(2002) Brides of year 2002

Not really good at describing the design. My WG is a bustier top with pricess cut. There is a split behing at the edge of the zipper. In between the split u could see some organza to create a softer look. The edge of the Split will be detail beading and embroidery. The front is rather simple. I went for offwhite dutches satin.

I hv 2 evening gown. 1 is turquois Thai silk with a reflection of maroon colour (2 tonne material)This gown will hv a low V cut in front & a low V behind so I can't wear bra. It is an empire cut with big A line bottom. The bottom which 1 section joint from another is separated by some frills. Some beading will be added.

2 gown is lilac with organza overlay. It will have a straight top and it is also an A line skirt but a smaller version . The impression is somehow like a tightskirt but with a fishtail. I will have some fold at the side of the waist to make me look slimmer.

My teadress is a modified chongsam with organza top and a maroon /turquois dress (thaisilk). it will be knee length with some beading. Bought this material actually to make a shawl for my turquois gown but Dang was suggesting to make into a short dress as she said is such a waste to make it into a shawl since there was enough material.

I hope u gals know what was I talking about.

Saw some nice shoe at Wheelock place 2nd floor. Price is rather reasonable too.

Chemson

Sorry.....got the wrong person.

Cowie

Congrats!

CLoVeR, have you scanned in your photographs yet??

I am going for my photoshoot tomorrow! Can't wait for it to come.

Hi there!

This is my first posting! I am getting married on 28 September 02 but cos I was too tooo sloww, I have to have my dinner the next day at Goodwood! It is nice to meet up with other Sept brides, I realise that I have a lot of catching up to do!

have not gone for first dress fitting yet...am trying to diet first, but the CNY sure doesnt help. anyone else out there trying to lose 5-10 pounds by June (photoshoot time)? looking for moral (weight) support!

By the way, can anyone tell me how much Leapin' Lizard charges for wedding shoes if you bring your WG fabric to them to stick onto the shoes? Thanks!

julia, wow u hv a lot of gowns n they all sound v. pretty. so many colours. ur 1st eg sounds v. sexy.

aileen, welcome to the group! i'm trying to lose weight too, but i seem to put on more than i lost over cny.
chemson got her shoes fr leapin lizard, u can probably ask her for her experiences.

aileen: Welcome to the club ! Which bridal shop did you sign up with ? Errr... to lose 5-10 pounds... well.. eat moderately, exercise and cut down on the carbohydrates and drink lots of water. Try to eat more soupy stuff for lunch....
As for the shoes.. I had mine done at leapin' lizards but I am not sure how much do they charge for using your WG fabric.

och: Thanks.... will be starting on the ceiling and flooring work end next week. Just paid part one of the cost... shall be keeping our fingers crossed. Used marble homogenous tiles for the living/dining hall area..

julia: Your gowns sound wonderful... dun worry.. I can imagine what they look like...
Am sure you had fun designing the concepts with her....

Cowie: Dun forget to share with us your ROM photos, ok ?

hallo gals,
me enjoying a 1 wk MC at home cuz i juz took out 2 wisdom teeth!
cowie, glad that u are enjoying ur new status!
och, i think we have to submit our IRAS specifically if we dun want to counted as being assessed with our husbands, rite?
julia - think ur gowns sound really fabulous! u must have a great figure! :-)

i know which shop u are talking abt in wheelock place, yes i must agree the shoes quite reasonable.

all gals - btw, do the bridal shops charge less if u buy ur own material?

aileen: welcome ! welcome! i think u r already quite fortunate to hv the wedding dinner the next day!

chemson, all the best for ur reno!

Hi Julia,
Oh, your EGs sound lovely....... bet you must look great in them!

Hi Och and Chemson,
Will share the photos with you gals

Hi Aileen,
Welcome

Septembergal: Thanks ! Need all the luck... I am particularly concern with the outcome of the flooring...
Shall be keeping my fingers crossed... ;) Some bridal places prefer you to get the material from them and dun allow you to bring in your own. There are some who allow you to bring in your own material and at most, they charge you labour cost. I prefer to assess separately for IRAS...

