(2003) Brides of year 2003

hv anyone decided when & where to go for honeymoon?.. Right after the wedding(june Sch Holis which is slight X) or July (tink shd be cheaper by then) ?

pooh,
ic. can't contribute much to reno thingys .. coz din do reno for my resale flat ..

hulo gals ..

I'm new in this thread. Glad to know there are Nov/Dec 2003 brides in here.
9697.gif

Kinda gabra in this whole wedding planning/preparations ... so still need alot of advises from everyone here.

Cheers !!

twink|ets (aka jeweLz)

Hi EL and Sunshine,

Don't say that lah! Pai Seh
Actually I do all these homework earlier was due to the fact that my wedding date is suppose to be in June, therefore started on all the research. Anyway also good to start early lah!

EL, you are going to the tampines or Yishun one? I only heard that Golden Horse additional photos are quite expensive, apart from that, I think they should be ok.

Sunshine,

Which designer are you loking into?

i'm like the rest...din do much homework before signing up
but I've went to Ted Wut & Kevin Seah for a kick start & to get a feel of wearing the wedding gowns
...hope kai will be able design a dream gown for me

hi tintin,

i'm going to tampines one. actually signed up during a fair. was a bit worried cos i made a mistake once and signed up for a no-good boutique. hopefully this time, i made a right choice.

hi jbride,

i'm sure you will be able to get a dream gown. don't worry.

wah, u gals are very active leh....!

wah, even cant believe that even the chinese 7th month can hv wedding, but i bk liao anyway....

tintin, MTM below 5k is considered a gd package, glad that u done ur hmwork as it's very impt,
so u more or less confirm Jawn Happy After?

gals, do chk out any hidden cost also before u sign any contract....
hidden cost like do they charge extra for tea dress, fake eyelash, ampoule,dry cleaning of ur actual day gown,
anything ont include the package, must be written down black n white on the paper

sunshine, ur wedding date is easy to remember

Hi Shir: I got some of my furniture at Melandas too. To be delivered at the end of the month. Did you face any problems with delivery? Coz I saw in the Melandas thread that some of the deliveries are not on time. This got me a bit worried.

A bit of update, I got my kitchen lights and coffee table over the weekend. I would like to recommend Lumiere Lighting from Balestier. Got some cheap and good lights. And the Made in China pieces cost cheaper and nicer than the ones we find in Geylang. Worth a look. =>

As for coffee table, I got it in the Furniture Exhibition at Expo. A value for money piece and best of all, it fits the rest of my furniture. =>

Nofuss: Roast suckling pig is Cantonese custom. But think only the more traditional folks do the suckling pig thingy these days. I think its good to have some minimal traditions but those too troublesome ones, I prefer to ignore. =P

Veil: How long have you been looking for the evening gown? Your designer couldn't give you any suggestion? My coordinator narrowed down to certain cutting that suits me. With less to choose, less headache lor. ;P Maybe you can try on more designs then you can have a better idea whatz good?

Jan: But i really like the bustier design..sob...why must i have incurable condition. Sign...

Hoffen wardrobes are very expensive...worst that Cupboards. Classics wants are very simple...but their downs are those frosted ones...if you dont mind...

Vin: How can you take photo till 10 pm. Where u go? Must have been really tired for you.

hi nofuss
Hard Rock at Bali is certainly very ex!! I can't remember the hotel name that I stayed but it's opp Hard Rock and the prices are quite reasonable. Of cos u can't compare the services provided la! for me, comfort n convenience more impt.
5 days should be sufficient. normally, i will spend abt 2 days sun tanning at the beach (or do beach massage, it's good! but remember to bargain!), i'll spend the rest of the time shopping. I remembered we rented a car n drove aroun looking for furniture.

sigh.. reali bz n stress wif work n studies. didn't plan anything else for wedding except to go for fitting. juz glad tt i need not wori abt my flat coz it's done.

hi gwen,
i didn't encounter any prob wif Melandas at all. In fact, they still called me to tell me they were on their way during delivery. the men were oso veri friendly n helpful.

welcome veil!
u gotta do things one step at a time. like me I'm so bz but I stil manage to squeeze out time. dun wori all of us here will help!

hi joyful

i din attend the wedding show, but chris gave me the promotion price cos' i turned up @their shop just a couple of days after the show. i tried a couple of their simpler WG during selection of ROM dress, but not the EG so far. i'm not sure when my WG/EG selection is, i'll check with chris first.

curious to find out if u hv selected a theme to yr house? who is ID/renovation contractor?

hi pucca75

my FH & i hope to go nz cos' we really look forward to go skiing again. But, i tink the snowcaps @nz will melt b4 we can save up enuf cos' we'll be so broke after reno & wedding that we prob hv to save up for months

Hi LT,

The frederick Lee package you listed above is the normal package or just on the wedding show only?

