(2002) Brides of year 2002

dance40

Hi Anegline,

I'm not sure. Think May allocate me to Andrew.
Hope all goes fine. He doesn't really look scary.
Perhaps he is quite ok lor coz at least he did smile to us and say hi whenever we go there.

Irene

Hi Jen jen,

Perhaps yu can try looking for swank.
They have quite a range.

Irene

angeline

Irene,

Ic, hope everything goes well for u

jenjen

hi irene, where to get swank shoes leh??
May told me Andrew will serve me when I choose photos... I told her I dun want him to serve... coz my hubby not happy with him last time oredi...

dance40

Hi jenjen,

I think somewhere near bugis have 1, marina square have one (say closing down but till date not close yet).

I think somewhere near boon lay Mrt have one too.

Can try and see. If happen to be closing down, chearper.

So did May agree to let Jennifer serve u when choosing photo?

Irene

obride

Mine is a buffet dinner and I don't want a fashion show type of dinner, so I'd just have one piece and it'd be a EG,.... I will only wear WG in PS

OK, re the guys' suits, as long as they are confident they can find a piece to match ours, then I don't mind, they are the experts afterall.
Only thing is my htb is not a ave size man, he wears XL!

janfyp

4+ months to November.
Would juz like to find out what have u gals done so as to compare notes and keep preparations on schedule. Anyone care to share??

Jan

flo

hey, the sunday meeting has increased to 4! There's angeline, pinkapple, girl and myself.

Pinkapple, can i have your mobile no.?

angeline

Betting on football is illegal in HK. But I support Korea. Although chances are they won't win German, but still must support them for the sake of Asia mah. Anyway, I think they've played a good game and the Germans were lucky with that goal. I hope Korea can come in 3rd place now.

angeline

Irene,

Did u went for manicure & pedicure services before your PS? Is it good & how much does it cost? Care to share more?

Bluechin,

Have u decide where to do manicure & pedicure?

cherly

Hi, JenJen,

Why don u try Metro other oultlet. Anyway, swanks has one outlet at New Toa Payoh air con interchange there.

Angeline,

If u never do manicure & pedicure b4, maybe u would like to try Nine Concept shop at Toa Payoh air con interchange too, don have their tel number. Address : Blk 520 Toa Payoh Lorong 6 #01-64.

dance40

Hi Angeline,

Yes I did. It looks nice. The staff are good.
It's at Shaw Towers. Nail Arts by serence.
She can give advice on colours to match all gowns and ur skin colour.

Not bad.

Cost above $50/- without the spa thing. If incluce spa probably $50/- to $60/-. You could call them and check.

Tel: 62967048

I'm kind of fussy that day cos I want perfect nails. And I accidentally damage one to two on the spot. So the girl redo it for me without sulking face which we expect but with nice gesture and she did it again nicely without additional charge.

I ever ask the Nine Concept before. Add up for everything the same with what I had, would cost $60/-. Though I make appointment I did not go there.

Not sure how is their skills coz they sell shoes etc also (a bit multi tasking). Not as cheap as what I heard which is $9.90 cos their charges are separate. Shaping and filing is $9.90. Paint with nail polish in desire colour $9.90. Spa treatment $9.90.

So I did not travel all the way there to do it.

And it is better to try out once before the actual so that you could judge their skills and see if you like it.

Irene

lollipop

If the studio has already taken ure FH's measurements, then no worries. I'm sure they would come up with something appropriate for him. Have you gone for ure photoshoot yet? Perhaps by then ure FH can choose what colour and what fitting he prefers.

jenjen

thanx irene, maybe today go to marina and look see look see... see if can find nice shoes or not...

I was thinking to go manucure for PS as tryout... so later when actual day know where to go better... dun want to waste $$ to try just see if I like leh...

angeline

Cherly,

Thanks for your recommendation, i did read abt Nine Concept, will consider

Irene,

Thanks for telling me so much
Do we need to make apptmt before going down? Is $50 for manicure & pedicure or its only for manicure har?

flo

me not into gambling either... just joined colleagues for once!it's ok, no big loss.

