(2002) Brides of year 2002

jan

Hi all May brides!

Merry X'mas & A Happi New Year!!
Have u all open your presents olreadi? Today's boxing day!!

BTW,Where r u gals?????

No postings for the last 2 wks.......

jenjen

hi all... long time never follow this thread leow... how's everyone's christmas??

I'm now looking forward to the new year's public holiday...hahah...

cowie

Hi My Melodys,
I am sorry, I do not have any experience with Novetel. Can't really help you there....... From the feedback, what have you gathered? Which are the aspects which are not so good? Are they factors which affect you?...... Trying posting a msg under that heading and see if you can get any more updated comments....... Hope this helps

linda

Merry Christmas Arctic Hare!

Yah, I agree....I need someone with similar wedding dates to guide me along for preparations. I am kind of getting scared with the date approaching.

How's your preparation so far? Any idea what we should have completed by now? My house is still undergoing DIY reno....So it is all a mess.

Anywhere that sells nice and cheap coffee table? And factory that "re-wrap" the dining chair cushions?

islandpub

hi all May brides,

Merry Christmas and a Happy and Prosperous New Year too!

I cant wait for boxing day so last night already opened all my presents... hehhehee....

ya lor.. these two weeks like all disappear liao...
for me i was busy with company dnd hence didnt really ve time to come in here lah... wat abt the rest? where r all of u hah? so how's everybody's christmas? hope everyone had a gd time....

mushroom

i have a package with bridal zone too. will be meeting up with them soon for final confirmation. any advice on EG colour ? my WG is white.
m i supposed to pay once i have confirmed everything ? how much need to be paid ?

i think it will be gd to get all the photos shot in one day, if 2 days maybe 2nd time will be abit sien liow.

my wedding also in june. that that dec is here, me too getting abit kan cheong cos alot of things not done yet ! : p

mushroom

opps, i should have post my bridal zone thingy under bridal zone thread :p hee hee ... pai say ... :p
got confused when i read abt phototaking hee hee ...

cheer

hi yo gals

yalor miss seeing all the postings in this thread, though i am an inactive contributer :p ... me juz watch hahaa

had a exhausting but interesting xmas eve, spent it with a bunch of longtime frens and chat thru the nite
but we all fell asleep n did not tarhan till dawn break coz all growing old liaoz :p

u gals seem to have gotten many presents
so lucky ya... me n my bf no longer give each other xmas present liao....

today is such a lethargic day.... moodless to work ;p why isnt boxing day another public holiday?

starfruit

Janfyp and angph38 : ok, am looking thru my in-box now, will send u the details once i find the email.. sorry about this.

jimny: i am also planning my honeymoon to maldives. so have u got any details yet?? we must share the info.

starfruit

just a thought : have any one of ur been to the last outing organised by SG brides forum?

maybe we should organise an outing of our own for the Nov 02 brides. it will be fun. what do u all think?

my

hi Cowie,

I have post a msg under that heading liao! Is mostly the service lor! Mayb I have to talk to the sales manager and see how! But most likely i m going to use that hotel due to others are fully book liao! If don't grab, no wedding dinner for me liao!

islandpub

hi cheer,

ya lor... i agree today really very lethargic leh.... so lazy mood.. juz wanna laze ard n do nothing... nice weather to snuggle in the comfort of my bed n comfortable n juz laze n do nothing... hehhehe.....

ya, if only boxing day is another ph... .
how nice.... *dreaming liao*

hubby n me also didnt give each other any christmas present coz on christmas eve we went to select our photos n spent $800 to top-up for the extra photos so we said that's our present to each other lor....

cowie

Hi My Melodys,
Do decide carefully and see what the sales manager says. Meanwhile, just keep a look out to see if any other hotels and restaurant available. All the best!

angph38

hi starfruit,

thanks, got ur mail. will discuss with my FH & c if he wishes to attend.

i attended the last outing, pretty fun, but as we're sitting in 2 rows (opp each other), so didn't get to talk to all

YES, i'm IN for the idea of a gathering for NOV 02 brides.. COUNT ME IN !!

jimny

Hi starfruit,

i have never been to any outing organised by this forum. it will be great if we can organise one for all the nov brides. count me in.

as for the maldives honeymoon thing, i thought of going down to any upcoming travel fair to make enquires. will definitely update you once i have info.

Hi queenie and angph38,

i have booked my wedding banquet with conrad, bridal package (w/o photography)with divine as well as studio and actual day photography with benny ang. i will be going down to meet helan of divine for my first appointment next sat. helan has asked me to think abt wat i like for my gown. personally, i will like a bustier gown but i am not busty so not confident enough leh.

