(2003) Brides of year 2003

teatree

hi chicory,

hope you're rite and the pimples will be gone by ps date or nearer *pray hard*

hi naturally,

i tried the body shop teatree oil (and hence my nick hehehe...) cos i used to use that whenever i have pimples. but hor, this time round, more pimples appear after application. hiks hiks...

mmh, i don't know that there'll be full moon on 11. hehehe... maybe can persuade my photog to take nite pictures.

hi cream,

me also so excited!! which outdoor locations are you thinking of? maybe we can see each other. hehehe... i will go to my church, which is orchard presbyterian church then go to holland village and last stop is east coast.

hi mick_m,

i love to see you photos! my email address is [email protected]

leo29

Meow,

Long Feng candle.., I think too early lei. Has your hubby come for Ti Qing? I remember you mentioned the date before. For me, I will start buying thing after both side parent meet up for discussion.

Min,

I get the sample from T dragon. Originally I juz ask the lady to photocopy the wording for me. But later I told her that i need the samples to show my parent so she give me lor. Orchard Hotel, you can translate directly which is Wu1 Jie2 Jiu3 Dian4.

Wendy,

I'm not very sure but you can try talk to Eric. My hubby never make extra suit, only make pants and shirts there. You have to check with Amore, her hubby make his suit there.

Did you check the GDL items price? Is that reasonable?

lkf

meow

at least yr hubby still find that he need to settle things fast. mine huh ask me y i so kan chiong afterall we r almost settled liao, only left wif a few things. his definition of "settle" & mine really differ...vomit blood.

wendz

not too sure if this will help on yr sourcing of printers. I checked with a few of the printers listed below on the hot stamping px before i decided to do insert printing:

Acepro
401 MacPherson Rd #02-34 Hotel Windsor
Singapore 368125
Cost of hot stamping: $50 + $0.50 per pc

Hi-Tech
AMK Techplace 1 Blk 4010, #03-01/02 AMK Ave 10 no: 261 (alight at 5th bus stop)
Mon-Fri : 9.00am-5.30pm Sat: 9.00am-12.00pm
Tel no.64589455
Hot stamping : $80 for mould + 0.35 per card

Superprint Centre
Tong Lee Bldg #08-08 Kallang Pudding Rd Tower A
Tel: 6841 4873/96541513 (Jack)
Fax: 6841 4872
Hot Stamping $130/$140 (juz a rough quote)

I still hv the rates for T-dragon but i left it at home. I will be gng to the printer (Shirlynn's too) tomolo to pass him the cards. let me know if u need me to check on his rates.

serene75_serene

Amerline: You can access the GDL thread..think they can provide some good advice
Can check with yr mum what she wants

I am Hokkien but hubby Teochew..MIL and mum very ching cai..so only have few things:

a) Ping Jin
b) 2 XOs
c) Shit & urine $ (sounds crude-some call it pamper $)
d) Mandarin Oranges (12)
e) Mei Ren to come with my hubby to ting qing
f) 4 boxes of cakes
g) Long Feng Zu (2sets)
h) Pig trotters cans (24 cans)
i) Xi Bing (cakes or tau sa piah)
to give relativies and friends

Mum to prepare soft drinks in return

For HM, it quite expensive..think have to spend $6-7K since the 10days Nz tour around $4.7K liao..very EX!!

Are you gals feeling excited now that wedding is near?

wenz

Hi Leo29
Small teaset - $18 & big one $22. Should be quite reasonable, right?
They have battery lamps, big xi sticker & small ones, big ang bao for ping jin, basket for oranges etc...
If buy more, ask for discount lor.

blue2003

Hi Bibip,

You really know how to calculate on the tables..Forgive my ignorance. Please help me. I have 26 tables of confirmed guests. are you saying that I should confirm with the hotel only 23 tables? 23 tables + 2 reserve? What if those said maybe not coming also show up and is more than 2 reserve tables...how??? I dunno how to plan for this leh...Is not nice when there is too few pple at 1 table...and also not nice when pple got no place to sit...aiyo...I also v blur now.

