(2003) Brides of year 2003

i am new here

my wedding date is 7th of Dec 03 n my bridal shop is Jazreel Low, they are very professional so can drop by their shop, thet dont hardsell n very friendly ppl

i bk my banquet at Amara hotel

finally settle this two important step so can
relax n start to pamper myself like going facial n exercise...

Hi Ding Dong,

You may want to give my photographer a call - her name is Mabel Lee. Hp : 96193220.

I think Conrad charges abt $55 to $60nett/pax for high tea.

I paid $65 nett for my lunch, min 180 pax, but I placed my deposit in early June 2002. Dunno if got any price increase. If you want more details, email to you the menu lah.

Nofuss

Hi No Fuss,

I called Mabel but she is not available on my wedding date.

You can email to me the menu? That;s so nice of you. My email add is [email protected]

Thanks have a good weekend.

Sue n Shook, THANKS VERY MUCH!!!!

Shook, *laugh* that's a good way to convince your mum! Had the same prom with my mum too. I had wanted to ROM on 2nd Feb or 20th Feb, then my mum complained that it sounds bad 2 in chinese -> means "hungry". So in the end, end up with 8th Jan, 'cos got "8" inside... :p Btw, I've got the contacts of the photographer from my fren. Will be emailing you shortly.

Sue, you are with Bridal Veil?

Vin, congrads for settling your banquet!

HI all,

may I check if any of your mothers is requesting for a "dowry" or items like roast pig etc for the wedding.

My parents are not traditional or old fashioned, but I thought being chinese, we should stick to our culture & tradition. Nothing elaborate, but I thought it would be a nice gesture to get my hubby to deliver some gifts on the wedding day or before.... I am also not too sure. To make him do some work on the wedding day to show his undying love & affection for me. .. !!

Btw, my mother is cantonese, but my dad is teochew. My in-laws are Hokkien.

Need your valuable feedback. Thanks.

Nofuss

shir

u r lookin 4 ourdr or indr venue 4 ur rom???
i rom @ rom premise so aint able 2 comment...
mayb u can check with popples coz she rom @ rasa sentosa...
she will b holdin her dinner there next yr 2...

as 4 ur rom package, some bridal throw in rom outfit in their weddin packages...
the trial make up can b used as rom make up...
as 4 the flowers, think u can get it from florist...

i din sign up with any bridal on rom package aint able 2 comment...

kk mei

i think my place super dusty...
gonna a lot of cleani work 2 do...
next time can drop by each others place since i will hang out @ my love nest durin the wkends after completion...

yi

no prob lah...
i remember ur frenz weddin...

i wana bridal shoppin from 1230pm till 7plus 2daz...
death tired nw...
visited 6 bridals altogether...
nameli: flamingo, emaunel b, ted wu, frederick lee, vanity, whitelink...
tried their gowns n guess which bridal shop gown gave a 'wow' effect???
max said i look like a princess...

but the price is pretti steep 2...

also visited tat kua shop along tanjong pagar...
they hv veri nice kua 4 rental from $200+ till 1k+...
saw 1 i pretti like which cost $500+ 4 rental...

ur package the neg 2 return 2 u???

hihi everyone,

im oso planning to have my wedding early next yr.

any suggestions for package and dinner?

mi 2 stay in JW.

Hi taddess,

Sorry forgot about you! Big hello!

Joyful,
I've just signed on with The Wedding Present today. Took quite a while to decide, went down today and I am quite happy with the service provided. Hence signed on.
My church wedding will be at Kampong Kapor Methodist Church.

pucca75, beibei,

Wow, it's great getting your own place! Unfortunately, my bf and I won't be, at least not for the next couple of years as we plan to further our studies soon, so no point tying down our finances here. Kinda envious...

Flowee Jie

Tks alot for the info. will go n recki for more info.

I'm looking for outdoor kind of ceremony.

Met up wif Jeanna yest,heard that she'll be handing up the keys to u soon . Congrats n I think U must be reali looking 4ward to it.

Do enjoy & hv fun for the upcoming cleaning process.

Take care 2 hor!

