(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Blissz,

We got our pair of rings (so called proposal rings.. haha) from I-Jewellery at Tampines Mall. Then we got rom rings from tianpo at tampines too. Mine has 4 small squarish shaped diamonds in a straight line. The line slowly becomes a sharp point at the end.

What about urs?

din koe tat the her world brides is out n sold out in most places...

yi

u koe last nite i sms u n mike replied my msg???
din xpected him 2 reply...
i asked him 2 send my rgds 2 u ( though the msg is meant 4 the both of u but he replied mah )...

wow he gave u tat many surprises ah...
muz b overjoyed...

u guys hv a happi bdaz celebration...

hi vodka,

i'm afraid that with my size, no OTR can fits me.
trying v. hard to lose weight. but i'm short 153cm only. kind of difficult also. i dun intend to keep any of the gown.

that's what i think too. no need to spend too much on flowers. to me, simple is nice (for flowers).

my hubby v. particular abt photography. everafter n benny ang failed his standard.

how much do u buy the material for? my hubby didnt want standard suit. can he design himself at dreamland or sze?

Cher,
They already give us 2 nite stay. So no point. But I manage to get a helper room FOC for a nite. I very kiasu one, sure squeeze until the coordinator got no air to breath, hahaha....

What horror stories abt the sengkang premium flats!!! Can share?

Are,
New park hotel, no. I want town area. Ai yah, I very difficult to pls one.

Nov,
Ya hor can try Grand Plaza Parkroyal. It's a quite new hotel.

wah leo29.. you got the helper room 4 the nite ah? v gd deal leh... my frens oni got free rm for the day, then have to check out by 7pm. its juz for us to get showered and dressed oni... gd wat...

Cher,
i've receive your mail and update the list liao. Who's your photographer?

Grace,
i've put your venue as Grand City. Is that a restaurant? So it's Grand City Restaurant is it? Once you reply i'll forward to everyone again.

novlkf22,
Maybe you want to try this? Its A plus studio. Give you the website and you see if you are interested. www.aplusphoto.com.sg tel(94311054 Bertrund) their service charge is $280 and for film its $35per roll for colour. $35 /hr if before 6am and $50 /hr before 5am. i sum up for you, it cost $560.
Else you can try Yew Kwang. His website www.yewkwang.com his quotation is listed in the website too.

Amore,
Which package you took? $950 or $1800? For their $950 there's no "studio album" is it? huh? bring camera to take? Eh my fitting is exactly 1 week before my ROM. Why not i ask the photographer to take instead hor. He take look nicer than i take mah right?

Are,
thanks for your suggestions. I'm feeling better now. I'll take this opportunity to go on diet.

Hi Wenn, i was sick the past 2 days. now feeling drowsy after taken the medicines. for the brdial, i might start sourcing after xmas. hope not too late still. i was at my friend's wedding dinner @ amara on monday and theirs was with J&M. i would say the pis are quite nice. simple. the gown looks quite alright 2 me 2. i hope to settle my brial before Feb next yr. else everything will be too rush. i will tell you more when i start on my bridal shopping. of course any forecoming advices from u gals will be good too

Sept 03 bride, are you in the jurong west thread as well? cause ur nick looks familiar. ok i stop now else my mind will start to wonder... seeing stars now heeehee

Are,
Me very hiong hor! Ask for a helper room still not enough. The coordinator lias with me is dam suay, heehee....

Talk about reno, I also have many many arguments with my hubby during that time. That why I hate reno. Just imagine if our endurant is not strong enough we may end up going seperate way(I came across couple break up because of the difference during wedding preparation). You know end up what we do. My hubby take care reno for living room and bedroom and I take care kitchen only. But in the end I give up, everything he handle. I only decided on the buying, eg sink, rack... hahaha.

Hi Jazz,

Thanks for compiling the list. Its great to get sorted out! haha... coz I'm super blur and I always mixed up information!

