(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi Blossom,

Good that you find the album you want. I was at Konota yesterday afternoon looking for the silver album with the word "Our Wedding" but it has run out of stock. Only left those with square frame on the cover and I didn't bought any.

It is definitely easier to use the slot-in album, the adhesive type requires alot of patience and time

yk

bluechin...yalor, tink my price is almost same as their weekday package, but my FH said as ours is buffet, we have more variety of food than the Chinese 9 course, so the costs of MM might be higher and thus they can't give us more frills lor
MM said can give me cash discount for invites and mini cakes, but they can exchange items for the upgrade coz it's <FONT COLOR="ff0000">DIFFERENT DEPARTMENT</FONT>...have to top up $300 if wan the bridal suite leh...so we not upgrading

hi yk,
i bought the one with the word "our wedding"!
i also dun want the one with the frame because my studio album is something like that.

what time did you go konota? i was there around 5+. we could have bumped into each other.

i bought my album at the fuji shop at bras basah (ground floor, facing raffles hotel). the album costs $18.50 and the inserts $5 per pack of 60, rather expensive lah but since i like the album and my parents and in-laws have been chasing us to see the album so buy loh.

hi cowie,
come to think of it, the shop you bought your album may be a fuji shop rather than photo finish. i went to a few photo finish outlets but their albums are the normal ones rather than the bigger ones than can hold 6 photos per page. the fuji shop where i went to has the type of album you described.

hi blossom,

I was at Konota at about 5:45pm.

Maybe next time i go to the fuji shops U mentioned. This type of album always run out of stock very fast coz alot of photograhers use that for actual wedding day photos

The album U bought can hold hold 180 4Rs one izzit? I think Konota is slightly cheaper, album is $17.90 and the inserts is $3.50 for 60 photos.... :P

But nevermind lar, not much difference unless u r buying alot. I know some other shops selling $6.50 for that

Your PIL must be excited about the photos too :P

hi yk,
i think i left konota before you came.

yup, the shop i went to is rather expensive. but never mind loh. the shop assistant also showed me an album done by photographers. seems like it is really very popular.

yah lor, my mom was pestering for the photos ever since i came back from my honeymoon 2 weeks ago. yah la, it has been almost one month after my wedding, we are really quite slow in developing the photos.

hi blossom,

I managed to get the album from the fuji shop you mentioned this afternoon

yk

hi yk,
that's good. but i think if konota din go out of stock, we'll get a better deal. nevermind, the most impt thing is we got the album we want.
9627.gif

hi Blossom,

tats true... I tell u something... i bought two n the uncle sold me at $18 each...

but I didn't buy the refill, I told him its more expensive than some other shops...

wonder hows your fren pegsfur and charcoal ... i think both of them bring their pets to stadium cove for the pets day, must be quite fun hor

hmmm... perhaps jowie, urs is poolside plus the number of pax is not that many... so that's why they dun give u... for most wedding dinners, they will earn abt $15k (20 tables) - $40k (55 tables)... so if ur total dinner dun hit, they probably find it a bit lugi to give u so many things lor... esp if the bridal suite cost a lot... cheer up, ok!!

hi yk,
hey, they also sold me $18 each.
i bought the refills, they gave me a discount too. i realise i got more photos than expected.... i forgot i took some photos during my wedding photo shoot and guo da li. so i should be buying another pack of refill. but see if i can find any fuji shop nearby. i dun work in town so no point going all the way there to buy it.

ya lor, i think pegsfur and charcoal should have an enjoyable day. will ask them later.

i'm back fr honeymoon. so glad to see so many familiar names in this thread still.

i thoroughly enjoyed my wedding. the few days b4, i was actually feeling rather down: i caught a cold, there were unexpected withdrawals fr guests, n we had to discover a mistake in our guest list at 11pm the nite b4. i was up till 1am n was quite worried that i will look tired n miserable with a running nose on my wedding. but thank goodness that was not to be.

the day started at 7am when the makeup artiste arrived to work on my mum's makeup. hilarion was there at abt the same time n i manage to chat with him all abt digital photography. i bought a digital camera for the honeymoon n getting tips fr a pro was a good start for my wedding.