Hi janfyp,

i have been to kevin's too. his gowns are fabulous and i love it. but i find it a bit too ex and my hubby dun like male designer. hence i finally drop the idea of going to kevin. on the other hand, we have so far been pleased with helan of divine. hence no regret signing up with her. have you been to divine to see see look look? you might find something you like there.

arctic_hare

hi mushroom, it does get kind of confusing at times, doesn't it?

hi linda, things always get a little messy during renovation. But they always turn out beautifully when done.
i believed you would have done much of the wedding preparation liao, right?

Me too! what's next? dinner seating plans, actual day helpers and checklist, emergency kit, cakes, invitation cards, favours, exercising ...

The invitation card (given by FS) is very plain, and we are planning to emboss on it with gold embossing powder. saw this DIY kit in Spotlight yesterday. Thought it may be fun to do it on our cards.

are you gals getting bridesmaid, or just ah yees?

oh yes... i need to find a JP too. have only been talking about it but never really getting down to contacting them. *hee hee*

jenjen

hi starfruit, i went for the one before the last, i.e. the bbq at pasir ris one... quite ok, everyone was friendly... i dun mind going to a nov 2002 one either... but must specify first whether got bring hubby/bf or not har...
coz i scared my hubby bored...

my

Hi Cowie,

I have been sourcing for restarant and hotel for next year Sep and Oct. But mostly are fully book, so have to talk to the manager and see how.

Thanks for your advise!

carol

Hi Linda,

I know Melandas in Sungei Kadut Loop is having Sales, My hubby working there. He say there are quite abit of good deals.

Anyone,
Any feedback on The Blue Ginger Outside Catering for wedding dinner

cheer

hi islandpub,

heheee... the only thing that keep me awake today is the SB website n emails from frens

wow... ur pix must be really good... else u wont be topping up so much
can i peep at them when u scan them to post online?

come to think of it... yes after we had our house, we spend most of our spare cash on the hse... buying furnitures n house accessories... so on the ah-q side we did "spend on" each other too

recently came across one really good actual day photog but he is very expensive... the collective package for the entire day plus custom made album runs up to $2k.... really in dilemma... have u engaged ur actual day photog already?
care to share?

islandpub

hi cheer,

no leh.... actually got some pics we dun really like lah but we calculated if we juz top up a few pics n get one big album stil ve to pay a few hundreds might as well pay more n can get more pics n more albums mah... altho diff size albums but at least we got back all the pics mah... so more worth it lor in these sense... then those that we dun really fancy one will be in the small album anyway so it's ok lah...

i ve to wait till next march then can get my photos leh...

wah! $2k for actual day photo really very exp leh.... $800 i also find exp liao not to say $2k.... that's y i end up using the one provided by my studio one lor.. only need to pay $280 for service on actual day n per roll of 3R film at $35 each... consider the cheapest i ve come across liao lor....

dee

we can have an all-girls outing for the Nov brides..i can imagine my FH to be bored with girls talk...i've never been to a SG brides outing...what is it like??....

janfyp: thanks for sharing your kevin and kai experiences...i think i'll try to go down to kai soon and complete my shopping episode...need to settle on something so as to concentrate on other stuff...

see you girls soon

starfruit

agree with Dee that this could be an all-girls outing. i can imagine my hubby bored to death about the topics that we r discussing..(e.g. bridal outfits, facial, manicure, house reno etc tc) heheh. this seems fun. so any idea when would be a good time to organise such a outing?

good to meet up and share our joy, anxiety, or even stress of preparing our upcoming wedding. =)

jimny: i'll keep a look out for the travel packages and will inform u if i see anything.

starfruit

cowie

Hi My Melodys,
No problem
We are all here to help one another
In fact, I didn't have much constructive advice either

miko

I'm a Nov bride too! Wedding date is 13Nov02.

