(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi Jolene,
Booked my banquet with MM. Eih, I booked quite early.....somewhere end April last year. So no prob
A bit kiasu lah, but since we have already decided on the date so why not??
So, where is yours going to be at?

Hi Chemson,
Sorry lah, have not been participating much here because for the past week the topic had been revolving around honeymoon but we have not booked yet mah.....
Dun think will book so soon lah. Must decide on which stretch of dates to take leave first
Hey, I think I need your advice for contractors leh...... very blur. Dunno how to start

Now more worried about my ROM next friday......

Hi Och,
Eee, have just described my WG design in the few msgs above.......
Really love it....FH like it too

Hi Sheep,
Yup, yup, ruching upper bodice and crystals!!! Same, same...... had always wanted a parting at the back of the gown which opens up to a blue organza train......so, was very excited when I finally saw the product!!
My tentative EG is pink with a purplish undertone....also very princess-like

Hi Pinkapple,

Hmm... din know they can alter their package. Maybe the next time I go, should try. But thanks for the advise! So you sign up with Sil? I am also considering them.... but their package slightly more exp then JWN. Which photographer are you engaging?

Thanks ckhoo, I think I just need to get down to hunting for a JP and arranging with Sheraton. Somehow, all these doesn;t seem as fun as choosing a WG : )

I have actually tried some of the food. What I remember most is the prawn. It's cooked with black sauce (taste unique) and served in a tapioca chip basket. Only 1 word - GOOD. Also try the balck pepper japanese udon. Something different from the traditional Yee Mee. Basically, all the food is good lah.

Oh noo.. poor couple! Yap, must be careful esle the monetary and emotional damage is bad. Imagine every time you think of your wedding, you recall the sad incident....

Hi Cowie,

Congrats!!! You are ROM-ing...next Friday... so happy for you ! All set? Where did get your dress and did you engage anyone to do your make-up... must be all so excited.. I was excited over my ROM too...
Me.. also not decided on honeymoon... it's ok I guess.. oh yes.. me equally blur as well.. cos my Bro IL did his flat renovation so he will be guiding us along the way... but most imptly get a reliable one and no hidden costs is very important. I guess... you need to read up a few home decor mags and decide what kind of concept you would like to have. I must have forgotten but where's your flat... oops...

I have booked with Sheraton. Actually, it is by concidence I became a Sept bride. I actually chose a date in Dec, to be held in MM also (same as Cowie!!)

However, I found MM coordinators to be very inflexible and could not give me what I wanted no matter how hard I tried. But Sheraton was different. I jus asked and they gave me immediately. Basically what I asked for was a day rm for my coordinators and since I am given 2 nites in the hotel, I wanted to take both nites together so that my Godma from Australia could stay in the hotel also. Sheraton says no problem but MM say cannot. The nites must be consecutive. They can't give me 2 rms on the same nite. I don't find my request ridiculous cos' I am still having 2 nites at the hotel, rite? **stressed**

Thus, I brought forward my date cos' Sheraton is fully booked for Nov/Dec.

Cowie: who was your coordinator? Did you get free food tasting?

Hi Chemson,
Thanks! Yup, all set
My ROM dress is provided by my bridal (cream-coloured, boat-neck, satin with organdy overlay) and got my shoes from leapinlizards
Sandy will be doing my make-up for me.

Mine is the premium flat in Sengkang. So, basically need lightings and carpentary work. Maybe some hacking.......just maybe....but will be minimal
.....Eih, is yours the one at Buangkok?
Sorry if I am mistaken...

Hi Cowie,

Yeah ! Buangkok... gotta do almost everyday..but I am leaving the bathrooms untouced...
So.. the costs will be rather hefty... meeting one contractor for the 2nd time tomorrow to talk abt the concept...Same here.. I got my shoes rom leapin lizards for my ROM as well.. going to make another pair for my wedding..
And Sandy did my make-up... She is good and easy-going.. you are in safe hands... cos of the forum.. I became frens with Sandy.