the videographer n my jiemeis arrived closer to 8am. my jiemeis were so hilarious together, i forgot how tired i was. we had so much time after the makeup we were eating breakfast together. that was when i realised that they hv no idea what sabos to use. they hurriedly agreed on a 3-obstacles theme of "show us that u can protect, feed n entertain the bride". they thot of things on the fly to sabo the groom. the sabos took a good n v. entertaining hour. i appreciated that they somehow managed to keep me in the loop of everything that was happening.
everyone, including hilarion, eric n my family members, was highly amused by the sabos.

when these were shown in the evening, we could hear all the guests guffawing with laughter fr the reception area, even though all the doors to the ballrm were closed.

anyway, i better relate the story in chronological order, else this post will be really incomprehensible.
i was in the reception at abt 8:05pm, since my makeup was done only at abt 7:45pm. i din manage to mingle with many guests, but i managed to catch bluechin (who was at hyatt to meet her coordinator) n julia (who was running down the escalators to her wedding).
anyway, when i arrived, all the friends i met were all pouring over our actual day photos. most were impressed that hilarion could get the photos out so fast.

our guests were seated by abt 8:10pm. we showed our montage n we could hear the oohs n aahs. lots of comments later abt how cute we looked when we were young.
the walkin was magical. we requested specifically that no dry ice be used n that guests remain seated, so the feeling was v. personal. so many familiar faces, waving n smiling, some calling out funny jokes, it was just a wonderful feeling.

after the 2nd dish, we rushed to change for the 2nd walkin. i think we were too fast, cos the captain wasn't expecting us to be down yet. we din even wait for them to fetch us fr the suite, we just rushed to the ballrm ourselves.
that was when we learned that the actual day video edits was 16 min long, due to the long n v. funny sabo session. the guests were highly entertained, which is a relief since a long n boring video was the last thing we needed.

while waiting for the video to end, we manage to chat with many friends, which was one of the really bright sparks of the evening. everyone looked so happy to be in the company of friends, some of whom they hvn't met for some time.

the photoshoots went rather slowly, since our relatives n friends could not organise themselves fast enuf. by the time we finished, the noodles were being served n we had time only for 4 sabos.

the banquet ended early enuf, at abt 10:40pm, it was all over. but we stayed in the reception to chat with friends till midnight. many soon-to-be-wedded couples were asking for hilarion's n eric's contacts. oh yes, i was surprised to find out that eric, my videographer, is actually the eric fr mirage that so many of u were discussing b4. how blur can i be.

JenJen...me already "accept the fate" liao hehee
i even have to find my own backdrop wif our names leh! Any recommendations? I went to Bras Brasah...styrofoam type, charge by letters

hi och,
welcome back!!!
9641.gif
im so glad that you enjoyed ur wedding.

this forum has been rather quiet but as more ppl come back, we will have more stories to hear from them.

Hi och,

Glad that you are back ! Welcome back !
How was your honeymoon ? Did you enjoy yourself?

Anyway, your 2nd walk-in reminds me of mine... cos I had finished changing and wanted to go down but my hubby refused to let me go down until the banquet captain has called for us.. so cos of that, we waited for like almost 40 mins upstairs as there was a delay caused by the slow serving of the food.. :P Did feedback to my banquet manager about the timing thingy.

Anyway, it's has been almost 3 weeks since our wedding.. have received more feedback from friends that the service of the waitress and waiter was bad for some tables.. :P Some of the staff was inexperienced and they did not even know how to serve the fish properly.. :P But luckily... it happened to a few tables only.. :P

Hi Blossom,
I really got my ROM album from Photo Finish, but it is from the one at Heartland Mall, Hougang. Anyway, glad that you have found yours
Oh, my actual day album was provided by my photographer, Choon Huat. So, I didn't have to buy my own

Hi och,
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your big day so much also....looks like all of us have really fond memories to fall back on for a long long time

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Jowie, Bluechin</FONT>:

JOWIE!!! i found the char siew pau stall at chinatown, bought 5 to try.. its Delicious!! ya, the char siew very big and tasty and not fatty at all. its really good. yum yum. didn't notice the stall when i was eating at the Guo Tei stall the last time. Unit no is 129.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">jowie</FONT>:
How many ppl are u confirming for ur dinner? I think brash basah is the like the 1 stop to source for these backdrop stuff. Did u manage to find a shop that can do it for u ?

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">jenjen</FONT>:
R u getting 1 nite or 2 nites at the bridal suit?