Hi May,

Me went to Sentosa for my PS. We spent ard 2 hrs in Sentosa inclduing travelling time. The rest in a restaurant, less than 2 hrs and others in in-door PS. My condition yesterday quite good. Took lots of photo. Can you imagine normally ppl take ard 150 pcs photo to choose whereas I took more than 300 pcs??? I got the polaroids, quite nice. Then he took some digital photo of mine for his own keep. The digital quite nice as well.

Hi Cherry,

Will be choosing my photos this Thu.

MIA since my last posting because I was out of town...

My wedding gown is halter neck and A-line. It's easier to walk with A-line

Hi wabbit,

Well, I'm still deciding on my ID. Quite a few choices on hand and have to work within budget. So got many things to consider. Have you selected yours?

Yeah, I can fully understand wat u mean abt honeymoon. Me n FH hope to go NZ too but really, the wedding n reno will use up a lot of $ so must go to a place within budget....

gd evenin ladies

sorie 4 nt postin coz mi on course yesterdaz n 2daz...
course finished 2daz back @ work 2molo...

elaine n blury n bijou

well hv enjoyed my bridal search last sat...
went 2 another one yesterdaz nite...
more or less confirmed my photography with utopia...
booked appt with travis signin up 4 his promotion package...
currentli lookin ard 4 bridal liao...

bjiou

hows ur bridal search comin along???
frederick lee packages comes with robin photography...
after - off robin's pix, there's 2 packages @ $3388 n $3588...
u might wana 2 check him out...

i check out silh last nite...
miah attended 2 mi...
shortlisted them also...

also check out with utopia their 15r is 12" x 15"...

shir

yes jenna handlin over my place this comin sat...
u were askin abt their workmanship...
no complaints on the wet works but capentry works nt veri satisfactory...
can onli comment more after she hand over...

yi

yah lor been bridal shoppin last sat long...
last nite went 2 silh...
miah is pretti nice...
shortlisted them also...
hows ur work, studies n weddin preparation comin along???

blury

so u manage 2 check out some hotels...
which ones u had shortlisted???
how many tables r u lookin @???

if u r reali in 2 whitelink perhaps u can ask 4 elaine invoice number...
she is with whitelink...
her packages is more comprehensive as the normal whitelink package...

dun hv 2 envy mi lah...
my guy will b hvin papers soon...
so try 2 check out bridal b4 his papers...
hvnt signed up with any but shortlisted some oredi...
this fri attendin bv show r u goin 2???

seems like NZ is a popular place .... me n FH oso planning to go there , but we've not decided yet.. still open for other options.

wabbit & joyful, then ur future trip to nz would be a free & easy one or planning to go with tour gp ?

Sunnyling,
Miss and Mrs still the same, it begins with M
so no diff lah.

So how's your progress since you fall on the same date as me. What are those you've done besides your bridal?

priviledged,

my flat now ready yet. One of those 600 plus series facing coney island. Can't wait to move into my new home. I guess most likely i'll get the flat ready only after the wedding.

pucca,
I'm not planning for honeymoon straight after wedding due to work commitment. Perhaps postpone to Dec 03. Anyway for the past few years me and my FH had went on tour yearly. so make no significance diff. But I've got some friends who have 'made in NZ' babies
during their honeymoon.

Hi sunshinekid...

what a big relief that you made your final decision. Now only concentrate on the other things & to beautify yourself for the wedding.
Mabel charged me $950 for actual day photography with 7 rolls of film (2 B/W & 5 colour), 9 hours coverage and a 30 page coffee table book.

Hi Kelsey,

keep me updated on your meeting with Sarah. I am also like you, if I think its okay, I will confirm on the spot. Today we went to hunt for printers. Went to Acepro (recommended in other threads) at Hotel Windsor, not too bad as they have a variety of paper to choose from, offer logical advice & prices are reasonable too.

hehe.... can imagine your embarassment with all the mistakes your hubby keeps making on the cheque... ; )

Nofuss

Hi Cherry,

I just went for my 1st fittin 2day...the fit is quite gd, just needed minimal alteration. Both WG n EG n hubby's tux all nicely done up. I luv my WG but kinda skeptical whether my EG really suits me.

