(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hope all had a good weekend.

Vin & Fiona: feedback for Mandarin Court. Food was ok as in the quality and serving size but all of us gave bad reviews for service. no one filled up our teacups even after multiple attempts to ask for it. also the food was not warm. one server to 3 tables and the server was not expereince so took a long while. in the end, while half the banquet was leaving already, we were still waiting for our dessert.

Shook: thanks for the advice of chinese herbs. i got health problem so i cannot take chinese herbs so too bad.

Sue: ok, i think i know the fruit you described. will try it out.

Hi No fuss,

No prob about the mistake. No, Sarah is not my ROM make up artist. Yours truly will do it instead.

But I went for her course on personal make up so get to see her works and style. Actually I love her make up. She's a natural but doesn't make you into some pale doll or something. She's also quite versatile. SHe's will style accrding to your taste and style like she know that I like brown and look beter in that so even when she taught me the "colouful make up", she jalso just say - learn only lor. You may not look so good in it. But I have got some other classmates who look so good in the colourful makeup. They look so angelic.
Here charges are not that bad. Think less than $200 for ROM makeup. Can call her at 94302452 (hp).

good morning,
flowee,
so fast u go out to try wedding gowns liao ar..Your chickenpox dried liao...thats good...
Must have felt like a princess wearing those gowns..how envy....I just finished shifting most of my stuff to new house..I am so dead tired doing all the packing n moving during the weekends.This coming weekend which bridal u r going to try, let us know.....
Glad that u finally settled the restaurant...

Hey Flowee,

Your visit to Amanda Lee sounds great. So, how's the design of the WG over there? Any idea of her package with utopia photography?

Jo! Me also want to see the photos!! (dropped u a mail liao!)

But i guess the 64X u're talking abt is at your C28 site, right? Is C29 still slow?

Hi "Original Tweety"!

I'm also a Dec03 bride...

gd mornin gers

i went 4 my 1st round of bridal huntin on sat...
had a lot of fun...
visited amanda lee wedding, wedding present n le galleria...
tried some WG...
din expect i can fit any of those WG off the rack... ( though need a little helpin hand coz cant zip all the way )
amanda did a mock up 4 mi with veil n accessories...
veri diff 2 imagine myself bein a bride but the feelin is reali nice...
spent ard 2hr plus @ her place... ( the longest hrs spent among the 3 bridal we visited )
will go another round of bridal shoppin though oredi had an ideal bridal in mind...
update u gers again...

also booked my weddin banquet @ noble hse juz yesterdaz...
went dn 2 preview their weddin dinner deco n also signed the agreement...

gd mornin blury

keke my cp dried up oredi...
2daz back @ work liao...
had enjoyed my trip 2 bridal shops...
the ones i had visited i dun feel out of the place bein a big bride...
they r real nice ppl who wont c ur flaws but 2 wana 2 make u a pretti n happi bride...

thumbs up 4 all 3 bridal i had visited so far...
u might wana 2 check them out when u aint so buz with ur unpackin...

this wkend will b visitin studio photographers after headin 2 my hub's colleague's hse warmin...
shd b visitin robin photography, utopia, photospace... ( they r some of the photographer within my budget )

yah m glad i settled my banquet venue...

lookin 4ward 2 redeco it durin my weddin...

bijou

nice 2 c u here...
amanda chose the WG 4 my fittin...
chosen 3 diff design...
i think ballgown suits mi better after the fittin though all this while i thought i can onli take aline...
she does a mock up 4 mi which non of the bridal we visited did tat...
extra personal touch as she serves us instead of sale ppl...
thumbs up on tat pt...

she works out her prices on the spot 4 us... ( think its like ala carte tell her wat u need she will quote accordingli )
her weddin package is $4970 ( excludin photography )...
utopia will cost 1.2k 4 studio photography...
mayb u wld like 2 check her out b4 confirmin ur package with jawn...

btw the freebies u mentioned 4 utopia includes???
we r thinkin of payin travis a visit on sat...
r they open???

Hi No fuss,

Alamak..me blur lah. You were asking for Sarah''s chages for actual day. It about $428 for day/night/trial.

My new place is at Sengkang too! Currently taking care of the renovation. So far so good. He's considered cheap and good. Ding Dong, if you
re interested, can recommend him to ya.

Guess mine's the earliest for the March brides. 5+ months for me!!! =P Starting to feel pressure too. Coz spent the past few months thinking of the house only.

Managed to choose the gowns and settle the wedding dinner venue. But dunno what is there to be done!!!

bijou

my mistake its $3970 excludin photography...
with robin add 1k with utopia add 1.2k...
pai seh 4 the wrong infor...

