(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi gemi,

That's good huh! Can get back your negatives and develop yourself definitely much cheaper. How much is your package and how's their service? Dun mind telling me your bridal shop? Cos my sister will be getting married as well but I dun recommend my shop cos the service no gd altho the package is quite comprehensive.

Wah so where u holding your M'sia banquet? At JB? Mine is. I'm not too sure of the venue cos my M'sian cousin booked it for me. So u mean u using the M'sia invi cards for your S'pore banquet or wat? Your S'pore restaurant din provide invi cards? Can tell me where is "My Stuffs" and do they do wrist corsages? I'm getting wrist corsages but I want something cheap and nice. heheh

Ah... tim sum restaurant also got paus must take note take note
u decide the restaurant aldy? Red Star Restaurant is quite gd and price also quite resonable.

Hi Pinky,

Me too leh! I also haven contacted the hotel since we booked it not to mention food-tasting. So anyone knows when is the time we shld start to liase with hotel? Have you all heard of practising the match-in before the wedding day? I dunno whether my frens are joking.
What must we arrange with the hotel? Need help!

mmm...I think we shld all eat our fill on food-tasting cos actual day practically wun touch the food quite lugi maybe shld consider ta bao and eat while counting my ang paos in my hotel room...hehehe

Starfruit-Not sure what u meant… I’ve met up with Beng Khoon already (re décor if that’s wat u meant) but not for the song lists selection yet… sigh… really tied up this week… u gals enjoy listening

Hi gemi, do u intend to find a printer to print ur inserts or printing them urself?

i wanted to print myself but have a problem with the Chinese wordings, dont know how to write. so good that you can get ur cards so soon to print... me probably have to wait till October then call the hotel to get the cards as they mention in the contract is 2 months before wedding. but like very gan geong to do my cards lor cos i'm printing it myself mah, so maybe more time & work needed :P

Hi val,

i think 1 month before wedding for food-tasting is quite alrite. not too late or too near wedding date.. can be as a form of early celebration mah.. and i got food-tasting for 10 persons, so happy cos more people can come with us
i dont know if the hotel allows us to practise our march-in beforehand.. maybe can ask the person when we go for food-tasting. also at the same time can test out the sound system
, find the suitable decorations for your ballroom, music arrangement and etc.

hi blossom,

i know... it's just 4 days away and getting really scary with the amount of things i have yet to do...

have u gotten everything prepared?

Hi thedevil,

my GUODALI date will be on the 21Sept02. Wow, u so early..., then am i too late har??? Juz exactly 2 wks b4 my wedding date... But i will be posting & sending out invites to friends/colleagues next wk, so tat i can do my RSVP. On the 21 Sept, then i shall distribute to my relatives...
Aniway, i will be ordering fm Primadeli for ur info. Was tinking of getting Choz, but more expensive, so decided to get the more traditional type. Wow, but u got so many of cakes to be given to relatives/friends.. i oni got 45....
I have gotten my album, & the feedback tat i received was quite gd...mmmm...quite satisfied too.

Gals, been quite quiet nowsadays, i guess everybody is quite low-profile, mayb due to 7th mth.....

hi Jas
My guodali wil be next week 14th, got to start preparing my stuff...like the cakes etc. I had juz painted my room last sunday...tiring...
i am stil short of pyjamas, cakes, invitation cards..(some of it not written)yet..collection of photo album next week.

Got to prepare for the ang pow...hey..how much should i give to his grandparents?

Jowie,
Glad u had a good time @ Mortons! very memorable isn't it?

For my wedding band i did this.....

Eg: my name's Jowie Wong & hubby's Bobby Lim and wedding date's 1st September 2002

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">BL01092002JW</FONT>

looks like some serial codes but it's only understood by the both of ya.

JenJen,
Tiffany's helped to engrave the wedding bands for me in Bolock letters but they do <FONT COLOR="aa00aa">crusive</FONT> too!

bluechin...dats a good idea! like some kind of serial code, will keep dat in mind

yr ring done at tiffany? how much issit?
our rings costs us almost double the display price coz of our ring size hehee

Jowie,
Yup bought my wedding bands in Tiffany's..... comes with a small diamond and in Platinium. Paid about $1500 each.... meaning about $3000 for both. Engraving's complimentary i think.

Can't say the same for my Engagement Ring....cost much more but it's sitting in the cupboard now cos mee not a very jewellery type of person.
hubby says can save a lot for him.

Hi Pinkapple, Val, Pinky,

I'm printing two sets of cards, for the banquets in Singapore and Johor. For my S'pore banquet, I'm getting my cards from American Wedding Treasures, as provided by my hotel. I haven't decided if I'm using their printing services yet, but I think outside like Hi-Tech could be cheaper. Still scouting around.

I'm thinking of going over to the shopping centres in JB to source for the cards for my M'sia banquet.

