(2002) Brides of year 2002

loreal

hi! J.andrew,

yah agree with u.. at least photos can be kept for sweet memories.. But quite a few of my married frens told me no point developing so much cos ultimately its put into store..collecting dust haha.. So sad to hear that.. I wanted to heed their advise but hard to resist the temptation ..

cynthia

Hi mushroom, dun worry... all things will definitely turn out well! Juz relax and smile a lot.

cynthia

dance40

Hi jen jen,

I mean I had my MTM WG in Ivory.
And I happen to choose the photoshoot gown and it seems that they are white in base. My MTM EG is blue.
Taking the khua for photoshoot I think.
And a casual wear

Irene

dance40

romona

hi Apple,

u staying in P21 too!!! Which part are u staying? I'm going to get my keys real soon!!! VERY EXCITED! I'm staying Blk 171.

liz

Hi Loreal and Blossom,

me too go for photo selection already. I was satisfied with my outdoor pics then indoor, end up choose 25pcs extra. Initially me and hubby had agreed on choose only the given but end up like Loreal can't resist the temptation.
Did you gals have the 20 by 24 portrait that they give us (canvas with frame) but now they do have this so call clear "plastic" and it is very nice but have to top up for another $300. Did you gals take this?

I have choose my tea dress when I had my first fitting maybe because I'm using Kua.

Loreal, how many photos do you have in total, mine 116pcs. Really envy you coz your photos is taken by P Tan, it is very nice? Can let me see, plssss.

Blossom, I also had collected my cards and have send for printing, will be getting my cards back this weekend, very fast hor.

Think we got quite a lot of things to buy from now already. Have you gals bought the small red lamp coz I bought it near my place which cost only $1.95.

lingz

helo all,

guess u guys have get over the bluzzz mon
like gemi, me looking for some decos too for my wall... do u guys noe where to get art pieces?

thanks pinkapple...my first fitting will b in end july or early aug..will only noe hows the make up then..hehe

btw, do u gals go for any body scrub or spa for the upcoming big day??

julybride

hmm...recently i dedicated a song on class 95 to hubby and the DJ played the song "Becos u love me" so he plans to sing that...wonder it would be good.
yes, i am getting more and more nervous...keep thinking there's must be sometin which i overlook..
sigh...hope to look gd and that everything will run smoothly
julybride

pinkapple

Hi flowy,

I got buy body scrub for home use lah. bought quite sometime back though... quite fun.

eh... for spa and body scrub ah... me paisay lah. cos ah... go for facial, massage, me already paisay... liao.. shy lah. =p

but recently I got a voucher for spa... mayb will go lah.

blossom

hi loreal,
my fh is ok with the photos. we are not very photogenic, so we dun really have any expectations. just dun expose my flaws can already. i really look so fat in some of the photos.

i reach cc around 6.30pm too. thought i saw someone sitting at the sofa but me really blur that day and i thought u still in kl, so din really look whether it's u.

i thought we stayed quite long leh. at first we tried to select 40extra so that can get back negatives but really cannot. we oni managed to choose 20extra. alan persuaded us and we tried again... still cnt. i think my photos are not that nice but can choose a total of 40 is good enough la.

hi liz,
u also choose ur pics? when? i took the canvas one. initially dun want the portrait but dunno what to exchange for, so take loh.

simon only took 91 photos of us, hmmm... so maybe that's why i chose so few... less to choose from.

loreal, u cnt 'pian xin', must show me ur pics too!!

hmm... i think my mom bought the little red lamps too. battery-operated ones, quite cute but i dunno how much they costs.

jenjen

oic... me thinking wat kind of clothes to choose as casual wear... any suggestions where to buy them?? I see Giordano got this white crew neck T-shirt where they guy models wear but dun see it selling on the shelves??

partygal

Hhi Flowy,

You can try the Metropolitan Museum - they have outlets at Raffles city, Centrepoint and Paragon. Can find some posters there. And also The Loft at Centrepoint. For me, I look at posters cos they are cheaper than original paintings.

Me went for back treatment at Bioskin yesterday. They have this promotion for 1st timers - $48, includes err..steaming, exfoliating & mask (can't remember cos I was almost asleep). Ok lah..not that fantastic, and Ithink not worth going for subsequent treaments cos very costly - $180.

Me very troubled over my back. A bit of improvement, but scared nearer to the wedding, another outbreak again. Oh ya...about back treatment, I found it quite ticklish - very sensitive when they touch my back.

dance40

u could check with the staff.
The one we bought is also from Giodarno. White T-Shirt......
Maybe we'll be wearing that. If not nice than on the spot we change to other costume.

