(2002) Brides of year 2002

I dun think the world cup is a problem cos it over many areas in Japan and Korea.

As for me, I just booked my ticket to Japan for honeymoon, and me departing 4 Jun 02. Very KS right, but just worry that I may not get my seats due to world cup too.
Accomodation not a problem cos putting up in friend's place in Tokyo and will be travelling to Nagasaki where no matches are held there!

BTW, CK, my wedding is on the same day as u!

Will be on course on Wed and Thurs, and on leave Friday. Won't be able to do any postings during this period ;(

Chat with you gals again next Monday. Take care and have a good week!

Och & Kat22... maybe I am too fussy... went to Robinsons @ Raffles City.. saw a couple of strappy silverish sandles but not comfy leh....then went to Tangs... the ground level saw a really comfy pair of shoes that is ivory in colour and it's suitable for the day... but not sure if it matches with my off white WG and if I get it... I will have to get another pair for the EG as well.. I really like that pair of ivory shoes. Oh och.. Tangs got a better range of silver strappy shoes at the ladies dept level... going to Taka tomorrow... if after that...nothing suitable... I am going to custom-made...

u should go and try lots of other gowns... find one that u like the feel and look and ur hubby say nice... then narrow down ur search lor...

Hi cynthia,

My photoshoot is in the 1st wk. of March... quite panic now, dunno wat else I need to prepare...

Hi CK,

How long do u plan to stay in Italy? I oso dunno how much to budget... and i certainly hope $5k will b enuff for 2 as well, anyone can advise?

btw, u gals going to the NATAS travel fair this weekend?

Hi, LMF
yup, we definitely won't forget u

Hi, Sheep
yep, do go for at least a short one to unwind n enjoy that newly wed feeling

Me not hving bridesmaid...only jie mei...hw when i was bridemaid to my best pal, she paid for my dress. u planning to hv a few bridesmaids??

Hi, Chemson
Dun worry...take ur time
normally dat's what happen to me...i usually find it hard to get something when i shop for it specifically...hope u find something u like at Taka tom
maybe u might like to try seiyu at bugis or even metro as well...

hi gals!
LMF, have a great trip!! wah! i'm so envious that ur fmly alwys travels together!

and btw, i am the slowest one! i only juz confirmed with feline! so, no talk abt 1st or 0th fitting! hehe...

kat22 and the rest: wah! i think u all are so loaded! have so much budget for bed! and thanks for the knot.com thing! (thanks chemson too!) was really useful!

lmf, i didn't even know got natas fair! i may go myself!

honeymoon i am thinking of skiing in december...but also think we shld go for a 2-3 day breather after the weddding itself! they say the feeling is different if u wait so longbefore going for ur honeymoon..heard someone say it's better to go for one immediately after the wedding, no matter how short....

sheep, can even try those islands like rawa island, etc...

i'm not sure if i will be having a bridesmaid, but since my sis will prob. be the one, i asked my sis to chip in a bit..! :-P

take care gals!

Hi Hazel,

For the photoshoot, have you gotten your shoes? Perhaps any accessories of your own that you wish to wear for the shoot... Any soft toys or things of sentimental value to the both of you that you wish to capture in the photos... for the guy, would be his shoes, matching socks, matching shirts etc...

If you had already prepared the things to bring, then you just relax, sleep early and be meimei. Remember to go for a radiance facial a few days before. Heard that it really works.

I will be going to NATAS travel fair this Friday. Taken leave just for that, coz many says it will be very crowded. But also going to BTA in the morning to collect brochures for Europe and UK.

