(2002) Brides of year 2002

<FONT COLOR="119911">bluechin</FONT>

just curious, the ban jia zhuang thingy is meant for all brides irregardless of dialects? me no an chuang at all...

pk,
Glad all went well for your wedding.

ohno,
could it be that u r getting excited or nervous over the coming wedding cos this is happening to me too!

Yah.... u muz drink more water ok! also take more rest.

I think the hotel should be ok with the drop in attendance if it fits their minimum.

Jaslyn &amp; aprmin,
actually i also order canned pig trotters but we only gave it to some of the older relatives so dun have to have so many cans.

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">bluechin</FONT>
thanks! tat's wat my MIL told me oso.. no need so many cans one lor... hee... so u all got from NTUC ah?

ohno,
actually all these customary differs for different dialects and in each dialect, there r also different grps.

Then again individuals may opt to completely not have customary ceremonies for their wedding and also some who have most and some which have selective ceremonies. So nowadays it's optional.

I also took quite a bit of pictures for my Guo Da Li.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">pk,</FONT>
glad that ur wedding went smoothly.
envy u leh, can eat potato chips liao.. but u no good leh.. announce here..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">aprmin,</FONT>
it's u ask from them, not ur MIL ask from u..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jaslyn,</FONT>
u got 126 relatives to give cakes to?? wah, so many.. all from bride side?? the purpose of the canned pig trotters is to inform ur RELATIVES that ur mum is "Marrying off Daughter".

i guess ur 126 boxes include those ur mum giving to frenz rite? those frenz dun need to give canned pig trotters... only RELATIVES!!

but hor, i din give cake or canned pig trotters to my COUSINS.. me only gave to "aunty &amp; uncle" generation.. but hor, 1 of my aunt-in-law says as long as RELATIVE gotta give.. but boh chap lah.. already rushing, then oready din give, wat to do?!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">ohno,</FONT>
tell u wat... i only took 2 pix leh.. 1 of the things my mum place on the table (but she oready return the candles, so 1 pair not in), the other is of the stuff we return...

then hor, i forgot to take the BRIDAL CAKES leh.. hiaz.. i oso hvn't take the 4-pc jewellery.. maybe when i hv time lor.. actually i got a lot of ideas how to take, but then pai-seh cos the uncle &amp; auntie there (i not familar with them then they like quiet quiet type so i oso dun play play lor) so din take.......

ladies
did your MIL insist to carry a red fan and handkerchief on actual wedding day , when you go to MIL house for tea ceremony?

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">angie</FONT>
ya lor. 126 boxes... 80 boxes for my aunt's friends and biz assoc.. cos not inviting them for dinner mah...

most prob will get 28 or 48 cans of pig trotters lor..

<FONT COLOR="119911">Jaslyn</FONT>
I only give those pig trotters to the older relatives. I bought my pig trotters from Shop N Save cos NTUC have no more stock in cartons for Narcissus brand, only left with Gulong or whatsoever brand were available. Cos my MIL considered Narcissus 'branded' as compared to the rest. Their packing is in a dozen instead of 24 cans per carton.

<FONT COLOR="119911">bluechin</FONT>
maybe u r rite, feeling nervous now... u must take care too. Glad to hear that u're starting your leave this Wednesday, have a good rest.

Guess what... I've seen a very farni DIY bridal car along TPE yesterday. They put 3 huge bears on top of their silver merc and they have this cut-out heart shape pasted on their doors. Furthermore they paste 'Castrol' on their bonnett as though it looked like it's being sponsored, like any other racing cars.

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">ohno</FONT>
oic.. then i think no need buy so many cans rite? can buy 28... thks for ur info..

har?? how u know that bridal car is DIY one?? cos too funnie liao isit??

thnx for reminding me dat i must take pic for GDL.. if not i blur blur. oso nvr take any pic... hee hee...

I think for the paper fan, depending on your dialect, some people might need to get two.

For my case, my mum bought two for me and a handkerchief. I am supposed to throw one of the fan out of the car when I leave the house with my FH. Suppose to carry the other fan and the handkerchief throughout the day till I return to my parents' house lor.

Also,need to buy a red umbrella to shelter the bride when she leave the house with the groom.

<FONT COLOR="119911">aprmin</FONT>
my mum also bought the handkerchief and the fan for me but have no idea when to carry them.
She told me to carry them before the groom come to fetch me in the morning... don't know which procedure to follow now.
<FONT COLOR="119911">Angelia</FONT>, do u know what does it mean if we carry these 2 items?

ohno,
for your case, its your mum whom bought it

for me, my MIL insist i get and use them when i go to her house..
but i been psychoing her against these but duno wat outcome yet.. now i don even dare to mention fan or hankie infront of her. incase it reminded her

Hi Pinky,

Thanks. My new hse is near my MIL's hse. So we'll prob as you have said after going to my MIL's hse go for photoshoot then change to teadress at my hse before going back to my mum's hse then to hotel. But will it be very late liao when I reach my mum's hse?