I have also just finished writing the invites..sending out soon too

wenz

Hi LKF
Thanks! Your info really helps...
I will call them to find out more. Need to get the cards printed asap.

cream

Hi mickey

Your pix are very nice! Where did you go for PS? All very nice scenery leh.Thanks for sharing wif us.

hi wendy,

my husband and i selected the suit design/fabric color and had measurement done, all within 15-20mins @ Personality...very fast, cos he was decisive. 1hr shld be enough for ur husband.

jasvy marketing:
Blk 54 Kallang Bahru #02-02
tel: 6299 2263
prices is very reasonable..normal printing @ $100 for 200pcs. (choice of black,brown,red, maroon,gold printing)

yve

wendy,
Jasvy told me that they need 1 week, but they have done mine over the weekend. I confirmed last Thurs and they are done when I called them yesterday. Their address is Blk 54, Kallang Bahru, #02-02, JTC flatted factory. S339336. Call Jason at 62992263, fax 62990216. Email is [email protected]. first 200 pieces of inserts at $100. Subsequent pieces at $0.20 each. This is for normal printing (not hotstamp). Give them a call to check.

Need baskets for GDL?? those round big ones?? haiz, my MIL also wants them.. But such a white elephant after the wedding.

are

wendy... we din do suit there oso, so sorry cant help. u can always call eric, he'll be glad to help one.

lkf... so did u go ah peng for din in the end?

besse

Meowww...

me been super off line.. hehe.. lazy to log in cos super busy with housing stuff.. shopping and all..

I wanna book 1 Nov for Mani.. anytime they can slot me in.. but not too late

anyway, i got a nice tea dress from Icon.. you gals can check out if keen.

Whew.. now shopping for lights.. expensive manz!!

Wedsoon, i have tentatively booked MAS flights. cheap- 896 oni, but the oni thing is, have to transist at KL and Jap i think. but at least the inflight entertainment is very decent. close to SQ standard.. will prob fly off on 5th Nov, and be touring for 2.5 weeks.. u leh?

Leo

Found sofa? been shopping ard where?? me next target - SOFA and Electrical appliances..

teatree

hi micky_m,

gosh! you're so lovely! just hope my photos will turn out as well as yours hee...

hi cream,

hehehe... we won't be bumping into each other then.

meowie

Besse, i see if they still have any slot for you. I get afternoon 2pm to 3pm okay??

Oh, i've got my lights liao. They'll install the lights tomorrow. And i'll stay there to see too. My downlights, cost me $18.50ea for 18W.

Min, my painting was done. My skirting very nice leh, cos i stick the tape mah.
if ask their painter, i sure faint ah. Better ask that Joseph to come and compare what's straight and using tape to stick on.

Yve, yeah need to get a basket to put the oranges. I had already bought that and finish decorating it.

yve

Meow,

Wah.. u also decorate the basket??
Got pic to show? But will never use the basket in future leh.. Trying to convince MIL to use a red tray big enough for 28 oranges..

meowie

Yve, its not very nice leh so i dare not show leh.
I jus use ribbon to tie the side and corners only.

Lkf, today didn't go down to AMK. My MIL say will find one Sunday to come visit my mum and talk about what to buy. But plus minus, the stuffs are already known lah. My mum dun really want the long feng candles, neither the roast pig too. If your mum wants the roast pig, then you may need to get a pair of pants for your hubby in return.

But hor, at least i settle my music selection today. Yipee
Now can concentrate on other things liao.

wenz

Hi Cheers & Yve
Called Jasvy. Hotstamping is $160 for 200 inserts. Think will print about 220. Just in case, last minute need to invite more.
Re-print is at least $100. They charge based on 1st 100. So better kiasu a bit.

wow... that's fast.. I thought it will take very long to select the cut & fabric..
Cheers, mind if I ask how much he charge?
Also need to make one suit for FIL but will do it later.

yeah lor... those big big round basket. I also dont feel like buying. Dont know where to put after GDL. Not cheap. Big one is about $33.

wenz

Hi Leo & Meow
Is Ti Qing same as GDL? Is it a must?
And what is the purpose of Long Feng Zhu? I thought the red lamps is the substitute for long feng zhu. That day, a friend told me girl side must buy long & male side buy feng. True? I am totally confused.