Thanks Gwen and shir..!!
Shir, you have already gone for fittng? that's fast!

As for my evening gown, i wanted someting with 'character', like cheongsam or something..
me and hubby cannot agree on fabric so we kinda drop the idea, i like something sheer and glittery while he think that wll not turn out well in pics.. v frustrating.. he wanted me to be in bold colours and like in bold flowers or something, which i thk is not very me.. aye..

I was shopping for off the rack, gwen, my designer gave sme ideas buti decidednot to take the EG from him as the styles are not v. me .. so now in a rack..

You gals settle things like actual day photograpy and stuff like what to do during banquet? me quite worredi really..

Talk to you all soon..!!

Veil

joy2003: my dinner is at merchant ct, not sheraton.

jesz: tks for the detailed explanation. will KIV curtains for the time being. settle furniture first...

veil: hehee...me same situation as u...hubby wanted my EG to be dark coloured...more sexy he said...me wanted pastel colour, look sweet n pretty...anyway, i gave in eventually. tk gdness the gown turn out very nice. will b going for my 3rd fitting in another 2 wks' time.

wah! the thread going very fast. can't keep up...read until i blur :p

Hi Cherry,

Yup yup...me stay at Tanjong Pagar area... very convenient for me as bridal shops are all so near... = )

Yi, Cherry - wah, u all so tall...me envious leh...me only 1.58m...sigh...

Me going to choose my photos this Saturday...so excited. I think I would exercise alot of self-control and not spend too much on the photos.

Yi, i have e-mailed you the contact for the wedding favours again.... hope you receive it this time....

Yi - You're so tall....i'm only 1.64, can't wear big gowns partly bcos i'm plump~

Lyne - nice to see you back! sure your photos will turn out well! update us after you've seen them ok?

Vodka - don't worry, i was not confident abt how my EG turn out too! just believe in your designer, everything will turn out well for you!

Fluffy - at first i thgt you are staying at IP which confuses me totally!<=P......share with us your beautiful photos too!

Vin: good to have you back and to hear that your PS was great. must be a wonderful experience. 300 pcs is alot. my gosh. will you be buying all? usually so many will make us tempted! why must he take some digital photos of you for his own keep?

May: if you really like the bustier, see if you want to take the risk or not? hmmm... personally i won't lah. worry lah. on that day will be excited thru out the day? the patches not controllable. for the PS, why don't you choose the bustier. this way, you will get to wear a bustier for taking pics and need not worry on actual day? sorry to ask but where is classics? flip a few magazines but have not seen them before plus what do you mean by frosted? how expensive is hoffen? i heard om need about $4k and that is already very expensive for me!

gd mornin twii

the package is @ 2.1k with std items of 20pcs 15r pix, 24pcs 3r of 4 pose selected, 1 table top...
promotion items throw in if u sign up b4 this sat r 6 pcs of pix n also a wall hung...
hope the infor helps...
btw u interested in utopia 2???

hi blurydoey,

oh, u like merchant court too?
ya lor, their minimum table is at least 36 i think.
never mind lah, you sure will find your ideal one soon.

hi twiiti,

u oso near mrt?
which blk? mine is 660A.

hi flowee,

my last project dateline today.
will start studying for exams liao le.
btw, my little nephew celebrating 1st month this sunday leh!

my wedding preps?
nothing much lah, 4th fitting tomoro and ps next mon.
other than that, nothing is done lah.
btw, hubby tells MIL i like white gold instead of yellow gold for the si dian jin liao. :p

btw, you koe jurong walk-in selection rite.
yesterday go people visit my house and they say very nice, like private apt, so happy! hehehe
they are thinking of taking the units below my flats.

so you decide more or less which bridal pkg to take from?

hi cherry,

ya lor, me too tall lah!

hi fluffy,

thanks a million.
btw, i agree with u that we gals should exert self-control and not spend too much on fotos that we wun really take a look after the wedding. kind of waste of $ hor! :p

hi lyne and fluffy,

dun worry, your photos wld turn out well and nice.
Remember to share with us hor!

me gog for 4th fitting tomoro and fotoshoot next mon so wld be choosing probably in 2 - 3 weeks' time.

wabbit, pucca &amp; Joyful,
my FH and I also plan to go to NZ for honeymoon, but like all of you, $$$$$ is the main problem.
I did my Uni in NZ, so I'd like to let all my NZ friends, who are really dear to me, meet my husband. Of course, the scenery is second to none, especially South Island in winter.