Aileen: Oh yes... do give leap'in lizards a call with regards to getting your own materials.

julia: Just curious.. how come you are having two EGs??

hmm... seems like most of u gals have chosen ur gowns. i am a bit worried that i might not choose an EG i like since i cannot find anything i like during my past 3 visits to my bridal boutique. they keep telling me that i can always MTM at a cost of a few hundred dollars but i dun really like the feeling of my heart hanging there until i see that what they made is what i want.

my WG is MTM, i am already very scared that they can't deliver. if EG also MTM, my heart will be very weak. just hope that everything turns out well la.

Hey Blossom,

Dun worry ! Did you ask your bridal shop..will they be bringing in new stock of gowns? I am sure they update their gown collection frequently and in addition, they are tied up closely with their head office in Taiwan, right? I would take that they will bring in new gowns. In any case... maybe you might like to check with your co-ordinator and assess what kind of style they can design for you and go from there.. dun be stressed, ok ?

chemson, what's marble homogeneous tiles? is it those v. smooth polished homoegeneous tiles? what's the colour theme for ur house? share leh, share leh.

septembergal, yep, hv to submit separately if we want to be assess separately.
that's what i did last yr. but they still sent the tax assessments to my il's place without my permission!
these govt offices har, so presumptuous. bcos of that, my il had the opportunity to rip open my tax assessments n commented that my salary is so low. like i need pple to tell me my salary is low.

blossom, u hv designed the wg oredi? describe leh.
u can ask the shop to make the wg first. if u like the wg n it fits well, there's more reason to be confident that they can deliver the eg.

och: Marble homogeneous tiles... yep... is the very smooth, polished kind of homo tiles.. that look very similar to marble.. except it's easier to maintain and 40% cheaper in terms of pricing. Have not decided anything yet in terms of the colour scheme... just want our place to look classy and cosy....what abt yours? Care to share?
What kind of tiles did you use for the living/dining area? For the IRAS... they still send our tax assessment separately to our individual addresses. In addition, efile.. more convenient and hassel free.

Hi Chemson

I've got 2 EG cos 1 EG is paid by me. I bought some thai silk sometime ago and ask Dang 2 design something for me. Since she is charging me a better price as I took the package from her, I decided to do it with her.

Looks like all of u r having fun renovating yr new home.........I got to stay with the in laws coz my FH is the only son. no choice lah.

My ROM will be on this Friday and I am having this really weird feeling, dunno how to describe. Its nervous+stress+happy+excited+worried. Does anyone have such a feeling before? Is that what people call pre-marriage stress?

Hi Jolene,

Yep.. been there... U start feeling excited.. yet you feel nervous and worried whether things will go wrong or not...right? Dun worry.... savour the moment.. cos the ceremony lasts only less than 5 mins.... and the vows mean a lot...
Enjoy the occasion,ok ? Where did you get your ROM outfit from ? Anyone doing your make-up?

Hi, gals!

Julia - My WG is abit like urs! The difference is that I am having an organza overlay so the back split will be organza with duchess satin beneath
I like ur EGs too
Me hving headache over my EG designs...

Chemson - was complaining to FH abt the difficult choice i hv to make regarding the EG designs as i like both...he actually volunteered to pay for one!!
...so me might hv 2 EGs..hehehe...me very wasteful hor :P...so still deciding...
Hey, my flat comes with homogenous tiles too
very nice!

aileen - welcome! welcome!

Cowie - Looking forward to see ur photos too

septembergal - i shld think they will charge less, rite??? R u thinking of buying ur own materials?

och - wah, why ur il so like dat? open ur letters?? hope mine wont open mine when i move in wiz them...they sure will nag after seeing all the credit card bills..hahaha

blossom - dun worry..if urs is OTR...still got time for them to bring in new stock

ok, hv a great day gals!

Hi Jolene

Hv fun....it is once in the lifetime experience.

Hi Aileen

5 to 10 pounds, I heard the NTUC 3 days diet works. I am also trying to lose about 10 pounds. Trying the low cabor diet. My sis just recommended a product from clarins called linse??? not sure how 2 spell but u might want 2 try.

hi, Jolene

Congrats! Enjoy the day!! So, hv u decided where to go after ur rom ceremony??
Remember to take nice nice pics n share wiz us

Hi Kat22,

Me.. toying with the idea of wearing my kwa to either welcome my guests and say good-bye to my guests...
Need to talk to Shirley regarding doing an organza overcoat... with mandarin collar. see how it goes....your FH is so sweet.... he is willing to pay the 2nd EG for you. What the heck... go for two....once in a lifetime, right?