Hi EL

I have booked with Oriental Hotel. What we did was shortlisted the hotels that will be able to accomodate the number of tables we have and my fiance doesn't want an Orachard Road hotel, so we were able to narrow down a few. We nearly booked with MM but the service provided by Oriental was very good and they had a promotion then so we took that up. I actually also choose not hotels where I have just attended my friends' wedding so I will have a totally different feel

Hi Sunshine

My fiance wanted Christmas initially but our friends normally have lots of activities in the evening on this day so we decided aganist it in the end. But our coordinator at Oriental mentioned that we can change the date still if it is still available.

Hi happygal

Welcome!!

Hi Happygal...

Same here...have booked Jazreel Low...Who is ur coordinator?? Mine is Lynn...Did u inform her abt ur wedding date??? Is ur package MTM? If yes..when will u start the designing of ur gown??? Lynn asked me to take photo in June...think may need to start designing soon...

Too busy to log in at work so thot i drop by on Sunday. Settle my gown designs liao...but now worry that dunno will i look nice or not...sigh...so much to worry...trying not to worry so much...i was torn in between a bustier design and a high neck (halter kind). Worry i cannot carry the high neck one...

Woman...why are we always so fickle-minded...

I guess i must lose more weight this way..will look nice in all design, right?

Hey Flowee,

Thanks for your info. I was busy with work for the past week. didn't manage to log on.

I signed up yday with travis. We took the $2100 package.
Now, left with the bridal shop shopping.

Wow.. you are so amazing, able to visit so many shops in a day. I only managed one per day. So, how was frederick lee?

Hihi Jazz
Thx. Looking 4ward to it.

Hihi May
Great that u settled the design u want. Dat's very fast. U got own design 4 wedding or evening gown or both? U getting bustier or halter-neck?
Ya ya women r fickle-minded, dat's wat womaen r

my new hse is at Bukit Batok Central. Now is under reno so very busy.My reno will complete end this mth or early Nov.

Will go to choosse my gown on Nov and photo taking in Feb.

Hi Ding Dong,

I emailed you the menu + wedding contract already. take a look, if you need to, contact Jennifer Yong - catering sales manager of Conrad, nice girl & very efficient. We liaised with her.

Hope you confirm on your venue soon.

Nofuss

hi twiiti

congrates n wana 2 welcome u joinin us as 2003 brides 2 b...

u hv ur date yet???
if yes, which mth is it???
u might wana 2 check out ur ideal dinner venue n bridal...

mine is in sept next yr onli settled with my dinner venue...
still lookin ard 4 my ideal bridal...
4 mtm gown u can sign up 9mths b4 ur intended weddin as 4 otr its abt 6mths b4 ur intended date...
normalli photo shots will b taken 3mths b4 ur intended date...

shir

yah she will b handlin over my keys next sat...
gonna ask her 2 retifty some defects which we had spotted 2daz...

hows ur reno id selection comin along???
shortlisted which id???

bijou

so u signed up with travis oredi lor...
gd 4 u...

i might sign up 4 the 2.1k package after checkin out with those bridal who tie up with utopia...
so far onli ted wu offered the same package as the package u signed up 4 ( without the promotional extra )...
do u hv any intention 2 get back ur neg???

had made an appt 4 this comin sat 2 sign up 4 the package ( shd b confirmed signin up oredi )...
the dateline has been prolonged till this comin sat accordin 2 kim...
do u hv any ideal wat is the size of a 15r pix in term of inches???

yah been bridal shoppin all daz long yesterdaz...
most of the gowns r out 4 shows so frederick aint able 2 show us anythin...
if wana 2 c those gowns, gonna fix another appt...
he is a nice chap...
btw which bridal u shortlisted???

<FONT COLOR="FF6699">Shirsweetiepie</FONT> - ya, I had my rom at rasa sentosa. If you wan to find out more about rasa's outdoor solemization cum dinner package, just feel free to ask me

<FONT COLOR="A32323">Flowee</FONT> - wow, 6 + 1 shops! you must be really tired
so you prefer which one? Must be really difficult to decide

hi flowee,

thanx for ur advise

watz this 2.1k package tat u r gers r talking abt? im interested to noe more coz itz around my budget

i have not decided on the dinner and the bridal package yet....*headache*

nid all ur advise..n recommendations.

