(2002) Brides of year 2002

Glad your appt went well Crayon! See, sometimes we worry too much after hearing from others... I guess different pple have different experiences, and I'm glad everything turned out fine for you.

So you will be taking a bustier gown too? me too. I will be trying on my actual gown next Thursday and I can't wait to see it! On the paper, the design looked great, on me, I hope, just as good.

When I tried on gowns for the first time, the manager offered to help me put on the gown, and as she is a lady, I wasn't shy... but OTR, their gowns dun fit us at all, so I agree with you wholeheartedly, Crayon, it is either too big or too small! It's worth considering, asking your parents along for the next appt, just make sure you dun bring too many pple because too many advises from diff pple often cause more confusion than help.

Novbride,
Glad you have finally booked a pkg! BV gowns are simply gorgeous. how much did you pay for your pkg? Care to share with us what it includes as well? So, what will your design be like?
Is Michelle going to be your designer?

So happy for you both!

Hi Chemson

The Simmons showroom i went to was at Paragon. Din really like the sales person there...so tull! if u r interested, the mattresses are oso on display at Taka B1.

H/w, if u wanna buy, can consider buying fm robinsons...although they dun hv these 2 models on display, u can still buy fm them. u will get a 5% rebate if u r robinsons card holder n robinsons has the policy where if the price falls before u take delivery, they will refund the surplus to ur robinson card.

me still looking around since i am not in a hurry...hopefully can get the felicity model at some warehouse sale at a gd price :P

Hey, where's everyone else today? so quiet....

OIC.. thanks for your help. Dun think I am getting it so soon as well.. can wait...for at least 3-4 mths till at least my renovation of the flat is almost completed
Guess everyone is quiet.. cos it's Monday ! Hahaha !

hi lollipop,

My pkg cost $4980 which includes:

MTM WG
MTM EG
OTR TEA DRESS/KUA (Rental)
MTM MAN'S SUIT
OTR MAN's SUIT (Rental)
MTM LL SHOES
FLOWERS (STD)
MAKEUP x 4 (STD)
ACCESSORIES (Rental)
STUDIO/OUTDOOR PHOTOGRAPHY - 20PCS, 1 TABLETOP (i think so)

I'm not too sure abt my design, I like bustier too but dun know if i can carry off.. And yes, Michelle will be my designer cos she's the only designer in BV, the rest are her assistants. I'm quite confident of Michelle after seeing the show, so will probably seek her advise on my WG
Her workmanship is very good and her new gowns are simple elegant and beautiful... very impressed with her show

Hazel, hope u log-on and see my thread!

Seems like most of us are getting the Bustier Gown..I am really afraid i might look fat(i got broad shoulders and fat arms)..think must hold onto the veil all day long..maybe should get them to sew onto my gown!

Now..working hard to keep me tone..but seems difficult..I have just started taking the diet tea.
Think the gown would be difficult to try on w/o the assistant's help.

chemson: simmons hv galleries in great world, paragon n imm, amongst others. they hv regular promotions where they give away freebies like bedside tables, designer phones, bed covers etc, etc, so it's good that u wait for those.

my pc crashed! i've spent a frustrating day rescuing my pc, the ordeal isn't over. wish me luck.

Novbride,

Regarding your design, you can always leave it to Michelle to decide which gown suits you best. er reputation as a designer is very good, so you can heave a big sigh of relief!

Any idea how much a pair of MTM LL shoes cost?

haha...crayon, me sama sama, broad shoulders n fat arms so also dunno if bustier is suitable for me anot...hmm..i think i look fat when u see me from the back cos my shoulders very broad!...ai..think better ask my designer

CNY is round the corner...i find it very difficult to control my diet, jus had some bah-kua, so sinful...

Hi crayon,

When you were trying the gowns at Fame, did they let you try a bustier gown as well? If the designer thinks you can carry the design, then do not worry. About the veil part, you would have to take it off at some point... what other designs did your designer suggest?

Hi och,

Thanks so much for your help. I am sleeping on a simmons mattress right now.. did not know that it is so ex .. yep.. will be watching for promotions..

Oh dear... hope you manage to rescue your pc.

Tks Novbride for the info... guess one of these days going to LL because a friend told me their shoes cost about $50, and I dun want to spend so much on a pair of shoes which I'd be wearing once. Better check with the staff there.

The thing I like about CNY? Pork Jerky also!!! But they are so heaty...