Anyway, oh so another thing to add to the wedding day checklist:

- red umbrella

Ohno,
Hurray! one more day of work before i start my leave tomolo.

Huh... the car really seems funni looking and unique. It's on the raining Sunday rite? Then how the bears all got wet ah?

Hi folks I am back. Here is an update on my event.

On 7 Nov nite, I droped my phone and no one can call me. My FH still sorting out his guest table cos he have many 8/9 pax in 1 table. One of the "brother's" car crashed, short of 1 brother car.

On 8 Nov, my hubby's phone battery died, no helpers can contact me &amp; him. We went to collect flowers from the bridal shop, flowers not arrived.. almost gone without flowers.

Then on 9 NOV, my FIL informed my hubby that the uncle prefers muslim food then chinese food (at 1pm). Gotto make changes last and print out list. Printer konk out!!!!!

At 9 Nov, solemnisation supposed to start at 6.15pm. Grassroot leader lost his way and did not turn up till 6.50pm. Rush thru the ceremony and rush to ballroom.

Conclusion: Murphy's at work...
&amp; Thank god its over

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">ohno,</FONT>
wat a unique bridal car deco.. sounds interesting leh... ya lor, was raining so heavily, the poor 3 little bears dunno drenched like what!!

u better check properly with ur relatives (aunties, uncles &amp; cousins) if they mind not getting the cake &amp; pig trotter (if give cake to relatives muz give pig trotter cos giving pig trotter means "jia nu er").

last nite i very angry!!
my 1st auntie (mum's elder sis) called &amp; complain. story goes like this....

1st auntie is not at home on Sun, so we put the cake+pig trotter (meant for her) at her eldest daughter's place (together with the invites for her 3 daughters=>my cousins). but my eldest cousin oso not at home, so we left it with her MIL &amp; my mum told her the cake &amp; pig trotter is for my auntie, &amp; the invites for the daughters are inside the bag.

think yesterday 1st auntie's youngest son wanted to go to the sister's place to get the cake+pig trotter+invite but the sis told him they finished it liao..

then my 1st auntie called last nite to ask how come nvr give cake. then my mum told her we left it at her 1st daughter's place. auntie said they finished it.. then asked how come we invite her daughters but so STINGY din give cake + pig trotter to her 3 daughters!!!

i was so angry!! cos i din invite all my cousins (mum's side), i invited her 3 daughters cos we like on better terms.. then she complain if wanna invite, then muz give cake+pig trotter, if so STINGY then dun invite at all!! (actually, think she juz dun want to lose out. initially she oready told my mum dun need to invite the daughters => wanna save ang pow) but then, my thinking was, i on quite friendly terms with them, so actually their invitation is "SENT BY ME", they not invited by my parents mah!! so i din give cake+pig trotter lor.. then she come &amp; complain!! i so fed up!!

previously when we call her to ask thing regarding the wedding prep, she told us dunno, dunno.. then now come complain!! i so mad i told my mum, she wants cake izzit? on wedding day i order a dozen boxes for her lor!!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">aprmin, ohno,</FONT>
the fan &amp; handkie should hv been bought when u go buy the GDL stuff.. there are 2 fans (both for actual day). 1 for throwing (then ur mum picks it up), the other(which comes with a handkie) is to hold it &amp; bring to MIL's place on actual day.

belief is that bad guys &amp; evil spirits always come to "snatch the bride". so the fan &amp; handkie is to "ward off evil".

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">pk,</FONT>
wah.. looks like really a lot of things happened!! but nvm lah.. "xian ku hou tian" mah..

u shld hv dropped by a nearest M1 customer service shop &amp; get a replacement SIM card.. they din charge me (or maybe charged in next bill but they din mention then i oso forgo to ask), &amp; can get on the spot, activated within 2 hrs..

Our weddding dates are approaching... how's everyone preparation so far? Suppose to have a lot of things to do hor.. but so far, still quite eng for me leh
Think i will have a lot of last min work to be done :p

wah! why ur auntie like dat one?? i oso bue tahan these type of ppl... aaaaaaaarrrrggghhhhh!!!!!

think u got the wrong person liao.. it was agnes who had many experiences b4 her wedding, not pk..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">agnes,</FONT>
oops... so sorrie i got the wrong name

thx for telling me the error..

aiya, she lucky my brother not at home last nite, else she sure kena from my brother!! anyway, it's over.. my mum says if she wants the cake, then she give to her this couple of days lor.. then she somemore say "people give cake on GDL day only, where got give after one!" can't stand her.. let's see how much angpow she giving me on that day.. talk so much!!

Wow, didn't know that so many girls here getting married in Dec.

