(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi pucca75, Dolphie and taddess! Great to have you on board.

I agree, we should keep this thread active and share our progress.

As for me, right now, my Fiance has returned to the US for the next 6 months. We've done all the big things, and I'm about to confirm our church caterer and actual day photographer.

I'm also looking for a car to rent, with driver is ideal but no driver also OK. Any of you got good 'lobang'?

Hi tiara,

Mine's on Christmas. But I was told it's not popular. Yours on the same day too???

Mio & EL,

28th Dec was my initial date... just changed it
last week to 25th instead... else, we'll have 3 brides with the same date.

Finally some reply tot only me so KS have decide on Nov 03. keke

My wedding is on 14 Nov, its a friday cos no good weekend which suit me and my hubby so bo bian choose a friday.

My wedding date is 6 Sept 03... Anyone else?

Anyone got loband for renting sport car?

JL

u also lookin 4 coupe???
mi 2 but seems like pretti diff 2 get lobang...
u hv any contacts @ this moment of time???

Hi Fluffy,

if you're wearing it for your church wedding, i think it's alright to wear kua but don't you need a tea dress to change into?

I'm having my 3rd fitting next sat. 1st fitting is only the inner lining, 2nd fitting the outer and to dertermine the length, 3rd fitting complete lor, but our 4th/5th should be b4 photoshoot and actual day and more if you had your EG MTM too!

I'm with Flamingo...

priviledged ,

thks for the warm welcome

ur bridal package does not come with bridal car meh ?

Hi Jesz,

Thanks for the shop name. Coz I'll be going down to search for lights too. =P

Hee, maybe you'll get a Jaguar on that day too? =P Coz if there's no available car... who knows, you may just get it! Fret now, Islandpub may have Jaguar FOC, but you may have other stuff FOC too, yah?

Nofuss: Wow! I'm impressed! You even got the invitation list out already!! You're the most well-prepared bride in this thread. => Hmm.. have you finished your photoshoot?

Joy2003: Maybe you can get your makeup artist/designer to offer you some suggestions on what type of flowers can go well with you and your gown? Hee, I've not thought of the flower arrangement myself. Guess I ought to start thinking!!

Hi Mio and EL,

I am new here, just happen to chance upon this.
Well I am a Dec 2003 bride too

and my date is 28Dec too...

Wow, didn't know you all are so fast, even booked bridal boutiques. I am still sourcing around, but have confirmed hotel already. Yeah, paid the deposit.

Hi babyblue, Mio & EL,
Hmm, looks like 28th is really a hot date huh. Kinda having 'regrets' changing my date.

jbride,
7th Dec is my third choice.

Hey all,

anyone out there getting married on the 25th????
Dun wanna be the lonely one out there. boo hoo hoo! Izzit true that most people wun wanna chose Christmas to get married??

Hihi Jan
Thx.
Yap yap I got my ROM dress, bouquet, shoes but not handbag coz I dun intend to carry one. Let my bf carries all the stuff.

For the bridal magazine, perhaps u like to post in the forum n c if anyone wants to sell theirs as 2nd hand (if u dun mind). Sometime ago, someone posted on the forum for sale of her 2nd hand bridal magazine. Not sure if it is still available. The path is
SingaporeBrides.com - Discussion Forum For The Singapore Wedding Couples: Marketplace & Exchange Corner: Bridal Magazines for sale

Hihi Jazz
Thx
Wat a coincidence. My bf's birthday is oso on 8th Oct. Dat's y I chose to ROM on dat date, then he won't 4get our wedding anniversay mah. He said gd but unfair coz he gotta buy wedding anniversary n birthday gift 4 me, but I only need to buy him a 2-in-1 gift

I took some effort to convince my mum on our ROM date. She wanna look 4 auspicious chinese date. So, I look out 4 auspicious comment 4 the chinese date 4 8th Oct.
Happy birthday in advance.

Hihi Vin
It is not advisable to go for facial 2 weekds b4 photoshoot n actual wedding day. Normally face will b red n might break out after facial.
Congrats for having decide on your wedding banquet

hi sunshine,

aiyoh! why did you choose christmas? you will have one present less every year leh. if you choose 24 or 26 dec, then you can ask your hubby for christmas present AND wedding aniversary present!
but never mind, since you have already chosen, christmas day is a good day too. friends and relatives don't have to take leave.

hi babyblue,

wow! we have three 28 dec brides here. such a coincidence. so where will you be having your banquet? can share share with us so that i don't have to consider your venue?

