(2003) Brides of year 2003

naturally

Hello Cutiechar!
Me also wore only WG for outdoors, too leh chey to change outdoors lah!

If the bs wants to cut your gown, tell them u'll cut their throats! hehehe...

Teatree,
I wore my actual day shoes inside the studio, but for outdoors, better don't. Try Metro and OG, they have a wide selection, some are quite cheap. I wore a pair of silver sandals for outdoors, thot it would be more comfy than cover-toe shoes, and anyway, shoes are hardly obvious in photos.

liching

Wenz,
Thanks...but i've requested an additional 50 from the hotel for...My hubby to pick all cards from the hotel today...a little too KS but jus dun want to make 2 trips in case not enough.

cutiechar

OIC..oli wear one gown ar...keke..I mountain tortise..:p
I oso intend to wear my white covered shoes but not recommended rite?hmm...must faster go and buy liaozz..

Naturally

Metro silver shoes are quite ex leh..abt 100 plus..hmm..I go find out at Heatwave coz there more cheaper I think..heez

muacks

liching

Leo29,
I had form a fren that those Ah Yi who is pregnant & having the period of the month must avoid going near the bridal bed.....reasons i dunno.

naturally

wah, got so ex meh? Then better go heatwave lor!
Speaking of shoes, i just bought myself 2 pairs of pretty sandals, very happy with myself!

heehee, enjoy the weekends!
*muacks back to u*

sandgirl72

hello ladies..
me long time no pop in to say hello liao.. kekekee.. so many postings in this thread..

teatree & cutiechair, are U going for yr PS soon? me too next Wed & Thurs.. have not even think of the outdoor locations yet.. most likely will leave it to the BS photographer to decide la..

i oso blur blur dunno wat to bring for my PS.. is it items like: tissue bloater/water/loose powder/lipstick/batt operated mini-fan?

Today I m going for my 2nd fitting so we will bring my hubby's suit over for them to steam iron.. hehehee..

haven't meet our printer - T-dragon yet to look at Meritus Mandarin's invitation cards.

cutiechair & naturally, i went to heatwave @ hitachi tower to custom made my shoe.. quite reasonable price leh.. their range and prices are much cheaper compared to metro or og..

meanwhile, ladies, enjoy your beautiful weekend!

meowie

DK, are says AMK got sell. Near Jubilee and between guardian and lee hwa. I've heard that beauty world also got sell. Will go bt Timah today and see

meowie

DK, i went Beauty world today at Bukit Timah. There are 3 shops there selling teasets. There's 2 shops on the first level and another on second letter. The one on the first level got sell teaset and there's one shop which sell only wedding stuffs. They have basin, sewing kit, long feng candles and many many more. Think i'll get all my stuffs there.
All their teaset no matter big or small are selling at $15. The one sunnyling show in yahoo is selling $20 for small one and $24 for big one. Then they also carry the kerosen bedside lamp but selling at $12 a pair and those battery operated ones selling at $8 only. That's my report today.

leo29

Kopi,

Last fri went to Jasvy. Saw the insert print with photo that you mention, very nice.... So you decided to print in this way? The price is quite reasonable. After all this days of searching, our conclusion is.... we may use back hotel cards...
becos outsource cards are expensive. $1.50/pc still haven't include printing cost. If base on my requirement, we need to fork out $450, Gei Liao yeah.... Better save the $ for Ang Bao lah... hahaha...

Hello Cyan....,

Me not really busy lah but seldom go to FBO now. I only read the posting when i'm free. Timing not rite lei, me seldom on my computer at nite. Somemore nowadays always go exercise so by the time i reached home, me already shag out. Do come here more often, we are all nov brides, I'm sure you will find our discussion useful.