Irene

cowie

Hi Blossom,
The font size should be readable lah....Anyway, confirm with your printer. Believe they will know what font size is suitable

More busy with house reno than wedding preps now. Will be looking for printer soon

yuki

Hi there everyone,
I was just wondering if you gals can assist me in refering some of the place that offers budget buffet lunch to me for my ROM day in Sept? & also any idea where to find the nice wedding bands. The normal few that I know of are so limited. Any new interesting one that I can visit?

julia andrew

Hi Yuki

Welcome. U could try Allson hotel. Their buffet r quite ok.

Och

Not yet. Probably in Aug.

So exited, will b choosing my photos tom.

cowie

Hi Yuki,
You may want to check out Pheonix Garden Cafe at Hotel Pheonix for their buffet lunch? I had my ROM high tea there. The food was quite good and the price was not very expensive too

As for rings, I got mine from Aspial. But I heard from a friend who got hers from Icon (I think somewhere in People's park), she said there is quite a lot of variety there. Saw her ring, must say the design is not bad

mo

hi carol & julybride,

sigh...there seems to be so many thousand and one things to settle. We have not even chosen our march in songs yet, will be going to a friend's place tonite to check out some CDs
getting kinda stress now...and so many things seem to be happening at the same time too. And the worse is that one of our common friend is getting married on the same weekend as us, and my mom's 2 friends are getting married on the same weekend too...arrgghhh...as much as we wanted our guest list to shrink, i hope it won't shrink too drastically. Otherwise, there'll be a li'l problem with hotel.

Sometimes it's really difficult to be excited when not very happy things happen towards your wedding...eg. relatives giving problems, say this and that, etc.

As it is, we brides are already so stress with so many things...plus work...and people around us only seems to be demanding instead of lending a hand. Aarrggghhhhh!!!

Ok...feel much better after letting it out. Thanks for listening gals

bluechin

Irene,

Sorrie to take so long to reply was really busy at work these days.....

Yr gown's very sweet and i like the one with the roses at the back....my hubby liked it too but i dun think it suits me....

I only have the impression of the one with roses at the back...can't recall the rest already...when is yr PS? and when r u going down again?

So have u confirm yr PS gowns yet? u like the colour range?

I dun think u got to see my actual day gowns....Tried em before u came..
I was quite lucky to get my WG cos they imported it from the states and it arrived that morning i went for a fitting....and it fits very well too.... The embroidiery's very pretty at the back and i dun think they can produce this design if they MTM for me so i took it....

The ones u saw me trying on were wat they suggested me to wear for PS.....They wanted me to try gowns that are more sexy as they think it suits me but i was quite shy and conservative about it but oblige since each time i go there they will suggest such gowns to me....Wat do u think?

The trial make up's fine i think..... i dun use make up usually so when the make up's done i wasn't used to it initially.....but after trying so many gowns.....i found it okay and natural....
How about yours? Wat do u think? and yr comments about Ann?

Yah, i agree that the PMs can be really costly..... My hubby also say i should cut down on buying them too!

Btw, wat did u do to yr hair when u said you had yr hair done? where will u be doing yr pedicure and manicure?

--------------------

JenJen,

U R Welcome.....*SMiLeS*

loreal

Hi! Liz/Blossom,
Yah..its very difficult to stay put at the no. of pic given in package..too little..end up album so thin also not very presentable.. Women look most beautiful in wedding pics.. So dun really mind getting more..
Talking about the 20X40 portrait, we didn't want it & opt for table tops instead. My sis hang it in her master bedroom for 1st few yrs and take it down cos she said get tired of looking at it..hahaha.. To prevent this from happening to me..i decided to get the smaller version, table top..at least not so "tin-deh" ..
Me total pic taken is approx 140. I guess its bcos of taking in separate days .. Not to worry i wld share my pics with all of u.. Just tat i m trying hard to get a scanner..thinking of using office scanner but got to learn how to use it 1st. By the way, Liz, where did u go for your card printing? Did u do hotstamping? I got a quotation cost about $150 for hot stamping (260cards)..but dun include strings.. Is this rate ok? Wat r the red lamps u referring to?

jenjen

Hey gals, I'm looking for the whole set of the McDonalds first series Kitties to BORROW for photoshoot... I have both series... just that they are not yet opened... So I am hoping someone kind enuff can lend me if theirs are opened??

craacker

hi mushroom,,,

there is nothing to be stressed abt....