Hi babyblue..

Ya..where have u booked ur venue??? I'm considering GH...

EL,

How abt u??? U said u have shortlisted a few hotels, rite???? Which are they???

Hi girls!!

think we start keeping this thread active ah!!

Cos since our weddings in June 03,we can all share the joy and misery in preparing weddings!

Dun u all think so??
Me signed up with Bridal Zone and will be trying
my MTM gown and taking photo shoots in Nov.

dinner is at Marina Mandarin.
How about the others?

beibei,

u so fast ah ??... hee... like Chong Feng Dui ...
u settle all ur stuff in Marina while i've done mine in IMM ..

i've signed up with Focus Bridal ..they told me to call them up in Nov to make 1st appt in Dec for gown trying & measurement leh ... according to the salesperson there, photoshoot will be in March (hope i rem correctly)... so many mths later than urs leh .. beibei

my new place is @ cck ... how abt u ladies?

My mother just told me yesterday that maybe it's better not to invite her side of the family. Mainly because most of them don't get along with each other, and they are stingy pokers. The problem is, the min. guaranteed no. of guests is 100, so I must pay for 100 pax whether or not that many turn up. So mother said if I can catch hold of 100 pax, then she really thinks I'm better off taking out her family, she doesn't want to see my wedding get nasty with black faces.

*SCREAM!!*
I asked her if she really thinks I have intentions of handing out invitations at MRT underpasses! Because it's 1st day of CNY, I already have difficulty meeting the 100pax attendance with her family included, where can I possibly find more people??!

I was really upset, and contemplated reverting back to our very first plan of leaving the country, going to some nearby resort in Bintan or Bali, and having a very small wedding with immediate family only. The reason why we had abandoned the idea is because it seemed like too much of an anticlimax; we want everyone to know about our marriage. We also want friends to join in the celebrations. But the main concern was we think not many were willing to fork out $ to travel and stay at the resort, just for our wedding.

How now? I'm really hating this planning nonsense right now. Don't know what to do. Don't know where to dig up more people to invite. I really don't want to invite meaningless people, like ex-schoolmates that I've never kept in touch with.

edde,
I've sign up my package with paris brides at one of the bridal fair. As for my banquet, its hold in a restaurant not a hotel. Cos FH thinks food in hotel and restaurant taste almost the same. The only diff maybe the ambience. But since mine is hold in a ballroom, so it should be okay.

Sunnyling,
I'm also having my wedding on the same day as you. I simply agree with u that there's no good weekend that suit my FH and i. But i've heard and its quite true that next year there's no good dates falling on weekends. Was glad that others manage to find a date that suits them. Cheers.

I'm new to the forum. So good to see so many June 03 brides!

My hotel and church wedding's on 14 Jun 03 and will be having it at Hotel New Otani. Booked my bridal at J&M....

Nice to "meet" all of you to share our joys in our wedding preparation.

Hi Sunshinekid,

First of all, how many people are from your mom's side? Will they get offended if they are not invited to the wedding? Might make them more black faced!

How about going back to your original idea of having it at Palladino? If your guests is less than 100, that place might be ideal. There are also quite a few other restuarants that you can look into.

Most importantly, it is YOUR wedding. Not your parents, relatives or friends. It'll be good if everyone can be happy but sometimes that is not possible. Whatever you decide in the end, you need to be happy with the decision.

jesz, thanz for the curtain & lighting info, tomolo sat can go & check out...hope can find something

march, retail price for sofa is abt $1500 & dining table wif chairs abt $1200, so veri happy when we could get the tv console & dinin table cheap at the warehouse sale

gals, tomolo sat, another fruitful weekend for all who are busy wif house n wedding!
must share on monday where got sale!!!

Ya..There are not many good dates falling on weekends next year..Had a hard time finding a good date which cannot clash with our animal signs. We ended up with only like 4 weekend dates and this date is my 2nd choice..
If we check with our ba zi then I think there will be no dates left..

hi Meow

ya loh so difficult to choose a date that suit everybody at home so bo bian loh but Friday weekend rate leh so expensive on the price for Friday. I also agreed that restaurant food is better than hotel and much cheaper. So how much is your bridal package? what is include in the package? Me very KPO hor.

hi mio,

concord and mandarin. think really must hurry up and book a place seeing that there are already a few of us with the same date. there is sure to be more brides out there with the same date as us.

hi EL,

Not to worry about having one present lesser... can ask for a bigger present, u know! heee hee!

hey, you mentioned that you're interested in concorde hotel, dun know if you know about it but they have a bridal show coming up soon and the top lucky draw prize is a 25% disc. off your wedding banquet. That's gonna save you alot.

hi pucca,
what is chong feng dui??