Trying hard to cut down on my food intake.... trying very hard. Sad

oops, wat world cup? wat choas in italy?? i m planning to go italy too, Hazel ..
Care to share with me further your concerns? as u can see, i veyr blur ...
u planning italy & switerland?? we too! maybe not switerland but just concentrate on italy (though i know it is VERY near!!)
how much u budgetting btw??
me should be going imeed after the wedding . which is 1st week June!

hallo gals!!
och, THANKS A ZILLION for the loads of mags!! very useful to me. will return the relevant ones to u asap too.!
chemson, when u sign up with renovation contractors hor, remmber to watch out for those hidden costs! presume u hv been to those shops in IMM / serangoon/ balestier that sell fittings?
LMF, long time no hear...u still there?
sheep, kat22, chemson, och, thanks! hv not really recovered yet, but now i take a lot of care not to eat rubbish / do funny things like drink alcohol,e tc.

cysts happen quite frequently nowadays to young folks like us! i think it's becuz our environment is so polluted...so, gals, remmber to go for those chekcups!

och, hope ur pc is ok now..

gals, waht happened to the other gals in our grp? hvnt heard from the rest like cowie / jk for some time!

Hi Ping,

Yeap I did book with Divine. 1st appointment in March, Helan said now till then must do homework. Got to look thru magazines to see what type of design I want. Looks like this CNY can't eat too much goodies otherwise can't do proper measurement in March.

Anyone else signed with Divine? I just want to find out more about their makeup artists. I actually asked Helan to book Joanne for me, but not sure if I made a wise choice cos dont know much abt her yet.

Anyone to advice??

halo gemi,

juz confirmed tat i'll be havin my weddin on 26 dec n im holdin it at century roxy
read tat ur holdin it at sheraton. it's quite a nice place. went there for my mum's cousin weddin some yrs back. couldnt really remember much of it tho'. it'll be nice to find out wat we r supposed to do as time passes by cos im one who tends to procrastinate

Hi Kat22,

My customary will be in June 2002.

I can't say which brands will fit the mattress best, but do take note of the dimension of the fitted sheets to make sure they're big enuff for the felicity... I noe Friven is not big enuff for westbury, not sure abt. felicity...

juz in case u were not told... newly-weds will get complimentary gifts from Simmons as well... the last time, I got 2 pillows and mattress protector... not sure wat they're giving now... when i bought the mattress last yr, there was a 5% discount when u pay by cash. there's interest-free instalment if u pay by UOB CC. Payment wif Citibank CC will be entitled 5% as well as int-free instalment... do check out such details before making the purchase...

btw, i recall seeing ads on simmons warehse sale at Stamford Hse, not sure how often dat is, or whether they have felicity for sale though...

Hi CK,

I would like to visit Italy, however, I read and was told dat Italy is quite a rowdy place, wif pickpockets etc... I'm juz afraid dat the world cup will b another excuse for them to create chaos... btw, the World Cup will be happening this year from 31 May to 30 Jun.

niway, have u booked your honeymoon oledy... i'm quite interested in the contiki tours, may wanna find out more abt. them... notice dat there's always discounts for grp booking... if oni we can arrange our honeymoon ard. the same period... anyone interested? ;)

Hi ckhoo,

I'm with Divine too, with Helan as designer as well

Will be taking measurement in March too, so really must watch diet and start exercising...
Cannot eat any new year goodies!!

Anyway, I haven't confirmed my design yet. Helan did draw out a couple of sketches. I'm still wondering if I should make an extra evening gown...

Do you have any idea what sort of style you would like? Perhaps you could show her parts of gowns that you like, and she can help suggest designs..

Have fun searching for your dream gown

Hi novbride,

yes, i read your decision... gd choice indeed... btw, are your WG and EG for keep or rental...

so, when are u going for ur 1st meet wif michelle? mebbe u can flip more magazines so dat u'll have a better idea wat's ur preference b4 meeting up wif her...

*sigh* talking abt. controlling diet.. my photoshoot is less than a mth after CNY, hope i can still fit into my gowns by then...

Hi Septembergal,

Thanks... for your warning.. err... no... I have not been to the ones at IMM, Serangoon and Balestier. Have a few recommended ones from my relatives and friends. But I will sure be weary of them...
Hope you liked the mags and at least get some ideas out of them. Have you set your mind on feline??? Signed up with them yet ?