Yippee.... more joining the sunday lunch!

jinette

pinkapple !! ur cousin is lucky !! mi wasn't able to get at 1.85

flo, thought u buy germans win ..... mi also play for fun, adds to the thrill

although korea is a asian team, i still support germany

germans always managed to squeeze that 1 goal out , if brazil wins tonight. the final will be exciting to watch. brazil playing samba football n germans playing tactical play :p

thedevil

HI OBRIDE,

re Oct a bad mth to get married, from 6/7oct it'll b lunar 9th month, superstitous old folks believe sept02 is not suitable for wedding...tt's y mine is 5oct02...me vry fedup wif all these superstitous stuff...all the dates tt i wanted were rejected by my superstitous FMIL!!!!

liz

Hi Loreal,

sorry for not replying fast, was buzy this few days.
In total I have 47pcs in my big album. The crystal album can be bought at Taka or any departmental shop which sell percious Thot. It can put 100 pics only therefore I bought a few photo frames which is transparent that can put 3 pics together in horizontal way, quite nice lor. I did not choose magazine style coz very ex leh.
So have you send your cards for printing, I'm waiting for collection.
Think it's getting nearer to our wedding date, but I still have not done anything yet except for the cards and guest list.

blossom

hi loreal,
oic.. should be very nice... no wonder alan din mention abt it, i dun have so much photos...

i decided to use the printer recommended by the hotel. he seems more knowledgeable/familiar abt my card. price wise, i think it's comparable.

crayon2512

Hi O Bride,
Welcome! Ur wedding is 3 days after mine. Mine on 4 Oct.

I wil be having my Photoshoot on 19 Jul..think date is just nice.but Hubby complained too late liao, wat if the photos dun turn out well?

I am quite worried coz i had a colleague who took her photos 3 times..
Will u gals be getting the big photo portrait from ur bridal shop (those tat can be hung on the wall)

Have u gals started planning on any honeymoon yet?

lollipop

Hi Crayon,

Before I even took my photos, I was worried that they won't turn out well too. FH reassured me many times and until we saw the photos, my fears were unfounded. Just be natural and enjoy the entire photoshoot.

I think we will be taking the portrait. Initially we wanted to change it for something else, but figure we really do need one for our church wedding.

Honeymoon? For us, it's more talk than action. We never really get to decide on where to go, we have shortlisted a few places, but no, we haven't gone to an agency as yet.

dance40

Hi Angeline,

Yap you have to make appointment before going down.

$50/- is for manicure and pedicure.

I think the price is more or less the same everywhere perhaps a $5/- t $10/- diff. Orchard also has quite a few I think.
Can try.

Irene

thedevil

me too worry my pics will not turn out well...i'v confidence in my photographer (studio d'fia, kim), juz worried abt myself coz i'v chubby face... i wont b getting a portrait from kim coz it'll cost a bomb... also my FH dont like to hang the big pic in the rm.

we also dont know where to go for honeymoon yet!

crayon2512

I quite like the portrait photo especially they have the transparent frame..type..quite nice. But i heard from my aunties that its not good to place the photo direct above the bed..
As for honeymoon, we are thinking of going Australia sometime in Nov..after our wedding. Anyone being there(sydney & gold coast) before? any tips 2 offer?

There is this RCI travel club thing..tat we are interested...but stil need his friend to confirm for us.

Btw, have u gals gone for food tasting yet? What are the stuff tat needs to look out for?

lollipop

we were thinking of going to either japan or london, but these are expensive choices, and we are not sure whether we have the expenditure after the wedding :p

as for food tasting, i'm sorry, won't be able to help you in this area as we opt not to go for it.
where's your banquet?

tomyam

I would be going to England-Scotland-Ireland for my honeymoon. Saw the pics on the travel sites, Scotland sceneries look so nice...can't wait to go man. Agree that london is an expensive place. I think we would have no holiday next year liao after the honeymoon. Becos I am quite a crazy shopper (I would spend quite a lot of $ even on short and near-by trips)...
My air package is quite value-for-$ though. 2-way on Cathay goes at $1199 per pax. comes with free stopover at HK on return, inclusive of 2 nites' hotel accommodation!