My first fitting on Monday so I'm going to try my best to lose as much weight as possible this week... went for jog on Mon and will probably jog again tomorrow morning... and do some blading over the weekend... so gan cheong now!! My auntie just commented to me over the weekend not to put on anymore weight!! jialat!

Me back again....settled my flower decor for my wedding dinner oredi...so happy...now I have only a few things left to do, like get wine for the dinner and also coolzone fans for my venue. Oops..forgot...still have to send out my wedding invitations.

Juz want to find out about guo da li. Me very confused. What does the bride's family receive for guo da li? And what do we have to return to the groom's family?

Vodka - How was ur photos? Must be very beautiful hor...

Cherry - For my FH xiong di, we wld give ang pao. For my jie mei, as I only have one, i would be getting something nice for her...dun think i would give her ang pao as i wld want her to have something special to remember. Probably get something from Tiffany's...still considering...

eh...all of u so fast!
I think i better buck up, else will be behind time...

So fast buy si dian jin ahh?? We are both hokkeins, so it's optional...

This thread not very active these few days hor...hello hello...Where are the rest?? Busy??

Hi kk,
wow..you xian chan hou zhou hah..heheee, think should be ok lah...better to buy sometin you like:P we both got only two items

Hi blissz,
My proposal ring and wedding bands are from Soo Kee and the jewellery set from GoldHeart

Heee..like the necklace at GoldHeart but abit regret did not look look and see see around other shops first...but I bgt simple ones...so won't be outdated

hi basil,
take care hor, better drink more h2o & rest more
yah, heard that J&M quite popular too. keep me posted ah....

i think sept03bride's lovenest is near yours...

Nov,

Thanks for recommending Grand Plaza Parkroyal. I have go through their wedding package. Their menu is quite good and it cost less then $800/table. I will be going down to look at their ballroom tomorrow. You been there for wedding dinner? Any ideas how many star hotel?

Any comment on Grand Plaza Parkroyal?

May, thanks for adding the column, I think it's a great idea!

Pausini, so sorry, I found two emails, I dunno which to use so I randomly picked one.

Glad that everybody liked the list!
Please let me know if anybody has been missed out. So sorry if I've missed you out.

Hi all, Seems like a lot of pple sick these few days. Take gd care okie

Hi leo29, wow the star of ur hotel do matter as well ah. I thought mayb can recommend u this hotel which I booked with, Furama Hotel. They are constructing a new ballroom and expected to be ready by next Jan. If you interested, you may have a look at the following website to have a feel of how it would look like:
www.furama-hotels.com
I may also introduce you to this coordinator of mine who is very friendly.

Twinklets, wow ur company so gd to send ur for holiday trip. Got anymore such lobang to introduce me. I love travel a lot

Most of ur seems busy with reno as well. Luckily I got no reno required except some small areas (still considering whether to do so ... cos' very broke mah). But now have been looking around for ideas of wat type of home appliances and furnitures we wan.

By the way, in case I dun have the time to visit here tomorrow, I'll c ur on Fri. But might b late ... hopefully wont miss ur.

Hi sad - i like my WG but not the green EG. Not not it's ugly, just not sth i like tat's it. but i did wear it 4 my PS...only chose 2 photos in FL's EG, i din look veri nice in it. Dun intend 2 wear both EG durin my dinner, will b wearin TY's EG. I din take any OTR WG or EG fr FL.

Hi AA - me oso cant find any OTR tat suits me. i tink hubby got the material for abt than $100. N correction 2 my earlier post, dreamland's workmanship is $250. of course, u chose the design u wan. the tailor will ask u wat kind of lapel? how many buttons? tapered look? etc etc. My beaded heels r specially made by FL 2 match the embriodery on my WG. I din even wear it 4 my PS but gonna wear 4 dinner. u like? i sell u after my weddin..hehe.

hallo gals, i'm bk liao..finally my exams are over..nw its the time to source restaurants liao..gonna be BZzzzz..
not here for 1 day...2 gals sick ah..take care meow and are too..saw yr mail abt strawberries..me dun like strawberries but got colleagues who luv tat v much! will ask her..
think u all toking abt ROM photographer?? me din look for one..intend to DIY..ask my fren to take pics..she learnt b4 so let her try..
oh btw, jus to let u all know, those who hvn book banquets yet, tunglok will be having a fair @ suntec city next week..exact date not v sure..will check out n let u all know..