Hi Flowee,

thanks for you info. Amanda sounds real nice.. hmm... maybe i should drop by a visit before Oct 6. Has she got alot of OTR WG to try on? I dun mind taking OTR WG if I can find a suitable one.
I am wondering if it's cheaper to upgrade the package to 15R pix rather than signing up direct with Travis.

The freebies are additional pix (bigger prints) and something else..i think. I can't remember but he said it will be $400-600 worth of freebies. Yup, they are open on sat. Call for appt though.

flowee jie,

wanted to go down to chengdu to pay the deposit. But then we have no time at all so perhaps we will only drop by this sunday. Me busy with an upcoming friday test and now i have 5 tuition kids so i basically run around everyday from morning till nite.

luckily i dun have to worry about bridal shop stuff. So glad we booked last year july. else there are so much more things to do.

ur bridal shops got tell u when u need to go for actual fitting?

Hihi Jazz
Oh no, I have not sourced for actual day photography yet. Got no one in mind. Always see the names Monica Eng, Choon Huat and Andrew Choi. Any pointer to share?

Morning:

I have finally sign the bridal package - Jawn. One matter settled. Now, must try to lose weight, got to exercise - no shortcut. sigh...

bijou

yah she is real pro ( juz my thots )...
she is the one who chose the WG 4 mi 2 try on...
aint able 2 comment on whether she has many otr gowns or nt...
since u r interested might wana 2 call 4 appt...
the package she offered with utopia is the super 8r pixs package...
btw utopia studio package comes with returnable negative???
coz robin comes with all negative 2 b return...

kk mei

since u oredi tentative booked them shd b alrite coz they will hold the date 4 u...
mzu go dn pay deposit soon lor...
n also do check thru the agreement 2 b signed...

the bridal told us 2 sign up 8mths b4 weddin...
studio shots will b taken 3mths b4 the intended weddin...
the plannin part shd b from feb onwards 4 my case...

if u hv any doubts, can call up ur bridal 2 check it out...

hv a great lunch gers...

Hi Flowee!

Must be so fun! To see yourself dressed up in a bridal gown for the first time! Actually i'm beginning to think OTR may not be bad after all, used to think a NEW gown is more symbolic... but well, guess the same $$ for MTM can perhaps fetch me a better-looking gown!

Keep us posted of your findings, okie?

Thks jo! Will check my mail later...

Btw, i think from 643 onwards, these blks are under C29 precinct, different contractors too, that's why the progress is different. i know why it's easy to assume they're the same plot, they're sooooo very near! Good for us C29 people, your C28 facilities are very accessible to us too!

Hi Shook,

Actually I first chose the date off the 'auspicious date' calendar on femalebridesonline.com. To play safe, got my MIL to double check with Tong Shu after 7th month over. Since I'll be holding a wedding lunch, there isn't a need to book the hotel a year in advance.

Thks jo,

Caught glimpses of the C29 flats in your pics, seems the storeys are not completed yet... hey i noticed u took the shots from the main road punggol central, where the LRT runs, so that road segment is ready hor? And yes, the rooftop landscaping does look very encouraging!

gwen gwen, got lots to do, things like guest list, seating arrangement, helpers, programmes, wedding car, invites, guo da li, fotoshoot...etc. just dunno where to start.

just bought my furniture yesterday, very exciting...but maybe more exciting when the bill comes!!!

Hi Ding Dong,

No wonder you so confident to do your own make-up.. you attended her classes !! Good for you !! Next time got other occasions also can do your own makeup. Btw, when is your ROM ?

Thanks for the reassurance, I love the colourful make-up using pastel shades !!! I would contact Sarah for an actual quote.

My resale flat is in Tampines. Didn't do much renovations as the previous owner didn't stay there so everything is relatively well-kept and the flat is abt 6 years, so it is in move-in condition. The only thing we did was to paint, make a new set of curtains, change the toilet fittings and service the air-con. Nothing very drastic.
Maybe you can source around for recommended contractors, do you intend to stay long-term ? If you don't then, my advice is not to spend too much on renovations, because the next time when you sell, you would not be able to recoup your renovations costs as most people would want to re-renovate again before they move-in. But such things are personal lah.... just adding my 2 cents worth.. ;)

Hi Sunshinekid,

you are welcome... hope you get a good deal for the wine. My hubby says that you can choose according to the price range, for abt $13 to $15 per bottle, the quality is quite good.

NoFuss

Hi Josephine,

My email is :[email protected]
Read from another thread that the BLK 641A flats are disappointing.

Wonder if it's really that bad...

Hi naturally,

how r u?