I'm back! Gong Xi Fa Cai to all of you. Just came back from holiday! Have a bad trip of all. I was sick during my 2nd day of tour. I "shang tu xia xie" and even went to see doctor. What a trip!

As for my 1st gown trial, definitely going for bustier but design wise still pending. Got to go down for 2nd trial again. Have you gals got enough "ang baos"? I think I better do it first before the 15 days of CNY is over.

thanks <FONT COLOR="ff0000">JenJen &amp; miko</FONT>

my ROM overall ok lor.

we had 2 photographers, Leslie to take B/W, a fren to take <FONT COLOR="ff0000">c</FONT><FONT COLOR="119911">o</FONT><FONT COLOR="0000ff">l</FONT><FONT COLOR="ff6000">o</FONT><FONT COLOR="aa00aa">r</FONT>. then also a fren who used his digital camera to take for us, and our own "dummy" camera for a few shots (leftover from our last Bali trip)

<FONT COLOR="119911">morning</FONT> was a rush, cos after my makeup artist left, then i realised my strappy gown not tight enuff. asked my mum to help but guess she made it worse. no choice, rushing for time so gotta hurry to ROM centre, then asked my hubby's elder sister to re-tie for me. but she also didn't arrange the cross-back straps nicely (found out fr 1 of the pics captured on the dummy camera) {sad}

no major hiccups during the <FONT COLOR="aa00aa">ceremony</FONT>, except hubby missed a line when reading the vow (in abidding love....) so the JP gotta repeat again for him, and i was like "oh no, am i to repeat also?!?!" other then that, all's well.

took only abt <FONT COLOR="0077aa">3-4</FONT> rolls of pics, most are repeated (but diff angles, i guess) since we weren't ask to try many different poses by each photographer..

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">lunch</FONT> is at Fatty's at Bugis. had 2 tables. also include "yu sheng" in the meal. total bill less than $400, still within budget.

nothing is out yet, except the few pieces (1 with my eyes closed, 1 with hubby's eyes closed, 1 partially blocked, etc...) from the dummy camera whh we asked 1 of our frenz to juz "anyhow" snap for us (guess he really anyhow snap).

will try to scan the pics in when i get hold of hubby's scanner and install it in office. meanwhile, juz hope my fren will upload the pics he took from his digital camera ASAP so that i can share with SB brides....

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">JenJen, miko, starfruit, JasTan</FONT>
really enjoyed talking to u gals. but next time gotta try n meet on time, if not we'd chit-chat till very late..

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">all nov brides</FONT>
may i propose we meet up like, say, <FONT COLOR="0000ff">once a month</FONT>? of cos, we'll rotate to be the organiser lah, cannot always be me rite?

Hi Chemson,

My rom gown is MTM by Jazreel Low collections. After that, they will add more flowers and stuff to modify it into my wedding gown in Sept. Bouquet and makeup/hairstyling is covered FOC by them too. Actually we must pay but we spoke to Jazreel who agreed to cover the cost for us.

Julie - Ya, I know its a once in a lifetime but the feeling is still kinda weird. My fren liken it to the feeling when you know you are pregnant with a miracle inside you.... learning to relax now cos' I have trouble getting to sleep at night.

Kat22, I have decided to go Tunglok at Liang Court for lunch, then to Sheraton for photo-taking. Love the waterfall there. Hopefully, my pics turn out well and I can share with all of you here.

Thanks for all your assurance to my jitters...

Hi, Chemson

I think it's a great idea to wear the kua to say goodbye to ur guests!
...for welcoming, why dun u wear ur WG..that way, ur guests can see ur WG more clearly
...after all the hard work in designing...must "show-off" mah

as for the organza overcoat...is it to go wiz ur pink dress?? I think u r seeing Shirley this Thu?? What time r u planning to go? Thot of going down this Thu too to discuss abt my EG 'cos my FH cant make it on wed n Fri
will call shuping later to see if she can squeeze me in :P if not, then may hv to go on sat...