3312.gif
cynthia

Hi Cynthia, Hazel, CK & all June02 Brides,

Dun mind if I join in your discussions.... Like all of you, my wedding will be in June 2002. Have not gone for the photo taking, guest list not out...and kinda lost of things to do for the wedding?????plus the worldcup fever...

btw Hazel, i have been to Contiki tour two years back..quite a good experience. u get to mix with people from different countries and the tour is quite well organised. I booked my tour with KenAir and get them to book my pre and post tour accomodation. I went to London a few days before the contiki tour start(for your info, contiki only caters for the land tour), exploring london, went to musical, visit bridges. etc... after the contiki tour, i stay in Paris...visit the Lourve and did lots of shopping on branded stuff like LV handbags...u can get some discount with coniki if u book with them early...and I think June is a good time to visit Europe although u will miss the tulips in Holland however u get longer daylight...
Will defnitely go to Natas Fair this Friday....u too must keep a look out...I have got an additional $50 discount when I book my contiki tour 2 years back during the nata fair at Suntec.

okay. wish that all June 2002 brides will have a good time. It's a once in a lifetime big event.

I'm also a Dec bride My wedding is on 28 Dec 2002. Heard from some of you that this might not be an auspicious date but my hubby and I dun really care cos we are Christians. Lucky for us, both our parents dun really mind too.

I have booked my dinner with Merchants Court.

Currently, I'm busy looking into magazine for gowns design. I have booked with Flamingo after recommandations from friends.

How abt the rest of the Dec brides??

Hi Gerry,

Welcome ! 28th Dec is a saturday right?
Two of my frens are getting married on this date too.

So are u going to have a church wedding ceremony?
If yes where? Merchant Court Hotel is a great choice, the food is yummy!!!!

To all Dec brides,

Are u worried abt the weather in Dec? Rainy season.....

Nicole

Hey Septembergal and the rest,

Those looking for ideas for gowns:
try www.theknot.com
and www.weddingchannel.com (you can give sketches of what you have in mind and they will show the gowns available according to your specifications)

I am not having bridesmaids.. probably a few sisters.. getting bridesmaids.. mean having to pay for their dress.. gotta cut cost... unless you are having your wedding at church.. maybe 1 bridesmaid will do.

Sheep, me too! No bridesmaid but few "ah yees". I think there's no need to subsidise for their dresses.

Och, can't wait for that day to take a look at Yunnan.

Chemson, how i wish to dicuss the bridal shoes with you gals in the forum. Too bad, i didn't even confirmed the gown colour, so cannot shop for shoes now. That's why i divert the attention to honeymoon.

Kat22, will keep you update after i come back.

Septembergal, do go to the natas fair. i think we will all gain a lot of information over there.

Hi Kat22, Septembergal, Chemson,
We have to pay for bridesmaids' dresses but not jie-meis? Aha! I'll change my bridesmaids to jie mei then... hehehe
Can save some money. Don't have many close friends so only 2 to 3 jie mei...

Good Morning, ladies
3317.gif

First of all, WELCOME passion to this thread. Can you give us a short introduction of yourself? Like which date in June is your BIG day, which bridal shop you have engaged, where are you having your banquet...

Well, I think for us (June brides), it's time to start doing something liao... Better go and arrange for your photoshoot, unless your bridal shop can guaranteed perfect delivery before your wedding date. start thinking about the guest list and who is to be your helpers plus the actual day programme. Lots of things to kickstart the countdown.

How many days were you in Europe? For me, we can spend at most 10~12 days (inclusive of air-time). Read that it is very hectic if we signed up for pacakged tours to Europe. They would try to cover lots of places within short span of time. Is that true? For both of us, we rather spend more days at lesser places. Anyway, will definitely be visiting NATAS for any good deal this Friday. btw, NATAS starts from 12 noon on Friday, izit??

Hi Hazel,
Forgotten to mention tie for your man... Must bring, although those bridal shops should have some available there too.

Hi CK,
My photoshoot is the earliest among us three (me, u and hazel). It's just 3 weeks later. Me KS lah... afraid that bridal shop cannot get my album ready in time, since June is quite a peak period for getting married.

We budgetted 6K for 2 person (minimal shopping), coz accomodation in Europe/UK is expensive when converted back to Sing Dollars.

btw ladies, me very worried about BritRail leh... originally was thinking of moving around Scotland by rail, but was afraid that trains may not be running. Presently, the schedule has been re-scheduled coz of drivers' strike (read from their official website). Besides, think the usage of the rails in Northern Scotland is pretty under-utilized. Aiyah... headache ah!

cynthia

Hi Angelia,
actually I think they allow you to extend longer than the deadline that they set.
My fren's sis actually wrote in twice and managed to defer showing her wedding cert to HDB until her wedding about close to 1 year later.
Anyways, will try that out.
My new flat is in Punggol 21.
Received the keys about 2 weeks ago.
But, we will probably not start reno so early - we are only moving in after our wedding in Nov.

