(2002) Brides of year 2002

lollipop

Hi Snowflake,
HDB told us we will possibly get the letter in Jan, but I'll let you know the selection date. M keeping my fingers crossed that we won't be the last few batches to do the selection...my friend also encountered the same situation as you. she applied for a 5rm this Sep and was told to do her selection in Nov, she was happy but when she went down, all the 5rm units were taken up (the Chinese category was filled up) Now despondent, she's wondering if she should stick to 4 rm instead.

Perils...

Novbride, can't help but felt tickled reading about the part the fishies commit suicide. They eat flies? Think the diffusers will be quite practical lor, you can still hear the water trickling, and it's therapeutic!

AC, what?! you name your plants??!!!*lol* ok, erm, sorry... prob shouldn't have laughed...sorry... come to think about it, I love cats alot! I name stray cats, there are alot of nice strays near my place. Some of their names include Chocolate Peanut Buttercup, Muah Chi, Moo Moo, Marmalade, shotgun, Milkshake, Flurry etc....
*lol* ;~)

Actually, I dun intend to start a family soon... want to also *guo er ren shi jie*... but must have first child before 30. Pref a boy

karen

Hi Jen Jen,
our bridal shop is the same. Seen your name under that Paris category. I don know why suddenly there's so much complaints abt Paris. I was in that forum mths ago, everything seems ok except for some usual complaints like additional charge for fake eyelashes.... These are usual, have heard abt it at other bridal shops too.
But I still don understd wat actually happen recently that caused so much complaints. I have seen some bridal photos (belonging to one of the Paris customers also from that forum), her studio & outdoor photos were very well taken leh. Previously there isn't much complaints, aiyoh don know wat happen. Quite worried though.

angph38

hi karen & JenJen,

well, pardon me, but juz tot i'd add something to Paris. attended an ex-colleague's wedding in Oct and was talking to another ex-colleague who got married in Jun. He's a Paris groom, so i asked him how was his bridal boutique? How many pic given, did he buy additional fotos blah.. blah.. blah... and guess what?! he kind of got angry and told me Paris sucks. The gown was not good, photos also didn't turn out well, so they juz stick strictly to the given amt.

cos he seemed angry, so i didn't dare to ask anymore. but maybe u shld take some time to communicate with the photographer and tell him what u want/expect. well, i think Paris has a lot of unhappy customers, heard some fr other bridal boutiques, some from frenz... but i guess there're still happy customers as well. hope that u're one of those.. happy customers lah...

bumblebee

Hi Garfield,
not considering Kai cos I want my studio photography to be done by Chris Ling, so I'm only looking at the bridal salons that he ties up with.
Thanks for the suggestion anyways.

BTW, I'm sure you'll look gorgeous in your Ted Wu gown.

Hi Mint,
I'm also catholic. Went for Engagement Encounter in Oct. Thought it was very good and useful. However, I think 1 party has to be catholic to be able to attend this course.

Hi Janfyp,
think you can check out the community centres or one of the ministries - MCDS or something? Not sure, but they do organise such courses.
BTW, out of curiousity, why are you looking to go for a premarital counselling course?

Hi Dee(dee),
which designer did you go to in Silhouette? Think there are 3 of them rite?

janfyp

Hi Bumblebee,
I fell that by going to such a course would better prepare us for our life together.
More like to gain a good head start!

Dee: Will be going to Kai and Kevin Seah this sat. Will update after that. Ciao

ac

Lollipop, i named my plants "Qin Qin, Xiao Hua1, Xiao Shui3, Xiao Mei2.... grin ! naming them somehow will "humanize" them a little... and they're like my babies.... 8)

i also have a jack russell terrier named Lexus... but we called him Zai Zai.... he's very very cute ! but very naughty... always like me to carry him like a baby and he likes to play a lot.... he don't stay at my new house and is in my current house.... can't bring him over as he belongs to my sis. never regretted having a puppy. Damn damn cute. Sometimes when i cry, he will slant his head sideways and look at me, wondering what i am doing and he stop being naughty..... hehehehe.......

wiz

Hi Eden,

When did you book your banquet with Concorde???? I called up when I was looking for a venue but they told me that it was already booked. Guess the person was you... Hee... Just curious, how much is their weekend package.. I heard that it is quite a good deal...

starbright

Hi Dawn,

All my friends who went for EE told me they have a fruitful experience, hope my hubby and myself will enjoy ourselves too.