LMF - welcome back!! oh dear, hope u r ok now? must be a case of "shui tu bu fu"
Hv fun during ur second trial!

chemson, i din change most of the floor tiles of my house. wanted to save money since the previous owner had v. nice floor tiles.
my living n dining rm floors r beige marble. it leads to an open dry kitchen that has off-white ceramic tiles. the wet kitchen has the same floor tiles, but it has white ceramic wall tiles n off-white beige sink + stove support using polished homoegenous tiles. we din change the stairs, so it still has pinkish beige tiles n a chestnut brown support.
walls r painted white thru out cos i thot the house look rather dark with the original beige walls. we initially wanted light maple wood furniture but it was difficult to find cheap furniture of that colour a few months back. so we went with walnut brown furniture n cabinets. lightened the look with lots of beige or light brown cushions, glass tops n green plants.

glad to find another efiler of income tax!
i love efiling, it's so fast n simple.

jolene, agree with chemson, savour the moment. it's over so fast i could scarcely believe it.

lmf, u r back! welcome back. hope u hv recovered fr the "shui tu bu he". angbaos wise... i think i got enuf liao. i was just counting my ang bao money. i dread to think how much i need to give out in angbao next yr.

Happy Chinese New Year! Sorry for replying late, have been really busy lately...

Carol:
I won't be taking casual shots liao. As for outdoor location, I am thinking of Sentosa, fort canning, chinatown area. What do u suggest?

Kittycat:
My evening gown is purple in colour. What colours are u considering? Have u thought of the design yet? For my make-up artist, I chose Jac Law... solely based on Jean's recommendation ('cos no experience mah). Btw, you're not taking any photos or you got your own photographer?

Veil:
Ted is a talented designer. Usually on your 1st appt with him, he will find out your tastes for gowns, like colours, necklines, cut, embroidery, etc. So this is the time to let him know that u prefer less embroidery, want a boat neck for example. And then during your 2nd meeting, he will show u 3 designs which he feels will suit u, while at the same time incorporating your ideas in his designs. But if u suggest a particular style which u like, but in his opinion doesn't suit u, then he will try to convince u to change your mind. So try not to take it to heart if he says things like," Yee, too cheena." Or "If u want to wear that, then u must lose weight 1st." Because ultimately, he wants us to be beautiful brides lor. Maybe so that we can act as walking advertisements for his gowns!

Hope you can decide soon. Good luck!

finally back after my very long CNY break from work. How is everyone?

Angelia : Congrat!!!!!!!!!!! i can't wait to see ur photo.. the beautiful bride. let us know when the photos r ready for viewing okie.

JenJen : I saw ur reponse/ message thread under the Nick Goh (Image maker photographer). seems bad leh. any further comments? i was planning to sign-up with him lor.

Miko/jasTan : Nice meeting u gals too. how was ur chinese new year?

Jolene: The food @ Tunglok is good.. plus it's still CNY... can 'lau yu sheng' as well....

LMF: Happy New Year. Hope you have a great holiday...

Och: Wow.. your living/dinner area sounds great. My kitchen is dim, therefore we are using a pinkish-whitish kind of homo tiles... with another border of orangy tiles around the pinkish-whitish tiles. We are using a wooden skirting together with my marble homo tiles. Have not decided on the colour scheme.. but we have retained the tiles provided by the HDB for the 2 bathrooms as well as the kitchen wall tiles.

Hi Kat22,

Yep... gonna have my make-up done up early.. so that I can come down to greet my guests in my WG. As for my apptm with Shirley... I have set it at 4.30 pm....yep..... it's to go with the pink dress.... will you be coming as well?

Hi, Chemson

Just spoke to Shuping. Managed to fix an appt with Shirley at 6:15pm...will prob reach there at abt 6pm as Shirley has another appt at 7pm. Will u stay until then? Hope to see u

Hi Elaine:
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Happy New Year</FONT>

Hey, Sentosa is a hot spot for wedding shots. Nice beaches, senery under one place...
Have you make any arrangement with them about having photogarphy there?

Chinatown is a good spot for those B/W timeless shots, look very nice with those shop houses.

Cheers:
carol

Hi Kat22,

My apptm is at 4.30 pm... cos after that.. I need to check with leap'in lizards to see if my shoes are ready for fitting as well.... yep... dun mind waiting awhile to see you...Will you be there?? Hope to see you too...