Guess wat??my new place at CCK too!

but is at Yew tee..staying there only over weekends.....

Hi JL,

Mine also on 6 Sep....finanlly found someone with the same date as me!

where are u holding your wedding?....me also looking for a 2-seater...preferably sports car... ;-D

Hi beibei, privileged, pucca75, joyful (did I leave anyone else out?)

So glad to see so many messages!

My church wedding's on 14 June, dinner on 17th June.

Have not decided on bridal boutiques yet but almost almost confirmed on one. Now just sourcing around for a photographer and wondering if we should take up the ones that are tied up with the boutique in mind.

Beibei, you're fast! Photoshoot in Nov, wow!

Cheers to all, have a good evening.

Gosh ! I'm lost cos this thread is too fast! Anyway, thks nofuss.. for the list..

I bought my furniture from Melandas n Picket n Rail. So far so good.. no complaints abt them..

Gals hv a good wkend!

hi dolphie,
yes !! u forgot taddess ... uh-oh hee ...

others, care to share where's ur new hiding place?

gee...seems like im the most active in this thread ...

think there are more June brides leh!!

like privileges,Sweets,kiroro,cutie!!where are u all??

pucca 75,

mine is new flat..blk 68? near Regent Grove.yours??

I am quite kiasu...so must take studio/outdoor photos fast!!hehe

Hi Dolphie,

Which bridal are you having in mind? For me, I prefer the one-stop shop to save the hassle of too much coordinating....where's your church wedding and dinner?

Yeah, sounds like so many of you have already got your gowns and taking your photo shoots so fast...For me, will be looking at the gowns, either mtm or otr in Jan.

Have a nice and blessed weekend!

joyful,
we share the same sentiments. i dun like to source here and there for different stuff ... prefer 1 stop type .. :D

so which bridal did you signed up with?

Mine's in Punggol... anyone else from Punggol around here? Won't get my keys til early May next year. Bit of a rush, but can't be helped. Finace not in town.

Yippee! we can add to our list so far...

6 June - Kiroro(Conrad), Ah Ling (PanPac)
7 June - Beibei (Marina Mandarin)
10 June - taddess, pucca75
14 June - Astrud, Dolphie, Joyful (Hotel New Otani)
15 June - Pooh (Holiday Inn Park View)
17 June - Dolphie
22 June - Cutie (Oriental), Wabbit (Imperium)
28 June - Priviledged(Regent), Sweets(Conrad)

Trinity when's your big day?

hi sunshine,

yes i know about the bridal show. it's on 13 Oct i think. but only those who sign up for their package in the show are entitled for the lucky draw. i am trying to make up my mind now so that if i want to take up the package, i can do so during the show. what do u think of concorde?

Hi sunshinekid,

don't fret & get yourself all upset. Like you I only want the closest friends & relatives to be invited to my wedding.

Why don't you sit down & count exactly how many guests, excluding your mother's relatives. If it is really very far off from 100 pax, then you should seriously consider an alternative venue.

I totally agree with Kelsey, that it is your WEDDING !! So you should do it the way you please. If you finally decide to hold it at Palladino, then let it be. The most important thing is that your close friends are there to witness the event. Maybe you should discuss it with your future hubby. The quicker you decide, the better as you don't have much time left to plan, don't want to risk a situation where all the short-listed venues are fully booked right ?

Hi Kelsey,

I know how you feel... excited about the dress. Don't worry lah, I am sure it will turn out very nicely.

Keep us updated yah.
Nofuss

no lah I am not the most prepared bride here...... I just did things as they came along as we started planning for the wedding in April this year. So by doing a bit each month, we sort of settled nearly everything by now. Although the guestlist is out, the biggest worry is the seating arrangement. I have heard from friends that it is the biggest nightmare.
Another reason why my wedding is relatively stress free is because I don't have any photo shoots. We are having an actual day photographer who is compiling some shots into a journalistic style coffee table book.