Pinky, if you need sample of Chinese wordings, I can fax to you. Or you can take a look at some of your friends' cards. I think you can try to get the cards earlier from your hotel. Tell them you want to send to overseas guests so need to get earlier.

Val, I'm with Allure Charix. Their service is good, and my designer Daniel is pretty patient person. I paid 3.3k for my package, inclusive of 1 MTM WG, 1OTR EG (keep), 1 MTM Groom Suit (keep), flowers, rental of accessories, etc and of course the photography wif Robin (20 pics, 120 proofs eep, and negatives to keep). One thing good about Robin is each additional photo cost only $35. Thinking of topping to 30 pics max.

Suggest that your sis take a look at their designs first. She may have their own preference and every boutique has their own strengths.

Val, I think you can practise your march-in on the actual day, in the late afternoon, for a short rehearsal with the music and everything. And to check on the sound system too. You should get your friend to help out too.

Hi Val,

Forgot to answer your question on "My Stuffs". Think they do mainly the accessories. For wrist corsages, you may want to try the florists instead. Why dun you buy the flowers and ribbons yourself and do the corsages yourselves. I'm thinking about that too. But must learn how to make first.

hi bleuz,
im trying not to be too stressed, have been rather irritable lately. im still struggling with the seating arrangement, packing my luggage etc. really worried i may forget something. the worst thing is im still working.... until friday. so i dun have that much time left.

bluechin...yalor engagement ring usually sit in cupboard hehee i oso dun wear jewellery, not even a pendant, onli a ring...rather spend the moni on food

Hi! Blossom,

Dun worry too much everything would be fine..
although my wedding is 3 weeks after u.. i also get stress up lately.. thinking of going mad soon.. I think that's the norm of all brides-to-be.. Pre-marriage stres man!

Esp. my mum keep changing her "requests" i really buaytahan.. She keep saying couple no need to give kids ang-bao .. no such tradition.. but wat i heard mostly is we got to give ang-baos to kids .. Puzzled leh..

Blossom.. why not take at least half day on Fri..
at least get yourself more relax.. &amp; have abit of time to got thru those things undone..

hey bluez, u r the first amongst us to get married! congrats!
when r u going on leave?

hi blossom, congrats too!
dun panic! if it helps, after helping so many friends with their weddings, i think it's common to be fretting over the seating arrangement at this time. u can start delegating jobs, e.g. ask ur parents/siblings to help u pack ur lugguage, get gd friends to help u plan seating arrangement for friends etc. when r u leaving for honeymoon?

Wah like so many things to do....and I assume that the hotel does everything for us??? How do I chk out the sound system and when on food tasting day? I scare scarely actual day cock-up how??
and and isn't the invi cards printed by the restaurant. Do we have to pay for their printing services? I still thot jus have to pass them the guest list and they'll do up everything but I do know that they limit the no. of invi cards which I forgot how many liao. And decoration...I dunno how to decorate also...u all got ideas anot...also I thot this is done by the restaurant..Now I very gan cheong
...and I feel very awkward to practise the march-in like very paiseh leh...

Gemi, Wah ur package sounds quite gd lair. Got include actual day photographer, film and car? Have you gotten your pics? Can show me? hehe I'll show you when I got mine. Promise

Oh I din know florist do wrist corsages. Actualli I saw some of the corsages look veri simple but I really have no idea how to do...maybe shld get some books to read up. What are you all giving to your jiemeis as in besides ang pow?

Jowie,
we same same lor.....

mee will not buy jewellery for myself..... find it a waste of money..... can use the money for more practical things....

mee craving for ice cream now.....

wonder how's angelia?

Bluechin,

U very brave hor still craving for ice cream. Me start watch out my diet liao afraid will put on weight on tummy.

hi loreal,
i just ganna an arrow from my boss to do a report. the deadline indicated is 18 sept, but excuse me, i wont be around so i have to finish it by friday.
why ppl so heartless? must squeeze me dry dry then happy. i still haven't finish my closing ley.
i intend to take halfday on friday wan but i think can forget abt it liao.

hi och,
i cant really delegate becos i dun even have time to tell them what to do. i can complete the task faster if i do it myself. so... sigh!

cherly : i think u slim enuff already, dun have to loose so much

jenjen: ya how come holiday u go clean house? poor girl. will sms u girls tomorrow afternoon. Its 6:45 to 7 p.m at the concierge.

canfused: no problem, will give u our feedback after our session tomorrow.

Bluechin : me also forever craving for ice cream but i am starting to cut my diet already, its 2 montsh to my date *sigh* damn stress man!.