Hi Babes...
it's been weeks since i last 'spoke'..and you gals have got so much being posted...wow lots of catch up to be done...seems like it...

julia andrews:ah har..i finally spot a babe that's going thru similiar stuff as i'm supposed 2 b. So which part of Malaysia is ur banquet gonna be?? And in this case, r u gonna find ur makeup artist from there??

Hi gals...
do u really need to go for your selection of gowns so early?? I've not done anything. I'm still trying hard to finalise my quotation with contractors...*sob* i'm expected to have the flat ready before June otherwise it's gonna be very rush for both of us...

Cowie> ur ROM's makeup by Sandy?? Is she good??
i feel like engaging her services leh..since my make-up artist fren is charging sky-rocket high...

Hi el,

For some of us, our gowns are Made to Measure... therefore, we need to select and design them early cos we have to take our photoshoot early as well..... el... dun forget abt the hidden costs in the renovation quotation... I had two done.. one had hidden costs... the 2nd one was upright more honest and prompt. The first one said they could not come up with a design so soon cos of CNY.... plus... its quote excluded a lot of hidden costs.

Hi Chemson,
yah..i know abt some contractors very sek..promise this or that..in the end, when u receive their quotation...u hope u had never spoken 2 them at all....

meanwhile,i'm racing against time. I jus hope nothing would upset my schedule..still deciding whether should i extract my wisdom tooth or not... *sigh* so much things to take care of..but so little time,resources..$$$ also...

Hi Jolene,
Well, I can understand what you mean.....just went thru my ROM. But try to remind yourself to relax cos on the day itself, everything will just be breezing past, and things WILL fall into place
Not to worry so much yah?!

Hi El,
Sandy was very punctual for my make-up session. Her make-up does look nice and natural under natural lighting
Why not meet up with her for a chit-chat session first, then decide if you want to engage her service? Can discuss with her type of hairdo and colour of make-up etc....

hi Angelia,

CONGRATS!!! now MRS liao, no longer MISS ( ha ha )
Rom finally over, now awaiting for BIG DAY to come

cant wait to see your fotos, must let us view, okie?

Sori, recently very buzi with work, dun have much time to come into this thread but will try my very much to come in more often

Hi Cowie,
I've met her before..coincidentally i'd say. A contractor brought me to his customer's flat to show me his workmanship..and it happened 2b Sandy's place.

She has a very cute white puppy.... :P

for me, price is 1 factor in deciding the makeup artist..but on the otherhand, 2b comfortable with the makeup artist is another importance...*sigh* such a dilemma...should i jus give 600 to my fren and be comfortable w her or pay lesser than that amt but not sure of how comfy i'm with Sandy....??!! gosh..tough choice!!

Hi el,

Had my make-up done for my ROM as well by Sandy. SHe is very punctual and she finishes within the designated one hour. SHe is very easy-going as well.... do contact her, ok ?

Jolene,
Relax.. enjoy the occasion.. once in a lifetime thingy... smile !

Hi el

I'm from Malacca. will be getting the make up artist from there. My sister help me to shop for it and she shortlisted some. I will be making a trip down probably in April/ May to confirm. I will not be wearing my WG there as some of the relatives will also attend the wedding here in Spore. That is why I hv 2 EG. 1 of them I intend to wear in Malacca.

Kat22

I also hv no idea......Dang design &amp; suggested to me. Not sure how it looks when it is done but I hope I will like it. At least the colours are ok.

hi julia andrew

lucky u.at least not that far off..compared to myself... So, how much do they charge in malaysia?

Hi, gals

Chemson - I shld be there abt 6pm 'cos I am on course and it will end at abt 5:30pm. Maybe we can show each other our gown designs
This is so fun

Julia - Dang did a gd job..the gowns all sound so lovely! I oso rely on my designer although i oso browse through mags and websites to get some ideas. I am a visual person so must visualise or else not at ease...hahaha

El- hv you decided whether to switch to Divine@JB?

Jolene - Tunglok at Liang Court is very gd..gd choice! Yup, me love the waterfall too
Me oso planning to take pics there ;) oh, btw, do u know if we can tell woodsville how we want the ballroom decor to be like? Wonder if the decor is up to them or do we hv a say on how we want it apart from just choosing the flowers??

Gals- how abt ur hotels?