Starfruit...glad u like the bao

I haven't confirm the attendance yet, got a few say exams cannot come
but count will be around 140-150 guests

Found 2 shops wif the same price, they did those thin styrofoam...wat will u be putting on the backdrop? if put only our names a bit plain leh...i am tinking of adding my wedding card phrase <FONT COLOR="ff0000">Made to be Mr &amp; Mrs...</FONT> follow by our names, but it charge by per alphabet, if put too mani will costs quite a bit...

Have u confirmed ur styroform names with Irene?

So how much does it cost to do just u and ur hubby's name? and how big is the size of each letter?

JenJen...wah piang u all get 2 nites bridal suite somemore...<FONT SIZE="+1"><FONT COLOR="ff0000">"WHY!!!!"</FONT></FONT>

starfruit...for 20cm height, each alphabet costs $4, we need 11 alphabets for our names, wifout surname
have to go down MM again to see whether 20cm is big enuff

Bluechin....i finally posted the Wedding Butler
collected the items last sat, a bit stained

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin,</FONT>
aiya, very diff to sleep early lah.. this morning kena awaken by hubby's alarm clock again!! hiaz... looking fwd to the day he moving to the new flat... then i can sleep well liao..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jowie,</FONT>
no big problem, but will only be solved when hubby moves to new flat..

where u see the simple plasic frames?? me wanna go see see leh.. yup, the acrylic frame we bought is beri heavy. for dust trapped in between, can juz "open up" the frames &amp; clean mah.. it's juz 2 pcs of acrylic attached together by 4 screws mah.. no issue lah.. hmmm.. i dun wanna suggest to bring out on Wed (though very tempted to share) cos it's heavy lah, then i gotta bring the cakes from kyo..

u or hubby driving? if yes, maybe can meet near my place @ Bt. Batok? then if u wan, can ask my hubby's colleagues to help buy &amp; bring back?!

<FONT COLOR="119911">went Pan-Asia Exhibition yesterday &amp; bought a sofa.. cost us $1,100 leh.. so heartpain.. but no coice lah, hubby likes it so much, he so reluctant to leave.. kekeke... but it's out by his initial budget by $300 lor..
</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="119911">starfruit</FONT>

Less than one month's time to your wedding, u gan cheong or not? I am quite nervous, mine is a month away..

starfruit, I've confirmed the styrofoam names with pauline...

jowie, the second nite is bcos we have guaranteed almost 50 tables with them... that's why...

I'm panicking!! I still have not gotten the bedside tables and bedside lamps!! where to get nice ones?? and I still have not moved my things to my new place yet... jia lat...

starfruit, when u meeting ur helpers?? how many of them?? where are u meeting?? me maybe too big group have to go my place to meet...

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Jowie</FONT>

I think JenJen and Starfruit have more tables, that's why they are given extra nite. I got 1 nite only and the other nite is for deluxe room.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Starfruit/JenJen/Jowie</FONT>

All of u are having names on the backdrop of the stage?

angelia...tks, but tink i not getting the acrylic frame, i scare too heavy and if drop onto the floor, might dent a hole in my future house hehee
the simple plastic frames is beri super simple ones, can find in any framimg or photoshop, i ask the shop is in Suntec, but i tink neighbourhood shops will be cheaper....i let u know after more research

ohhh and the helium gas, my planner juz told me she can't locate the supplier!!! have to give up the idea liao
but she got another one dat costs $50 for 100 balloons, i dun need so much leh

me haven't buy liquors, toothbrush &amp; toothpaste, pyjamas and dunno wat else!!!

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">cherly</FONT>:
Talk about Kan cheong, me has been in panic mode since the 4th of this month. so many things not done yet. need to sort out the following these 2 weeks.
- Order cake for guo da li
- buy the soda water for guo da li
- pack ang pow for guo da li and actual day (must also go bacnk and change small notes for this)
- confirm buffet catering for actual day
- call credit card company for temp credit increase.
- order real flower corsages for Family and brothers.
- then also must make sure i go stick the double happiness sticker at my new place a few days before guo da li.
*sigh* so many things how to complete on time.
how about u? how r u doing?

u can go chinatown and but lah. they got this one shop (at chinatown complex, above the wet market, ask around and the ppl will direct u). u can try and sort everything out there. U can do it in 1 day. Dun go too late though just in case they ran out of stock for some items and need to re order for u.
i will only be meeting my helps on the last week. need to meet with photograhers first to confirm my schedule before i meet the helpers.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">all</FONT>:
We compare notes when we meet in wed lah.. think i need u girls to calm me down .. i have been feeling panicky when i wake up every morning. Pre- wedding Panic Attack i guess.