I'm a bit late though, but can I join?
How's preparation for everyone?

hi decbride,

of course you're welcome to join us!!

i've started writing my cards last night, and boy..tedious..i haven't finished writing, will go home straight after work to finish today!! also one tip is when friends call u now, just ask whether they'll be going to your wedding, saves a lot of time!!!!

Hi val,

i think should be ok to go back to ur mom's place aro 12-1pm. that's also the time when ur entourage will break for lunch and rest &amp; relax mah.

if u're afraid that it'll be very late, maybe u can start earlier or have ur photoshoot at a area near ur own home.

i'm also printing my cards at the moment. ya, it's really tedious :P

i'm feeling so very tired.

Val, i saw it another thread that u've got a dog, i will be getting a puppy this wednesday, but she's 4 months old liao. wat's the breed of ur dog?

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">all bad things come together.... today P&amp;R supposed to deliver our replacement for bedroom set.. but is cancelled because their QC have checked and said the current batch of goods are not up to standard. Therefore have to wait till next shipment which is about 2 weeks later. hubby told them that we need it before our wedding and they said they will try but cannot guarantee because all depends on the ship (which might be slowdown due to weather....etc).

think we have to use our current one for the wedding if they cannot make it.

guess i gotta "an chuang" already then change bed after wedding..</FONT>

Hi angelia,

Can "an chuang" for another bed meh? Did you buy your bed quite late? Furniture shops always like to give such excuses. See if you can insist that you want the bed by hook or by crook.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">mint,</FONT>
actually not the whole bed lah.. juz the headboard &amp; footboard..

think it's not excuse lor.. it's Picket &amp; Rail leh.. think shld be reliable one!!

Hi strawberry,

I'm also going to collect my cards from the printer this weekend. Going to be a tedious weekend writing and tying all those cards. :P

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Hi Girls</FONT>:

I a back..from my honemoon.. enojoyed my self tremendously... and as usual..Maldives is really beautiful and as usual it was too short!

feel so funny now.. like everything hasbeen a dream.. heheh.. feel kinda lost today.. so nothing to rush about and prepapr anymore... hehehe.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">jenjen</FONT>: must be still in hotel today isit? how did ur wedding went? did u sort out ur march in songs?

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">ohno</FONT>:
Urs coming soon eh, 8 ore days.. haha.. so everything in control?

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">bluechin and Angelia</FONT>:
Have u met up with with Nick yet? i will be collecting my photos within these 2 days.. ;).. will share them with u girls soon.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">jowie</FONT>:
now relax eh.. hehehe.. so how did the photos turned out?

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">pk</FONT>: hehe.. i also worried that i will turn out ugly in my photos.

Starfruit!!! You are back!!! hehehe... me no time to login after 2 days at the hotel... how's ur honeymoon??

ok, abt my wedding... hmmm... I would say everything went perfectly as planned!! Very pleased with the proceedings... in the morning, we managed to go for outdoor photography then after we finished and drove off in the car, then the rain started... so it was just nice... weather not too hot either...

most relatives and frens also told me that the wedding banquet was very grand... food was good...

I love the day cos my march-in song was very romantic... almost last min then decided to use it... champagne popped successfully... and most imptly, we didn't get saboed!!

enjoy urs when it's ur turns!!

oh yah, gals, whose wedding is next, using Daniel as emcee?? we didn't get a chance to pass him the ang pow... so if u can let me know, i can drop by, just to pass it to him... and of cos hopefully can catch a glimpse of the beautiful bride!!

Starfruit,
Glad u enjoy your honeymoon.

I met up with Nick sometime ago and i think i posted it in the forum but u probably didn't see my posting.

Jowie is away for honeymoon. She will only be back on the 15th.

angelia,
juz noticed your posting.....

poor girl..... so how? do u think they will be able to send u the bedroom set? or u gonna use the old one first? <FONT COLOR="ff0000">*SaYaN*</FONT>

hi all, i think mine will be the really last min...
i had got all ready except my guest list and my invitation...only meeting the printer tomorrow.. hope they can do it fast...

regd
joanne

Romona - Sorry to hear that your FH's grandma just passed away. Hope your are not taking it too badly. Will there be major changes which you have to deal with?

joannelps - dun worry too much. it should still be in time.though i got my cards in oct, i still have not start writing....aiyah.....

pinky - you are getting a puppy today? what breed? i also have dogs leh. i have two, one maltese and the other one a shetland.

val - yar...what breed is ur dog?

Wah all of you seem to have gotten your cards and started writing liao hor...Me still haven gotten my cards yet
Maybe I shld call my banquet manager liao...So joanne, me same as you..also haven confirm my guest list...

Thanks Pinky, I think have to do that lor...hmm...maybe can go to the bt.panjang park near my hse. hehe

Romona, so sorry to hear that, so how? yah lor What changes will there be? Will it be postpone or wat? I rmb you same date with me lair...