So glad to hear from you that Christ the King is beautiful (... in fact, I have not been to the church yet after it has renovated ... )Maybe I will go there for the coming Christmas mass.

How's your preparation so far ? Have you found anyone to do up the decoration for the church ?

ginger

I am also a Nov bride. Details as follows:
ROM : 02 Feb 02
Hotel : Concorde Hotel on 17 Nov 02
Bridal package : Golden Horse Awards

lollipop

Hi AC,
Very co...co...cold.....brrrr.
I have a cat at home. He was a stray I picked up 3 years ago. He's a tabby and is named Nanook..he's huge...he's very long..he's longer than the normal big pillow, and he's 8kg!

I think animals, they are smart, and they are able to sense when you are sad... it's such a nice feeling coming home to your pet, esp after a long day at work.

dee

janfyp: hope you have fun this sat at kai and kevin seah...and update me ok...

bumblebee: which photographer does kai work with??
and i spoke to minda at silhouette...she's very patient...

anyway, have a good weekend and a good christmas...

lmf

Hi all Sep 2002 brides,

Am I too late to discover this tread? Oh no, I hope to join in all of your experiences which I had missed out. Can I? By the way, I'm a 22nd Sept 2002 bride. Anyone falls on the same date with me?

chemson

Hi LMF,

Nope, you are not...Welcome Welcome ! Nope not the same as yours.. me the week before yours... have you booked your banquet and selected your bridal package yet ?

bleuz

Hi LMF,

WELCOME!!

glad that you found us. do tell us more about yourself... what wedding preparations you have done and stuff.

here's wishing all sept 2002 brides a very merry christmas and a happy new year.

daisy

Hi lollipop
My designer is Helen. I booked my package during their Conrad/Divine show. The pkg $4288 incl 1 mtm wedding gown, 1 mtm evening gown, i mtm men suit, 4 makeup, flowers & photography. I like Divine bare back design dat's Y i sign up w them.

Hi Snowflakes,
Oops. Make a mistake. Yup, my ROM shd be 10/10/01.

Hi Dawn,
Me can't remember when i call. When u booked huh???

queenie

Am i too late for discussion. I'm also Nov 02 bride...22 Nov 02...me also kiasu alreadi booked the wedding venue and the bridal pkg....
My new hse will be only ready in early 2003...still building went down to the site....build up to 8 sty...@ punggol 21...

Hi Starfruit,

U're right..I also purchase my wedding bands at Goldheart...really take a very long time to ship in. Lucky we booked early..imagine we went down sept 01 and only this sat then we can collect....

Hi Ginger

My ROM day also 020202...same as yours..hee hee..wat time is your ceremory????

Merry X'mas to all of you!!!

ginger

Hi Queenie,

Great to hear that we have the ROM day. My time slot is 12.20pm. What about you? Where are u holding your lunch or high tea on that day? I am not sure where to go yet?

Both my bf and I have also purchased my wedding bands at Soo Kee Jewelley. Like you, We very kiasu as we have booked my bridal package and wedding banquet. We will have my photo shoot in March next year. I believe everything should be ready by April so that we can concentrate our home renovations in April 02. We will be staying in Seng Kang, near u. If we are not wrong, we will get our keys next month or Feb though the estimated completion date is Oct 02.

lollipop

Hi Daisy,
Tks for sharing with us your pkg. I like their bare-back designs too... sensuous yet sweet at the
same time. But, I didn't sign up with them

So, when's your first appt?

dawn1002

Hi Lollipop,

Yeah, I was the one who was enquiring abt cheaper wines. Just checking if anyone has lobang for this. Actually, my dad will be in charge of the wines & liquor.