Hi M2M,

You can attach pictures in the forum by typing the command \image{text description}. After that, when you've previewed your message and clicked to post the message, the system will prompt you to upload the file from your hardisk. The image file can only be 'gif' or 'jpg' format and is less than 50 KB.

Hi Jolene,
I think our msg crossed earlier......

Mine is only one nite stay with MM cos I did not hit the number of tables they stated to qualify for 2 nites stay. I did manage to get a day room for my attendees though. Irene is my co-ordinator. Am not getting free food tasting. Have to pay 50% of table cost for the tasting. Actually Sheraton was the other one which I short-listed. But somehow FH and myself felt that MM gave a better deal
Hee, I guess diff people look out for diff things huh?.....But we do have some similarities lah.....

Hi Och,
Nope, I've not scheduled any appt with TY. I learnt from the TY thread that TY brides only get to see the designs 3 months before the photoshoot, mine is in June, take measurements 1 month before shoot, and 1st fitting one week before shoot. I'm expecting TY to call me by end March. So boring... everyone gets to see their gowns... I'll be the last...

hmmm...was surprised to see this thread revived
I still have not gone for my photoshoot. Shd be doing it in March so currently quite busy preparing for it like getting accessories for myself and shirts and sheoes for my hubby.

I'm still waiting for HDB to notify me to collect my keys leh. We deferred the key selection til Jan but so far now news.

Catus, which block are you at. I'm at 101B

Vee Yee, have you collected your invites for printing?

hello lollipop,

Really glad to hear that ur WG turns out to be better than u expected!
Is your gown dreamy dreamy type? with lots of organza? any beadings/embroidery? Urs is a bustier rite? u allow to take any photo with the gown on?

Wow! I think u're really fast in your preparation cos I haven't even start my 1st appt leh...

Hey gemi,

I had a wonderful and unforgettable solemnisation ceremony at conrad...Ambience was cosy, food was good, servings were overwhelming and service was excellent! and best of all, pictures turned out well..heheheh( my biggest concern).Agree with you that it would be nice to
take pixs at the grand staircase...I will save it
for my wedding dinner in dec,at least got something to look forward to..

Hi pinkapple,
Thanks for sharing your exprience with me

Glad that u have chosen Silhouette.Must agree
with u that their service was good! Minda and Amanda are attentive and very professional.
Amanda attended to me when I went there for my first appointment. The only thing that doesn't impress me much is their gowns.(no offend)
The gowns do not possess the "WOW" factor and the fabrics used are too normal.
In terms of gown designs, I think I would prefer Bridal veil...when I first try on their gowns....i felt in love with "them" immediately.
They are so beautiful...however, once again..
a big big question mark to their services...cos never get the chance to talk to michelle(designer)...heard a lot of negative comments about her personality.So at this point of time...I am caught in-between...
one is good service (silhoutte), another nice gowns (BV)...

novbride,

i won't know if it falls under the dreamy category, i just know i love it! *sheepish grin*
it has lots of beads on the top, no embroidery though. yes, mine's a bustier gown, and i am not allowed to take any pictures of the gown. i respect their decision. i was kind of prepared for it. Guess it is due to business secrecy, they have no choice but to do it.

hey, i am going home now. i talk to you again on mon. if not, i wish you a prosperous and healthy new year!

Hi Cowie,

Sheraton is giving me exactly what MM is giving me and more too. Free Food tasting at Li Bai Restaurant for 8 person, Free flow beer, 2 nites stay in suite, etc. Package is same but I found the coordinator at Sheraton more easy-going. My coordinator, also Irene, too rigid lah. Guess different couple have different needs, just for us to choose the one which we like.
But then, I think we think alike:
- same date
- same choice of hotels
- ROM in Feb 2002
( mine will be on 22/02/2002, a week after yours!)
Now the headache is the guest list and my bridal stuff.

Heh.