ALL: BTW i am meeting Daniel the free emcee on thursday. any of u girls wanna come
along?
When will u all be sending out ur invites? Should i start alerting my frens of my wedding date? its a long weekend public holiday, me afraid ppl will plan for holiday at that time.

starfruit...me oso 2mths!! heheee getting more and more excited!
remember to bring yr hubby along when u meet up wif Daniel, he got mani ideas and yr hubby can help u remember

i haven't even done wif the design of my card, but most of my frends already know coz i been reminding them for 1yr...
it will be nice to alert them, but if frends are planning holiday, i feel dat they will still go for their holi unless it's yr close frends

bluechin...i told u abt the JP i am requesting hor? he now not in good health and have not been doing solemnisation...but at least i tried

i confirmed my JP liao, a guy who's the 1st to start solemnising outside ROm 8yrs ago, he's quite jovial, tink we'll have fun wif the ceremony!

Hi jas,

R u getting the whole cake from prima deli? I think they hv 2 category, normal marble/butter cake or walnut/fruit cake (more exp). Think I’ll get the marble cake. They’ll b giving me 15% disc. Did u ask for disc?

No lah, 2 weeks b4 is the norm I think, but I m a vry disorganize person so if can, hope to do things earlier. Hehe u also hvnt start sending yr invites? All my friends where so shocked when they found out I’v not sent out invites…they make me so panicky. Did u call yr guest to confirm if they can make it prior to sending out the invite?

Aiyo I vry stress coz I think I m running out of time!! Can u share with me what else I need to do. Thanks so much….hee u sound so cool n steady!!

Hi Crayon2512,

i oso have not pack my angbao yet, will be doing it after 7th mth, maybe next wk. i dun think i m going to give any angbao for elders as i was not told by anybody, instead they are going to give angbao to me.

Well, thedevil, me not so cool as wat u tink lah. i oso quite stressed as most of the tinks i have to prepare myself. FH is always saying up to u lah, &amp; will accept wat ever decisions and plans tat i made lor. So everytink i have to handle myself. Anyway, my invites is all ready for distribution. Will start posting invites tis Sat, will be sending out invites to colleagues &amp; friends personally next wk, target to finish everytink by next wk. After tat, got to RSVP...

For me, i might be getting the Walnut cake, as i find its more popular &amp; tasty. Got to facial too, collect air tickets/vouchers, try bridal gown again, GUODALI, reconfirm venue wif makeup artist/photographer..... &amp; to pack for honeymoon tingee if u r flying off soon (me is next day, so have to pack lor), actually quite rush.... But most important thing tat i pray is tat everyting will run smoothly

Jowie: Ya damn stress found out today that 3 of my guest going for holiday, lucky i found out early can still have reserve list. but also found that i have been unable to contact a few of my frens lots touch with them almost.. so now panic like hell to get int ouch with them. U better hurry with the cards cos u should send it out like 1 month before, dun do it too late cos ur guest will give excuse of not turning up cos they did not receive ur card.

Cherly &amp; Starfruit,
I've no plans for diet....
Just worried about the mooncakes. Like i said i gained 6kg last year from eating mooncakes. See how.....!

i still have two months plus....

Starfruit,
why dun u give them a verbal invitation first..... that's wat i do.....Can't make it to join u this Thursday.

Jowie,
Happie for ya that u r going to have a fun solemnisation.....That will be so memorable......

starfruit...wah those people give excuses then they better dun come

actually i onli invite beri close frends, collleagues and relatives so dat i can have a small and cosy affair, and time to mingle wif the guests, me onli 15 tables, wifout FH relatives(all in msia)...
but me also kan jiong to confirm no. of guests coz mine is buffet, charge by headcount, hv to let Mm know 1 week earlier the confirm attendance...if kena sabo then i lugi liao

Starfruit,

I agreed with bluechin, maybe u can give verbal invitation first by then hor when pple wants to go for holiday, they also won't bother abt the wedding dinner one, as long as they "Tom Pang" the ang bao, they won't care unless is very close friends.

Think u must be having a very difficult time to arrange for table seating.

Initially, my wedding date is on 3 Nov but then we know one hubby's friends also getting married on the same day so we quickly change the date. Becos will be very difficult to expect which friends will attend ours and which will attend theirs.

Starfruit,

I agree with bluechin, give a verbal invitaion 1st and early especially those that you want them to turn up (e.g close friends etc).
SMS or email can do too.....

So far I've already got a few confirmation on coming for dinner even before my card is printed.
Coz I also surveying how many vegetarian there is.

Irene

hi girls :

ya thats what i am doing now, verbal invite and informal invite through email which also give me the opportunity to ask them for their address. i have to do it early cos ppl usually plan for their long weekend holiday 2 months before hand.
will only formally send the invite out like 3 weeks later.

cherly : good that u changed ur date, its really diff to make ur frens to amke the choice to decide who's wedding to attend. it ever happened to me and i ended up running to both side. *sigh* so tiring.

Yalor and my hubby would not like to make difficulties for his friends to make decision which one to attend. Whoever they attend also not nice, probably will attend half dinner here and there.