As for starting a family, My FH and I hope as soon as we get married cos' he simply adores children. He is one of those who wants a soccer team! But probably the most I'll go is 3-4 kiddos. :p

Starbright, as for the decorations for the church, I'll like to keep it simple, just flowers for the pews and altar. I think the church can do that for you if you pay a sum (abt $200-500). Anyway, the church ceremony will only last abt 1-1.5 hours.

As for preparations wise, I've already done my mass booklet but awaiting to pass to the priest for approval.

Dinner's booked. Bridal Boutique's booked. Church's booked. Next thing to do is to go for my first fitting in Jan. Photoshoot in Apr. Due to meet the priest in July.

Hi Daisy, we booked the dinner around end July.

och

hi lmf,

welcome welcome! it's never too late to join this thread.

thanx bluez for the greetings. merry christmas and best wishes for the new year to everyone too!

cowie

Hi LMF,
Welcome! Mine is exactly a week before yours, 15 Sept
Do up-date us on what you have done so far, ya? I will be going to my bridal this evening to confirm my ROM gown as well as to start on the design of my WG

Have an enjoyable Christmas and New Year
When partying with friends, do remember to spend time with your family too

daisy

Hi Lollipop,

My 1st appt is on 12/01/02. Me quite excited. So which bridal pkg did u take up???

Hi Dawn,

Then must b u liao. Cos i start enquiring ard jul/aug... Hey, me too oso would like 2 hv kids immediately after our wedding. Cos i love children a lot. I told my hubby i wan at least 3 kids. Children r sooooo adorable.

lollipop

Hi Dawn1002,

3-4?! Wow! That's alot leh!

Initially I thought by having three kids will make up a "perfect" family setting. First one, pref boy, then a girl, then a boy... but children's education nowadays very expensive, then dunno whether can handle all of them or not.

angph38

ginger & queenie : wat a coincident, our ROM in Feb and customary in Nov...

i oso got my rings from Goldheart, Bugis Branch. Chosen on 17 last mth, will be collecting only next mth. we, too, book bridal and banquet liao
now busy looking for a resale near my parents place...

dawn1002

Daisy,

Hmm... wedding on the same day, along the same stretch of road.... loves children... more and more things in common. hee hee...

Oops, then must be really me liao! & some more I so greedy, booked 2 rms! Otherwise, we'll probably be side by side on our wedding day. Hyek hyek.

Lollipop,

Actually my FH wants 6, after deciding a soccer team is way too big... but I think 4 is max. Like you say, nowadays very ex to raise kids... and very stressful too!

All the best for your appointment with GHA tomorrow! Fitting is it? Or choosing gowns?

lollipop

Novbride,

No worries, will update you guys next week. But Monday will be half-day, so dunno whether I have time to input my "experience", but I'd most certainly try.

Dawn1002,

Actually I do not know what to expect when I am there. It's GHA who called me up last month to make an appt. They mentioned something about trying of gowns.... I dun think it's fitting, not so soon, methinks. But the thought of going down and trying WGs,

6 kids?!!! Wah...peng san ah...so many...*lol*

sheep

hi lmf!

u're very welcome to join us, in fact, the more brides, the merrier! and you noe wat.... WE ARE GETTING MARRIED ON THE SAME DAY!!! therez no bride in this thread getting married on the 22/9/02, juz the 2 of us! exciting, isn't it? so howz ur preparations? booked ur banquet oredi?

Q

qs

So Excited! Thank you so much for replying me. How come our date is not popular in this forum, I have difficulty booking my wedding dinner. Finally I got to book my wedding dinner at Yunnan Garden at IMM Convention Hall. I went to see the hall, it's spacious and high ceiling. I did not know that they have such a ballroom until they show me. It's very cosy and I liked the layout, very neat. As for the bridal boutique, I'm having problem. Don't know where to choose? I went to a few already but finally shortlisted 2. Both are Fame Bridal at Yishun and Tampines. Have you heard of them? If yes, please advise which is of better service? Await for your reply.

ginger

Hi Angph38

Which day is your ROM? Have u decided where to hold your lunch reception?