For my videographer, I engaged this lady - Fenn Ho - a freelancer. She was mentioned in a few threads & since her charges are very reasonable, I decided to engage her for the videography after seeing her works. More importantly for me is the chemistry - I can click with her, so we decided to book her.

As my wedding is kept very simple, church wedding followed by lunch at Conrad. The tea ceremony is done in the hotel after the lunch. Everything should end by 6pm, I think.
You see.... there is really nothing much to plan for the actual day.

I haven't decided on where to go for my honeymoon yet. Any good ideas from you all ? But not too expensive please.... ;)

Take care yah & have a good weekend !!
Nofuss

Hi joy2003,

I am thinking of signing with Amore too. I used to go for aerobics classes there 3 times a week in 2000. But not anymore.

Which branch do you frequent ? We can go together to motivate ourselves......

I understand that you are also having a church wedding too, which church? I am having mine at St Fracis Xavier.

Nofuss

Hi sunshine and all,

Actually we had a lot of problems initially about this date due to the tong shu thingy. Luckily my parents are not that 'bang tang' and we decided to ignore all that beliefs and go ahead. We actually thought Christmas will be a good day for us (tong shu said it is an auspicious day), and also it is a joyous occasion. Most people only had to go to church on that day and will be free otherwise.We can play one or two Christmas songs during the banquet. However, we found that the holy matrimony cannot be held on Christmas, so that is a big minus point.

I have chosen Conrad Hotel for the dinner. Managed to get the last weekend day available. All other weekends for Dec 2003 are already taken up there. In fact a few days after we made a tentative booking, there were already two couples on the waiting list for that same day. I must say, we were under quite a lot of pressure then. No the hotel did not make it up, as we happened to know one of the couples. So for all out there who are still undecided, do go look for the hotels FAST esp if you want a popular hotel

I am hunting around for photographers/videographers and bridal shops. Any ideas?

gers

aiyoh so pathetic nt a single postin 2daz...
nvm let mi hv the honour of doin the 1st postin of the daz...

juz received news from my id she will b handin over my place next sat...
time 4 mi 2 clean up my place... :P

2molo will b checkin out 6 bridal...
wish mi some luck in findin my ideal bridal...

hv a great wkend...

Hi Vin: I know how excited you are abt the photo shoot. My friend just had her PS yesterday & she said it was fun. Just relax & u will also enjoy yr session.
Shook is the one getting ROM on Tues, not me.
Can u also provide me the details for the wedding favours as well? Thanks.

Hi Shook: Congratulations to both of you! Hope you are all ready to be married.

Hi Jan: Thanks for the infor on X-zen, will tell my friend abt it.

Hi Jazz:
Happy Birthday to you! Happy Birthday to you! Happy Birthday to Jazz! Happy Birthday to you!!

I'm back, hv MIA for quite a long long time.

Seems that this thread is always full of fun and interesting subjects.

Hei,I'm currently looking for places to hold my solemization ceremony, any reco?
@ the same time, understand frm some gfs that there's such kinda of marketing strategy in the bridal industty, known as " Open" market. Dun reali know what is it? Anyway, know wat is it about?

Is is advisable to sign up wif a selected bridal shop and then place a certain deposit fees wif them? Is it kinda of risky?? Coz some of the managment may change after some time, rite! And oso is it kinda of losing out when new trends come next time?
Will there reali have a solemization package included in it, upon ur sign up wif them theu the deposit fees, tat inclues the dress/gown, flowers, makeup & hairdo etc etc afer signing up wif them, thru the " open market"??
can i get the $$ back, if i decided not to use them for my actual wedding next time then?? how is it going to be like?

Tks ladies,I'm kinda of a lot of questions here. Piah seh piah seh!!

Ta Ta all & @ have an great weekend ahead!

flowee jie,

U must be really excited about the id handing keys to u. Dun worry, at first i thought cleaning up very difficult, but it went on fine and we enjoyed it! But we dun enjoy it now.. hahaha...Well, we still make it a point to wash the floor and the toilets and everything on saturday.

My parents went on tour for 13 days. Only back today. So we did not drop by there for the past 1 week or so. Wedneday i went for a while and realise the floor so dirty! My hubby got to mop just now.

sunnyling,
My package cost $2988. Not very good i'll say. Some bridal got more like Seletar Broadway. But dun like them, they always show me ang mohs or models. Dun like lor, of course models pose nicer than actual couples.