And for GDL, my mother asked for 32 boxes of cakes. Male side need or not? Must return anything? Any idea where to get nice cakes? Dont really want to get Bengawan Solo leh.

My mother asked me if husband is giving liquor. If have, must return orange juice. Dont make much sense to me leh.

What else do i need to prepare? My mother said leave it to me cos she will only come back one day before GDL. So stressed...

Sorry for asking so much cos my husband & me very bo-chap about all these details but FIL very on.

meowie

Wenz,
GDL happens to fall a week before actual day, so Tiqing and GDL isn't the same. Tiqing must be before GDL lor. Long feng candles is used on the actual day itself. The male will bring 2 pairs of candles, the gal side must return the feng if i'm not wrong and the long will be lighted at the gals side. As for the cakes, its only given out to the gals family, not too sure if the guys side need or not.

liching

Serene,
My PS contact prints should be ready for viewing about 2 week time.
Can't wait to see it! I'm praying extra hard tat i dun look fat in the fotos...ppl say on real person look fatter on fotos & on TV...
Oh! look out for the addition to Nov2003.

Where did U get your Bed? $1K for your bed, frame & dresser is pretty gd buy....
I'll just settle with the bed & Bed-frame...Any where or brands to recomend?

liching

Wen,
I tot U are with Pond & Berry Happy?
Well, If U are still with Wesley, Dun worry...His fun! So far so good i should say...very interesting person to work with.

Hmmmmm...i think it's better if U can think of your preference outdoor place...It'll be more personal then to leave it to them...
Well, they most probably end up the usual places for other couples.

I think starting late is a better option....dun repeat mine mistake....the sun was too bright & hot when i started on the outdoors...i din have many outdoor shots...cos both me & hubby were melting from the moment we stepped out of the studio.

liching

Wen,
I think U should not miss out on the Fullerton....I would definitely have my outdoor shots taken there if i have my banquet there....
If U have the Suite in mind for your PS, my advise is:- Go head!jus call up & enquire...U won't want to miss it & regret about not trying to do something about your tots, later..
I did had some...Sob!
Anyway just remember, ENJOY & SMILE!

wenz

Hi DK,
Using Pond & Berry Happy for actual day, pre-wedding is Wesley. Glad to hear that you enjoy your PS. Dont worry - I m sure all your photos will turn out well. Remember to show us hor...

During the last discussion, Wesley mentioned a place w nice trees. So decided to go there for PS cos our theme s nature. Dont want any buildings in the photo. But after talking to some of the girls and friends, decided to go to hotel. So ask Jodie to make arrangment. Until now, still no news.

Anyway, I have already informed my coordinator about PS in the hotel. The availability of suite can only be confirmed nearer to PS.

Now waiting anxiously to see my gowns. Keeping my fingers crossed. Hope the gowns will turn out the way I want.

wenz

Meow, thanks for info!!!
Carry those big candles on actual day. A bit strange! Anyway if FIL wants, then do it lor.
So still must buy those red lamps, right? Supposed to be put on bedside, right?

For GDL, Husband side will come w Ping Jin and cakes. Is there anything? What about Si Dian Jin? Given on the same day?

yve

wens, how many tables of guests are u inviting? I have 28 tables, but printing 250, hoping that it enough. Anyway, banquet only give me 168 cards (60% of 280), I have to buy extra at $1 each if not enough.

meowie

Wen, those candles isn't that big lah. The ah gu will take it with them. That's what i see from my friend's wedding. As for the bedside lamps will depends lor, if the your bedside already have table lamp, maybe parents will go ahead in using those lamps instead.

