Si Dian Jin or Diamond

kuaile21

I am having a headache between si dian jin or si dian zuan. My MIL is ok to buy white gold or diamond for me instead of gold, but my parents prefer gold coz value appreciates, while diamond don't. Personally i prefer something more practical which i can wear daily, plus I should be able to get bridal set of diamonds cheaper than gold. My relative just spent $4-5k on gold for their DIL. I wanna help my HTB to save for the upcoming banquet and housing.

What should i do? Gold or diamond?

Personally, I might go for gold cos of the gold value too. Think Poh Heng has got some nice designs that are trendy for every day casual wear.

My MIL is also bringing me to chk it out soon. Think diamonds wld really add up to the cost. And like you, i also don't want them to spend a bomb on the diamonds.

Personally, I might go for gold cos of the gold value too. Think Poh Heng has got some nice designs that are trendy for every day casual wear.

My MIL is also bringing me to chk it out soon. Think diamonds wld really add up to the cost. And like you, i also don't want them to spend a bomb on the diamonds.

I already have an extra diamond ring which comes along when he bought the proposal ring, that's why I'm thinking to get e earring, necklace and bracelet as white gold with color gems or a small diamond as well. I have seen a pendant that costs abt $300+ so thought that can be one of the item as well. I don't need expensive stuff. I don't have the habit of wearing gold at all. That's why im in dilemma lor.. if they buy for me, then still gotta keep in safe

I think it depends on your preference. I chose gold for the intrinsic value too. Maybe to me, diamonds must be a certain "size" else they might look like costume jewellery. But big diamonds are expensive. But if it works out for you cause you have existing pieces to make a set, do go ahead. It's your day so dot doubt yourself or your own decisions. :)

Do you think can combine gold and diamond in a set? Example.. diamond ring and earring, gold necklace and bracelet? That's what i can think off to balance off this issue

Ya I think that's workable... I mean for you... Cos you have some with intrinsic value n ring n earrings go with a lot of things. But I don't know about your in laws, some older generation folks have this thinking that you should wear the pieces on your wedding day so a mix might look weird. Unless your in laws don't mind you wear half of the Si Dian Jin.

I don't have Si Dian Jin, only 2 dragon and pheonix bangles, gonna wear it with my (gold) dowry when I change to Kua. White gown will all be costume jewellery from MUA.

Ya I think that's workable... I mean for you... Cos you have some with intrinsic value n ring n earrings go with a lot of things. But I don't know about your in laws, some older generation folks have this thinking that you should wear the pieces on your wedding day so a mix might look weird. Unless your in laws don't mind you wear half of the Si Dian Jin.

I don't have Si Dian Jin, only 2 dragon and pheonix bangles, gonna wear it with my (gold) dowry when I change to Kua. White gown will all be costume jewellery from MUA.

My PIL are very chin chai type, my MIL alrdi told my HTB that she will give him the money then he brings me go choose whatever i want. Wah... Im having my tea ceremony, and thinking to do away with e Kua, or else i gotta change into gown after the tea to prepare for march-in.

Si Dian Jin given by groom's mother to the bride is to be kept by the groom's mother after the wedding? Any advice?

Are the brides parents supposed to give si dian jin too? My mom says she's supposed to buy me gold, but I thought it's supposed to be the in laws give. So confusing...

I personally prefer diamonds to gold, but opt for si dian jin due to the intrinsic value. Turns out we happen to find a set that I really like and I wore it during actual day morning with my white bridal gown upon my make-up artist suggestion. My in-laws were really pleased and proud. Why not keep your options open and start looking out before deciding.

Babyger07, can share where you get yours? Or pics? Wanna get some ideas too. I prefer si dian jin for its value & those Italian design are quite pretty & wearable.

my parents got me gold from on cheong, my mil splurged on SDZ fr goldheart ... but the key thing is to choose practical designs that u can easily wear on normal days.. stuff like the chunky dragon / phoenix necklaces arent too practical and u r just gg to cold storage it after ur AD.

Intially I was also thinking of getting si dian zhuan. End up it is more exp then si sian jin and there is no value to it. I got my si dian jin from ONE OUNCE i12 katong. They allow you to keep and choose from the gold they have and put together as a set. I choose a matching necklace and bracelet. Their design also quite fashionable. Don't like the long feng or floral designs rom SK or leehwa.

care to share a photo of your si dian jin? :)

I don't really like the ("long feng" or "floral") gold designs seen at mass market jewellers too! Not suitable for me personally. Thinking of having si dian zhuan instead.. Though no resale value, but at least I would wear them, possibly for a lifetime if the design is classic. Thing is, the solitaires will probably cost much more.. Don't really want the in-laws to spend so much..