May &amp; Shook: talk about fickle minded. i think i top the list. i just met up with designer yesterday on gown design but after that spend the whole day and night thinking about it. this morning had trouble waking up. think i am going to give her a call. want to change my design. currently taking a can-can dress. wondering if it will be too much that's why think i want to change but wonder after change will it be worse.
with work so stress now this is one more thing to worry about. can't wait for the shop to be open so that i can call her. if not once they cut the material, done deal already! fickle minded......
May, me taking a bustier. realised for some halter designs we cannot wear necklace so ..... my MIL already said must wear jewellery so... that's why i chose a bustier.

now need to settle on furniture. anyone of you went to this shop called OM, they do wardrobe under the name of cupboards???? need some advice.

Hi LT,
don't worry...
i got my ideas from the foreign bridal mags...
they got more variety and i found the design of the embroidery i like...

Hi Jan,

If you're interested solely in furnitures, I've got a colleague here whose carpenter (per what my colleague told me) does the furnitures for OM. Maybe, you want to contact this carpenter instead? I can't comment much 'cos I've not spoken to this guy before.

Hi Tiara,

I also went to look at Oriental but the grand ballroom was booked on my date already so have no choice but to choose other hotels.

hi gals, been a while since i last came to this thread &amp; so glad to see so many new june btbs! welcome to this thread.

joyful
i signed up with j&amp;m too. so who do you liase with @ j&amp;m?

Hi EL, tiara, babyblue &amp; all,

Good morning ladies.

EL, the show is on saturday, 12th OCT. It's rather frightening... after the tongshu is released, the hotels' banquets are being snapped up like hotcakes! I have not attended any weddings at COncorde Hotel so i'm afraid i can't give you any feedback. But if you have decided on it, do sign up during their show... never know it might just be you! Good Luck huh!

tiara, i tot yours falls on Christmas too. So when is yours???

Babyblue, we were very indecisive about the dates initiatially. My FH went to ask shifu for a date but it falls on a weekday in OCT. I refused to compromise on that date, so in the end we changed it a couple of times ( 28th, 7th and 25th DEC) with the Hotel... in the end, decided not to bother so much whether it's gonna be good or bad. In the end, we stick to Christmas.

So now, we have 3 on the 28th and 2 on the 7th.
Seems like all my initial choices are very popular. Once again, anyone else on Christmas????

hi pucca,

oh i know where is your block??near MRT station right?

mine is right towards the end blk 68?..
about 10minutes walk from mrt to my house..

Flowee Jie

Yet to seleect the ID. However, we tends to favour LE. Kinda of like her concepts and designs.
So after working wif her(Jena) for the whole reno, any final feedbacks or opinons to share? Coz this's rather impt. in our considering factor.

Will keep u posted on this.

Elaine(Pooples)

Great 2 hear!!

Is it possible to share ur package from Rasa? Would u perfer to post it here or drop me an email then. Do let me know, shld u need my email address. Tks a lot!

It's must be a memorable moments for the both of u . Congrats!

btw, is Rasa Sentosa &amp; Beaufort the same one @ Sentosa? R they using the same premises?
U mean it's a outdoor solemization cum dinner package, is tat to mean, u won't be holding ur chinese customary dinner anymore after this?

Lastly,care to share ur pics for ur outdoor solemization? Tks once again!

Hi Fluffy,

oic...you're wearing your cheong sum as a tea dress....that sounds pretty nice to wear traditional dresses for your day...sounds so classic...as for your 2nd march in, i oso thinks that may not be necessary...

you stay in tanjong pagar area?? flamingo is at international plaza leh??

Yi - i oso has big bones....i oso cannot wear tight fitting or ball gowns....can only wear A-line....

hi sunshine,

i've decided not to use concorde cos it's quite out of the way for my guests. deciding between holiday inn and hilton. i like hilton very very much but i can't meet their min no. of tables...

Hi Meow

Actually I had already book my bridal package for $3388 more or less the same but my is MTM package for my WG and EG and photo I choose 18R.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">beibei, pucca75,</FONT>
seems like u got to know each other here liao... hey, dun forget to pop in "CCKC" thread more often leh...

<FONT COLOR="orange">Cherubies</FONT> - Wat's ps? me stupid lah...dun know short form

<FONT COLOR="purple">Shirsweetiepie</FONT> - It's ok, I can let you know here
Rasa Sentosa and Beaufort are 2 different hotels in Sentosa. They are 1 end to the other in Sentosa. Rasa Sentosa is by Shangri-La.

