(2003) Brides of year 2003

flowee jie,

so fast got ur simmons mattress already?? So when will it be delivered?

We have also got the date for An Chuang. Can't remember when next year.. keekeke... but will only get the mattress around that date. Most likely simmons too, just that have to decide which type. Which type u actually purchased?

If next year we are getting the mattress, we might be waiting for the GSS when robinsons is having sale on her simmons mattress. Quite a good deal.

Yi jie,

How are u? Me very pathetic. Now 2.30 am already, still cannot sleep yet. Need to print out lecture notes and study. U know, today i run in and out for tuition then forgot to print lecture notes out for lecture *sob*

Hihi Jazz
Ya rite, there is another Jazz in White Link thread. How do u know??
My email address is [email protected]. Thx 4 your help.

Hihi May
I m going for White Link show @ Westin hotel tis sun, so can't go for Conture wedding show.

Hihi Jan
Wat!! your hubby is going away 4 7 mths!! How r u going to schedule 4 studio shooting?? Is your ROM over?
Frankly speaking, gown design in Dec may not b dat updated come May. 4 me, I plan to get my gown OTR though I have 1 MTM gown. 1 of the stuff @ White Link who is a make-up artist cum designer advised me to confirm my gown 1 or 2 mths b4 May so I get the latest design. But if u really love ur gown, it doesn't matter whether it is in or not. Think the trend won't deviate much.

Hi Jan,

So you know who Cindy is. She is my uni friend. Also told me alot of good things abt X-Zen. Which is why my hubby and me popped over to have a look, but were not impressed by them. I guessed every individual is different, there are people who condemn BV too :P

Anyway, don't worry. I am sure everything will turn out fine

Hi Shook,

Thanks. I'll email you once I get the contacts. Apparently, my fren's uncle also does actual day photography (veteran for abt 20 yrs I think). I'm thinking of engaging him as my videographer. But need to check with him on the price.

I was browsing thru the forum and saw another Jazz at the White Link thread. I'm with Flamingo so I figured that it could be a different Jazz. ;)

May, how are you feeling? Better?

Jan, poor thing!!! Which boutique of X-Zen are you at? I've got a fren who took up bridal package with the X-Zen at Centrepoint. It seems that she's very happy and satisfied with their services. Maybe, I can ask her to help you?

Hihi May
I blur blur in the morning, the bridal show dat I m going to attend tis sun at Raffles the Plaza (previously know as Westin) is the Couture show u mentioned. R u going?

April: Wat's OM (pls pardon me for my ignorance
)?

I got 28 downlights. 1 in my passage way, 27 all around my living & dining halls. I find it jus fine
They are divided into 5 groups to control.

I think PS in dec02 is alright as long as your gowns & suits r ready by then. So u might like to let them know u r going for your PS in Dec & they can get ready your gowns in time for your PS.

Gwen: Wow, so good. U managed to settle your gowns already. *envy u* I'll call them today to make an appt. My main worry is they might not be able to help me MTM my gowns in time for the PS in Dec

Hi Flowee,

I have eventualy signed up my bridal package with Silver Cloak Couture (located at Tanjong Pagar). Was actually contemplating to sign up with Flamingo, then came across Silver Cloak & liked their gowns which are very nice & unique; similarly so for their digital photos.

So, u have not decided on your bridal package? Cld check out Silver Cloak, Flamingo & The Wedding Present. Liked their gown designs & u cld choose the photographer of your choice for the latter 2 boutiques. All the best to your bridal search... 8)

Hi fellow dec03 brides-to-be!

Babydoll, wat a coincidence, we've also booked Hyatt for our wedding banquet! Mind if i ask which date is yours? Mine's on 21st.
Yeah, we fell in love with the ballroom at first sight too, hehe!

Passed by tanjong pagar yesterday, seeing all those bridal boutiques along that stretch really made me feel eager to try on the gowns! Okie, i've decided, shall make appointments for this weekend!

Well, i think it's never too early to start the preps! Can do sourcing at a leisurely pace, more time, more choices! But i agree with babydoll that u dun have to place a deposit so soon, wat if later u find a better deal and regret??? (nightmare of all fickle-minded females like me, heh heh!!)

Hi flowee, thanks for your infor. will definately go down to taka..

elaine:::: wow!! 7 weddings ah?? think it depends. if it's your good friend then min is$500 loh. if not, $200 for hotel and varies but min of $120 for resturant loh.