Paiseh..I will have to stay back in office to clear some stuff as next week we are not working...so can't make it today...Anyway, will keep my photos here until we meet again...

hi cowie,

oops.
think i missed ur msg while posting mine.
wow, ur gown sounds v. pretty. hv a happy time preparing for ur rom. for the renovations, look @ magazines, decide on the type of look u want n ask recommended contractors for quotes.

hi sheep,

u hv a design fr ty oredi? n it looks like cowie's?
v. confused.

hi el,

happy preparations for rom.

Hi Och,
I've tried some of TY's gowns and I fell in love with a bustier gown similar to Cowie's. Based on that, TY will design something for me. Sorry for confusion hor...

Hi Bluebell!

Nope...haven't got my invites yet... Soon lah! Maybe this week go plan and see what else to do. Have been so busy lately!

Hi Catus!

Well, I din get an ID. Did the planning ourselves... quite stressful coz we are not good in designing so decided to keep the design simple....

Hi Jolene,
Glad you are happy with Sheraton.
One more thing FH and myself were not very comfy with was their L-shape ballroom. Other than that, I think the place is really nice
Hee, dun worry so much.... you have me to go thru exactly the same process as you...... may even end up pacing one another
Have not given too much thought for the guest list part too

Hi Och,
Thanks for the advice for the contractor scouting thingy

Hi Sheep,
Time will fly soooooo fast that before you know it, you will be donning your WG
Wanna try asking TY if you can do your fitting earlier?

hello all,

vee kee, i bought my mattress liao. it's Dreamakers, pocketed spring (abt 9" thick), anti dustmite ... costs me abt $800+. feels v comfortable! comes with 15 years guarantee.

hi cactus, think i'll collect my cards after CNY. when are u expecting to collect your keys to your home?? must be excited rite??
i'm staying in sengkang btw ... quite near to punggol.

i'm currently busy with furnishings for my new home, then after CNY, guess will focus more on the banquet which is to be coming up ... finalising guest lists, printing invites etc ...

Hi, gals!

Jolene - welcome!
Hey, me hving my dinner at sheraton too!!
who's ur coordinator? Mine's Alvin...very nice chap
now we can exchange notes

Chemson - yup, yesterday was the day!! waited so long for it
made some changes to my WG...now i am having off-white embroidery with diamantes (spelling?) instead of shiny champagne gold 'cos she ran out of the shiny thread and left only the matte ones which i din like. she gave me a longer train too... can't wait to go for my first fitting in March now
As for EG, she drew 2 designs for me...think I may hv to go for another 1-2 sessions b4 i can confirm anything
she shown me so many cloth n colour samples until i blur liao :P

och - glad to hear u hv a great time during ur first fitting
hmm...the shooting of ur fittings for the video montage idea is really gd...can i copy oso huh? :P

LMF - not sure if u get to see this in time but hope u hv a great trip! Look forward to hearing from u soon

Hi bluebell and cheerios,

I'm at 114, just selected my flat on Tue and can u believe it, HDB asked me to pay the 20% downpayment in 2 week's time & collect my key at the same time. Super fast, rite?

Hi Vee Kee,
I'm already very stressed up with work & marriage preparation. Fell sick twice within a month. Was thinking of engaging an ID to save all the trouble. I've collected my cards & will be sending them down for printing this afternoon. Gotta go now. Hope to hear from all of you again.

Hi Angelia,
I'm not blaming u lar..I'm just lazy sometimes. Sure no problem, after CNY, we'll meet up.

Happy lunar New Year to everyone here.

Gong Xi Fa Cai!! Gong Xi Gong Xi!!

Rachelle

Hi cactus,

yup, I believe you. HDB is very fast when it comes to asking for money. Altho we have deferred our key collection, we have already paid our 20% downpayment. Then now no news. (???)

Hi Lollipop,

Glad that you love your gown. You make me so anxious! But why is your final gown fitting 3 months later? Also happy that you like Ben's work, I saw his name in other thread too!

