary wedding next year.

pucca75
my new place is @sembawang, near sun plaza. will begin reno beri soon - lotsa decsions to be made rite now, i'm practically dreaming abt colours every nite :P

hi joyful
i liase with chris &amp; she'll be my makeup artist. i took the same package as yours too. intending to get OTR WG &amp; MTM EG cos' heard their EG selection is rather limited. did you manage to try some of their EG?

Hi Wabbit,

Seems like we are at the same stage in our preparations....me also doing up my house soon...u r rite, so many things to choose and decide.

Yeah, i am deciding whether to MTM or select OTR WG or EG. See if I can find anything I like. Yup, I heard the same thing too. Only managed to try on one WG and not the EG. When are you going down for your selection? Did you sign up at their shop or the wedding fair?

Hi everyone, this is my first ever posting... I'm getting married on 13 Dec 2003 and am very happy to see that I am not the only one who has started preparations. Booked my wedding venue already but still haven't started looking for my gown.. would be happy for any advice on where to start looking, heard a lot of horror stories about people trying to cheat you ...

Hi happygal,

So ur banquet with Amara will be outdoor??? So romatic.. I want a outdoor dinner too but dun think the older ppl will like the idea..they might complain it's too hot..

Hi Ming,

Welcome to this thread.
Where are you having your banquet??

Personally I've not stepped into any of the boutique so I can't give you any personal opinion but it seems Jazreel Low is a rather popular choice. For the higher end, silhoutte and Bridal veil are very popular.. TED Wu too!

Hi Ming,

Welcome!

I think you don't have to start looking for your gown at this point in time cos it's still early. Cos you may like this design now but few months later, you realise that there's a better one which you like more. So better decide later just in case you change your mind.

haha angelia!!

I nothing much to contribute leh!!!
cannot be i anyhow go in say
"Hi i am living at blk 68?" cos my renovation
finished liao mah..and u are all experts in house renovation...."

Pucca,we are so fated to meet ah!same age,live
same place,same month getting married!! :P

Looks like all the March brides are pretty busy huh?

Hi nofuss
I can't help u wif all the 'traditions' cos i dunno anything at all! My mum wil let me know wat I'm supposed to do cos I'm totally clueless! Btw I'm Teochew and my hubby is Teochew too! So sure got a lot of customs! (GOSH!)

So good can plan for honeymoon... Sigh.. me studying so veri diff to plan..
If u dun wan anything ex, can go Phuket or Bali. I love Bali! Have been there twice and wil sure go again!

Can I join in with all your chat.
Let me self intro . I am tintin, actually plan to have wedding in June, However due to unforseen circumstances, it was postponed to dec 2003 or early 2004.

Actually I had been searching around for a number of Boutiques (initially to prepare for my June wedding so now I guess I can start taking things slower) So far I had visited Jawn,BV, JLC, Ted Wu, Tan Yoong, Silhouette and many others (sound so ks hor)

I guess i could give you all gers some pointers as a da jie jie
Hee! Hee!

Hi Shir,

in fact I was also thinking of Bali or I try Krabi, read in another thread that it is a beautiful place. Which hotel do you recommend in Bali, Hard Rock Hotel in Kuta ? Is it very expensive. How many days would be good to spend in Bali ?

If you are studying &amp; working then your timing quite packed. But hang on lah... I am sure you will find time to plan your wedding.

Seems that I am the most free March bride around these days. Even in office, I log in to read the forum pages, esp when feeling sian &amp; bored at work.

I am on leave tomorrow to settle the rest - printers, Arab Street to get the bridal tulle / ribbons for my favours &amp; to buy the tea set for the tea ceremony. If got time, we will visit a few travel agencies to check out the packages.

Nofuss

Hi gals! Thanks everyone, you're great! I decided to tell my mum that everyone's invited, regardless of whether they're stingy or whatever. I don't want to think about it anymore, I really haven't got time for that and it's too taxing. I'll just go ahead as planned, invite them all. Not sure if it's truly the right thing to do, but for now, it's right. One happy thing though is all the friends important to me have made their promise that they can make it. YAY!! That's all that matters to me.

I'm also still looking for actual day photographer. Nofuss, what are Mabel's charges like for actual day?

Once again, thanks glas for all your comforting words. All this suppoort really helps *hug*

looks good that the thread is going well with all ur contributions

ya pucca and priviledged, I'll be having church wedding at a catholic church and my wedding date is somewhere near end of June (not too convenient to disclose
, pls dont mind :P) My new home will be at Punggol 21.

Thanks Sunshine,EL,

I booked mine for lunch at the Sheraton. Where are you having yours?

