(2002) Brides of year 2002

hey och,

1. First fitting... your corset, your tummy tucker undies if you have.
2. Shoes (if you have)

That's abt it.. cos it's only the lining. Nothing much.

hi sheep,
have you settled your actual day photographer?

Hi undecided,

Perhaps you can do a search for Dang and find out if there are any brides or brides-to-be who have had experience with the studio?

Another way is to make an appointment with them, talk to them, see if there is any chemistry or rapport between you and the designer. Dun feel obliged to sign up with them on your first visit. If you have the time, it's better to shop around before making a decision.

Good Luck!

Hi Chemson,
Nothing has been done so far. Christine told me before that they follow a tight schedule so my gown will definitely be done in time for the shoot. In any case, I'll be fixing an appointment with TY in March or April to see the designs, if they don't call me. I've heard that TY actually needs only 1 month to do a gown. And hor... I haven't book actual day photographer...
... I've got a good reason though. I called up an Alan Chai recommended by a collegue last week but he's not in. I'm supposed to call this week.

Hi Och,
Yes, my hubby is going with me. We wanted to grab this chance to go for a short trip. So you going Malacca? My shoot will be in June. TY seemed to be the opposite of other boutiques. He would tell customers to give him 3 months notice. In actual fact, he'll only call them up 1 month before the shoot. I learnt abt these from the TY thread. I'll definitely call them 2 or 3 months in advance cos cannot wait liao... want to see my gowns!!! Envy you leh... going for 1st fitting so soon...

Hi Kiitycat:
Glad to chat with here again. I'll be going for my outdoor photoshooting on 5th of March. So really excited about it.
I guess you must having the same feeling, going for your 1st appt huh?

Good Luck!!!

Carol

hmm... seems that you all are discussing abt honeymoon. my fh and i are thinking of going to new zealand. anyone knows what season is it during sept? we are thinking of free and easy.. less stressful, my fh quite a challenging person, so prefer to explore on our own.

wonder how much it will cost. must control costs since economy bad and i am jobless now. my fh so excited abt the trip so will most prob go if i can get leave in my new job...

hi och,
din go to the chatroom last thurs. quite tired lately after work. just visited my flat during the weekend. the door is locked!! i shld be getting my keys pretty soon. i feel so excited.

wha! didn't realised that a number of dec brides are sheraton brides too!
realli hope to share more like food tasting and so on....when the months are getting nearer

Hey blossom,

It shd be Spring in NZ... but the weather in NZ is much cooler during the mth of Sept and...
It is also the skiing season back then.. shd be fun to visit ..

Have u renovated your flat? I tell ya... renovating flat can be very trying process cos you have conflicting views and at a certain point in time, you need to compromise for the sake of your flat and to be more stress-free... oh well..

sheep - i intend to get fh to wake me up if i am getting the ear plugs
if not, really dunno can sleep or not :P yup, gotta work on mon but me on leave next Thu & Fri too!!! gd break after all the visits

och - gd for you! so, which airline r u flying with?? was suppose to go natas on sun but in the end me din go 'cos i went to the jurong west hdb showflat to look see look see
did anyone of u go n see the showflat? wah..u going for first fitting so soon...must be very excited rite??
me can't wait for my first fitting too

Chemson - din see ur earlier message....ur shoes sound lovely! how much did u pay for the shoes? well, if u really like the shoes n it's comfortable..it will definitely be worthwhile to tailor made
btw, what colour is ur EG?

Blossom - nice to hear from u again
i think it shld be winter in new zealand in sep. it's a very popular honeymoon destination...many of my frens went there. hey, ur new place is oso in p21 rite? which block did u get? me went punggol last week n very happy to see that they hv build up to 15 storey oredi - my block got 16 floors
hope can get keys early next yr!!!

Hi Cynthia,

Yup, i agree dat it's better to settle one thing after another... for my case, we bought our resale last yr 1st... then this yr wedding... and then later take some time to plan for honeymoon...

Both my WG & EG are MTM, WG is off-white... can share ur pix wif us after ur photoshoot?

My beautician oso told me to try and avoid fried food...