How nice! So u will staying near your parents. I am staying far away in Seng Kang while my parents are staying near town area.

sheep

hi qs, (i assume u're LMF)
i guess not many pple are keen to hold their wedding on a Sunday???

i've been to a wedding at IMM Convention Hall, not sure if tatz the one u're talking abt. yes, itz very spacious with a high ceiling. you went to the 2 different branches of Fame? 1 in the north and 1 in the east??? where u staying huh? hehehe... Haven't been to Fame so dun noe abt their service. u can trying going into 'Bridal Boutiques & Service'. u'll find comments on Fame there. dun worry, u still have some time to make a decision, dun rush. do check out the forum for comments on Fame.

cowie

Hi Och and Bluez,

Yup, yup, was very excited about the gown design session and indeed, the session was fun!!! Have confirmed my ROM gown..... a sweet, yet elegant boat-neck gown..... Have also gotten the design for my WG already
Very please with the design. Hope that the end result is really like what I imagine it to be. Have already seen a similar piece at the shop, but wanted to make certain modification to it cos I more or less have an idea of what I wanted even before I went for today's appt. But this design is better than what I originally had in mind

Hi qs,
You can be sure yours is a popular date. I had wanted to change mine to your date but the hotel told me that they already have 3 bookings on that day!!!!! That is why I stick to the Sun before yours

jimny

Hi queenie and all,

great to know of so many other nov brides to be. my wedding day falls on the 22nd of nov 2002 too. i sort of settled the hotel banquet, bridal gown, photography issues but have yet to get a wedding ring and look out for honeymoon package. i am rather interested in the larry's lazare diamond but still can't decide cos i feel it is too ex. i am also considering a trip to mauritius or maldives or even the carribean islands as honeymoon. any suggestions anyone?

my

Hi All especially Sheep and qs,

Me getting married mayb Sep or Oct due to i can't find a venue. Most of the hotel or restaurant are fully book on 21,22 and 29 Sep 02. So don't worry that not only both of you having that date. So happy to see so many of you all getting married next Sep and have found your venue. Me so sad because I can't find a gd venue yet!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to All!

:þ

eden

Hi Wiz,

I wasn't the one who booked Concorde. My ceremony is on 30 Nov but dinner on 2 Dec coz we didn't want to tire ourselves out. Their weekend package is $588 nett (for min 30 tables) or $618 (min 20 tables). I thought they have 3 rooms, you mean all of them are booked?!

Hi Ginger,

Any comments on Concorde? Is yours a weekday or weekend pkg? Any additional perks that Jandy offered you? I am going down to meet her to pay the deposit so would like to know if I can bargain for anything else.

wiz

When I called them, they told me that they are not able to cater to my wedding banquet cos' they are "full" that day... I didn't ask further... I booked with Carlton. They look pretty good after their renovation. Heard that they are going to purchase new linen.... table cloth for next year. The table cloth may be full length... well, actually it doesn't really matter. We booked with them cos' we heard that the food is good (Fr. the restaurant, Wah Lok).

starfruit

Merry Xmas!!!!!!!!!!

i am back.. wha... can see lots of new additions to this thread. welcome all of u. I have been busy preparing my housewarming the past week, so didin't have time to come in here at all. So how is everyone here?