me just came bac fr robin's. choosin photos quite "siong", i like hubby dun like so end up took more than 3 hrs 2 choose.

dun find my photos exceptionally nice but better than expected lor...i too skinny liao n alot of photos can see veins n wrinkles on my face/neck when i smile. din choose xtra photos, just top up abt $230 for a nicer album n upsize of photos. Overall i find it not bad lah.

Another thg i accomplished 2day is wrote abt 50% of my invites liao. By end of tis mth, i've 2 write all invites, prepare songs' list, prepare tentative seating arrangement n order wine n liquor.

yi-mine more siong leh, corkage more ex, n i nn more wines...sighhh. but nebermind lah, once in a lifetime.

cherry- me just givin ang pows only.

fluffy- 4 GDL, tat depends on wat ur family requested n wat his family prepared 2 giv. 4 me, hubby will giv cans of pork legs, oranges, brandy, dragon/phoenix candles, si dian jin, ang pows for mum, grandma (father's side) n grandparents (mum's side) n cakes. Watever hubby giv, we must giv bac some like 2 btls of ribena or OJ, few boxes of cakes, return partial amt 4 ang pows, few cans of pork legs, few oranges n my dowry (jewellery). now still not sure whether will i b gettin bedrm slippers, basins, sewing kit kind of thgs...but i tink most likely not.

Hi gals, I've updated my portion & email to all of you liao. I also kapo & rearranged them in ascending order....Added in a countdown column too so we know how many days we have to our weddings!

Hi Cat & Shook: I've checked with BV & they said that there's no problem to get the photos. In fact, I can view my photos the next day or two days later after photo shoot. Once selection is done, can start making the album. They are very confident that it can be done so with their experience, it shld be ok lah.

Hi Jazz: I've emailed you SLK's alternate address. It's her office one so I tot better dun post it here.

good morning ladies

meow & are hope both of you are feeling better.

leo, wow your negotiation skills so good. wish I had known you earlier and asked for some pointers. I'm crap at negotiating and think I could have prob gotten a better deal if I had tried harder.

btw has everyone engaged their actual day photographer already? Didn't think I had to do so early but seems like its better to be early... here I am feeling complacent cos I tot I had booked everything already and house reno can't be done until TOP... sigh. anyone engaged a professional on their ROM and have good feedback?

one more day to Friday

May: yeah, thankful that i still have a job but when you think of how hard you work and the company still making money, you wonder why they don't pay any extra? i think sometimes companies forgotten the fact that a general without his army cannot fight a war. bad times so now they take advantage of us. terrible people. i looking forward to employee's market. wonder how long still have to wait.

Pausini: hope your eye better today. rest early so that eyes can rest too. i will be starting renovation in dec as per original plan. but haven't been to my fiance' place for ages so i wonder if all the furniture still there. i don't know what to do too. if they don't want to shift then when the contractors comes see what happens lor. already said all i can say. as for gst hike, think better to buy before 1st jan lah. even if they absorb, i bet they will hike up the price too so in the end the consumers still suffer. all these talk on ers shares to help us tide over the gst hike is really bullshit. if you count the extra gst you have to pay from 1st jan onwards, the petty amount of rebate we received cannot even be compared.

Shook: i pay cut for half a year already. i wonder if we will still get another cut. at the rate they cut. if you work for 10 years, you only get paid for like 5 years of experience because our pay is stuck at levels years ago. terrible. then everything is getting more expensive. sometimes cannot blame quitters. things not too rosy here. no balance lifestyle as we are expected to work late and yet they don't pay and at the same time cost of living goes up. how to be a stayer!

Maya: my family got all my furniture from ikea for my present home. 2 years already, stil working fine. which is why for my room, i will be getting from ikea too. budget constraint for me.