Hi Septembergal & all gals,
Yep! I'm still here. I guess I have missed a lot of all the mattress thing. You gals have start shopping for mattress. Ooopss! Then I guess I'm too slow. Now I'm busying with my honeymoon stuffs, getting more info and prices for comparison. Have you gals settled on your honeymoon?

hi, LMF
No lah, u r not too slow at all! i m the culprit who started the mattress thingy
...'cos now dunno what else to do so bo liao go n see mattress lor
hey, the natas travel fair is this weekend...remember to go!!

hi, septembergal
if u wanna view more WG designs, u can drop by www.theknot.com....hope this helps too

Meanwhile, take care of ur health!

hi, Hazel
Oh, u r a June bride! My fren is getting married in June too...seems like a popular mth too
Congrats! Hey, thanks so much for the advice...will certainly check the details b4 i purchase!

Hi Hazel, Hi CK,

Isn't Contiki tours expensive? I ran through their brochures for Europe and it does not look cheap leh... same thing with Insight vactions. *sigh*

Yah loh... coz of the World Cup, we ruled out going to Korea & Japan. Coz of bushfires, ruled out Australia & New Zealand. Coz of terrorism, ruled out America. FH says South East Asia and Hong Kong is nearby, can always go during long weekends. So, also rule out.... Then, end up not much places we can go.... UK loh

btw Hazel, when is your photoshoot? CK, yours?

3285.gif
cynthia

hi gals!

my pc is still down.
but i managed to grab a stand-in, so that's good enough for now.

septembergal: u r welcome. glad u found to magazines useful.
sorry for being so blur. hope i din make u late for the feline appt.
i will only need the marked out magazines in early march, so u hv plenty of time.

chemson: hv u tried looking for ready-made shoes? what do u think of them? i saw a lot of silver, glittery shoes, but cannot decide whether i should get them.

lmf: i'm looking at honeymoon stuff too! where r u going?

Hi Kat22,
Natas travel fair... this weekend...?? Aiya, I doubt i can go. This Sat i'm busying with my CNY tour preparation. This Sun I'm going to my bridal shop for my 1st fitting. Guess i might have to miss this fair! Does the Natas fair only held for 2 days?

hi lmf,

natas starts on fr at 12 noon n goes on till sun 9:30pm.
it's at the expo. if u r looking for honeymoon ideas, it's a good fair to go.

Hey Gals,

och,
No... gonna go to Robinsons @ Raffles City to have a look..hope I can find something suitable for my wedding shoes...if not.. then bobian have to tailor made at Leap'g Lizards cos my feet is very sensitive...:P Where did you see that pair of glittery shoes?

Septembergal,
www.theknot.com gives you a really good idea on how you want your gown to be. I got my ideas there as well...

LMF,
no time to think of honeymoon as yet.. may aim for NZ lor...

Not buying mattress cos house not ready... not going honeymoon cos got to save up for renovation... sigh... anybody who's like me?

Hey, 1 month just flew past! It's nearly the end of January! We're getting closer... and closer... and closer to the DAY!
Excited?

Hi Novbride
Seems like both of us had the same problems..broad shoulders..
Hi Lollipop
I did tried the Bustier gown..2 types of design..looks okay..wif veil. The designer was not there..only the shop assistant..She wil only be there at the next appt..to take measurement.
MTM shoes? How they make it for u? a bit sua gu

hey chemson,

saw a lot of them at takashimaya n isetan. tangs has a lot of white, close-toed shoes. there was a pair of v. lovely pair of strappy sandals with crystals at the side in tangs. fell in love with the pair but unfortunately, it's champgane in colour. doesn't suit my gowns.

hey och,

I agree.. Tangs has got really good shoes esp the ones downstairs.... not the upstairs ones though.. I prefer the ones downstairs. Gonna have a look @ Raffles City later...
Me... looking for silver strappy, open toes with diamontes.

hi, LMF
wah..u going for first fitting oredi!!! me hvn't even confirm WG design...see...me slower than u leh!

erm, sorrie but whats a CNY tour? u r tour guide?
anyway, do try to go down...i hear u can normally get pretty gd deals at the fair...

Hi, sheep
heard redang island in malaysia is really beautiful - u know the beach where they shoot "summer tea"? romantic n quite affordable i heard...why don't u consider going there for honeymoon first...can go for second honeymoon when got more $
to get cheaper deal, can try booking from JB

hey chemson,

then i think taka is a good place to look. taka carry essentially the same shoes as isetan, but their sizes r more complete.
lots of shoes that fit ur criteria (silver with diamante) n they range fr $89-$119. there is a 10% off most of the shoes. i hvn't tried the robinsons @ raffles place, but the one @ centrepoint din hv a good selection.

