(2002) Brides of year 2002

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">bluechin</FONT>:
Y ai will have having 2 bridal tables (red tables they call it). one on the groom side and 1 on the brides side. I will be sitting with the groom side with my PIL, SIL etc. The brides side table will consist of my parents, brothers, SIL, and some older realtive, like my aunt etc.
The char siew pao is very very nice.,. i ahd two (guilty)hehe. its on the chinatown complex, hawker center where ther have a wet market on the basement and lots of shop on the ground floor. I tell u when we meet onw eds lah.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">angelia</FONT>:
wha, can really complete by 3 days eh.. hehe.. but i dun have much time in the office to sort this out, so many things need to remember to do.
The long feng candles can be purcahsed directly, dun have to order, can get from the shop at chinatown. i tell u girls where the shop is when we meet on wed. remind me ok
Must we finish buring the candle in 1 day?/ tot no need to finish burning one???

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">cherly</FONT>:
So which caterer have u selected. ya as ohno has mentioned, the ang pow is for the "Mei Po" so call match maker that brings the stuff to ur place for guo da li. Its a token sum ang pow thats all.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">ohno</FONT>:
I will be ordering from this florist near my new place at Upper Serangoon Shopping center. the prices they quoted me was $3 upwards for each depending on the flowers selected. I think my budget is max $4 lor. i have checked with wet market and many neighbourhood stall, but they all dun do corsages.. so i managed to find this place that does it. The more upmarket florist charges about $8 - $10 onwards for 1 <-- this is way off my budget so I am planning to go for a cheaper alternative. I am getting extra for my hubby's "Xiong Di" cos i have already made corsages for the ah yees but not the boys. so wanted them to have flowers too. Its actually up to u lah cos i have been to many weddings that the brothers do not wear corsages. if u plan to save cost, then dun have to do it lor.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">jenjen</FONT>:
u will definitely need to rearrange ur tables once u have confirmed ur attendence. its better to sort out the arrangement earlier and rearrange accordingly as u get confirmation so that u dun have a headache later. dun push everything to the last, else u have more problem sorting then.

bluechin...really?!? *faint*
no wonder sometimes i msg u on icq there's no reply...tonite go back read my msg history liao, i forgot wat i write

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Happy Birthday to Bluechin's Hubby!!</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">jowie</FONT>:
think i wanna paste the "Xi" sticker before guo da li cos will be bring stuff of the guo da li up to my new place lah. so better with teh sticker right? hehe

starfruit...tks, i can't wait to paste all those stickers, especially the small small ones onto the oranges hehee

starfruit...not complusory, but best is everything also pasted wif the stickers
oranges from groom side but we staying together, so will do the tings together, he juz need to step out and step in again hehee
dunno where to find the matchmaker

I need to rent a projector. Would appreciate if you can provide some rates at which you rented for reference. Anyone will be sourcing for rental of a projector as well? Thanks!

Just get an aount from ur hubby side to stand in as a matchmaker.. alternatively, if cannot find, can get a close lady fren of urs and ur hubby to be the matchmaker. i think its pretty flexible lah.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">canfused</FONT>:
Nope me not using projector, so didn't source for any rates on this.

Canfused,
u finally come in ah
..... i dunno where to find projector rental leh. Grand Hyatt will provide the contacts if i decide to rent leh.
At the moment, will probably get from my company and Hubby's company.

starfruit...my FH dun have any relatives in SG, can it be my auntie? our close frends are belong to our age range, can??

I am back!!! Had my wedding on fri...wow...really tiring...the whole day passed by very quickly.
Everyting went on smoothly...think only the dinner portion on table arrangement is quite messy. Managed to take photos with all the tables we had...got abt 45 tables.

Tips for you gals..remember to get table co-ordinators (friends) for the photo-taking if u got lots of tables..and secondly try to get co-ordinator to put the guests to the max. no..per table..to prevent any empty or loose seats around.

Mine was on a weekday and in the town area..so can only start dinner at 8.30pm...Rem. to get ur makeup artist there on time..

For the rest of you brides, sleep early and l@@k gorgeous for the nite...clipart{biggrin}keep me informed when u gals are back..

<FONT COLOR="119911">went chinatown market during lunch to check out the candles stuff &amp; such.. went 2 shop, 1 tend by an uncle, the other by an auntie, both seems to be cantonese..

anyway, the uncle's price seems cheaper then the auntie's.

candles (modern type with dragon &amp; phoenix imprinted)
-------
uncle - $8 per pair, $15 for 2 pairs
auntie - $8 per pair, $16 for 2 pairs

candles (old type with dragon &amp; phoenix on paper attached)
-------
same for both - $6 per pair, $12 for 2 pairs

bedside lamps
------------
uncle - 8 per pair
auntie - $12 per pair, after disc $10

uncle's address
---------
Xin Yang Departmental Store
#01-129
open 11am - 6.30pm everyday

auntie say her name card not ready (anyway, dun like her attitute)
</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">
also checked out bedsheets with quilt cover set(think mostly from Taiwan) @ 2 shops (same design lah) &amp; found 1 cheaper by $5.50. juz for reference, if u check it at any shop, can go to the cheaper shop &amp; ask price &amp; compare b4 u buy lor.