EL, i agree about shopping around for the gown and taking my time, i just cannot decide what kind of style to get! Have been looking through all the bridal magazines but probably won't sign up with anyone till next year.

hi happygal &amp; sunshine

glad to find 2 7dec brides...
i went to 'yiu rong zie' to select the date before the tung shu is out in case the banquets are all fully booked :p &amp; I've booked my banquet with Hotel Inter-continental.

i've heard from a friend that Merchant court is fully booked for weekends for next year, &amp; many brides have placed tentative bookings at other hotels for auspicious dates..so ladies, try to book fast...

i've also booked my bridal package with Kai Bridal Couture during the Couture Wedding 2002 yesterday

Thanks, babydoll! i've checked out the original package &amp; compared it with the promo one before the show...&amp; i find that its quite a good deal to sign up during the show

btw, to all dec brides, i think its good to start sourcing for your bridal package after you've settled your banquet...there's a chance that the make-up artist that you want to work with will be taken up by other brides...&amp; i was told that a make-up artist can handle 3 brides in a day &amp; the priority will be given to the bride who booked first to choose the time for her make-up...

althou i've booked early, i'll only go for my 1st appt to discuss the design of the gown sometime next apr/may

so till then, i'll have to workout regularly

Hi Jazz: yah, me wif BV. SLK too!

Hi Jan &amp; May: U gals are very fast! Already started with yr gown designs. I need to wait until end Nov for my 1st appt. Now, just flip thru magazine to see what I want. But, will attend BV's bridal show this Fri to get more ideas. I agree that we gals are always fickle minded especially when it comes to our life events. Of course we want to look our best on our big day right?

Hi March brides..

Can I join this thread.. I was one of the earliest march bride back then, but no thread for me.. *sob Sob* so now I am so glad you are all here...

My wedding ll be on 21 march, on a working friday.. and I am in a major paic cuz I was busy doing house reno and did not do much for the wedding.. nw that i just fix the photo shoot date in first week Jan, i panic panic cuz I dun even ve evenig gown yet!!!!

But now I have you gals to share ideas with and share stress and plan the process together since if we are abt the same time, the time we get ting done, like fittng, shoes, trail make up, actual wedding program etc can be shared too.. what's the joy if we cannot share all these exciting experiences right? It takes one to know and understand one to rite?

looking forward to chatting with you gals.. me still trying to figue out what to do for evening gown.. hehee...

Take care
Veil.. (to glowing health and beauty for the coming 6 mths.. or is it 5 mths?...)

Ok, I'll try to get the contacts from my colleague tomorrow... hee... I'm on leave today.
However, I got a feeling that that carpenter may not be cheap though (per what my colleague told me).

I'm meeting with my carpenter today. It's my dad's friend. He sound pretty ok. I'm getting him to do my waredrobes and cabinets + shoerack. However, I can only comment how good the quality is when the furnitures are up. If it's good, can recommend him.

Hi May: if that's the case then take the gown that will cover up. better to be on the safe side.
no lah. no walk in wardrobe just the normal kind. where is classics wardrobe? i only had a look at the one at ubi ave 1. think it's called california closets. don't really like it so going to skip it. will look at hoffen which is at plaza singapura. have you seen it before. let me know about classics wardrobe. by the way, when u doing your photoshoot? me will be in dec or jan, depending on hubby's outstation date.

Hi Jazz: i quite late. need my gown by dec that's why chop chop. May and my wedding date middle of May 2003 so cannot drag too long. one thing off our mind i guess except now we worry gown not nice. sigh.

Hi jbride,

I was also at the show on Sunday! what kind of deals did you get signing up at the show? and which makeup artist did you pick?

Hi NoFuss,

Going to meet Sarah today to look at her portfolio. She's available on the 15 Feb. If I like what I see tonight, I'll confirm her on the spot. One more thing that's completed.

Also going to settle the card designs today.

The cheque for the deposit for the hotel keeps bouncing! I think like not fated to have this wedding. First time was because something he wrote on the cheque not clear...and then yesterday was because he made an amendment on the date but forgot to sign it. Ai yo....so pai seh....Told him that when he next issues the cheque.....I should write it and he just sign. That way no problems with his handwriting!

Hi Sunshinekid,

So glad that things worked out for you. As long as your closest friends are there for you....that's most important.

Hi Flowee and everyone,

as my wedding on aug03 think it's too early 4 preparation. i going to choose my grown dec or jan...PS dun know when yet.

My new hse at puggol 21, waiting 4 key collection.

Chiao

hi fluffy,

sorry, me din seem to get the contact, you can email to me again, sorry for the inconvenience.

hi cherry,

ya lor, me got big bones and tall at 1.71m so no big gowns for me but a-line and can't be tight ones too coz will reveal my long legs and makes me look so much taller than hubby.

hi twiiti,

you staying at JW too, where?
me near boon lay mrt station

hi flowee,

wow, you visited lots of bridal studios huh?
not confused ah?
I visited 4 the last time and i sian liao.
howz yesterday visit?

hi Jbride n sunshine,
so both of u are 7 Dec brides too?

yah most of the weeekneds are fully bk with the popular gd hotels liao...so ladies esp tinitn if ur big day is at those auspicious, hv to be fast...somemore the chinese calender said that next yr is a gd yr to get married...

well, i am a christain n i dont believe that, me n my FH just think we are ready to spent our life together so we decided to get marry next yr, to me most important is both of our love n relationsip, so never expect 2003 to be so popular....thank God that we bk the banquet early

Good morning ladies!