If 2 hotels next to it then never mind but ours is concord and his friend one is Excelcior hotel. A bit problem.

Oh Jas, did you scan your photos? Would be great if you can share with us.

Me oso Guo Da Li on 21/9 and wedding 5/10. May I know who you all using for actual day photography? Is it from your bridal shop?

Hi Blossom,

Understand how you feel, being bogged down by so much work. Anyway, don't feel so stressed and try to relax abit. Take deep breaths, it helps alot. Have to agree the seating arrangements is a difficult part to tackle. Well, at least better than me lah, haven't even send out my invitations! I have a long list of "To Do". Sigh... can't imagine what will happen for me. Hey, did you book a caterer for your lunch. Any recommendations?

Hi Bleuz,

Since you are the first among us to have a wedding, here's me wishing you a big CONGRATULATIONS! Hope you enjoy your day.

Hi thedevil,

mine guodali is same as yrs .... 10th Sep ... not yet placed order 4 cakes as well .... but luckily mum did not ask much(guess less than 20 boxes)...

Happy preparations and stay pretty!!!

Hi! Blossom,
your boss very 'buay-zi-dong' leh.. pple getting married soon still give so much stress.. I guess your boss mus be unmarried ?...
I more jia lat u know.. of all the mths auditor dun come.. purposely choose sept to come and do audit.. My boss told me this news &amp; ask me to get ready this lah..that lah.. i was so unhappy tat i told him off.. In a midst of anger i pass a remark "i dun wanto work liao.." But later while discussing work in his room.. he sound so "understanding" ..keep tellin me if u can't finish can always ask temp for help.. lah.. Else close our books earlier lah.. Aiyah.. all bullshit one lah.. Ultimately still got so much work to do..

I'm jus trying to priortise my work and hopefully can clear as much as possible b4 i go on leave..
As for your add'l report your boss ask u to do.. mayb u stay back late for one evening to complete lor.. then try your best to get a 1/2day leave lah.. U inviting your boss as well?

Wah.. u going honey moon straight after your wedding day ah.. like tat rather rush u know..
I ever read an article which advise couple to lapse one week b4 going honeymoon else would be very rush b4 and after wedding day..
So get yourself prepared now and pack nicely.. so tat u won't have last min items 4gotten to take..
Anyway, NewZea dun need bring so much belongings there cos u would be travelling from plc to plc every alternate day.. rather inconvenient..

Pinkapple,

I have not practised my march-in yet. I think some of them suggest me to do it on the actual day. If we are gonna practice, it'll prob be on the venue itself but dunno is it necessary leh..it's just walking in right? I'm not sure.

Hi gemi,

thks, can u fax a sample of ur chinese invitation cards to me? my fax no. is 64895639, but please fax it to me tonite aro 9 PM can? cos i only can go home at nite to turn on my fax machine.

Ur package sounds good, actually me abit regret to spend so much on photographs.

hi jellybeans,
thks! im taking deep breaths everyday to ensure i dun flare up at ppl to vent my frustrations. another method is to come into forum to post a short msg. at least take some breaks... not so stressed.

my mom got a restuarant fren to help in the catering. the restaurant is just in the neighbourhood, so quite convenient. but haha... i dun dare to recommend la becos the food so-so only.

hi loreal,
haha... u r wrong! my boss is happily married with 4 children. he din tell me to do the assignment directly, just drop me an email... after that i went to a meeting and he reminded me again. he said just give a draft will do. ok loh... very easy lah....

hey, u really very garun leh.
8523.gif
scold ur boss ahh???!!! how can??? i would never dare to do it. u know i just join the company, haven't pass probation yet. and my boss is the ceo, anytime can chop me wan.
now very hard to get job leh.

yup, im inviting him to my wedding. nah nah...
dun think it's possible to go on halfday, my staff got a lot of reports to complete and i must review them before i go la. they will probably complete it on friday.

i have to rush my honeymoon becos i dun have so much leave and my boss will never approve to let me go for so long. yup, i have already started packing and will do a thorough check this weekend.
8524.gif

Hi Pinky,

I'll try to fax over, hopefully my old fax machine at home still works. I'll fax over a sample copy I got from one of the printers.

yah... very quiet think perhaps becos angelia's not around to yak yak with us.....

How about starting another topic to discuss today......

Anyone doing/having ang bao box?

Seems like most of us had got our stuff ready...got a question to ask..how many hairstyles do we get from the makeup artist during the dinner? one or two? there are 2 march in...so not sure if we had to make our hair by ourselves..
As for the cakes, is the plain walnut whole cake common or should i get the fruit tarts type shown on choz webiste?

Starfruit,

I think I will call them to confirm their attendance 2 weeks b4 my wedding date. Will send them the invitation 3 weeks b4 wedding, but not sure whether will it be too late.