are u using the grand ballroom ?...it is abit different from the map given to us....but once u get the orientation,,it is okie...

and I love the executive suit given to us...it is definitely among the biggest in spore hotel.

lingz

thanks Gemi! wil go n take a look..

wha pinkapple, u DIY? but for back mebe sometimes may not be thorough eunff..hehe..btw, u rec'd ltr fm Amanda (Silh)?? she's leaving!!

hmm, may try and make use of 1st timer promo..gemi, will bioskin staff be pushy abt their package? scare go n try and asked to sign on package..

liz

Hi Loreal,

wow, 140 pics that's a lot and you can get another photo album to put all those photo that you didn't choose. I get a photo album which is very nice that have a crystal border which cost about $23 but only can put 100pcs.

I had my cards print at Jasvy. I did hot stamping, btw, hot stamping did not come with strings unless you do insert then need string. It cost me $176 for 240 cards. If insert then it will cost $154 for 240 cards, $24 for the string. If you are not sure, can ask me again.

The lamp that I'm saying is the one that we need to ON during our wedding day, we have to put it by the side of our bed.

julybride

Haaa...
i have a couple of friends who are getting married on 7 july..perhaps we have common friends? grin.i think 7 july is a hot date.
well, try to stay calm.. get help from friends around u.
I was kinda told off by a friend who said i should have approached people for help by calling or meeting the person directly. U see what happened was that i emailed them the details and then called them. So some not happy lor! dun understd why things have to make difficult for us while when we were asked to be the MCS or ah yees, i didnt complained at all.
sigh
to think abt it we have closely 2 more weeks before the whole tings run. My coordinator mentioned that on that day just relax and let go and they willrun the show for us.so in the meantime work hard.
Perhaps we can crack our heads together. i always feel encouraged after reading the threads here
smile
julybride

pinkapple

Flowy,

yah loh DIY. hee... I use it with this towel I bought from watson... so can reach better.. heehee...

enh... haven't read leh.. going to the silh tread now..
*poop*

mushroom

Hi cracker,

don't know leh i very stressed cos alot of detail wk not done.

yup m using the Grand ballroom. diff like how ?
how was the service and food ? And the decor ? gd ?

i have not seen the executive suite before, really that huge huh ...this is great ....

tam

is anyone having a real wedding cake for their wedding reception? i'm thinking of having one. How many kg should the cake be if i have about 250 guests?

blossom

hi loreal/liz,
is hotstamping better? i got a quote of $150 for 210 cards, seems to be quite ex but the printer said my card quite difficult to print.
can tell me ur contacts? hope to get a lower quote.

wow, u both printing a lot of cards... my hotel only gave me 210 cards for 35 tables. very neow hor. should i ask for more now? is it more expensive if i print more later?

liz, u are also getting ur samples back? i cnt leh, or else can also do up another album like u. so envious of u both.

julia andrew

Need to check where can I buy album like the one used by most photographer?? Those with black leather cover & thick black cardboard inside?

mo

hi julybride,
thanks for the encouragement

are u still checking mails??? would like to email u more.

flo

hi Tam,

I've enquired and a real wedding cake from The Patissier costs about S$500 ++, another cake shopquoted me from S$300 onwards...

I'm also thinking of having a real cake. But dunno whether the taste of the icing and marzipan will be too sweet?

dance40

Hi blue chins,

Well the one with the roses at the back is blue roses i think is the one u saw. That is my M.T.M W.G. and there after I tried my E.G which is blue colour and Photoshoot gown.
I going down tomoro for Photo Shoot Liao.

I think there is one that u wear that my mum and friend say nice. The one with a slit cut down from neck to somewhere Greenish/purplerish in colour.
My mum even ask me why i did not choose that one for photoshoot. I say don't suit me cos my cup size is not big to show off.

My Make up Ok lor. But Ann did not say much too maybe becoz my mum there.
Coz my mum got so..... many comment.

I went for a trimming of hair. And ask my hairstlyist to cut a style suitable for me.
Wanted a treatment but seems like got to sit there for another 1.5 hour so give up that idea. Maybe after photoshoot or nearer to the wedding then go.

I going for manicure and pedicure at the shop at my office. It's Nail Arts by serene.Think they have a website with Singaporebride. Can check.

Also I bought Corset to look slimmer.... Not branded one but not cheap too..

So It seems like we spend quite a lot this month for photoshooting and for new clothes to bring over when wedding (tradition).