Morning ladies!

littlerabbit,
Thanks for your intro of Furama but the location is abit out of the way.

I will check my email, thanks.

Yah, I will be late also. Probably will reach ard 7pm. You all don't mind lah hor. Pai Seh, me work till 6pm and there is always heavy jam at paya lebar so I est. by the time I reach should be 7pm.

Hi Sept03,
My package at BZ is quite comprehensive. Includes everything that I would need. The coordinator is also very friendly. I'm very comfortable with her. Actually I've already placed deposit in another bridal shop but I forfeited the $$ cos of BZ. Some pple say I very gong....but then $$ spent can be earned again....wedding is a lifetime thing. Right?

U're also considering BZ? Maybe I'll see u there in future!

hi AA, did you go see picture box - marcus mok for PS? we kinda like his style and his pictures are sharp.

morning ladies toooo~

meow,
my photographer is a freelance. but he has a studio which helps ppl to develop photos. he took my ROM picts and most of my friends and relatives say that it's nice. so i think i better engage him again. moreover, his charges is not ex.

leo,
hmm, pei fu that u can try to squeeze out somemore perks. i have just asked for additional stay in the suite in which they oblige.. must learn more fm u liao... hope it's not too late still...heehee

wow babylove,
how much did u forfeit?? did u exchange ur deposit from the previous bridal shop for other stuff? i'll feel very heart pain if i were u.....

Hi bhc,

ya lor, my fren wants to get another extra copy for a purple shawl oso cannot find liao and even kinokuniya at liang court oso sold out! din manage to see any copy of her world at new stands too! maybe can try petrol kiosks though! hehehe

ya lor, i told hubby how he was so sweet and romantic when we first started out and he says ok lor, but romantic things do too often will not be romantic anymore. Excuses! hehehe But i think my hubby does try to give me surprises at times but maybe i dun find it surprising lor. hehehe

hi flowee,

thanks for your well-wishes!
oh, i'm bathing then tatz why he return msg to you coz he knows who u r mah!

if he dun koe who you r, he wun return msg wan!
just like i oso help him to return msg if i koe who is the messager!

yap, we had a great day on our birthday and the eve too! ;p
but hez not feeling well yesterday so our day ends early and he went back home to rest lor!

how have u been?
busy huh?

hi cherry,

I think i wld oso be giving ang baos to ah yis and brothers coz I got 6 brothers and 6 ah yis so gonna have a headache if i would to choose gifts forthem! hehehe

hi vodka,

glad that you like your photos!

you are a teochew too?
coz what you giving andtaking at GDL same as mine leh! hehehe

hi fluffy,

my GDL items more or less like vodka but we confirm doing away with the sewing kits, bedroom slippers, basin etc.

Went to Robinsons sale yesterday. It was quite a sale. Bought my king quilt for a little less than S$ 150 after 20% discount and the $20 voucher. Very happy. The original price was S$ 209.

Pausini, what about u?

Gals, i never knew knifes can be so ex. They got grades one...dunno how to buy...actually kitchen stuff can so expensive...They are burning a hole in my pockets. I am so broke...

Leo29,
I had attend a colleague's wedding there in March. Their ballroom not bad. My friend like the way they did their walkin too. From two diff doors then merge back to the centre. As for the food. Not bad too.

Akira,
I'll be getting a pro for my ROM and actual day. I'm considering Nick Goh. His works very beautiful, you can see some of his work from the forum too under Nick Goh photography. If i take both ROM and actual, i'll get a rebate off my ROM package. That's $195 or $295 off. Interested i can sent you his quotation

You know now i am going to the gym on alternate days and sometimes I replace my gym outings with swimming...I have until Jan 1st to slim down...
How much do you think i can slim down? At the same time, I am drink fancl's pretty slim...don't know how effective it is...

meow... i beary greedy... i want alot of photos for my actual day... so i took the 1800 package... ya 950 oni those normal slot-in album... dun have those nicely done up album... maybe taking up his videography oso... but see my budget first when the date draws nearer... can ask u FH take for u mah... normal photo can liao... if u ask photographer to go down to take ur fitting dun hafta pay meh?