Hi Pooh,

I paid a visit to Julia recently. think they're quite nice. n flexible too. They tired to tailor the package to my needs n wants.

but in the end, I still decided that they're not my style... so....

but on the whole, my experience there is quite nice.

hey chemson, thanx! i dun hv my shoes yet, but margaret said i dun need shoes until the 2nd fitting, cos that's when she's taking measurements for the train.

hi sheep, yah, yah, call ty up earlier.
we din book the malacca trip cos it really doesn't make sense to book a trip to malacca unless we r setting off soon.

hi blossom, r u still busy handing over ur projects? dun overwork urself yah?
sep is early spring in nz, like chemson said. i love early spring, flowers r blooming n i can wake up to see the lands covered with flowers. nz shld be a nice place to diy: lots of beautiful scenery n u can stop any time to enjoy it.
can understand how excited u must be waiting 4 keys. i remembered how excited i was, n mine was a resale so i've already seen the flat!
but renovation can be a tiring process; there r plenty of itty gritty details that can attract quarrels.

hi kat, i'm very excited to see my gown.
hope the cut turned out well. i'm flying ba to london, 3d/2n f&e package. but hor.... still cannot decide on the hotel.

Hi Kittycat,

On the day that I signed up with Ted Wu, Jean let me try on 3 wedding gowns with the 3 basic cuts: ballgown, A-line, and slim-fit. And from there I chose the basic style of my wedding gown: i.e. a bustier ballgown. But ever since then, I am not given a chance to try on different colours or styles of evening gowns. He just drew out 3 different styles and asked me to pick 1. I even told him that I need to see myself in a similar design before committing, but he said trust me, we do this EVERYDAY. OK lor.

Anyway, I've seen my evening gown, and I like the halter neckline, but found the colour a bit on the dark side, and the slit on the skirt way too high up. So he's going to sew up the slit such that it will not expose too much leg. On the whole, I'm still satisfied.

How about your wedding and evening gowns? How're they like?

For photography, I chose Utopia. But after seeing Hwey's photos, kinda feel an impulse to switch to Attitude. heehee..... What about you? Who's your make-up artist?

Carol,

My photo shoot will be on 4th of March, a day before yours. Are you taking casual shots? Hmm, dunno what to wear leh.....

hello m2m & lollipop,

Welcome back!

m2m - i used to like the idea of having a portrait size wedding photo for keep, but not now..I prefer tabletop size photo now..can put anywhere.. Portrait size abit too big..cannot anyhow change location ;)

jus wanna share my joy...I've jus rcv the hdb loan application form, that means i'll get my keys really soon! so excited abt it!

Och: My designer said to bring the shoes along for my fiitting. So I had to have it made first and in addition, need to season the shoes in time for the wedding.. me.. not asking for train cos I am clumsy and dun want to trip over myself..

Kat22: My shoes cost $119 to make... cos the material is different.. satin silver.. not the shimmering sort.. 2 rows of crystals.. my first fitting for the shoes are in late Feb. My EG for now is gold organza over dark burgundy.. may change the colour cos I find the colour too dark. Need to discuss with Shirley first.

Blossom: My gal fren just went to NZ in Jan and it can be still quite cooling even now.

What happened to all our March brides?
Too busy for wedding preps?

So what have u gals done? For me, I'm slowly sending out the invitation cards & waitig for rsvp. Just want to check with u girls what else is left to be done?

Hi Hazel.

Share my pictures? Should be no problem. Hopefully, they don't take too long to develop them.

btw, which skincare products are you using?

Hi Pegsfur,
I tot our this thread close shop liao leh...

I have printed the inserts liao but haven start writing out the guest list yet. Thinking of doing it after CNY. But more or less I know who to invite and have verbally inform them.

Now starting to plan budget for the guo da li and the actual day.

If I'm not mistaken, yr wedding dat is also on 16 Mar, is it?

So wat else do you think we should start preparing?

Joker

hi pegsfur,
you already considered fast liao lor....

i've not even got my invites up and ready....even foto not selected...
i'm onli collect my dinner cards this fri and is still trying to get my church invites up!
i think i'm feeling the tension now!

Hi joker,

Yrs 16 Mar too?

So when r u doing the guo da li? My side like no news leh ... nobody said anything yet ....

So starting from this week, I'll be busy meeting up my friends to pass them the invitation cards.

Oh yes, what abt the cakes? Aiyoh, I haven't ordered yet leh ..... how abt u?

Hi alpha,

Aiyoh, why so slow? Or am i too fast?
Maybe I too kiasu lah ... everything also want it to be fast
U better hurry cos after minus the CNY, think we got only a mth to do everything leh.
Jia you! jia you!

Hi Pegsfur,
Heehee.... my memory good leh. We same day same day

My guo da li is on 3 Mar. I also don know where to get the cakes leh. Other than Bangawa, I really have no other ideas but always Bangawa also beri xian leh. How ah?

Joker

Hi Cynthia,

I will going to the Southern-end of Japan... places like Nagasaki, Hiroshima, Fukuoka etc. If got time, will also go to the New Universal Studio at Osaka! I don't think things will get expensive due tothe World Cup lah... in fact, it's a good time to visit Japan now cos the curreny exchange rate is very good... something like 100 yen = S$1.40. When I went in Yr 2000, the exchange rate was 100 yen to S$1.65.