I have booked my wedding banquet with the Grand Plaza Hotel. Anyone has any comment on their food?

cheer

hi islandpub,

i guessed i somehow lost my yardstick for what is "expensive" liaoz... after seeing so many photogs i really am confused

first i thot $800 is really ex, then i met someone who charges $1200, then as i lament $1200 is really out of budget, now i see someone who charges $2k :p ....

guess i need to cool it off n think carefully again heeeee...

so u getting ur photos in March... muz remember to scan them n post it online lah... me curious curious

so where did u go for the outdoors?

mushroom

hey the DIY kit sound fun.

sounds like a long list man, i don't even want to think abt it ! ha ha ...

i'll be having 1 bridesmaid and a few ah yees, all will double up as my other helpers like ushers and reception, etc ...

angph38

Miko : Welcome aboard!
have you booked your bridal?

did u book with Grand Plaza Parkroyal (beach road) or the one near City Hall MRT? both are pretty ok. i went to 2 weddings at Plaza Parkroyal (Beach road) & standard of both differs. as for Grand Plaza near City Hall, been to the bridal show and tasted some of the food. Was nice, too. Maybe u wanna look under Wedding Banquets and see what the others have to say.

btw, r u a japanese? juz curious

can we not meet at a too "high class" restaurant cos won't be nice to make a lot of noise and we can't interact with each other fully. but i don't now where to suggest leh... anyone wants to loan out their hse for the day ?!?!

angph38

JenJen,

saw fr the other thread that u've switch bridal & changed ur deposit with Paris to photography. glad that u've finally made a decision. now shld be more relieved rite.

everyone : don't forget to update us when u go for gown fitting.

my

Hi Cowie,

Your wedding on 15th Sep at MM? May I know, what the reason that make you choose that date and how much you pay for MM?

V

vee kee

Hi All May Brides!!

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!
Missed coming to the forum...I was kept up to my neck with work...

Hi cheer!

For actual day photography, it really depends what style you like. If dun mind normal traditional shots I am sure you can find one that is within your budget. If you are looking at journalistic shots, then the cost will be higher rangin from $900 and above.

My hubby and I preferred journalistic shots so we settled for Hendrix How from photolanguage.... $1,200 for 10 rolls of colour film. A bit expensive but we decided that we like to have photos to preserve the memories of our once in a lifetime event...

kwet

My big day also in Nov (22nd, 2002). Cing you ppl having so much fun in this chat-site makes me itchy to join.

There's sometin I've done that I can share to those haven't made up their mind (abt bridal boutique). Instead of spilling out $5-6K to one of those Ted-Wu, Kai or Tan-Yoong packages, I make a short trip to Taiwan and snapped up one of their top range packages for about $2.5K (after 50% off). The reason is that their economy is pretty poor at the moment and everything is on HUGH sales!! This price inc 2WG & 3EG (rental) and photo shots+make-ups. Their designs & styles are as good as S'pore.

Although I still spent 5K in the end, that inc a pre-marriage honeymoon to Taiwan for a week!! Tempted? Just remember to DHL the gowns back after used!

Diff

islandpub

hi cheer,

we went to an open air pub at marina sq outside ritz carlton to take some pics then proceed to marina south for the rest of the outdoor shots..

angph38

kwet : welcome! welcome!
u went all the way to Taiwan to get a bridal pkg! amazing... so did u hv ur photoshoot on the spot or u hv to fly back for photoshooting?

starfruit : i counted and it's abt 21 pple (active & non-active). prob not all will attend, i guess.

linda

Hi Carol,
Melandas is too ex for me even after discount unless you are talking abt 90% kekekeke...... Thanks for sharing but it is trueSungei Kadut does have several warehouses sales going on at most times.

Mushroom,
I dun think you have to pay everything when you select your gowns. I paid $1200 for mine so far. Photoshoot pay another part, then when I collect my gowns for my actual day last payment.
Advise when choosing EG, go try every colour even you would think it doesn't look good on you. Cos you will never know. I never know I look nice in yellow....

lmf

Hi Sheep and every Sep brides out there,
Firstly I would like to wish all of you a Merry Christmas and A Happy New Year. Secondly I would like to apologise for not replying your mails these few days as I was busy with some of my works. Did all of you enjoy your Christmas day?

Wow, Sheep! You are very observant. I didn't realise that I put the wrong name (LMF = qs)until you told me. Me so Sotong! Anyway, it seems like everyone have booked your wedding banquets at hotels. So Envy! Too bad my FH and I really have tight budget. Which bridal boutique have you booked? How much did you pay for it?

Hi My Melodys,
How many tables are you looking at? I'm not sure whether you liked to have your dinner at the restaurant but I would like to share with you that IMM Yunnan Restaurant actually have convention hall, so called " Ballroom". There are 2 of them. One can accomodate about 70 tables which I'll be taking this ballroom. Another one is about 35 tables. Maybe you can tr to visit and take a look if you do not want to book from Novetel.

kat

Hi, everyone!

I am new to this thread. I have been following all the postings and am really glad to read that Sheep and LMF are holding your weddings on 22 Sep 02 as well!