But 7 weddings very xiong hoh...

kk, yah agreed with you simmons got a whole lot of variety. Mattress also got to choose. We will most probably get the R????. sorry i didn;t get the name.

hi aug,
welcome here. so how;s your preparation coming along???

yi,

nevermind, it is just another 1 or 2 mths right. jia you jia you.

Hi LT,

good for you that one more major decision down....
wow.. u decided on the design of your gowns...
me still pouring over bridal mags now..
i want embroidery and a long long train, bustier ...

Lyne - Great that you had fun during your photoshoot! When are you selecting your photos?

Fluffy - When are you seeing your photos?? Soon?? Your cheong sum must be very nice. I intend to use a kwa as my tea dress so i don't have to tailor one.

Vodka - Welcome to this thread, you're another Jan 11 bride hor.....mine's on 17th Jan...photoshoot in mid-Nov. How many fittings will you have?? I have gone through my 2nd fitting already, going for a 3rd one Mid-Oct.

hi oscarjsjc,

welcome here!!! me also 20 sept 03. actually do you have any idea why is 20 sep 03 so hot. looks like there are 5 of more of us having the same day. is it from the Tong shu??

let's share our ideas here... so good that both your parents allow you to skip the dinner. we can't cos' both side are quite "traditional" so got to follow loh.

milan photos are quite nice also. are you eligible for the anniversary photos as stated on the magazine???

jojok, so what other preparations are left to be done??

update:!!!

flowee: 10 sep 03
oscar & ling & hazel & bjiou & juju:20sep03
aug03 : 30 aug 03

have i missed out anyone here??

elaine, no choice cos it is a gift to them. $500 is for close friend mah.. well my friend has not got married yet so i guess that's the amt that i have to give loh. but i am going by the norm that my sis receives from her friends. it is $500 (one person)

dun worry, got come got go mah. anyway, dun tell me all the 7 getting married are your close friend. then you broke liao...

ling,

what is the R???
hehehee...
me really no idea which one to get. There are so many type, like for back support, etc. all sound so impressive...

Oops sorry april, mine only 18 downlights not 28=P
I'm doing 2 steps L-Box in my living & dinning hall (17 '18 watt' downlights) & false ceiling for 1 passageway (1 '18 watt' downlights). All rooms r with simple cornices. Sorry give wrong info

So glad to see so many Dec 2003 brides. At least there's somebody to accompany me during the long wait.

hi everyone..

I'm also a 20/09/03 btb. :-)
I also wonder why is this date so popular..
actually FMIL went to someone to source a date for us using our DOB. Anyway, i didn't choose the date the person recommend b'coz the dates that he gave us don't tally with the lunar calendar dates.
Wonder if you gals understand wat i'm trying to say? hee hee.. anyway, i choose 20th is due to the fact that my b'day is on 20th Nov. :-)

Hi Koala,
I still haven't gotten in contact with any dressmakers (I really should soon!), but my colleague's friend got her WG for $350 (inclusive of material, beading and embroidery), and said that an EG should be less than that. Try looking through the forum, I've seen quite a few people recommending their tailors/dressmakers.

Hi Nofuss,
I'm not sure really how many bottles I need. I was wondering if I should just like buy 20 or so bottles, then if it's finished, then that's that, too bad haha. Is that rude?
I'll have to keep looking out for Carrefour wine offers from now on.....

I am busy still but can manage the stress. i think my boss gets the hint that i am overloaded so he is trying to help out a little. I have got 3 temps to help too - but still they need instruction from.

Shook: i am not going. Tell me about the show. Me hubby reservist so cannot go.

Jan: where is your hubby going...so long..what he doing...oh dear..i can imagine how rush everything will be and you got to do alone. I hope you get some help from family or close friends.
Dont worry about your gown design being outdated. Sometimes those in fashion might not be suitable for us. We are not model thin to carry all kinds of design..so long as you look good in your own design ..can liao.

SLK: So your friend is Cindy. She very popular in this forum singing priases on Xzen.

Jass: There is only one xzen. They moved from centrepoint to the new location.

I have also heard that if you are on good terms with xzen, you do get some special perks. I tried very hard to build the rapport but failed. That was why i decided to go to another bridal.

kk the r???? is a bed which is bigger than the normal king size. you can ask the person at paragon. if we want, got to pay deposit first then they import from the states. i tried searching the net but couldn't find leh. the person quoted us 7k plus.

but the bad point is that i will have a hard time getting the bedsheets if we are going to get this.

My wedding is on 27 Sep 03. Guess, no one choose this date so far?