Glory and Honour Dept Store (cheaper shop)
#01-100
Tel : 6224 9048
opens 12 noon - 9pm
close on Tue or Fri

You Li (Hong Ji) Departmental Store
#01-106 (opp shop selling cosmetics)
Tel : 6220 3870
</FONT>

Jowie,

U always bery funni one, your hubby is "cross"

Gals, my hubby haven buy long feng zu too, where exactly to get it from har??

Think cannot ur aunt lah, cos suppose to be from groom side. get one of u and ur hubby fren lah. Its ok if they r ur same age group. no prob one. My best fren was a "mei po" for one of her sec school mates.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">angelia</FONT>:
Thanks for detailed price breakdown. so what is the price range of the bedsheet and quilt cover set? is the design nice?

angelia...the <FONT COLOR="119911">uncle</FONT> shop is where I bot all the GDL stuff, they beri nice people

Monday...onli look forward to 2hrs Zhenqing! tomolo Jingchuan wake up but me no fate to see dat, am meeting frends

Angeline...
9663.gif

u can get all the chinese custom stuff at chinatown, angelia got state a few shop unit no.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">starfruit,</FONT>
when i passed by the 1st (expensive) shop, i saw a quite nice design, so ask the price, &amp; was quoted $85.50, then i saw it at the 2nd (cheaper) shop &amp; ask again, was quoted $80. 100% cotton, but no threadcount mentioned lor.. dunno izzit chinese country dun go by threadcount?!

btw, they got a few design i quite like lah, but maybe u gals dun like lor.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">someone asked when my hubby moving out rite? prob as soon as the hse is ready to move in lor.
</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">angie</FONT>

u buying wat bedsheet &amp; quilt from chinatown?? wat kind of designs?? i just bought a set from John Little last Sat...

u went to buy all ur GDL stuff liao ah?? i haven't buy leh..

hmm... my MIL supposed to buy the stuff... but I dunno if she bought leow or not... dun think she will forget rite?? buy early will spoil or not har?? :p

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jaslyn,</FONT>
me will be getting the cake slices.. fruit tarts a bit ex &amp; "small" leh..
then those "aunties" dun really noe how to appreciate one lah..

u dun worry lah, i oso hvn't done most things yet.. we same day mah..

eh, when u going for trial makeup &amp; fitting huh? got any idea what flowers to use for bridal bouquet &amp; what car deco u want oready not? me hvn't done anything on these yet leh..

hi crayon2512,

congratulations to you. i would like to ask if you have a sample of your speech??

thank you! may you and ur hubby be forever blissful!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jen,</FONT>
buy wat early will spoil not??? u mean the GDL stuff?? aiya, the GDL stuff either candles or plastic, u say buy early will spoil or not leh??

trial make-up?? u haven't go meh?? i oredi went b4 my PS leh... final fit will be on 10 Nov..

flowers... i tot of using tulips for hand bouquet.. smthg similar to my ROM flowers lor.. car decor.. haven't tot of it yet but will be choosing on 10 Nov at WL lor...

ur car decor provided by WP rite?? u using their car oso?

i think i'll be stressed out by Nov... just called Mandarin.. told me food trial onli available on Mon - Thurs.. alamak.. so diff to arrange.......

u lah, got my makeup artist, so now gotta settle for someone else.. lucky i nvr got trial b4 PS, else dunno will they give me another trial or not..

btw, my bridal is WN, not WP lah.. car decor provided, but i din take their car. dunno when go fitting &amp; trial leh.. they nvr call me, &amp; i oso nvr call them... was thinking maybe trial &amp; fitting 1 wk b4 actual day lor

i still hvn't decide whether to go food tasting or not leh..

Angelia,

Thanks for your precious info, will drop by there to c c look look

Btw, what do u mean by modern type with dragon &amp; phoenix imprinted har??

Hi strawberry ...

So did u go visit T-dragon to look at their samples? I am still waiting for T-dragon to fax over the sample copy of the wordings for me to vet through..

Have u gals ever come across any shops that sell cute little stickers where i can used it to stick over the back of the cards?

So far, not much things have been done yet... haven start conceptualizing my presentation slides also.

aiyo... so i must give up Jessie to you isit??

pai seh... ya.. correct shd be WN hor? 1 wk b4? then if they want to make alterations, veri rush leh.. think better 2 wks b4 lor..

so u using whose car? tell u... if can dun go food trial then dun go.. unless it's free lor..

wow.....

so many msg to read liao.
me also getting kan cheong after reading so many things....