Regd your q on car, mine is a m200 + driver. For photos, my package is the same like yours except that for the mini album, mine is 3R and same phots as the wedding album. I can't chose 3R/4R/5R like you. Also notice their 3R is unlike the size that is developed by shops, GHA's 3R-size is much smaller!

Chin Leng - Thanks for your tip on posting a picture! I will try it very soon!

hi everyone!!

nice meeting starfruit, angelia, miko and jastan...
quite nice chatting with u gals...

oh angelia, ur FH very cute leh... good catch!! hahaha...

Sorry for the late reply....

Hi Linda,
Heard that there will be another travel fair in Suntec early March organised by Chan Brothers & SA (UIC) individually. Heard that the package will be similar to the one offer at NATAS

Hi CK,
I am also looking for actual day photography...thot of going down to Simon Photography....wanna join me...heard that their price is quite reasonable...but have not looked at their photos....

Hi Hazel,
my first fitting will be on 24 Feb and phototaking on 8 Mar... a bit late hor..i have not found my wedding shoes....i'm 1.6m and my fh stands 1.78m...i think need at least 2-2.5 inch shoes....where can I find one??? Headache....so many things to do.... have not settled on the renovation stuff....guest list not out...still scouting for a place to go for honeymoon....don't really know where I want to go now....after the NATAS fair....

Hi Cynthia,
How is your preparation on Scotland self-drive? Heard from a fren that Isle of Skye is a very pretty place...u might want to go there...btw, u can always refer to the contiki or insight tour route as a guide to places of interest in Scotland.
as for my wg, it has a long train with embroidry along the edge of the gown with a shawl to go along...dun really know how to describe the colour...it's a bit pinkish??? I like ballgown...your ew must be very nice...btw what is the colou

Sorry for disappearing the entire day... busy running errands for mum for CNY. Also met up with the contractor whom I am interested in getting him to do up my flat.... he will give us a 2nd quote plus drawing.. I am quite pleased with the outcome...

Blossom: Bustier.. err... is strapless...off shoulder like that... :PP

Kat22: Wow... me too blurr...as well.. when Shirley showed me all the fabric samples...
Initially.. my embroideries were off-white but after seeing the silver ones... i changed to that...
Diamontes... maybe get her to add some more sugar beads to add more effect. What are the two EG designs like ? When exactly is your first fitting...

Hi, everyone
busy spring cleaning the house for CNY today...so tired

Chemson - yeah, thot of getting her to add sugar beads too...see how it goes
did consider silver embroideries too but shirley felt that the colour is too "strong" on me...well, i prefer something subtle too
...As for EG, one's a halter neck and the other is a bustier with cheongsam corti...sounds familiar rite? told her some of my ideas and she agreed that it would look gd
problem now is i can't decide the design, fabric, colour, etc!! looks like i hv more homework to do!!! she cldn't tell me the exact date of my fitting leh...say she will call me...u mean u know the date oredi???

Hi Passion,

We have been busy looking at guidebooks borrowed from the library and bought from bookstores. Too much information to digest. So many interesting places to see and go. Our drive starts from London, if we did not make it to Scotland within that 10 days, also not surprising to us... HAHAHA!

Your gown sounds nice. Is it MTM? Have it materialised yet? My EG is maroon in colour. Just had my trial makeup session on Wednesday. Taken some pictures too!

3506.gif
cynthia

hi All May Brides,

Long time no talk here... hope everyone's fine and wedding preparation going on smoothly.... wow! our big days in 3 months time!!!! time really flies fast hah?

for me, now i doing my guest lists and exceeded my original 25 tabs by 5 tabs to 30 tabs liao....
i still trying to see if i can cut to at least 27 tabs lah.... headache ah...

very busy recently also... busy with work as well as planning to start a biz venture with some frns so super busy now.... but very happy lah... hhehhehhee... really hope our biz venture can take off then next time can be own boss lor... hehheheheh......

ok, here's wishing all of u a very HAPPY N PROPSEROUS NEW YEAR!!!