Thot this forum is really useful for us brides-to-be to share experiences and tips

Have a nice day....despite the gloomy weather!

shunkuey

Warmest Greetings To All May 2002 Brides!

Hope u all had a wonderful Christmas! Now looking forward to the New Year 2002!!!! Also counting down to my Wedding Day which is less than 5 months away!!!!!!

lollipop

Why nobody do postings leh? *lollipop scratches head*

As promised, I'd share with you my first appt at GHA. I tried a total of 6 gowns. Some of the gowns I tried were very pretty, nice beadwork, nice sheer looking backs... when I first stepped out in a gown, it was embarrassing because the studio was rather packed that day. But I felt good, because that was my first time wearing something so feminine and pretty, and my designer was standing behind me, helping me with the train... *lollipop swoon*

My first appt was also the design session. I had always wanted a bustier gown but had no idea whether I could carry it off. The designer then assured me I could wear both bustier and spaghetti-strapped gowns, but figured I would look better in bustier gowns. My heart did a little jump at that moment

My gown, they said, would be ready in beginning of Feb...right now, I must try to maintain my figure, but it sure won't do any harm if I were to lose some weight

My mum (who was there), said the design looks nice, and that when the gown is made, it would look very good. I hope so, which bride wouldn't?

I haven't selected any tea dress or EG because there will be newer designs next year, and one step at a time mah...

Overall, the trip was quite fruitful, and to tell you the truth, I kinda miss wearing those gowns

cheer

hi vee kee,

yeap i agree with your point

coincidently Hendrix was one of the first photogs i visited
was really keen to sign up with him at that time but i hang on to it for too long ... :p i was considering Ray Ong at that time too
so when is your big day?

hi islandpub,

hmmm... wow... sounds like an interesting location... the feel should be really nice, but sure got a lot of stares right?

my bf is a very shy person so i might not get to go to the busy business district...
how many outdoor locations did u go eventually?

islandpub

hi cheer,

no lah.. not many ppl at the pub there coz we went that time ard 5plus in the evening still not many customers yet n we know the girls working there mah....

in the end we only went to these two places lor... the open air pub and marina south coz went out late for the outdoor... only went out at 5 plus mah... finish ard 7.30pm...

sheep

Hi LMF,
itz been a long time huh? u must hav been very busy. merry xmas to u too!
i've signed wif Tan Yoong last wkend. i'm taking ala carte, not package. i'm taking their gowns, makeup, hairdo and flowers. hav u book urs wif Fame?

Hi Kat,
welcome!
u having ur wedding on 22 Sep too?
so howz ur preparations? wherez the wedding dinner gonna be?

snowflake

ya lor...was also wondering how come so quiet in here.....

wahhh....lollipop must be mei-mei lor...*snowflake drooling*.... hhehhee...glad u like the gowns n lucky u can get the design u want....cos for some they might like bustiers but might not b able to wear....differnt figure suit different cutting mah !!!!!!!!

me like bustiers but too bad cos mine is a church wedding n my mum oledi say no-no to bustiers so prob i'll get one with straps lor :{

me going to YC 2molo nite to try on a few gowns n see how.....hope i can find one i like n can wear in church as well *snowflake cross fingers*

keep u all inform !!!!!!

katherine

Hi, sheep!

Yup, me having my wedding on 22 Sep too...so that's 3 of us now

Well, i only started preparing 2 weeks ago after he popped the question. so far, only managed to confirm my dinner venue at Sheraton Towers. hope i am not too late! seems that some of you have already started on the gown design session.

Happy to hear that u hv confirmed ur wedding package. when will you start the design session? me will be going down to Flamingo Bridal this Sat to look at their packages. hope it's gd and affordable! any recommendations on other gd wedding packages?

so, where's ur wedding dinner venue?

lollipop

Hi Snowflake,

The initial design I had in mind was a really bare-back gown. And I am also getting married in church. How come bustier gowns not allowed in your church leh? Not low-cut or revealing mah. *lollipop scratches head*

Tomorrow night, try on diff gowns with diff types of designs, scoop necked, square necked, spaghetti strapped, anything, so that your designer will know which type of gown suits you best.

And yes, good luck, and fill us in soon!

chemson

Hey Kat,

Do make an appointment with Flamingo. However, they do cater to walk-ins unlike some places where they tell you straight off to make an appointment. You are also free to try the gowns off the rack. There are 4 kinds of packages. The pricing varies from the choice of photographer. Shirley the designer is very friendly and even though she can be busy, she will still find time to speak to you.
Good luck !