We might scrimp and save and still go for a short while. I can probably bunk in with people and I know where to get cheap rental cars and accomodation in other towns.

Trinity,
My place is an EA along Punggol Central, facing a piece of empty land (so far, still empty, that is). We'll only be collecting keys in early May (cos FH not in Singapore), but the ECD is end March.

Hi Yi jie,

Long time never talk to u liao. kekeke... Ur life must be really busy!

Me too! Very busy! Late nites recently. Yesterday is another 1.30 am kind of late nite for me. And this is not my record *sigh*

4th fitting already, so good. kekee.. U must be really excited every time

i am thinking of choosing my gowns in Feb/March, then photoshoot in Jun. Will that be possible? Too kua zhang or not? kekekee...I scared i won't have much time once my NIE starts in July. Moreover, still got to avoid the chinese 7th month and other ad hoc events.

Hi Flowee,

sorry for the wrong info.. me also blur nowdays. Too much work and deadline to meet.

So, in that case, Frederick Lee's package not really that expensive compared to Sil.
So, you got miah to attend to you. I think he's quite a sweet guy. I got heath the last time. Also, quite nice too. Overall, i guess the designers there are all quite nice ppl.

Hihi everyone
Back to work today. Very tired
yawn.gif
coz woke up at 5+ on Tue, slept at 12+ n woke up 5+ tis morning. Had a little hiccups for my ROM. When I called on Monday to book for ROM lunch, the restaurant was fully booked on Tue. Seeked for help in tis forum n luckily got an instance reply fm a sweet bride.
. It was an excellent recommendation she gave. Then my hubby's witness was late. Our ROM was supposed to b 10:30am but the witness reached ROM at 10:35am. Luckily the staff at ROM allowed us to wait for the witness to arrive.
The weather was boiling hot yesterday. My hubby was drenched wet in his shirt. I din have dat problem as I was wearing an open back crisscross gown. However my back is burnt now wif crisscross pattern.

Hihi May n Jan
It is a woman's human nature to be fickle-minded
, especially when u r preparing 4 ur once in a life time great event.

Hihi May
Perhaps u could use shawl to cover ur red patches or ask the make-up artist if he/she could use thick make-up to cover up? Check wif the designer if there is any way to cover up 4 dat.

Hihi Vin
Thank u 4 the congratulation note.
Wow, photoshoot fm 9am to 10pm, more than 12 hours of work!!! The effort is worthwhile. Afterall it is once in a life time...ummmm.....unless u wanna go 4 anniversay photoshoot
Share ur photos wif us when they r ready. Looking 4ward to it

hi flowee,
glad u settle the photography liao, u mean the crown prince show??or??? I be attending a wedding this sat on westin...
My MIL wants to buy the si dian qing, but I want to get white gold like yi lei...dunno will succeed or not...
Actually rather difficult cause no dates, but I will also see look,noble house,pearl river,chinos,Hipv,hilton. I told my fh that the dinner money we will bao, so at least we can decide on the dinner we wants...instead of his father paying for us...

Yi,
u got wis in your blk also ar...wha must be so happy when pple say your house looks like pte property...
actually gals need your comments,
which bridal shop is least costly for mtm ar? white link,federick lee,graceful image,Jazeel low collection?

Wow Privileged,

So if we decide to go to NZ for honeymoon, can get lobangs or tips from you?

Joyful, Pucca75, Wabbit,
I'm afraid I can't join in the discussion about renovations, as I hv not gotten a place.

Have you all decided on NZ for your honey moon then?

Pucca75,
My bf and I will prob do something related to healthcare as that's our interest.

Hi NoFuss,

Ya....my hubby was boasting to me last nite that he's such a wonderful hubby....that he sent out the replacement cheque without me having to remind him! Hehehe...I'm keeping my fingers crossed that the cheque will go through this time.

Accomplished a few things yesterday. Confirmed the cards. I've seen so many cards and keep changing my mind until I got so sick and tired and decided to just confirm the cards which my hubby liked. I saw the mockup yesterday and it looked quite nice.....so decided to go ahead with it. Quite a few people think it's a bit plain and why I want to put the chinese "ai" on it instead of "shuang xi". Was hesitating at first because I was affected by their comments and because I thought that the card isn't quite perfect but then, people read the cards and then throw it away so I don't think I should be spending too much time and money trying to find the perfect cards. The cards actually took longer to decide than my wedding dress!