ya me got 2 nites free too cos I also have 50 plus tables confirmed with them.
Aiya, how come u not coming on wed.. thought we could give each other reassurance and support cos our weddings are the 1st two from the Nov brides.

blossom, my actual day album was provided by hilarion. since we just got back fr honeymoon, hvn't decided on what type of album we want yet, but we will need those that allows us to write our own comments to the pictures.

chemson, i had a lovely honeymoon!
the weather was really kind to us. london was a cool 18-20 deg all throughout the 5 days we were there n it never rained! we took things really slow n enjoyed ourselves taking morning walks through hyde park, along thames, n along the busy streets. we din do much, only visited st paul's, westminister abbey n british musuem (we spent 2 days there!). we spent all our days walking, chatting n pigging out.
we also caught 2 musicals, les mis n the full monty. i thot the london les mis was v. much better produced compared to the one shown in sg some 10 yrs back. n the full monty made us laugh till our sides hurt. the guys really went full monty!

tunisia was a v. fun adventure! no regrets at all abt choosing it as a destination. we went camel-riding amongst sand dunes n old ruins in zaafrane, which is in the sahara. there were palm trees waving abt in the dusk. the sand is so fine that when we step against the edge of sand dunes, the sand flowed down the dune like water.

we also visited matmata (underground houses) n chott el jerid (salt lake), which were at the edges of the sahara n where star wars was filmed. even though the landscapes at these places were entirely different, they were both surreal. temperatures were hovering at 35 deg throughout. there was no wind, no plants for as far as the eyes can see. there were mirages in the horizon at the chott. now i can understand why mirages r such talked-abt phenomenon. when u see such lush greens n water amidst barren lands n high temperatures, hopes can run to unbelievable proprotions.

we were also at 2 gd beaches, hammamet n sousse. in hammamet, the water was really gentle, the sun is shining n the temperatures so cool. it was so perfect i'm not surprised it's a major european beach resort. the whole gulf were lined with resorts! it was rather overcrowded, but we had our best food there. we took half board n every day, we were fed with buffets featuring at least 2 seafood n 3 meats. wow! ok, it's not fantastic by sg standards, but it was really wow after our trip to the sahara, where the main source of meat still comes fr chicken n lamb.

then there were ruins we visited. roman ruins, carthagian ruins n islamic forts. all so distinct. climbing through the ruins was v. fun! we felt like children playing hide n seek. every turn, there may be another room, another stairs, another building.
we ventured into their current cities too, to look at mosques that r still in use. the great mosque in kairouan is v. spectucular n grand, not in the ostentatious style like some european churches, but v. dignified. v. nice.

perhaps my favourite part abt tunisia is its extremely friendly pple. besides the touts, their pple will go the extra mile just to help another. we were lost at one point, not sure whether we caught the rite bus n this group of students acted as our translators to find out where we should stop, how much it costs, helped us stop the bus driver when we r due to alight, pointed us the way to walk n even wrote us a note reminding us to catch the last bus back into town. we were so touched. we still keep the note n we hope to add the note into our honeymoon album.

cowie, yep, it looks like everyone will hv fond memories to fall back on. even today, my hubby is telling me he couldn't believe how fun weddings could be.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">mint</FONT>:
Happy Belated B-day !!!

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">ohno</FONT>:
no, dun think i will be doing the name thingy. need to chek if beng khoon if the backdrop will be too plain without it. see what he says first lah.

How did u meeting with Pauline went? all well?

hehehe.. the acrylic frame got additional screws to turn it into "table tops" kekeke... anyway, guess if u could put a 20x24 portrait on the wall, can also hang the acrylic frame cos it's abt the same weight lah.

aiya, i juz told hubby abt the helium &amp; decorating the restaurant wif ballons leh.. why like that?!
or can we share share the $50 for 100 balloons one??

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">starfruit,</FONT>
dun make me panic oso leh.. i oready worried i cannot get the contractors to handover the hse LATEST by end of next week..

anyway, the things u mentioned, actually can be done in 2-3 days..

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Day 1:</FONT>
- call bank (during lunch time / office hr)
- change small note (during lunch)
- order cake (after work)
- buy soda water (after order cake juz drop by NTUC)

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Day 2:</FONT>
- confirm buffet (during lunch time)
- order corsage (after work)
- prepare ang pow

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Day 3:</FONT>
- go new hse place "xi" stickers (after work)

kekekeke.....