You can view my rom video clips at www.wed-tv.com (Showcase of the month) There got the settings &amp; the view of rasa. (Its by the sea during sunset)but u need broadband, if not veri slow. Pics u can view it at www.tongping.com/rom_pics

I'll still be holding my banquet as tat was only a small affair for immediate family members &amp; closest friends. Something like people go to rom premises in the morning &amp; treat guest to lunch as a celebration. Me wanted outdoor + everything in tat location.

It's a buffet dinner. The dinner is $55+++ per person. I had 40 people (4 tables). The min is 30 people &amp; the max is 60. This price includes all the overall settings, seat covers, flower deco, solemization table + chairs, mic, music + DJ, waiter &amp; waiteress, 1 car pass with unlimited entry, + not forgetting the food.

The food is alot, our family had to tar-bao the food after tat, coz if not they throw it away. The food is good (according to my friends) especially the desserts, the cakes

I hope this is clear for you.

Shook: Both my gowns are mtm. I am middle build so OTR gowns are not suitable for my body.

I am looking at high-neck, sleevesless, cut in with bare back half way. Dont think it is halter kind.

The evening gown i settle already.

Jan: Me too. I went down on Sat and talked to the designer but now got second thoughts. Wondering if i should go back to bustier gowns...gosh...
How is your process like? Mine, i went down and told her what i like and we discuss about the diff style. At the end of this month, she will draw out the design and then show me the fabric. Not yet cut the cloth. But i also worry the whole weekend.

I think you can go for the can can look like - it sort of hide your tummy and look grand too. Must you decide now how big the can can should be?

I went to see cupboards at IMM and quite like the design but it is quite x. I was thinking of asking a carpenter to do it instead.

Jazz: I am interested in the carpenter. Let me know the contact,

Hi Shir,

I juz attended a wedding dinner last nite @ beaufort. it was LOVELY &amp; ROMANTIC!!

The food was great too.

Hi sunnyling,

that seems like a good deal... how has the experience with Bridal Zone been so far??

Hey Flowee,

I think 15R is 15 x 10. Yup, the promo is till 12 Oct. We didn't know until we saw the brochure while we are there.

Not sure about the bridal package yet. But currently still wondering btw Jawn and Silhouette. Most prob. will visit Frederick Lee too but it's very ex rite?

Hi Pucca75,

Yup, prefer a one-stop service. That's why I've signed up at J&amp;M. Still got house reno to take care of, that's why prefer to minimise all these!

Hi Priviledged,

My place will be one highway away! ;P Got my new place at Sengkang. Anyone else moving to SK?

Hi Dolphie,
Sounds like you and your FH are still quite young?

Hi Wabbit,
I signed up with Susan and Ken from J&amp;M. Ken will be my makeup artist. How abt you? How was your package? When are you going for your fitting? Is yours a MTM or OTR package?

Jazz: me too interested in carpenter. anything to cut cost will be a good thing now.

May: i just called the designer. she is very nice. explain to me what what is my design again and then we thru my proposed one. the pros and cons. after talking to her, still stick bacy to my current design. sigh. think i panic state lah. keep thinking about it then all sort of ideas and worries spring into my mind. aiyoh, even i cannot tahan myself. cannot concentrate on work too!

once in a lifetime, must get what we like and what will make us look good lor so better to clarify and set your mind at ease. can go back and try the gown again to see which one you really like? my process a little different from yours because i don't have any design of what i like at all.plus all the cut i thought will make me look good made me look worse! (my fashion sense very loursy)

so she told me to look at some magazines and bring them down. i bought a few, flagged out a few that i think i like then visited her. she let me tried on quite a number of gowns, at least 6 to 8 gowns. different materials, cutting and shapes. then we narrow down to those that can fit my body frame and the material i like. from there, she drew out a few designs. my gown very simple. too complicated will make me look even fatter. so settled the design and the pattern. things like beads, crystals etc she said add later when i try on the gown if need be. that's it lor. very fast, only 2 meetings settled liao.

you are right. can-can for me. she also said hide my tummy, big bums and legs. not taking the full can can because will make me look too big. i taking the half can-can. will yours be can can too?

cupboards very expensive huh. aiyoh, why all the stuff all expensive. let's see how the carpenter charged. but got worries too. my parents got carpenter to do their wardrobe. didn't turn out very well. also no guarantee. think OM like got give guarantee, i saw it in those magazines.

pucca75,

j&amp;m is at Tanjong Pagar, where all the bridal shops are. Well, got mine at a wedding event and is about $2,888. Who have you signed up with?