Hi jbride &amp; happygal,

My wedding is not on the 7th but the 25th. Yup, I'm the lonely one. It seems that the other two dates ( 28th &amp; 7th )that i had originally wanted are more popular.

Welcome tintin!
So maybe you can share your experience with me. What is your opinion of BV, silhoutte &amp; TED Wu???
I've not visited any boutiques and may not be doing so.

hi ming,

i've managed to save ard $400 for the MTM WG &amp; EG from the promo as compared to their original package price &amp; Utopia gave an extra 4 pcs of photos when I signed up at the show

i thou of taking TG GOH but i'll have to top up $200...so i'll engage Leon Lim since he did the makeup for my sis's wedding last year &amp; I like his work..

hi happygal,
next year is definitely a very good year from what i've heard so far...i've heard that u can even hold your wedding during lunar 7th month...
but i'm not sure how true

HI All,

Me back. Took my Photoshoot yesterday. Very very fun but tired. started make-up from 9am and the PS ended at 10p.m... Killed!!! I got the polaroid.. the PS should be nice.... nice the out-come will be the same...

hi jbride,

hold wedding during lunar 7th month? sure or not? parents sure will object!

finally finished my closing,
welcome to those who are new to this thread,sorry didnt really read ar...feeling giddy I think too stress liao..
flowee,
I went to see merdian,concorde n grand plaza over the weekend..Only meridian seems more big to me..but now got one prob, I might be getting less than 30 tables...sigh..now have to search hotels that cater lesser tables..I be making appt to see novotel-apollo on 17th.
Yest went to find the geomarcy man for dates found out he move the shop..so didnt manage to get dates..asked my sis n friend to help liao..
Yi,
intially want to check out merchant court..end up cant fit to their min table requirement..sigh..another choice down liao..
oh btw gals,
I went to the bridal show last sun, saw the graceful image n white link...fall in love with their gowns...but pretty exp lei...
the white link offering me $3988 for mtm gowns n suit...n car use...what u gals think?havent been going to other bridal boutique yet..so flowee, u decided liao which boutique I really admire u can go so many at one shot..my fh always not free n he said i like can liao..aiyo so ma fan...

Wow? 2003 really so good huh? Even the seven month can get married.

Hi jbride,

to top up only $200 for TG. That is very reasonable. TG makeup is very wonderful. Utopia package seems like value for money.

So currently, EL is with Golden Horse, jbride is with Kai , Mio and happy is with JLC and I think the rest of us had to start looking for our bridal. Did I miss out any?

Sunshine,

My presonal view about these boutique:

Bridal Veil - Gowns are very simply design and her signature are crystals. However, I think she had a bit of attitude and quite perssitent on what she wants. Package at $4980 is quite comprehensive.

Ted Wu - Signature is embroidery, so you must want to have embroidery on your both of your gowns to use him. friendly and nice. Good workmanship however some of them the embroidery may be too much. Package at $5+++ depending on photographers got very good makeup artist.

Silhouette - Designers are friendly. Gowns are Okay and understated, but felt that it is a bit too much to pay for the gowns offered.

Tan Yoong - One of my favourite designer. Design gowns of one of a kind which are really beautiful, however very expensive + top up and easily come up to 6k ++ .He is very serious in his work and will suggest what he wants. If you have the budget and like his kind of dreamy gowns, can consider him.

Kai - Nice and elegantly design gowns but also have a bit of designer attitude. Got very good makeup artistes too.

Jawn happy ever after - So far most satisfied with them. Very friendly and helpful designers. Unique ,beautiful and different design.Really one of a kind.Like their concept of making every customer totally different from each other. Very different and beautiful accessories. Good makeup artistes. However, place is a bit small but the price range is very attractive. Really value for money. Full package at 3+++ only.

All those above are those boutique that I personally like. I had visited others like JLC, Flamingo, Xzen and others too. Should you all need any info, please let me know. I will be glad to be of help.

hi tintin,

wow! you are very hardworking! really did your homework before signing up any package. for me, i didn't do any homework, i just sign up because i like the gowns. hope i didn't make any mistake this time.

Wow tintin, that's really alot of homework done!

Thanks for your information. You must have tried lots of gowns huh, must be real fun.

of course I go to you again if i've any qns.. since you've already declared yourself as the 'da jie da' in this field.

So have you more or less decided on one???

EL,

same here. Din do any homework. I've only one in mind and will probably settle down as that. I've never met the designer yet but somehow, i feel that i can trust her. Hope that i'm not wrong lor.