Hey sheep & LMF,

Yar lor... having jiemeis is a good idea.... if you like to make it more unique..maybe all jiemeis can go for a colour theme and wear the same colours....

Me.. gonna take time looking and still no suitable shoes... may have to custom-made my shoes...

halo Nicole Lee,

im worried abt the weather too but wat to do, juz pray hard n if it does rain, take it as showers of blessing lor

halo Gerry,

actually i wanted my weddin to be on 28 oso becos it's my bday
but our parents wan us to be married on an auspicious date so wat to do? take the next best alternative which is boxing day lor

im plannin to hold my dinner at century roxy n took my bridal package with everbliss

hi..hi,

im a Novbride too!!!
Its on 19 Nov 2002 but too bad its on a weekday ( Tuesday ) coz being chosen by a shifu using our " ba zhi " Anyone on the same day with me??? Shifu said i must leave my house at 6.30AM ah! MUST get up early to make-up liao.

hey, im a Paris bride too, but yet to meet up with them after paying deposit. planning to make appointment with them soon, hope everything goes well coz heard too much NEGATIVE comments abt them liao, now scare scare

Have u all chosen your design for your gown? I got mtm WG & EG, now tinking of design, can give some suggestion? ( im bery skinny )

as for banquet, i did went down to Qianxi restaurant, their pacakge bery attractive, got free flow of hard liquor somemore but i find their restaurant shape bery odd leh so im tinking of booking with Miramar Hotel - Orient Ocean Restaurant, quite a good deal too & the stage look beter & bigger

hi chemson,

finding a pair of shoes that's nice n comfy can be quite difficult. that's why i keep putting off the purchase despite walking thru orchard twice.
i hv seen the ivory shoes. i actually prefer those, cos i think they look better with wedding gowns, n tangs is the only place that sells such shoes with 3 inch heels. but if i get those, then i hv to buy another pair for the evening. decisions, decisions.

good luck at taka this evening.

bumblebee,
r u joining us? dun think i've receive a reply from u leh. can mail me ur reply?

angeline,
u wanna join us on 8 Feb for gathering? do drop me a mail with your ROM date, contact(mobile) no. can? so that i update the list and send u a copy later on.

Hey och,

I agree with you.. I really like the ivory pair at Tangs (ground floor) but like you.... this means I will have to get another pair for the evening.. which will cost $$ ... so no point lor....

Thanks... update me as well... on any lobangs...

Hello Nicole & Eunice,

I am also quite worried about the weather in Dec. One of my friend held her wedding this year on the 29th and if your remember, the week before 29th..singapore was raining heavily everyday. I was kinda worried for her then and now, for myself. Bu what to do? We all want to hold our wedding during the festive season so that we can 'make use' of the relax and happy mood....heehee.....

Nicole - Actually, we are kinda lucky to be able to get merchant court. Before us, there was another couple who was interested and was like on the tentatively booking list. But then, we wana comfirm so I guess they gave up to us lor....After booking then we found out from the SB that the food there is good.....God blessing indeed. And yes, I will be having a church wedding to be held at Paya Lebar Methodist Church.
By the way, which bridal boutique you sign up with and where are you holding your banquet?

So Nicole and Eunice, are your having a church wedding too? Think I might need advice from your if your are also having church wedding. We can then share notes right?