I m taking a break (fm wedding preparation) till perhaps Dec cos very tied up with office work. Not sure, what to prepare next, likely to source for actual day photographer.

Any good recommendation, my budget for this is only around $600+ (whole day). Still considering if I shld engage the photographer for whole day or just half day (church & tea ceremony) then get my sis/friends to take photos in the evening as I felt not worth engaging a professional photographer to go round 40 tables for phototaking.

I welcome views fm all.

gd afternn gers

wow so many postin in 2003 2daz...

keep up the gd work...

popples

recovered from cp oredi...
back @ work liao...
but 2daz dn with flu bugzs...
sigh...

meetin up 4 dinner???
sure anytime also can...

as 4 ur ang pow prob, its reali depends on venue lor...
4 hotel will b $80 or more if restaurant will b $60 or more lor ( per person )...

ur mil dun mind u attend weddin b4 urs???
dun hv the 3mths b4 n after thin ah...
gd 4 u lor...

Will update you after the bridal showcase this weekend. I may just decide on a boutique from there since one of my shortlisted boutique will be there. I am going for an OTR so I dun have to sign up so soon actually.

Anyone getting married Christmas 2003?

hi ling,

tks u so much....i m so hapi so tat i cn b more open 2 chit chat....=p

yup...tat date is from Tong Shu & my FIL said tat it is a beri gd date lor..so prepare tat mayb more of brides coming on this thread....n get 2 c a lot of wedding car on d rd tat day too....=>

aiyo...then cnt help le lor..but will b beri tired hor...i went thru a few wedding dinner n notice d couples r tired d whole day bt is fun lor...n morever it wont b loose by throwing dinner...hehehe...

aiyo...not here but in malaysia leh...as i mentioned b4 all my mum side relatives r all there lor...morever will b more o less loose $$ bcoz is in sin $$$....=(

my parents r okie with o without dinner but must hve d traditional cakes 2 b given 2 all my father side relatives ( i m a teochew gal )...

i scare my FIL will last mins change his idea....scare man!!! =< both of u prefer 2 go honeymoon...

yes..yes..i m eligible 2 it...=)
u knw wat...non of my friends hd their wedding pkg thru them n i duno is own by a famous artist until i went there n saw her name appear on d glass door....

i didnt go thru a few shop b4 confirm theirs leh...i saw them thru last yr brides mag n which is placed inside my store rm 4 more then 1/2 yr ( my best friend request it frm her SIL 4 me )...hehehe...

i like their photos bcoz is beri natural, relex &amp; totally different from d rest lor...their gown oso beri simple &amp; elegant...which i like...

i thot tat i hve 2 MTM bcoz i m beri tall ( 178 )...but they let me try a few pcs on tat day n i cn fit it well wif all of them only a pcs ( merid maid design ) coz my hips n thigh is big as i use 2 go swimming...

i m thinking 2 go tanning so tat i wont look 2 yellowish..which i dun like...i wnt b keeping long hair as recently i hd joined d short hair club...hehehe....

hi maro,

bcoz tat day is a beri beri gd day...as thru Tong Shu.

sori...i dun quite understand...=?

we r born on d same date but different mth...i m in march n my bf's nephew is oso on d same date leh....

hve u confirm ur wedding pkg??

hi maro,ling, flowee, hazel, bjiou, juju &amp; aug03,

where hve u all plan 4 ur honeymoon?

kk n ling

the one i bought is a queen size 'canterbury' of 12" ht...
hvnt seen it @ the simmons gallery b4...
bought it @ the pacific furniture fair which is ongoin @ s'pore expo till this wkend...
it cost $2499 with a free $500 simmons voucher...
we used the $500 2 get pillows n matt protector...

simmons hvin promotion @ taka durin the comin wkend...
they r hvin sale 4 'felicity' n 'westbury' matt...
u gers can check it out 2...

simmons come in many diff variety...
'backcare' is also one of them...
but i felt its a bit 2 hard 4 mi...

kk mei

we told flora ( the lady from simmons ) the delivery date will b end of dec 2002...
we wont b placin the matt on the bed frame till the ang chuang ceremony...

ling

u mentioned abt gettin a matt bigger than king size???
i think simmons matt r higher than normal matt...
pretti diff 2 get the matt oredi...
if u r gettin a matt bigger than a king size, u might wana 2 check ard where can u find those 'size' bed shts...

gd afternn gers

wow so many postin in sept 2003 brides...
keep up the gd work...