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jen,</FONT>
i oso hvn't settled my bedroom set (sofa booked, but no bed, hahaha).. hvn't even go look for bedside lamps &amp; teapot set.

Starfruit,

Me too, getting more Kan Cheong and Kan Cheong. I have not order cakes for my guo da li, left only cakes. Has bought the rest. Are we supposed to give ang bao on Guo Da Li day? Going to confirm my actual day buffet today and we intend to give a cheque for the minimum tables that we place 3 days in advance to hotel and the balance will pay either thru cash or credit card.

Starfruit,
u managed to eat the cha siew bao ah....nice....
which building is it in?

me also suffering from the Pre-Wedding Panic Attack..... stress with work and the preps.

Jowie,
later i go and see the thread..... Why they like, give u stained things?

angelia,
ai yo..... u better try to sleep earlier.... Btw, when is hubby moving out?

mint,
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Happie Belated Birthday.....</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Btw, may i check with u girls..... Who sits at the bridal table?</FONT>

starfruit....do we stick the double happiness stickers before GDL or before actual day?
me meeting frends at tampines on wed leh
i haven't finish sending the cards yet, those by post haven't send yet hehee

ohno...most likely i will be doing names on backdrop

angelia...me beginning of mth and u end of nov, how to share share?? but if u wan to use it to decor the restaurants, tink u can use all 100 balloons, i am using onli for my house, so 100 is too much liao

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Starfruit</FONT>

Luckily u list out your 'checklist' again. Forgot totally abt the corsages for parents... erm, brothers also need corsages? Where can we get the corsages, florist? roughly how much?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Cherly</FONT>

Think we have to give ang pow to the 'matchmaker' for the guo da li.

the helium tank once open muz finish all at one shot ah?? sure can "stop" like those tank gas rite? the restaurant we book not that big lah.. only 20 tables leh.. i think 50 balloon oso a bit bit too many leh..

u can check with ur wedding planner if the helium need to finish once open?!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin,</FONT>
u hving 1 or 2 VIP tables?? if hv 2, normally the groom &amp; bide sit with the groom's family at 1 table, then bride's family will sit at the other table.

for us, not many people, so all sit 1 table only.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jaslyn,</FONT>
i checked the confectionaries @ Bt. Batok.. a couple charge 46 per box, 1 charge $5.50, but lowest can go is $5 for abv 50 boxes.

guess i'll get from kyo eventually since kyo provides printing of couples name on the box.. kekeke.... &amp; also 10% disc for purchases abv $200 rite? that makes it $5.40 per box after disc.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">where u gals get ur <FONT COLOR="ff0000">"long feng" candles</FONT>?? need to order in advance or not? it's cash &amp; carry or they'll deliver to ur hse on the GDL day?</FONT>

Angelia...the gas muz finished at one time, or alternatively, u can go to those shops dat sell balloons/party tings, they have those big helium gas tanks and can do it on the spot, but i dunno how much issit wor

can get the candles at chinatown, why need them to deliver, it's the normal size rite?

huh? i tot can do halfway then keep the other half tank.. hiaz.. too bad.. now gotta think of other deco idea liao..

chinatown ah.. how much u buy huh? my mum told me got big &amp; small one leh.. ask us to get small ones, but will actually go shop with her lah... she said big one may not finish by the time they need to leave for the dinner.. anyway, will prob go Jurong West to check out this coming weekend lor.. <FONT COLOR="ff0000">or anyone bought, pls share how much u paid leh..</FONT>

angelia...i din buy candles, my FH is "cross" wan, actually my mom wans, but she give in lor,anyway our house dun have altar

angelia,
mee having 2 VIP tables.....so i guess i will just sit with my hubby and his family.....

U can get the long feng candles from Chinatown Complex. Juz went last weekend to get the jia nu er stuffs for the Jia Chuang. Didn't buy the candles though.

Jowie,
wat is "cross"?

hi och,

Yup, yup, I am still relishing in those memories.....
Wow, your honeymooon certainly sound interesting. Must really get your itinerary from you so that I can plan a trip there also..... uhmm, sometime in the future lah

Jowie,
i also "cross" leh.... but my mil insists.....
i will skip the "Shang Tou" part....

That day my hubby says he chat with u for short while on icq but u dunno it's him.
Today's his birthday but he will be working late so i can't plan ahead for him.