Irene

baby

Hi, today is my hubby's birthday, do u all know any good place for dinner? Need not very romantic but nice food, any food also can becos I am on course today and nearly forget his birthday.

Thank you, all brides.

tam

hi angeline, my reception is at hyatt.

hi flo, will there be any surcharge if the cake is not from the hotel? Me have not thought of the icing or marzipan yet or the design of the cake...just wondering whether can convince my hubby to have one...he is very cost conscious....

pinkapple

I thot I want to have a rael wedding cake too. will look nice...
but I guess it's quite a luxury to have one. so X. and nobody really eat them anyway. they'll b too full with the other food. so I think no point having one.

n these days in S'pore, with all the dummy cakes that look so real, pp'd think ya cake is a dummy. happened to my bf's colluege.

I'd say save the $$.

bluechin

Hi Irene,

wow yr PS is so soon...tomolo...u must be really excited then.....R u having night scene too? i think i recall the blue gown u spoke about....it's nice too!

Perhaps when u go down tomolo...u could ask Carmen to show you my WG....do gimme your comments....do let me see yr PS pics when they r ready too! How long do they take to give us the proofs?

U bought the corset to look slimmer? Think u r slim enough....*SMiLeS* does it fit your wedding gown? cos i was also thinking of getting one but Carmen and the rest says not necessary for me....

i think i know which gown u r talking about.... my hubby thinks that's nice.... do u thin'k it's revealing? Btw, did u happened to see the red gown? mee still in doubt about that gown....

will check out Nail Arts....

Yah, we spend a lot for the wedding too!

Btw, have u been to Paris Thread? it's so scary i dun dare chat in it....

jenjen

There a place in Pasir Ris where it is by the seaside... I dunno wat is it called, but a little inaccessible... or else, just go any restaurant in city area... I personally like sushi...

bluechin

Hi baby,

I personally like Ristorante Bolognia at Marina Mandarin cos my hubby propose there.... Nice ambience and they serve Italian food....

Or u can try Chijmes Grappa's Ristorante....
30 Victoria Street #01-29 CHIJMES.
Singapore 187996
Tel : 6334 9928 Fax : 6334 9927
Contact Person : Mohamed Hanis

If you don't like Italian food.... u could go to mezza9 (mezzanine floor) @ Grand Hyatt

An exciting new restaurant concept, embodying nine different dining experiences in one single venue , this features an authentic selection of Western, Japanese and Chinese cuisine,

Open:
Lunch - 12:00 pm to 2:30 pm
Sunday Munch - 11:30 am to 3:00 pm
Afternoon Tea - 3:00 pm to 5:30 pm
Dinner - 6:00 pm to 10:30 pm

Hope this will help you a little....

flo

hi tam,

it depends on your guests... like pinkapple said, pple may think it's a fake cake. So i would only recommend a real cake if you have a smaller reception and pple are walking nearer to the cake and can tell it's real... Also, the cake has to be served to the guests and announced. If not, why bother to spend the $$

Alternatively, you can save $$ by not getting the traditional big cakes. My plan - stole idea from foreign mags, is to have a piled-up pyramid of cupcakes with pretty icing or the small puffs. It's a novelty and very easy to serve!

If your FH is cost-conscious, quite hard to convince him to spare a few hundred bucks on a cake right? This pyramid costs about S$80 only.

Check with Hyatt, I'm sure they can do something liek this.

angelia

hurray!! juz checked the HDB web, and got my date to pick up the keys liao.. next Sat, 29 Jun, at 8:20am...
5658.gif

hope can change it to this Sat instead!!

apple

hi romona,
you stay at P21 too? how nice... I am at Blk 138. U know where? I've got my keys since March. They released keys much earlier than ECD date. However, we are so laid back we haven't done anything... but we just confirmed the ID firm so we'll be getting on with reno!! Going to be stressed.....& burn big hole in pocket, sob!

hi gemi & all the rest....what's the topic for today? Wedding cake? Thot of having one but so so expensive, can't take it, when you attach a label "wedding" to it the price just goes up so much!!? Really find the dummy cakes very silly though....haha.

angeline

HI Gals,

Finally I have confirmed my plans to go back to SGP on the 29th of June. Who wants to meet up on the 30th for brunch??
Flo, Jin, got time that day?

carol

Hi Mo,
Yap, My list just keep adding, & seems endless....
But, I'm telling myself, I'll just do my best & enjoy the whole process.

Yes, this is really a very good forum, I've got so must encourgements here....

Gals, Let's keep encourging each other till our big day.

Carol