Pinky &amp; Corie,
Oh my doggie is a maltese, named him louis. Yours? When I bought him, I was told he was 4 mths old...but it turns out tat he's already 6 mths old liao after seeing his DOB on his health card. No wonder I saw so much difference in a 2 mth old and him...Ay..pinky how come your dog not cash and carry one? Corie your maltese how old liao? The 2 can get along meh? both same sex? Dunno I shld get another to accompany my louis..cos after marriage, no one will be at home to accompany him...

Hi angelia, saw that you also bought P&amp;R stuff. I had bought their bedroom set too, the 6-piece set that was on sale at $999. Which set did you buy? I'm asking for delivery to be in early Jan 03. Dunno if there will be probs with the delivery. Got my set at Suntec. I thot the guy, a short chap, Stewart, was very nice. I'm quite tempted to get their new fabric sofa set (3+2), at $999, the one that comes in maroon, blue, green, yellow. But dunno if I'm being too hasty and if there are better bargains elsewhere. But I quite like their stuff which I tot was quite good quality and the sale prices very good. You think it's worth getting more stuff from them? after all, they charge the same delivery costs/assembly whether you buy one or more items.
BTW, what was the prob with your set?
Sigh! After reading your post, was thinking isn't there a reliable furniture store in Singapore? Seems like a lot of people hv probs with well known shops.

As its within 100 days, so we will still proceed our wedding. I have to cancel my dinner as there lots of conflict during the wake, and that means some relatives will not turn up/being invited. So, to save all those craps, we just have wedding celebration within our families. Since its just dinner btw immediate family, my WG is WASTED - no chance to wear leh. Quite funny if I wear it to restaurant just for dinner. :P And my photographer has nothing much to take for our dinner... coz' my friends party will be next day afternoon and he won't able to make it. Now I have to source for another photographer that meet my budget. My Wedding cards is no use now.

Its a bit disappointed lor after we have done up so many stuffs.
11480.gif

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">maya,</FONT>
we bought the 8-pc ($1499) set. oso bought from Suntec Branch.. but it's a lady who serves us.. forgot her name liao..

actually it's not P&amp;R problem.. think it's more of manufacturing prob.. the headboard &amp; footboard got "holes", the stool unbalance, forgot what are the others lah.. anyway, they told us it'll be 1-1 exchange (no question asked).

think P&amp;R is quite reliable lah.. think a lot of couples bought their furniture from them.. anyway, at least they told us the latest shipment failed QC &amp; ask us to wait for the next shipment..

for ur case, i think maybe u try to shop around first... if by Dec still cannot find a better (priced) one, then get the P&amp;R set.. then get them to deliver together in Jan lor..

hv u booked the delivery date with them? think u better book early if u want them to delivery on Sat (Sun will be extra charge) cos their Sat usu. full.

hmm... ur wedding in Jan? if so, i'd advise u to get them to deliver to u abt 1-2 mths in adv.. so that if there's any defect, u still hv time to change (muz take into consideration their delivery schedule as well) else, like us... now oso dunno how!! juz pray hard they can make it in time, &amp; the replacement will be without defects.. else, will still hv to change again!!

Hi Romona,

That means you wun get to wear your wedding gown at all? How bout the customary of ying qing your hubby coming for you in the morning? Ever thot of postponement?

For your fren's party, is it like a buffet? I attended a buffet style lunch at the couple's hse before the bride wore the EG thru'out the whole thing. It was quite nice too...think of it this way you can mingle more with your guest this way.

hi romana,

eh, you can have the celebration with your friends and family together? Can exclude those relatives who cannot come.

That way you don't have to cancel your wedding dinner?

I can recommend my photographer to you if you want. I think he is charging $300 for sevice and $35 per roll of film for 4R including album.

Or you can wear your WG and go for outdoor PS. Can have more memories.

Hi Romona, sorry to hear abt this.

did u book ur dinner from a hotel? any chance of reducing the tables to abt 3-4 and having it in a small function room instead? that way, u can invite ur immediate families and some very close friends instead and u can still wear ur gown in that way, so it wont be wasted and strange (since u're in a enclosed room). u wouldnt need to have a separate party the next day if this can be done, so wont need to look for another photographer. anyway, it's just a suggestion, hope can give u some ideas.

hi val &amp; corie,

nice to hear both of u have dogs too
my dog is a jack russell, and it's abt 4 months old. Val, ur dog got a nice name. mine is a girlgirl, so we named her miffy
we din bring her home immediately, cos we need to arrange our schedules to take care of her, cos our home only got me &amp; hubby. tonite, will bring her home and i've taken 2 days leave to be at home to look after her. Actually, i'm also quite worried that she'll be bored alone at home, i think leaving some toys for her to play will be good :P