Hi Elaine,

I am only doing actual day photos.... no studio/outdoor shots for me. As for my gown, I want something simple, probably a sheath silhouette - nothing too heavy or complicated. I wld prefer to hv the focus of the gown be on the embroidery. I was thinking of having a bustier dress with a see-through bodice as an outer piece. But it all depends on what Ted Wu recommends and yes, he'll definitely tell me to lose weight first! Coz that's what I think I need to do.

I have no particular colour in mind yet... but I like those bright jewel tones like orange, dark pink and the purple. My fren wore a purple evening gown and it was gorgeous.

As for outdoor shots, I think Chinatown would be nice. I like these old places, got a lot of character. Some of those refurbished shophouses along Everton Park or Neil Rd are quite nice too.

Hi Kat22,

I will wait for you then.. see you at 6 pm, ok ? I will pop over to Leap'in Lizards first and then come over to meet you. Yep.. this will be fun...
Err....where's woodsville?? I guess we can choose the flowers, the ice scarving as well.... the decor shd be std I guess...

Hi again!

Septembergal: U r so right! I was lucky to get the next night! am warning all friends thinking of getting married end of this year or next to book early man!

Chemson: thanks, I will call Leapin' Lizard soon...am asking a friend of my FH to make the gown for me, figured might as well go with a friend, diet just went bust today cos I had a nice dinner...heheh

Hi to Kat22, Cowie, OCH and Julia Andrew...

Julia, havent heard of the Clarins, but today someone just told me of some growth hormone for people over 30 years old which really works and is from GNC...I am a tru-blu sucker for these kinda things, she couldnt remember the name though (as always), when I find out I will post it! eh..whatever works man...as long as can look good on that day!

Hi, Chemson

Ok, set, see u at 6pm
Oh, woodsville florist is doing the ballroom decor for sheraton. think it's located in joo chiat. i guess as much...was wondering if i cld get some fresh flowers to be tied to the VIP seats, organza runners for the VIP table etc...hehehe..asking too much hor

Hi Gals! I'm back! Have been sick the whole of last week. Down with flu. Sigh! London is so cold now.
Lots to catch up, but it's so fun to read.

Kat22: thanks for suggestions of venue. My fiance and I like Alkaff v.much too. Definitely considering it. I celebrated CNY in bed, with lots of tissue papers and flu bug and my fiance who's sick too. Sigh!! No ang pows too 'cos all relatives are in Singapore.

Oh, I am also going to solemnise before my reception too. It will be real romantic. Now, I must find the right backdrop.

Chemson: I just realise that I have only about 6.5 months left. Oh dear!
$350 for MTM EG seems reasonable, but I went to several bridal shops before and they told me that it will cost at least $900 to MTM one. Which bridal shops are you referring to? I saw one in Tan Yoong before and tried it on, absolutely loved it, but it cost $1200 to make if I don't take the package. Expensive, isn't it?

Septembergal: thanks for tips. I may come back sometime in May if I cannot find nice EG here. What is a corti? Instead of a pure white EG, have you tried other near-whites colours like pearl, ivory, silver etc?

Cowie: congrats!! Please show us your ROM photos when you are ready.

Julia, Och: I am Hokkien too. Luckily, my parents didn't insist on too many things. But they still want the 'bride price',pig trotters and cakes for relatives. My fiance was really shocked when I first mentioned 'bride price' to him as he grew up in London, so didn't know anything about such customs. Julia, I think it's amazing that you can handle this so well. Wow! And your dresses are going to be so lovely! I especially love the designs of your EGs. How much more do you have to pay for the additional EG, if you don't mind me asking?

Och: What is guo da li?

Aileen: welcome! welcome! To lose weight, ask me!! don't worry lah... easy to lose 5 pounds. Just make sure you walk min.30 min daily and walk fast. Have good breakfast, healthy lunch, light dinner (preferably at least 3-4hours before sleep), no friied food, chocolates and go light on carbohydrates esp. at night. Eat snacks like bananas, apples, pears and grapes when you are hungry. Try this out, guarantee success!!

Blossom: don't worry. I think I am the slowest in this thread. I have only picked the wedding date, no venue, no dress, nothing else has been done yet! I give you moral support. Cheers!! We can make it lah!

Jolene: Good luck for this Friday. Enjoy!!