So where r u intending to go for honeymoon? The air ticket from M'sia airline was so cheap! Australia only $488 and European countries only $688... so tempting. If not because I'm lasy to plan my iternary, I will probably change destination!

Hi Elaine:
Actually I heaven't decide yet. If I would to take casual shot, most prob. will wear something simple in matching colours, will go for soething as simple as possible since I'll be having beach shoots.

Have you decided on your outdoor shooting locations?

Carol

chemson: where do u have ur shoes custom made?
my wedding is in Sep..and i've already booked my bridal package, but i feel like changing...such a dilemma...

joker,

Very good memory .......

I've seen sweet secrets mini cakes, it's very nice leh but it's a bit small, abt 2' by 2', and min order is 35. I actually wanted to order that to give to my colleagues which I'm not inviting but I can't reach the min. order leh ...

Maybe u can try this:

http://www.bnwbakery.com.sg

They've got heart shape cookies & swiss rolls
Maybe I'll try them

Hi Hwee,
We are going to Scotland. Yah.. the M'sia airline promotion is really very tempting. But we are flying by QF (comes with the Fly/Drive package we took). Flying 2 days after you on 6 June.. but 5.45 am in the morning...

Dunno lah... FH says don't go there during this period, so be it loh!
Japan is nice leh... especially Mt Fuji. The last time I went, had to give up going up the mountain, coz main group is going to Tokyo Disneyland. Mickey Mouse is too much a lure for me.. hee hee... in the end, ended up spending more time queueing for the rides than on the rides itself. But very happy then, coz first time in Disneyland mah...

cynthia

Hi Pegsfur,
Thks a lot for the info. most probably I will start to recce after CNY lah. Nowadays bakery shops all buzy wif the NY cookies. No one seems to be able to entertain us yet. After CNY will be more busy wif all the wedding stuff liao.

So are you getting excited to the wedding liao? Actually me is looking forward for it to be over than for it to come. It's really hectic for the preparation.

Joker

Hi el,
You're welcome to join us!
So which day is ur wedding? Why do you want to change your bridal package? Like to tell us more?

Hi el,

It's never too late to join us...
Welcome Welcome!

I had my shoes done at Leap'ng Lizards (International Plaza)There is another branch at OUB Centre. When is your wedding in September? have you booked your banquet and which bridal package have you signed up with.

Chemson:thanks for ur warm welcome..i'm so touched...

my wedding is set on 21 Sep..(Chinese mth = 15 Aug)so china..my in-laws lah...can't help

yup..banquet is booked..haha..again by in-laws.
@Allson Hotel...
but still better than any other guci garang places...

myself & FH is doing up our flat at e same time...
so have to save $$$ for bridal package...so we signed up with a bridal studio in Jb

Hi el,

Where is your flat now? Which bridal studio did you sign up with in JB ? Sept 21st is a good date for wedding...
No worries.

wowz..pegsfur, u r very fast leh. Already sent out your invites. I am now waiting for my printer to call me to collect my inserts.

My bridal shop still have not called me to collect my albums...so sianz..I wait till my neck also long long!

just checking with you gals, when should we do the "an zhuang" ah? Same day as the guo da li?

Hi Novbride,

Congrats! I know how it feels like, because I couldn't stop grinning when we got our flat! Your hse will be in Admiralty, if I didn't get that wrong. Will it be near the MRT station?

When will Michelle be designing your gowns, btw?

The other day I saw a pair of shoes from DMK. It's a pair of white slip-ons with a small diamante buckle, and it only costs $49. It's about 3 inches high, but the heels are not broad enough and I dun feel comfy and well-supported... then I went to Metro and saw this pair of silver slip-ons by the brand of Vivie, and studded with Swarovski crystals.. very nice, very sparkling, price needless to say also very high... $109!

Have you all gotten your shoes yet?

Hope you gals dun mind if I join in the conversation. Like Loriwong, Linda & Hazel, my customary is also on the 8th June at Goodwood Park Hotel.

I'm collecting my wedding photos this evening so I'm feeling quite excited about it.

CLoVeR

Chemson,
We bought a resale flat @Clementi...
i signed up with Superstars Bridal Studio@City Sq..now i feel like changing it to Divine@JB, Divine Couture's JB branch...but i dunno what does it involve..and i bet my FH would scream at me...

Hi Sheep,
i saw a fren who had their photos taken with Divine,JB branch..but at a fraction of what u'd need to pay in SG...and I kinda like their style tho..it's those classical kind..u get what i mean...?? in such a lousy dilemma

Hi Cynthia,
I'm using Mary Cohr... wat abt. u?

