(2002) Brides of year 2002

bluechin...yalor nice chatting wif u, i online almost every nite, juz come online find me if u bored hehee but sometimes i forgot to on icq...

angelia...why not tell them both of u bday heheee they dun check IC wat, mayb they will give u a whole cheesecake! last time we onli got a slice

for me is <FONT COLOR="0000ff">45.5 days more...</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">All</FONT> : have u all bought and sorted out ur GUo Da LI stuff and the cakes for ur relatives?

where r u all ordering the cakes from?

Hi Micky and Val,

I intend to go to Australia (Melbourne, Sydney &amp; Brisbane) because i feel that there's more things to see than New Zealand.. dunno why, but NZ gave me the kind of feeling like it is always scenery and farms :p

My colleague went to the Chan Bro's travel fair last mth and he told me tt it cost nearly $3 k each to go to NZ during Dec. The off-peak period for NZ only starts from 14th of Jan but it also wud cost ard $2.6k (i think). Thus he has changed his mind and decided to go to Africa (cape town etc) for his honeymoon . Me too, i also changed my mind after hearing the price... Australia wud be cheaper and within my budget

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jen,</FONT>
ur Guo-Da-Li list... ur separeated the stuff into 2 days (Guo-Da-Li &amp; Wedding Day). but i think my mum told me the towels &amp; such for SILs, BILs, will be delivered on the guo-da-li day leh..

oh, and what is "Qi Guo" under the "packet of 6 necessary items".

then hor, the red packets for Groom's immediate family on Wedding Day.. what's it for?

Angelia, acherly I dunno leh... my mum tell me wat, I just write down wat lor... my dad say he know wat are the 6 items... so he will get... the red packets are actually for those things (towels &amp; such for SIL/BIL) I bracket beside it... but for simplicity, we give angpow instead...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jen,</FONT>
o i c.. so instead of buying towels &amp; such, u gave angpow lah.. hehehe.. i tot gave towels &amp; such liao still need ang pow.. *blur*

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">btw, anyone knows if we need any special items for "shu tou" on wedding day early morning? (i.e. "shi liu" leave &amp; a red flower??)
any "special" procedures we need to take note of??</FONT>

Hi hi!

Talking about Guo Da Li, do we prepare or do our parents prepare the stuff?

Abt the towels, can we do without it? What is for anyway?

angelia...will yr hubby have the hair combing session at his place? i was told by an auntie at chinatown shop dat if groom dun have, then bride also no need...follow the groom procedure
my FH and yr hubby same from msia, i tink they dun have so much customs to follow as compared to singaporeans
if u are having the hair comb session, muz get an elderly person wif good life to do it for u, not necessary yr mom

Dear all, pardon me for barging in... Just want to say Choz cakes are pretty tasty. Alas! cannot keep long coz they dun use preservative.

Angelia, for my "shu tou", it was done by my dad... coz my mum busy trying to take pictures of us... Hahaha, so funny then, both of us gotta freeze for her coz a little clumsy in early morning.

cynthia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jowie,</FONT>
since i s'porean &amp; getting married in s'pore, so will get hubby to go the hair combing as well.. will be getting my mum to do for me.. for him, will ask his sister.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">apple,</FONT>
if u dun wanna give towels, replace it with ang pow lor. not much, juz $18 per person will do lor.

dunno what it's for, but when my brother's fren got married, he oso got give.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">cynthia,</FONT>
hahaha.. so funny (i imagining u &amp; dad gotta "freeze")

so u juz used a comb &amp; comb 3x? got say anything auspicious anot? got use those "shi liu" leaf or not..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">cynthia,</FONT>
forgot to add.. <FONT COLOR="ff0000">u'r very welcome to contribute here.. can help us a lot since u've been thru it..
</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Apple</FONT>...all the towels, toothbrush, toothpaste, potty, basin, bedroom slippers, needles and pin etc are prepared by the bride's side as <FONT COLOR="0000ff">Jia Zhuang</FONT> to bring to the groom's family, something like to accompany the bride when marrying to the groom lor
the groom's family is to prepare <FONT COLOR="0000ff">Ping Li</FONT> like those hard liquor, dowry, pig trotters and oranges etc. for GUO DA LI....someting like paying "deposit" hehee

i tink doesn't matter who prepare, but groom and bride are to get the tings ready separately

Jowie

Potty? Who uses potty now? When my bro got married, my SIL's mother also gave her a potty. Now, it's sitting there looking really out of place. Can I just get my dad to give me a toilet seat cover? More use.

Dad didn't tell me what to get. So I assume he will get all these things ready. Hopefully.

Apple...hahaa u so funni!
if all the things we buy for Guo Da Li will be useful to us in the future, i guess everyone will not mind getting them! hehee

it's juz a custom to follow lor, anyway i bot a small potty and a basin...my FH get a red color tray to put those oranges, not buying the big basket...no place to put in future...

hi all,,

if we get the potty etc, wen do we bring it over?
on the guo da li day or on the actual wedding day?

Also, I'm so scared whether I've miss out anything.

Irene

Yeh.
Maybe like what Angelia said, I should probably get a small one for my kid next time.

Anyway, I'll just leave it to my dad. When I asked him the other day, he claims he doesn't know anything abt the stuff to get. Aiyah, doesn't matter to me lah. No potty, won't die.

dance40
Not sure about timing, don't recall seeing my SIL come in with a potty &amp; the rest of the stuff. Perhaps a few days b4 e wedding.

Yah time waits for no man.....

it's either less than 2 mths or two months or so for all of us.....