oscar

we chose this daz coz we wana a date in sept n seems like its the onli date which is available 4 us in the mth of sept... :P
it will b 1.5.yr after my rom in mar 2002 2 get customary wedded...

my love nest is @ blk 18x opp rivervale mall...
got it durin the wis this apr...
currentli under reno will b completin soon...

onli booked my dinner venue which will b @ noble hse...
lookin @ bridal n actual daz photographer @ this moment of time...

as 4 my honeymn venue, we wish 2 travel 2 japan 2 c the sakura in mar/apr 2004...

u mentioned u r stdin @ 178 tall ( my hub is of tat ht )...
thot i m the tallest ger ard stdin @ 173 tall... :p
gonna look up 2 tok 2 u when we meet up liao... :P

jojo

welcome back 2 sept 2003 brides...

i m in the midst of checkin out @ bridal...
m interested 2 get bridal who ties up with utopia...
we went dn 2 check out their studio photography n we like it veri muz...
any idea which other bridal tie up with utopia???

u signed up with silver cloak..
how muz is ur package???
they r gd @ which kinda of detailin???
i m in2 embroidery n laces...
will b checkin out flamingo, ted wu n emaunel b this comin sat...
so far had been 2 amanda lee, weddin present, j&amp;m, bv n zann n denn...
which photographer r u gettin 4 ur studio???

u mentioned abt hvin church weddin n tea ceremony...
hvin any dinner???
sorie 4 bein so kpo...
i hv some actual daz contacts...
perhaps i can email 2 u...

hi maro...

welcome here...
remember mi???
hows ur weddin preparation comin along???
u found ur actual daz photographer???

u r a nov child also ah...
mi 2 its on nov 9...

my hub he likes our weddin date veri muz coz in chinese calendar its on the 8th mth 14th daz which is 1 daz b4 mooncake festival...
15th is 'yue yuan ren tuan yuan'...

Shook: No, my ROM, not over. Was supposed to be in May 03 too but now with his travel plans we might just get a JP to do it right before our tea ceremony. it's the best alternative. as for studio shoot. that's why we rushing to get the gown done by dec and then shoot in dec 02. now i also very confuse. must wait for his boss to come back from signing the contract to see when he must leave.
Guess i have to make do with the gown design now. but you are right. since i am involve in the design, it will be to my own taste so should be ok. gosh, sound like i am consoling myself!

SLk: i don't personally know her altho may have seen her at the xzen show. but like what May said lor, she very popular in this and other forum singing praises for xzen. her wedding day in nov at merchant court right? don't worry. i have all your support so i should do fine. any problem i need help with, i will approach all of you. very happy to have all of you for support.

Jazz: thanks for the offer. will definitely apprach all of you when the need arise. i feel so fortunte to know all of you. who says singaporeans are selfish!

May: Guess you are right. i not very good rapport with them but i am ok with them. my fiance like their photography so.... anyway, now that it is confirm i just have to make the best out of it.

flowee,

ya lor, i'm thinking already of making my own wrist corsages.
only 1 last assignment to go and itz studying for exam liao.
thank you for your well-wishes.
looking forward to go kopi-ing and shopping wif you again leh.

oh, max juz started his new job 2day?
tatz good!

Elaine,

as for me, no matter whether it is a weekday or weekend dinner as long as itz in a hotel, i would give at least S$160 for 2 pax. We went for a buffet style one at beaufort and we gave S$200 for 2 pax.

itz up to individual.

kk mei,

I'm fine, just struggling last project and then study for exam lor!

aiyo, you poor gal must take care hor. no work still so busy hah?

feb,

I'm staying near the Boon Lay MRT Station, just 5 mins walk away. U?

glad to find another neighbour?

ling,

thanks for your cheering!
I wpuld perserve.

gers

sorie 4 intrudin ur space...

LT

u mentioned abt u signed up with frederick lee...
can share with mi ur package???
which photographer he tie up with???
i m in the midst of checkin out bridal n had shortlisted frederick...

cherubies

tks 4 ur time last nite...
reali appreciate ur advise...
will keep u updated my bridal...

btw u get ur actual daz photographer???

Hi Yi

That means your block is 600 something. Mine is opp. the Civil Defence Camp (Jalan Behar). Just three bus stop away from the interchange.