Eunice - You sign up with Everbliss? Are you using their ORT package or MTM? Who is yoru co-ordinator? I also have a friend who signed up with them too.

halo Gerry,

no church weddin for me

my salesperson is Patricia. my package is the $2988nett which includes one MTM gown. my wedding gown would be OTR n i oredi found the one i like. so i'll be having my EG mtm instead
is ur fren gettin married in dec too?

my good fren oso got her bridal package from flamingo. some of shirley's wedding gowns r very nice. i think her gowns r more towards the simple kind with sewn on crystals. ive looked thru' her wedding gowns but they seem almost alike to me, just variations on colour, neckline n positions of crystals. r u having ur wg mtm? im intri

Hi Eunice,

Great that you have confirmed your date and venue and boutique. Now we can relax a bit. For me, things will only start happening in Mar. Actually I have made a tentative booking for a gown, but come Mar, I will go down to take a look to see if there is new selection. I only need to confirm my gown in July. My photoshoot in on 1 Oct. Now, basically just need to diet and finish up the furnishing in my new house.

Hi cynthia,

Thanks for the advices... veri helpful....btw, do we need to bring any emergency kit like facial blotters, safety pin etc. ? like veri kiasu leh...

------------
wow... u all going NATAS on friday... can update me after u've visited... so i can decide whether it's worthwhile to go... reason: my 1st fit is on this Sat... so not much time left during the weekends to run my errands and do hsewk... hahah... but all these discussion on Europe is making me wanna go Europe more ;P

Hi Hazel,

I heard from another bride who already had her photoshoot... she recommended bring tissue papers along. Anyway, she left all her other barand barang back at the bridal shop lockers when they went out for outdoor shoot.

well, prevention better than cure... wouldn't hurt to bring along an emergency kit, right?

cynthia

Hi Eunice,

My friend's wedding is in March. Anyway, glad that you have found a gown that you like. My friend had hers MTM and she had a big fight with the sale person. If I am not wrong she liais with Patricia too.

I went down to Everbliss before and din quite like that way they try to hard sell their package to me so din sign up with them. Besides, they like not willing to show me their gowns lor. BUt well, gald that thigns goes well for you. How is your gown like? With embroidery or crystals?

YOu mentioned that you found Flamingo's gowns are similar. Well, they are indeed in a sense. But I like Shirley's embroidery work. My WG is currently ORT but I can also upgrade to MTM if I like lor. Maybe you can share with me your WG design to give me more idea? Have you decided on your EG design too? My EG will be MTM but till now, I have no idea how I want it to be.....very stressed.

Hi och,

Not much luck at Taka.. maybe I am too fussy.. the variety is wider... would suggest you visit Taka....
I have till at least Feb to decide whether to tailor made a pair...

hey all,
whoa .. u all very quick ... hard for me to catch up with conversations here cos sometimes take hardly take a breather in the office!
got to scroll up & down now to answer .. hee..

cynthia - whao .. your wedding shoot so early? dun make me panic .. mine is mid mar!
and $6K for 2 persons in europe is ok?? mm....
hopefully so .. cos i have been spending so much on the wedding already! always think this is impt, tat is impt .. sigh ...

hazel - hoping to stay abt 15 days at least in italy... how? anyone any advice if should go switerland after milan since so near??
hopefully can make time to go to NATAS this weekend ... do u girls think it is too early to book for jun??

hwee - putting up at a fren's place during honeymoon?? not so nice right ...heee...

linda - so have u got your actual day photographer? me same prob as u.. 2 days .. 1st day church wedding, 2nd day dinner ...so to cut cost & minimise the pain of having to find a photographer ONLY NOW who is free on both days, i have decided to get one just for 1st day .. cos church ceremony & tea ceremony at home more impt to me .. dinner will just ask frens to shoot lots & lots lah .. can't go that wrong ... both BF & I dun really fancy the table to table thing anyway so trying to see how we can avoid tat ..hee..
Let me know who u got??? i also having headache getting one ... anyone any good recomm who is not so ex??

hey u girls make me worried abt my wedding cos mine is 1st jun yet i think most of my things not done!haven even gone for trial yet ... dun know how my make up will turn out ..

halo Gerry,

from my experience with EB, it's true tat they do hard sell but other than that, im pretty happy with their service. why did ur fren quarrel with Patricia leh? yeah, EB doesnt really encourage browsing of their gowns. in fact, i didnt even get a chance to look at their gowns when i placed the deposit. my wg is an off-shoulder a-line ivory gown with embroidery at the neckline, waist, hem n train. click here to view the gown
ive more or less decided on my EG design. im thinking of having a halter neckline with a plunging back. hehehe... must lose a lot of weight to carry it off.

how abt telling more abt ur figure n then i can suggest some ideas?