Our parents r meeting this weekend after which will i know the details of Guo Da Li....

i remember my MIL mentioned that the day An Chuang will be the day for Jia Zhuang. not sure whether it's the smae of everyone here.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin,</FONT>
hehehehe... thx for helping me countdown...

i so tempted to order the hot choc cake.. but wait i put on weight how?!!!

angelia,
u skinny already lah..... still can eat....
me been eating creamy spagetti lately and not to mention the sinful mooncakes and ice cream plus chocolates everyday.

Later u meet me at the next outing cannot recognise me ah.

aiya, i oready put on weght liao leh.. from 43 - 47kg.. still put on ah?! later need to alter my gown again!! hiaz...

u skinny lah.. even my ex-colleagues said i put on weight.. only 1 yr nvr see leh..

angelia,
u slim leh.... okok....

just eat the nice nice hot choc cake today.... tomolo diet ok....

i'll remind u to diet.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">1 more HOUR</FONT>

ya lor.. <FONT COLOR="ff0000">1 more hour to go........</FONT>

my diet always start tmr.. die lah..

Me too...
I also put on weight like never before. Dunno whether is it due to age. My face is getting so round and showing double chin.
Really can't get used to this look. Used to be so skinny, everyone tells me to eat more...

Anyone has a good &amp; effective way of dieting?

Apple - eat apple for breakfast,
those japanese Fuji apple

Lunch - eat Bee Hoon soup or Yong Tau Foo
soup or rice with fish soup or porridge
or sandwich

Dinner - vegetable soup &amp; mix-fruits

also exercise like angelia say...it will help

Countdown is 5.27pm yeah!!!

cannot drink too much soup.... cos the soup got oil/fats.. if drink too much, still taking in a lot of fats leh...

bee hoon is okie.. no yellow noodles, and if possible, cut down on rice.. hehehe...

i going off liao.......... guess i'll take the hot choc cake...

Hi Angelia, was away for meeting, so can only reply you now.

Yes, my dad only used a comb to "act combing" 3 times while saying those auspicious phrases...

Enjoy your dinner tonight!

cynthia

Hi aclim &amp; Micky,

Yup my fren told me NZ is quite boring which is why I change my mind abt NZ.

u mean the off-peak starts from 14 Jan 02 onwards? Huh tat means we'll lugi hor? Dunno whether this applies to all travel agency. But Chan Bro package tend to be more ex right? Maybe you can ask ard other agencies...Btw, are you aware roughly how much does the Australia package costs?

hi aileen,
yep, my dinner will be from Wah Lok cantonese restaurant. The food tasting wasn't that satisfactory, so I hope the actual dinner will be better *fingers crossed*

My dinner in M'sia will be 1 wk after S'pore, to a crowd of abt 10 tables. Like u, I wished it to be just a small, peaceful dinner... but then the elders don't think so leh. Hope u don't face the same situation

angelia
how was dinner?? u tried the choc cake?

jojo,
saw a white ldn cab used as a wedding car this morning.. very nice.. look very classy.. deco with a nice medium size bouquet in front..

someone went for her trial makeup right? (yest'd or is it today?.. )

Hi Yukic

Yeah, i am thinking of only at most 2-3 tables, but am sure my folks, given the chance, will end up with more! Dunno where to have my dinner in KL though, looking for a decent restaurant cos don want anor hotel "do" again. any lubang?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">gals,</FONT>
wah, u sll so "gan-cheong" ah?! okie, okie...

<FONT COLOR="119911">the hot choc cake is simply heaven!! thx <FONT COLOR="ff6000">jowie</FONT> for get me to "die die oso must try". no regrets!!

we were startled when one of the waiters put a trolley of samples &amp; started explaining... hehe.. but i caught him saying something like "show u the menu card later" so i kind of "switched off" &amp; not listening hard to catch his "slang".. poor hubby was sitting upright fearing he'll miss out anything.. after that, when we were given the menu card, he sure was relieved!! hahaha....

we had the prime cut, share by 2 of us. also a lobster bisque (shared by both), spinach with sauteed mushroom, layonise potatoes (onions with potatoes). the food are all so nice.. esp the onions.. i dun like to eat onions, but guess i took quite a lot last nite

the prime cut is really juicy!! had a hard time trying to finish all the food.. so we waited for the 2nd choc cake (additional 30mins) so that we can "rest" for a while.

same as <FONT COLOR="ff6000">jowie,</FONT> the staff sang hubby a bday song, with a complimentary cheesecake, which we "takeaway" together with the bread.. kekeke...

our total bill came up to be $222.38 cos we had a glass of merlot each.. kekeke...

dun mind going there again, but last nite both of us a bit unused to such high class place.. this is the 1st time we been to such a nice place with such service &amp; we not sure what to do.. worried we embarassed ourselves!!

</FONT>

wah the forum so active... mine wedding same as jas, emmie n tomyam if i m not wrong on oct 5. i feel vry normal now...i tot we r suppose to feel diff? i keep thinking there's lots i hvnt done, but i seem like vry free now....do u all hv this kind of feelings?

so good tt all of u hv decided where to go for honeymoon...can u believe it, we hvnt decided, therefore hv not booked any tour yet!!

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">btw, the hot choc cake is made from Godiva choc... no wonder it's soooooooooooo heaven-licious!!!!!</FONT>

my wedding on 17th oct and i am feeling very stressed!!!

my wedding on weekday so stress that the wedding dinner attendanace will not be good.

and hor, whenever i think of my approaching wedding, my heart will go thump thump fast fast leh...fell very nervous....something which i didn't feel when i ROM..hehe

think the actual wedding day will be more exciting and nervous than ROM

by the way, i have already book my honeymoon trip will be flying off on 31st oct