Hihi May
Wow, u got 3 temps to help ya. U muz b v over-loaded, above your head. Poor homo sapiens. Ya ya, even wif the temps, u gotta give them a lot of guidance. Sometimes u rather do the things yourself when it gotta b attended urgently.
I gotta know abt the Couture show coz White Link takes part in it. Dat's oso y I told u earlier on dat I m attending a fashion show by White Link. I wanna c wat nice design they have dat I can choose 4 studio shoot. In fact, I tried one of the gowns b4 it was given to the model. It fits me like a glove. Dat was b4 I sign up with White Link. After trying dat gown, I was attracted to sign up wif White Link.
U take care.

eh. most girls are are getting married in sept and guess what.. i'm a nov baby as well. mine is 14th of Nov.

ic see. so the tong shu is out already...

all of you are so tall here. i better hide somewhere. aiyah, dum need to hide also cannot see me...

Hi Nofuss,

Krabi is in South Thailand. Quite near to Phuket.

Sarah is still free for my wedding!
I've fixed an appointment to go see her portfolio.

As for the cheongsam, I just told Francis that I wanted something low back and I wanted something I could use again. He immediately drew out this stunning design for me. Actually was still considering but once I saw the design I just confirmed on the spot. Paid $680 for it!!!! The cost is because of the beadwork. Heart pain to fork out so much but the design he drew was better than what I had in mind.

Hi Sunshinekid,

Carrefour does consignment so you don't have to worry if you buy too many bottles.

oscar,

as for honeymoon
9482.gif
most probably will be heading to New Zealand plus Japan.

jojok, wow, you taking such a long break... just for preparations ah?? well for 600+ maybe you can go to 'O' studio . they have photographers for the about 580. hope it helps

flowee,

dun like this lah.. of course you can see me lah. i'm short and fat what...
9483.gif
think i hide somewhere better.

ling

aiyoh u r SHORT but NO FAT...
so dun hv 2 hide lah...
if u wana 2 compare i m TALL N FAT...
i shd b the one hidin...

Hi Flowee,

I paid abt $5200/- for MTM WG &amp; EG; OTR GS; Bridal Car - Jaguar; Indoor &amp; outdoor photography. The rest like flowers etc r standard items in all packages.

I like their cuttings, embroidery, crystals &amp; the fabric used. Moreover, understand that their fabrics are imported fm France. For photography, they have an inhouse photographer who is specialised in digital. I like those photos w the digital effect. If u ask abt the studio photographers, I like the works of Andrew Choi &amp; Chris Ling. Utopia was also one of our choice earlier.

I have also visited Flamingo, Emanuel B &amp; the Wedding Present. They r just as good.

Yes, I will still have wedding dinner, sounds very pack ya... church, tea ceremony then wedding dinner. I have booked with Mandarin Hotel at Orchard. Have u booked your banquet, where?

thanz gals, so we'll settle for the lights, more on the modern side so...goin balestier to look around this sat again.

jesz, OM is a home furnishing shop. they've got outlets at centrepoint(level 3) and marina square(level 2). their stuffs has got quite a clean and simple look so we like it alot, u may wanna check it out. ;D

Hi Jesz,

I think they need about 1.5-2 mths to do MTM gowns. When are you going down? This weekend? Better make it fast. Coz you'll need time to tie down the designs. All the best! =>

Hi april,

There are a lot of light shops in IMM too. But price-wise, may not be too competitive. Alternatively, can pop by Geylang. There're quite a number of shops there. And yah, there's a nice light shop at Park Mall too. Got a lot of modern lights there. But price may be rather steep.

Gals, you know where to get nice retangular-shaped coffee tables? I'm currently looking for one. Thanks!

april:I bought my lights at Balestier (after 2 visits). There is quite a few at Geylang also. I find their design more or less the same. Didn't really managed to get the design I'm looking for. But I'm too tired to go on "hunting" so just make do with a decent looking one=P Hope u'll have a fruitful trip tis sat
&amp; by the way, jus fyi, the shop I went to had a outlet at Geylang too which I find their price is cheaper (having sales over there) at the Geylang's branch &amp; they got more designs

Gwen:Wanted to make an appt today but Junhong is off
Heard she's very busy. Hopefully she can help me... By the way, I heard their merz quite old. Me will try ask Junhong if she can help me to upgrade the merz without any extra cost... Hope she can...

I have got a list of addresses and contact information of some of the shops featured in "Open Sesame". Anyone interested?

Hi Ling

Care to share why have you choosen Hilarion Goh as your actual day photgrapher/ I am also going to meet him on next Monday but before that would like to hear your comments.

Are you also getting any videographer as well?