Hi och,

Will be going down to Robinsons @ raffles city to look-see.. I am very fussy when it comes to shoes... maybe I should take my time and look around esp at Tangs and Taka. I quite like Hush Puppies as well... hope I can find a suitable pair...

hi chemson,
although i bought mine at robinsons @ raffles city, i must agree with och that the robinsons selection is quite limited. I just happen to chance upon mine while waiting for my fh! I think u will still see my silver sandals there...it's at the corner of the shoe dept...do check out taka as well...i oso went to tangs at centrept n they hv pretty nice ones too.

hey, do u think silver will go with my champagne gold embroideries? shirley did ask me to get silver but i thot maybe champagne gold might look better? guess i will check with shirley again....

Crayon,

I think we need to choose a colour first, then tell them our size, how high we want our heels to be. If we have designs, we can show them to "copy" the desired designs.. Like Novbride has mentioned, if you want beads, you have to pay more for the extricate handiwork.

Hey Kat22,

Yep.. thanks for your suggestion.. will go there to look-see. Hope I can find something I like and the shoes must be comfy cos you will be wearing the entire day.. comfort is very important...

I think silver can go with gold embroideries. For me.. my WG is off-white.. shirley said to get silver.. think silver is a versatile colour.. it goes with anything...

if u wear a tube, and go with a translucent kind of shawl will be very nice. "ruo ying ruo xian" and won't show too much bones around neck/collar area.

Hi Kat22,
I think there's a misunderstanding. My 1st fitting is referring to my 1st trial on gowns. I have not confirmed my gown design yet. I think I'm the slowest now.

CNY stands for Chinese New Year. I'm going to holidays during CNY. Not with my FH but with my family members which we travel once in a year. I will be going down to the fair on Sunday straight after my gown trying as the expo is very near to my bridal shop (Tampines).

How about you gals? Any of you going down to the fair? Sheep, I agree with Kat22. Look for something nearby or resort. Relax yourself after a long tiring preparations. Just a short trip is also good enough to let your FH and yourself enjoy.

hi sheep,

kat's suggestion is a gd one! a honeymoon, whether it's in a neighbouring country or in some faraway exotic land, is a good way to unwind n spend some time together. dun skimp on taking a break after the wedding.

hi chemson,

if u see something good, share, share with us ok?
i agree that comfort is the most impt.

hey och,

I certainly will let you know...
If I have any
good findings... I also quite kancheong.. need to find the right pair with the right comfort level. Maybe got another tomorrow as I will be going to Taka...

Hey sheep,
The gals are right... go for a short one... and relax after the wedding preps and enjoy !

Hi, LMF
oops...paiseh...din strike my mind that u r going on holiday...so blur today :P where r u going?
slow...nebermind...can get tips from those who r experienced mah..hehehe...like me lor...last to get married among my close frens..now got lots of "advisors"!!!

Hi, Chemson
Happy shopping! Hope u find ur dream pair

Kat22, it's alright. I'll be going to Yunnan, China. They are having winter season now. Shiok! I like the cold feeling! Sigh... I have to leave the forum for about a week! So sad!
You gals must not forget me. I will come back to the forum as soon as I touched down S'pore, ok?

Hi Kat22, LMF, Och and Chemson,
Hmm... maybe you gals are rite... whether near or far, we should go for a trip.

Have you gals thought of the bridesmaids' dresses? Will you gals be sponsoring or subsidising the dresses?

hi lmf,

my colleague visited yunnan recently. nice scenery! we wun forget u one. will wait patiently for u to return n update us on ur wedding preps.

hey hazel & cynthia,
discussed with BF last night. dun think world cup is a prob lah ... take it easy, he said!

anyway, if world cup maybe it just means there is more sournviers, more things to see, more 'free / cheap' things bec of the celebrations??? shld b quite a unqiue expereince as well? just another side of the coin... me & BF have been talking abt italy since day 1 so quite set on going lah!

dun think we going on tour though.. cos more romantic on our own & also free & easy better!
your thoughts?
how much u guys budgetting huh? we actually very broke. .. u think S$5 for 2 exclduing shopping is enuff?

my photoshoot mid mar! wedding 1st jun so hopefully can go itlay 3rd jun or sthg!

wat abt u girl