obride

Hi Lollipop, my htb is not in town and will only be back in Aug for the PS, he will only be staying over the weekend, so no time for proper fitting for him,... and I booked the package when he was not in town, so he hasn't even stepped into the bridal shop yet! Hope the bridal shop has ample stocks.... no choice liao

obride

Hi thedevil, oops, i din even know about chinese Sep is not suitable for marriage, in fact my mom told me aug and sept is ok... lucky....

obride

Hi crayon2512, we are planning HM in Mauritius,.... htb is incharged of this area, so I leave it completely to him... anyway he's paying for this

As for food tasting, as mine is buffet style, I will not have food tasting, so, sorry cannot help u...

loreal

Liz,
Your photo frame sound very nice..think i would go taka and have a look then..thanks for sharing..

By the way, u manage to take back the unselected photo samples? U've chosen 25 extra can take back samples har?.. I thought have to be at least 40pics???... me puzzled...

I wld be doing hotstamping on inserts, but the supplier so slow havn't get back to confirm the artwork with me.. I m still waiting.. Hopefully could get it printed before 1st week of July..
Yah lor.. after this i also wonder wat else to do.. think mayb take our sweet time to fill up the invitation cards..

Blossom,
So u've got your hotel's recommended printer.. Dun mind tellin how much did u pay for hotstamping? If u need to buy strings let me know i know where to get good lobang..

liz

Hi Loreal,

The photo frame is bought at popular book store and the album is at Taka, sorry to confuse you. Btw, the photo frame cost only $4. If you really can't find then I can help you to buy.

Actually 30pics then can get back the samples and 40pics to get back samples + negatives. Why mine only 25pics cos I really can't find another 5 more nice pics so I ask is it possible for me to have my sample back then the lady help me to ask the manager.

Just check with you, isn't that much more ex for you to do hot stamping on insert coz you have to pay for the insert and hot stamping cost. I actually do hot stamping on the card itself, save the time to tie string. I have call my printer and I can collect my cards today after I wake up.

Can I know how much more you need to pay for your actual day photographer even it is provided by the bridal shop coz me still searching for one.

lollipop

Hi Tomyam,

Scotland is one place I would very much love to visit. Love the green pastures, the castles... I am into medieval stuff, and Scotland offers this sort of touch.

blossom

hi loreal,
my printer quoted me $0.40/card but we also wanted to print on the hearts on the cover and that costs another $0.20/card. i also print directly on the card so no inserts. thks for the kind offer.

ask u ahh... did ur MIL give u anything for 'guo da li'? mine insisted on giving me gold jewellery but i dun like leh... sure put one side one...

liz, i wanted to try asking for the samples too but i pai seh....
or maybe i wasn't feeling well then. i will try to talk to alan again or else cnt show u all...

crayon2512

Seems like London is a popular HM place ah..will it be very cold in Dec? When u gals planning to go? O-bride, think Mauritus is a nice place (i saw on magazine) but it seems like more on the beach..type rite? U planning to get sun-tan?

If u want cheaper accomodation, maybe u can try buying from the marketplace forum. Most of them are selling the 7 days accomodation cheap,they are aptments which have kitchen, laundry etc..big place.This may save a bit of $$.
I wil be getting one of the RCI one, coust abt $700 for 1 week accomodation. would be sharing with another couple. quite worthwhile..coz 2 bedroms.

Can I know if u gals are taking any traditioanl photos for ur wedding album? my hubby didn't really like tat...coz find it too taiwan-style.

julybride

Hi. me too.will have 2 VIP tables.
Today will be going to collect album...hoping it would be good.
I have not plan out the layout for the tables...now still counting whether got space here and there.. grin.
I will be going to Tecman to buy papers for printing the bulletin
hmm...next week will be the wedding, Mo...arent u excited? wa...so close...