Hi all, for actual day photographer, I've booked KC. You can see some comments abt him under the thread for greymatterphotography.com

Shook: I din go to the fair eventually becos hv to pay & found out from the paper that most air tixs have to travel by 31 Oct 02. Usually, there will be a travel fair in March so we can book our honeymoon next yr. U can 'an xing' prepare yr ROM, don't worry abt honeymoon. My FH & me intend to go NZ.

Hi May: One load of yr mind so now can concentrate on other things liao.

Hi Jan: Ha...glad tt u know what I'm talking abt. Let me know if u like it.
And remember to continue exercising. I went to the gym on Sat & worked real hard. Now, my muscles are still aching.

Hihi Woodstock
So, have u booked your wedding package, church n wedding banquet?
Have u ROMed oreadi?

Hihi Sue
Yep yep, gotta pay entrance fee for the NATAS fair. Memory search me, it's $12 per pax. Quite x. Go bridal show @ hotel better, got a chance to win lucky draw
Okie go to the fair in Mar next year. Thanks for your advice. I gotta start to source for actual day photography after ROM. BTW how much is your actual day photography n wat is in the package?

Sue: tried it after lunch yesterday. the fruit taste ok. travel fair in mar next year. usually at this kind of fair, can we just air tickets? i should be going free and easy so only need to get air tickets and accomodations. good for you on the workout. i guess i must try on the gown then i will start to panic and start exercising!

May: Congrats. guess you can start to join sue and the rest, start exercising. i should settle for x-zen. let you know after i sign up with them what's the current price. but i thing for sure, no actual day photography free i guess.

Shook: if got good deal for actual day photography and videography, share with me okie. i am thinking about it. once in a lifetime, broke also must take pics i guess.

Shook, you want to try Andrew Tay as well? Think his charges something like $1800, two photographers, he'll take black and white, this colleague will take colours. He was my choice photographer but unfortunately, he was fully booked for my day. Heard Choon Huat and Monica Ang is pretty good too. I've booked Benny Ang as my actual day photographer.

Sue, thanks for the info! Yippee, got hope to get source for some cheaper flights for honeymoon in Mar!

Woodstock, you might want to try to book earlier. I had the same thoughts as you that I can book later since I'm also having lunch. Unfortunately, my choice hotel was fully booked even for lunch, so I started to panic, and start getting all the quotations from the diff hotels. Luckily, I managed to find another hotel that I like. I realized later that May was one of the super hot months for getting married....

I've just booked my wedding lunch at Grand Hyatt. My friends all thought booking the hotel now for May 03 is way too late but all the hotels I enquire still have the date availabe. I think it's because wedding lunch is a lot less popular compared to dinner banquets.

My bridal package is with Ted Wu, photographer is Eng Howe from Montage. Looking forward to my 1st appointment with Ted Wu next month

Hi Jan2003

Thanks for updating us! Have been busy at work recently so hardly joined the forum...

Hmm...I will remind the coordinator at the hotel about the service. Were there alot of tables at the wedding? Mine is about max 25, so hopefully the waiters will be better able to cope with the guests!

How was the decor? Nice????

flowee

sure! in fact, think i'll be pestering u for bridal shop info, since u already start checking out! hehehe!

Btw, remember to check if there are any credit card promo or loyalty programs that apply to your ideal bridal! Discounts can make it more ideal mah!

hi gers,

I'm back again!
finally able to catch a breather coz left wif only 1 last project.

wow, flowee, you must have a great time trying on gowns huh? the last time when I was hunting for a bridal studio, me oso felt so happy able to fit into those beautiful gowns.
really felt like a beautiful bride then already. hehehe

me will be gog for my last fitting b4 fotoshoot next friday and have to be ah yis for my 2 colleagues wedding this sat and next fri. hehehe so i wld be gog to trim and colour my hair tis thursday.

hi kk mei,

glad you finally settle on your banquet destination liao. another load off your mind huh? actually nothing much to do after that liao lah! like me, settle my bridal in feb this year and banquet in jan, till now nothing much to do except designing and fitting gowns lor! hehehe Oh ya, fotoshoot in oct and tatz all lor, will wait until after my exam then bother abt wedding liao.

Woodstock, that's good for you!
Maybe, the ppl that I called dun like my voice that's why I din get very good response when I request for lunch for my date...
Wow! Ted Wu and Montage is a very good combination! Envy you!!!

Hey Flowee,

Utopia doesn't return neg unless you purchase enough pix and he will give it back or you have to pay to get back. Can't really remember the details... (sign of aging).

I am quite keen to pay a visit to Amanda Lee but then I am quite tied up on weekdays and the coming weekends. Dun think I can make it before the wedding show..

gd mornin naturali...

i will b more than happi 2 share with u my findins...
since ur weddin date also confirmed can called up bridal 2 check ard oredi... :P
which r the bridal u had visited???

hv credit card promotion on bridal???
so far i onli koe of whitelink with uob...
which others???