This place use actual couples. Effect look very nice too. My package includes:

1. Brand new Wedding gown(dulux range)
2. Brand new evening gown(dulux range)
3. Brand new groom suit x2
4. Bridal makeup trial & studio
5. Bridal makeup actual day & night
6. Free studio hair styling
7. Free actual day hairdo and flower
8. Free studio & actual day hand bouquet(fresh flowers)
9. Free groom corsages x4(can ask for more)
10. Rental actual day bridal car (E200 round light)
11. Free car decoration abd follow car ribbons
12. Free usage of 6 costumes on studio shooting
13. Free usage of Weil, gloves and accessories
14. Studio photography abt 50 shots.
15. Outdoor shots abt 30 shoots (2 loc, self transport)
16. Album 12x15 20pcs+1(forgo 3R)+1(free)
17. Free 5R with album 15pcs (repeated pose) selected negatives return aft 1 year.
18. Free 8R table top with frame
19. Free 20x24 canvas portrait with frame(dun think i wan, can exchange for 2 more photo)
20.ROM gown, coat and makeup(trial)
21. FIL coats x2
22. Tea dress x1
23. 2R mini album 1 set(repeated pose)

For your comparison. Do look around before signing up on any boutique.

One of my friend did recommend me some other places like Wedding news, Sophia and Julia. U can try looking out for them too.

Hi Sunshinekid,

Ya,don't get upset ok. Just do chk with your mum again if she really doesn't want to invite her family. Maybe its all in her head. Are you closer to any of your uncles or auntoes on her aide? Perhaps you can invite them personally. If yuo do that, they will prob give you face ( not your mum) and come without black face.

I really don't think you should really go Bali for an initimate wedding. I agree that ourr firneds and relatives deserve to share our joy and this occasion cannot be repeated you know.

Perhaps also you should still be prepared for the worst and talk to your hotel to see if can reduce the min pax further. the most increase the chrage a bit per headcount lor.

Don't be stressed..there is still a bit of time.

Hm....else just invite No Fuss, Kelsey and I lor..

I had actually intended to use auditorium in my Coy's training centre for my wedding. Cos its a nice looking place and the auditorium is not too big. But now...I am having second thoughts...like my frens and colleagues were very puzzled why I would do taht. Feel a bit cheap now...am I alright? If I start looking for premises now, where can I go?

No Fuss,do you know how much would Conrad charge for a hi-tea reception?

Now, still sourcing for actual day photographer. ANyone have good recommendations. I met up a lady from Dee Synergy. They do only digital photography and videography. I feel taht their photography is only so-so. Video is better but then agai the charges are quite high.

Hi Cherry,

I think I wld be wearing my cheong sum as tea dress...me v confused about all the changes in dresses...prob wear kwa then change into cheong sum for day. At dinner, wear WG for first march-in, wear evening gown(gown that i bot during emmanual b sale) for second march-in ( considering if I shld hv second march-in cos my dinner is buffet style...dun think i want my guests to leave buffet table n go back to their tables just for march-in), then wear kwa again to send guests off...should be ok lah, hor?

Wah, u with flamingo....my hse downstairs only... I heard Flamingo is quite expensive... izzit?

BTW do any of the Jan 2003 brides need wedding favours? I have found a lobang for reasonably priced favours like miniature chopsticks, scented potpurri bags, etc.

Hi flowee,

sorry, me yesterday on off to attend my fren's wedding.

for me, i'm trying to restrict myself to spend too much on fotos so as to save up for my london/paris honeymoon.
In any case, i think i look nicer in more casual seting so probably just take more fotos during honeymoon lor!

my package comes with 25pcs of 15R and 18pcs of 3R so thinking of taking additional 5 more or so, c how lah!

as for water feature, me not looking at it this year lah, maybe next year or maybe not getting at all coz lazy to clean lah! hehehe

btw, amara hotel is wonderful. the reno is very nice and the ballroom is so cozy. the table setting is gorgeous! food nice too. highly recommended for wedding! the bridal suit is nice too!

hi fluffy,

i oso dun koe how come so many fittings leh! everytime fit also got alterations. really hope itz not alter bigger. hehehe

btw, i'm with J&C bridal collections at riverside point. U?

for me, i have big hip bones so not nice in tight gowns or fluffy gowns, so my gowns are A-line.

hi cherry,

ya, coz my WG and EG are both MTM so maybe tatz why requires more fittings lor!