I took si dian zuan becoz bf doesnt like the design for gold and he is more budget. so i got my mix n match from lee hwa whr the lady tried to match my set. :D

U mean the si dian zhuan cost less than gold? I only know Lee Hwa forevermark and the necklace is already 8k+ to begin with.. :X
What did you get for your SDZ in the end, necklace, earrings, bracelet and?..

Erh i tink close to 4k. Haha. Bracelet earring ring and pendant(i hv the chain since it was bought by my bf prev).. hahaa. I din buy forevermark of coz..

Icic.. thanks.. :) I think no issues about buying separately or not buying them as a "set", so long as the designs are nice.. I don't really want another ring though, maybe will get earrings, necklace (chain), pendant and bracelet as a the 4 instead..

FIOEVE: I would prefer si dian jin over diamond as it has commercial value & most imptly can pass down to off springs without depreciating its value over time. I dun need another ring so replacing with a pendant. MIL is very flexible & allows me to shop on my own without interferring. So I went to places like Poh Heng, Heng Heng, SK & 周大副. Now considering what type of gold, 916, 999, 999.9 or combine of gold + white. I am in favour of Heng Heng as i prefer their designs, fine womanship & reasonable pricing. Would visit Chip Lee & make further make comparsion.

in fact i din wan the whole set. lol. i dun like earrings so actually it was the last item that we got. i had wanted to have another pendant to replace earrings :X

Happened to see the diamond bridal sets at Goldheart and thought the one on the left looks pretty classic.
Just wanna share with u btbs! :)

I didn't had time to check out the pricing thou.. Anybody knows?

ImageUploadedByForum1430484939.952027.jpg

For me i got si dian jin. For 916 gold... Coz 999 is abit too ex for my mil.... But i want gold coz it will add value whereas diamonds u occasionally wear (unless u buying classic everyday wear type) and diamonds not much value if the quality is juz medium not high end ... My mil ask me to choose design.. To me its going to be in the safe so less design the better.. Meaning i pay lesser for design more for the gold itself. The gold will be our emergency fund in future

A very-well thought decision.. :) And sounds like your si dian jin is pretty valuable (tens of thousands minimally?) since it's emergency funds.. Where did u purchase them from in the end? :)

Hahaaa No la... but its there to be emergency cash if u need it... i took minimal design though... my mil ask us to go those gold shop in amk hub there.... so ya lo....

Si Dian Jin is getting so trendy nowadays that non-teo chew people also request for it.
My close friend keep mentioning that i should also ask for one set too.
But I really liked those thick type bangle. And bangle's prices are higher due to more material used.
if my given budget is $3k, I can only buy a 'not so nice' set and varieties are much lesser due to the lower budget.
But I can get the bangle that I want with that same amount.

I chose a slightly thick floral design bangle that I really like which cost about $2500. So happy!
When my MIL found out that I spent below her budget (I did not know she was so kind to me), she brought me out to buy another necklace which cost about$1200.
So the bangle was brought over on guo da li, and the necklace, she put on for me during tea Ceromony.
My parents and grandma also bought gold for me as my dowry.
Mum bought a floral design bracelet, dad bought a simple chain and pendent and grandma bought me a necklace with diamond pendent. They also presented the golds to me during tea ceromony.
I think I'm really fortunate because I get to choose all of them myself.

Forgot to mention that my mum also bought a pinky ring for my husband.
It represent acceptance into our family.

hmmm so may i ask is the si dian jin paid by in laws or my fiance? I'm not a jewellery/accessories person. I don't even have ear holes too.. when my future MIL asked what do I want.. I really don't know.

U r not alone. I went to pierce my ear earlier this yr. Went for photoshoot n my earhole had infection... after which it closed. And my wedding is in oct.. apparently im not going to pierce liao. Its supposedly paid by in laws i tink. My bf paid for mine thou

omg infection.... hope it's better now? i don't think i'll be piercing my ears..

diamonds can be very expensive! my mother and I checked out a lot of jewellery stores in SG, and a diamond necklace can cost from 5k to 100k! OMG!

i think gold is more affordable. plus has value and can pass on to children in the future.

diamonds can be very expensive! my mother and I checked out a lot of jewellery stores in SG, and a diamond necklace can cost from 5k to 100k! OMG!

i think gold is more affordable. plus has value and can pass on to children in the future.

U must have seen very atas ones.. my pendant n necklace doesnt even cost 1k.. haha.. and i bought all separately.

my necklace and pendant i will still be having the one he gave me during 1 mth anni (haha)
he bought a gold bracelet for me. diamond earring.
All for about 2.3k.

my necklace and pendant i will still be having the one he gave me during 1 mth anni (haha)
he bought a gold bracelet for me. diamond earring.
All for about 2.3k.

I went to GoldHeart and see their Si Dian Jin. The staff recommended a set, which only adds up to about $2.5k. Pretty good price!