I'm not sure about the Si Dian Jin leh. Anyone know??

lkf

are

i didn't go ah peng and AMK during the wkend all becos of my lazy hubby ;( He said go next weekend lah, he's too tired but next weekend he also had to go for the big walk...arghhhhhh.

meow

muz use basket huh? but agree wif yve tat it will be used once only, very wasteful leh. wat sort of basket u using for GDL? mebbe ask my mom 1st.

how many songs u choose huh? need to choose songs for champagne pouring or not. i've a long list of songs from the hotel but dunno wat is nice also cos'me seldom listen to eng songs.

meowie

Lkf,
The basket is to be used on the actual day itself where 1 of the Ah gu will carry it. That's what i see from my sister's wedding. Any basket you like, there's many kind of basket found in arab street, that's where i bought my sis's one. Think anywhere will sell these kind of basket one.

From what i hear from Shirlynn, those whose emcee are with Daniel. Please prepare 5 songs. 1st March in, cake cutting, 2nd March in, Chanpagne pouring and First Dish. Then your montage also need to choose 1 leh. Then the background music must get 3 CDs. I've already bought 2, so still left with 1 more CD.

are

wenz... wat i understand is tat the si dian jing is supposed to come with GDL things. for my side, hubby will giv 2 XO then mum will return with orange juice. as for the cakes, a few boxes will be returned oso, but guy side no need extra if dun want to giv out, oni girl side supposed to give out.

as for the basket, i borrowed 1 from a fren, but mum say no need, bt will juz use lor.

as for the lamp, think u're supposed to keep it lighted for a few days, bt mum say since we going to trip, then juz those days when we are at hm, cos its supposed to mean 'tian ting'.

lkf... i already put hubby on 'high alert' so all saturdays we planned things liao. else, v hard to get things done cos we work late, then sun hubby work. furthermore, mine is 1st so really dun hv much time to do things!

but lucky... so far still on schedule lor. but so scared of sudden things to disrupt my schedule!

cream

Hi mickey

Can go the beaufort hotel meh? You have your banquet there? I think tanjong beach is currently under reno.

wedsoon

hi besse,
I will leaving on the 4th Nov early in the morning. What is your plan? As for me, I will be going to SF then drive down to LA, then to LV then return LA. Will stopover at Tokyo for 3 days. How is your PS photos? I am having mine tomorrow and is worried about the weather as this week is the monsoon week ;(

Thanks for the info on the printing. Me too busy these days as my work is piling up. ciao

leo29

Besse,

So you bought all your light? Still haven’t settle my sofa lei. But we have shrink down to 2 choice, either the wood with cushion sofa from Rainforest or Italy make sofa from Home Couture. Hubby want me to make decision, liao….. i very undecisive. Actually I like the Italy make sofa but find the wood type sofa very unique. Haiz……

To save time, you may like to try out Furniture Mall(Melander, Lorenzo, Novena….), Park Mall and Marina sq(Rainforest, Cellini, Lami…..). If you like wood sofa, u may like to check out Home Merchant at Changi. If you like italy make sofa, you can try out Home Couture at Lavender.

Where is Icon?

Wen,

I think meow had answer your questions. If I’m not wrong, Si Dian Jin is to be given during GDL also. Other things from guy side are liquor, orange and roast pig(Cantonese)/Zhu Jiao(Hokkien). So far this is what I can think of. Gal side return what, i'm not too sure. Will let you know more after Sept 14, after our parents meet up for discussion.

leo29

Meow,

I tot the Long Feng candle is to be exchange during GDL and light it up on our AD. Hahaha….. different theory, must check it out with my mum.

Wedsoon,

Enjoy your PS! Keep us update the next day hor. Don't worried, will pray for you..... to have a sunny day....

The basket can be used to store thing in future. Not really a waste lah.

chicory

Hi Mickey,

Just saw your photos. Wow, you and your hubby look very good together
. Very nice photos and nice beach background. In all the photos, you look so demure and sweet in the gowns and suddenly the bikini one pops up... heheh... very interesting and different kind of feel