Hi Cheerios!

Thanks for the info! Me going down to IMM later to test some beds!

Hi Catus!

Oh dear! Yah, renovation is really a stresful matter. But I have head that IDs give lots of problems as well. You can try HDBay, HDB's portal for some of their preferred IDs. May help as they may be more creditable.

hey chemson, congrats on finding a contractor u like.

hi blossom, bustier is a commonly called strapless dresses. it's basically like a spaghetti strap dress without the straps.

hi kat, happy spring cleaning. i'm just cleaning up my room n it's tiring enuf.

i thought those without straps are called tube...

sorry, i am really quite blur abt such things.

i am currently thinking abt the design for my gowns too. i have shown my designer what i have in mind for WG. basically just a simple spaghetti dress with beads or crystals. behind is bareback... actually thinking of changing my mind bcos my back not very nice.
maybe will cover the back with a layer of organza.

as for EG, got no idea at all. i am quite short, not so nice in ballgowns. what colours are nice?

Hi Cynthia,

It's not mtm...I saw it on display at the shop when I was there to look for my WG...the lady told me that they have just display the gown for less than an hour...

So how is your trial makeup....do u like it??? I will be going for mine on 24 Feb...so excited....anything to look out for????

Show us your pics...I'm really very excited abt yout EG... Maroon ballgown....must be very beautiful....too bad, my bridal shop has aleady ordered the material for my evening gown...if not, I will also mtm a ballgown EG....

as for your trip, why don't u look thru' some of the routes that Contiki and Insight are taking....so that u will not miss out any major sight...

u have a good rest this chinese new year...

I'm going for my photoshoot in March and have no idea where to go
We visited our photographer and he suggested East Coast coz we want to take sunset shots at the beach. Any other recommendations?

Hi Vee Kee,

Since you are going to IMM, thot I'll recommend a new year goodie to you
Have you tried the seaweed tulle cookie by Seasons? It's available outside Giant. I find it very interesting and it taste good. It actually taste like loveletter with seaweed.

Hi Gals:

Kat22: So envious... you can take the corti but not me...
The halter neck concept sounds great but you will look fantastic in the corti...
Nope, I dun know which date yet but did indicate to Shuping which are the dates I prefer as my hubby will be away and me busy as well...Guess colour wise.. gotta work with the colours you like and work from there...

Och: Thanks... still need to moderate with the pricing... still gotta meet up with him next week...

Blossom: Start with the colours you like...

Before I forget.. Happy Chinese New year to one and all... enjoy the festive season, ok ?

Hi BlueBell,

How about Marina South? mmm...Raffles Marina (but must pay money) :P

Din manage to go IMM...too tired after the spring cleaning....:P Go after the new year...

TO everybody out there :

GONG XI FA CAI!!! Happy New Year!

next year have to give ang pow liao...make the best out of this year!

Wishing all of you: Gong Xi Fa Cai, Wan Shi Ru Yi!!

Cowie: Yup, you are rite! We can pace each other and see if we missed out anything!!

Kat22: Oh, u chose Sheraton also?

Glad someone is with me. Like you said, can exchange notes. Hahaha. My coordinator is Yan, their Senior Business Dev Mgr. She is very nice and accomodating. Probably cos' Sheraton is renowned for their service also so they try to meet your banquet demands if they can.

Now, me worrying for my ROM.... dunno how it will go.... **stressed**

Yah bluebell,

I went to marina south and i like the beach look.
maybe u can consider it as well.

vee kee, no problem. hope u find a good bed!!

islandpub, all the best to your new biz venture!

yes, to all brides to be, Gong Xi Fa Cai and Happy New Year!!!

cheerios

happy new year! may all of u hv a happy n fulfilling yr ahead.

blossom: choose a colour that u will love to wear n that is diff fr ur banquet setup.

jolene, r u inviting friends n family for a reception after the rom?