Hi Clover,
Dun worry, of cos' we dun mind u joining in... the more the merrier...
wow... u're so fast, collecting photos oledy... me gotta wait till 1st wk. of Mar then photoshoot... btw, which bridal boutique did u sign wif & where's ur banquet?hmm.. can share ur photos wif us?

Hi Och,

I saw your thread in the Renovation and understd you have very good experience with a contractor. Could you give me his contact? I am looking for a reliable contractor with reasonable price and quality. If its not a trouble, could you also advise how much did you spend? My email address is [email protected]

rgds

corrine

Hi CLoVeR

Hmmm... 8th June seemed like a real hot day to get married hor...

Wah.. so good, u can see your wedding pics this evening. When was your photoshoot? Which bridal shop are you with? Can share your pictures with us? My photoshoot is still 2 weeks away...

Perhaps you can share your experience with all of us...

Hi, gals!

el - welcome welcome!
glad to see another sep bride
ur wedding is just 1 day b4 mine!!!hope u dun mind me being kaypoh but i wld suggest u find out more abt divine@JB b4 u switch in case it din match up to ur expectations

och - 3d/2n seems a little short...u not going tunisia anymore?? So u r flying BA...why neber support SQ :P

Chemson - how did ur session with the contractors go? did u sign up with any one? dun worry lah...conflicts r inevitable...my fren even quarrel with hubby over a fridge
like u say, compromising is very impt. $119 sounds reasonable for a tailor-made shoes...din know shoes oso got fitting too

hey, when r u meeting shirley again?? me meeting her this friday
need me to check anything with her for u??

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><FONT SIZE="+1">Reminder</FONT></FONT>
date : <FONT COLOR="aa00aa">08 Feb, Fri</FONT>
time : <FONT COLOR="aa00aa">7:00pm</FONT>
venue : <FONT COLOR="aa00aa">O'Brien Sandwich Bar</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><FONT SIZE="+1">Latest Update</FONT></FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0077aa">angeline</FONT> and <FONT COLOR="0077aa">ginger</FONT> won't be able to join us this fri, hopefully they can meet us up the next time!!

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">See you gals....</FONT>

I am meeting Shirley again on Feb 21st. Just made an apptm with Shu Ping today. Flamingo will be closed from Feb 9th to Feb 18th. Shirley is on urgent leave today. As for checking stuff with her... it's ok.. cos I am meeting her to talk to her abt my EG and teadress. $119 is quite reasonable plus there are crystals and so forth...
My shoes has got buckle as well.. and I need to see if it is sitting at the right place...
That's why the need for the fitting...

Yep.... gotta really compromise cos it's also my home as well.. and I want to have my own ideas in it too.... compromise is very important.

Am I so glad to see some life in the Mar 2002 thread.. I am feeling the stress too.. my tea ceremony is on 17 Mar and wedding dinner on 18 Mar.. so far, I just got the wedding cards from the printer last Friday.. would need to call people up about attendance, also, trying to do up the actual wedding day program, does anybody have any good template that I can follow?

Hi cutie &amp; Aliblue,

Wah .... seems like I'm the most kiasu one ..... already sending out invitation cards ... actually I'm meeting 2 groups of friends tomorrow &amp; thursday just to pass them the cards

cutie - I think yrs wld be less hectic since yrs is split into 2 days rite?

Aliblue - what is the 'an zhuang'? I never heard b4 leh ...

joker,

Actually I'm very excited lor .... my hubby too... we r counting down now
I agree all the preparations are tiring but somehow it's fun

Hi Angelia.. How come you ended up being the one to co-ordinate the outing
3415.gif
??

Dun worry... me not going to gate-crash your party. Just wondering if you went to Daphne recently... coz long time din hear anything from you liao...

Your big day (ROM) coming soon hor. Excited?

3416.gif
cynthia

I apologise for not being able to go for our first gathering on Friday. Will meet up with all of u the next time.

Just ROMed on Saturday. Everything went on smoothly on that day. I was happy with my trial make-up, ROM dress and lunch at Mooi Chin Palace. The only unsatisfied thingy is the photography. Although my brother did a good job at capturing the best moments, I looked a bit blown-up and pale (due to the make-up).
. The rest of the day was spent at Raffles Place with some close friends.

Jen Jen and Angeline,
I am also collecting information for the actual day photographers and videographers now. Maybe we can share the information as well.

SORI for not being able to make it too coz i need to go to HDB to collect my keys in the late afternoon &amp; my hubby had arranged to go down to bridal shop to discuss some issues. Utterly sorry, u guys have to forgive me &amp; ginger hor?

hi ginger,

can give me your email address so dat i can forward you the info which i have on hand?