My preparation hah... hmm... Qi Qi Ba Ba lah. Last week busy looking for cards and checking printer price. Had to decide by next week, afraid no times. How about you? How is your preparation?

leo29

Meow,

I think the price is OK. But the lamp seem to be expensive if compare to the one I saw in AMK. Hmm... maybe different design.

meowie

Leo,
what was the price you see for the lamp? Kerosen or battery operated one? The battery one is those standard one either pink or red lamp lor. Actually my mum still has her set of lamps at my home. Can i use hers?? Very unique and is the same design as the teaset, but need to use kerosen one.

mtmtmt

Hi girls, just went Tdragon (tied up with Mandarin Hotel) today and settled:
1. 265 "red with shiny gold stamped Xi on cover" invit cards from hotel's package selection
ie. no top-up/ upgrade of card designs (may buy additional 20 cards, need to discuss with hotel cos my PIL's guestline seems to be exploding, but don't want to confirm too many tables just in case alot of overseas guests can't make it)
- Inside using Shiny Gold stamping with 1 portion English.
The other portion Mandarin.

2. Light pink loose postcard-style insert
ie. 1 side with sepia-tone photo (can't decide put both family pic taken in ROM, or chase my studio for PS pic).
The other side with brown words of cocktail & dinner program/ menu.
I may enclose in invit card but some do find it unheard of/ tacky to enclose menu, so alternatively, place at each dinner place setting.
(I like the "personalised" postcard-style invits with pic but older generation like traditional red invit with gold-stamp... so I added this in to make me happy).

3. Light pink envelopes that match the inserts exactly, and goes well with the red invits.

Total damage: $450 (bearing in mind 265 invit cards are "free"). Some design costs ($5) for alignment of english text cos I didn't choose set template for that. Did not choose cartoons cos don't suit mine.

(8 days) 15-9 to ready the print-proofs fax to me
-> (5 days) 20-9 problems back-forth, amend and confirm final
-> (10 days) 30-9 to collect ready cards
-> (14 days) 14-10 to finish addressing the cards
-> (4 days) 18-10 to get ready for GDL/ get ready to send invits
-> (14 days) 1-11 to finish RSVP
-> (2 days) 3-11 to confirm final tables with hotel
-> (14 days) 17-11 actual wedding day.

Was very tempted by the silk-wrapped invits woohoo ($4 top-up per card *dead-faint*). Also tempted by the personalised ribbons (though I haven't anything to tie).

leo29

Meow,

It cost $1.90 each, $3.80/pair, battery operated, only red color. For lamp, i think better don't lah becos it symbolise something. As for tea set i think you can re-use it becos it's only for tea searving.

liching

Meow & Leo29,
I think the tea set can be reuse at parents' place. But as for your in-laws, some say got to use new ones....this set got to be from the bride side at GDL...then AD use to serve "Xi Fu Cha" to her in-laws.
But if your PIL doesn't mind then can re-use theirs or any at their place.

lkf

meow

yes, leo is referring to the Jubilee shop (the one are went to as well). i saw the same red lamps too when i went there on Sat. Things r quite reasonably priced i.e. bathtub $5.50, basin $3.50, mug $2.50 and tray $2.50. They also sell the baskets n tea sets (medium $18)

leo29

Meow & DK,

It's the same shop Are had mentioned. Infront Lee Hwa and beside the S11(If no change) coffe shop. They are not situated in those HDB shop but a standalone shop of their own.

Besse,

Phew... lucky my PS photos were ok. Choose extra 18pcs, cost me addition $660. Plus the upsize, i pay extra $960. Still within my $1K budget, very satisfy. So tomorrow is you turn liao! Enjoy your selection huh.

blue2003

Hello Bibip

Have you already gone for your food tasting? How was it? I am still thinking if I should go for it. Cos it doesn't change much even if it's not superb.
But kind of feel that it will give me some assurance if I try.

Helpers...I already asked few friends to help out in various tasks. As I am going to ROM on the same day, schedule is a bit tight. I just hope everything goes on well and happy.

min_minnie

Hi, gals,

Can I check? Usually Guo Da Li is how long before actual wedding day? And when is the right time to distribute invitation cards?What are the things to buy for Guo Da Li? Sorry for all the questions. I very blur and confused what to do? Parents also dun know all these tradition. Can you all give me some advice.

yve

DK, not sure if u can use normal bedside lamps but with a double happiness sticker on it. Check with elders uh?