Think i better hurry to catch up....

But not sure what i haven't do except the caterer of buffet.

Irene

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">angeline,</FONT>
the traditional type got a pc of "dragon" or "phoenix" paper attach to the candle rite? then as we burn the candle, gotta take care of the candles &amp; keep shifting the "dragon" &amp; "phoenix" downwards else will be burnt.

the modern one din hv the paper. instead, it's like "hot-stamped" onto the candle liao. so dun need to keep watching the candles or shift the "dragon" &amp; "phoenix" when we burn the candles.

hope it's clear.. else, juz drop by the shop lor.. go to the uncle shop okie.. i feel he's nicer person. price oso cheaper leh.

aiya, no lah.. gotta blame myself lor, dun wanna go PS earlier, else i might be able to book jessie lor..
now gotta pray hard the makeup artist assign to me is not bad either.

1 wk very rush meh? hmm, ya lor, maybe got 1st fitting 2 wks in adv, then if got alterations, go again 1 wk in adv.. kekeke.. KS..

me got my brother's fren to rent company car, volvo for me.. but problem is, won't get to know the color of the car until that very day leh.. so a bit headache what color ribbon &amp; flowers to choose lor.. muz get neutral color lor.

food tasting, i dunno leh, maybe wanna try to bargain for 5 pax FOC lor.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">irene,</FONT>
hahah.. as the date gets nearer, a lot of qn to ask mah, so lots of postings lor..

Hi berypig,

i'm going to T-dragon tomorrow, cos hubby only free tomorrow.

i saw you mentioning in the other thread that u didn't like ur photos is it? (i know u mentioned to me b4 too) which bridal are u with?
so fast u got your photos already!!

the other time i went craft-inc, i think they do provide those stickers. not very sure, can call them and ask. but craft-inc can be quite costly loh.

since we work so close each other, can always meet up to do stuff together

aiyo... so until now u dunno which make-up artiste u are assigned to??? alamak!!

ya lah.. better go 2 wks in advance... at least u'll still have time mah..

alamak.. why need to wait till actual day then know color of car?? hmmmmm... if that's the case... maybe u can use silver color ribbons lor.. white and green flowers will be nice too... most prob, i'll use that combination ;)

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Starfruit</FONT>,

I just send the order to YLS, they didn't charge any transportation fee lei. My friends said their food not bad.

nope, hvn't bought any of the GDL stuff. only went there to see, see &amp; check out candles price.

cos the car is company car lor, so they dun hv choice, see that day got what color available lor. but hor, i scare later i choose silver, the car is white!!!!! actually i wanted light light blue cos my WG got a bit of blue mah..

i only know the assigned makeup artist's name is Sally, other then that, no other info liao.. all other WN brides i noe all used Jessie..
9668.gif

har.. then veri risky leh... got no means to know the color of the car?? wat if the decor color combi u choose dun match??

u can ask WN to show u Sally's work not? or u faster go for trial lah.. call them up lor.. actually, WL just call me todae to fix the final fit date... u call them lah..

HI Berypig,

Are you doing the slide presentation yourself or getting a professional one to do it for you?

Anyone of you intending to engage a professional videography for the actual day? My FH's frd offer to do it for us but I am afriad that the results might not turn out good. Can any of your give me some advice or recommandations for a pro?

No lah, have not gotten back my photos yet. Oredi dun really like the photos when i chose from the small prints, how to like them if they are blown up :p Me wif Julia. Sigh.. sometimes i think it's d photographer fault.. sometimes i think it's me &amp; hubby not tt good looking enuff (but i think i look ok leh :p ..) .. or maybe our standards too high lor. Btw, when u taking ur photoshoot?

I am now starting to source for designs on WG.. looking at www.theknot.com . Mine is OTR latest design.. just wana show to my coordinator and see whether my bridal shop has the gowns tt i like or not.

Oh.. u going to T-dragon tomorrow... can help me ask whether they provide any free gifts or whether they have stickers ?

Angelia,

I see..... actually me having a slight headache on table placement but hope on the spot,on that day, there won't be so much problem..

Next week, then the parents will meet and then will be able to get them to talk before i go get the Guo da li stuffs. Got to cross my finger hope no war appears.

Irene

no hurry lah.. will ask them when i go collect my album.. hopefully end Oct or early Nov..

if color combi dun match oso boh bian lor.. cos got to rent the car cheap cheap mah..

how to get WN to show me Sally's work?? even if got photo, sure will be different from real person lor.. nvm lah.. juz as long as not like wayang can liao lor... if not, u give me Jessie lah?! kekeke... kidding lah...