Amore,
$1800 package huh with 2 photographer right? see his quotation. Agree his got those album too. Mine also have both the slot in ones and selected few best ones into 15pages of those nice nice albums.
I think Andrew's work should be nice too. Since his price so high. What else he give you?

Fitting ah, since i'm asking a pro to take ROM as well. He'll take for me mah. So fitting can forget about it lor. Hair not nicely done and no makeup, wouldn't it look ugly? Wait for another week then will take nice nice ones right? Maybe if my friend got left over film, she'll take for me loh, else i guess no photos for fitting.

I'm also a May 03 bride. Learnt alot from all of you in this thread! Hope that it would continue to be so informative and active

Hi Wenn,
Initially also heart pain. Cos the deposit was $1600!!!
But we managed to offset this amount by using the other company's ROM package and photography, and ask BZ to give us more photos
I just want to be a happy bride!

meow... yup 2 photographers... he will be taking the journalistic b/w... and his fren traditional colour... actually wanted all b/w coz i like b/w... but scare our parents pantang lor.. so play save... total there will be 3 albums.. one b/w journalistic shots, one colour traditional shots and one nicely done up album or a portait with abt 20 (cant rem exact number) photos of actual day pics... then last one we can dun decide now... decide after the event oso can....

saw Nick goh's work... not bad oso leh...

HI May, I went down too! I reached CP at abt 6:15pm and pple started Q-ing for it. I thot it wld be a rush and grab kind of situation. Luckily we sporean still very civilise.
U got good buy too, dun forget another 5% when ur bill comes so is even cheaper!

I got two pillows (extra firm, not feather), a feather quilt, a chopper, a box of sock and a box of undergarment for my dad. actually FH dun want a feather but the price for a polyster and a feather quilt is only $10 differents. What % of down feather did u get? I got a 70% down and 30% feather quilt.

I think every $100 then allow to use the $20. so me and FH split the items so we can enjoy two $20 Discount vouchor. We spent a total of $173 and counted that we save a total of abt $96. that is ALOT!

The knife is very expansive. I didnt take note of the brand i got but i think is good enough. remember must get those that the whole knife handle is attached fully to the handle. Dun know u understand my explaination. This way the handle and the blade will not be separated easily. I didnt got those set where it come will alot of diff knife for diff functions. I just got a cutter, a small knife for fruits or call it peeler knife. It sell as a set then my FH to get a chopper (which is bigger and heavier) so i can chopper pork ribs or chickens.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">*GATHERING*</FONT>
new.gif

Date: <FONT COLOR="0000ff">29th Nov</FONT>
Meeting Time : <FONT COLOR="119911">6.30-6.45pm</FONT>
Venue : <FONT COLOR="aa00aa">B.Boss, Istana Park</FONT>
Name book under: <FONT COLOR="ff0000">Melody</FONT>

Attendence :
- amore (bring ROM photos)
- meow
- twinklets
- sunnyling (bring ROM photos)
- leo29
- ava
- novlkf22
- littleRabbit (bring ROM photos)
- wind2000
- Clyne
- Akira
- Cher

Absent
- bombom
- antz
- putise baby
- feb
- are
- Grace
- okeanosmao
- sweetie

Our group is getting smaller for the gathering anybody else joining and I miss out?

hi all... thanx for your concern, but sad to say, i forgot to take my medicine, and i'm back to my sick self on monday again... sigh... but will take lots of fluids and keep myself warm, coz i feel like i'm in a freezer in the office!!!

leo29, i agree tat its takes a lot to work on such a big project as a couple. its like the first time you do a project in sch, sure got lots of differences. i never expect him to react in certain ways, but i'm glad to say we are coping well, and shd be able to confirm a contractor by next mth.

i've not been to grand plaza for any weddings, but i rem my fren wanted the place badly coz she was v impressed with the ballrms, but she was also too late. so i guess tat pl is quite attractive?