To all, I burnt my weekend painting my home's living room and my room. Shagged out now. Have finished tying the invitations string and they are all ready to be addressed. Just a question, do we need to kneel when we serve tea?

vivace

hi jolin / Sep03Bride
mine is at Chinese rest which is at Appollo Ctr... and only able to go for a short one to Puket coz my hubby is hving exam one week after our wedding...

lkf

leo

i bought the basin, tray, bath tub but their "tam tong" is out of stock...haiz...went to another shop nearby n bought some gold threads for the inserts. I located the other store u mentioned earlier but i still find Hwa Aik cheaper.

u can check out the website www.kyo.com.sg for their fruit tarts.

bibip

helo kor,

yup, have went for my food tasting in july.. for the hotel that i chosen, the food is consider ok liao... not something to rave about... haiz, hv to compromise a bit lah... your restaurant should have given a table for food tasting too rite? of cos you should go for it... cos on the actual day itself, you might not have chance to eat, so take the opportunity to EAT during food tasting!! kekekek.... moreover, there are some dishes which might not be nice and you may need to change to another dish loh... suggest that you go for it...

i'm sure everything will go on fine... if you delegate your duties well... ROM on the same day? wah, that's gg to be tiring... but i'm sure you will enjoy thoroughly...

are

hi leo29... a word of caution if you intend to use tarts. if your GDL is early in the morn, & not all ur relatives are collecting from ur pl, & ur parents hv to 'deliver', u might wan to make sure there is ample 'refridgeration'. else, the tarts might turn sourish in our hot weather.

my dad is making 'deliveries' so i'm staying away from creams & tarts.

hi min... u might want to juz browse thru our archive. we hv discussed the processes as well as the things to get, which might help u.

are

lkf... did ur parents specify tat u muz get the normal 'round' type tam tong (spitton?)? my sis managed to persuade my mum to buy the 'square' new design as she say the round one is too big for a baby to sit, so can't use next time. she got persuasion power cos my hse oso got 1 but her baby can't use cos she will fall into the hole! ;P

leo29

Min,

GDL normally is 1-2 weeks before AD and cards for me I will send our 3-4 weeks befoe AD. For GDL issue, you can go to GDL thread and have a look, many advise there. I can't help you much becos i'm Bua Tang Sai also. Actually GDL, most of the things are from guy's side. So far for me, what i know are Ping Jing, Si Dian Jing, cake, trotter, XO, Orange and Long Feng Candle. And gal side need to return bottle orange and Ang Bao. But all this depend on our dialect also. May not be the same. Me hokkien and hubby teochew.

Our parents will meet up this sunday. I will let you know more after the discussion.

Yve,

Nowadays seldom ppl kneel when serving tea. But if your elders ask you to do so then you have to obey.

are

meow/DK... the lamps is to signify 'tian ding', so muz be new cos its for u. better to buy battery operated ones cos it is supposed to be on for some time (depending on ur tradition). if u get kerosene one, muz add kerosene, turn up the wick and bear with the smell. thus the reason why ppl came up with battery operated ones.

as for teaset to use on AD, for the bride side, use mum's one if still hv. for the groom side, use the new one tat is given by the bride side during GDL. unless the groom side already hv & dun mind using old one.

yve... i've always felt tat we shd kneel cos they are elders. but during my sis's wedding, they say parents will do, cos they brought you up. i think its dependant on ur family. some ppl say dress until so nice no need to kneel. ;P

leo29

lkf,

Will check it out. Thanks!

Are,

Thanks for your advice! Oh no... i guess we will be doing the delivery so .... I will check with the cake shop ppl.

yve

leo and are,

yep, I was thinking how to kneel in the big big wedding gown. And also may need cushions uh..