Hi Eunice,

Wow...your gown lok great....You must look really pretty in it. As for EG, what colour are you looking at?

Well, as for my figure...hmmm...I am quite short, standing at about 1.56m tall and weighs only 40kg. So, I am really small size....petite to be exact. I have a short neck, so I cannot wear a hlater neck. Want a low back cut for my gown too..

Hi Gerry,

My dinner is at The Fullerton, church wedding at Chijmes and I signed up with BV.

I'm glad that u managed to secure MCH.

Wow u are really slim, at 40k only....

Hi Eunice,

Wow u are very fast leh, even got yr WG design settled. I'm so impressed. Its a pretty gowm, I am sure u'll look good in it. WHats the material of the gown?

Hi gemi,

Where is yr new place?

Nicole

hi chemson,

how long does it take to tailor a pair? i hv an overseas posting in a few mths time, was hoping to shop for nice shoes overseas.

Hi och,

To tailor a pair.. it takes about a month. But you want an express service... they do charge extra. Thinking of using satin or silk type of material for the shoes... to make it more comfy ! For me... just want to make it in time for my fittings...

Hi CK,

no lah... my friend's place is vacant cos he's will be back at S'pore to attend our wedding and will only return to Tokyo later than us.

For actual day photograoher, U can asked ur bridal boutique whether they got "lobang". I also recently saw a actual day package offered by O-Studio, and u may want to check with them.

hi JenJen,

how's your preparation? settle most of the main things oredi? im going down to Miramar hotel on this sat to confirm my package. Anything which i need to take note, can tell me?

thanks in advance

Hi Nicole,

I'm now staying at Woodlands. A big change for me cos I have been living in Jurong all this while. For my hubby, worse. Cos he lives in quite a central district, Telok Blangah. Moving to Woodlands is quite a big change for him, esp the journey to work. From Telok Blangah, he takes 10 mins. From Woodlands, 45 mins at least I think, if traffic is smooth.

hi Nicole,

Din mean to sound like I am complaining about my new place. Both of us like my new place, and it's a fresh change. Personally, I dun mind living in a suburb area. Used to travelling long distance. Staying in Jurong or Woodlands is the same, in terms of travelling time to work. The fun part about having a new house is sourcing for ideas and decorating the house. We didn't engage any designer, so got to do everything ourselves. But it was fun.

hi dec brides,

michele here...I am too a dec bride ;-)
My wedding will be on the 15th dec,
at Conrad. Booked the dinner 1.5 yr
ago,even then most of the dates in
dec are taken. Got a bit upset at first,
but what to do...lucky..still managed to
book a day for that month.Really like conrad
so much that we even booked a function room
for our ROM solemisation this coming saturday 02/02/02.
I haven't booked my bridal package yet, still hestitating between silh & bridal veil....
Any comments on these 2 shops? Thanks

do check ur email... hv sent u details on the gathering on 8 Feb

those who've not reply, juz drop me an email... anytime [email protected]

for those who've furnish me with ur info, the list is on the way........
3340.gif

hi Michelle,

Welcome to the forum. Congrats on your upcoming ROM. I love Conrad too, but in the end decided not to as I have many frens getting married there too. Since you like Conrad so much, must remember to get your photographer to take more pictures for you there, like on the grand staircase.

My wedding's gonna b on 7th Dec. think one of the earliest here huh?

I wanted it to b on the 21st but my church say no wedding near Christmas...

but well... thank God that I can finally have a church weddin.

Haven't book anything else yet cos wanta settle some issues with my parents 1st.

I'm not having a dinner but a buffet lunch... choosing btw Westin n Grand Plaza Parkroyal. anyone has comments on these 2?

Hi Angelia,

juz read the email you sent. ya, will bring my rom photos to share with you gals. but i dun think my hubby will want to come along. so it will be juz me. See ya!!!