I called up Acepro.....the girl never got back to me even though I've emailed her my design and called her up a few times. She kept saying ok ok ok she'll email me back but never. I loved the cards at Craft Inc but they are expensive! You can try Mervyn from Expresspoint. Even though I did not go with him in the end but he's very prompt with the quotes and called me up to follow up. Went with a shop in Delphi in the end because the guy had the exact paper we wanted and he had already had done up the concept.

Also confirmed Sarah yesterday. Pity she didn't have any photos of actual brides so I could only go with the works she's done for magazines but her portfolio is impressive. We didn't really "click" but I guess that's hard to tell in a 20 mins meeting. I decided to confirm her because I really liked her work and also am really too busy and tired to try to go and look at some more portfolios!

hi veil
my actual day foto wil be done by a fren (save cost ma).... now waiting to go for 2nd fitting.. actually not fast oredi.. my fotoshoot in dec lei..

for EG, i like something bold ... so it'll be RED!! my mum so happy kekeke.. she's so afraid i'll take black.. anyway, u gals must decide what colour suits u n the kind of style. it's veri impt to commumnicate to the designer...

march
wa u even faster go for 3rd fitting oredi.. wich bridal r u from?

hi kk mei,

long time never hear from u too!
yap, been busy with projects again lor.
next week on study leave to prepare exams liao!

then after exams, I'm a free bird liao, can concentrate on wedding! hehehe

late nites also common for me.
when studying exams, i can stay up till 4am and
wait up again at 8am to continue. siao hor! :p

ya lor, 4th fitting tomoro and then ps next mon.
kind of excited.

actually, its ok to have the ps complete early if you want to.
like wat u say better early then later no mood or time to do it, rite?
i have got friend who also took 6mths advance, its ok as long as you are comforatble with it!

hi blurydoey,

yap, wis for my blk too so must be friendly let pple in to c c look look mah coz they might be my future neighbours.

ya lor, happy to hear good comments abt my house mah and they oso take down my ID nos. leh!

btw, i'm with J&amp;C. my pkg is 3888.

harlows everybody!!!
me new to this forum... i'm a nov 8 bride so thought it'll be great to join u guys in the planning!
have decided on hotel and church... that's about it!
still trying to decide on bridal boutiques and photographers... headache with all the choices man!!!
so far narrowed down to silhouette, bridal veil and amanda lee...
will be going for the BV show this friday but really undecided whether to go with them cause have not got a chance to speak to michelle herself. anyone got any experience?

Hi Jan &amp; May,

I've got the contacts from my colleague. Do you mind passing me your emails? I'd emailed the address n contact to you.

Hi Vin,

Must share with us your picts hoh!
Btw, do you have to pay something like $88 (some photoshoot package for sentosa) or you just drive in and take photos?

Hi Priviledged,

Yeah man, can find out more from you the places to visit if we really are going to NZ....

Hi Dolphie,

No lah, now got to settle the reno first b4 deciding on honeymoon,,,,so not certain yet...we also got the mileage tixs to redeem for travel in Asia, so maybe might juz utilise that first n go NZ at a later time.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">joyful,
me &amp; hubby oso hv not decided yet on whether to go F&amp;E or tour group</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">priviedged,
wah .. nx time we can ask lobangs from u lah if we wan to go F&amp;E in NZ..tsk tsk .. </FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">dolphie,
i oso hv nothing to say abt reno coz my place need no reno since my previous owner kept it it gd condition..

ic .. u r majoring healthcare
...do wat wan huh? i tink its quite broad right? r u a nurse? u can dun ans me as its ur privacy ..
</FONT>

Hi Meow

Havent really done anything beside bridal cos keep thinking a long way to go still. So have you decide on any restaurant? Me and my hubby both very lazy so keep on dragging loh.

HI Jazz,

If you drive on to Sentosa, just need to pay S$12/- aft 5p.m (for one car, max 5 Pax). The S$88/- you refer to is payable to who?

What an active thread here! So many messages in a few days...

I am also looking for a bridal shop. So far, I have only been to JLC and Dang, and tried on their gowns. I must say, it was really an experience trying on the gowns. No wonder some people say it is the best part of the wedding preparation.

Dang specialises in hand-sewn beads, and they can be very elaborate. But I personally do not like beads, so I think I will give that a miss.

In the other threads, there were quite good comments about Blumesh, so I will give that a try. Anyone have experience with Divine? I know they are known for their low-back gowns.

I personally like crystals, organza, flowers, and my gown to have a 'sweet' kind of look. Sth simple yet elegant. So I am not really looking at really any 'signature style' really...

btw, I received an email from vanity, saying I got a $100 voucher from them!! Anyone had that too?