For cakes, my mom is thinking of delivering over 2 days! So cannot use cream cakes and tarts lah, will stick to the usual butter cakes.. I also dunno where she get a list of so many relatives. Anyway, on GDL afternoon, have to rush home to An Chuang, 2 days also good..

are

yve... me same prob as u, an chuang on the same day too, plus before 12noon! but lucky MIL say she do can liao, so juz need hubby to rush the bedsheet bac to her.

pls use cushions! else wait u can't walk! ;P

shirlynn77

Thanks for all your blessings.

Actually I was in S'pore all this while but was very tired.. finally everything is over..**relief** All of you must wonder why I never go for the short trip as planned.

I was sick on my wedding day.. *suay hor** but also save me from quite a lot of tekan at the wedding banquet but also got a few from the colleagues and friends...My hubby got drunk that night.. so by the end of it.. both of us so tired .. in the end just decide to rest for a few days before we return to work.

Keep thinking of downloading the photos for all of you to view but as my new house do not have scanner... very troublesome... will try to do so or else will show you all the photos when I go for the next gathering or ....

So now can consider myself a bit expert liao.. so let me know if you need my help.

One last thing.. must eat something in the morning of your wedding day hor.. I think that might be one of the reason that I got sick due to empty stomach and eating too oily food in the afternoon.

lkf

are

my mom didn't specify so i can choose either type :p i didn't even know tat there is a square (this is the normal ones without the xi picture/wordings one hor?) if tat is the case, then i will also go for the sq type cos it's more practical, at most juz paste a double xi sticker on it..hehe..

yve

It will depend on the parents/elders as my SIL also didn't kneel when serving tea to her own grandma n parents (she was in her WG then). but if the elders want the newly wed to do so then will hv to.

min

my gdl is abt 3 wks before my AD, n the date/time is fixed by my PILs. I will send out the invitations to my colleagues/friends first before GDL and to the relative after the GDL (on the same day/next day), together wif the cakes. i may order a mix of cakes n tarts depending on wat my PIL/Parents want, but butter cakes will be easier to manage.

are

leo29... i'll be kneeling in my WG. funny thing my side practise is to hv the tea ceremony when hubby comes to 'fetch' me. lucky i din do a 'special' tea dress, else wasted man... ;P

so when i change & come bac, its to 'deliver' the roast pig oni. eat liao can go liao. ;P

are

lkf... ya, now got oval & square type, comes with cover somemore. now my lil niece is trained to 'cover bac' when she is done! ;P

according to my sis, the square one got more support, and easier to sit lor, so better for young babies.

to add on to shirlynn's comments, do carry packets of milk or milo in your car, or with your ah yi car. gd for a quick recharge esp if u r hungry during photoshoot, or b4 the dinner. cos most of us will be too nervous to eat! ;P

yve

leo, tot the sequence is arrive at in-laws, serve team change to tea-dress then go back to mother's home for more tea-serving.

Anyway, I prefer not to kneel. But how will elders ask u to kneel there and then, think they also will feel paiseh...

Shirlyn, welcome back!!!!
So did u kneel?

shirlynn77

Hi Yve,

Nope. I did not kneel down.

Don't think the people will ask you to do that.. imagaine you are wearing heels .. you are not suppose to take off your shoes at all in the house.

Anyway, for these things don't think so much.. just treat yourself as puppet.. do whatever the people ask you to do.

sept03bride

Hi Jolin,
yes definately i will share my pics after my wedding..
so how? are u all prepared for ur big day? Coming so so soon leh, 12/9 so exciting.

shirlynn77

Thanks Amore. To tell you the truth.. still very tired.. now have to maintain our own house.. then you know lah.. previously everything shift out of the bridal room to make it nice nice.. now have to shift and put everything back... seems like shifting house and things forever.. my place still very messy.. but a bit lazy.. will only start to re-pack everything this coming weekend.

are

hi amore... i KPO a bit here. i dun think its a must to go your new place, but why don't you want to?

for me, i rather change at my place than the small rm in hubby's pl, before i go bac my pl.

wat my frens wanted was also to take pics in their nice nice hse. so usually everyone will go bac.