Janfyp: R u looking for marraigen preparation course. I came across one, even signed up with them but had to cancel due to work commitment, but i will be joining their next sesison in January. Its a non religions marriage preparation course organised by Singapore Planned parent hood association. I think its quite good to attaned such courses to better prepare us for marriange life. If u r keen, i can send u the details.

starfruit

cowie

Hi My Melodys,

Not to worry so much. Just continue searching...... am sure you will be able to find a venue, cos some of the places you search may just have the date "blocked" out cos someone is still considering. If there are such cases, do leave your name with them as the couple may end up not taking that place
Try looking out in Mags for ideas on venues. There may be some options which you have not explored yet! All the best for finding a suitable place for your banquet

To All: Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!!

my

Hi Cowie,

I have found one hotel on Sat liao, which is Novetel (at Havelock Rd). How you find that hotel, is it good? The feedback from this forum seem not very good about this hotel, how?

queenie

Hi Ginger,

V. Bz lately....my slot on 020202 will at 11.20am, 1hr b4 yours...
are u getting any photographer on that day???i thot of going down HIPV for the lunch(where we will be holding our dinner) cause got 50% discount, still not confirm yet. I was just curious, how come u taking your wedding photos so soon????

Wow u will be staying at SengKang...me will be at Punggol 21...not ready yet mayb early 2003 then collect the keys..will be staying with my in-laws for a few months...kind of worried man!!!!

Hi Jimny,

Great to know that we both have the same wedding day. Where will you be holding your wedding banquet?Which bridal boutique have u booked?? Have u gone down to try their gowns??? Actually i personally feel that Goldheart's wedding ring/band not 2 bad. I have heard from my friend that maldives is a v. wonderful place. For me not yet decide where to go....

Adios...have a gd relaxing holidays...

ginger

Hi Eden,

Some friends who attended the weddings at the hotel during the past few months were satisfied with their services and food.

Jandy will give you all the perks she can. In my view, as a wedding consultant, her job is to coordinate the wedding activities and make sure everything goes well. I must say she is not the decision maker.

Hi Queenie

We have not decided whether we want get a photographer that day. I will leave it to my bf to decide. We have yet to decide the lunch venue cos I am afraid by the time we finish the ceremony, it is high time for high tea instead of lunch. Therefore, to play safe, we have to look for restaurants that cater for both lunch and high tea.

To answer your question as to why we are taking our photography eight months before our customary, we have other commitments, eg, renovation of the house. We imagine the house renovation will deprive a lot of our valuable time.

Ginger

janfyp

Merry X'mas to all!!!

Just an update. I went down to Kevin and Kai last Sat. All gowns are so beautiful!!! I met up with both the designers and I found them very friendly. Have to look at my budget before I decide.

Here the breakdown:

Kevin's std package is $5400 with Benny Ang as photographer(add $400 for Imagegarden). Included in the package is 1 MTM WG (rental), 1 MTM EG (can't remember for rental or pur), flower bouquet, car decor, accessories (not inclusive of shoes), Mens suit, make up(trial, photo & actual).

Kevin let me try his couture collection. Very beautiful but very ex!!! $2500+ for WG and $2000+ for EG (both rental, add $1000 to each for purchase) Nearly fainted when I saw the price.

Kai don't really have a standard package. His gowns are abt $3000 (1 MTM WG, 1 MTM EG), the rest depends on what you want. He is linked up with a few makeup artistes and photographers. flowers are from Green Point.

Bumblebee: I think Kai is tied up with Chris Ling cos I tot I saw his portfolio there.

Starfruit: can you email me the details of the marriage prep course? my email address is [email protected]

Jenjen: My friend who recently had her customary is also a paris bride, I checked with her and she is pleased with their services, I guess its luck and how demanding you are.

Merry X'mas and a happy new year!!!

karen

Hi Berlinelee,

pls furnish me with your contractor's contact for your house renovation.

Maybe you can tell me more about this renovation company as in wat you have roughly done for your new hse & the costs.

Wat abt your Father-in-law's company contact? How much will it be to do parquet for the whole hse (for a 5 rm flat)? You can also email me @ [email protected]

I have got a quotation from Decomark @ IMM, but I have not heard abt them as to their worksmanship & how competitive their prices are. Any feedback abt them so far? Seems ex to me. I will probably get more quotations before deciding.