Hi Jazz,

Maybe yours is a super-duper date, that's why the hotels are booked out. I usually email the hotels as it is easier to list down my requirements- lunch event, number of tables, etc. When the hotels get back to me, the proposal is tailored to my requirements. I find it more efficient this way.

flowee jie,

yes, guess we need to to go pay the deposit this sun. We reserve the date with the restaurant but did not go to pay deposit last sunday, yesterday the manager called and asked whether we still want it coz another couple asking for the same time slot.

My bridal shop also tell me the same thing, gown selection and everything will be after chinese new year.

think citibank also has wedding promo... they call it their wedding catalog, u can check out their website: www.citibank.com.sg , click credit cards, promotions, then blissful unions. They have offers for some bridal shops (The Link-Vera Wang, Irene's Creation, Divine, & Silhouette), as well as photographers, beauty salons etc...

For whitelink, it's $300 off any package above $3XXX with UOB card
(sorry can't remember exact amt

And DBS offers 10% off x-zen's bridal and photography.

That's all i could find... anyone knows more?

Me haven't even called up any bridals, maybe next month lor...

Hihi Jan
I only need photography on actual day. Personally feel dat videography is not so convenient to show to friends n relatives. My bf has a video cam. If need b, ask friends or bf's brother to do it. Need to save money oso. Sure, will share info on actual day photography n videography (if I got the info) wif ya

Hihi Jazz
Wow $1,800
. Does dat come wif videography? I dun intend to engage professional service for videography. So looking for photography only. We got a quotation of $450 (8 rolls of films) from the bridal show @ Four Seasons hotel. Of coz gotta see how is the quality of the photos like. Thanks for the info. BTW wat is the contact for Andrew Tay?

Hihi Woodstock
U meeting Ted Wu next month?? For ROM or studio shooting?? Next month very soon, about a week to go. Very excited huh

Shook, no, it comes with two photographers, 7 colour film, 8 black & white or something like that. If you take one photographer, something like $800 to $1000 or something like that. His contact is 96867894. But I heard from the forum that those who engaged him are quite satisfied and photos quite good.

Woodstock, maybe, it's just me...
You're rite, think the date I'm choosing seems quite hot. After I booked my hotel, heard from the coordinator that ppl are also enquiring her about that day. My choice actual day photographer was also fully booked. So really panic!
Wanted to re-choose date but my mum gave me lots of nagging like the date specially choosen for us by the geomancer, cannot any how change date, if no choice hotel available, find other hotels etc... *sigh* So gotta stick to that day loh...

Hi Shook, pardon me for the "intrusion". =P

I used Andrew for my actual day photography too. He has various packages. Mine was the $1,800 one... 7 rolls of b/w (by Andrew) and 8 rolls of colour (by his partner). He will slot all the pictures in 2 big albums.

This package also include a 20-page 5R album. This will be done by Andrew himself. I can exclude this and get $200 off, i.e. $1,600.

He is expensive, but the pictures turned out lovely. Jazz have seen his works, so she can guarantee on this. btw, Jazz knows me
Andrew is easy to work with too... except he can be very busy at times and hard to get him on the phone... Anyway, his number is 96867894.

Do go see his works, even if not getting him. His pictures tell stories, sometime funny ones... but these are the best memories of my wedding

cynthia

gd afternn gers

yi

nod nod had a great time bridal searchin...
this sat arranged 2 meet up with 2 studio photographer...
checkin out their packages...
as 4 reno works, this wk capentry works still ongoin...
this sat goin 2 great world city 2 check out the beehive furniture...
id mentioned saw dinin, coffee table n side table which can match with my place...
also headin 4 max's colleague hse warmin...

bijou

oh u aint able 2 check out amanda this wk???
u confirmed 2 b with utopia???
i will b checkin them out this sat...
aint veri in2 the fact u gonna pay 4 the neg or 2 top up ur pixs on the album 2 get the neg back...
update u again after we meet up with travis...
beside travis we r lookin @ robin...

kk mei

nod nod gonna place ur deposit asap coz since u onli tentativeli booked the place...
wow ur date sounds like a hot date 2 since there's couple wantin 2 book chengdu...

Fluffy - how's your photoshoot yesterday?? I had also engaged Andrew Tay as my actual day photographer! Since they are using digital camera, you must have seen your pics yesterday already rite?? updates updates please!!!

naturali

tks 4 enlightenin mi...
will check out citibank website soon...
do update mi of ur findin 2 hor...
this wkend mi meetin 2 studio photographer - robin n utopia...